Recent Reviews in Louisiana, Missouri

Heavenly Retreat at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2016

Truly the Best B&B that we have ever stayed in. The innkeepers, Julie and John are so warm and friendly that you feel like you have known them for years. One of these days, I am going to beat Julie playing Mexican Train Dominoes. LOL The Garth Mansion rooms are all beautiful, but different. It is our goal to stay at least 1 time in each. This should take us many years as we tend to repeat some of them. The breakfasts have all been delicious, and watching the llamas and alpacas while dining is so relaxing and enjoyable. On a scale of 1 to 10 the Garth Mansion is a 1,000,000 Don't miss it !

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Retreat at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on April 20, 2016

Several years ago, I stumbled upon the Garth Woodside Mansion website while looking for an anniversary weekend getaway. It was the first time my husband and I had been to a b&b and it remains our favorite place to stay! The rooms are beautiful, relaxing and full of historical details; the cottages have more modern details but are equally beautiful and relaxing. If you are looking for the ultimate romantic getaway, look no further than the dowager cottage! It is fully appointed with every detail you could wish for. Breakfasts are outstanding. But the feature which keeps us coming back is the warmth and friendly hospitality of the innkeepers, John & Julie. They will make you feel welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


Our home away from home at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on April 20, 2016

My wife and I have been going to the Garth Mansion for the past 8 years. I first discovered the mansion on a B&B website, when I was looking for a place to take my wife for our anniversary. I knew that my wife would fall in love with the place as soon as I saw it. I was right. We both fell in love with the place. Julie and John are wonderful host, and always make us feel at home when visiting. We have stayed in 7 of the 8 rooms, and our next visit will make all 8! John and Julie are much more than inn keepers, and we have several occasions where we all sat around in the restaurant, and enjoyed a nice glass of wine and conversation. My wife and I have spent numerous nights walking around the mansion, checking out all the antiques and history of The Garth Mansion. We always look forward to our 1-2 trips there a year. The breakfast is top notch. Julie is quite the cook, and very creative with her breakfast. I would highly recommend The Garth Woodside Mansion to anyone wanting a nice peaceful, quiet, romantic weekend. This place is out home away from home!

View more reviews for this inn


Repeat guests! at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2016

We have been staying at Garth since 2010, it is the reason we visit Hannibal. I stumbled upon it on a whim and we fell in love. My husband and I make sure to visit at least once, sometimes twice a year. The home is beautiful, rooms are clean and the property is just serene, not to mention the food....DELICIOUS! The innkeepers, John and Julie, are the best hostesses, they always make us feel at home. I recommend Garth Mansion to anyone looking for a Romantic getaway. We have stayed in the mansion as well as the cottages. The cottages offer the ultimate private getaway, bring a few snacks and you'd never have to leave! Always a delight, and always counting the days until we can go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Really enjoyed ourselves-great accomodations at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on October 20, 2015

We stayed at the Garth Mansion for two nights. Our room was very clean and cozy, and the mansion is beautiful. The owners were very hospitable and really made us feel at home. The food was excellent. We would definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Sweet Retreat at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on February 19, 2013

What a wonderful surprise tucked into the woods not far from Hannibal, MO. This historic mansion is beautiful and the folks who run it are so gracious and helpful. What a find!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent place! at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Samuel Clemens room on December 9. The room was lovely--they had chocolate-covered strawberries waiting in the room when we arrived, the food was awesome (we only had breakfast at the mansion, though; we had a delicious dinner at La Binnah Bistro), and John and Julie were warm and friendly! The only thing we would change about our visit was the weather. Thanks to the cold, we weren't able to explore the grounds. We're planning to return during warmer weather to take advantage of the trails around the mansion. We recommend this B&B to anyone who enjoys history, Victorian splendor, and old-fashioned hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet Seclusion at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on November 29, 2012

Garth Woodside Mansion is an excellent choice for a romantic get-away. The mansion is beautiful with all the charm of another place and time. The breakfast served at a time of our choosing was fantastic. The owners were very friendly and just made you feel at home. I am looking forward to going back with my husband soon or in the spring or summer along with my 4 sisters for a fun sisters weekend. Thanks again, John and Julie.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience! at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2012

5 stars on all of the above!! More than 5 stars :) We will be back for sure, not soon enough though!! Great company, beyond peaceful and more relaxing than I could have imagined! Can NOT wait to go back! Matt and Julie Mileszko

View more reviews for this inn


Great place for a romantic getaway at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.4 reviewed on November 20, 2012

This was our 10th stay at the Garth and everything was perfect as usual: great food, beautiful mansion, super comfortable beds, enjoyable hosts, gorgeous grounds, breath taking view, etc. I just can't say enough about the Garth. You MUST try it!!

View more reviews for this inn


A gem in the wilderness at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.6 reviewed on October 02, 2012

The Garth Woodside Mansion in Hannibal Missouri will be your “Outstanding and Exceptional” that you will compare to all other Bed and Breakfast experiences. I was pretty surprised to be 'kidnapped' and taken away this past weekend by my sisters and mother. I was under whelmed when they said we were going to Hannibal Missouri. Do they have paved roads and indoor plumbing? Yes, they do by the way. Wow, the Garth Woodside Mansion is one of America's true jewels and gems. I am so happy to see one of these special places preserved, functioning and glorious. It's a privileged - and fun - to 'live' for a moment in a house that was once a real home and represents a time in our country’s history. But it wasn't a museum stay; we laughed, relaxed, gossiped and shared a special weekend together. The area does not have the types of activities we normally do together - plethora of antique and gypsy markets, multiplex movie theater to indulge in something we wouldn’t see at home, quirky art community to gawk at the unusual and truly extreme creative minds. Since there were four of us we entertained ourselves and chatted away. The Garth Woodside Mansion has a large-ish dining area so you’re not served ‘family style’ around one grand table in the formal dining room. That may vary with occupancy. For us it was fine but I know sometimes, with my husband, we want to visit and mingle with other guests. It is a bit pricy for the “average” weekend getaway. But remember you really do get what you pay for and once there you remind yourself this is the story you will always tell about the most exceptional B&B experience you have ever had. I recommend everyone who has been to at least one B&B to make the Garth Woodside Mansion in Hannibal MO a priority stay.

View more reviews for this inn


September 2012 at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.4 reviewed on September 30, 2012

We stayed in the Dowager Cabin. Lovely, peaceful, cozy. Looking forward to staying again.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Beautiful!! We will be back!! at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2012

The innkeeper's John and Julie were wonderful. They made you feel at home the whole time you were there. We enjoy a bed and breakfast every year for our anniversary and this was definitely one of the best ones we have been too! We will be back!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Warm and relaxing Bed & Breakfast at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2012

This was our last stop on our vacation and we had such a wonderful time that we didn't want to leave. Julie and John are the most perfect innkeepers and treated us like family. The food was excellent. The grounds were a delight to take a walk thru and relax in. We had a great time. Mary and Dana

View more reviews for this inn


Garth Woodside Mansion Review at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.4 reviewed on September 21, 2012

Very relaxing wrap-around porch - great for sitting back with a good book. The food was outstanding, the service was fantastic, the room was very quiet, and the owners and staff were very friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


If I could live anywhere in the world . . . at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on September 13, 2012

it would be Garth Woodside Mansion being taken care of by Julie and John. The mansion and Julie and John feel like home and family. I have taken both of my granddaughters there for their 8th birthday! Can you imagine the owner of such a lovely mansion letting 8 year olds wander through precious objects unguarded! Well, not only did they do that, they encouraged them to feel at home -- and they did. I could never say enough about the relaxation and inclusion you feel when you are there. But -- as Julie says "Treat your family like guests and your guests like family." John & Julie live it! Thanks for everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at the Garth Mansion at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2012

This was a wonderful place for a weekend getaway! The mansion is beautiful and verty private....we enjoyed meeting with the owners and other guests on several occassions but also had plenty of "alon time". Would recommend this to anyone looking for some peace and quiet, good food, wonderful atmosphere and great food.

View more reviews for this inn


The Garth Mansion is always the only place to stay! at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on September 01, 2012

The service and accomodations are always outstanding!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely a foretaste of Heaven! at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on August 14, 2012

The setting, the inn-keepers, the decor, the dining are the best we've experienced anywhere!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B..Treated like royalty at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.2 reviewed on August 14, 2012

Stayed here on a whim, so our room was not one of the larger ones. The rooms are outfitted with period pieces and the most wonderful feather beds. They are very clean. What is most special is the way we were treated. I felt like we had gone to visit favorite relatives and felt sad to leave. Our stay was filled with great food, conversation, beauty, peace and best of all, a feeling that we were welcome. I would recommend the total experience to anyone who desires the B&B experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bed and Breakfast at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2012

My husband and I love the Garth Mansion. The Mansion itself is beautiful, but we keep going back because we love the owners, John and Julie. They make your stay so special. We have stayed in different rooms in the mansion and have loved each one. We have also rented the Dowager Cottage, you will love the amazing walk in shower. My husband and I love this place so much, we were married in the little Gazebo on the property by Julie herself. This is really a special Bed and Breakfast. I know you will fall in love with it too. Tami Hanna

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Stay at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

3.8 reviewed on August 07, 2012

First time to stay at a bed and breakfast with my wife. We both enjoyed the owners hospitality along with the wonderful accomadations/breakfast. Will definitely look in coming back again.

View more reviews for this inn


A fantastic getaway! at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2012

John and Julie made us feel very welcome! Amazing company, home, and food! We will visit again!

View more reviews for this inn


Guaranteed Smiles at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2012

We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts around America, and found the Garth Mansion to be more than we hoped for....it is a beautiful historical place, the food is exceptional and plentiful, and the hosts are immediate friends. I'm not the type of person who says this casually. I don't believe anyone would be disappointed if they book a room at Garth. It isn't just a place to sleep. It is an experience that will be a pleasant and fulfilling memory. We were tourists checking out the history of the Hannibal area, and including the Garth Woodside Mansion complimented the trip. We stayed for two evenings and found all the staff to be attentive to us and to their duties. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and during very hot days in Missouri, the temperature was cool as could be and we were very comfortable. Lots of water pressure too! In summary, the Garth Woodside Mansion successfully works hard to make your stay a perfect escape.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Way to spend a 40th anniversary at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2012

Have never done the Bed & Breakfast thing. However, we hit a homerun with our choice with Garth Woodside Mansion. We will definitely do this again very soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B & B at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2012

This B & B is all it promises to be! We will definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Missouri Getaway at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.2 reviewed on July 27, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the mansion to celebrate our first anniversary. We've only stayed at a B and B once before and loved it so we thought this would be a good opportunity to try out another spot! The mansion is a beautiful and majestic structure with a wealth of antique furnishings to fill it out. Some of the furnishings in the house seemed a little quirky, but our room was gorgeous, spacious, and the jetted tub was a nice feature. If you are a literature buff like me, you'll also be impressed by the Mark Twain connection and his signed photograph at the top of the stairs. Our hosts were quite accommodating, friendly, and willing to give advice on what to do in town. The breakfast was fresh and satisfying and the cooks were ready to take dietary restrictions into account. We also ordered the wine and cheese package, which included local wine, seasonal fruit and two varieties of cheese. I might skip this addition next time as the cheeses were pretty much standard grocery store varieties, two hunks of spiced havarti that we could barely put a dent in so they mostly went to waste, but still, it was nice to have a little glass of wine waiting when we arrived. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to others looking for a unique experience of Missouri.

View more reviews for this inn


Unexpected pleasure at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on July 17, 2012

This was my first experience with a B&B and at first I wasn't sure, but by the time I left on Sunday morning I was very pleased and can't wait to go back. The owners were very nice and attentative to our needs and/or wants. The room was very clean and had supplies that we may need and also had a night shirt and robe. By the time we left we felt like we knew the owners fo a long time. Very nice and enjoyable. J&S Kallal

View more reviews for this inn


fun stuff at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.8 reviewed on July 15, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise!! It is secludes enough that it feels like your away from it all, but close enough to attractions if you want to do sight seeing too. The host & hostess (John and Julie) are very nice, sociable and helpful. The breakfasts are wonderful too! Dave & Marie

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, relaxing, and full of history! at Garth Woodside Mansion (Hannibal, Missouri)

4.0 reviewed on June 16, 2012

We chose to stay at the Garth Mansion after reviewing the website. It met and exceeded all our expectations! One of the owners, John Rolsen, was very welcoming and always available to answer our questions about the history of the home. We stayed in the Dowager House which is beautiful and really makes you feel pampered, and the mansion is truly beautiful inside and out. The antique furniture, all the fireplaces, all the architectural detail, and the staircase, whoa! AMAZING! The breakfast each morning was very good. My husband loved the "Garth Juice" and was trying to figure out how it was made. It's their secret recipe. :) We especially liked the history of the mansion and did not realize how much it was connected to Mark Twain. A beautiful home and a history lesson all in one! We will definitely return in the future. If it were up to me I'd love to spend time in each of the rooms in the Mansion. They all have a story to tell!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Garth Woodside Mansion (4.66)
Top
}