Recent Reviews in Carcassonne, France

The Best of the South West at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.8 reviewed on November 24, 2014

We stayed with Felicity and Peter a couple of years ago and enjoyed ourselves so much we have been back. The B&B is in the middle of the village and the village is surrounded by (mostly) vineyards. We like walking and there are good walks through the surrounding hills and fields. My partner, who is a New Zealander, likes running - she found some good runs. But to get the most out of the location you do need a car. Carcassonne is certainly worth a visit but there are numerous villages, old castles and monasteries in the district. All of which seem to have good restaurants! We loved the long table breakfasts: fresh croissants (from the village baker -and this can include choclatines as well), good healthy fresh fruit and cereals and toast and preserves and you-name-it and it was on the table. But the nicest thing was that other guests and your hosts sit down to breakfast with you. We swapped trip stories and went places we would not have thought of – and, we were lucky, we were there in the autumn and Felicity and Peter arranged for us to pick grapes at one of the local vineyards. Now that was fun! The facilities in the house were spotless and well-cared for, the Wifi worked everywhere, you could sit in the garden in the shade and sip a little cold wine and watch the raspberries grow whilst catching up on your emails. Very relaxing. We will visit again when we are in Europe.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Gem at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2014

This review of our stay at ‘L’Ancienne Pharmacie’ is long overdue, especially considering how much we enjoyed our two evenings with Felicity and Peter. They were consummate hosts that couldn’t do enough to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. We stayed here because we liked the on-line reviews, which were universally positive and well-deserved. One word of caution and that is to make sure you get directions and keep them with you. We printed the directions and promptly forgot them. We had a GPS, so why worry? We lost the signal as we got to Montlaur! Once we found the B&B, our hosts were wonderful. We made arrangements to have dinner at the B&B that first evening - what a stroke of genius. We had a meal worthy of a Michelin star and enjoyed the wonderful conversations with our hosts. The boeuf bourguignon would have made Julia Child proud. It was accompanied by delightful vegetables, salad, bread and cheese and dessert. Did I mention the aperitif and two kinds of wonderful local wines? Book at least one dinner while staying here. The B&B itself was very nice and charming. The breakfasts were the equal of the dinner: fresh croissants, excellent coffee and tea, muesli cereal and fresh fruit and juice. The bedroom was very well-appointed. We had a private bathroom down the hallway with an excellent shower. The wi-fi was good and we quickly got the iPad and cell phones connected. We were concerned initially with the proximity of the church, which was across a canal, and the tolling of the church bells. There’s no getting around that the church bells would go off regularly, but we found that it really did not disturb our sleep. In closing, do not hesitate booking a room here. It is a wonderful stay and the hosts are just so nice. They provided us with great advice on things to do in the area and went out of their way to make us feel good. We look forward to seeing them again at some future date and taking advantage of their beautiful B&B and warm hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Will definately be back at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.4 reviewed on September 29, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Very congenial hosts who are happy to share their extensive knowledge of the local area. They are English but speak French fluently and Spanish. Lovely to have breakfast around the large table with the other couple staying and the hosts. You do need a car but with wheels you can access the beautiful local countryside with vineyards and restaurants galore. Carcasonne is an easy drive away but there are many more sightseeing gems as well. Highly recommend this place.

View more reviews for this inn


B & B, OK at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

3.4 reviewed on September 23, 2014

Seule surprise avec ce B & B, c'est l'église située juste à coté qui sonne les cloches à toutes les 30 minutes, 24/24

View more reviews for this inn


perfect place for relaxing and enjoying at Domaine du Moment (Soupex, France)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2014

In the quiet village Soupex is a beautiful mansion in which Domaine de Moment is located. The rooms all have a very different atmosphere, but they are all super tasteful, clean and the shower and the bed are perfect. Not even to mention the lovely garden with large pool. Also they have proper good Wifi. Nearby are plenty of things to do, the French countryside at its best, you do need a car. Owners Nathalie and PP do everything to make sure you have a wonderful time. They know the best places around to eat and to visit. Super spot for a night in transit or for a whole week to relax and celebrate your holidays.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B in a peaceful village at Colours of Pays Cathare (Carcassonne, France)

4.6 reviewed on July 23, 2014

Jan offered us some excellent information about the area and she was a very welcoming host. The B&B is located in a very charming, peaceful village - I am glad that we had the car so that we could explore the wider area too.

View more reviews for this inn


séjour no. 7 at Numero Sept (Bize Minervois, France)

3.4 reviewed on June 24, 2014

Belle accueil de nos hôtes. Agréable jardin intérieur. Très bon petit-déjeuner avec raffinement. Rapport qualité/prix intéressant. Très bons restaurants à proximité (à pieds)

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay outside of Carcassonne! at Colours of Pays Cathare (Carcassonne, France)

4.8 reviewed on June 03, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend back at the beginning of April. Jan was a wonderful host and have us ample information about the region. The rooms were very comfortable and had a lot of charm. Jan also provided a great and filling breakfast. Plus, there are two adorable cats! What's not to love?! I would highly recommend staying here if you are in the region.

View more reviews for this inn


UN MERVEILLEUX SEJOUR at Domaine du Moment (Soupex, France)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2014

Une très belle et vaste maison bourgeoise décorée avec beaucoup de gout, des chambres spacieuses dotées d'une literie parfaite, une grande piscine située dans un très beau parc plein de charme et de recoins qui invitent à la flânerie... que dire de l'accueil chaleureux et convivial de Nathalie et Peter-Paul qui aiment la région et ont eu plaisir à nous indiquer tous les lieux à découvrir sans parler de leur carnet d'adresses de restaurants pour profiter pleinement de la gastronomie locale. Ces vacances sont passées bien trop vite... ce qui est sur c'est que nous reviendrons avec beaucoup de plaisir nous ressourcer au Domaine du Moment.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best Bar None at La Ferme de Boyer (Mirepoix, France)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2014

We don't often stay in B&Bs....we tend to rent houses or stay in local hotels. But when we drove by the Ferme de Boyer and saw the beautiful tree-lined driveway and the stunning structure we decided to try it out. We were overwhelmed by the courtesy of the delightful owners and our immaculate room. We decided to try the table d'hote and thought it was one of the best meals we had during our month-long stay in France. We ended up staying a whole week and using the fabulous location as a pivot for our sightseeing in this amazing area. We were so sad to leave and look forward to returning next year. Don't hesitate.....book this place. You will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Un sejour plus que parfait at Domaine du Moment (Soupex, France)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2014

Quel bel endroit... Simplement parfait! Maison ancienne et magnifiquement rénovée avec le soucis du détail. Cadre magnifique, au calme, propre et très bien entretenu, aussi bien les chambres que la piscine et le parc. Un petit déjeuner plus que complet. Des propriétaires hollandais très accueillants qui nous ont fait découvrir la richesse des alentours de Soupex: les villages pittoresques, les bon restaurants et à ne pas oublier les Pyrénées. Peter-Paul et Nathalie ont su rendre notre séjour inoubliable.

View more reviews for this inn


Caracter, original design and friendliness. at Domaine du Moment (Soupex, France)

4.6 reviewed on January 13, 2014

Wow this is a nice place to stay! The house has preserved many original features but the owners added modern comfort. Off the beaten track. Nice region as well, many things to do but not touristic at all. Nice hikes. Nice views. And nice breakfast and lovely owners.

View more reviews for this inn


A Home-Away-From-Home in Southern France at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2013

After a long train ride on a winter’s evening, we arrived to a warm welcome from our hosts’ Peter and Felicity. Their unique B & B is located in a renovated, former pharmacy in the heart of a small village a short drive from Carcassonne. Sitting in the comfortable salon around a wood fire, we chatted over an aperitif. The ambience was calm, warm and engaging, as if we had long been firm friends and were preparing to head-off to an evening at the local theatre. Our double bedroom was located in a private wing of the home. It was spacious yet cosy - featuring both period and modern touches – and it had everything we needed. The view of the village church was a bonus. The spotless, new bathroom was decorated tastefully giving a bright and happy feel. My wife’s appreciation soared further when she discovered a hair dryer! Felicity provides quality linen. This, combined with a very good bed, gave us the most comfortable night’s sleep of our three-month trip in France. Breakfast was offered in the light and airy dining room. We enjoyed the quality of Felicity’s selections; these included excellent muesli and terrific fresh fruit salad. Montlaur is a genuine, quiet French village surrounded by local vineyards, small river gorges and wild highland country. Guided by Peter, we enjoyed all the local drives and walks. Afterwards, we headed off to see several other local villages and the fortified chateau at Carcassonne. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Peter and Felicity’s B&B in the ‘L’ Ancienne Pharmacie’ at Montlaur. It’s a home away from home in southern France. We are planning our next stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful, home, lovely hosts and great dinner and breakfast. at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.6 reviewed on November 14, 2013

Delightful home, lovely hosts and great dinner and breakfast. Probably the best value of our 6 week trip. Excellent! Only problem, which would bother light sleepers like us, is the ringing of the parish church bells on the hour every hour which meant we had to close the windows and shutters which made it a bit stuffy. A shame really.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic house in a beautiful region at Domaine du Moment (Soupex, France)

4.0 reviewed on September 30, 2013

A beautiful house with large rooms, tastefully decorated. Also a surprisingly large garden with many shadowy places to relax and a nice swimmingpool. The outstanding hospitalty of the host and hostess. We enjoyed the breakfast and table d'hôtes dinners very much.

View more reviews for this inn


Superb and relaxing house.. at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on September 09, 2013

...not to mention the owners! The rooms are very nicely furnished and well equipped, as well as the bathrooms. Amazing breakfast. The village is so quiet, and the surroundings simply beautiful. I will definetekly suggest everyone to spend at least one night there!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent! at Domaine du Moment (Soupex, France)

4.6 reviewed on August 13, 2013

A perfect place to spend your holiday en explore the Lauragais en the Aude. Close to Carcassonne (airport), Canal du Midi and some beautiful villages! The owners are very friendly and hospitable. You can ask for breakfast every morning. We only did this the last day, it was delicious. In the kitchen you can cook your own meal or visit a restaurant nearby.

View more reviews for this inn


Disfrutando del momento at Domaine du Moment (Soupex, France)

4.2 reviewed on August 06, 2013

Hemos pasado una semana fantastica, muchas gracias Nathalie y Pepe por vuestra hospitalidad, hemos estado mas que agusto. Las rutas en bici por el Canal de Midi muy recomendables para todos los niveles. En definitiva, un lugar donde el tiempo se pasa despacio y se puede disfrutar de un entorno muy interesante y tranquilo.

View more reviews for this inn


beautiful b&b with very friendly hosts at Domaine du Moment (Soupex, France)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2013

This is a b&b for people who appreciate good service, quiet surroundings,excellent breakfast, wonderful rooms and proximity to interesting towns and the wonderful Canal du Midi.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed our stay at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2013

Good accommodation and friendly people, parking was good, and there is a local bakery not far from the house, good access to Carcassonne, Lagrasse and the beaches of Narbonne and Gruissan. The local vineyards were refreshing and enjoyed eating in the the Monze 11 restaurant among others. Fantastic week and really enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast superb!

View more reviews for this inn


charmant séjour et hôte sympathique at au-domisiladore (carcassonne, France)

4.6 reviewed on July 04, 2013

Notre hôte est très agréable et toujours souriant, prêt à faire connaître sa région, qu'il aime. Déjeuners frais, servis dans une jolie serre ancienne dans un petit jardin ombragé. Nous avons apprécié le choix des pains et les confitures, retrouvé les vrais goûts, dans la simplicité et la générosité.

View more reviews for this inn


Vacances exceptionnels à Montlaur! at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.6 reviewed on August 25, 2012

Ce sont des hôtes à recommander les yeux fermés! On s'est senti comme chez nous et ils sont d'une gentillesse et d'une serviabilité hors pair! Le petit déjeuner est royal: un point d'honneur est mit sur les produits locaux. Les chambres sont très cocoon et propres, de même que pour la salle de bain. Que du bonheur! Encore un grand merci pour tout à Felicity et Peter. PS: le vin que vous nous avez conseillé est délicieux et on l'a bu à votre santé! Greetings from Belgium, the Rossi family.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing house and village at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.4 reviewed on July 25, 2012

We're a couple from Spain.We have had a good time in this house.It's a beaudiful old typical house of field. The owners are so friendly and also the dog is kindly. If you speak only english, no problem, owners are english. If you don't speak english the owners make efforts for understand you and help you.The breakfast is rich of products of high quality(included croissant français) and profuse.The village is close to Carcassonne, you can also enjoy the mountains and valleys, many abbeys and castles and good cuisine.Everything you need for good holiday. We've had a very good time! Jose y Luisa Las Palmas (Canarias, Spain)

View more reviews for this inn


Casa auténtica y relajante at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.4 reviewed on July 25, 2012

Si quieres hospedarte fuera de la ciudad, este es un sitio ideal, cerca de Carcassonne (te puedes perder por los valles, todo es bonito). Los dueños son ingleses pero hacen muchos esfuerzos por hacerse entender y hablar otros idiomas. Es una casa muy bonita, antigua y los dueños te esperan para desayunar, te sientes como si fueses a visitar a unos amigos al campo en Francia.El desayuno con productos de calidad y abundante.Incluso el perro (Border Collie, también inglés) es muy bueno.Enfin una estancia muy agradable. Jose, Las Palmas (Canarias).Spain

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2012

I spent four days at l'ancienne pharmacie and it truly felt like home. Peter and Felicity were warm and accomodating (even making me an omelet dinner when I was too tired to go out my first night1). I was doing quite a bit of exploring in the region and Peter helped me with planning an itinerary, giving me maps and tips on back roads. My room was spacious and comfy and I looked forward to returning every evening. There were several restaurants within a 15-20 minute drive as well as lovely walks along the vineyards. I highly recommend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


I bid you goodbye at Maison Rives, near canal du midi (Montolieu, France)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2012

I just wanted to let you all know that Maison Rives will be under new ownership from 17th April 2012. Nathalie and Stephane will be continuing (and expanding) the Chambres d'hotes and we wish them all the very best for their new venture and future. We have had a wonderful 9 or so years at Maison Rives and will be sad to leave, however we have some very exciting times coming and new projects starting. We are sure that Nathalie and Stephane will offer a wonderful welcome and stay in Maison Rives so don't hesitate to book !!!! Cathy Gay.

View more reviews for this inn


Visit - Oct 2011 at Maison Rives, near canal du midi (Montolieu, France)

4.6 reviewed on October 26, 2011

Great visit in nice little town in a wonderful area of France. Our hostess, Cathy went "above and beyond" in helpfulness and service. Would not hesitate to return. Ingrid and Bob - Canada

View more reviews for this inn


Encantados! at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2011

Acabamos de pasar un fin de semana para celebrar nuestro aniversario de boda con nuestros niños pequeños. La casa es muy grande i acogedora, todo de muy alta calidad. Y afortunadamente había muchos juguetes para niños debajo de la escalera para entretenerles. Desayunamos en el patio del jardin y paseamos por el precioso pueblecito de Montlaur donde todos te saludan diciendo "Bonjour". Cada pueblo cercano es una aventura y tiene su propio encanto. Muy recomendable, seguro que volvemos. Angel Lucas Serra (Barcelona)

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful house and welcoming owners. merci ! at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

5 reviewed on October 06, 2011

Thank you Felicity and Peter for a wonderful reception, lovely breakfast (healthy and indulgent in one ) and having us as guests in your beautiful home. Mont Laur is a peaceful, friendly village in rural France surrounded by great places to visit, swim , eat and relax on route to Spain and the southern french beaches. We'd recommend this B&B , child friendly, accessible and clean. Tres Bon !

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Accommodation at L'Ancienne Pharmacie (Montlaur Nr Carcassonee, France)

4.0 reviewed on October 06, 2011

We've just had a lovely few days at Montlaur. What a lovely home, right in the middle of the village, but so peaceful, and what an interesting building. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully clean. Felicity's breakfasts were superb - really freshly-baked croissants straight from the local bakery, and lots of fresh fruit including their own fresh figs, as well as yogurts, cereals, etc. - all we needed. The walks from the village were wonderful, safe and easy, and we hope to be back to explore some more. Thank you Peter and Felicty for making our stay so pleasant.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}