Recent Reviews in Montlaur, France

A Home-Away-From-Home in Southern France at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2013

After a long train ride on a winter’s evening, we arrived to a warm welcome from our hosts’ Peter and Felicity. Their unique B & B is located in a renovated, former pharmacy in the heart of a small village a short drive from Carcassonne. Sitting in the comfortable salon around a wood fire, we chatted over an aperitif. The ambience was calm, warm and engaging, as if we had long been firm friends and were preparing to head-off to an evening at the local theatre. Our double bedroom was located in a private wing of the home. It was spacious yet cosy - featuring both period and modern touches – and it had everything we needed. The view of the village church was a bonus. The spotless, new bathroom was decorated tastefully giving a bright and happy feel. My wife’s appreciation soared further when she discovered a hair dryer! Felicity provides quality linen. This, combined with a very good bed, gave us the most comfortable night’s sleep of our three-month trip in France. Breakfast was offered in the light and airy dining room. We enjoyed the quality of Felicity’s selections; these included excellent muesli and terrific fresh fruit salad. Montlaur is a genuine, quiet French village surrounded by local vineyards, small river gorges and wild highland country. Guided by Peter, we enjoyed all the local drives and walks. Afterwards, we headed off to see several other local villages and the fortified chateau at Carcassonne. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Peter and Felicity’s B&B in the ‘L’ Ancienne Pharmacie’ at Montlaur. It’s a home away from home in southern France. We are planning our next stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful, home, lovely hosts and great dinner and breakfast. at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.6 reviewed on November 14, 2013

Delightful home, lovely hosts and great dinner and breakfast. Probably the best value of our 6 week trip. Excellent! Only problem, which would bother light sleepers like us, is the ringing of the parish church bells on the hour every hour which meant we had to close the windows and shutters which made it a bit stuffy. A shame really.

View more reviews for this inn


Superb and relaxing house.. at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on September 09, 2013

...not to mention the owners! The rooms are very nicely furnished and well equipped, as well as the bathrooms. Amazing breakfast. The village is so quiet, and the surroundings simply beautiful. I will definetekly suggest everyone to spend at least one night there!

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed our stay at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2013

Good accommodation and friendly people, parking was good, and there is a local bakery not far from the house, good access to Carcassonne, Lagrasse and the beaches of Narbonne and Gruissan. The local vineyards were refreshing and enjoyed eating in the the Monze 11 restaurant among others. Fantastic week and really enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast superb!

View more reviews for this inn


Vacances exceptionnels à Montlaur! at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.6 reviewed on August 25, 2012

Ce sont des hôtes à recommander les yeux fermés! On s'est senti comme chez nous et ils sont d'une gentillesse et d'une serviabilité hors pair! Le petit déjeuner est royal: un point d'honneur est mit sur les produits locaux. Les chambres sont très cocoon et propres, de même que pour la salle de bain. Que du bonheur! Encore un grand merci pour tout à Felicity et Peter. PS: le vin que vous nous avez conseillé est délicieux et on l'a bu à votre santé! Greetings from Belgium, the Rossi family.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing house and village at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.4 reviewed on July 25, 2012

We're a couple from Spain.We have had a good time in this house.It's a beaudiful old typical house of field. The owners are so friendly and also the dog is kindly. If you speak only english, no problem, owners are english. If you don't speak english the owners make efforts for understand you and help you.The breakfast is rich of products of high quality(included croissant français) and profuse.The village is close to Carcassonne, you can also enjoy the mountains and valleys, many abbeys and castles and good cuisine.Everything you need for good holiday. We've had a very good time! Jose y Luisa Las Palmas (Canarias, Spain)

View more reviews for this inn


Casa auténtica y relajante at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.4 reviewed on July 25, 2012

Si quieres hospedarte fuera de la ciudad, este es un sitio ideal, cerca de Carcassonne (te puedes perder por los valles, todo es bonito). Los dueños son ingleses pero hacen muchos esfuerzos por hacerse entender y hablar otros idiomas. Es una casa muy bonita, antigua y los dueños te esperan para desayunar, te sientes como si fueses a visitar a unos amigos al campo en Francia.El desayuno con productos de calidad y abundante.Incluso el perro (Border Collie, también inglés) es muy bueno.Enfin una estancia muy agradable. Jose, Las Palmas (Canarias).Spain

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2012

I spent four days at l'ancienne pharmacie and it truly felt like home. Peter and Felicity were warm and accomodating (even making me an omelet dinner when I was too tired to go out my first night1). I was doing quite a bit of exploring in the region and Peter helped me with planning an itinerary, giving me maps and tips on back roads. My room was spacious and comfy and I looked forward to returning every evening. There were several restaurants within a 15-20 minute drive as well as lovely walks along the vineyards. I highly recommend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Encantados! at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2011

Acabamos de pasar un fin de semana para celebrar nuestro aniversario de boda con nuestros niños pequeños. La casa es muy grande i acogedora, todo de muy alta calidad. Y afortunadamente había muchos juguetes para niños debajo de la escalera para entretenerles. Desayunamos en el patio del jardin y paseamos por el precioso pueblecito de Montlaur donde todos te saludan diciendo "Bonjour". Cada pueblo cercano es una aventura y tiene su propio encanto. Muy recomendable, seguro que volvemos. Angel Lucas Serra (Barcelona)

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful house and welcoming owners. merci ! at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on October 06, 2011

Thank you Felicity and Peter for a wonderful reception, lovely breakfast (healthy and indulgent in one ) and having us as guests in your beautiful home. Mont Laur is a peaceful, friendly village in rural France surrounded by great places to visit, swim , eat and relax on route to Spain and the southern french beaches. We'd recommend this B&B , child friendly, accessible and clean. Tres Bon !

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Accommodation at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.0 reviewed on October 06, 2011

We've just had a lovely few days at Montlaur. What a lovely home, right in the middle of the village, but so peaceful, and what an interesting building. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully clean. Felicity's breakfasts were superb - really freshly-baked croissants straight from the local bakery, and lots of fresh fruit including their own fresh figs, as well as yogurts, cereals, etc. - all we needed. The walks from the village were wonderful, safe and easy, and we hope to be back to explore some more. Thank you Peter and Felicty for making our stay so pleasant.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. L'Ancienne Pharmacie (4.73)
Top
}