Recent Reviews in Lexington, Virginia

Wonderful retreat at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2016

Words to describe this establishment are peaceful, tranquil, beautiful, comfortable, and unique. It embodies relaxation as you are off the beaten path, nesteld in the George Washington national Forest, and emersed in nature. There are great hiking trails right here on the property, and breakfast is amazing. Becky and Jeff are gifted in making you feel right at home. I highly recommend a visit!

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Getaway in the Mountains at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

We wanted to spend our vacation in a location that was away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Sugar Tree delivered with a stunning and secluded location in the mountains! We were thoroughly pleased with staying in the Creek House and enjoyed having our own cabin in the woods with the peaceful sound of running water from the creek that greets you down the driveway. The country breakfasts were also the perfect to start a day of relaxing or adventuring to the Safari, one of the many breweries and wineries, or visiting the nearby historic and natural attractions. Thank you to Becky, Jeff, and the staff for a wonderful week away from home! We didn't want to leave!

View more reviews for this inn


Just Heaven at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on July 23, 2016

My daughter and I had a magic stay at the Hummingbird Inn. The owner is warm, charming and made us feel so welcome. Everything was just perfect. I will go out of my way to stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B where you provide the breakfast! at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on July 20, 2016

These cottages are very nice and quite secluded, yet only a few minutes from restaurants and shops in Lexington or the Blur Ridge Parkway in the other direction. We particularly liked the new bench swing a short walk from our cabin where we enjoyed the view of the mountains each night as the sun went down. Our cabin had everything we needed to enjoy quiet week alone. No daily maid service as at a hotel, but that wasn't a problem. It was actually nice to not have to worry about anyone coming around every day.

View more reviews for this inn


So Peaceful! at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 18, 2016

From the beautiful drive to the inn, to the views from the property, to the comfortable and lovely rooms, the place just soothes the soul.

View more reviews for this inn


beautiful and secluded at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

Our stay was extraordinary! and the service was enhanced by the delightful assistance of Riley and Alison! The breakfasts were abundant to say the least, not to mention delicious. Our evening meal was also delicious. The venue is close to so many outdoor activities and right off the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as museums, wineries, breweries and fine dining smack in the middle between Lexington and Staunton. An excellent experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2016

Very beautiful Place in the nature. Very friendly inn Keeper.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway from DC at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2016

It's incredible to think this little hideaway is such a short drive outside of DC, but once you're on the property you feel like you are in an entirely different world. My boyfriend and I stayed at Steeles Tavern for a weekend (Friday - Sunday) and were blown away at the property, the amount of activities to do, and the warm hospitality from Ray and Melissa. The house was impeccable and so inviting. Our room was so spacious and clean. I think they must have newly renovated the bathroom because the double shower heads were so nice! The sheets and robes were so soft and the bed slept like a dream! The food was nothing short of amazing. I have a gluten allergy and Melissa went above and beyond to make me feel included. The gluten-free options she made are nothing short of amazing and my boyfriend even stated that everything "tasted like the real deal". We look forward to coming back very soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Go for the Llamas! at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on June 11, 2016

This is in a lovely, peaceful part of VA. The drive onto their property by a creek is amazing and beautiful. We were the only guests there so it was quiet. The rooms are spotless some of the décor a bit dated with a "country" feel. There is no wifi as far as we could tell. Chris and Linda are nice to talk to and don't get in the way of you having privacy. The llamas were the highlight for us. Funny animals with a gentle way about them. The llama trek make it unique from other B and Bs

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary getaway at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on June 08, 2016

This is one of the few B&Bs that I'd come back to again. We had a wonderful 2 day weekend stay and enjoyed the morning trek with the llamas. The inn has wonderful pastures that provide amazing mountain views in multiple directions - next time I'll bring food and plan a picnic at one of the tables on top of the mountain/hill. The road to the inn is narrow and right next to Buffalo Creek for a few hundred yards (was a bit unnerving as we drove in the first time in a downpour). However, the location is great as it's remote enough to enjoy the scenery but a quick drive to Lexington and the Natural Bridge and Natural Caverns. We stayed in the European room which was nice and the adjoining hot tub was wonderful after a long day of walking. Just wish it hadn't of been so rainy in May and June so that the pool would have been in a better state.

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on June 06, 2016

My husband and I loved our stay at Autumn Ridge. We stayed in the Bayberry Cottage, which is a great place for a couple wanting to get away from it all, yet have it all. Loved the whirlpool tub, so relaxing. We didn't cook, but the kitchen had everything you would need to prepare a meal, except food. Close enough to town, yet feels so secluded.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Gem in Goshen Virginia at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 04, 2016

Tim and I found this hidden gem tucked away in Goshen Virginia. So we decided to give it a try and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality we received from Jeff, Sandra and Donna. We had dinner on the beautiful deck over looking the creek. The birds were singing and the sound of nature was so relaxing. The breakfast was homemade and delicious. We watched movies in the original room of the home with the wood beams showing and the original hard wood floors. We were spoiled from the chocolates in our room to the refrigerator full of water, juices, soft drinks and the variety of coffee and teas anytime our hearts desired. We will definitely return. Thanks again for a romantic and relaxing visit at The Hummingbird Inn. Tim and Jean June 2016

View more reviews for this inn


River Retreat at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2016

My husband and I are avid paddlers, and found peace and relaxation at this beautiful B&B. What a gem! The innkeepers greeted us warmly, and treated us to a wonderful night by the outdoor river deck under the stars in front of a blazing fire. The rooms were exceptionally clean and wonderfully appointed - the perfect end to a day spent canoeing the local rivers. The bedding is exceptional. Sandra and Jeff could not possibly have been more attentive, yet allowed us just the right amount of privacy. After a luxurious breakfast, we retreated to the solarium to enjoy coffee as the spring sun warmed us. In the winter, the den/library by the door would be equally inviting. Sandra and Jeff even arranged a shuttle for us so that we could thoroughly enjoy a day on the river! This "escape from the city" is exactly what we needed and well worth the trip. We visit many B&Bs in our travels and predict this one will be an enormous success!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A great getaway. at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on May 23, 2016

As a child I spent many happy days in Goshen. My husband and I spent many Sundays on picnics in Goshen when he was in college. Also I read about the Hummingbird Inn in a magazine several years ago. For my husband and myself it provides the best beautiful and quiet retreat after spending fun but busy days in crowded conditions in nearby Lexington, VA.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic, serene setting at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on May 09, 2016

This property was exceedingly well thought out and immaculate. One of the best self-catering places we have ever stayed at in the US. Lexington offers great restaurants and museums. The cottage was well equipped and roomy, yet still maintained a homey feel. The bed was VERY comfortable. We stayed in the Twinleaf cottage which did not have wifi.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Natural Bridge, and would recommend Herring Hall. It was quiet, clean, comfortable, safe, beautiful, and interesting. The breakfast was wonderful, and we would love to stay there again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary getaway at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2016

Melissa and Ray are very gracious hosts. We stayed a night in the Chardonnay room and a night in the Ivy cabin. Melissa and Ray offered suggestions for things to do, where to dine, and wineries to enjoy. The breakfast at the B&B was outstanding. We liked the French toast Melissa made so much we asked for the recipe. This was our first B&B experience. The Chardonnay room is on the first floor it has a sitting room and a large walk in shower. the bedding is soft and comfortable.We enjoyed the private hot tub at the cabin and the king four post bed.

View more reviews for this inn


Definitely worth a return visit at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2016

We don't stay at many bed and breakfasts, but this one is definitely worth a return visit. It was perfectly located for our purpose. Their directions were spot on, their hospitality amazing, their breakfast delicious, and the room was gorgeous, as was the whole house.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend couples getaway at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2016

The Inn was well maintained and Melissa and Ray were great hosts. The rooms were what he had expected. We had stayed in Petit Verdot Suite and it had a nice sitting room along with a spacious bath and gas stove. The Inn is close to hiking, vineries and two great little town of Lexington and Staunton VA. Melissa's breakfast...

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary getaway at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2016

We came here to get away for our 10 year wedding anniversary and to visit the local winery/brewery and we also caught a movie. We enjoyed the peaceful serenity of the area as well as the beautiful view! The cottage was clean and cozy! We enjoyed a nice long relaxing bath in the jacuzzi tub in our cottage and enjoyed the downtime we took! Will certainly consider coming back in the future!:)

View more reviews for this inn


Great Spring Trip at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2016

I was looking for a place to spend a few days of my daughter's spring break. We found Applewood on-line and had the best few days. Linda, Chris and the Llama's are great! I am looking forward to another trip through Virginia so I can stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Mountain getaway! at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

We've stayed at Sugar Tree Inn twice now and have enjoyed it each time. We've stayed in Sugar Tree Country, located upstairs in the lodge and in Skyline, one of the Queen rooms in the Log Cabin. The accommodations are great, with a simulated rustic look, but featuring modern amenities. The views are great, although you may be surprised to find yourself "in the clouds" occasionally. Jeff and Becky are friendly hosts, providing all the services and information needed for a pleasant stay, while remaining unobtrusive at other times. They produce amazing breakfasts and dinner meals... Feasts for the tummy and the eyes. The Inn is convenient to some historic towns, with interesting shops, wineries, scenic drives and great hikes, such as the one to Crabtree Falls. Check the Sugar Tree Inn out... You will be pleased.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Hideaway at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on March 17, 2016

A perfect warm place to spend a cold rainy afternoon and evening in February. The scenic view from the top of the hill was well worth the breezy walk. Nice breakfast on a quiet morning with two very friendly Innkeepers. Paul and Lisa

View more reviews for this inn


Llama heaven at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on March 13, 2016

This is a unique property, with large comfortable bedrooms and full baths. The views, solitude, and Llamas on the property take away any stress you are hoping to shed. A short 4 miles from historic Lexington and near many VA wine makers, etc. you can access this B&B from several pathways. Chris and Linda are very helpful and care for your needs. Being pet friendly is a great plus!! I visited during the off season mid- week and was the only guest. Linda's lovely artwork is displayed and invites stories.

View more reviews for this inn


Super nice hosts and exceptional ambiance! at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on February 29, 2016

What a wonderful inn! Exceptionally good treatment, super breakfast, and very nice clean room. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway close to home at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 25, 2016

My partner and I spent the weekend at Applewood Inn and we greatly enjoyed it. Inn Keepers, Linda and Chris, are absolutely delightful and very personable. I highly recommend doing the llama trek, which will give you the opportunity to walk, relax and enjoy the beautiful views. Breakfast was delicious, and conversations at the table with Linda, Chris and guests was very special.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best B&B at Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites (Fairfield, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on February 01, 2016

Charming, Quiet, Relaxing get away. They have trails on the property to take your 4 legged little girl or boy on a nice walk. We love it and we will continue to visit year after year.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful babymoon! at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 25, 2016

We had a fantastic time on our "babymoon" at The Hummingbird Inn. Sandra and Jeff were so friendly and attentive-- we had everything just how we liked it. The breakfasts were creative and delicious, the room and bathroom extremely comfortable (we were in the Alleghany), and we loved curling up with cookies and milk in the cozy 18th-century den by the fire (which Jeff expertly built for us). We enjoyed massages and treats in our room (part of the babymoon package) and had some great dinners out in Lexington. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous Family Get Together at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 23, 2016

We selected the Hummingbird because they allowed our small dog. Little did we know the pictures did not do it justice. The owners are not only delighted to be inn owners but very proud of their home and inn. The rooms are warm and fully stocked. The beds comfy and the sheets amazingly soft. Breakfast was delicious and the fire in the 'old house' made us so very happy and cozy. The scotch didn't hurt either! Thank you so very much!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Hummingbird Inn! at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2016

We stayed at Hummingbird Inn in December to renew our wedding vowels. Everything about the stay was perfect. The Inn is beautiful and clean. The host and hostess were friendly and very attuned to detail.The breakfasts were fantastic! Our experience at Hummingbird Inn was beyond positive, and we cannot wait to return!!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}