Five Continents Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
93 Reviews

Write A Review

The best B&B value in New Orleans.

4.4 on October 14, 2014

The host, Peter, was gracious, helpful, and accessible. I've stayed here before and have always been very satisfied. The location makes visiting New Orleans more manageable.


Tremendous place with such nice hosts

5 on August 27, 2014

Stayed in the cottage for two nights. So clean and cozy. The morning breakfast was so delicious. Will definitely be coming back. Such nice hospitality. Thanks guys. :)


Lucky Find

4.6 on July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Five Continents for several nights while visiting New Orleans for Jazz Fest. It was walking distance to the fair grounds. We stayed in the cottage. The room was very spacious, more like a mini apartment. Peter was wonderfully hospitable and personable and his homemade breakfasts were delicious. A million times better than staying in a hotel.


Five Continents

5 on June 30, 2014

Wonderful stay. The house is very nice and in a good location. I would definately stay here again.


A gem near the quarter!

5 on June 27, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in the North American Cottage. It was clean, beautifully decorated, and very peaceful. We enjoyed the proximity to the French Quarter and found it easy to get around the city. The breakfast each morning is absolutely amazing and even though we did not get the chance to meet the owners (they were on vacation), we were very well treated by both David and Becky. We will recommend Five Continents B&B to all of our friends and will definitely be back!


Best accomadations ever

5 on June 16, 2014

Our stay here was one of the most memorable. The facilities were exceptionally well cared for. The staff, including Akko their dog were the most friendly and conscientious we have had on any of our trips. We would return here on any occasion for a New Orleans visit. This a high value B & B.


Amazing Weekend Get Away

5 on May 29, 2014

Immediately upon arriving Peter made my husband and I feel welcomed! The inn was beautiful our two room suite was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were amazing and prepared as requested. Peter and Walter made us feel right at home and we all had great conversations during our breakfasts with other guests. The only problem was that we had only 3 days to enjoy the accomodations and the beautiful city of New Orleans. We will be back!! Thank you for everything!


The best in New Orleans!!!!!

5 on May 12, 2014

Es war einfach perfekt. Die Zimmer das Frühstück alles!! Wenn wir wiederkommen nur hierher!


I'll be back.

5 on April 22, 2014

Great location. Great food. What more could you ask for. We will be back!!


A Gem!! We will stay again!

5 on April 21, 2014

We stayed only one night after deciding to start our vacation a day earlier than we originally planned. Our other accommodations were in the French Quarter at another B&B. The Five Continents Bed and Breakfast was beautiful! Compared to our other B&B I would rate the Five Continents much higher. We drove and they allowed us to park our car in their gated drive way FOR FREE! They served a delicious breakfast, which our other bed and breakfast did not! The location is only a short taxi ride from the French Quarter and in my option worth the cheaper nightly rate and the extras they provide.


Private Balcony, Alligator Sausage, And A Dog Named Echo

3.6 on March 26, 2014

I had a wonderful time with my friends at the Five Continents Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the European Suite and it had a quaint sitting room with a pull-out queen mattress. The most exceptional part of the suite was by far the balcony. It is a lovely space. The owners cook and service a tasty breakfast each morning - I had alligator sausage for the first time! All in all, it was an inspired stay.


The best B&B in town

5 on February 28, 2014

I stayed in the Asian Suite, which was fantastic. These rooms really are suites with plenty of breathing room and privacy. The breakfast was unique and delicious. I couldn't believe the quality of this B&B at such a low price.


Very nice, excellent location

4.2 on February 28, 2014

We stayed for three nights in this lovely bed and breakfast near the French Quarter in New Orleans. The suite was amazing, with luxury period decor and substantial tasty breakfasts each day. The location was excellent, only a 10 minute walk to North Rampart street at the top of the French quarter. Peter was knowledgeable and helpful and the provided secure parking for our rental vehicle was reassuring. We would definitely go back.


Pardon our Dust!

3.6 on January 10, 2014

Had a great stay. The food was great! Definitely try the French Toast! The room was a tad bit dusty, but otherwise comfortable. The period pieces are nice, albeit sprinked with some contemporary furnishings that should be phased out. Peter and Walter are very cordial.


A beautiful place to stay on the Quarter!

5 on December 28, 2013

Peter and Walter were the best hosts! Very knowledgable about the Quarter and did all they could to make sure our stay in New Orleans was a vacation to remember! There is offsite parking and the B&B is within walking distance to the quarter! I highly recommend this B&B to anyone coming to New Orleans! Also, the breakfasts wee great. Goo selection and Peter is a great cook!


Loved, loved!

5 on December 09, 2013

We loved our stay and couldn't have imagined it any other way. Our room in the cottage was fantastic, along with the parking, breakfast every morning and the main dining area where it was served. Thank you Peter for contributing to our wonderful honeymoon with your great service/Bed and Breakfast!


Wonderful food and service

4.0 on November 28, 2013

The gentlemen that own this B & B are gracious hosts and very helpful. There is an upgrade planned for Asian room that will be a positive improvement. We were very comfortable none-the-less. We loved the location!


Loved our stay

4.6 on August 08, 2013

We knew what to expect beforehand, by reading prior reviews and the Five Continents met or exceeded all our expectations. Peter was a very gracious and informative host, who took the time to recommend tours, restaurants and other places of interest. The breakfasts were outstanding, and there was a nice list to choose from. Each guest gets their choice prepared especially for them. If you are visiting New Orleans, you will enjoy the comfort and hospitality of the Five Continents Bed & Breakfast.


Great B & B would defintely stay again

5 on April 28, 2013

My husband I stayed here for our first trip to NOLA, and it was wonderful, close to everything in walking distance, the room was great and spacious. Peter makes the best breakfast ever.


New Orleans

5 on April 09, 2013

This b$b was awesome. Peter was very friendly and informative of the city and activities to do. The breakfast was delicious, that French toast was Devine.


Wonderful Place To Stay

5 on April 03, 2013

I would highly recommend the Five Continents- it was a great place to stay while visiting New Orleans. Peter was a wonderful host who made great breakfasts and was full of information and tips about the area. The accommodations were outstanding.


Great little B&B at an affordable price!

5 on March 18, 2013

We stayed in the Eurasian suite with out 2 children, and it was perfect for us. We also had friends that stayed in the Cottage, so we were able to use the patio areas with them and the kids nightly. Peter's breakfasts were delicious, their dog is so sweet, their service was wonderful, and I would definitely stay again. Since we were traveling with children, we chose to drive each day rather than walk. Their off-street parking made that very convenient.


You will love this B&B

5 on December 24, 2012

Five Continents will exceed you expectations...I will also stay there when I vist New Orleans!


Great B&B

5 on November 08, 2012

We warmly recommend this B&B. Peter (and Walther) are gracious hosts and cook a wicked breakfast. Coming in from Scandinavia you know you're on vacation when several breakfast options contain alligator sausage :-). The European Suite is very comfortable with large bedroom, living room and veranda (although hurricane Sandy lowered the temperature too much for us to profit much from it).


In-keep was a joy!

4.6 on October 24, 2012

New Orleans is my home so staying at this B&B was a pleasure, because it felt like home. Mr. Neusser was very accommodating. It's the small things. He worked to learn your habits very quickly-- laying before you your usual preference for breakfast while not being offended if you selected something different. Rooms are tidied almost every day. Great location with off-street parking even!


GREAT BED AND BREAKFAST

5 on September 24, 2012

Stayed here this weekend, will stay here again, everything was great, the rooms were extremly comfortable, parking was secure and very convienent,everything was lovely.CANNOT WAIT TO VISIT AGAIN.


Great B&B with wonderful breakfasts

5 on September 20, 2012

My wife and I just stayed at FiveContinents for the past four nights and had a wonderful time. New Orleans is a beautiful city with many sights to see and is filled with great restaurants and clubs. Peter and Walter are excellent hosts and the breakfasts were great! Peter is a fine chef and will cater to the diner's wishes. His dog Ako? added to the homey atmosphere. We'd go back in a heartbeat. Ed and Chris Hansen, Wisconsin


Quiet haven in New Orleans

4.4 on September 19, 2012

Great location, close to a bus line to get into the heart of the French Quarter OR walk (about 15 mins.), this is a wonderful way to enjoy New Orleans, wihtout the noise. Our host Peter was warm and very hospitable and is a wonderful cook so our gourmet breakfasts were simply outstanding. Will definitely stay again of coming to New Orleans again.


Wonderful stay even during a hurricane!

3.8 on September 06, 2012

My mother and I had reservations prior to Hurricane Gustav but decided to go to New Orleans anyway. It was a great choice as the 130 year old home kept us safe and secure, the hosts fed us well, and we weathered the wind, rain, and lack of power (part of the stay) in comfort. I would definitely return to this B&B.


Impressing!

5 on June 17, 2012

Arriving late we asked for alternative check-in arrangements via email, normally this is solved with key in envelope or even door open. But at Five Continents Peter greets us around midnight showing us to our room. That is what I call excellent service! The rooms are beautifully decorated. You feel like a royalty sleeping in the luxury bed with nice linen, and the bathroom is spotlessly clean. With both AC and roof fan it is easy to get the perfect temperature. The breakfast is just amazing. Except the basic coffe, tea juice and bagel Peter presents a menu with several wonderfal dishes that is cooked by himself. The breakfast is served in an environment which again makes you feel like a royalty. The location is perfect, just a short walk away from the main areas, and parking in the back yard is very convenient. What Peter has created here is a perfect b&b with the little extra. The wonderful interior o Peters very friendly approach makes it feel that we have received a personal invitation to this beautiful house. We will definitely come back!


40th Anniversary

5 on May 30, 2012

Cottage accommodations were fantastic. The host was very welcoming, accommodating, and had excellent advice on places to see and restaurants to try. Very relaxing atmosphere. Breakfasts were wonderful, well prepared and tasty. Very convenient to the sights and the music of New Orleans.. .


Great get away...

4.4 on May 20, 2012

Five Continents was a great find! My wife and I loved the ambiance and decor. For an older house it was in great shape and had great character. Peter was a fantastic host and makes a great french toast! We stayed in the Eurasia room and it was a great price for a 2 bedroom suite. Secure off street parking. We'll definitely be back!


Wonderfully represents the French Quarter

5 on April 27, 2012

I was only able to stay a short while, but my time at 5 Continents was so memorable. Peter and Akko couldn't have been more accomodating. The rooms (I think Eurasian Suite) were luxurious and my bed was so very comfortable. All this and delectible breakfasts, too! I met wonderful guests and Peter helped draw us all into the conversation. Peter's B&B is wonderful and I highly, highly recommend it.


extremely outstanding

5 on February 29, 2012

I enjoyed my stay and there hospitality is excellent. I will definitely stay again.Just love the dog..


Great First Time B&B experience

4.4 on February 11, 2012

This was my first B&B experience. I choose 5 Continents because Peter had a dog, Akko. I was in NOLA for a wedding and wasn't really interested in sightseeing, so I wanted a place I could just hang out at and read and watch TV. I read downstairs in the living room and Akko was by my side the whole time. I really enjoyed having a place to read with a really cool dog nearby. I'm a sucker for poached eggs with seafood, and Peter delivered with a great breakfast and some great coffee. The house was very comfortable with really unique decor that gives it a great charm. I definitely will come back to 5 Continents on my next trip to NOLA. I miss Akko already. Thanks Peter for a wonderful stay.


Would highly recommend for a stay!!!

5 on November 13, 2011

Peter and his staff were extremely warm and welcoming. We stayed in the cottage at the back in a beautiful room. The breakfasts were fantastic and the home itself was lovely. We had also booked the first few days of our vacation in a French Quarter Hotel but found that the FiveContinents was hands down our favorite place to stay in New Orleans. A beautiful and quiet retreat only blocks from the French Quarter and a major freeway. Thanks for a wonderful stay! Melanie and Brad


Great Stay

4.6 on November 09, 2011

Elegant B&B with the convenience of being near the French Quarter, but away from the hustle and bustle. The room was cozy and the breakfast selection delicious. You will enjoy the charm.


Wonderful Anniversary Weekend Getaway

5 on November 06, 2011

We loved Five Continents for our weekend getaway. Peter is a wonderful host and a very good cook! His breakfasts were a perfect start to each day we were there. The house and our room (the Eurasia Suite) were beautiful. The location of the house was ideal, we found it easily coming in from I10 West and it was just a few blocks from the French Quarter. I would highly recommend Five Continents and can't wait to stay here again. Be sure to say hello to Akko and give him a good scratch behind the ears for us!


Great Location...Great Host!

4.2 on October 20, 2011

Great place to stay, close to everything but not in the middle of French Quarter congestion. Host was wonderful, he's on property so we had someone to get advice from, and his breakfasts are fabulous! Would definitely recommend this place and hope to go back!


New Owner

4.4 on October 17, 2011

This was our first first to NOLA and our first stay at Five Continents. The B&B is now under new ownership (Jess has retired). Peter was an exceptional host and the morning meals were nothing short of excellent. Our room was comfortable and the mini-fridge was well stocked. Sure, the place could use some sprucing up, heck, it's old, but all in all we enjoyed our experience and would stay there again without hesitation.


Want to go back tomorrow!!!!!!

5 on October 15, 2011

We were very warmly welcomed by Peter and his very friendly dog who was very well behaved. We stayed in the Eurasia Suite. The rooms were beautiful, the bathroom was very large and comfortable. We ate the best breakfasts ever!!!!! Peter can cook and cook well!!!!! Our first breakfast was crawfish hash and poached eggs. It was heavenly!


A Perfect Stay in New Orleans!!!

5 on October 06, 2011

We were fortunate to have stayed at the 5 Continents the first week Peter took over. Nothing on the previous owner, cause I never met him, but Peter is a sweetheart. He was extremely accomodating to our needs, very friendly and makes an amazing spicy omlete! The breakfasts were AMAZING. Fresh berries and fruit, juice, toast, bagels, tea, coffee, and pretty much any egg style you could choose. But serioiusly, try the spicy omlete if you like a bit of spice! The stay was perfect. We stayed in the American Cottage. It felt like we had our own private apartment. The house itself is gorgeous. No complaints at all. I would highly recommend staying here... I doubt you can beat it out for the price, accomodatings and amazing hosts. Plus there is an extremely cute dog - Occo who is the most well behaved and trained dog I've ever met. It is about a 20 minute walk to the French Quarter and at night we almost always took a taxi. So for location, that is something to keep in mind.


Home away from home in New Orleans

5 on September 15, 2011

I've stayed several times at the luxurious 5 Continents and will continue to visit and to recommend it to friends who visit New Orleans regularly. The fact that it's pet friendly makes it almost too good to be true!


5 Continents goes above and beyond

5 on September 13, 2011

The rooms were nice and cozy. Great style and decoration. You can always count on a very tasty and classy breakfast. The owner is very nice and understanding about couples and the New Orleans experience. He even will advise locations that will get you off of Bourbon st. and experience more of the New Orleans flavor. The location was a little far for walking distance but Cab rides were cheap back and forth allowing your vehicle to stay locked up and secured and the B&B. I would definitely stay at the 5 continents again without any hesitation.


The Quintessential B&B Experience

5 on September 08, 2011

Jess Beaty provides the most hospitable environment of any innkeeper I've ever had the pleasure of being associated with. From the warm greeting when you arrive to the beautiful and comfortable rooms it's a true Southern experience! I highly recommend Five Continents for your B&B stay while in New Orleans. It's conveniently located and within short taxi or driving distance to the Quarter or the Garden District. Well worth a repeat visit...I should know...I've stayed there since Jess opened 10 years ago.


Another amazing stay!

5 on August 14, 2011

This was our fifth stay at the 5 Continents. Once again, it was outstanding. The quality of the accommodation and the breakfasts each morning are both second to none, and Jess, the innkeeper, makes you feel so welcome. It is the perfect place to stay when enjoying all that New Orleans has to offer.


Amazing!

5 on August 10, 2011

Everything during our 4-night stay was incredible! The house is beautiful, the location is great, the rooms were spotless, and Jess is the most friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating innkeeper you'll ever find. Each morning's breakfast was delicious & unique, and we're missing them already! Best B&B experience we've ever had. We'll be back!


Can't wait for the return visit!

4.6 on August 09, 2011

This B&B is outstanding! We booked two suites, the Eurasian and the Asian and both were lovely! The beds are super nice and comfortable just as advertised. We received a warm welcome from Jesse that made us feel right at home! He is very knowledgeable of the city and made suggestions for places to visit, restaurants, etc., that made it easier to plan our days and enjoy our stay even more. The house is spacious and comfortable, breakfast was very good and served in a friendly environment in the formal dining room - staying at the Five Continents made our stay in New Orleans very special. Both my son and two nieces agree with me! Lily D.


The best B&B in New Orleans!!!

5 on August 02, 2011

Jess is a great host and an amzing cook!! The house is spectacular!


Excellent accomodations

5 on July 02, 2011

5 continents truly lived up to our expectations. Food was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable. House was beautiful and we had the best host! I hope to visit New Orleans again. Staying at the 5 continents was like a home away from home....only you get spoiled at the 5 continents.


Great B & B!

5 on June 21, 2011

We had a great time in New Orleans. The bed and breakfast was better than we had expected and the owner - Jess - was an amazing host! Next time we are in New Orleans we will definitely stay at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast. We have absoluately no complaints. It was the best!


You will not be disappointed!

4.6 on June 15, 2011

My partner and I had the great pleasure to stay at the Five Continents recently. Right from our arrival, we were made to feel at home by the owner Jess who gave us some tips on things to do and places to eat that only an local could know. It made our stay in New Orleans better than we can ever imagine. The house is amazing and Jess has tastefully renovated to an exceptional standard. This is a first clas establishment!


Five Continents Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on June 07, 2011

This was our first time visiting New Orleans and we didn't even need to pay for a tour guide! Jess gave us wonderful ideas and places to check out. During our delightful breakfast, Jess helped us plan out our day, giving us many options and the easiest way to get there!


Perfect for a weekend getaway!

5 on June 03, 2011

Our host Jess, is always kind and definitely knows his city. He offers great recommendations not only for restaurants, but sites that shouldn't be missed. I've never seen a more beautiful house or clean rooms. I definitely recommend you stay here whenever you get a chance.


Wonderful stay at 5 Continents

5 on May 30, 2011

Our accommodations were way beyond our expectations - the decor, the comfort, the location, the gracious host. Jess seemed to know our preferences and directed us to wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Best of all, he had the room at a perfect temperature when we arrived after a day of driving in the southern heat. Kudos!!


A great B & B

4.8 on May 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our visit, Jess could not have been more helpful in helping us to decide where to go. The breakfasts were wonderful and the location was great.


So Glad We Stayed There!

4.8 on May 13, 2011

I had high expectations going in, but somehow Jess and the 5C exceeded them. Amazing home, comfortable room, wonderful food, good location, and terrific local advice. If we get to go back to Nola, this place will be at the top of our list for places to stay.


Perfect Getaway

4.8 on May 12, 2011

Jess was an excellent host, providing great local tips on where to eat, activities, etc. Stayed in the cottage which was perfect; wonderful deck to enjoy AM coffee and read. There for JazzFest - easy & safe walk to fairgrounds. Quarter is easily accessible by short cab ride or a 15min walk down Esplanade (felt safe and and it was well lit). Can't wait to go back.


Gem in NOLA

5 on April 25, 2011

Our too-brief stay at Five Continents B&B couldn't have been better. Location is great, just on the edge of the insanity of the French Quarter, far enough to retreat from it and close enough to easily walk to. The inn itself is very well maintained and immaculate, charmingly decorated with Jess' gatherings from around the world. What an interesting guy he is! The service and attention to detail were as good as it gets, yet never felt stuffy or snobby. Hands down, a much better choice than a hotel in the quarter.


nice b&b

5 on April 21, 2011

The rooms and the hospitality were great. I would stay here again next year if there were rooms available.


Wonderful stay in April, 2011.

5 on April 11, 2011

I highly recommend 5 Continents Bed and Breakfast. It is a wonderful building , immaculately clean, and close to everything. Jess is a top host willing to go above and beyond for his guests.


Our Stay Here Was Awesome

4.4 on April 05, 2011

Please do visit Jess at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast if you want to feel totally spoiled and absolutely taken care of! His breakfasts are to die for, and our host could not have been more helpful, arranging cabs, printing boarding passes, and imparting a wealth of knowledge about the city and surrounding areas and attractions. We would recommend a stay at this lovely bed and breakfast to everyone, and we were very happy here.


It was awesome

4.6 on March 27, 2011

Everything was perfect, the rooms, the breakfast, the location, the owner. We will come back!


Wondrful Weeked in New Orleans

5 on March 25, 2011

absolutely wonderful! exceeded all expectations. Jess is #1!


This B&B goes to great lengths to maintain high standards.

4.0 on March 14, 2011

Jess Beaty is a very personable and articulate host who has had many enriching experiences in his life including world-wide travel and has a great understanding for the wide variety of guests who stay at 5 Continents. The furnishings throughout are for the most part sumptuous and/or authentic. He knows the city well and is a wonderful and friendly resource. He loves to collect worthy recipes and share the fruits of his labors with his guests. He is a meticulous innkeeper and a wonderful conversationalist which makes a difference for anyone considering staying at a B&B! I highly recommend staying at 5 Continents!


Great place!

4.0 on February 27, 2011

Fabulous place to stay in an amazing city! It's within walking distance to the French Quarter and it's a very nice, quiet neighborhood. The owner is extremely helpful and his service is excellent.


Excellent Experience

5 on February 25, 2011

My wife and I decided to spend Christmas 2010 in New Orleans and we couldn't have picked a better B&B. Jess, the inn's owner was a wealth of knowledge about the area, restaurants, art museum, etc. I'd heard about Jess' ability to prepare some amazing breakfasts and wasn't dissapointed. He even printed off some recipes to take home. All in all we had a great time and definitely plan on going back.


New Orleans B&B

5 on February 18, 2011

Jess was a fabulous host! His suggestions for activities and insights into New Orleans was outstanding. The room was wonderful and the breakfast great.


Amazing B&B!

5 on February 09, 2011

Jess is an incredible owner and host of the Five Continents B&B. This was my second stay and he did not disappoint! His breakfasts are delicious and plentiful and his Bloody Mary's are a great way to start the morning! The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable. The location was perfect for us - a few blocks from the French Quarter, so in the mornings it was a pleasant walk and in the evenings, an inexpensive cab ride back. I can't give Jess enough kudos for such a fabulous B&B...we will definitely return for a 3rd, 4th, 5th...


Second visit

5 on January 06, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to Five Continents. Jess makes everyone feel so special with his attention to detail We just wish we could have stayed longer. We have stayed in the cottage both times and have been very comfortable. We know Jess works very hard but he does a fabulous job. Beautiful home!


Christmastime stay

5 on January 04, 2011

This was our second stay here and both times have been wonderful. Jess is the perfect host and a terrific cook. He has great suggestions for things to see and do and places to eat. It's like staying with an old friend. We were here a few weeks before Christmas and the house was beautifully decorated. We come to New Orleans frequently and have stayed in a variety of places but this is our favorite.


Attentive Innkeeper, georgious mansion

4.6 on January 04, 2011

Our stay was very pleasant. We especially enjoyed the fresh, regionally typical and every day different breakfast. The Inkeeper even made us a lunchbag on our departure day, as we had to leave very early. He gave us a lot of insider tips what to do and where to go. Altogether he was very helpful. The room was very nice furnished and the house all-over georgiously decorated. The only aspect that wasn't so good, was the worn out matress (we stayed in the Asian Suite). But maybe it's replaced until you go there. The B&B is located quite close to the French Quarter. It was only a short interesting walk along the Esplanade Avenue to get there.


Awesome!

5 on December 30, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay. Jess made us feel like we were staying in the home of a close friend, and this 125 year old home is immaculate & beautiful. In addition to all of that, Jess is truly a gourmet cook. Breakfasts were phenomenal. Jess was a wealth of information about the NOLA area and he gave us priceless advice re: everything from sites to insider secrets about parking. We really liked the safe, gated off street parking too. When we are back in NOLA, we will definitely stay there again. In fact, 5 Continents and Jess may be the biggest attraction that takes us back!


lovely place to stay

4.6 on December 11, 2010

This was my first trip to NOLA and my first time at a bed and breakfast. this place is a little bit of a walk from the French Quarter, but really no big hike. You can always take a cab or drive yourself if you want. We actually did all three. In any case, this place is really beautiful. We came just as it was being decorated for the holidays. So we got the before and after so to speak. the room we stayed in, the asian room, was just perfect for two of us. It had a nice sitting room that made it seem huge. It was well maintained. Two points about this room - at night we could not get it totally pitch black to sleep. the security lights shine in the room somewhat. no big deal unless you need a completely dark room. also it takes awhile for the hot water to get hot. Which is common for these big old houses. Jess, the innkeeper, was great. He gave us a lot of good suggestions. We followed several suggestions and were pleased. He is a great cook. Breakfasts were wonderful and left us full to the point where we did not need lunch at all. I highly recommend this place.


Outstanding stay in New Orleans

5 on November 26, 2010

We read all the great reviews before making our reservation, and they were right! Thanks to Jess for a fantastic stay. Our room was lovely, and we really enjoyed the adjacent sitting room. The breakfasts were fantastic, both in terms of the quality of food and the graciousness of the dining room setting. Jess had great suggestions for food and activities, and never steered us wrong. The home was within easy walking distance of the French Quarter--great location. Jess went so far above and beyond--even prepared us a surprise breakfast-to-go (complete with coffee for us and the cab driver) when we had to leave for the airport before the crack of dawn. Finally, we enjoyed the company of house kitties Jean Pierre and Beauregard! Definitely THE place to stay in New Orleans.


Relaxing and enjoyable stay

5 on November 24, 2010

Jess the owner runs a fantastic B&B, clean, comfortable, and he is a wonderful cook. Breakfast is a feast of the senses. We felt pampered throughout our stay.


Amazing!

5 on November 18, 2010

I had a fantastic time at 5 Continents! I arrived on a Tuesday and stayed in the North American Cottage. It was a perfect way to relax and decompress after a hectic week working at a conference. The next night, a friend flew in to join me and we moved to the Eurasian Suite for the rest of our trip. We felt so pampered and spoiled! The insanely comfortable beds, the 450 thread count sheets and the beautiful, inviting (so clean you could eat off the floor) rooms made us feel like princesses. We met fascinating people over the breakfast table and none more fascinating than the owner, Jess. He is the consummate host. He made us feel welcome, gave us brilliant recommendations and went above and beyond in every way to make our stay so pleasant. His adorable kitties Beauregard and Jean-Pierre were similarly welcoming. The breakfasts were divine. I couldn't believe how fantastic the food was. When I got back to NYC and looked at my usual breakfast of Rice Chex with soy milk, I wanted to weep (and book a flight back to NOLA immediately). I will never stay anywhere else in New Orleans now that I've found The 5 Continents. If you're looking for a wonderful experience, excellent value, a close walk to the Quarter & Frenchmen's Street (but removed from the chaos), look no further. I'm recommending The 5 Continents to everyone. And Jess, if you're reading this, Lois and Sara will be back to visit you soon! :-)


An Outstanding Stay!

5 on November 14, 2010

This was quite possibly the epitome of our trip cross-country. Jess runs a tight ship in this old historic home. The decor is gorgeous, the breakfasts are delicious, the place is clean, and the beds comfortable. If this service was achievable around the world, we'd never use a hotel chain again. A job well done. When ever we go to New Orleans again, we'll be sure to stay with Jess at the 5 Continents B&B.


Fantastic Find near the French Quarter

5 on October 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in the North American Cottage. It was beautiful with a lovely little front porch and a gorgeous bathroom. Every breakfast was huge and delicious! Jess was the epitome of graciousness and a perfect host. He gave fantastic recommendations that I suggest anyone follow. The B and B is a little farther from the French Quarter then I thought but only about a 15 min walk. If we ever go back to New Orleans we would definetly stay here again.


Early spring weekend

4.4 on March 16, 2010

The weather was beautiful and we truly enjoyed our trip to New Orleans for the Ole Miss v. Tulane baseball series. Innkeeper Jess was a delight and most willing to answer any questions about restaurants and other details of the city. The breakfasts were outstanding. We look forward to a return trip down the road. Tom and Patsy Smith, Olive Branch, MS. 3/16/2010


A wonderful stay in New Orleans!

5 on March 07, 2010

Our stay at the Five Continents exceeded our expectations in every way. We wanted something out of the French Quarter and the craziness of Bourbon Street. The inn on Esplanade was well within walking distance to the French Quarter, but in a residential area. Our innkeeper, Jess, was friendly without being intrusive, helpful, interesting and concerned with making our visit to New Orleans perfect. We had amazing breakfasts each morning accompanied by great coffee, conversation and help with planning our day. Thanks to Jess, we had exceptional meals at unusual places so we could get the flavor of the real New Orleans. The whole house is beautifully and tastefully decorated, while our room (The Asian Suite) was comfortable, elegant and convenient to come and go at our leisure. We felt secure and pampered with gated parking, ironed (!) silky sheets and high-end toiletries. We had a refrigerator stocked with water, sodas and juices as well as cozy robes and thick towels. Thank you, Jess, for a lovely stay-we will be back!


Best of the Big Easy

4.8 on November 24, 2009

Jess is a natural. Conscientious service and facilities done without fanfare but always with intelligence and a friendly aire. Made our visit to NO a pleasant experience. Breakfasts are special, as was the front porch of the 'cottage' A&B Craig


Lovely Stay

4.2 on June 09, 2009

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. Once they found out, we recieved a lovely gift in addition to all the great insider information, recommendations, and map assistance. It was a lovely stay!


Excellent Choice

5 on April 22, 2009

Thanks to Jess the innkeeper for such a wonderful experience. This was such an excellent value. Not only is less expensive than any hotel, but the pictures do not do this beatiful home justice and we received the best service imaginable. I recommend 5 Continents to anyone visiting the French Quarter. We really could not have been more pleased with our stay.


A MUST!!!!

5 on November 07, 2008

This B&B is amazing! Jess knows how to treat his guest! Jess went above and beyond to fix our room mix up (my fault, not his) and did not charge us for extra guests (hotels.com mix up, not his). When we arrived, he showed us to our room and welcomed us with 2 glasses of wine. The EuroAsian suite is amazingly beautiful. Love the bathroom! Refreshments are free.... you can't get that in a hotel! Every morning he made the best breakfast! Fruit as a starter... with warm delish bf after.... your choice of beverage and he will make it to your specifications!! I felt like we went to a high price restaurant! Very delish, Jess! Jess went above and beyond his duties to make us feel at home in his magnificent house!! Thank you, Jess!!! We will definitely see you next October.... if not sooner!


INCREDIBLE!!!

5 on September 23, 2008

We just recently went back for a second visit to 5 continents. Words cannot express what an incredible stay it is there. It is fantastic, from the service to the dining, to the innkeeper's company. You are truly treated like royalty. The breakfasts are super! I miss those when i have to return to reality the next day! I thank Jess (innkeeper) for making my wedding night and anniversary extra special.


historic gem

5 on June 16, 2008

incredibly spacious suites, gorgeous decor, and phenomenal breakfasts make this a very romantic and relaxing experience. host is very knowledgeable of the city and sites


Loved it, will be back!!!!

5 on May 15, 2008

Really enjoyed the stay. Jess was accomodating and quite pleasant. The house is beautiful and tastefully decorated. A lot of thought and effort is placed to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience. I highly recommnend the B&B. We plan on returning as soon as we can arrange it (in cool weather). :) Thanks Jess!


a real gem

5 on April 27, 2008

Classic arcitecture, great period decor, wonderful breakfasts.


One of the best!

5 on November 24, 2007

This amazing B&B was one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. Not only were the rooms wonderful, but Jess was the ideal host, ensuring that every aspect of our stay was perfect. He had good advice on virtually every issue, and he was always available to assist us with every concern. His cooking was extraordinary -- each day we were treated to an elaborate and delicious breakfast. We were with our baby daughter, and Jess went so far as to give her a book as a present (a children's book with New Orleans holiday folklore). I truly cannot imagine a better host, or a better home-away-from-home.


Great B&B

4.8 on May 21, 2007

We spent two nights in May 2007 with Jess Beaty, the innkeeper. What can we say except the service was impeccable, the house is in immaculate condition, and the breakfasts were outstanding. His knowledge of New Orleans, restaurants, the french quarter, tours, etc, were right on track. He recommended GW Fins as a great seafood restaurant and it was, with outstanding service, atmosphere, and food. We can not imagine staying anywhere else.


Great Way to Start Our Honeymoon!

5 on April 27, 2007

Wow, everything I dreamed of and more as a first timer in a bed and breakfast. Immaculate, a lot of close attention to detail, delicious full breakfast, elegant... I could go on and on. Jess Beaty is a top notch innkeeper with tons of knowledge about the area and it's history.


B&B as charming as its owner

4.6 on January 14, 2007

Jess has traveled the world, and now enjoys letting the world come to his beautifully restored B&B. We stayed in the cottage at the back, and loved the privacy and comfort.


Five Continents Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $130 - $350
  • Reviews (93) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Fax 1-5043248594
  • Toll free 1-8009974652

Visit Website »

View details

Top