Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
174 Reviews

Write A Review

Birthday Weekend

4.4 on August 20, 2014

Spent my birthday weekend here and had a WONDERFUL time.John was informative, very friendly and a AWESOME chef! The quiet atmosphere at the B&B was perfect for my husband and me when we wanted to just sit and relax..the town was walking distance for most of the things we did...GREAT WEEKEND!


WOW ... WHAT A WEEKEND!!

4.8 on August 03, 2014

My wife and I spent her birthday weekend here and visiting Natchitoches. Great, Great place to stay!!! Rooms were VERY cool, John the owner, proprietor and chef was really welcoming and charming. There was nothing we wanted for. He managed to cater to our every need and yet was nearly invisible the whole time. We had the run of the place and were able to enjoy our weekend on our own schedule. I would heartily recommend this place to anyone!!!


My Sons Wedding and Family Reunion Weekend

5 on April 03, 2014

My son was getting married March 22, 2014. My Husband,myself and daughter had stayed at the Violet Hill prior and instantly fell in love with the home and outstanding service. So when my son proposed, we booked the entire house for family and friends flying/driving in from out of state, so we would have a wonderful place to stay the entire weekend March21-March24th. Every one had their own beautiful private room and bath to get ready for the wedding and then an absolutely wonderful place for us to gather before and after the wedding. I have to say, that I have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts, but the Violet Hill is by far my favorite. We were treated like family, every thing our hearts desired was provided, including wonderful breakfasts served at a time we chose to make sure every one was up and ready (in our jammies) for breakfast. John (Innkeeper/Owner) Served us the most delicious breakfasts and we were able to pick which kind of breakfast we wanted. He accommodated our every need, any thing we did need, just a call and he was there lickedey split! The river view from the back veranda and covered boat dock is amazing. We had a wonderful Sunday morning family get together, playing guitar and singing, with many little cousins enjoying the back yard. It was perfectly wonderful. The rooms are outstanding, clean and spacious, with comfy beds and pillows. A room for everyone's needs. Our visitors from out of town were so impressed with the home and service provided by the housekeepers and John. It couldn't have been more perfect. I want to thank John and his staff personally for making my sons wedding so wonderful before and after.Thank you John for making this special occasion even better. have a family reunion, The Violet Hill will be the spot!!!! I can go on and on, but I wont. Unbelievable John, Thank you so much for your never ending hospitality and making every one feel as if they were home.


Violet HIlls B&B, my favorite!!

5 on November 05, 2013

Just returned home from a another visit to Violet Hill B&B & I am convinced that this is by far my favorite B&B! Charles, my friend, you are second to none - you absolutely make the stay the most pleasant experience! The rooms are neat & clean, but the real treat is the fantastic breakfast - served to guests by the best host ever. Charles is full of information regarding the history of the town & places of interest. You will not be disappointed when staying at Violet Hill B&B - it's awesome! Kelly


Awesome!

5 on August 20, 2013

Nestled between Jefferson Street and the Cane River Lake, sits this gem of a Bed and Breakfast, in Natchitoches. Organization, communication, and courtesy are the tenets of this quaint establishment. The room was spotless with additional creature comforts, often overlooked, as a staple in this décor. Charles is the cog of this elegantly balanced system of interlocked gears. He is the epitome of customer service and a superior breakfast chef as well. If you look up “host” in the dictionary, there he is, a picture of Charles, as he is truly representative in all facets of the definition. Our first visit was this past weekend and by the time we got home Sunday, I was already looking for the next available date to book The Prince Haithcoat Suite. We will be back in November! Thank you, Charles for such a memorable stay and that is now the first of many visits we plan to make.


Weekend Getaway

5 on August 18, 2013

Excellent! I loved the atmosphere and service. Husband already made reservations to go back!!


Wonderful Weekend

5 on August 18, 2013

This was the first time we had stayed in a Bed and Breakfast. I received a gift certificate for my birthday at one of the 4 homes. In looking over the choices, we decided on Violet since it was on Cane River Lake. It was a wonderful experience. The room was so nice as well as the bathroom. After shopping down Front street,we went down to the dock and sat enjoying the cool breeze's. Sunday morning we were treated to great conversation at breakfast and a wonderful meal served by Charles. That guy is the best! He sincerely wants to make sure your stay is without any wants. A great weekend, and we will be back.


Loved the innkeeper and service!

4.6 on August 08, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality at Violet Hill. Beautiful home and very warm and inviting. Loved the innkeeper!!


Wonderful weekend getaway.

5 on July 11, 2013

Breakfast was outstanding and Charles could not have treated us any better. Great place to stay.


So glad we chose Violet Hill!

5 on July 11, 2013

I can't say enough about Violet Hill. It was awesome. The room and the view from John Reavls room was beautiful. The breakfast was unbelievable! Charles LaCaze is perfect at his job. He couldn't have been more accomodating, no matter what. His breakfasts were unbelievable and I'm from New Orleans and work in Food and Beverage and I was so impressed. He greeted you everyday with a smile and you could hear him singing in the kitchen. He was just a joy and it was obvious he enjoys his job! What a a treasure. I would definitely recommend staying there and hope to do so again in the near future!


Better than Outstanding!!

4.6 on July 07, 2013

If we could give Six stars on Food and Service we would!! The two breakfasts that we were served were fit for a King... And a very hungry one at that! Delicious food, wonderful presentation and extremely attentive service! Our coffee cups never got close to being half empty before Charles was there filling them again! We had the pleasure of dining with some extraordinary couples from near and far. And sitting on the dock each morning, drinking coffee and reading our books, with the peaceful river before us was so relaxing! It was a perfect weekend, thanks to Charles' wonderful Southern hospitality!


Relaxing getaway, beautiful setting overlooking Cane River Lake and of course, CHARLES!!!!

5 on June 26, 2013

My husband and I decided that we needed a weekend away and after making the decision that we would go to Natchitoches, I set about researching places to stay, After much internet browsing, we chose the Violet Hill B&B based on reviews, pictures and descriptions. And we definitely made the right choice. We stayed in the Arthur Coble Room, a beautifully appointed room, large bathroom w/jacuzzi for two, located at the back of the house with easy access to the back gallery (porch/deck). Sitting on the back gallery overlooking Cane River Lake was SO beautiful and relaxing,, ran the entire length of the back of the home, complete with porch swing. Although on Saturday night, there was a full house, we never knew it until breakfast the next morning when we met the other guests. The way that the inn is laid out, all of the rooms and/or suites are private. The property is really beautiful and very comfortable (our bed/mattress was awesome), but the very best asset of the Violet Hill is the excellent Innkeeper, Charles. He prepared beautiful 2 course breakfasts for us both mornings, catered to our every whim. If he even heard us mention something that we would like to find or something we would like to do, within minutes, he appeared with written information about it. He could not have been more accommodating, always smiling (or singing), but not in an intrusive way...........the perfect combination of being there and not being there, if you know what I mean. We absolutely love Charles and will definitely return to Violet Hill because of him. If you are on the fence about this B&B, just book it...........you will not be disappointed!!


Violet Hill....the place to stay in Natchitoches.

5 on June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Violet Hill B&B for two nights in June and cannot find enough good things to say about this beautiful place. Our room was great and the outside view of the Cane River Lake was breathtaking. The Back Porch (we are from Texas...we have porches) was relaxing and peaceful. A great place for meeting other guests and creating new friendships. Our dining experience was exceptional. The food was prepared and served as well as any 4 star restaurant. Our host...Charles...was professional, helpful and entertaining. We cannot say enough nice things about him. Our experience at Violet Hill would not have been the same without Charles. Very nice job. If we ever visit Natchitoches again, we will certainly stay at Violet Hill. Suzie Lindke Sandi Balcar Caldwell, Texas


A visit we will always remember and treasure

5 on June 20, 2013

We truly enjoyed our visit at the Violet Hill B&B. Charles instantly made us feel welcome and helped us experience all the great things that Natchitoches has to offer. After a lovely day exploring we enjoyed a bottle of our favorite wine on the spacious back porch that overlooked the beautiful Cane River. It was so relaxing and the river seemed to just carry all of our cares away. Nothing will ever quite compare to the warm sunlight that filled our room when we opened the blinds in the morning and the aroma of a fresh pot of coffee in our room as we woke up to a new day. We enjoyed walking down to the river before being welcomed into a beautifully adorned table for breakfast. We were blown away by the breakfast Charles prepared. The presentation was a work of art and each and every bite was filled with exceptional flavors. It was truly a visit that we will always remember and treasure. We highly recommend Violet Hill B&B.


A Nice Way to Celebrate our 59th Wedding Anniversary

4.8 on June 01, 2013

We have stayed at many B & B's all over this country and others and The Violet Hill is among the best. After dinner at the Mariner and Charles's gourmet breakfast, we came home well fed and happy! We particularly enjoyed the veranda. Malcolm and LaWanda


OH MY GOSH!!!!

5 on May 24, 2013

Ran away for weekend, with family group of girls. I can't say enough about the house and furnishings. But more than that....I can't say enough nice things or express enough gratitude for the wonderful over the top service that Charles gave to our family. It is so very evident that he has been blessed with a gift. Such a true giving spirit meets you as soon as you talk with him upon arriving. And the food....oh my, it was like no other. Charles and staff have set the bar very high to an almost unreachable goal for others! The rooms are fabulous, so very clean, the porch and deck are wonderful and relaxing also. And the location is very key and seems to rate at the top as far as I can tell. We will definitely be back and it is my hope that Charles will be there to greet us again!! Thank you again.....it was a very needed and relaxing trip. KP


Southern Charm Getaway

5 on May 23, 2013

Great place to stay, Charles makes your visit all worth the while with the great Breakfast that he serves each morning,we could not wait to see what surprises we had each mornig. Really enjoyed the back porch overlooking the Cane River. The location is great and it is a very quite neighborhood. Can't wait to go back for another visit.


Completely Wonderful Beyond Belief!

5 on May 22, 2013

I don't know how to express through the words of this review the feeling we felt while staying at this wonderful B&B. I can tell you that you absolutely will not find a more beautiful, warm and welcoming place to spend your time. Myself, my sister, our Mom and our aunt had the joy of staying at this lovely location for two nights in May. The only thing that could possibly top the home is the personal service given by the innkeeper, Charles. From the very first moment Charles opened the door for us, I felt like I had come home - even though this was my very first visit to the home. Charles is one of the most genuinely wonderful people I've ever been blessed to meet. His attention toward us made us feel as if we were very special too. He met our every need and always with a smile and a kind word. He prepared the most extraordinary breakfasts for us each morning and I feel sorry for those who haven't yet had the pleasure of sitting at his table. Now that we are back at home, I find that I'm missing the fabulous Violet Hill home and Charles greatly! I can't wait until I have the pleasure of seeing them both again! Do yourself a great favor and book your stay now at Violet Hill. I promise you will not regret it. Happy Travels!


Another GREAT stay at Violet Hill!

5 on May 07, 2013

We brought friends with us to Nachitoches this visit. My wife and I had such a great stay at Violet Hill last time through, we returned to share the experience. Always welcoming and impeccably decorated, VH was better than ever. From easy entrance, to pre-dinner drink (down on their Cane River dock), to short stroll downtown for dinner, VH sets the bar for ALL BnB's to attain. After a day of exploring, the jet-tub soak and comfortable bed finished a beautiful May day in Nachitoches. Our host, Charles, prepared a gourmet breakfast of tasty quiche, biscuits, sour grits, bread pudding, juice, coffee and most appreciably, witty/thoughtful conversation! We enjoyed another Louisiana "Roadtrip" from NOLA and the FQ, over to our airboat ride in Houma, up to the Crawfish Festival in Lafayette and finally to our favorite small town in Amercia; Nachitoches. We look forward to our next visit to Violet Hill and the beauty of Louisiana. M and T from NORCAL


Charles is your best asset

5 on April 21, 2013

My experience was above and beyond. This was my second visit to Violet Hill B&B and my sixth stay in Natchitoches at a B&B. I will be back and I will choose to stay at one of the four properties. My stay was relaxing, just what I needed but the service was superb.


Jazz Fest Weekend at the Violet Hill

5 on April 17, 2013

This was by far the best B&B I have ever stayed. Gorgeous, homey, and very comfortable and welcoming. Charles LaCaze, the Inn Keeper made it absolutely perfect and wouldn't have been the same without him!!! We didn't need for anything, I would definitely recommend this house for anyone planning to stay in Natchitoches and be pampered while your their!!!!


Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast, Natchitoches, LA 71457

5 on April 09, 2013

Charles did a wonderful job, food was great


Southern Charm

4.6 on April 09, 2013

true Southern charm within walking distance of downtown. Loved porch on back overlooking the Cane River lake.


Violet Hill B&B

4.4 on April 08, 2013

This was my first trip to Natchitoches, and I will definitely be back. I believe Violet Hill sets the bar as how a B&B should be run. The service was great, and our host was friendly and very knowledgeable. But the best part was the breakfast, which was outstanding.


WONDERFUL

4.8 on April 07, 2013

We have stayed at all the B & B's in this group and love the Violet Hill the best! Love the rooms and back porch but the BEST is Charles!!!! Staying there another 2 times before the end of NSU baseball season. My son graduates this May but we love it so much (along with Front Street shopping) we plan on making it a yearly sister get away!!!


AWESOME...AWESOME...AWESOME!!!

5 on March 30, 2013

My husband & I spent two nights here and absolutely LOVED IT! We chose this property because of its location on the river within walking distance of Front Street, along with the reviews from other guests. They were not wrong! CHARLES, YOU ARE A CLASS ACT!!! We felt like we were home the minute we walked through the door. The staff is so accommodating, yet never intrusive upon your privacy. And the wonderful breakfast that Charles prepares each morning is TO DIE FOR...worth the price of admission alone! We will most definitely make return visits. Thanks to Charles & staff for a lovely time...can't wait to see you all again!


dependable respite

5 on March 29, 2013

A nap on the veranda on the river, a glass of wine on the patio, the mutual respect of all the guests, topped off with the ultimate hospitality and personal care of our innkeeper, Charles, made Violet Hill the perfect choice for our weekend to escape and decompress. We enjoyed being in the quaint and beautiful old house and getting in touch with simpler times. Nothing takes the place of thoughtful and dependable people when you need them most! All our love.


My favorite B & B in Natchitoches!

5 on March 21, 2013

Beautiful, relaxing, great location and view on Cane River Lake, incredible staff that make you feel welcome & pampered, comfortable rooms, great attention to details and special requests. I have been here several times and this is a dream home away from home!


The Perfect Weekend

5 on March 18, 2013

While there are many different reasons we are all drawn to the quaint and charming town of Natchitoches, I absolutely cannot think of any reason being better than Charles LaCaze. I say Charles, because quite frankly, "he" is the reason why so many will remember this place! There is no doubting...Charles and Natchitoches are synonymous with one another!! Both are charming, gracious, interesting and memorable...to mention only a few things. When someone is passionate about their work, it shows and with Charles...his passion is off the chart! From our arrival, to our departure...everything was perfect! The service and food are eventful!! As a special request, a small and humble birthday cake was ordered...however, this gorgeous and delectable cake arrived at our door!! The presentation was nothing short of spectacular! ~A special thank you Charles for that~ So yes, please come and stay...Violet Hill is a beautiful and comfortable destination...but, a house is just a house...Charles makes you feel ~ you are at home!!


Spring in Natchitoches

4.8 on March 13, 2013

One of the best B&Bs in which we have ever stayed. The food was sinful. The location was great. Charles attended graciously to our needs, before we were even aware of them.


Girls' Trip

5 on March 05, 2013

This was the second time we had stayed at Violet Hill and decided we should make it a yearly pilgrimage. The house is beautiful, inside and out. The grounds are so peaceful from the back porch to the dock, both looking at the river. And then there's Charles, the best host ever. He was always there for us. The breakfasts he created were a gourmet delight. He is such a personable, friendly person.....you feel like you've known him forever. He made us feel truly at home. I can't say enough about this outstanding bed and breakfast. I highly recommend it! Thanks again Charles for a wonderful stay.


College Visit

5 on March 03, 2013

Great location - Charles was the perfect host!


Relaxing retreat

5 on February 23, 2013

A charming escape on the river for valentines day weekend. The owner Todd was a gracious host and the innkeeper Charles is wonderful - attentive to even the smallest needs (even special dietary offerings) and providing a wonderful breakfast experience - great food, great company, and even song while attending to the meal. Overall a superb experience - looking forward to our return trip.


Valentine Getaway

5 on February 16, 2013

Violet Hill B&B offered an excellent getaway from the hectic daily life. The furnishings are beautiful and transport a person to a day when life was slower. The porch and boat dock are added spots to enjoy a cup of coffee or tea. Breakfast was not only beautifully presented it was delicious and more than enough.


nice place great service

5 on February 14, 2013

Charles you were an amazing host and set the tone for our trip. Thank you again.


wonderful get away!

5 on February 13, 2013

Charlie made our stay at Violet Hill worth the trip! The house was beautiful, well maintained & the breakfast requires its very own recognition. We enjoyed great company from the other guest over the most amazing breakfast each morning. We could hear Charlie singing in the background of our conversations from the kitchen which made breakfast that much more enjoyable. We will definitely return hopefully many times. Many thanks to Charlie, Toni & Tim


Everything a b & b should be...and more!

5 on February 11, 2013

As instructed in an email shortly after booking, we entered from the back porch after easily finding our keys...but first to gaze out on Cane River thinking to myself, "this glider has my name on it." Perfectly situated, well-maintained both inside and out, divinely furnished, and impeccably clean with so many thoughtful touches, Violet Hill's best asset is innkeeper, Charles LaCaze. His breakfasts will wow you (he accommodates dietary restrictions if you have any...just tell him ahead), but it's his personality that is the crowning jewel of Violet Hill. Often heard singing while he goes about his chores, I don't think he's ever met a stranger; because you see, once you've met Charles, you get this feeling like your family circle has just been enlarged by one person. He is a font of local knowledge, and gives prompt and detailed answers to your questions. Even when he's not there, you have his phone number should you need anything. Such warmth and charm---why not visit and see for yourself! Charles and the Violet Hill B & B should be shared. My husband and I loved the Prince Haithcoat Suite---the pictures don't do it justice. The living area is so cozy and well laid out---if not for all those shops and restaurants, it would've been tempting never to leave it! I didn't "faceplant" on the mattress, but what a comfortable bed with such a fresh smell. Oh, and that Jacuzzi...it appeared brand new and is just the ticket after a long day exploring! There is a beverage center in the main hallway which always offers a treat (this time, King Cake), along with a separate brochure table with helpful local info. Alas, we had to leave; but there is no question we will return. We have found our Natchitoches home away from home, and need to check in with "nephew" Charles every so often:) P.S. There is an orange tree in the front yard just full of oranges! Charles says they make good juice, and the low-hanging fruit seems to disappear. Ha!


Very relaxing

4.0 on February 06, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at a B&B. We will definitely be visiting the Violet Hill again. Very peaceful and relaxing. We had our own private bathroom. The bedroom was very nice and cozy. Our most favorite part of the whole stay was being able to sit out on the dock and enjoy our coffee in the mornings and wine in the evenings, with such a great view on Cane River.


January Review of Violet Hill

5 on January 21, 2013

The word "breakfast" should be highlighted in B and B when referring to Violet Hill! I wish we could have rated it with 6 stars. It was fantastic! Charles was beyond hospitalble to all the guest. We would definitely recommend the location, the atmosphere, and the accomadations of Violet Hill to anyone looking for a simple getaway or a choice over a hotel. Our room was clean, comfortable, and private.


Charles made the day

5 on January 11, 2013

What a great time. Exceptional cuisine, , Unparalleled ambiance. Best location in town. Charles made the stay wonderful. What a great guy. His wonderful attitude just stared our day.Don't miss the breakfast.


Charming Find

5 on January 06, 2013

My family and I accidentally found Violet Hill while trying to find a place to stay for the night on a last minute trip to Natchitoches. I can't tell you how pleased we were with our find. We stayed in the Puckett Suite with our two children and it was wonderful. Not only did we enjoy ourselves, but our small children did as well( since they had their on bedroom and the freedom to roam the beautiful home). The service was magnificent and the breakfast delicious! Also, the location was just perfect for strolling down the famous "Front Street". I look forward to returning soon and staying at this charming and quaint home again.


A Perfect Anniversary Retreat

5 on January 03, 2013

My husband and I booked the John Revis room at Violet Hill for two nights to celebrate our seventh anniversary. Upon our arrival we found a beautiful anniversary card written by Charles, the innkeeper. Our room was spotless, pretty, and very comfortable. We were soon greeted by Charles who was very friendly and went out of his way to make sure that we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Since it was New Year's Eve, some of the shops and restaurants were closed, but we enjoyed browsing the ones still open. We had a wonderful meal at the Mariner Restaurant and took in a movie at the local theater. After the show, we walked along the Cane River and enjoyed the pretty Christmas lights and laser show. Upon returning to the inn, we joined the other guests on the pier for the fireworks show. The next two mornings we were served a delicious breakfast prepared by Charles in the beautiful dining room. Charles made sure that each guest had what he or she wanted. One morning he made sure I had iced tea and that another couple from England had their hot tea. Personal touches like these made the visit extraordinary. Some of the guests had been to Violet Hill on numerous occasions. As we returned to our room after the breakfast before leaving on that final morning, we were surprised to find another handwritten card from Charles thanking us for our visit. We even saw the maids who were so nice and efficient as well. Overall, we could not have chosen a better place to celebrate our anniversary. I would definitely go back to Violet Hill again, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes a quiet retreat in a beautiful setting complete with a professional host and staff. Thank you, Charles!


December Visit

4.6 on December 15, 2012

What a fun little town! Even tho we always drove, it would be a lovely walk to the heart of your "city" when the weather was warmer. Tod was fun and could prepare a wonderful, gourmet breakfast--thank you! :-) We are glad we had the library room, as we enjoy a more spacious atmosphere for an overnight stay.


Too short a stay

5 on December 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed Violet Hill on our first trip to Natchitoches. Rooms were comfortable, inn keepers excellent and the five star rating for dining falls short. It needs at least one or two more stars. Location of Inn is great-just close enough to town but enough off the beaten path for solitutide and the river front location is so peaceful.


Wonderful gateway

4.2 on December 13, 2012

Great place for a romantic retreat! Beautiful home with a great porch and view for relaxing. Plus a very good location for convent shopping and great restaurants.


A Vacation to Remember!!!

5 on December 10, 2012

My visit to Violet Hill B&B will be remembered! The service our host, Charles, provided was so spectacular - the Man can cook and sing like a pro :) Love you Charles!!! Violet Hill is lovely; my sister and I have already booked our next trip........yeah!!


Very relaxing Anniversary weekend.

5 on November 19, 2012

My husband and I decided on a last minute weekend in Natchitoches for our anniversary. We could not have picked a more perfect place. Walking distance to all the festivities on front street. Big, clean, comfortable suite. Breakfast was beyond delicious. Sitting around the gorgeous dining room table exchanging stories and laughs was so nice. Charles made you feel at home the first time he saw us. Will definantly be back and recommend Violet Hill to my friends and family.


what's a Natchitoches

4.4 on November 12, 2012

My husband and I prefer B&B's over hotels and have stayed in several. For our 31st he said he thought I would enjoy a bike trip to Natchitoches. Where the heck is that. I went on line and picked Violet Hills because is was on the water. The landscaping coudl use some spucing up but the house is lovely. Clean and decorated in pretty period pieces but not overly cluttered. The back porch and deck are private and spacious. The food was outstanding but the real find was the host. Charles was a real joy and we can't wait to go back and show him off to all out friends. Hands down the most pleasnt host ever. Thanks Charles YOU ROCK. J&K from CV Texas


Awesome

4.4 on November 12, 2012

The rooms are very nice, locations is the best and the staff is stupid awesome. We had a great time and can't wait to return.


A fantastic travel experience

5 on November 06, 2012

The Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast was undoubtedly one of the finest lodges we have ever stayed. Charles and his staff were friendly, pleasant, and a pleasure to be around. The furnishing in this house are superb. The breakfast was an outstanding dining experience. We definitely look forward to returning and will recommend this house to our friends.


We will be back!

4.6 on October 27, 2012

Awesome food, clean, and wonderful innkeeper. Our only complaint was our pillows. Not a big deal, you just may want to bring your own. It's worth it.

Innkeeper Response
I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us, and equally grateful you took the time to review our Inn. The next time we have the pleasure of having you as our guest, at either of our four Natchitoches B&B's... please do not hesitate to make us aware of anything you may need to make your stay more enjoyable. We have both feather or non feather pillows, as well as extra pillows... all of which are available to our guests upon requests. I would have made sure you were completely comfortable, as your satisfaction is our highest priority. I am always looking forward to meeting each of our guest's expectations... so next time you are here and need something, give us the chance to exceed yours. Until then "All My Best" Charles


Romantic evening

5 on October 20, 2012

We had a lovely time, and our stay was wonderful. The breakfast was incredible, well presented, and quite pleasantly unexpected.


Exceptional weekend!

5 on October 14, 2012

We stayed in the Prince Haithcoat suite. It was spacious and beautiful, especially the library. We enjoyed having separate living and sleeping areas as well as a private entrance. But the best part of the stay was the innkeeper, Charles. So kind, fun, and attentive. His breakfasts beat all other meals we had at restaurants throughout the weekend. Thank you!


Two Days of Unwinding a Tightly Wound Husband

4.8 on October 12, 2012

A peaceful evening enjoying a glass of wine on the deck overlooking the river. A marvelous breakfast prepared and served by a delightful host. We would highly recommend the Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast.


We Love Charles and Violet Hill

4.6 on October 09, 2012

Violet Hill is in a great location just a few minutes walk from Front Street restaurants and shopping and also right on Cane River Lake. The accommodations are comfortable but not fancy. There are a few things that could be refurbished like the TV reception. However, the breakfast is incredible: blueberry bread pudding, cheese grits, ham and tomato omelets, wonderful coffee!!! And our host/chef Charles is entertaining! Love him! He has great stories. Home away from home but better.

Innkeeper Response
I am forever grateful for having the opportunity to hosts your visit to our charming city, and feel such gratitude for the kind words you expressed within your review. I just wanted to let you and any future guests know... I was able to correct the issue with your television by simply changing the cable connecting the TV and the wall outlet. You will have no trouble at all watching those college football games on your next visit. Until then... "All My Best"


A fantastic weekend stay

4.2 on October 09, 2012

The home and grounds are so nice, especially since it is all situated so near the water with stairs going down to the covered deck. You can easily walk to downtown in just a few minutes. The hospitality shown by Charles made us feel very comfortable. The breakfast he prepared was like a work of art. He loves what he does and it shows.


Lovely and Comfortable B&B

4.6 on September 09, 2012

My husband and I went to the Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast for my birthday and it was a first time for both of us to stay in a B&B. We spent 2 nights and the first night we had the place to ourselves. The innkeeper came in and prepared us a wonderful breakfast, and was very polite and informative when we asked him about the area. The inn was in walking distance to alot of the attractions. Our stay was very enjoyable and we would recommend this property to family and friends. If we ever plan a trip to the area again we will try to stay at the same inn.


Mom's Birthday

5 on August 20, 2012

My whole family came to the Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast and had a wonderful time. Charles was a great host and the breakfast was worth the trip. We all had a wonderful time and will return again.


Wonderful family weekend

5 on August 20, 2012

9 family members spent the weekend celebrating our Mother's 90th birthday. I booked well in advance as this property is located right on the river with an amazing deck and dock and a block from downtown. An ideal location. The rooms were superior with all the amenities. Charles, our host and chef, could not have been kinder and full of southern hospitality. Breakfast here is definitely gourmet. It was an absolutely delightful experience.


A Great Anniversary Get Away

5 on August 08, 2012

We just celebrated our 42nd wedding anniversary at Violet Hill and had an amazing time. The home was clean and beautiful but the food was FANTASTIC. John and Charles are wonderful hosts with a great personality and lots of helpful information. Great location and a beautiful view from the veranda.


Extremely Impressed

5 on June 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Violet Hill for 2 nights, and I must say that we were very impressed with all aspects of our stay. The home is within walking distance of downtown, which makes it so easy to stroll on down to the shops and grab a bite to eat. We cannot say enough about Charles, the inn keeper. His cooking and service, as well as his immense knowledge of the Natchitoches area, were one of the high-lights of our trip. I will certainly return to Violet Hill, and will be happy to recommened it! Thanks! Chance A.


Girls' Reunion

5 on June 28, 2012

Charles is the supreme host. He made our visit so enjoyable and really took good care of us. The food was to die for.


Violet Hill

4.8 on June 25, 2012

This was my first experience staying at a Bed & Breakfast, and it was delightful! Our room was simply amazing.. It was clean and felt as if I were staying at a friend's home. The service was wonderful. The breakfast each morning was fabulous! On a scale of 1-10, I would have to give it a 9.5.. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs, as this room is close to a busy highway. During the day, it's not bad, but at night, it's a bit of a problem. I would choose this B&B again!


FABULOUS!

5 on June 18, 2012

My husband and I needed a quite getaway for the weekend. First time staying at Violet Hill, although we have stayed at other properties owned by same people. All we can say is WOW. The back porch and boat deck is worth it alone - of course, the house is gorgeous, the rooms are luxurious and breakfast is to die for! Be afraid of Charles' grits!!!!!! We are coming back in December for the holiday and cannot wait until then. You will NOT be disappointed in this bed and breakfast.


Violet Hills Stay

4.0 on June 16, 2012

The Room was great, But the Breakfast was even greater! Especially the hostess Charles, If everyone enjoyed their job as much as him we would sure have more enjoyable places to stay. Mitch & Christine Young


memorable times

5 on June 14, 2012

Our stay at Violet Hill B & B was precious and is a romantic getaway. So many positives...The breakfast stands out as the most memorable. The service (Thank you Charles!) was outstanding and the food was 'de exquisite'. I have and will continue to recommend Violet Hill B & B to all of my friends.


Absolutely Awesome!!!!

5 on June 11, 2012

Awesome experience. Breakfast was great!!! Charles was pleasant and made us feel welcomed. We will be back!!!


Loved it

5 on June 11, 2012

We had a great time. Service was great, room was clean and beautiful. The rose left on our bed with a 50th anniversary card was consideration beyond the call of duty. Thank you Charles


June 8, 2012

4.2 on June 10, 2012

We had a great time. We met great people there and Charles was a great host. I am sure we will be back again.


Natchitoches mini-vacation

4.6 on June 08, 2012

What a great mini-vacation! We spent 3 nights at Violet Hill and had 2 full days to explore Natchitoches. We had 3 delicious and elegant breakfasts (what a lovely change from our normal breakfast - smile) and, in addition to being a marvelous cook, Charles was gracious, informative, and lots of fun! Our room was comfortable and we spent some quality time each evening enjoying the back verandah. We had a wonderful time and will be back again - thanks so much! Judy & Buz Goodrich, Oklahoma City


Fabulous!!!

5 on June 04, 2012

You only have ONE life and you cannot let it pass you by without staying at the Violet Hill B&B, Natchitoches(Nakatush), LA!! It was absolutely the best stay I have ever had! I am now a believer and will never stay at a hotel when I have a choice of a B&B. The house, the food, the guests and especially the innkeeper made this stay one I will talk about forever. I smile every time I think about it!


Great Location

4.6 on June 01, 2012

Located right on Cane River Lake with a very large deck with the sun at your back in the evening. Very quiet, clean and comfortable. Lots of trees for shade and a place for us to tie up our kayak. Breakfast was exceptional and FREE soda/tea/ice 24-7. I would stay here again.


Superb Southern Hospitality & Cuisine

5 on May 30, 2012

Our stay in one of the nicest B&B's we've ever stayed in was truly splendid from the carefully & neatly appointed room to a very upscale & clean bathroom, to the consumate highlight: the wonderful specially on-site prepared breakfasts prepard by our super host, Charles. A "True Jewel on the Cane" in Natchitoches, both inside & out, along with it being within a nice walk to downtown.


Wonderful first time staying at a b&b!!

5 on May 29, 2012

We absolutely loved our experience staying at Violet Hill! The location was beautiful and the food was amazing! We are already planning our next trip!


AMAZING B&B

4.8 on April 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in Puckett Suite on 10&11 April 2012 - very comfortable. What huge closets in both rooms - ample space for our heavy huge suitcases. Loved the swing on the back porch watching those entertaining squirrels (We don't have them in our backyards in Australia). John the owner was most welcoming, helpful and informative. Charles, a real GEM and an absolutely fabulous chef serving innovative breakfasts both mornings. Hope to be back someday even if we have to travel thousands of miles and endure 36 hours of travel time (just to get those warm HUGS from Charles!).


Totally Southern Charm

5 on April 15, 2012

Thankyou Charles, John and staff for your hospitality in making a stay at Violet Hill such a memorable experience. The house is exquisite, the location on the Cane River Lake beautiful and the breakfasts outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with you which underscored that Southern friendliness so well. (Apologies for the missing room keys, they'll be in the mail from Australia, ASAP!) For anyone considering a stay in Nack-A-Tish, you won't be disappointed with 'Violet Hill' or its wonderful hosts. Malcolm & Vivian


Best Girls Trip - Ever!

5 on April 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The five of us "girls" have been going on an annual girls trip for over 11 years and I really think this was the best time we have ever had. Charles was delightful and the breakfasts were amazing. The accomodations were excellent. I plan to come back with my husband.


Will definately stay again!

5 on February 24, 2012

Our stay was during the week and we couldn't have asked for a better first impression of Natchitoches! Our room was waiting for us even though we arrived a few hours early. The house was very warm and cozy and we wanted for nothing. They anticipated all of our needs and made sure we were satisfied and all questions answered right away! The breakfast....OH MY GOODNESS!!! The breakfast was perfect! I have already recommended to friends and will definitely be staying again!


Fun Girls` Weekend!!!

4.0 on December 04, 2011

Our second year to stay at Violet Hill!!! We love it! Beautiful house, clean, very inviting staff! Our breakfast was amazing, made by Todd which is so friendly and knowledgable about the area! We feel like family coming home!!! Thanks Todd and staff!!! We love ya`ll!!!


The Best kept secret....

4.0 on November 22, 2011

What a wonderful experience..Let me start with the Host Charles, he is AMAZING...Great personality so sweet I could go on for days. The house is beautiful and very clean. The food was out of this world and the best part was that Charles shared his wonderful recipes..I just can't say enough about the whole experience. Thank you Charles for sharing your home with us..


Quick trip, but worth it!

4.8 on November 21, 2011

We arrived after dark, but the house was warm and inviting! The back porch lights welcomed us to sit and relax before dinner. What a delight it was to enjoy an evening on the banks of the Cane River with friends. Our daughters were running the next morning in the cross country state meet and this was our time to relax before the big event. The next morning, we were awakened to the delicious scents of coffee and breakfast. Charles had the table set beautifully. This was such a treat in every way. The food was divine and Charles was the perfect host. We will plan on coming again. Our only regret was that we couldn't spend another day at Violet Hill!


Great in every way

4.4 on November 17, 2011

We stayed at the Violet Hill, after hearing how nice it was when our friends spent a weekend there over the summer. We were not disapointed. The location is perfect for a nice short walk to the center of everything. The house is beautiful and the service is far better than I could have imagined. Charles is a gracious host who really makes you feel welcome. The food is amazing, and the fellow house guest made the entire weekend special. My husband and I can't wait to return. Thanks you Charles for everything.


Perfect Anniversary Trip

5 on October 26, 2011

Very nice house. Convenient to downtown. Breakfast was superb! Charles is a fantastic chef and host ! Will return soon.


Southern Hospitality

4.8 on October 24, 2011

This was our first bed and breakfast experience but it won't be our last! Charles was a wonderful host, cook, entertainer, and new friend! Everyone was so nice and helpful. A lovely and clean house on the river and it's very close to the shops on Front Street! Thank you, violet Hill for making our 8th anniversary so memorable!


A wonderful getaway

5 on October 22, 2011

A great place to come and enjoy the ambiance of the area. Relaxing, friendly, quality service. You are a person not a number. Convenient for sightseeing in Natchitoches. You won't be disappoointed.


The Best Kept Secret!!!!

4.8 on September 04, 2011

I have stayed in many many B&B's and all I can say is this #1!!! In my book! I am looking forward to returning to Violet Hill. Cheryl & Clay


Everything you want in a B&B!

4.8 on August 08, 2011

I cannot recommend Violet Hill (and Charles, our Inkeeper and chef) enough! I shared the Puckett suite with friends while we were in town for a wedding and we were all more than pleased with the beautiful condition of the home, the delicious breakfasts, the proximity to the shops on Front street, the large deck on the river and particularly the friendly and attentive service. I'll also add that they were in a heat wave of triple-digit weather, but the air conditioning in the rooms were more than capable of keeping us nice and cool. This was my first B&B experience, but it's inspired me to seek out others and hope for a similar experience!


True Southern Hospitality

5 on August 06, 2011

We recently stayed overnight in the luxurious Prince Haithcoat suite. We enjoyed the short walk into town and back, and relaxing in a swing by the river. After a good night's sleep, we were warmly greeted by our host, Charles, and served a very elegant gourmet breakfast. Our total experience at the Violet Hill was outstanding in every way. We returned home refreshed and smiling. Thank you for your true Southern hospitality. The Nowaks


Great B&B Choice in Natchitoches

4.6 on May 24, 2011

I haven't stayed in very many B&Bs so I wasn't sure what to expect from Violet Hill, but our stay over the weekend was so pleasant that I plan on staying there again any time I'm in Natchitoches. The rooms are very well-kept, and the back porch and dock were a great place to lounge and catch up with friends. Breakfast is promptly at 8:30am and guests are required to write a note should they not be at the table, which I found unique as it's usually the opposite. Charles, the innkeeper, was extremely friendly and helpful, and the food he served was well-presented, unique and fun, and very tasty. If you're looking for a place to stay in Natchitoches, Violet Hill B&B is worth every penny.


Absolutely Excellent!

5 on May 19, 2011

The management greets you at the door and is present for every need. The rooms are darling; the breakfast--creative and delicious. Over-looking the Cane River, one can simply relax and enjoy every moment. A perfect stay in this wonderful town. Thanks, Charles!!!


Better than we expected!!

4.6 on April 27, 2011

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Violet Hill B & B, and were very pleased! The house is beautiful and the rooms are very clean and comfortable--thanks Dominique : ) The double jacuzzi/shower was spotless. Nice back porch with great swing and the deck over Cane River was fun and relaxing. Beautiful and delicious 2 course breakfast each morning with superb service--thanks Charles : ) Highly recommend Violet Hill to anyone visiting Natchitoches, LA. Walking distance from the "Front Street" attractions.


Wow!

5 on April 21, 2011

The room was beautiful. The service and breakfast was wonderful. We plan on returning.


We will return! Had a wonderful weekend.

4.8 on March 31, 2011

My husband Bryan and I went for our anniversary. It was a great weekend get away. It was our first time to Natchitoches, we loved it. We will return in the near future. Charles was great he did a wonderful job. Bubbles


Wonderful stay

5 on March 30, 2011

Have stayed at Violet Hill numerous times. I keep coming back and am never disappointed in the experience. The food is always wonderful and the staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Relaxing in the gazebo, watching the river drifting by, worries fall away. When in the mood for shopping or dining in the evening, Front Street, with its quaint shops and wonderful restaurants (particularly Antoon's), is a short walk. I would highly recommend Violet Hill to anyone planning a trip to Natchitoches. You will not be disappointed.


Beautiful B & B in Natchitoches

3.8 on March 20, 2011

The location and beauty of Violet B & B made this a very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. We stayed in the upstairs 2 bedrooms and parlor. This was a good area once we were up there, but the stairs and the old fashion tub were a little difficult for my 88 year old mother. The outstanding parts were the view of the lake from the back porch and the delicious breakfast. The innkeeper was very friendly. I would love to stay there again.


Charming, Soothing, Relaxed Elegance...and OH, the BREAKFASTS!

5 on March 18, 2011

My husband and I are regular visitors to Natchitoches; we love the Cane River, the history, the good food, and friendly people. Despite our many visits to this lovely town over the years, we've never before stayed at a true B and B. Well, this trip sure changed that! Violet Hill's location (an easy walk to the historic district), beautiful rooms, and amenities are outstanding. The views from the back of the home--a large porch with plenty of comfortable chairs and a deck right on beautiful Cane River Lake--are soothing and simply gorgeous. Add to all that a scrumptious, elegant, beautifully presented breakfast served by the helpful, friendly, Charles and you have an unbeatable combination. We stayed in the Prince Haithcoat Suite, which is on the first floor at the front of the home. Initially, my husband could not believe this was our room. The library/den is HUGE; it is as big as some of the common rooms in the house. As we entered the bedroom with its lovely four poster bed and then the elegantly appointed bathroom, we continued to be impressed. This room also has a private entrance on the front porch, which is a plus if you come in from a late dinner. I can't even begin to say enough about the breakfasts. These were the best I've ever had in any B and B, and, despite this being our first Natchitoches B and B, we're quite experienced in that department. First off, Charles is a gifted epicurean--the food is amazing and appealing. The breakfast experience is served with Louisiana hospitality, charm, and relaxed elegance. Charles makes sure that all the guests have everything they need at breakfast and beyond. Breakfast at Violet Hill is a wonderful, relaxed way to start the day in this lovely place. I'm certainly looking forward to visiting Violet Hill again. And again.


Don't Expect New in Accommodations That Are Over 100 Years Old

4.6 on March 18, 2011

This was an excellent stay! We knew the home was old, so we didn't expect "like-new" accommodations. That is a problem for some folks, but not for us. The elegance and history and location of this property well made up for the creaking 2nd floor flooring. Bright and cheerful is how we describe this B&B. Sitting on the dock, rocking in the porch swing, watching the LSU boating teams paddle by at sunset was a treat. Charles, the chef, served a breakfast of Food Network quality. His service was five-star. Like General McArthur, "We will return!"


Overnight Stay

4.8 on March 18, 2011

This is a great B&B; very scenic and backed up to the Cane River. It is a convenient walking distance to historic downtown Natchitochers. Breakfast was an "experience" with the chef doting on everyone to please them individually and the food was absolutely superb! I put this property on par with some of the finer B&B's I've frequented in New England and in Ireland.


Wish we had time to stay longer

5 on March 16, 2011

My mother, 21 year old son and I wanted to see what Louisiana had to offer other than New Orleans. I was attracted to the quaintness of Natchitoches from the LA website. I researched the local inns and chose Violet Hill because of its proximity to the water and the fact that we could enjoy a 2 room suite. Our rooms were well appointed and shared a lovely sitting area with a table and 2 comfortable sitting chairs. We even had a refrigerator to store soda and wine which we enjoyed on the incredible porch behind the house overlooking the Cane River. Spent 4 restful hours outside one afternoon, reading and napping. After dinner we came back to the house and spent another few hours outside talking and enjoying the quiet. The house is walking distance to "downtown" and its wonderful shops and restaurants. We ventured out to see Oakland and Magnolia Plantations were were close by. Breakfasts were elegantly prepared and served by Charles. He is a delightful young man who is gracious, kind and a wonderful cook. My personal favorite was his french toast and yogurt/granola parfait. He kept the water glasses and coffee cups full and even made arrangements for my son to have a yogurt/granola parfait put aside as he chose to sleep in one morning. I would recommend this B&B highly. It is truly a home away from home except that this one comes with Charles, who was a real find!


Fantastic

5 on February 21, 2011

After a disappointing stay at a nearby B&B, we checked out early and contacted Tod at Violet Hill to see if he had a room available for the remainder of our stay in town. Fortunately he did. We have stayed at the Judge Porter and Queen Anne in the past and we knew we would not be disappointed at Violet Hill. Tod went out of his way to accommodate us. The house was gorgeous and clean. The service was unmatched. Breakfast was out of this world and Tod even invited our son and daughter, who are students at NSU and LSMSA respectively, to join us. Because we do have three children who attend school in Natchitoches, and visit frequently, we have stayed in a large number of B&Bs there. We have found our favorites, and this is one of them. No need to bother with the rest. You will not be disappointed at Violet Hill. I guarantee it!!


Violet Hill in February

3.8 on February 20, 2011

Comfortable, nicely decorated room with easy access to gallery overlooking the Cane River Lake. Excellent breakfasts each of the three mornings we were there. Short walk to the historic district. Very pleasant and relaxing.


Bed and braekfast on the river

4.2 on February 18, 2011

The room was set up very nice, it was clean and had nice furniture. We enjoyed the hot tub. The rear porch with swings has a great view of the river and was peaceful. We will be back for another stay.


weekend getaway

5 on February 11, 2011

I had a wonderful experience at the violet hill b&b. The room was wonderful and the service was exceptional. They even went out of their way to make specific requests happen for me. I would highly reccomend!!!


What a delightful surprise!

5 on February 01, 2011

We came the last weekend of January looking for a place to relax and renew I did a little research and chose Violet Hill because I love the water and the view from the pictures it looked lovely... but we got that and so much more the pics don't reveal the warmth of this place and the staff is just beautiful and the city is too we will make this place one to visit as often we love ya Charles!!! Beth and Gentri, Baton Rouge,La


Beautiful Place

4.0 on January 12, 2011

My girlfriends and I have been going to Natchitoches for years and have stayed in several different bed and breakfast. BUT Violet Hill definitley was the "best yet"!! It was beautiful, we had the two rooms on the back of the house and one opened up to the river. Sitting out on the back porch is nothing less than magical. Not only did we over look the river but the Christmas lights were still on and we were able to enjoy the reflection off of the river. Our service was beyond perfect and we had one of the best breakfast I have ever been served in a B & B! As you have already guessed I will be going back here for years to come and HIGHLY recommend a stay at Violet Hill.


Great stay!

4.0 on October 26, 2010

Your B&B was a welcome sight after a long return trip from New Orleans! We had checked with several other B&B's along our route but they required a two night minimum on Fridays. We love Natchitoches but have never stayed at a B&B here. Our room was very neat and clean when we arrived. The room was spacious and we had our own private bath (large) with a Jacuzzi tub. The back porch of Violet Hill overlooks the Cane River Lake. It's a great place to sit back, relax and take in the wonderful view. Steps lead down to the dock and another sitting area. Watch out if you sit on the wooden bench, it's slightly cracked in the middle. You might be the lucky one that it breaks on! Breakfast is served in the dining room. We had a wonderful breakfast. A four star restaurant could not have served anything better. We will definitely consider staying at Violet Hill again the next time we come to Natchitoches.


Will be hard to live up to.

5 on October 25, 2010

This was my first stay in a bed and breakfast and I'm afraid I may have a hard time finding another place I love as much. I wanted a wonderful, fun, relaxing girl getaway weekend and Violet Hill met all of my expectations. We rented the Puckett Suite located on the second floor of this beautiful home and it was perfect. This suite has two bedrooms with a shared sitting room and bathroom. Having separate rooms while having the adjoining sitting room made it great for early morning coffee, afternoon martini's and late night visits. While we were unsure about the prospect of early morning breakfast with strangers, that turned out to be one of the highlights of the day. We met so many fun and interesting people and felt right at home immediately. The location is perfect for walking into town and the beautful deck over the water is just awesome. Finally, but certainly not least, was our wonderful host, John. He is an excellant cook, host and just plain great guy. His breakfast were to die for and his attention to detail couldn't have been better. I will forever remember Violet Hill and my wonderful stay there.


Anniversary Get Away

4.6 on September 08, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Haithcoat Suite, which was quaint, relaxing and very spacious. We really enjoyed sitting at the river on the deck, while watching the boats go by. The decorum inside was very nostalgic, the two course breakfast was great and very well planned. I myself working in food service found no flaws in the setup and mannerism. When opportunity presents itself we do have an interest in returning and will recommend to our family and friends. The Battle's - Shreveport La.


Thak you for an incredible weekend getaway!

4.8 on September 08, 2010

Our stay at the Violet Hill over Labor Day weekend 2010 for our anniversary was absolutely one to remember. The John Reavls Guestroom was spacious and comfortable, beautifully decorated, and provided the perfect romantic view of Cain River Lake. The entire property was immaculately kept, and the gourmet breakfast which included Peach Crisp followed by Eggs Bearnaise on Sunday morning and Judge Porter House Sunday and Blueberry Upside-Down Pancake on Monday morning were to-die-for! John, our Innkeeper and gourmet chef was very kind and helpful. There was only one thing that kind of took us aback, which was the fact that the Inn was left unattended. There was noone onsite around the clock which we had never experienced before. The staff were readily available by telephone, but not in person except in the morning before, during, and just after breakfast. It left a question in our minds about security. Beyond that, we have already recommended Violet Hill to our friends, and we will be back!


wonderful stay!!

5 on September 06, 2010

just close enough to downtown to be convenient but far enough away to be quiet. great food, great service, clean and comfy!


Violet Hill is the best!

5 on September 06, 2010

Whenever I visit Natchitoches, I stay at the Violet Hill. The Innkeeper John is always so polite and helpful, not to mention is wonderful breakfasts. He even accommodated us when we could not make breakfast one morning by leaving us muffins and fruit. I have stayed in three of the rooms, each very comfort and each has their own uniqueness. A great value!


Birthday getaway

4.4 on September 04, 2010

My husband and I came to celebrate our birthdays. This was our second stay at Violet Hill, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The location is a plus for ease of shopping and dining. But most of all, we enjoyed the experience of sitting on the porch swing watching the beautiful scenery of the lake, trees and birds. We look forward to coming again.


Wish we had stayed longer

5 on September 03, 2010

We had the best time at this wonderful bed and breakfast We have told everyone that this is the place to stay We will be back!


Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast review

4.6 on August 24, 2010

Our stay in the Prince Haithcoat Suite was very pleasant and enjoyable. Violet Hill is located in an ideal area for touring the Natchitoches and surrounding sites. The location on the Cane River Lake was an added bonus. The breakfast was delicious, well prepared and graciously served. What a beautiful and relaxing place to spend the weekend in Natchitoches.


Long weekend getaway

4.6 on August 06, 2010

My wife and I recently spent three peaceful nights at Violet Hill. We were in the Prince Haithcoat suite and found it to be more than we expected. The suite is large and very inviting. The Inn itself is situated directly on the Cane River and it's covered dock was a pleasant spot for an evening read and beautiful in the early morning sunrise. Our last night, a Sunday, we found ourselves as the only guest in the Inn. What a treat! We had the run of the mansion. John, the Inkeeper, was a very thoughtful and charming host. His personally prepared breakfast were a treat not to be missed. He has maintained the Inn so as to feel as though you are comfortably right at home throughout your stay. This is not an owner occupied residence, so you do not have someone there hawking over you always. Instead, the Inn is well apportioned and very comfortable while if needed, John is only a phone call away with anything you may require. We spent a good amount of time in town sightseeing and shopping and while we drove the couple of blocks to town, it was mainly because I did not want to haul the many inevitable purchaces back to the Inn on foot in the August heat. We intend to visit Natchitoches again and will always look forward to lodging at Violet Hill for the duration of our stay.


Must see.

4.8 on August 06, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and could not have been happier. We loved it so much we went back a few months later. Excellent service. Delicious breakfasts. Spectacular view of the river. Very relaxing outdoor area and huge porch. They make you feel very special.


Outstanding B and B

5 on August 02, 2010

Outstanding! My husband and I have stayed at varying B and B's in the south, and this one is, by far, our favorite! The bedroom is spacious and luxuriosly furnished and the bathroom has a fabulous extravagance to it also. After dinner we sat on the back porch swing and enjoyed a cool breeze off the Cane River. After a restful night's sleep, we had a scrumptious breakfast that was magnificent. The staff was helpful and courteous. We will definitely stay here again. Thanks to you and your staff for making our weekend a most enjoyable stay.


Excellent B&B!

4.4 on August 01, 2010

Our stay in the Arthur Coble room was wonderful. John is an excellent innkeeper and made us feel at home. What a beautiful and relaxing place to spend the weekend in Natchitoches.


OUR FIRST STAY IN NATCHITOCHES

4.8 on July 19, 2010

Great home. Your staff has great southern hospitality that everyone can apppreciate.


Amazing weekend

5 on June 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our 19th anniversary. If you want to feel pampered, and go home refreshed this is the place to stay. The location is perfect and is walking distance to shops/resturants/local attractions and is on Cane Lake. The room, Arthur Coble, was beautifully decorated with a two person jacuzzi. We relaxed every evening on the dock with the beautiful views. PeeWee had the room spotless and John was an amazing host. His breakfast were works of art. We will definately come back and recommend to all.


Great time for our anniversary

5 on June 27, 2010

Beautiful, spacious room with all the amenities I could ask for. Very peaceful and very much like home.


Wonderful Experience

4.0 on June 20, 2010

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and it was a great one. The Violet Hill was beautiful and Charles was an excellent host. He was extremely pleasant and entertaining. We just got back yesterday and we're already booking our next trip to the Violet Hill.


Great B&B

4.8 on May 05, 2010

My wife & I recently spent a weekend at Violet Hill. Great southern hospitality and charm. Within easy walking distance to downtown. Wonderful deck on Cane River. Will definitely go back. We will recommend to all our friends.


Perfect Mother and Daughters Getaway

4.6 on April 02, 2010

The house is charming and elegant. The Puckett Suite was ideal for the three of us. The back veranda and water landing are perfect for relaxing and enjoying the picturesque view of Cane River Lake. Tod and Charles were not only willing but enthusiastic in honoring my daughter's request for vegan breakfast options. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and presented beautifully. Service was unlike anything we've ever experienced. Their authentic hospitality and charm had us feel special from the start, and we left with an experience of really being cared for, respected, and served.


Wonderful weekend

5 on March 19, 2010

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend, March 12 through 14, at Violet Hill. This is the third year in a row that we have stayed at Violet Hill. John and Tod are excellent hosts and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. As always, the food was outstanding. We always enjoy our stay at Violet Hill and look forward to going back again and again. For us, it is the ONLY place to stay while in Natchitoches.


OUR 10TH ANNIVERSARY

4.6 on March 15, 2010

We chose Natchitoches and Violet Hill B and B for our tenth anniversary getaway. We were seeking charm, cleanliness, and a work-free stay. We checked out very refreshed and re-charged for our busy life-styles. Thank you John and Todd for paying attention to the details that make a huge difference in comfort and relaxation. P.S Breakfasts were divine.


Valentine's Night 2010

5 on February 15, 2010

Enjoyed our stay in the "Arthur Coble" room. Will definitely go back during the warmer seasons, as the dock near the river is very inviting. The breakfast was outstanding, too.


Weekend Getaway

4.6 on December 29, 2009

We were very happy with the location, the decor, and the personal touches. I especially loved the local art on display and for sale in the hall, as well as cookies, teas, etc. awaiting your arrival. It was a beautiful room with very nice furniture, and the breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay there again.


" A Lovely Place"

5 on December 16, 2009

My Husband and I came to the Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast for our Honeymoon. It was a very clean and beautiful place to stay and the service was excellent. It was our first time to ever stay at a bed and breakfast and it want be our last, especially at this one. We stayed in the Prince Haithcoat Suite a very spacious, clean, and relaxing room. My favorite part about the stay would've definitley been the "Breakfast". The food was so delicious and the setup of the table was so elegant and John the housekeeper was very friendly. I recommend the Violent Hill Bed and Breakfast 100 % and I can't wait to go back.


Great mother daughter weekend

5 on October 18, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights. Staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful. Breakfast each morning was awesome. Beds were extra comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.


A Step Back in Time!

4.8 on October 12, 2009

I felt like a grand lady from years past in this lovely home. Spacious, super clean, excellent breakfasts served, just a short walk into town. View of the river from my bedroom. The entire weekend just could not have been better. Many thanks!


GREAT HOUSE

5 on October 12, 2009

Rooms are beautiful, excellent food, outstanding porches overlooking Cane River -Innkeeper tops off the experience. Highly recommended!


Wonderful weekend!

5 on October 12, 2009

The house is lovely, all the rooms are beautiful, PeeWee keeps the house pristine and is so friendly. John's breakfasts were incredible. We had privacy and comfort and it was a wonderfully relaxing weekend. What more could one ask?


great b and b

4.4 on October 11, 2009

house very nice and clean and breakfast very good.


A Must Revisit!!!

4.8 on September 08, 2009

Period furniture. Large bedrooms and bathrooms. Excellent food with rotating menu. Two blocks to downtown - walkable. Service and assistance were excellent. But, the best is the location on the Cain River Lake. Spectacular views from the back porch and deck area. If you like being on and sitting by an attractive water scene this is the place.


I need another weekend here.

5 on August 09, 2009

Spent my anniversary here. We both absolutely fell in love. Look forward to just weekend getaways in the future. Would recommend this for people who want peace and comfort.


Charming!

4.6 on July 26, 2009

Lovely old home converted beautifully - still feels like a gracious home. Sits on a river with a wonderful back porch and a covered dock on the river. Enjoyed the friendly and knowledgeable owner.


Girl Friends road trip

4.6 on July 25, 2009

As a first time stay at a b&b, I could not have been more please! Violet Hill is a beautiful home...inside and out. The innkeeper, John, was very pleasant and the host, Todd, was wonderful. Both gave us tips on places to visit during our stay. The breakfasts were works of art and absolutely wonderful! The location can't be beat, either...right on like and within walking distance of great shops and eateries...fantastic! I definitely would like to return during the holiday season!


Violet Hill B & B is wonderful!

4.4 on July 14, 2009

This Bed and Breakfast was amazing. The rooms were so relaxing, the back patio has an amazing view and the Innkeeper, John was so gratious and cooked some wonderful morning meals. Best experience I have had!


A quiet weekend

4.0 on July 12, 2009

We had a great time and relaxing weekend! Would definitely stay again!


Girls Night Out In Natchitoches

5 on July 09, 2009

We had our girls night out in Natchitoches to celebrate my 50th Birthday. We were there for 2 nights on June 26th and 27th. The 2-bedroom suite was perfect and gave us the privacy and room we needed. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. The breakfast was OUTSTANDING. The hospitality that Todd showed us was really wonderful and we had such a good time. We will be visiting the Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast again.


Indulgent B & B

5 on July 04, 2009

I felt very special the whole time that I stayed at the Violet Hill Inn. The rooms were beautiful. The staff was perfect in every way. The breakfast was different, elegent and delicious every day. I loved every minute of my stay!


Our anniversary trip

4.4 on July 01, 2009

My husband and I celibrated our 21st Anniversary at The Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast. We were both very pleased with everything about the Inn. John was an excellent host, very helpful and courteous to us. The Inn was very clean and beautifully decorated. This was our first stay at a B and B, but it will not be the last. Our time there was very relaxing and enjoyable.


Great Girl's Night Out Stay

4.4 on June 29, 2009

We stayed at The Violet Hill B&B for a Girl's Week-end away trip to celebrate a 50th birthday. We had 5 in our party and reserved the Puckett Suites. These were the perfect rooms because we had the upstairs all to ourselves with a nice sitting area and table to play cards/dominos and celebrate the birthday without bothering any of the other visitors. The house is beautiful, the food wonderful, Todd was very gracious and accommodating. We loved the floating gazebo on the cane river and the veranda with the beautiful white wicker furniture. One of the best things is that it is only a few blocks from the historical shopping area which is so convenient.


The Perfect Get Away

4.4 on June 26, 2009

The accommodations were superb, atmosphere excellent and John’s insight into the attractions and history of the area made for an unforgettable weekend. And breakfast,you decide, I’m just keep asking for forgiveness because surely eating anything that good has to be a sin.


First Time B&Ber

5 on June 21, 2009

My friend and I stayed in the Puckett Suite upstairs and it was outstanding. It was my first experience at a B&B and I plan to have many more. The breakfast was as the guests from Madrid said "a luxury". John took great care of us and the porch and dock are so restful. Great location and great service!


Wonderful stay at Violet Hill B&B

5 on June 15, 2009

My girlfriend and I had a glorious get away and the service at Violet Hill was fantastic. The breakfast was pleasing to the eye and delicious. Our Innkeeper, Tod was very helpful and our stay could not have been more pleasant.


Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

4.0 on June 07, 2009

We came for our 4th Anniversary. We loved the serenity and atmosphere of the Inn. The breakfast was wonderful and it was the perfect get away.


40th Anniversary choice

4.8 on June 07, 2009

We have stayed in B&Bs across the USA and this one ranks toward the top of the list. Only hiccup was need for clean sheets and that was taken care of quickly. Perfect location, close to everything, and awesome view from our room. Breakfast was exquisite and amenities were exceptional. John thought of everything! We'll definitely stay there again when we go to Natchitoches.


The most relaxing 24th wedding anniversary

5 on May 19, 2009

Raymond and I (Katherine) thoroughly enjoyed our stay this past weekend at the Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast. Our accommodations were SUPERIOR. The Cane River morning view from the back porch was breathtaking and the breakfast served every morning was scrumptious. We will be back for some R & R. Mr. John made a great effort to make our 24th wedding anniversary stay at the Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast SUPERB!


Lover's Delight!

5 on May 15, 2009

Our experience at Violet Hill was relaxing, peaceful and romantic. Our room (Aurthur Coble) was spacious, comfortable and had that old Victorian charm with high ceilings, wood floors and old style furniture. The pier on Cane river was a major bonus. Talk about romantic! We snuggled on one of the bench swings on the pier under the stars and enjoyed the cool river breeze. We did manage to do some shopping at the nearby antique shops, but couldn't wait to get back to our room.


It's a must!!

5 on May 11, 2009

My husband and I just recently stayed at the Violet Hill. I was very impressed! It is located within walking distance to the downtown shops/restaurants and is also on the Cane River. The Violet Hill has a wonderful sitting area outside on the back porch and also a very nice deck on the Cane River. The room we stayed in was called the Stem Wheeler room. I highly recommend the room. It is decorated very elegant and is spacious. The inn keeper at this bed and breakfast was outstanding. He was very friendly and was a true southern gentlemen. The breakfast was unbelievable! I will definitley go back to this bed and breakfast!


Perfectly Peaceful`

5 on April 24, 2009

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Such a relaxing stay. Everything from the room, view, service, location and breakfast was outstanding. I am alreading planning my next trip!


Perfect

5 on March 23, 2009

Breakfast was out of this world. Lots of privacy and very relaxing. What a great setting for a B&B.


very relaxing and enjoyable

5 on March 17, 2009

I was pleasantly pleased. The room was very clean, roomy and comfortable. The staff was very accomdating and friendly. I can't wait to go back this summer!


Awesome B&B

4.2 on March 09, 2009

Violet Hill was outstanding. The rooms were comforatble and the food was excellent. The view from the back porch was breathtaking and there is a pier/gazebo on the Cane River that can be accessed from the house. It was a great weekend!


What a Great Weekend

4.0 on March 05, 2009

This was my wife and I first time to stay in a B&B. I was very happy with the way that John was so pleasant when we came in for the first time. We stayed in what I would call the Library room. It had this wonderful Large bay window ro see out upon the street which was really nice and a very pleasant sitting area inside our room. Our room was more expensive than the rest but it was well worth it. The bedroom is connected to the living room so that was a great ammenity. I was so happy to wake up every morning and get in that large hot tub and take a excellent shower. There was only one issue that we had. The door to our room was french doors that had glass pane windows with a curtain on them. Yes it was covered good but still that fact that it takes away some of your privacy. But to end on a positive note the breakfast that we in the mornings was top notch. It is worth it just for the breakfast. The peach crunch, Porter House Parfia, Blueberry Pancakes and suasage links with fresh strawberries, and that ham wrap with an egg baked in it wow. It was a great thing to wake up to every morning. John you were the best Host. I look forward to staying again.


Wonderful!

4.0 on February 22, 2009

My husband and I wanted to take my 82 year old mother for a week-end outing and I found this wonderful B&B on line. We booked the upstairs suite, which consists of two beautiful bedrooms, a sitting room and a full bath. Unknowing what to expect, we arrived for our check in and was greeted by the Innkeeper, John Puckett, who was most gracious. He directed us to our suite and wow! Were we suprised! We had the upstairs to ourselves, which was wonderful. The location is about two blocks from all of the down town shops and restaurants and sits right on the Cane River. There is a great back porch with furniture so that you can sit and enjoy the beautiful river or you can go down to the dock. It just so happened that the Natchitoches Mardi Gras parade was that night and low and behold! The parade passed right in front of the Violet Hill. All of the guest gathered in the parlor and on the porch anticipating the parade and we all had a great time! The next morning, we all gathered in the formal dining room for a gourmet breakfast which consisted of blue berry pancakes, sausage, mix fruit, orange juice and coffee and I can't express who great the service was. John does the cooking and everything was very, very good and beautifully served. I will guarantee you that we will visit the Violet Hill again and look forward to the beautiful home and the best service we have ever had! Thanks, John!!


Charming &relaxing

4.8 on February 21, 2009

My first time in an BnB in the U.S.A What a lovely house.The rooms are nicely decorated,it made me feel like i was at an medieval castle somewhere in europe.The view from the back porch so relaxing. John`s cooking is delicious.Not the everyday " Ham & Eggs. I hope to return in the summertime. I will recommend it to everyone i know. Thank you.


What a nice surprise

3.4 on February 18, 2009

First time stay in a B&B. We were attracted to the waterfront feature. Very nice veranda and pier. Could easily imagine an evening during warmer weather and water traffic. Rooms were well decorated and very inviting. John was a gracious host. We were the only guests for the evening (Thursday before Valentines Day), but enjoyed the quiet. Would definitely recommend.


Romantic place for people who love the water

5 on February 16, 2009

Has a huge rear porch that overlooks the Cane River Lake. We were able to wake up, drink our coffee and watch the sunrise. After eating a wonderful breakfast, downtown Natchitoches was only a few minutes walk away.


Fabulous!!

5 on February 02, 2009

My husband and stayed at the Violet Hill for our 15th wedding anniversary. This was our first trip to Natchitoches as well as our first B&B experience. We did not know what to expect but it was the most wonderful relaxing experience we could have hoped for! The property was so beautiful and the rooms immaculate! The bath was to die for! Charles was so warm and friendly and took care of our every need! His breakfast was the greatest! I could very easily have not eaten the rest of the day after those blueberry pancakes! I will definitely be going back very soon and telling everyone I know about this wonderful experience! Thanks so much John and Charles!


Beautiful Experience

4.6 on February 01, 2009

First time at a Bed and Breakfast, and we enjoyed everything. The rooms are beautiful and the dock is a major plus. Charles was a perfect host, and made us feel like we were greatly appreciated. I can't wait to return.


Relaxing weekend

4.6 on January 04, 2009

Great B&B. John does a wonderful job with making everyone comfortable. Delicious breakfasts. Very convenient location. Great stay and would highly recommend.


Great Place to Stay in Nachitoches

4.0 on January 03, 2009

This was a lovely home with a great deck on the water. We were able to sit on the deck and visit and enjoy the atmosphere. The rooms were beautiful and the breakfast was delicious.


Loved Voilet Hill

4.6 on January 01, 2009

My husband and I chose Violet Hill as a weekend getaway to enjoy Natchitoches and the Festival of the Lights. We were very happy with our choice. John the innkeeper was very friendly and very knowledgeable and helpful. The food was delicious and the setting was quite elegant. Violet Hill's location is very convenient, I would recommend this bnb to anyone who wants to enjoy Natchitoches.


Exquisite!

4.4 on December 29, 2008

John is an exceptional host and his culinary skills exceeded our expectations! Our room was comfortable and it was a very short walk to historic downtown. Sitting on the back patio or on the deck by the river is a wonderful way to start each morning.


Cold visit to Natchitoches

4.0 on December 18, 2008

We found the house to be very historic, quiet and comfortable. The Innkeeper John was very pleasant and informative. He loves his work and it shows. Breakfast was nice as was our room. We would definitely stay there again.


Lovely B&B

5 on December 17, 2008

I really enjoyed this bed and breakfast and John the owner was very nice and helpful. The location is wonderful!


Great Weekend!

4.2 on December 09, 2008

Had such a great time at this Beautiful B&B! Very convenient and safe location. You DO NOT want to miss breakfast - it was such a treat!


Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast

5 on December 08, 2008

This was our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast. The innkeeper was very helpful with details about the house and the history. We felt like we were at a home away from home. If you have never been to Natchitoches, you should consider taking a trip during the holiday season and stay the The Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast. It is located on the River that runs along front street. You are in walking distance to all the famous shops and restaurants. I can't speak highly enough about our stay this past weekend. Thank you John for making our weekend special.


Fabulous place to stay

5 on December 03, 2008

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left everything was wonderful. The breakfast and host was delightful. The view from the back porch is breath taking. I enjoyed being able to walk into town along the river each evening. I would highly recommend the Violet Hill B&B and hope to visit again soon.


Quaint setting for a quaint town

3.2 on December 03, 2008

Lovey house and grounds. Walking distance to to old town area. What a great get away to get me in the holiday spirit.


A charming B and B

4.0 on November 13, 2008

The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated and the view of the river from the back porch is breathtaking; you will fall in love with this B and B and will not want to leave. The breakfast served the next morning is first class. We plan to stay at this B and B again.


Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3183570858
  • Toll free 1-8663570858

Visit Website »

View details

Top