Annabelle's House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
3.9

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Service4.1
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness3.9
  • Dining3.5

Score Breakdown based on
27 Reviews

Write A Review

Fantastic

4.4 on January 13, 2013

The only thing I recall not thinking was right was that my door to the shower wasn't on the hinge!!


Very Let Down

1.0 on October 10, 2012

The B & B's reality bore no ressemblance to the glowing reviews on the website. The carpet had not been vaccumed in my room prior to arrival, and was not any day of my stay either. The shower door was off the hinge. The entrance door to the room didn't lock from the outside. There was no homemade waffles, or homemade anything for that matter, but rather store bought (supermarket) greasy muffins in a plastic container left on the counter. Coffee was weak and luke warm. Dirty coffee cups remained in the sink for the days that I was there. The house was dark and ominous. Plenty of splattered paint on the floor throughout the house. No name of the B & B on the front of the house either, indicating it was a B & B. Porch dark at night. Very very disappointed.


a great new orleans experience 101 class

5 on July 16, 2012

we needed to go to New Orleans, to look for a place to live since we are about to move there, this was the perfect New Orleans experience 101 class. There are so many enjoyable stories at this b&b


A beautiful house, conveniently located

5 on June 30, 2012

This house is beautifully furnished and decorated, and conveniently located near the St. Charles streetcar. Randy is very friendly and accommodating. The room was large and clean, and the bed was comfortable; also, the whole house was air conditioned, which was a real blessing in late June!


Perfect NOLA Spot

4.6 on May 04, 2012

The charm of the antebellum mansion and the friendliness of the staff at Annabelle’s complemented and enriched my 3-day trip to New Orleans. The location in the neighborhood just off St. Charles Ave. was perfect. Easy access to the streetcars was a plus. Even the extraordinary home-made waffles whipped up by the manager Carey restated the great food reputation of the city. Definitely will return upon my next trip to the Big Easy.


Very accomodating

4.6 on May 04, 2012

Annabell house is a beautiful old home. Grounds keeper and staff were very nice and accomodateing to my family. They went out of their way to help with my 4 year old and were willing to help in any way when she became ill over night. The service was impecable. Staff definantly went above and beyond to meet out needs. I recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. Very safe, well located, and easy access to downtown... just minutes from the trolly. Also its a very quiet place. Hopefully will get to go back.


Never again!!

1.2 on March 25, 2012

The place is old and falling apart. I stayed awake all night after finding a big cockroach in the bathroom!!!!

Innkeeper Response
This guest, from NYC, is right about one thing, this house is indeed old, having been built in 1840, but by no means, falling apart as evidenced by the many glowing reviews that we have received. Hurricane Katrina caused us to put a new $130k slate and copper roof on the house and there is still one room left to be renovated, but this in no way impacts the guest's accomodations. What the guest saw was a Palmetto Bug which is just a part of living in the tropics. We go to alot of trouble to keep them outdoors, but occassionally one may slip by. A quick call and we will remove back to the outdoors. We strive to make all accomodations for our guests 24/7 and are only a phone call away at any time.


Thanks!

4.0 on February 26, 2012

We're on the St. Charles trolley, just minutes after leaving Aannabelle's. Lots of atmosphere and lots of fun. Quiet location, which will be better with additional restoration. . Thanks, Cary.


Great Location, but Still under Repair

4.0 on February 20, 2012

We went to New Orleans for our anniversary, at a time when many Mardi Gras parades were being held. The Garden District location was but a short walk from all the Uptown routes and the St. Charles trolley. The owner, Randy, and especially the manager, Cary, were very friendly and accommodating. The house is still being repaired to eliminate damage from Katrina, so the accommodations will improve with time. Randy has many collections, all interesting, but they tend to clutter the house. Still, we enjoyed our stay.


Fantabulous!!

5 on August 31, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights while moving my daughter in to Tulane. Cary is just a wonderful man. His attentiveness to details were amazing. The man can cook an awesome waffle. Our room was the Cherry room and it is spectacular! Clean, clean, clean! The house is just beautiful and full of antiques and stories. Randy, the owner, is pleasant and helpful. Parking was a snap and easy. Parked right in front of the house every night without a problem. We ate at the New Orleans right on the corner 1 block up. It's amazing! I absolutely can't tell you how wonderful it is. Rooms are wonderful, service exquisite, value...can't beat it, super clean, and the food was really really good. I will stay here again and again. Although I didn't get to say goodbye to them before I left, I truly loved their company. Thanks again guys for making it a wonderful experience!


Great all around!

5 on June 27, 2011

I stayed for four nights at Annabelle'House and I have nothing but good things to say about my experience. Cary is welcoming, caring, and very helpful. He makes great home made waffle and good conversation! The room and the house are full of character and the streetcar nearby will take you to The French Quarter in no time! I highly recommend this place!


The big easy's Annabelle's house

4.0 on June 09, 2011

What an amazing house. The house has an interesting life of it's own. We were met on time and assisted to our with our bags. We enjoyed the staff's pleasant and helpful attitude. We were shown the antique furnishing and enormous collections of Napolean Bonapart figuirines, antique dogs, and Mardi Gras invitations. The room was cool and comfortable. The furnishing fit the period of the home very well. The breakfast was warm, coffee was Louisiana's best, juice and foods were abundant. The table was set beautifully with dishes of the victorian period. We would love to return to Annabelle's house at any time.


Had a wonderful time!

4.6 on May 25, 2011

This was an excellent choice that enhanced our New Orleans experience. A warm, interesting home with warm and friendly service. So much better than a generic hotel. Cary was particularly attentive and was more than happy to help us with a myriad of requests. It was almost like having an in-house concierge! We will definitely stay at Annabelle's the next time. Anthony & Chris.


Best waffles ever

4.6 on April 23, 2011

Cary, the manager, was most accommodating. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. And the man is a magician with the waffle iron.


House with atmosphere

4.6 on December 07, 2010

This was a wonderful place. Cary looked after us with great care and attention. I would recommend it to all.


Marvellous house, very close to St Charles Ave streetcar line

4.4 on November 26, 2010

This is a B&B full of character, very spacious and ideally situated just two blocks from St Charles. We were extremely well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


A Piece of Calm in the Hubbub of New Orleans

3.6 on November 22, 2010

Annabelle’s is a piece of calm in the hubbub of New Orleans. It is a block and a half away from the St. Charles street car line – a 20 minute ride to the French Quarter and all the action or a six block walk to Magazine St. boutiques. But when the action is over, return to a quiet neighborhood, a comfortable bed and a clean bathroom. The next morning enjoy a light breakfast of OJ, yogurt, toast and bagels. The house is decorated with many period antiques which add to its eclectic charm. As with most B&B’s of this age, (it was built in the mid-1800’s and has an interesting history) the owner is improving many of the amenities. However, the warmth and hospitality of our hosts made up for any tattered edges.


A warm and friendly atmosphere

4.0 on November 19, 2010

A beautiful and nicely furnished house. Gracious people who exemplify New Orleans hospitality.


Cheaper for a reason

2.2 on October 15, 2010

The house is old, and not particularly well-kept. My husband and I had problems with our allergies because of mold, or generally dusty conditions. The room was not particularly clean, and the bathroom desperatly needed to be remodeled. I chose this place because it was cheaper than the other B&Bs in New Orleans. I just want to make it clear that it is cheaper for a reason. Was it a horrible experience? No. But, know that this is not some pristine B&B run by a cute old couple. This is a run-down mansion that has seen better days and the property manager was nice, but odd.


Great museum - below average B&B

2.0 on August 30, 2010

Service is primarily obtained by cell phone to acquire assistance, from checking in to inquiring about non-guests that traipse through the house. Our main contact was very colorful and pleasent gentlemen who attends to a number of propoerties in addition to Annabelle's. For such a large - 52 rooms - and historic structure virtually nothing could be presented about the history of the property apart from a fire in the distant past. The experience is initially very grand untill you realize the main parlors are locked 24/7, the dining room is only unlocked for "breakfast", and the foyer pictured in the ad is cluttered with bicycles. The bed was comfortable, the bath clean but the number of electrical outlets hanging from the wall and power cords present hazards for those not paying attention. There is a sizable lounge on the second floor with a TV and weak WIFI, and a small kitchenette. The house is grand and filled - over flowing - with all manner of natural history objects, figurines, statues, and exquisite furniture that require more cleaning than is provided. Breakfast was sparse, limited to toast or bagle, yogert, juice and coffee. For me, ther value was not there, at times I did not feel safe, and breakfast is utterly lacking.


Great Stay

4.6 on May 13, 2010

My mom and I really enjoyed our stay. The owner and his employee were very interesting and the mansion was too. The room was comfortable and service great. Would stay there again.


Excellent Value and Awesome Place!

4.2 on May 09, 2010

Annabelle's House is quite a place to visit-almost a museum really! I was awed by the house, the displays and the owner and staff. The service was great and friendly too! The rooms are unique as well. Our room in the attic had a really comfortable bed and a lot space to move around. It was an attic room, however, so you have the gables to deal with. The room was very quiet. The bathroom was a little small too. Suffice it to say, it isn't a modern hotel, but instead a house with many stories to tell. Annebelle's House is probably not for everyone, but for me, in search of something really different in New Orleans, it was awesome. I would definitely go back to Annabelle's House.


Quaint and old world...

3.4 on May 01, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Annabelles B&B. Randy and Cary were accomodating and welcoming. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Great location - good value, we were very satisfied and would definitely stay here again. :-)


Loved our stay

3.6 on March 25, 2010

The rooms are beautiful, and the second floor sitting area has a porch where you can sit and relax. It was a little hard to find the owners at times, but you're always welcome to call them. This is a great location for exploring Magazine St., Oak St., and the Audubon park and getting a good night's sleep away from the French Quarter. Great value!


ANNABELLE'S

3.4 on July 10, 2009

B&B owners were very nice and hospitable. The manager was always available for information on restaurants and directions around the city.


Don't pass up this B&B!!!

4.6 on December 13, 2008

Awesome hospitality, Pet friendly, Superb Accommodations; It's truly a unique experience as well as an extremely comfortable one! The owners, Ronna & Randy are beyond wonderful & accommodating. A beautiful historical home with furnishings to match. A taste of splendor and history beyond your imagination! Centrally located in the garden district within walking distance from famous restaurants and beautiful architecture! Prices are extraordinarily reasonable! DON'T PASS THIS ONE UP!!!! Rick & Suzanne Yards


Great experience!

4.2 on March 13, 2007

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon (the summer before Katrina), and it was fantastic! We're animal lovers, so we chose it because we knew they had animals. Ronna is super friendly and knows the city very well. The house was very nice. We were the only people there for our visit - and they let us roam around and look at all the other rooms. I loved my experience! Very nice!!!!


Annabelle's House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $169
  • Reviews (27) 3.9
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5043440938
  • Mobile 1-5043440938
Top