Blue Willow Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

Shelter and Safe Harbor

5 on June 05, 2014

Not only was the suite prepared with our peace and comfort in mind, but also contained details that connected us with memories of home. Flowers tucked in every little spot possible. And, when the sky opened with rain as only it can on the Northshore it was a safe harbor for the night. Details included fresh fruit and beverages to even support us on the journey home. If you like a comfortable get-a-way, in a pleasant small town setting with a variety of great shopping and dining opportunities, this is a perfect spot. We hope to return.


Memories to last a lifetime

5 on May 06, 2014

This home is beautiful so conveniently located to restaurants and shopping I was here as a surprise for my 40th birthday ,a sweet friend planned the entire evening quiet romantic evening in the Orleans suite dinner just a few blocks from the B and B and relaxing in the jacuzzie ...I loved the blue willow plates on the walls


Perfect!

4.8 on March 26, 2014

My husband and I were returning from two months wintering in Florida early March and wanted to spend a couple of nights between Tallahassee and Austin Texas. I found this listing, called the innkeepers, and knew it would be a perfect place for us. We were delighted! We stayed in a beautiful king suite (Orleans) with plenty of room for us and all our stuff. We had several sitting areas, either in front of the fireplace or out on the lovely porch in addition to our small kitchen area. Maureen and Tom are wonderful hosts, very accommodating and knowledgeable of the area. They recently built on this addition to their house, so it's perfectly design for privacy and comfort. Personally, I like to stay in "newer" B&B's, rather than refurbished mansions. The furnishings, linens, and décor are splendid. Maureen prepared excellent breakfasts for us - she is a gourmet cook! I love the quiet neighborhood location; we walked to excellent restaurants in the evening and had fun exploring the neighborhood enjoying the beautiful architecture of the historic homes. Although we arrived before a cold front, I have I will always think of the warm hospitality and charm of Blue Willow. Thank you for providing us with this gem. We hope to return. Minnesota snowbird


Heavenly

5 on December 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Orleans suite for our anniversary. It was a lovely experience. The private balcony and large bathroom are a plus. I could have stayed all day in the jacuzzi tub. We will definitely return.


Fabulous!!!!!

5 on November 26, 2013

Our "room" is actually a fully stocked 1 bed room condo, with a LR w/fireplace, full kitchen, big bedroom and even bigger master bath with a stackable w/d and a big walk in closet wth built in dressers. All the rooms are nice and unique in their own way. And the proprietor, Maureen is fabulous. Everything I could think of has been stocked in here. Not like a timeshare but much more personaized. I would stay here each time I come to this area!! I wish they had had some gkuten free options, but since I didn't tell them I was gluten intolerant I can't even mark them for that!!


Wonderful Experience at the Blue Willow Bed and Breakfast!

5 on October 29, 2013

What a blessing to find Christian owners, Maureen and Tom Chambless, of the Blue Willow. It was a pleasure to stay in such a warm, peaceful environment. I really enjoyed the decor that had a feel of a English bed and breakfast. The breakfast awaiting me at my in-room breakfast bar was absolutely delicious. I felt that I could sleep in and have my breakfast at my own time schedule. There was a particular attentiveness to detail to meet all needs. October in Covington was truly beautiful. I look forward to my next stay at the Blue Willow Bed and Breakfast!


My Sanctuary week.

5 on September 17, 2013

I loved this B and B.! The rooms are so warm and inviting and there is such a calm and restful atmosphere.It was like visiting your best friends' house. Tom and Maureen strive to make sure everyone is very happy. The landscaping is beautiful also with places to sit that encourage intimate conversations. This ranks above the 5 star, i would give it a 10 at least! Shelly;, Illinois


Blue Willow B&B visit

5 on June 17, 2013

My husband & I were driving back from Florida & wanted to stay somewhere around Baton Rouge as it is the half way point for us to Houston area. We have been wanting to visit Covington so we decided on the Blue Willow. We were not disappointed. After checking in we walked around to the antique stores. You must visit Cupcake Concept. Delicious. Got some to take back home. We ate at the N.O. Food & Spirits. Great food & great service. Definitely plan on staying there again on our next visit thru LA.


Would Always Stay At Blue Willow Bed and Breakfast

5 on December 14, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Blue Willow on many occasions. We have never found better accommodations in our travels. Tom and Maureen are great Christian people and they make you feel just like you were at home. The location is perfect. You are within walking distance of downtown Covington which has some great restaurants and antique shops. Don't forget to say hello to Mona when you get there, she will love you forever.


Will definitely be back!

5 on December 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here this weekend and loved it! We only wish we could have stayed longer! The Orleans Suite is huge and has great amentities like the jacuzzi tub, fireplace, and balcony overlooking the grounds. The area surrounding Blue Willow is also perfect - everything you could want in local dining or shopping is all within a few blocks. Overall great place! Tom and Maureen are wonderful hosts and provide a wonderfully relaxing, yet still very private, experience!


Weekend Getaway

5 on December 05, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about the Blue Willow. This is my favorite B and B!! The owners are awesome Christian people who go above and beyond for their guests. This was our 3rd visit to the Blue Willow and I cannot wait to go back and stay again!! Everything is outstanding!! It is a home away from home!!


Refuge, tranquility, ...

5 on December 13, 2010

I am a very picky and hard to please person. I have a certain expectation of a place and I'm willing to pay well for it. That being said; there is not enough room to note how wonderful this place is. This is a paradise of escape to warmth, sincerity beyond understanding, and tranquility that, given time, probably could have healing powers. ~M.L. Ferrant 11/2010


Heaven on Earth

5 on August 01, 2010

We stayed in the Orleans suite, it was perfect! Beautiful room, comfortable bed, lovely outdoor sitting area. Felt like a trip back in time. The Inn Keepers have true southern hospitality. Secluded and quiet, really like a little piece of heaven on earth tucked away in a quaint little town. We will go back again and again.


Charming

4.6 on June 18, 2010

The Orleans Suite is fabulous! Tom and Maureen are the perfect host/hostess and are very accomodating to a persons' needs. Very charming and peaceful bed and breakfast.


Our Honeymoon

5 on May 09, 2010

This place is unbelievable!! Maureen and Tom are wonderful people. I could not have picked a better place to stay. It is romantic, quiet, peaceful and beautiful. I say stay here whenever you can.


Home away from Home

5 on January 17, 2010

Tom and Maureen, We can't say enough how much we enjoyed the nice, warm, intimate, charming, and cozy atmosphere that you provided at Blue Willow. We stayed in the Plantation Room and the old feel with the decor and the warmth you provided upon arrival....it felt like home away from home. We just fell in love with Mona and enjoyed her snuggling with me in bed for a few minutes. The fact that we were so comfortable just laying around and enjoying the coziness and did not feel like we had to leave or had to get out of your way....you went completely out of your way to see that our needs were met. The hot tub was WONDERFUL, the breakfast, quiche, and all the little special things you both did for us went far and beyond the call of duty. We truly felt like we were the only people that mattered. The memories we made here will be ones that we will always treasures and we have a great story to tell to our children :) We can not wait to return and hopeful next time we will book the Orleans Suite.


Oasis

5 on September 07, 2009

My mother & I stayed at the Blue Willow in June, and I am just now writing this review, owing to the hectic nature of my lifestyle. No matter what concerns you have, the Blue Willow offers comfort. Tom & Maureen are so welcoming you might think you were staying with distant family rather than at a B&B. Maureen was not there when we were, but she called to ask us how we were, and if there was anything we needed. I did not visit Covington for pleasure - I went to see my grandmother, whose memory is failing her. The Blue Willow was a place of calm retreat in the midst of a stressful time. Highlights include the quiche, the coffee, the easy access to restaurants (as well as Tom's excellent advice regarding these), Mona Lisa the dog, the porch swing, and the hot tub. The price was quite reasonable, especially in comparison to (nice) hotels in the area, and for the absolute comforts of home. (CDs, movies and magazines are even available in the room.) If given the opportunity to return to this oasis, I definitely will.


Absolutely Perfect!!!

5 on April 11, 2009

We stayed for two nights, but would have gladly stayed for many more. Maureen and Tom have thought of everything; there's nothing we would change. Great location, beautiful grounds, and we could walk to all the terrific local restaurants and shopping areas. If you want to feel like a special, honored guest, then the Blue Willow is the place for you!


Fantastic! Would come back in a heartbeat!

5 on April 01, 2009

What a glorious retreat! The hosts have thought of every detail and are so very accommodating. This is the perfect romantic getaway in a quaint yet growing town. Mona, their doxie, is a sweetie. You are really missing out if you have never been here!


Perfect Escape from Reality

4.6 on February 26, 2009

We stayed in the Orleans Suite and I can honestly say, the pictures on the site don't do it justice. It was a bit expensive, but now that we've stayed there, I can't imagine staying elsewhere. Everything was so beautiful! The grounds and rooms were well kept up and very clean! We felt very comfortable and were well taken care of. The whole experience was so relaxing that we truly felt as if we just escaped the day to day reality of life for our visit there. Can't wait to go back!


fantastic getaway

5 on January 06, 2009

Fantastic stay. Would highly recommend!


Fabulous place to stay and better innkeepers

4.4 on November 12, 2008

Maureen is a wonderful person and her bed and breakfast is as wonderful as she is. I've stayed here on a few occassions and each time is wonderful. On our first visit it was raining and we got lost. Maureen directed us all the way to the inn then met us at the driveway with an umbrella. The breakfast in the sunroom in each room is tasty, fresh and such a sweet idea for those of us that just want to be with our loved ones and not worry about getting to breakfast at a certain time. This is a must for anyone looking for a romantic getaway...


We Love the BLUE WILLOW

4.0 on April 16, 2008

If you are looking for romantic place to stay on the northshore after your wedding (like we were) then STAY HERE! Maureen, the innkeeper, made our wedding night so special. Apon our request she lit candles, rose pedals everywhere and had music playing when we arrived. We love the Blue willow so much we've gone back on anniversaries. We stayed in the plantation room but I've also looked at the Orleans room and it is great too (bigger with a balcony and jacuzzi tub). We love the Blue Willow!


Wow! What a beautiful b&b

5 on April 13, 2008

Thanks Tom & Maureen for being so kind and sweet. You made us feel so welcome. We stayed in the beautiful orleans suite which included a large jacuzzi bath and huge king sized bed. Not to mention the delicious breakfast, which consisted of tasty pastries, coffee, tea, cereals, etc. Blue willow b&b is the best. We will definitely return in the near future.


charming stay

4.2 on September 21, 2007

I stayed one night at the Blue Willow in September and Maureen and her husband, Tom, were among the most gracious and sweet host and hostess a guest could ask for. The hot tub is fabulous; the room I had was cute and cozy! They had a CD player playing soft relaxing music before I arrived, and I kept playing the relaxing CDs they provided all weekend long!

Innkeeper Response
We are concerned that this reviewer graded us poorly on cleanliness. (3 out of 5) This is the heart of our business and with no explanation, we cannot address it. Please revise or let us know why we were graded poorly and we will make improvements. Thank you for taking the time. Tom


Great getaway

5 on August 20, 2007

Tom & Maureen are the perfect host and hostess. Whatever you need they are right there to help and they give suggestions on where to eat and what is going on in town. If you want to get away and relax and forget about everything this is the perfect place that I have found. What attracted me was the front porch with the rockers and swing. It is so relaxing and you can hear the birds sing and you hear the crickets. The suites are so welcoming and charming I felt at home. Tom and Maureen make you feel like one of the family. The courtyard with the lions heads with the running water is so relaxing I just sit there and destress it is a great place if you are under stress. A weekend at Blue Willow Bed and Breakfast will make you forget your troubles for a little while. My husband and I have gone there four times and we can never wait to go back.


Peace from the storm.

5 on August 19, 2007

After Katrina we have been trying to put the pieces back together. We needed to getaway just to relax and rest our souls. Blue Willow is our perfect refuge from the storm. We feel alive again!! Can't wait to return.


A Great Getaway

5 on March 25, 2007

We stayed in Covington at the Blue Willow for three nights. It was lovely, clean, very comfortable, and the owners were very friendly and gave helpful suggestions as to where to eat, shop, and sigthsee. We can't wait to go back!


Timeless Tranquility

5 on February 25, 2007

We had the opportunity to spend our daughter's ninth birthday at the Blue Willow after seeing this beautiful place on the web and in person. The cleanliness of the suite, the grounds, the hospitality, and the warmth that you feel here at this bed and breakfast far surpasses anh hotel chain. We arrived to find frsh flowers and a warm fireplace waiting. We had the most delicious snacks and the most beautiful room. Words cannot express how much we appreciated staying in a place that made us truly feel at home. We had our own private entrance and balcony overlooking the garden area below. It truly made our daughter's birthday even more precious. Thank you Tom and Maureen for making us feel so welcome and for making a little princess feel like her day was al the more special.


All you could want and more!

5 on January 06, 2007

All you could want and more! Maureen and Tom have outdone themselves! We couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. The room is cozy and romantic, the food is fabulous and they provide things you would never find at a hotel or other b&bs! Thanks so much...we'll be back!


Blue Willow Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $250
  • Reviews (30) 4.9
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9858920011
  • Mobile 1-9858690147

Visit Website »

View details

Top