Recent Reviews in Lewes, Delaware

Delightful inn in Lewes! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

4.8 reviewed on August 29, 2016

This inn is so lovely in so many ways. It is in a beautifully renovated farmhouse on a real farm. The innkeeper, Ingrid, is bubbly and welcoming. The beekeeper, Amy, is full of interesting information and gave us an impromptu talk on all things bees. The furnishings and decorations are perfect for the setting - very HGTV's Fixer Upper. The breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared. There is a variety of ice cream from their brother's ice cream stand available at all times for scooping in the breakfast area fridge.It is spotlessly clean and thoughtfully arranged. We stayed at the inn as a group of friends for a birthday weekend. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect layover at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

We were on our way from the Outer Banks, NC to DC and we found this B&B. Great rooms, food and inn-keeper. Just remodeled...very up to date! Close to the Atlantic, but away from the fray. A piece of Americana. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable, Beautiful, Friendly, and Relaxing at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

After a rather hectic summer filled with moving and working, my husband and I are so happy to have chosen to stay at this truly lovely bed and breakfast. As I love the atmosphere of a beach town and my husband is more of a country boy, the Covered Bridge Inn was a perfect combination of coastal living and country hospitality. Throw into the mix farm fresh ice cream, tasty honey, a cool breeze on a warm summer night, and decor that would make Chip and Joanna Gaines proud, and you're bound to have a beautiful stay. Ingrid and family have obviously put their heart and soul into this inn and it really shows.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and beautiful b&b at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at the Covered Inn. The place itself is beautiful and a perfect place to relax. The food was amazing, I dream of the strawberry French toast and the cookie dough ice cream. The rooms were tastefully decorated and incredibly comfortable. We went for an anniversary trip and it exceeded our expectations. I would recommend the inn to anyone wanting a relaxing vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Rustic & Elegant and overall Amazing at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2016

I took my 19 year old daughter on an overnight shopping trip which included a night at this amazing B&B! As soon as we pulled into the driveway we knew we had picked a great one! We were not disappointed! Inside decor is rustic and elegant. This place is SUPER clean and smells amazing! The attention to details really made a difference. We loved the homemade icecream (from their very own dairy farm). The Inn Keeper, Ingrid is down to earth and makes the most amazing breakfast. I was shocked to see my daughter eat every last bit of food during breakfast - that never happens. We are determined to recreate the amazing omlet Ingrid served us. Homemade scones need to be mentioned as well - the best I've ever had! We stayed in the Harvast room which was decorated perfectly and had an amazing view of the corn fields. We already ordered refills of the lotion, shampoo and conditioner they provided - smells wonderful. I can honestly say I would not change a thing about this Inn! Our only disappointment - we wished we would have booked another night! I hated to leave but will absolutely be returning so I can stay in every room! Thank you for helping to make our mother / daughter trip perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


One of the Best B&B's We've Ever Been To!! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2016

My husband and I fell in love with the Covered Bridge Inn from the moment we drove up to the front door. Surrounded by farmland vistas, this pristinely restored 1830s era farmhouse has soul, and was gorgeous from the inside and out. We found the Covered Bridge Inn online on a whim for a long weekend getaway, a meeting ground for us (Connecticut) and our two dear friends (Maryland). Inside, we were greeted instantly by Ingrid's warm hospitality, and were excited by her enthusiasm for the home's deep-rooted family history. I'm a DIY-er and decorator, and was smitten with so many choices they made in the renovation: old doors were made into statement headboards and welcome chalkboards, original brick fireplaces were uncovered, the first single pane windows were repurposed as wall decoration; it was a pleasant view no matter where you turned. We loved our rooms – Henlopen & Honey Bee – and found that sleeping was a dream, too!! Then the food! Oh my goodness, the food. This is such a major plus in any of our B&B quests, but the Covered Bridge Inn takes the cake. Every morning, the welcome chalkboard was updated with the who, the where, and what's for breakfast. Breakfast is made in-house, and many of the ingredients were locally-sourced or picked from Amy's (Ingrid's sister) garden outside. Fresh house-made jams, baked goods, and honey from Amy's apiary grace the continental side of things, and then one outstanding breakfast plate awaits you as well. Not to mention, they have a few pints of delectable ice cream from the family creamery stashed in the common fridge. Just saying. The Inn is situated in the countryside, but in close proximity to Lewes (10-20 min) and Rehoboth Beach (15-30 min). If need be, we summoned several Uber cars with ease. Ahhh, this really was one of the best B&B's we've ever been to!! We will recommend the Covered Bridge Inn to anyone, and have already done so whenever we rave about our great weekend getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Country Charm at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2016

My clients spent two nights here while they discovered life in Lewes and felt it exceeded their expectations. They invited us in to take a peek and I was impressed too. The owner's attention to detail is evident everywhere you look. I would highly recommend to any of my clients and friends who are looking for a B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at the CBI at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

4.8 reviewed on August 03, 2016

Never been to a B&B before and my first taste has been everlasting. We stayed in the Harvest room for 2 nights and our friends stayed in the Honey Bee room. I don't think you can go wrong with either room. Unfortunately the other 2 rooms were occupied so I could not investigate, but I assume they are lovely as well. The entire remodel of the house was excellent. Everything is clean and welcoming beginning with the innkeeper, Ingrid. Ingrid was perfect throughout our stay. She is friendly, engaging, respectful, and attentive without being overzealous or intrusive. When you check in, Ingrid gives you an overview of the site, describing the history of the Covered Bridge Inn building as well as the amenities available. There are a variety of treats to munch on throughout the day and there is always soda, water, coffee, and popcorn available. At night, ice cream is available from the Hopkins creamery. Breakfast is cooked each morning and although we will eat anything, Ingrid is sensitive to anyone with restrictive or particular diets. Everything I ate there was delicious, but I loved the scones and jam. The Harvest room itself is very nicely appointed. Super comfortable king bed with ample amount of pillows. I would have laid in here all day. There is Directv and WiFi available as well as a binder with information about the site. The bathroom is cozy, but is stocked with towels and various toiletries. Make sure you explore the grounds as there is a fire pit out back, a front porch with rocking chairs, and even a short designated trail to hike that also takes out by the RC Airplane field where a local club partakes. The only thing I was disappointed in was that she made strawberry french toast with bacon the day after we left. Sadness. Uber is readily available for anyone who doesn't want to drive to the local beaches.

View more reviews for this inn


Cant wait to plan our next vist!! : ) at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2016

Being greeted by name was the first indication of the warm friendly atmosphere we experienced with our short one night stay. Ingrid was happy to see us and she gave us an interesting and historical tour of this beautiful farm house. We stayed in the Hopkins Room and it was spotless and felt perfect. Tony and I went into town for dinner and then stopped at Hopkins Farm Creamery for some of the best ice cream we ever ate!!! We went back to the Inn and ate it on the welcoming porch. We sat there for a long while just listening to the quietness, calmness, peacefulness. We got up the next day to a smiling Ingrid and a yummy breakfast......How can you go wrong with French toast, strawberries and bacon!! We took a walk around the farm and visited the Barn and Covered Bridge. The only thing wrong with the visit was it was TOO short.!! Ingrid, we can't wait to see you again soon......Traci & Tony

View more reviews for this inn


A place to unwind at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

We stayed for one night at The Covered Bridge Inn, but we wish it had been longer. The inn is a charming old farmhouse that has been in the innkeeper's family for well over a century. It is newly renovated, but retains a rustic country-chic charm that is truly inviting. This place boasts some terrific amenities including complementary ice cream, an on-site hiking trail, and a terrific breakfast! Everything was spotless and our room was very comfortable. My favorite activity was roaming the old barn on the property. This was the perfect place to unwind on the last night of our fast-paced road trip through Virginia, Maryland, and Delaware.

View more reviews for this inn


It felt like home! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

4.8 reviewed on August 01, 2016

My husband and I were guests at this beautiful Inn this past weekend. Ingrid, the owner, was very welcoming and friendly! The house and room were immaculate, beautifully decorated and extremely inviting! We were especially pleased with our room, the bed was comfortable and all the amenities we needed were provided! We were able to walk the grounds and explore the barns, which was nice! If you visit on a weekend and happen to be there Saturday morning between 9 a.m. and Noon, be sure to go say hello to the "Fly Boys!" Charming fellows with tons of knowledge about the area AND remote control planes! We did not use the fire pit provided outside (because it was pushing 90 degrees), but surely this is an added bonus in the Fall, Winter and Spring! Snacks and drinks (both hot and cold) are readily available at all hours, and this includes ice cream from her brother's dairy down the street! Ingrid's homemade treats were amazing, especially the blueberry and cinnamon breads! I really can't think of one thing amiss or unpleasant! Hopefully you will get to meet Ingrid's sister, Amy, who is the resident Beekeeper and great to talk to. The honey her bees provide is quite delicious! Unfortunately, we did not get to meet their dad, Walter, who (we heard from everyone) is a wonderful man! This just means we are forced to return - and we will be extremely happy to do so!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Group Getaway to the Beach! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2016

I brought my wife and her friends out to rehoboth for a fun and relaxing weekend and this place knocked it out of the park. When we arrived, Ingrid had our rooms ready and a wonderful selection of sweets and refreshments available in the dining area. The ladies were In Love with the charm and design of every aspect of the house and decor. My wife and I stayed in the Harvest Room. This room featured a wonderful chandelier, a wonderful view of the fields in front of the B&B, a modern styled bathroom with a wonderful shower, and an exceptionally comfy bed. Our friends stayed in the Henlopen Room, this beachy room was perfect for them as it featured two very nice beds and a garden tub. This room also featured a cool chandelier and some really neat floor level windows that generated a lot of nice lighting. After a wonderful night of sleep, we cruised downstairs for Ingrid's made to order summer scramble with bacon. It was delicious! There were local jellies and honey for the wide variety of baked goods, some fruits, and of course the very convenient coffee maker. After filling up, we took advantage of the Inn's great location to hit the beach. At around 10am, on a Saturday in mid-July, in the middle of a heat wave, the drive to rehoboth beach only took about 25 minutes from Inn to parking spot! Very easy drive that let's you sneak around a lot of the big traffic snares. I didn't check, but it seemed like a lot of the great Delaware beaches would have also been super accessible. In summary, we had a great stay! I have done a few rehoboth trips before and when I was planning this one, I was deciding between this B&B and hotels slightly closer to the beach and I have to say that I don't regret a thing. Wonderful rooms, wonderful food, a wonderful location, and wonderful service really made our whole trip a great combination of fun in the sun and gentle relaxation. My dear wife has already threatened me with requirements of return trips in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Elegance with Farmhouse Charm at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2016

Covered Bridge Inn has combined Farm House charm with Elegance.. Michael and I stayed in the Hopkins Room.. I was immediately in love!! Everything you would expect in an upscale hotel given to you with an added farmhouse feel and look.. So homey and comfy. Pillows as plush as clouds and sheets so soft in that ohhh sooo comfy bed.. I slept like a queen.. Breakfast was made to order and the mimosa was absolutely perfect with the yummy jellies and muffins. You haven't been to the best B&B til you've stayed at The Covered Bridge Inn. Thank you Ingrid for your wonderful hospitality. You have definitely raised the bar of a bed and breakfast with the farmhouse charm combined with elegance. Michael and Ledia

View more reviews for this inn


An unexpected gem away from the hustle and bustle of the Delaware beaches at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

With our son's baseball tournament starting two weekend games at 8:00am, we didn't want to be at a hotel 20 miles away, so we did some research on bedandbreakfast.com and found the Governor's BNB just a few short miles away in Milton, De. It's a quaint little former wooden ship building town with a good number of restaurants, pubs and what looked like a dessert place that we passed by. My wife enjoyed a nice brisk run through the neighborhoods and we all enjoyed some restful and quiet downtime in our two adjoined rooms with private bath and the acre+ wooded grounds and gardens. There's an inviting outdoor seating area on the front patio with comfy seating and shade for a leisurely read through the newspaper or book of choice. Inasmuch as any dusty baseball player could use an outdoor hose to be cleaned off, our son navigated the cast iron tub with handheld shower head with curiosity and then with pleasure. It felt like his times in Europe! The expansive grounds were serene and beautiful with the sounds of wildlife all around. I write this review because it is 100% true, but also because of how warm, friendly, knowledgeable, AND incredibly flexible Bill and Deborah were at meeting our family's schedule and breakfast times because of our unpredictable baseball tournament. We arrived early, needed breakfast served an hour earlier, didn't know plans until late the night before - our hosts couldn't have been more accommodating. The suite was perfect for a family of 4. I could see this bnb as the go to spot for an incredible romantic weekend getaway, even though it was perfect for a dusty, tired family of three! Thanks again Bill and Deborah.

View more reviews for this inn


Induldge and Prepare to be Spoiled at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2016

We were spoiled. Point blank. Period. First off, Innkeepers, Shawn and Ingrid are amazing. Such warm and beautiful people, super down to earth, gracious, and fun! They always greeted us with smiles and always went above and beyond to ensure that all their guests were well taken care of. The property itself is beautiful. The newly remodeled inn is so inviting and has the perfect motif that draws you in to want stay. We stayed in the Henlopen room; beautiful beach themed, modern, spacious, and utterly gorgeous. The beds were a dream to sleep on and relax in. The amenities in the rooms, such as the robes, were a nice touch, not to mention the "make up" specific wash cloths. (Genius!) You can relax in the sitting room to chat near the fireplace or encouraged to sit on one of many wooden rocking chairs on the front porch to soak in the view of the swaying cornfields (when in season). I actually took the opportunity to enjoy some quiet time on the porch while indulging in some ice cream. It was a nice break away from busy California cities that I've grown up in. It was well needed. It almost feels like you're staying at a dear friend's home and want to be around them all the time. Ingrid and Shawn's hospitality are unparalleled and after being there for a few days we were certainly spoiled. We cannot say enough great things about them. When you meet good people, you just know and these two certainly exude that in everything that they do. No other B&B's we've ever been to can compare to what these two have. We look forward to our next trip out to Delaware. We also hope to always be in touch with them and will always remember them as the ones who introduced us to lighting bugs, scrapple, and Moo Cookies. Good times.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay - Sophisticated Country with Modern Amenities at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on June 29, 2016

Everything about this Inn is lovely! The house has been beautifully restored and modernized. The setting is peaceful and feels remote, even though the beaches and restaurants are easily accessible. Ingrid is a wonderful host who made me feel right at home. The Inn's appointments show her excellent decorating taste, and her breakfasts are amazing (yes, I may have gained a pound over the weekend). Evening treat of home made ice cream from her brother's shop was delicious, and there are always little home baked treats and fresh fruits around for snacking. Luxurious linens, great mattress, strong wi-fi signal (important!), trails for walking on the large farm property, a fire pit, front porch rockers and a gentle ocean breeze. Couldn't have asked for a better weekend stay. An unexpected delight and respite from the crush of the beach scene. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


A real find in a bucolic setting! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2016

Sometimes a traveler gets lucky and stumbles upon a place off the beaten path. Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Lewes, there is a little oasis that is Covered Bridge B & B. A working farm and family business with a story, the history immediately captivated me. The rooms have been lovingly transformed to preserve the antique ambiance but all offer modern conveniences such as updated private bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and climate control. One room is handicapped accessible. Since it was the only room left on a busy weekend, we were in that room (Hopkins). I'd recommend an upstairs room if accessibility is not a problem. The view is spectacular and it will be quieter. The morning offerings included a vegetable casserole with bacon and various homemade breads and scones. There was also a choice of strawberry french toast. Although I'm a coffee aficionado, I didn't try the Keurig machine since I prefer espresso or French press. Most will have no issue with this. I loved the family aspect of this inn--from the homemade soaps and honey by the Innkeeper's sister to the unlimited homemade ice cream by the innkeeper's brother. I also enjoyed the stories of this regal family homestead. I would highly recommend this lovely addition to Lewes accommodations.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place for a weekend getaway! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2016

The Covered Bridge Inn is a must stay -- a cozy place tucked in the middle of beautiful farm fields and about 20-30 minutes away from the beach. The place is perfect for those who appreciate a combination of history, architectural detail, quality fresh food (the homemade breakfast was delicious!), quiet open space, and proximity to the coast. Ingrid and her family (including her two cute, little dogs!) were gracious hosts and made sure we had a wonderful stay in the Honey Bee which offers nice farmland views from both sides of the Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply wonderful! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2016

Ingrid and Shawn are fantastic hosts, and the inn is not only clean and stylish but very comfortable. My husband and I look forward to a return visit in the fall. If you are looking for a lovely spot close to Delaware beaches but removed from the crowds, this is place for you!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming house at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

3.6 reviewed on October 13, 2015

This B&B is situated in a charming little coastal town, near a number of great coastal parks, reserves and the town of Lewes. A stay here affords good lodging and breakfast in a quiet neighbourhood, away from the craziness of the tourist crowds. Great restaurants near by as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Weekend Away at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2015

We stayed at the Governor B&B for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! You cannot beat the location, minutes from Dogfish Head Brewery and a short drive from lively Rehobuth Beach. Bill & Debbie are fantastic innkeepers! Very welcoming, organized & a pleasure to chat with. The B&B was quaint with a historic feel. Bill & Debbie cooked a great breakfast, and we're very accommodating. We will most definitely stay at the Governor's B&B again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at Bewitched & BEDazzled B&B @ Rehoboth (Rehoboth Beach, Delaware)

4.8 reviewed on July 16, 2015

This is our second time staying here. Inez and Sharron make us feel at home and our dog Eddie just LOVES it. The breakfasts are yummy and the people are diverse.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place at Bewitched & BEDazzled B&B @ Rehoboth (Rehoboth Beach, Delaware)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2015

This was our second stay at Bewitched, and as with the first time, Sharon & Inez made us feel welcome and treated us just like we were part of their extended family. We will definitely be coming back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful evening getaway! at Bewitched & BEDazzled B&B @ Rehoboth (Rehoboth Beach, Delaware)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2015

My husband and I went overnight this weekend. From the very moment we arrived Sharon and Inez made us feel so comfortable and treated us like they knew us our entire life. We loved their dogs and enjoyed our time relaxing on the deck. Breakfast was fresh and tasty! Can't wait to go back again! We still wish we were there!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Weekend at Bewitched & BEDazzled B&B @ Rehoboth (Rehoboth Beach, Delaware)

4.0 reviewed on May 19, 2015

Since this was a special weekend, I decided to rent the best room available, the Humphrey Bogart Suite in the BEDazeled property. We arrived on the Friday before Memorial Day weekend and left Sunday morning after breakfast. Other than a ‘tight squeeze’ in the parking lot, check-in with Inez was quite easy. Weekends are not cheap in Rehoboth this time of year and the cost of our room was probably more than we'd ever paid for a B&B, yet we were satisfied with our choice. Our room was delightfully decorated with pictures, antiques, and other treasures depicting the life and times of Bogart. I could immediately feel the love & care with which Inez picked the decorations as she gave us the quick run-through of what was in the room. The room had a very comfortable King size ‘four poster’, two comfortable antique reading chairs, a huge wall mounted TV above the electric fireplace (complete with a collection of Bogart movies) and a very nice Jacuzzi for two. The team of Inez and Sharon worked well together, serving breakfast when guest came down in the morning and helping us with their recommendations for places to eat. The sitting room in BEDazeled was filled with interesting photographs, furnishings and antiques. The deck was large and sunny and included a Jacuzzi that we used Saturday evening after dinner. Breakfast was served in two courses; fruit, muffin, and juice, followed by a breakfast entre. The 1st day we had a delicious Strata and the 2nd day we were served a wonderful stuffed French Toast. Both breakfasts held us over easily until lunch. BEDazeled is a wonderful B&B with many unique features that reflect the charm of staying in B&Bs! We enjoyed everything about our stay and will likely return for another special occasion!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved this place at Bewitched & BEDazzled B&B @ Rehoboth (Rehoboth Beach, Delaware)

4.6 reviewed on April 17, 2015

Highly recommend. Dog friendly, clean and bright, excellent food. Can't say enough good things. We had 2 rooms and 1 dog. My son and his girlfriend had never stayed at a B&B before and they LOVED it. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


My Birthday Stay at Bewitched & BEDazzled B&B @ Rehoboth (Rehoboth Beach, Delaware)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2015

We loved it!!! From the room to the delicious breakfasts it was top notch! The locations is perfect, as you can walk everywere you need to go. The owners were sensitive to my GF needs and even made me GF cookies for my birthday! If you love dogs..look no further..I neve met so many wonderful dogs, including their own. We cannot say enough about this place..absoutely fantastic from beginning to the end. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Early spring getaway at Bewitched & BEDazzled B&B @ Rehoboth (Rehoboth Beach, Delaware)

4.4 reviewed on March 19, 2015

The innkeepers were wonderful. They both provided great suggestions on things to do and excellent restaurants. Breakfasts were outstanding and adapted to our dietary limits easily. We truly enjoyed our brief stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy, off-season getaway at Bewitched & BEDazzled B&B @ Rehoboth (Rehoboth Beach, Delaware)

3.0 reviewed on February 24, 2015

We spent two cozy nights at Bewitched and Bedazzled (two separate houses, joined by a shared deck). We enjoyed the atmosphere in Bedazzled. The house was filled with natural light during the day and cozy by the fireplace in the late afternoon and evening. Our hosts were wonderful. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed conversation with our fellow guests. Centrally located and walkable to all the main Rehoboth activities. Can't wait to return in warmer weather!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Romantic Weekend at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

4.8 reviewed on February 18, 2015

Celebrating our first Valentine's Day (2/14/15) with my girlfriend. Could not have scripted a more romantic weekend. Bill and Deb were most gracious hosts. They took care of my special requests (champagne and roses). A very memorable weekend!!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}