Recent Reviews in Lawai, Hawaii

Excellent place to stay! at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on July 05, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Sunset view room and everything was perfect! Alexis and Mike's place is just stunning and they are very welcoming. They gave us many advices such as snorkeling spots, great restaurants and things we couldn't miss in Kauai. They manage to book Luau show for us, which we really enjoyed by the way. Mike also booked a last minute helicopter tour for us and we even had front seats: it was just amazing! And the breakfasts were delightful: freshly squeezed fruit juices every morning, eggs, pancakes, local organic granola, yoghurts, cakes, fruits... you got it: a very complete breakfast that you have on the lanai with a breathtaking view on the valley. Our room was also perfect: the bed was very comfy, and we had a private hot tub on our lanai from where we could enjoy the sunset and the valley view. Also, many beach equipments are available: chairs, coolers, beach towels, snorkels etc. Mahalo Alexis and Mike, we really enjoyed our stay and if we come back in Kauai one day (we hope so), we'll definitely stay at your place again.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing and wonderful! at Hale Kua Guests (Lawai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2014

Nestled in among the trees, my sister and I found this a beautiful place. Out of the ordinary and truly extordianary. We are not main stream and do not like the "tourist" large hotels. Rooms are exceptionally clean. Kitchen area great and you can cook meals on hot plates or oven. Kitchen has every thing available to make meals. Bill & Cathy are wonderful people and more than made our stay an experience not soon to be forgotten. Very quiet except the occasional rooster and you will hear horses and cows every now and then.

View more reviews for this inn


november 2013 at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2013

Marjorie's is an excellent place to stay. The view is beautiful, the breakfast was super !The owners weren't there, but the inkeepers Veronika en Fred were very lovely, helpful people.

View more reviews for this inn


A little piece of paradise at Hale Kua Guests (Lawai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 12, 2013

My husband and I stay'd at Hale Kua the first week in March to celebrate our anniversary. What a spectacular place!! We had our own cottage with all the comforts of home. Kitchen, seperate bedroom front room, washer dryer (etc) outside the deck we were surrounded by painted eucalyptis trees and absolutely gorgeous foliage. When we got there (a little hard to find, I suggest you look during daylight) we were greeted with homemade warm spice muffins in our kitchen. Bill and Kathy Cowern were extremely accomodating and made sure we had everything we need. We loved the view!! We will be going back there in a few years.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Paradise Corner!! at Hale Kua Guests (Lawai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2012

We stayed there for 1 week and we loved it!! Everything was perfect, the location is amazing, with a beautiful sunset view, greenery everywhere, a charming place! The cottage has all we needed, from beach supplies to travel books. For nature lovers, who prefer spending more quiet time in the company of their loved ones, this is the place! Very secluded and very private! The hosts made sure we had everything we needed! We highly recommend it!! - Corina & Andre

View more reviews for this inn


Oh my God! Just Perfect! at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2011

We stayed in the Tradewinds room for 6 nights. Everything was just perfect. The room was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Mike and shown to our room and there was a tray of fresh fruit, homemade cake and chocolates that looked so pretty, I had to take a picture of it. The view of their gardens and the valley was stunningly gorgeous. Mike and Alexis were so helpful with booking activities and beach and restaurant suggestions. We did a helicopter tour of the Napali coast and a Luau, Alexis called and booked both of them for us so we didn't have to do anything but show up. She also has some great suggestions and books on hiking and we were able to do a couple of amazing hikes and we don't even hike at home. Their breakfast's were just delicious. We thought we were going to have continental breakfasts only but everyday they made a hot breakfast for us and freshly squeezed fruit juice as well as the continental breakfast. We had buckwheat pancakes one morning and eggs cooked anyway you like with choices of bacon and quinoa another morning. Everything was so delicious and garnished so beautifully. If you are going on a hike or to the beach, they have a garage full of snorkel gear, boogie boards, coolers, ice packs, and Alexis even gave us and another couple staying there a camelback for water for when we were hiking. Several other hikers on the trail commented on how smart they thought my husband and I were for bringing it with us. Alexis is the smart and thoughtful one, thank god. One afternoon after a hike we spent a few hours swimming in their pool and relaxing in their hottub. We had such a good time and ended up playing cards on our balcony and watching the sun go down. The gardens and decking surrounding the pool area are just stunning. They really have done an amazing amount of work to make their place look so pretty. Thank you so much Alexis and Mike! Kerri and Dennis Bell

View more reviews for this inn


A Hidden Gem in Kauai at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 10, 2011

Mike and Alexis are consumate professionals and truly meet your every need and exceed all expectations. They provide a family like environment, healthy meals with organic ingredients and every service you could desire in a tropical environment. Ask their advice on eating out and activities- they know the island inside out. Do yourself a favor- book this gem!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to enjoy Kauai at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2010

This is a wonderful B & B to visit. The host, Mike, is very helpful and did save our trip when a different B & B was too awful to stay in. They have everything that you need, beach gear, relaxing pool and a view that will stay with you after you are back home. We were able to move about the island easily from Marjories. Mike will give you many ideas about things to see and do. Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely amazing! at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2010

My mother and I visited in early July '10. The island is incredible. Normally I enjoy vacation but am anxious to get home by the end. Not the case here. I truly don't want to leave, and a large part of the experience was the hospitality shown by Alexis and Mike. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Our room was very clean and had amazing views. The location is very secluded and quiet. Alexis gave us insight as to the best of Kauai, including best beaches, tours, restaurants, etc., that really made our stay all the more remarkable. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone, and I definitely plan to return. The location is also nicely central, with no more than half hour drive to nearly anything on the island. Beaches, shopping and other activities nearby.

View more reviews for this inn


'A' unit 3-20-10 at Hale Kua Guests (Lawai, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on March 27, 2010

We stayed 2 nights downstairs in the 'A' unit. The location was in paradise, just beautiful. There was no view of the ocean, but the quiet feeling of being in a bit of the island almost to ourselves amongst the plants and flowers and birds singing made up for this. I chose this place because it had a kitchen. The unit was extremely well stocked and the fridge even had a few things just for us. The bed was too soft for my tastes, but I like a bed to be very hard for my back. Every thing was very clean and the bathroom had plenty of supplies. There were windows that could open all over - too bad it was to cold to open them while we were there. Overall we were very happy to find this place and are showing the pictures we took to our friends and telling them to consider this place if they go to Kauai.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 25, 2010

Mike made us feel right at home here. He was extremely helpful in planning our days, moved his car so we could park on flatter ground, and made the best buckwheat pancakes you can imagine. The fruit and avocados left for us were wonderful. This is a very lovely and magical place, hidden away yet central enough for drives all over the island. We'd go back in a heartbeat. Susan and Bill

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Retreat at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2009

After a lot of research, my wife selected Marjorie's Kauai Inn and it was the perfect selection. We had a warm greeting on our arrival to the Inn and found this to be a wonderful little Inn. Our room was clean and we had our privite outdoor hot tub, which we enjoyed in the evenings. We also used the pool which was wonderful. Mike (Inn Keeper/Owner) was very nice and helped with any questions that we had. It was everything that we look for in a B&B. Clean, very nice, friendly and a view to die for. I would go again in a heart beat. Thanks Mike. Pam and Rick, Maryland

View more reviews for this inn


Convenience Views Comfort at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on October 19, 2009

We stayed at Marjorie's in October. The weather was a little warm at that time. The location was convenient for our entire stay on Kauai. The inn is set in a beautiful small valley. Roosters crow all the time, but none were near enough to the inn to disturb us.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing start to our honeymoon! at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 15, 2009

We spent 3 nights here and wish it could have been longer. Our room was nice with a comfortable bed, huge terrace overlooking the pool area and valley below, and a small kitchen. It provided the perfect balance of serenity and convenience. At only 10 minutes away from the beaches and hotels of Poipu, we enjoyed the restaurants of local hotels and then returned to a place that feelt like home. Except, this home provided freshly squeezed juice, whole coconuts, waffles, french pressed coffee, etc for breakfast everyday. This home also had any item you need to enjoy the island of Kauai. One day we took advantage and grabbed some snorkels, beach chairs, beach umbrella and a cooler (even ice packs for the cooler) to spend a great day at one of the beaches. We did not take advantage of the surf boards, boogie boards or bikes, but recommend others to do so. What was great was that at the end of the day we could come back and enjoy a dip in the salt water pool all by ourselves. With only 3 rooms, we barely saw the other guests. Our host was amazing with tips about where to eat and what to see while we were there. I highly recommend this B&B and would visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay at Hale Kua Guests (Lawai, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on September 04, 2009

I thought this was a wonderful place to stay. Located in a somewhat isolated canyon away from the towns and traffic. There is a nice shopping center just a short drive to the south, and it was located close to the south shore where there is some good swimming. This place was a standard mother-in-law unit with all the expected amenities including a washer and dryer, which was pretty handy. Had a porch with a nice view of the valley. Service was by request with the owners, who were a very nice couple. It was a really clean place free of the typical Hawaiian pests. There are mangos, and lemons available for harvest, which is a nice treat. There are also a lot of roosters roaming around, as they were all over the island, but they simply added another dimension to the plethora of birds singing in the morning.

View more reviews for this inn


Idyllic forested hideout at Hale Kua Guests (Lawai, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on June 26, 2009

We arrived after dark, but didn’t get lost. Take your time, and look for the landmarks. We stayed in the Taro Patch unit. It was raining when we arrived. The windows were open, but there's a 10' overhang on all sides, so no water got in. It was lovely to listen to the rain, and we never closed any windows. There's a living room, kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. The kitchen has a fridge, microwave, and small electric appliances. There's a washer/dryer. The living room has a couch (w/ fold-out bed), chairs, and TV. There are many books in the living room. There are also movies on DVD. The selection was great: from X-Men to Under the Tuscan Sun. Great unexpected bonus! Previous guests had left some food/drink. It was a treat to make a bag of popcorn and watch a movie, without having brought either! In the same spirit, we left some of our items. We hardly used it, but there was Wi-Fi internet access. Our laptop connected with no trouble. The house has multiple guest units in it, and the walls are thin. We were fairly quiet, and the other guests were too, so it’s just something to note. The house is VERY well-built, and felt quite cozy. The jungle comes to within 10' of the deck, so it’s like you're in a hideaway in the mountains. There is a pasture across the valley, so you'll hear an occasional cow moo-ing. There are a LOT of chickens. There was a big hurricane years ago, and many chickens got loose. Now the entire island is covered with feral chickens. There are many different kinds, with glossy vibrant plumage. We didn't see a SINGLE roach. The place was immaculate. For those who think that's an odd endorsement... Hawaii is (in)famous for having roaches everywhere. Though Hale Kua is listed at the BedandBreakfast.com, there is no "breakfast", though we saw that one was available for purchase. There IS coffee/sugar/creamer, and a coffee pot. Summary: if you're planning a trip to the south shore of Kaua’i, you'll be thrilled with Hale Kua. Thanks Bill & Cathy!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful place at Hale Kua Guests (Lawai, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on July 10, 2008

A little far from the beach but nice for a retreat in the mountains...Dining, etc is accesible by car. This place is a great place for a long walk up a mountain!

View more reviews for this inn


Great home base at Hale Kua Guests (Lawai, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on May 12, 2008

This place has everything you could need while on vacation including a washer/dryer. The unit I stayed in was very spacious and is in a good location where any place on the island of Kauai can be easily accessed from this location. I would definetly stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Must Stay Here! at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, a bed and breakfast (Lawai, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 25, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and were very satisfied by the hopitality Daniela & Michael provided us with during our 7 day stay on the island. The house is positioned so we were able to watch the sunset every evening and watch the morning fog lift in the morning. This was such a great way to experience the life of the people of Kauai! Mahalo!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}