Balcony Guesthouse Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness3.9
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
27 Reviews

Write A Review

Fun and Funky

3.8 on March 17, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights here. We loved the neighborhood vibe and the walking distance to Frenchman St. Room 2 is small with a small, well lit , modern bath. We really appreciated the shared lounge as we were able to sit and drink wine with fellow guests one evening. Breakfast was a slow, casual, but tasty affair. The bartender loaned us his umbrella for a rainy day and that is the kind of nice touch we really appreciate!


One nighter

5 on March 13, 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay. So close to the French quarter. Great accomodations. Best staff, food and drinks. Thanks Zak - had an awsome time at your place! Molly


Great place!

4.4 on January 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! It was conveniently located to the French Quarter in a safe neighborhood, but not on a loud or busy street. We kept our car parked all weekend and walked everywhere we needed to go. The food served downstairs was delicious, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Comfortable, well appointed room, delicious hot breakfast Saturday morning and fresh pastries and fruit on Sunday. We were overall very pleased with our experience here and will definitely be making a return visit.


Just what the Dr. ordered!

4.8 on January 14, 2014

Dr. said I needed some R&R. Chose The Balcony because it was close to what I wanted to do in NO. Very laid back and very accommodating. Just what I needed Will book a return visit.


5 great nights

4.4 on June 13, 2013

Had a great visit at balcony guest ZaC and the team were great will go back Mr Joe


best bb in nola

5 on May 08, 2013

We started here on our first trip to nola last June. The staff was amazing and owner was get accommodating . Gave us a great rate and beautiful room! Can't wait to staff here again this year!!


no maid service, no prompt breakfast, no return visit!

2.2 on April 11, 2013

When I travel, I expect a certain level of service. That includes daily housecleaning service. When I stay at a B&B, I expect breakfast at a reasonable time - that means before 9:30 AM. This offered neither. On the plus side, the room was acceptable (I'd give it a B) and the staff made some effort to accomodate (C+). Had the website alerted me to these issues, I'd not have stayed there. If you don't mind them (oh, and note hot breakfast isn't actually available on Sundays, despite what the website said), this is an acceptable, if not awesome place to stay. If you're looking for more, keep looking. Oh, and the drunken frat boys coming in at 4AM didn't help. That said, if that's what you're looking for, this would be a fine place to stay.


The true flavor of New Orleans!

3.6 on October 21, 2012

We stayed a week here and chose it because we wanted something that would truly help us enjoy the New Orleans experience. It is situated in a charming, eclectic, diverse neighborhood. The rooms are small, but ours had direct access to the balcony and we used that whenever we were not out and about. The cafe is wonderful and the guests have 4-5 choices of breakfasts. The cafe staff is wonderful! Steve, Stella, Tyler, everyone is friendly and attentive. The food is great! Some people may not like the fact that we had to make our own bed each morning, ask for the bathroom to be cleaned and ask for clean towels. We didn't mind, but be aware that this could happen with an extended stay.


best bargin in new orleans

5 on August 13, 2012

we spent 2 nites, fri sat. so many words that could be used. all i can say if you dont like staying here you are not able to be happy.it is just as described. old new orleans area, safe on street parking. great food , laundry mat, huge selection of adult beverages. very quaint setting. many locals eat there and are very freindly. staff a n owners are super nice. prices are the best bargin in the city.food is prepared after u order. not kept warm \ under heat.short walk to french quarter or short drive to garden district.walking is safe. small local market is 2 blocks. huge portions of food very resonable prices. 7.95 for huge order of buttermilk pancakes. just one example. rooms are small an adequate. clean an comfortable pj mobile , ala


What to expect

3.8 on June 22, 2012

We didn't exactly know what to expect when we booked our travel to New Orleans. The Balcony Guesthouse came recommended and it was a gem! We traveled and stayed at the guesthouse with some friends. Our suite was marvelous and the service from the wait and inn staff was superb. The location in the Marginy was perfect for us. We could walk wherever we needed to go and that we did. Definitely we will come back.


Like Being a Resident of the Neighborhood

4.0 on December 28, 2011

Looking for luxury and a characture impression of New Orleans? Not the place for you. Want to experience life in a typical New Orleans neighborhood? This is the place for you. Stay in the corner balcony room and sit until late at night on the balcony and here the sounds of the night. Experience the casual life if small cafes and coffee shops on just about every corner. Bar with live music just a block away. Long, enjoyable walk to French Quarter. Or, simply dine in the cafe below. Great breakfast. Nice staff. Easy on street parking.


favorate place to stay in New Orleans

4.0 on November 23, 2011

Have been going to The Balcony Guesthouse for 6 years in a row all GREAT staff and they make you feel at home. Actually just booked them again for the Krewe du vieux Mardi. Bryan may you rest in peace will miss you greatly!


Our favorite B&B in New Orleans

4.6 on November 06, 2011

We've enjoyed a half-dozen trips to NO, in some fancy hotels and other B&B's, all of which have been pretty good. But we were particularly impressed with the Balcony Guest House (or Guesthouse? I wasn't sure). We were there two nights during the week. There was some construction noise in the morning, but it wasn't too bad and it was on weekday mornings, after all. Everyone was very friendly, and they made breakfast to order. Breakfast is a little late, served between 9:30 and 10:30, if that matters to you. We were a few blocks walk (or whatever suits you) from the Quarter. I expect we'll stay there again the next time we make it over.


3 "G" - Enough Said!

4.4 on July 11, 2011

Great Food, Great People, Great Time!! I just want to thank all of the staff for making our family visit to NO most memorable. We will definitely be back so I hope you guys are ready!!


Great location, great people

4.6 on June 17, 2011

We just recently stayed at the Balcony Guesthouse for 4 nights on our first trip to NOLA and will most definitely be staying here again in the future. The proprietor and staff were so friendly and really went out of their way to make us feel at home. This is a great place located in a great neighborhood...a nice short walk to the French Quarter down really picturesque streets with friendly people...the cafe downstairs is always full of locals coming and going, you really get a great sense of what New Orleans life is like (and with free coffee and soft drinks included all day long, not to mention the excellent breakfast each morning, you'll spend plenty of time there). Other reviewers have mentioned feeling unsafe walking at night but we personally never felt uncomfortable...in all honesty, something is more likely to happen down in the more touristy areas of the French Quarter than in this quiet residential neighborhood of local families and recently-arrived YURPS (young urban rebuilding professionals). All in all, a wonderful place for the traveler who enjoys living like a local - highly recommended!


A Great Experience

5 on April 04, 2011

Our stay began at the front desk with the more-than-friendly staff. The rooms were immaculately clean and comfortable and even the other guests were a joy! We were able to reserve the room at a great rate, under $100, even during Mardi Gras weekend, when hotel rooms were charging anywhere from $400 to $600. The food is to die for traditional southern faire as well as other ethnic options and the general store downstairs offered everything you could possibly need for your stay. I would stay here again anyday regardless of the time of year or my budget.


Not a happy Traveller

1.4 on February 21, 2011

We recently stayed at this what I would call a boarding house room..It is not your standard B&B and does not hold a candle to most of them...The pictures in the photo album must have been taken 10 years ago as the curtains needed a good cleaning and they needed repair as they where falling off the rod. We booked 3 nights and when we got there would like to have left immediately as the room was not like the pic's.. We do not recommend this unless you are young and don't mind walking up to the french quarter (6blocks) with your head on a swivel as we felt nervous in the evening.. The room was in need of a good cleaning (under beds) and baseboards and needed painting. The bathroom was new but we got no service in the three days we even had to ask for wash cloths and toilet paper...The balcony was left a mess by other guest and stayed that way until we mentioned it to them.. We liked our breakfast and dinner we ate in the bar down stairs and the employees where very friendly and helpful.


Wonderful!

4.2 on February 01, 2011

My boyfriend and I went out to NOLA for his birthday. The Guest House location is PERFECT! We were able to easily walk to the French Quarter and Frenchmen St. But we were still far enough away that we didn't have to deal with the noise from Bourbon! My only complaint was the cleanliness... The floor under the bed was extremely dusty, the comforter had some stains, and the shower curtain was in pretty bad shape. But the linens and towels were fine. It wasn't so gross that I felt I had to change rooms, but for 100 bucks a night, it could have been cleaner. If you have any dust allergies, you would not be able to stay here without a Swiffer being ran around the room. The breakfast was excellent (full restaurant menu) and the people were extremely friendly! I would definitely recommend it and I will be staying there again on my next trip to New Orleans.


We had a GREAT time!

4.8 on November 29, 2010

We stayed here on our recent visit to NOLA. It was our first time but won't be our last! The location was easy to get to and conveniently located to the French Quarter, riverwalk areas and other tourist stuff. The whole place captured the essence of the New Orleans experience. Our room was comfortable, the food was outstanding and the service provided by all, expecially Brian and Cathy exceeded our expectations. True Southern Hosplitality!


Quick trip

4.4 on October 04, 2010

Stayed at Balcony Guest House in 2007 for 2 nights. The room was lovely and clean but we didn't spend much time in it. I have since recommended Balcony Guest House to friends and family from all over.


Loved it

4.0 on July 19, 2010

This is a great location. Quaint B&B with small cafe & grocery. Close to everything and very quiet. We loved it and will defienetly go back. The small cafe has a bar and really good food. Usually you find some nice locals hanging out. It's about 6-10 blocks walk from everything. I would defienetly recommend it. The rooms with the balcony are very nice.


Best place to stay in New Orleans!!!

4.4 on November 07, 2009

Don't think about it anymore, book your room in the Balkony Guesthouse right now! I came to New Orleans on my own and found this amazing place by chance just because the room I booked in another hostel was not available. I enjoyed my stay in the Balcony Guesthouse so much that it will be definitely be my first choice when I come to New Orleans the next time. The service is very good and everyone is very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great. I felt very comfortable there. The rooms are nice, comfortable and clean. The bar serves a very good full breakfast. You can sit outside at the bar or on the balcony. The French Quarter is in walking distance, it will take you 10 minutes to get there and see all the famous places of New Orleans. I am glad I found that place because the people I met there made my stay so much better! Enjoy your stay at the Balcony Guesthouse! You will have a great time!


Wonderful and funky

5 on August 24, 2009

The Balcony Guesthouse was a great gift on my visit to New Orleans. I happened to stumble upon it by accident, and never wanted to leave again. The room, with wooden floors, bed and closets is very tasteful, quiet, honest and clean, with a balcony surrounding the house that is perfect to hang out on. The people that work at the place are a very cool bunch indeed. Personal, interested but not crowding and the restaurant/bar is great to meet people or eat good (and healthy!) food. The neighborhood is funky, with an alternative feel to it. I, being a solo female traveler, felt safe there. And gorgeous houses too!


Best kept secret in New Orleans!

5 on August 19, 2009

I stay at Schiros every year. It's just outside the French Quarter by a few blocks, so it is close, but not too close. The inn is on the second floor, and there is a balcony which wraps around and is open to all the guests. Right downstairs, is a cafe, bar, and grocery. I have everything I need when I stay there. The staff is down to earth locals, who bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable. For example, On my first night, I arrived in the late afternoon and was too tired to go out. I called in my dinner order and sat out on the balcony for awhile. When I went downstairs to pick up my food, the inn keeper, Zak, asked if I needed anything. I replied that if I had a fan and a radio out on the balcony, I'd be in heaven. He immediately called for Rodriquo to go into his personal office, get his fan and radio and bring it up to the balcony for me. I sat out on the balcony that evening with my fabulous Indian dinner, a bottle of Shiraz, my osculating fan, and transistor radio. I was in heaven. :) I would never have received such personal service at a big hotel. The people at Schiros Balcony Guest House bend over backwards to serve their guests. A+++++ all the way!


always smiles here!

5 on July 01, 2009

Always our first choice when we go to New Orleans. We feel like family and always take away good stories. Don't share this secret!!


very cool vibe

4.0 on May 25, 2009

Great location, and two of the rooms with balconies overlooking Royal Street. Weekend nights are the only time we go, and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Don't look for luxury digs, just a cool, well air-conditioned place in North America's coolest spot.


Enjoyed our stay.

3.6 on February 29, 2008

The accomodations were good, and it was nice to stay in a place that was local, and not as touristy. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, and a full restaurant breakfast was included making this a great value. One night there was a party going on in the street, so it was a bit noisy, but we were enjoying having the windows open and it would have been drowned out had we closed the windows and turned on the air conditioner.


Balcony Guesthouse

Details

  • Nightly Rate $69 - $149
  • Reviews (27) 4.2
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5049454425

Visit Website »

View details

Top