The Stockade Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
144 Reviews

Write A Review

A Fabulous Stay

5 on November 02, 2014

I came to stay at the Stockade Bed and Breakfast based on the glowing reviews I found online, and I was not disappointed. Janice was a professional and courteous woman who helped answer all of our questions with true southern hospitality. We were given advanced notice of a party to take place, and as promised, she helped to wind down the festivities so our sleep would not be disturbed. The breakfasts provided each day were fabulous as well. We had a fantastic stay and look forward to being back on our next trip to Baton Rouge.


Home away from Home

5 on October 21, 2014

Janice has always made it easy for me to look forward to coming back to Baton Rouge. Business becomes pleasure when I can begin and end the day at Stockade B & B. Each trip (there have been many, by now) I discover something new and delightful about the house, the people or the neighborhood. (PS this is the first internet review that I have ever done. Seriously.)


Home Away from Home at the Stockade

4.8 on September 22, 2014

This was our second stay, this time for six nights. Pleasant, quiet surroundings, gentle hospitality and unobtrusive care. Nice surprise.... Janice will lend paper maps of the Baton Rouge area for the digitally challenged, or anyone who wants the "big picture" you can't get from your GPS device. We'll be back!


wonderful!

5 on August 28, 2014

this place is absolutely wonderful. so welcoming, a home away from home!


Stockade B&B

4.4 on August 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Stockade B&B for 4 nights this August. It is a wonderful property! The room was tastefully decorated, as is in fact the whole house. And we were well look after too. No question was too much and the breakfast different every day and always wonderful. Our main host was Steve, and he is the perfect person for the job. Friendly and always interested in a chat. When there was an issue with warm water, we were offered a bottle of wine for the (very minor) inconvenience. Such a nice touch. While booking a room, Janice was extremely helpful in selecting the best room (given that I am a light sleeper). And indeed the room was very quiet. I will definitively stay at the Stockade again if I am in Baton Rouge next. I highly recommend it.


Home Between Our Homes

5 on July 29, 2014

We travel back and forth from Alabama to Texas due to having a second home and have found Baton Rouge to be the halfway point. The last four times we have stayed at the Stockade and because of the comfort and service we have experienced, have made this our home between our homes. The location is convenient for us and the atmosphere is much preferred to the commercial options available. The owner and staff are all great and make you feel "special" by staying at the Stockade. The rooms are large, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is always great and snacks are left in the dinning area should you desire. For LSU fans, the Stockade is located on Highland Road which goes into the campus as well as there is an exit for Highland Road off the Bridge if you are traveling from the West to East into Baton Rouge. If you are seeking a low stress place to stay, this is it. It is like being at home.


Just Lovely

5 on July 27, 2014

My daughter & I were touring LSU and The Stockade was more than conveniently located. Wished we could have stayed more than one night. Our room as beautifully comfortable & breakfast was delicious.


FANTASTIC

5 on July 19, 2014

My friend and I stayed at The Stockade for one night as a stop over on a road trip from Austin to New Orleans but wished we had been staying longer. The property was quite delightful, and our room spacious, opulent and well-stocked with anything you might need. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and Janice's breakfast was plentiful and delicious. A further plus was the property was very easy to find from the highway. We even made friends there on the back patio with whom we are still in touch... highly recommended.


Very fun place in Baton Rouge

5 on July 09, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend getaway away from the kids. Rooms are very nice and the B&B is well located next to several restaurants and shopping. Parking is onsite and ample (they have a big circular driveway with plenty of room.) There are many nice plants and pictures and it has a fun atmosphere. Breakfast was yummy. Janice took a request for french toast with fruit on the side, and it was delicious. This was the second time we stayed there and we would definitely stay again.


A Beatutiful & Peaceful Place to Stay

5 on June 23, 2014

This was my second stay at the Stockade and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Baton Rouge. I have stayed in and loved the Welch Room, which is in the upstairs front of the house.The house and grounds are beautifully maintained. The service and food is excellent . Janice is a lovely hostess who provides a very clean and neat place to stay. The furnishings are absolutely beautiful and tasteful in each of the rooms as well as the entire house. The house contains amazing antiques and fascinating works of art. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The most important thing as well is that Janice and her home provide a peaceful haven for guests. You would never know you were in the middle of Baton Rouge and on a busy street. It is a serene and calm setting that can be enjoyed at all times of the day. I look forward to going back there to stay as soon as I can.


Relaxing!

5 on June 17, 2014

Our experience was very relaxing. The staff accomodated dietary needs. Everyone was pleasant. The bed was very comfortable, even for my bad hip. Available snacks helped out late night munchies. As an older home, its well built walls blocked out all outside noises, even road traffic. We had very pleasant conversation with the owner and other guests in the morning. I highly recommend this place.


Great Place

4.8 on June 11, 2014

This is where my fiancee and I spent our engagement night. It was everything I wanted and then some.


Friendly welcome, beautiful place to stay, good value.

3.4 on June 11, 2014

Beautiful place to stay - in a quiet road within a short driving distance of Baton Rouge's centre. Eating places within walking distance (Sammy's was good). The Stockade has a collection of interesting art, good selection of books, and interesting decoration. The baby grand piano was also a big plus point for me. Breakfast was interesting and filling.


Great place to stay

5 on June 03, 2014

Rooms were large and clean. The owner was very nice to us.


Great family gathering property

5 on May 19, 2014

We came to the Stockade B & B from Michigan with 5 people in our group for our son's graduation from LSU. We rented two rooms. It was excellent! We had four days of fun, sight seeing, and relaxation with a home atmosphere to come back to every day. Janice was excellent and attended to all our needs. The rooms were spotless and the breakfasts delicious! This was the second time we came here and we will return again. Shelly


First Visit to Baton Rouge

4.8 on March 25, 2014

On our recent visit to Baton Rouge we stayed at this beautiful inn. We were welcomed by Janice with a glass of wine and a tour of the property, including the Nature trail around the grounds. A refrigerator of cold drinks outside our room was a welcome perk. We enjoyed meeting the other guests at the family-style gourmet breakfast offered each morning. The inn is beautifully appointed, very comfortable and clean; the staff very welcoming. A gem!


The Garden Room

5 on March 13, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at The Stockade and couldn't have been more pleased. Janice was warm and cheerful as we arrived and helpful throughout our stay with her. Her suggestions for dinner out were wonderful. Our room was beautiful and relaxing - just what we needed. Breakfast was so good we never got around to eating lunch. We are hoping to get back to stay with Janice again.


Two Mainers in Baton Rouge

5 on March 07, 2014

My husband travelled on business all his life and stayed in some very nice B&B's in New England. The Rex Room at the Stockade was the most spacious accomodation he has ever been in. We loved the room, the windows, the outside patio, everything. The owner and her staff are so enjoyable and the breakfast is outstanding. The inn is conveniently located to good resatuarants,the highway and about 20 mins from the airport. It is a must!


Just beautiful, relaxing, and a great get away even for locals!

5 on March 06, 2014

A great steal! Enjoyed a night away from our own lives! Beautifully appointed, welcoming, and comfortable... Even made the usually cold weather for this time of year seem warm!


Janice exceeded our expectations!

5 on February 25, 2014

We decided to have a last minute romantic get-way together before returning to the realities of life! My husband had just returned from a 9 day trip to Panama, and we were on our way back from New Orleans. We found the Stockade, and we are so glad that we did. We reserved the Blue Room. It is so beautiful and comfortable. The view is gorgeous! We definitely recommend the Stockade for a much needed escape!


Great Stay

5 on February 08, 2014

This Bed & Breakfast more than met our criteria for a great place to stay.


January stay at the Stockade

5 on January 20, 2014

It was my first time at a Bed and Breakfast. It was wonderful. I wish we could have stayed longer. I want to return when it is warm out so we can enjoy the grounds.


Best B&B in Louisiana

5 on January 13, 2014

What an awesome experience! Looks and feels like you're out in the country side, but you're just off a main drag in Baton Rouge! Beautiful accomodations, great decor, perfect room, full ammenities, and a great price! Oh, not to mention the BEST breakfast I've ever had at a B&B! Thanks for an awesome Birthday visit!


One of the nicest best kept secrets in Baton Rouge.

5 on January 03, 2014

I married the youngest of six GRITS (girls raised in the South). We went to the Stockade for our 35th anniversary for a quiet getaway. We truly had a wonderful time. The accommodations were great and the staff was wonderful. The food was Southern and the coffee was Community. It doesn't get any better than that. We will be back. The Stockade is only a few minutes from our home and we plan to make staying there a regular event. Janice is a great host!


December Trip

4.8 on January 02, 2014

It was a delightful and charming place. I highly recommend it.


Fantastic & Charming B&B in Baton Rouge

5 on December 28, 2013

This was our first stay in Baton Rouge and we were more than satisfied with the cosy and warm atmosphere at the Stockade. We stayed with our son (7) and he enjoys the house so as we do. The breakfast buffet offers a variety of tasty food. We also preferred the location, because it is not in downtown and some nice sights are easy to reach by car.


Multiple Visits to the Stockade

5 on December 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Stockade on multiple occasions and look forward to doing so again. Always clean, friendly, comfortable, just a wonderful experience each and every time. Can't wait to go back again.


Another Great Experience at The Stockade!

5 on December 16, 2013

This is the second year that we have had our out of town guests stay at The Stockade for the company Christmas Party and year end meetings. On the first night we have been hosting a welcome reception at The Stockade for approximately 30 people. This reception was another great success. Everyone enjoyed it so much I was afraid they weren't going to leave! The staff is very accomodating and easy to work with. We will be back for sure.


Fantastic BnB in BTR

5 on December 09, 2013

Huge, comfortable rooms and exquisite food. I travel a lot of work, preferring always to stay in BnBs. This is one of the very best I've stayed in. I recommend it strongly to everyone visiting Baton Rouge!


The Stockade is consistently top notch!

4.8 on December 04, 2013

My daughter attends LSU so my wife and I travel down (from NY) to visit and have now stayed at the Stockade B&B several times. The rooms are large (the Rex room has a king bed, a couch, a couple of chairs, and a desk) and quiet, and the back patio can be wonderful when the weather is nice. We're much happier staying here than most any hotel. Janice is delightful and we find the Stockade to be real Gem for the money.


Loved this place!

4.8 on December 02, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to this bed and breakfast to celebrate our anniversary. It is a beautiful property with southern charm. Every detail exceeded my expectation. I especially loved the wine and snacks that were in our room upon arrival and the spacious room we stayed in. Breakfast was wonderful and served when we wanted it! I will definitely stay here again.


Stockade, Baton Rouge

5 on November 18, 2013

We stayed here on a whim and am I glad we did. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The room was excellent and our visit was capped off with a fabulous breakfast.


Relaxing after the wedding!

5 on November 04, 2013

We were in Baton Rouge for a family wedding recently and stayed two nights at the Stockade Bed and Breakfast. All I can say is AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!!! My expectations met and then some. We stayed in the Escape Room which was on the ground floor. The room was extremely large with an enormous restroom. The space was decorated with comfort and class in mind. We didn't need for anything during our stay and the price was so reasonable. And I haven't even mentioned the food..................what an amazing breakfast both days. I felt spoiled and very well taken care of and will definitely stay with them again.


Outstanding

5 on November 02, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a night in the Escape room for an "escape" from our obnoxious neighbor. The facility was fantastic. It is tastefully decorated yet still comfortable and "homey". It is very near some great restaurants, and it has some great outside sitting areas. Our host Janet was very nice and accommodating but not "doting" and hovering over our every move. We knew if we needed something, she was a simple call away. We are not "morning people", so we did not partake of the breakfast, but it smelled simply divine. We'll definitely be back and highly recommend this B&B.


Our first experience at a bed and breakfast

4.0 on November 01, 2013

We drove up and loved the look of this b & b. It was clean, cozy and homey. We had a friendly greeting. And after checking in, we went to see our room and was very pleased. It felt like being home. Then we walked around the property and enjoyed the back yard and our balcony. Next morning we enjoyed breakfast with other guests. There was a nice variety of food including juice, coffee, quiche, toast, fruit and more. All of our needs were met and then some. It was much quieter than a hotel. We would stay there again and recommend it to anyone.


Great experience!

4.8 on October 20, 2013

This was my first trip to a bed and breakfast and I have to say that I will definitely do it again! My husband booked it for my birthday weekend as an alternative to a busy hotel. We were able to feel like we totally escaped for the weekend, without leaving town. The accommodations were quiet, comfortable and cozy...just what we hoped for. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and left us to ourselves to enjoy our stay. Although the house has 6 bedrooms, we never saw another guest until breakfast and checkout the following morning. The Stockade was a pleasant experience and I hope to return again.


4 nights of luxury

4.6 on September 12, 2013

A beautiful home, excellent service, very comfortable room.


The Stockade

4.4 on September 10, 2013

The Stockade is a lovely B&B. My wife and I stayed for the first time. A beautifully decorated home and awesome quite location of Baton Rouge. Amenities were great. We stayed in the Blue Room. Great view and awesome balcony. Breakfast was great in the dining room. Only recommendations, the bathroom needs additional lighting. My wife complained there was not enough lighting to do her makeup.


Great change from all-the-same hotels

4.2 on August 24, 2013

This is a great place. It looked good on internet and was even better when we experienced it. The room was very comfortable and there is a nice duplex lounge to relax in. We could choose the type of breakfast that suited us. For dinner there is a good restaurant just across the road and others nearby.


I loved the Stockade!

5 on August 15, 2013

This was my first time staying at a B&B. I would recommend the Stockade to everyone. The experience was so much more enjoyable than that of a hotel's. We stayed in the Rex room and it was perfect! The room has a door to the back courtyard, which was perfect for us, since we are smokers. The bed was so comfortable that we overslept and missed the breakfast I was so looking forward to. Next time I stay there I will make sure to set my alarm!


Relaxing getaway

4.6 on August 06, 2013

We were returning to Dallas after 4 days in New Orleans. Being really tired we decided to spend the night in Baton Rouge instead of driving straight thru. Best decision we could have made....our room at the Stockade was just what we needed. It was secluded and very relaxing. There was no pressure to do or go anywhere else. Breakfast was great. Lots of good conversation and we felt comfortable in our surrounding. Would recommend it to everyone wanting a serene retreat for a day, a week, or more The STOCKADE is a great place to stay. serene retreat.


Stockade is great

4.2 on August 04, 2013

Great time. Beautiful gardens. Great breakfast. Friendly owner, but respectful of privacy. Felt like staying at a relative's house without the guilt. Lol


Our stay at the Stockade

5 on June 05, 2013

We were in town for the Jazz Festival and to visit friends. I immediately fell in love with the place as soon as i walked in. It was conveniently located to restaurants (walking distance) for dinner, LSU and shops. It was perfect. If we were to visit the area again we would definitly stay there. I later found out that an episode of one of my favorite shows, True Blood, was filmed there so that was a little exciting. The Innkeeper was a great hostess.


Absolutley Perfect!

5 on June 05, 2013

I wish my husband and I could have stayed more than one night. It was an absolutely beautiful and picturesque bed and breakfast. We had a wonderful time. The staff was nice, the room was well stocked and very comfortable. The home made breakfast in the morning was delicious as well! I would highly recommend the Stockade to anyone.


Wonderful experience

5 on June 04, 2013

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and it was a wonderful experience. There were three of us and we felt very comfortable in the spacious room. Janice was attentive to our needs and her assistant also very friendly. I would highly recommend The Stockade to anyone passing through Baton Rouge.


Stockade B&B, april 2013

5 on April 20, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay in the Escape Room. It was larger than I'd expected and very comfortable. Relaxed a bit on the terrace out back and had an excellent breakfast souffle.


Mom and Daughters Weekend

4.4 on April 18, 2013

Great B&B. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Nice big patio which was great for relaxing. Location was convenient and close to many great restaurants. Nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend this place and will return.


Wonderful Experience

4.6 on April 11, 2013

This was the most beautiful B&B I've ever stayed in, and the best experience I've had in 25 years of B&Bing. The rooms and furnishings and extra details were lavishing. Hospitality was magnificent. The view from our back porch was serene. Everything was spit spot clean. Breakfast was delicious. Janice was delightful to us and our two teen daughters. I've never wanted to rave so much about a B&B.

Innkeeper Response
Dearest Guest, You are too kind! Please bring the smelling salts before I get the big head. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You and your family were delightful and we hope to see you again. Until then, safe and adventurous travel to you.


Spring Break is nice in Plantation Country

5 on April 03, 2013

The innkeeper was very accommodating and laid back. The room was lovely. The common room was spectacular. The breakfasts were among the best we've had. We appreciated the Southern cuisine: grits and crawfish etouffe, for example. The other guests were delightful as well. The Stockade is easy to find, near the University, and also near to good restaurants.


Like A Second Honeymoon

5 on March 19, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed every moment of our stay at The Stockade. The location surprised us- so tucked away, yet so accessible to just about everything we love. The room was a dream- spacious, clean, and luxurious. The food was second to none- delicious AND nutritious. The service was impeccable. Janice went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our time. We can't stop talking about the memories we will always have because of the awesome experience of The Stockade.


Baton Rouge and Crawfish

3.4 on March 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Baton Rouge and the Stockade.


Gracious living in Baton Rouge

5 on March 10, 2013

The Stockade was everything we were looking for: charming, historic, and very comfortable. Janice started our day with an excellent breakfast, and we liked walking across the street to several restaurants at the end of a busy day. Note to fellow birders: the nearby BREC Bluebonnet Swamp trails were very productive.


Business Traveler

4.2 on March 05, 2013

This is my second stay at the Stockade, and it was another pleasant experience. As a business traveler I appreciate a comfortable, welcoming setting. The Stockade has everything to make me feel right at home, including an excellent home-cooked breakfast. I hightly recommend it!


Great Southern Hospitality

4.8 on February 26, 2013

The Stockade B&B is quite a gem in a wonderful location with fabulous gardens, courtyards and landscaping. As you enter you notice a grand space with 20 foot ceilings and large windows looking out to the courtyard. Also the decor is very tasteful with original paintings and even original Audbuon and Gould bird prints!! Janice greeted me with a glass of nice white wine after I drove 14hrs to Baton Rouge. The rooms are very nice with many antiques. However the best part of the stay is the wonderful breakfast. WOW all home made and cooked to order. This is how a B&B should be!!


Vacationing in New Orleans and Baton Rouge

3.6 on February 25, 2013

We were on vactation in LA, first to New Orleans and then to surrounding areas to take in historical sites. We stayed in Baton Rouge for two nights at the Stockade B & B. They were very accomodating, answered all questions the the breakfast was a nice touch.


Wonderful stay at the Stockade

4.6 on November 24, 2012

Janice is a wonderful hostess and the bed and breakfast is beautiful. We stayed in the Rex Room (an upgrade since we were there mid week and the only ones there.). We had a delicious breakfast and a recommendation for a dinner which we loved --Louisiana lagniappe. I highly recommend the Stockade.


Ideal for honeymooners!

5 on September 25, 2012

We stayed for our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. The staff is nice, the atmosphere is great and the rooms are just amazing. We stayed in the Rex Room which we can only recommend. The breakfast was more than enough, there were snacks and beverages for us all day long, and all of very good quality. For honeymooners it is ideal, since you won't get disturbed and the whole atomsphere is luxurious and cozy. Not to mention the huge and nice bed, I didn't sleep that well in months (or probably years). Perkin's Rowe and other Malls are in a short driving distance, some food places close enough to walk. The arboretum is close by and worth a short stay. All in all I am glad we chose thise place, especially for this price. Thanks to Janice and her staff to make this happen! PS: I gave 5 Stars for Dining but they don't have Dinner or Lunch, still the many snacks and the breakfast made up for that, as well as the many locations for good food nearby.

Innkeeper Response
It was our pleasure to have you spend your honeymoon with us here at The Stockade. Congratulations on your marriage and best of everything to you in your new life together. Thanks for the kind words about The Stockade. Come spend your anniversary with us in the future!


First Bed and Breakfast Experience

5 on July 09, 2012

I enjoyed the photos of The Stockade. My husband and I were planning a second honeymoon there in The Blue Room. The room was just as inviting and beautiful as the photos of it. We enjoyed the private balcony and took photos from it of the woods. The common rooms were also very well-appointed. Janice is an excellent chef. She prepared wonderful breakfasts for us - serving whatever we wished. Snacks were also plentiful. We felt very much at home and Janice was able to answer all of our questions about the area. We had a great time.

Innkeeper Response
I'm so happy that your first Bed & Breakfast experience was enjoyable for you! Thank you for choosing The Stockade for your maiden voyage into A BETTER WAY TO STAY. It is my pleasure to share my property with my guests and provide an authentic Louisiana experience that they will remember fondly when they get home. Many thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you again!


A HIDDEN GEM

5 on July 07, 2012

We stayed in the Garden Room for our 26th anniversary in May for two nights. It's very romantic, quiet, and relaxing. This room has a balcony overlooking the patio and the many species of plants and trees. It was great enjoying a morning cup of coffee on the balcony watching the squirrels play and listening to the birds chirping, which is difficult for me to do due to my busy schedule. Janice prepares a delicious, hot breakfast in the morning and is she very accommodating. There are restaurants a stone's throw away, with shopping, and recreational activities minutes away. Being a career military man, I was also attracted by the historical significance of the site. We plan on staying in the Blue Room next and we've recommended this B&B to all of our friends. A great get away. Enjoy! Thanks Janice for a fabulous stay. ~Louis E., Denham Springs, LA.


Great place to stay.

5 on July 05, 2012

Had a wonderful time there. Beautiful setting and a great breakfast.


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

5 on July 02, 2012

Wanted to let you know that we enjoyed our recent stay in The Rex Room. We had plenty of room and slept very well. We loved having the swing and the outside patio area. Eating at Sammy's across the street was quite a treat!!! Being able to walk over was a plus. We also enjoyed breakfast the next morning with Jerry and Marge. They were quite an entertaining pair and breakfast was very good too. Your B&B was quite a treat and we hope to return again in the future!

Innkeeper Response
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. And I knew that you would enjoy meeting Margie and Jere, my dearest friends who fill in for me when I have business out of town. Thank you for including The Stockade in your visit to Baton Rouge and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip. My best to you and your family, Janice, Innkeeper


Just what I was looking for

5 on June 10, 2012

Quiet & privacy, like coming home at the end of an evening. We stayed in the Blue Room, comfortable, tastefully decorated...appealing to both my husband and myself. Also, the amenity of an open balcony with stairs leading down to a quaint courtyard embedded in greenery giving an impression that you are not near an intersection at 8860 Highland Rd. In the AM, over a very good breakfast, we enjoyed a brief visit with a few guests and our host, Janice. I will stay here everytime I find myself in Baton Rouge.


Best b and b I have been too.

5 on June 09, 2012

Stay in Baton Rouge and feel like your away from everything. Such a nice comfortable place for any occasion. Will be back to visit again soon.


Our home away.

5 on May 24, 2012

The wooded surroundings, comfortable rooms, the pleasure of a nice breakfast and chatting with other travelers has been a joy and a relief from our difficult and frequent trips to visit an ill parent. We will never stop coming and will always be grateful to the Stockade and it's owner Janice for this bright and shining escape.


OUTSTANDING!

5 on February 06, 2012

This is the best place I've stayed. I travel about 75-80% of my job, and this was the most comfortable, clean most courtious place I have EVER stayed!


Great Get-Away!

5 on January 02, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Stockade. Everything was taken care of and that left plenty of time for relaxation! Thanks again! We'll be visiting again!


Great location, warm welcoming hostess

4.6 on December 27, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at The Stockade twice, and each time we thoroughly enjoyed it. The location in Baton Rouge is great - restaurants, shopping, LSU, so many amenities from across the street to only a few miles away. The quality and variety of the breakfast is great, and Janice is a wonderful hostess. We would not hesitate to stay here again!


Great B&B in Baton Rouge

4.2 on December 22, 2011

Our room was fantastic, breakfast was cooked to order and Janice could not have been any more accommodating. We will definitely return.


Great Stay at the Stockade

4.0 on December 05, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Stockade for 2 nights while he tended to business at LSU. We loved the Stockade and our host, Janice. She made sure we had breakfast before leaving for LSU in the morning, and helped refer us to some professionals in town that we needed to connect with. She goes above and beyond! We stayed in the Garden Room, which was lovely. The bathroom is beautiful and we used the big jacuzzi tub. What a treat! The balcony is a really nice touch too. The room is large and there is ample room to spread out. And it was so quiet that we slept really well! Breakfast was delicious. And we had dinner across the street one night at Sammy's which is nothing fancy, but convenient and good. We drove to a nice place the second night in Perkins Rowe. It was a really nice wine bar restaurant. Food was great and wine list was wonderful! I used the gym across the street both days called Any Time Fitness. Very convenient! All in all, we loved The Stockade and highly recommend it for anyone visiting Baton Rouge for business or pleasure.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for your kind words. I enjoyed meeting you and was happy to help. Hope that your travels bring you back this way soon.


Home Sweet Home Away From Home

5 on December 01, 2011

We have stayed at The Stockade a few times over the years...always in the Rex Room. It's a big house with a cozy feel, beautifully appointed without looking 'decorated'. Breakfast surprise one day was blueberry pancakes along with eggs and bacon and the next morning we were served spinach quiche with sausage...coffee always hot. Janice sits and visits with her guests during breakfast and we always love talking to her. I hope on our next visit we have time for afternoon wine and cheese...consider The Stockade your home away from home. You will love it. Jerie B from Shreveport

Innkeeper Response
I certainly hope you do join us for wine and cheese next time you come Jerie! Thanks for your complimentary words. Hope to see you again real soon.


Thanksgiving Tiger Game

5 on November 30, 2011

The food is great and plentiful, and the accommodations exceptional. The hostess knows exactly how to treat guests.

Innkeeper Response
Awe shucks, you are too kind. And it didn't hurt that our Tigers won the game either! Geaux LSU! We are #1!!!!


A good time was had by all....

4.4 on November 28, 2011

Once you get that outdoor light timer mechanism 'fixed' I don't think there could possibly be anything else that would detract from a stay at The Stockade. We had a marvelous time, the place was perfect for our needs and breakfast was a great addition to our activities. Thanks for a great weekend.


Great LSU Parents Weekend Stay

3.8 on November 23, 2011

Excellent stay. Janice was very accommadating. When we had to be at LSU for an early event, she made a special breakfast for us before we left. We look forward to many more visits.


I shall return!

4.8 on October 27, 2011

I needed privacy, quiet time, reflection time, and books to read. The only thing The Stocade couldn't give me was a foot massage. I suspect if I'd asked, they'd have found someone for that too! I shall indeed return.

Innkeeper Response
You are certainly right, we do have a massage therapist who makes house calls. I am happy to set up an appointment when asked. Thanks for your kind review and we are here for you the next time you want to run away.


1st Bed and Breakfast Experience

5 on September 23, 2011

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was wonderful. Janice was very welcoming and makes a very generous breakfast. The room was lovely and quite comfortable. We'll definitely plan on making this our place for Baton Rouge visits.

Innkeeper Response
We love our newcomers! Thanks so much for your kind and generous review.


Giels Trip

5 on September 18, 2011

Wonderful place to visit! I would return time and time again!


Great atmosphere

4.6 on September 09, 2011

Had a great time. Don't go there expecting there to be a hustle and bustle of a hotel. No loud , rude people or under- parented kids. Peace and quiet with a very delightful owner taking care of you during your stay. Taste of the South.


slightly over priced

3.6 on September 08, 2011

our experience was great but we felt it was over priced, especially for being in the middle of baton rouge


A DEFINITE DO-OVER

4.8 on August 25, 2011

I had never stayed at a B&B before, but after my 2-night visit at the Stockade I now plan to make staying at every B&B in La. a part of my bucket list. Of course that means staying at the Stockade again and again. I was a little leery at first staying at a B&B in Baton Rouge, and right near busy intersections and high-traffic areas. the funny thing is that once you turn onto the grounds, you're removed from the hustle and bustle. Once inside, you'd swear you were removed to a place far away ... some isolated countryside. The house itself is very well decorated and from the moment you walk through the front door, it feels like home. Literally like home. The rooms are very clean and very well-kept. They don't have the sterile or commercial feel that often comes with hotel rooms. The private balcony is great for grabbing a bit of fresh air while reading a book, talking or just relaxing. I can't say enough about Janice, who from our first email conversations, then phone calls, was nothing short of a gracious host. We arrived late at night and it wasn't until the next afternoon that we ran across her. Friendly and welcoming, she truly made us feel invited in her home. The best thing about the Stockade is the peace and tranquility. While there were other guests there at the same time, it often felt like we had the house to ourselves. We did run across a guest here and there, but it was random, yet always friendly. Thanks to Janice and the Stockade I now have a different outlook on B&Bs in general. I look forward to planning my next short weekend getaway. Without a doubt I recommend this B&B. I pity the others I stay at because the Stockade has raised the bar very high. Ronnie & Wendy


Wonderful place to stay

4.8 on August 24, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and large and it was quiet relaxing.


In Town for a Weekend Vacation

4.8 on June 15, 2011

If you are looking for a wonderfully quiet and beautiful place to stay when you are in Baton Rouge, look no further. The innkeeper Janice is such a wonderful person to converse with over morning coffee and the breakfasts are delicious. My wife and I stayed in the Welch room and it is one of the most spacious rooms in a bed and breakfast that I've ever stayed in. The down-topped mattress is a delight and Janice obviously takes much care with the beautiful and functional antiques adorning the room. What a lovely stay.


At home in Baton Rouge

4.8 on May 25, 2011

Enjoyed our second stay at the Stockade. We especially like the relaxing, well-appointed common areas and the lovely gardens and patios. Janice is friendly and attentive. Great location close to LSU. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.


spacious and affordable

3.8 on May 24, 2011

the room was very spacious and good to relax Janice is taking care about every need of their guest and offers a wide choice of food for breakfast We feel very comfortable and can recommend The Stockade


Great stay at The Stockade

3.8 on May 16, 2011

Beautiful house and grounds conveniently located in central Baton Rouge. Excellent full breakfast cooked on my time schedule! A very comfortable place to stay.


Very nice B&B

4.0 on May 15, 2011

I purchased one of the romance packages for my girlfriend's birthday. The whole experience was quite nice. The breakfast in bed was quite delicious and they did a wonderful job making a vegetarian meal for us. We stayed in the escape room, and since it was on the first floor and we ate breakfast in the room, I didn't get a chance to see much else of the place, but the room and the common area were both nice.


Our Stay at the Stockade

5 on May 13, 2011

This was our first visit to the Stockade; though our son had stayed there before and had highly recommended it to us, and was with us on this visit. Janice was a most gracious hostess and made us feel like we were friends invited to spend the night in her beautiful home. The surroundings were lovely, as was the yard with it's gardens and beautiful landscaping. David and Nancy


Great B&B

5 on May 10, 2011

We had a great stay. The accomondations were lovely. We look forward to returning for another visit.


The Garden Room

4.8 on May 08, 2011

We enjoyed our stay so much we want to go back!!! It was a beautiful experience!!!


My stay was much too short

4.2 on May 03, 2011

Although Janice and I kept missing each other at first, when we met I instantly liked her and she was most gracious. My room and the whole place made me feel like home and frankly I wished that I could have stayed longer. My son lives in Baton Rouge and has guests come in often and will recommend the Stockade to all who make plans to stay. I know that I will be back!


Friendly B&B

4.4 on May 02, 2011

Janice is so friendly and makes you feel right at home from the moment you walk in the front door. We have stayed at the Stockade 3 times now, and we've never had a bad experience.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind remarks and for choosing The Stockade for your frequent trips to Baton Rouge. We enjoy getting to know our repeat guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future.


Baton Rouge B&B

3.8 on April 29, 2011

This B&B was formally a large family home and is located on Highland Road near LSU, restaurants and a wonderful spa. The decor is eclectic with lot of unique details and antique furniture. Some of the other furnishings were dated and the carpet was in dire need of replacement in our room, but this is the only negative aspect of the home on our stay. The innkeeper is a delightful lady originally from New Orleans who has an eclectic decorating style and true southern hospitality. Breakfasts were excellent. We were quite comfortable and would certainly stay at the B&B on our next trip to Baton Rouge.

Innkeeper Response
The Rex is our most occupied room and is in the process of being renovated. Thanks for your comments. I will post new photos of the room when it is complete.


Stockade review

4.0 on April 28, 2011

Very enjoyable stay! My dietary restrictions are tricky, but Janice was a real trooper. I made the mistake of not looking for the checkout time on the website. Unfortunately, it wasn't listed on the webreservation (date only),and we didn't receive the actual reservation confirmation until 24 hrs later, after we'd already left on the trip. Easter brunch went past Stockades checkout time, but Janice and housekeeper Dee were kind enough to've already packed our belongings. Floor a little sticky in some places, but fresh towels, pillow-soft mattress, exuberating shower, delicious breakfast, good company plus all their wonderful amenities! Thank you so much, again!

Innkeeper Response
In my experience, check-out time is pretty universal. It is customary to ask if a late check-out can be accommodated. We are happy to do so IF we have enough time to get our rooms turned for our next arriving guests. Thanks for staying with us.


Stayed here on our wedding night in the garden room

4.4 on April 24, 2011

We spent one night here for the night of our wedding and it was excellent. We got in late after our wedding and it was very quite. We did not see anyone else other than the manager who made us an excellent breakfast the next morning. Rooms were clean, service was good and food was great. I am so glad we chose to stay here over a hotel. Would recommend it to anyone and plan on staying again next time we are in baton rouge for a weekend.


Mervice's Stay

5 on April 19, 2011

I loved to atmosphere and we enjoyed the visit . We will return


Relaxing stay in beautiful home

4.4 on April 18, 2011

Personalized service. The hostess made us feel at home and was very accommodating. Breakfast was freshly made and delicious. Nice conversation. All around great stay!


Fantastic stay at The Stockade

4.0 on March 30, 2011

As usual, our stay at the Stockade provided an excellent experience to both of us. We specifically chose to stay at the Stockade on our anniversary. We highly recommend the Stockade. What a wonderful, relaxing way to spend such a special occasion.


You won't be disappointed!

5 on March 22, 2011

I've stayed twice and absolutely love this place and the owner! Sooo much better than staying at a hotel and a very good rate for a B&B. Very charming. I'm more comfortable and content here than at my own home!


a B&B gem in Baton Rouge

4.0 on March 17, 2011

This is a treasure which we found on-line. Janice, has created a beautiful oasis with trees, a grand piano, art everywhere and great hospitality. It is near LSU, Mike the Tiger, and easy to get to the capital which is worth visiting. One can take an elevator to the 27th floor to get a great view of the Mississippi River etc.


Best place in Baton Rouge

5 on March 15, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Stockade. What a wonderful place it is. The Rex Room was beautifully decorated and so spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was perfect, too. We are so glad we found it!


The Stockade B and B

5 on March 13, 2011

A delightful place, we would definately stay here again. Beautifully decorated for Mardi Gras, quiet and the best asparagus omelette breakfast!


Nice time in Baton Rouge at Stockade!

3.0 on March 12, 2011

Very charming home with lots of Mardi Gras decor and a helpful host who gave us great suggestions on area activities!


Wonderful

4.8 on March 07, 2011

I came for a business trip and stayed in the Garden Room. The property was beautiful and so was my room, which was outfitted with everything from local books to bath salts for the whirlpool tub. It was so relaxing! Janice was great, and the breakfast was prompt and delicious in the morning. Both the gym across the street and the city bus were easily accessible as well. I would definitely recommend staying here.


February 2011

5 on March 06, 2011

The room was large and comfortable. The breakfast each day was fabulous. They were very accommodating to our schedule.


really nice location

3.2 on February 28, 2011

The Stockade is a really nice place to stay for a Baton Rouge Stopover. You can reach downtown Baton Rouge within minutes. Janice made us a fantastic breakfast!


A beautiful place to stay.

5 on February 24, 2011

We arrived just in time for Janice to service us the evening cocktail on the charming patio so lushly planted and very romantic. Our room was filled with interesting items and antiques. Breakfast was delicious the next morning. Altogether, it was a perfect start to a month long driving trip. Thanks, Janice.


Great Experience

3.6 on February 07, 2011

I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. The rooms are nice and appear just as advertised. The trails are fun to walk. You feel secluded from the hustle and bustle, yet you can simply walk across the street and be in a bar or restaurant (if you want to find the hustle and bustle). You can leave your car parked. The staff was friendly. We requested breakfast in bed rather than in the dining area, and they did that for no additional charge. The balcony rooms have huge balconies!!


Best room in all of Baton Rouge!

5 on January 28, 2011

I had a business conference in Baton Rouge this week and chose the Stockade B&B as an alternative to the boring, regular conference hotel. This was the best decision ever! I stayed in the Rex Room at the house. It was very comfortable, clean and HUGE! It had a full living area and overlooked the wooded landscape in back of the B&B which you don't expect to see within the city limits of a capitol city. The bed was so comfortable that I never wanted to get out of it! The asparagus omlette for breakfast was delicious too and cooked to order when I wanted to come to the dining room for breakfast. With the great location, comfortable rooms, history of the house, cleanliness and warmth of the Innkeeper Janice, I'll never be able to stay anyplace but the Stockade when my travels bring me back to Baton Roude in the future!!


Great Location, Great Service, Great Breakfasts!

4.8 on January 27, 2011

We had a very nice stay at The Stockade. The owner and her staff were extremely helpful and hospitable. The breakfasts were incredible and included some of the best blueberry pancakes we've ever had! The room and the entire inn was beautiful, comfortable, and clean.


LOVELY PLACE TO STAY

3.6 on January 26, 2011

The Stockade was in a great location for our activities and the room was very nice. Wonderful breakfast. Great art work. My only disappointment was that there wasn't enough light, especially in the bathroom.


Charming experience

4.2 on January 23, 2011

Manager is on the property and the home is full of Southern charm.


Amazing!

5 on January 17, 2011

Everything was perfect. I couldn't have been more happier with our choice to stay here! Thank you!


New Years Eve Stay

3.6 on January 04, 2011

Girlfriend and I stayed at the Stockade on New Years Even and had an excellent time. The rooms very nice and exceeded our expectations. The only major comment that I have was that breakfast was served late, but that was due to New Years celebrations the night before. Overall it was a great experience and would recommened.


Night away

4.4 on January 03, 2011

Rooms were very nice and clean. Liked the movie selection available. Breakfast was amazing. Other than the switch up in our room the stay was nice.


Beautiful retreat

4.4 on December 31, 2010

Beautiful, comfortable place to unwind! Hope to return soon!


Alabama v. LSU

4.6 on December 17, 2010

Every year I go back to LSU for a home game. Several years ago, I found a gem in the Stockade Bed and Breakfast. Lovely, quiet property with beautiful rooms all decorated with antique furniture. Everyone knows how great the food is all over Louisiana, this includes the hot breakfast at the Stockade. Anything you could want, and Miss Janice asks you when you arrive what you want for breakfast!!! And at what time! There are wonderful restaurants in walking distance for lunch or dinner, and the campus is right down the road. I look forward to staying there and make my reservation as soon as I know what game I'm going to. Always feel welcome and at home. T. Franklin Orlando, Florida


Excellent Find

5 on December 14, 2010

As a frequent business traveler, I get tired of boring chain hotels. The Stockade was a welcome change - it felt like coming home in the evening and I could actually relax! I wish I could have stayed longer to see ALL of the artwork in the house. What I did see was quite an amazing collection - both 2D and 3D. The breakfasts are some of the best and blend in local flavors and traditions. The location was near everywhere I needed to go. I definitely will come back for my next visit to Baton Rouge.


The BEST Southern Hospitality Ever!

5 on December 14, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in B&B's internationally and agree that this is our best experience. The grounds are beautiful, the home is gorgeous and the traditional country breakfast is "the icing on the cake!" Furnished from room to room with antique furniture and rugs, the enterior wraps you in warmth and elegance! Thanks for a wonderful visit, Janice. We'll be back soon. Margie and Jere


Don't Let the Name Fool You.

4.6 on December 13, 2010

During one of my most recent business trips, a colleague suggested that I stay at the Stockade Bed and Breakfast. I must admit, I was initially nervous by the name "Stockade" meaning a "prison" and the thought of "breakfast in a prison" which suggested a "last meal" in my mind. However, my experience at the Stockade Bed and Breakfast was truly contradictory to anything negative. In fact, I found this place to be an extraordinary "home away from home." The hospitality was excellent. The rooms were clean and spacious. I really enjoyed the Louisiana-style breakfast and the natural habitat surrounding the rear patio. When given the opportunity to provide feedback on my stay to my colleague, I informed her that I would not only stay at the Stockade Bed and Breakfast for future visits, but I would also highly recommend this place to anyone who is seeking quality lodging. The Stockade Bed and Breakfast provides the type of quality hospitality that you can not receive at any traditional hotel.


Felt like guests at a friend's home

4.8 on December 13, 2010

Cozy and homey. Wonderful breakfast. Beautiful gardens. Very large bedrooms. Pricey but it is downtown and very near LSU. Excellent seafood restaurant (Sammy's) across the street.


Unprofessional Owner

1.6 on December 02, 2010

I reserved my stay over the phone and reserved a specific room. When I arrived at the B&B, the only person there was a polite housekeeper. She was unaware of my stay but went and verified that my room was clean and available. She returned and said it was ready and that the owner would be with me soon, as the owner was out. About 5 minutes later, the owner came in and rudely told me that I must be mistaken, as she did not know I was coming. Upon further checking, she found my paid reservation, but her demeanor remained short and unprofessional. The housekeeper told her that the room was clean and ready. The owner then lead me to my room... but it was not the room I had reserved. As every room at a B&B is unique, I had reserved one with a private balcony with a beautiful view. I wanted this to be a special weekend, as I had just received orders to return to the Middle East and wanted to spend a relaxing visit with my girlfriend. When I asked the owner about the room change, she stated "Since I did not answer the phone when you reserved here, I do not have to honor your reservation!" I was amazed. I further asked why the room was not the one I reserved and she said the "It does not matter, as one room is the same as another". I pointed out the room that she had moved me to was nice, but that there was not a private balcony and that the window looked out at a busy 2 lane road and a strip mall. She became upset and told me that the other room was occupied - a lie. The housekeeper had previously checked for me and the room was unreserved and clean. The owner angrily asked "Is there a problem here?!" I replied yes, that this was not the room I had paid for. She reiterated that she did not feel that she had to honor the reservation and that all of her rooms were filled. This turned out to be another lie, as there were multiple unoccupied rooms that night. The shower ran out of hot water about 1/2 way through and I finished with cold water.

Innkeeper Response
Mr. Bowering, I apologize for any misunderstanding that occurred upon your recent trip to The Stockade. As we have tried to contact you by phone, only to find out that your telephone numbers are unreachable, we have no recourse to settle this situation. We have just started using a new telephone answering service which does an outstanding job for ordinary and customary reservations. Since yours was an usual circumstance in that you were using a gift certificate that we donated to a local charity, the service should have put the call through to me. Our gift certificates clearly state “Overnight Stay” at our facility, NOT “Overnight Stay in the Room of your Choice.” We give guests the best available room at all times. You will be happy to know that the answering service has been instructed to put ALL gift certificate calls through to me from now on, thus avoiding any misunderstandings in the future. I never lie. All of our policies are well thought out and based on 15 years prior experience in the industry. My recollection of this event is different from yours. In particular, I recall that you have misquoted me. The Blue Room, which you requested, is part of a 2 room suite. At the time you arrived, our housekeeper was right in saying that the Blue Room was clean. However, the Red Room with the adjoining bath was occupied. Therefore, you would have had a room without a bath. I was happy to chill your champagne in a bucket with flutes for your enjoyment. Two outdoor terraces are available at all times for guests’ pleasure regardless of the room they stay in. We donate many gift certificates to local charities in order to support our community’s fund raising events. It is our hope that guests who win the certificates will use them in the spirit in which they were given. Thank you for your comments in the light of helping us to improve. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectation. Kind Regards, Janice DeLerno, Innkeeper


Great place to explore BR

5 on December 01, 2010

The room was large and beautifully furnished. The grounds are very nice and breakfast each day was exceptional. Janice had great tips on places to visit and to dine and has really put a lot of thought into the overall guest experience. I highly recommend you go! We'll definitely stay there again.


Rex room at the Stockade

4.2 on December 01, 2010

The Stockade is quite a different and interesting facility. It has a great atmosphere with a B&B intimacy, but more business-like than most B&B's. We will return.


LSU family day fun in Baton Rouge

4.4 on November 16, 2010

We stayed at the Stockade B&B during LSU Parents /Homecoming weekend and had a wonderful stay. We spent most time away from the B&B but nevertheless thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms and overall B&B were lovely - artwork wonderful. We enjoyed sitting outside on the back patio. The grounds were also covered w/ greenery and trees. Finally the breakfast was outstanding - best grits I've ever had!


Prepared to be wowed!

4.6 on November 15, 2010

After trying four hotels in the area, I have found a gem in The Stockade. Everything I was looking for and MORE. Comfortable, great location, excellent ambiance. This is a winner for any occasion, business or pleasure.


Honeymoon night

4.2 on October 29, 2010

The house was very nice and beautifully decorated. The hor'devours waiting for us were delicious and so was breakfast the next morning. Being new to the bed and breakfast concept it took us a while to actually find our breakfast or anyone working there. The overall stay was nice.


Excellent

4.4 on October 23, 2010

We stayed at the Stockade for a family wedding. The rooms are awesome and the house has a lot of character. Janice is wonderful. Great alternative to a hotel.


Outstanding Stay

5 on October 22, 2010

Highly recommend.


LSU Alumni weekend.

5 on October 22, 2010

Quiet, restful, delicious breakfast, wonderful collection of art, comfortable bed. Prime location to resturants, LSU functions, churches, and entertainment. Altogether, a great place to stay.


The Great Escape

5 on October 21, 2010

This was my first time staying in the Escape room, and it certainly was a Great Escape for me. I had made my reservations a couple months ahead of time as I was planning to spend a lively weekend with my son and his friends culminating in his performance at a concert at LSU Sunday evening. I had not planned on getting sick the week prior to my visit nor on delaying my travel from Friday to Saturday. My "lively" weekend ended up being a weekend of much needed rest and recuperation in The Escape Room with a couple of meals out, a church outing Sunday morning and the concert Sunday evening. Even so, I had a wonderful trip even though I spent most of my time relaxing and resting in "paradise". I always leave the Stockade filled with peace.


Very clean, very comfortable

4.6 on October 19, 2010

The Stockade offers a truly relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and CLEAN. The outdoor areas invite sitting to enjoy the surroundings. Breakfasts were delicious and served to us in a comfortable dining room. Our hostess, Janice, is a delightful person with a good sense of humor. Things went so well we extended our stay to three days instead of the planned two. If we ever get back to Baton Rouge, we would not even think of staying anywhere else. It ranks very high with us and we have been visiting B & Bs for many years.


Outstanding Southern B&B

5 on October 11, 2010

Hospitality and charm, excellent location, beautiful guest rooms and common spaces, exceptional breakfast and conversation


Romantic Getaway

4.6 on October 07, 2010

I decided to take my wife on a mid-week getaway during my vacation. After looking through the internet for a very romantic place, close to many attractions, The Stockade was perfect. A very nice place to stay, it had the feel that we were at our home and not just another number in a hotel room. We are planning to stay again in the future. P.S. We stayed in the Garden Room and it was very romantic.


as usual quirky and fabulous

3.6 on October 04, 2010

We love staying in b&bs in the usa, they are so fabulous and quirky. they are the homes of real americans with high standards of care and service.you get the personal touch with all the things you expect of a hotel. i would recommend to anyone.


Wonderful

4.6 on September 29, 2010

Can't wait to go back. Sammy's Grill, just across the street, is a definite plus. You will not want to go anywhere else. The location is perfect.


Love this place

4.6 on September 13, 2010

I love this place and stay as often as I can when I am in Baton Rouge. Atmosphere is relaxing. Rooms are large, very nice and always clean. Price is very reasonable for value received. Breakfast is casual but excellent. Dining within walking distance is limited but Inn is centrally located relatively to most resturant areas.


The Stockade

5 on August 19, 2010

We enjoyed our recent stay, everything was wonderful. The room was exceptional and breakfast was delicious.


Great stay in Baton Rouge

5 on August 03, 2010

This was my first visit to Baton Rouge, and I hope to be back. Staying at the Stockade made the experience more authentic. On my drive from the airport to the inn I passed some wonderful views of authentic Louisiana. The place is very spacious and warm. The breakfasts were fantastic - especially the cheese grits. This Southern-transplant-in-NJ couldn't get enough of the Southern cooking. Janice runs a wonderful place. Hope to be back.


Sweet little getaway

4.8 on October 08, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Stockade in the Welch Room. the prices are very reasonable. We couldn't have gotten a decent hotel room for the price.The innkeeper is fabulous and met our every need. The room was cozy and home like. It included a private bath well stocked with supplies and amenities. The breakfast was really good and included a variety of items to choose from which I liked. I will definitly return on my next trip to Baton Rouge.


True Southern Hospitality!

5 on June 10, 2009

We all stayed here for a family reunion and it was suburb! Better than a 5 star hotel. The huge rooms with private baths and some with balconies were luxurious. The serene tree canopied patio and majestic windowed two story living room were the perfect gathering spots. Antiques and lovely artwork throughout with soft music added to the ambiance. From the gourmet hot breakfasts to the wine, fruit and cheese welcome spreads, this was "South Hospitality" in the grandest fashion! Those that visited us there are now even planning stays there. This was awesome and Janice is a doll! We will return next time to we head back to the Red Stick! Pauline from Florida


Southern Hospitality at it's finest

5 on November 02, 2008

Having recently married ,my husband and I needed a short getaway. We found the perfect place in Baton Rouge and all of our expectations were exceded. The ambience is very warm and hospitable. I felt as though I was staying with a dear old friend yet, we were afforded the privacy and alone time we were seeking. The food was delicious,healthy and, the original dishes to die for . We'll go back as often as we can ,as it will always be a very special place to us.Thanks to the hard working staff that made it so memorable!


My Home Away from Home

5 on November 01, 2008

I stay at the Stockade on my regular business visits to Baton Rouge. The accomodations are excellent. The innkeeper's food is wonderful. The decor is charming and understated. The house is conveniently located within walking distance to several excellent local restaurants. There is a gym (included with stay) across the street. I highly recommend the Stockade.


Hidden Gem

4.6 on October 08, 2008

A hidden gem in Baton Rouge and a very pleasant break from the corporate hotel chains. One of my favorites. Large, very comfortable, well appointed rooms. A relaxing ambiance. The Innkeeper, Janice, is a pleasure to talk to and, being a native of New Orleans, she can provide insight on things to do and places to go for those not familiar with the area (in addition to making an excellent Southern breakfast). Access to a nice health club across the street. Definitely worth a stay.


Great weekend in Baton Rouge, LA

4.0 on October 08, 2008

My wife and I spent the weekend at The Stockade B&B near the LSU campus in Baton Rouge, LA. The location, room, service and breakfast were great. Our Innkeeper, Janice DeLerno, became a fast friend and we look forward to our next stay before Christmas.


Fantastic Experience

4.6 on September 25, 2008

This B&B is beautiful. Our extended family rented out all the rooms for the weekend and every single one is gorgeous and well-appointed. There is a large common room and two nice areas for outside seating that we used for a rehearsal dinner. Plenty of books and movies, a player piano that we used quite a bit, and a free pass to a gym across the street. And Janice was so patient with us for the many keys we kept misplacing! We really enjoyed our time and the accomodations - oh and the huge breakfasts! Delicious.


The Stockade Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $235
  • Reviews (144) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2257697358
  • Mobile 1-2252817358
  • Toll free 1-8889005430

Visit Website »

View details

Top