The Green House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
109 Reviews

Write A Review

the Green House INN

5 on November 06, 2014

The bed was absolutely a cloud and since I walked so much, very welcoming. The owners were just the right amount of involved, kind, friendly and interesting. Loved the place, the other people who stayed there, the convenience to public transportation and walking to the quarter.

Innkeeper Response
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We get many compliments about our beds and we are fortunate to have a large number of Great guests (like yourself). We would love to have you stay with us again! Many Thanks, The Staff of The Green House Inn


A lovely oasis in the Garden District of New Orleans

3.6 on October 24, 2014

The Green House Inn is a very nice B&B an easy (15-20 minutes) and safe walk away from the hubbub of the French Quarter. The rooms were comfy and clean, the pool and hot tub private, convenient and pleasant, and the host and staff friendly and helpful with suggestions for activities, meals and entertainment. A great place for couples - would not recommend for families (unless you don't mind the clothing-optional pool). Don't expect a real breakfast - just coffee, juice and snacks - but there are plenty of great places to eat in NO, and the room had a fridge if we'd wanted to eat in. We would gladly stay there again.


Great staff...amazing place!

5 on October 04, 2014

A New Orleans gem!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review of The Green House Inn. We look forward to having your stay with us again in the future! Many Thanks, the staff of The Green House Inn


True Oasis

4.6 on September 26, 2014

This place is even more amazing than the pictures. Such a nice little oasis in the middle of the city. We had never stayed in that part of NO before, and I was a little concerned about the proximity to the highway looking at google maps. While it looks a little industrial at first, the neighborhood is safe and you cannot hear the highway. Frank and Jesse truly make you feel welcome. The little talk that Frank gave us when we got there about things to do and places to eat was something I would have paid additional money for. The pool area is definitely European style and we did see quite a bit of bodies, so be prepared if you aren't used to that kind of thing.


Can't wait to go back!!

5 on August 19, 2014

My fiance' and I stayed at The Green House Inn for our first trip to New Orleans. We wanted to do something different than just another hotel room and it was completely worth it! The room we had was extremely nice with its own nice sized bathroom and private entrance to the pool/hot tub. What made the trip truly remarkable was the staff. Every time we ever had a question about where to go to eat certain kinds of food they always had an answer for us. They recommended some of the best restaurants to go to and the best tours to do while your there. They went above and beyond for us one day when they saw we were having a hard time finding a certain creole sauce and they went out of their way to find it for us! We had such an amazing time staying there and it really does feel like your own personally get away especially when your hanging out by the pool. The commute to the trolley is not far at all, maybe a 10 minute walk which was really nice and saved us a fortune on cabs. The staff did such an amazing job showing us where everything was on the map and we wouldve been lost if it hadnt been for their help. If your looking for a nice romantic getaway in the Big Easy then this is the place to go! I know we cant wait to go back!!


Great place very hard mattress

4.6 on August 13, 2014

I do want to say that the place is great and we have stayed here before. The room was very nice and clean our only problem was the mattress was so hard we both could not sleep. We enjoyed the pool and the gardens are beautiful.


Oasis in New Orleans

4.6 on August 07, 2014

Tropical setting in the heart of New Orleans. Easy walk to the Warehouse district as well down Magazine. Wife would of kept on walking into all the many boutiques on Magazine, but I had to stop and have my favorite adult beverage .Jess, was more than helpful. Will be back.


One of the most relaxing weekends EVER!

5 on August 07, 2014

We stayed with Jesse and Frank this last weekend for 3 days while we were in New Orleans. With all of the great reviews we read on line before booking, we can definitely say that our expectations were far exceeded. The Green House Inn is not only beautiful, comfortable, and extremely well kept, it offers one the most relaxing experiences we have ever had. We stayed in the "Bird of Paradise" room and could not have been more comfortable. The pool area is very plush and relaxing. This was our first time, but definitely not our last. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we visit New Orleans.


Keep coming back!

5 on August 05, 2014

This is our third and definitely not last time at the amazing Green House Inn. It is charming, the location is perfect, and the wonderful innkeepers are friendly and helpful. The pool is an added treat as I am handicapped and it definitely helps. Don't miss this gem of New Orleans.


Oasis in the Middle of the Best Foodie Town in the U.S.

4.2 on July 21, 2014

The Green House Inn is truly an Oasis in the middle of an amazing culinary mecca... NEW ORLEANS! The pool is the feature of this B & B... the area is small, but the water is just right for the heat of the city. The tropical oasis is just, well "cool"... and most bare it all to get a full tan in between the palm leaves. My wife and I loved it. The location is a 15 minute safe walk to the convention center, 25 minutes to the French Quarter and 10 minutes to really fantastic restaurants. Take a left on Magazine out the door and walk 5 minutes to the best shrimp and grits (Surry's) in the world. REALLY! We actually skipped most of the Green House's Breakfasts, which are more of the "Super 8" variety and ate there. Walk to the right on Magazine and in 10 minutes just past the WWII Museum, you are at Tommy's or Couchon Butcher. The Green House Inn is a delight... best advise, get naked! Oh... and bring some lotion that has some bug repellent to avoid a few mosquito bites.


Beautiful Retreat

4.2 on July 16, 2014

My husband and I wanted to see New Orleans. For our twentieth wedding anniversary we stayed at The Green House Inn. We started staying at Bed and Breakfasts on our honeymoon and have preferred the experience to hotels whenever it is available. Frank and Jesse the Innkeepers were welcoming and helpful from the start. Our only plans for the trip were our airline tickets and our bed and breakfast. We explored New Orleans each morning, and came back to the wonderful pool and lush gardens during the heat of the day. What an amazing retreat Jesse has made. One evening we ordered in, because we did not want to leave poolside. Other nights we were assisted making reservations or finding musical adventures. The extra touches, gracious hosts, and beautiful setting made the inn itself a stand out destination in a city of wonders. I would highly recommend it as a getaway for individuals or couples looking for an exciting trip, or a relaxing recharge. We had both.


Oasis in the middle of New Orleans

5 on July 14, 2014

You will not be disappointed with your stay at the Green House Inn. Great staff!! Great location!! Great place!!


This place is very special!

5 on July 11, 2014

The entire stay, from start to finish, was top notch! Jesse, Frank, Felicita and I can't remember the name of the other Assistant, were extremely friendly, nice, and accommodating. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Greenhouse Inn when visiting New Orleans. It's convenient enough to all attractions. And there's the added bonus of Rio, the Macaw, and Stuben, the guard dog. It was just like being at home. I loved it! Judy


Best kept Secret in NOLA

4.2 on July 02, 2014

We highly recommend the Green House Inn. We have stayed their on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. We find it to be one of the best kept secretes of New Orleans.


Great time

4.6 on July 02, 2014

Lovely time . Know it is European dress code for the pool


Love this Place

4.2 on June 30, 2014

Pool area is relaxing and beautiful. Location is great. Magazine street has nice shopping and food.


A great find!

4.0 on June 23, 2014

The Green House Inn was the perfect accommodation for my husband and I to explore New Orleans. Walking distance from the French Quarter and the Garden District. The staff were very friendly and beyond helpful. Would recommend it to friends.


Awesome getaway!

4.8 on June 19, 2014

The staff at The Greenhouse Inn was amazing! The fact that they are not only pet friendly but also have a resident dog made our stay even more enjoyable. Jesse, you should work on your football throw so your furry baby doesn't have to get his paws wet :). Our stay was absolutely relaxing and the pool area was magnificent. Thanks for making our getaway worth every penny.


Best Vacation EVER!

5 on June 09, 2014

Frank was a delight, the saltwater pool a perfect respite from the muggy heat and the location ideal. Add in the most comfy beds in the world and you've got the makings of a perfect retreat...


second stay

3.0 on May 21, 2014

Next time we won't reserve a room on the first floor, since you could hear people coming and going out of the front door all night long. The room was clean but the floor felt and looked like it hadn't been swept in a while. But we still would stay again since the innkeepers are very nice and the property is clean and beautiful! Also the location is great since it's very close to French Quarter but not right in the heart of it.


Great B&B and great location

4.6 on April 28, 2014

We had a great 4 night stay early April and would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone. As Frank and Jesse said, we could safely walk to/from the French quarter - 20 mins straight walk to canal St - or take the nearby tram. The room was excellent, and the house had a great old world charm. The pool area is a secluded oasis, beautifully set up and lit with greenish subdued lighting. It was great to come back from the busy French quarter to the quiet of the pool, and a couple of drinks before retiring. We loved the laid back vibes from Frank and Jesse, which set the tone of the whole place - Other than the bars/restaurants/music etc don't miss the World War II Museum just a 5 minute walk away. Rob and Sue from UK


The only place we will stay in New Orleans

4.2 on April 25, 2014

The Greenhouse reminded us a lot of our favorite place in Key West, Marrero's Guest Mansion. Frank the innkeeper that checked us in was extremely helpful, one of the best we have ever had. He provided us with restaurant recommendations that were spot on, and great directions for how to navigate the trolley system. It is a bit of a walk to the French quarter, but completely doable. Bourbon Street is about 20 blocks or just over a mile walk. The rooms were nice with very comfortable beds, but the outdoor clothing optional pool was fantastic, however more clothed than not for our taste. There was another young newly nudist couple that was giving clothing optional a second go after staying at Marrero’s, but that was about it. The pool landscaping really made you feel like you were in the tropics. The pool is not heated but the Jacuzzi was more than hot enough. The pool is slightly shaded, but there are two sundecks to catch a tan, one good for the morning, one good for the afternoon. If you are a real sun worshiper you might want to get the Bird of Paradise room with its own sun deck. We had the Bougainvillea room which opened directly onto the pool which was a nice feature. The only issue is that it is right next to the lobby/dining room so it is not as private as some of the rooms. Breakfast is mostly a do your own carb fest with a waffle Iron if you want something hot. They did have hard boiled eggs which was nice for some protein. Considering the trend of lower carbs and gluten free, they may want to come up with a few more options than cereal, croissants, or muffins. Our only other recommendation is that they add a few more beer or even whine options to the soda machine near the pool. Yet again, there is a great wine shop about 8 blocks away, Keife & Co that has a great selection of wine with a small selection of meat and cheese. We were more than happy with our stay, and will be making it our new home base in New Orleans.


Great Local Restaurants Too!

5 on April 21, 2014

In addition to the great atmosphere of the location and the inn and grounds, I was impressed with the local restaurant recommendations. The recommendations included a wide price range and, based on the few we were able to try, the recommendations were true to their descriptions.

Innkeeper Response
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing this review for us! We are pleased to hear that while staying with us, you were able to experience one of, if not the greatest treasure this city has to offer - the food! A good New Orleanian knows where to eat! Please consider us on your next visit to the Big Easy. Thank you again.


Green House Inn - Apr 2014

3.4 on April 21, 2014

Internet service is SLOW. This could be a deal breaker for a future stay. My wife and I - because of the nature of our jobs - will often do an hour or so worth of work even on vacation. This was not possible due to the speed of the internet connection.

Innkeeper Response
Dear Recent Guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us at the Green House Inn. We strive to provide each guest with a satisfactory experience, and we apologize that there certain aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We are grateful that you have let us know of this, however. Please know that we are currently in the process of updating our internet service to a faster connection.


We will be back!

5 on April 16, 2014

This is a great B&B in a good location. Very relaxed, comfortable, and friendly,

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this review! We hope that you were able to do just as our motto says: stay.. relax.. just be..


Wonderful stay!

4.2 on April 13, 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at the Green House Inn. The Inn is well located between the Garden District and Warehouse District and we could easily walk to most places. Frank, the Inn Keeper, was extremely helpful to us in providing advice on what to do and how to get places. It was very nice to have breakfast, and a dip in the European style hot tub was a highlight. Would definitely recommend to friends!

Innkeeper Response
Please accept our gratitude for writing this review! We eagerly try to supply all of our guests with the Southern Hospitality our city is known for. We hope that you keep us on your list for you next trip to the Crescent City!


Great little place

4.0 on April 13, 2014

The pool area is the highlight of this place and a total oasis. Even if you don't use the pool or hot tub (and you should), just sitting there is relaxing. The neighbors have a pet macaw that you will probably hear and see. The room had nice updates like the bath vanity and LCD TV. Fridge was a plus. Bed was too soft for my back, but it was a treat to wake up to birds singing outside the window. The house is creaky, which is a bit understandable given its age, so it's difficult to be completely quiet after 10pm, even in stocking feet. We could hear the guests walking around in the room next door, and they were not being overly loud. I also had to use earplugs due to some guests being too loud in the hot tub after 10. Not the inn's fault as there are signs reminding people about quiet time. Opt for a room toward the rear of the inn. The Bridge Lounge across Magazine is open to the street and can get loud late at night. I would like to see the inn become more green. CFL/LED bulbs (especially since lights are on 24/7 for safety/liability), low-flow toilets (if the plumbing allows for it), and recycling receptacles would all help. Energy savings could be passed on to guests in the form of lower rates. I would love it if hot breakfast were served, especially since one of the two nearby breakfast places closed (Blue Plate). I read a staff response that said something about the zoning code preventing this, but I know other B&Bs we looked at served it (like Creole Gardens and Maison Perrier). The neighborhood is fine. We walked it during day and night and felt safe. There was some light graffiti and trash, but nothing out of the ordinary. Not only is the Green House well located with the Garden District, CBD and French Quarter no more than a mile away, it is much more affordable than FQ accommodations. The house was a peaceful retreat and Frank and Jesse were friendly, helpful hosts who were great about letting us check in early. We would stay again.

Innkeeper Response
Dear Recent Guest, Thank you for providing such a thorough account of your stay with us. We strive to continually improve the experience we offer our guests and therefor are grateful for your constructive comments. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely,


Great place

4.0 on March 20, 2014

Great pool area. Staff was great. Good of you want a location a 15 minute walk into heart of franch quarter. Don't have to deal with chaos of franch quarter.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for rating your experience at the Green House Inn. We are glad to hear that the staff and house met your expectations. We find that many of our guests enjoy the short distance from the French Quarter as well. Our pool and garden act like an tropical oasis in the city! Thank you!


Long Overdue Review

4.8 on March 17, 2014

Color me blonde, never thought to backtrack and leave my excellent rating for 3 stays at Jesse and Frank's extremely cool spot on Magazine St. THEY make it a memorable visit to NOLA. We've stayed at the Green House Inn at different times of the year ... I know one was in May and George was afraid he's pass out from the heat, but it was all good ... and the POOL and lush area just create lasting memories. The guys' knowledge of everything going on in the city, restaurants, and overall hosting really stood out. GO THERE, you'll never look back. PLUS we get to take Florence, our aging rescue doggie. FIVE thumbs up, if that's possible ... :-)

Innkeeper Response
It brings us great joy to know that our guests are satisfied with their stay and so we very much appreciate this review! We think pets deserve vacations too and are happy that you brought Florence on your last visit. Please come back and see us again soon! Thank you,


Four Thumbs Up

4.8 on March 14, 2014

Character can't be bought, but if you want to visit it for a few days, try the Green House. Some B&Bs mistake opulence for good taste and offer a lavish breakfast instead of an outstanding overall experience. to their guests The Green House is different. Our needs were met in every way, from the quality of conversations at breakfast to the large, quiet rooms to every bit of advice and assistance we received during the stay. Jesse knows New Orleans and Jesse knows his guests. We'll be back.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this outstanding review! We are delighted to hear that your experience with us met all of your expectations. We strive to cultivate a place where our guests are able to "stay.. relax... and just be." Thank you,


The green house inn

3.0 on March 10, 2014

NIce place, nice people, would stay again

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for rating your experience with us! We hope you decide to return on your next trip the New Orleans! Thanks again,


Rock n roll marathon NOLA

4.4 on February 18, 2014

Loved our stay ! A true taste of NOLA , exceptional and personal management staff.. Love the European pool / hot tub .. And TRUELY allow u to experience their motto... "Stay, relax ... Just Be"

Innkeeper Response
Allow us to express our gratitude for sharing your experience with us. We strive to make sure that all of our guests' expectations are exceeded. Our goal is that all guests are able to, as you say, "stay, relax, and just be," and hearing your positive time at The Green House Inn thrills us! Many Thanks!


Wonderful Experience At The Green House Inn

4.6 on February 12, 2014

First time to visit to New Orleans and we were looking for clothing optional accommodations. We came across The Green House Inn and we were happy we decided to stay. The garden district where we stayed was quite, safe and clean an very convenient to the French quarter. The Green House Inn was an oasis - the clothing optional pool area was scenic, private and it was exactly what we were looking for to just relax and escape. The room was very spacious clean and the bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud. The staff was very professional and friendly. The gated parking was a big plus it was on property especially when the parking in the city is very limited. The Green House Inn is my home away from home when I'm in New Orleans.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kindly worded review. It delights us to know that your stay exceeded your expectations, from the pool and garden area, to the luxury rooms. The Green House Inn will always have a door open for your next stay in New Orleans, as we are thrilled to be considered your "home" in the city. Thanks again!


Great location.

3.8 on January 20, 2014

Perhaps because of on-going repairs during our stay, the common areas were not accessible at times. Lacking comfortable seating in the room. Beautiful grounds, despite the cold Jan. weather.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! As our house is now 174 years old, we have to do our best to keep up its premium condition. We are terribly sorry to hear that the repairs inconvenienced your stay! It pleases us to hear that you enjoyed our pool and garden area, even in the winter weather! Thank you again for the review!


Milestone Getaway

3.6 on December 17, 2013

I took my mother to New Orleans for her __ birthday. Not allowed to say : ). but it was a big number. The inn is beautiful. We took the train and it is not too far from the train or the trolley. Everything was really nice. Our rooms were comfortable and the staff really went out of their way to be helpful. I think my favorite part was the gardens. It was very peaceful and beautiful to say the least. I think for the value I would stay her again.

Innkeeper Response
We are delighted to hear of you and your mom's pleasant time at the Green House Inn. It is our pleasure to make you feel right at home under our roof. Only three blocks from the streetcar line, our gardens are a close retreat from the excitement of the city! You and your mom are always welcomed to return!


Wonderful Weekend

4.6 on December 16, 2013

Our stay was fantastic. The service was personal which we loved. I would and have recommended this B&B to others.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Green House Inn. We strive to make our home and garden a tropical oasis and home-away-from-home for all who stay with us. We hope you consider the Green House Inn again on your next trip to New Orleans.


Thanks for the wonderful stay in New Orleans!

5 on December 13, 2013

My father and I went to New Orleans for our 1st time on Friday, December 6th, 2013, through Monday, December 9th, 2013. We visited New Orleans to watch the New Orleans Saints vs the Carolina Panthers game (yes, the Saints won!) and to explore this amazing city. We stayed 3 nights at the The Green House Inn and we had a fantastic time there. Over the past many years, I've travelled & stayed at many hotels, hostels, and Bread & Breakfasts in Europe and Asia and I must say The Green House Inn was the best accomodations I have ever stayed at thus far. Jesse, Charles, and Frank were excellent and first-class hosts who made out stay that much better! Thanks for everything! Mark O.

Innkeeper Response
Dear Mark, Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you were able to experience the excitement of watching our Saints play in the Dome. It brings us great pleasure to see our guests having a great time in this wild and wonderful city. Please know that you and Werner are more than welcomed to stay with us again! Sincerely, The Staff of the Green House Inn


First time to NOLA

5 on December 02, 2013

Amazing room/place and amazing people! We will definitely come back!!


Wonderful and pleasant stay

5 on December 02, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a wedding and we were having trouble finding a hotel to stay at because everything was booked for the weekend in most hotels. Then we came accross the greenhouse inn and we decided to book it for a couple days, turns out that we loved the inn so much we asked to stay another few days. It made our New Orleans vacation wonderful. The staff were wonderful they helped us get around town and attended to all our needs.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad to have helped in any way to make your time in New Orleans as enjoyable as possible. We hope that you return again soon to see us. Just to let you know, our pool and gardens are really great over the summer! Sincerely, The Staff of the Green House Inn


Had a great time

4.0 on December 01, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Green House Inn to celebrate my birthday. We had a lovely stay. The staff was welcoming and friendly and the room was cozy. The pool area was lush and beautiful. I sent pictures of it to all my friends and they were so envious! A wonderful place to relax and drift away. Would be happy to make a return visit. Convenient to one of our favorite New Orleans neighborhoods.


Beautiful B&B in a Beautiful City

5 on November 21, 2013

I spent several days in October with my mom and cousin in NOLA and we enjoyed both, our time in the Inn and in the city very much. The Inn is alltogether very clean, cosy and the garden with pools is surreal... drinking a beer near the pool, soaking in hot tub, chatting or reading, surrounded by flowers and bushes of a tropical island.... perfect getaway after walking crowded streets... and it is only ten minutes walk from the very center of the city, French Quarter and everything... The staff is kind and hospitable, the rooms are spacious with cosy beds and antique details... and dining room is almost royal.... If we ever have a chance to visit NOLA again, we'll definitely stay in the Greenhouse Inn again.... and we'll recommend it to our friends....

Innkeeper Response
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy our pool and garden area as much as we do. We hope you know that you'll always have a home in New Orleans with us! Sincerely The Staff of the Green House Inn


Terrific stay during Halloween week.

4.2 on November 05, 2013

Overall, this place was a gem. Very clean and comfortable room. We stayed in the room with a side yard, which was very convenient for pool access at night. The make it yourself waffles were a hit with both my husband and myself, and there was a great selection of other breakfast items. (How do I get some of that Steen's syrup? Yum!) I did see this comment before we went so it wasn't a surprise, but if you stay at the front of the house, I recommend earplugs while sleeping, especially on the weekends as you'll be right by the front door. But otherwise, it was typical city noises so not bad at all. Have already recommended this place to others!


Loved our visit

5 on September 29, 2013

The pool was amazing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't think of a better place to stay in New Orleans. It was hard to leave we can't wait to come back!


great stay

4.6 on September 27, 2013

Me and my wife stayed her for three nights. The staff and owner were amazing and very friendly. Room was very nice. We would stay there again if we ever go back. Unlike many places that you may stay the pool is open 24 hours a day. So when we got back late on Saturday we were able to relax a little in the hot tub before we went to bed, it was nice.


Green House Inn New Orleans

4.0 on September 25, 2013

Fun, friendly spot away from the hub-bub downtown. The clothing optional pool is really nice and was totally normal. One quibble has to do with the amount of air freshener...there's a lot! I will recommend this place to friends and would stay there again.


Incredible hosts! Wonderful and unique experience.

5 on September 21, 2013

I felt so welcome here. The grounds are incredible! Loved the pool! Had a great time. Hosts were so friendly and accommodating.


Paradise, to be revisited again and again.

4.6 on September 03, 2013

Stayed for 3 days in the Royal Ponciana Suite, which occupies the entire third floor of Green House. This encompassed a large living room with mini fridge, microwave, writing desk, 50" television, leather couch and ottoman, beautiful antique armoire and more. The bedroom is equally large with a wonderful king size four-poster bed and large television, as well as MP3 player stereo docks for music and alarm functions on the nightstands. The bathroom, large vanity, a large two-headed shower, a separate claw foot tub under skylights. The lighting, hardwood floors, open rafters, large windows and decor all add to the wonderful ambiance. Lovely. Clean. Maid service. But enough about the room. Me and my lover spent most of our time in the amazing clothing optional courtyard, going between the huge hot tub and the beautiful salt water pool, listening to music that is piped in on request, reading books from the onsite library and occasionally conversing with the large Macaw likes to hang around the fence. Filled with tropical plants, ferns, flowers, bamboo and palms, the courtyard is an oasis of relaxation and tranquility. If only it were my backyard. Jesse and Frank (both courteous, generous, professional and friendly) are doing it right. From the included continental style breakfast every morning (with snacks available day and night) with a bonus waffle maker to providing you with daily newspapers, menus for delivery places, and general information about New Orleans and the area. We loved our stay, and would not only recommend it to anyone, but will be going back from now on.


Wonderful place!

3.6 on August 22, 2013

It was a really nice place to stay! Relax and near of everything! The bed is super confortable and the back yard amazing!


Your place to stay in New Orleans

4.6 on August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Green House Inn for our wedding anniversary. We were looking for a place close to downtown New Orleans with a great pool and easy access to public transportation. We found it. The Inn itself is very nice. We highly recommend staying on the first floor where you can easily access the pool. Staff was outstanding and very helpful. They know New Orleans inside and out and were very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Beds were outstanding. I slept great. Perhaps the best features is the pool. It is clothing optional and we took full advantage of this and worked on our all over tans while we stayed there. The Inn was only half full and we were the only ones to use it naked but everyone was very respectful of one another. We would have liked to not have been the only ones naked, but honestly, we stayed there in August and because the Inn wasn't full we often had the pool to ourselves. Regardless of how you use the pool or not, we would highly recommend staying here. It was a few minutes walk to the streetcar line, not far from several good restaurants and bars and was warm and friendly. Far better than staying in the French Quarter or business district. I highly recommend it. And if you're looking for a place where you can explore the city in the morning and go to great restaurants and bars at night but just want to sit by the pool (with or without swimming suit), the Green House Inn is your place. We'll be back.


What a great place!

4.8 on August 15, 2013

We could have asked for better pet-friendly lodging! Great location, central to everything, gated parking, clean rooms full of charm and character, and the most hospitable hosts one could imagine. We loved dishing with Charles and Frank and other guests at breakfast. The pool is just great and the bar across the street has great mojitos and is pet friendly too. Highly recommended. We WILL be back! :)


Best Vacation Ever

4.4 on July 29, 2013

As a frequent traveler I've spent a lot of time in corporate hotels and B&B's. This is by far the cleanest most relaxing placed I've ever stayed. The staff was great and always available. Even though it rained a few days during our vacation, the coziness of the room and the friendliness of the guest made it a memorable vacation.


New Favorite!

4.2 on July 20, 2013

This place is a new favorite! Jesse and Frank were excellent hosts throughout our stay. The house was even more beautiful than the pictures online. Our room was very comfortable as was the bed. Charles’s freshly baked cookies were delicious! It was so great to be able to step outside of our room and into the tropical oasis by the salt water pool, which is always open. The location is perfect, walking distance from the French Quarter or the Garden District, and so many delicious restaurants nearby. Cannot wait to stay there again!


Perfect getaway

4.0 on July 19, 2013

First of all the staff is outstanding they will make sure you are we'll taken care of. The location on Magazine St is within walking distance of a few restaurants and a local bar, and just a few blocks from St Charles where you can hop on the street car and go just about anywhere you like. The pool and hot tub are so relaxing you will think your on a tropical island somewhere. The wife and I had a great weekend stay there and would recommend anyone going to New Orleans to stay there at least once. We are definitely looking forward to staying the again in the future. Thank you all Jesse, Charles, and Frank we loved The Green House Inn. Sincerely, T & C


Loved this place!!!!!!

5 on June 30, 2013

We really enjoyed the hospitality of this place!! We will be back!!


Green House Inn Review

5 on June 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 wonderful days. Jessie and Frank are both wonderful hosts, the rooms are clean and beautiful and the location is great. Will definitely stay there again.


Very pleasant experiences at The Green House Inn

4.0 on June 01, 2013

The Green House Inn is located in a great area of New Orleans. It is close to St. Charles Ave. and the street car route. There are nice restaurants close by and within walking distance. The area is safe enough to walk at night. The inn keepers are very nice and knowledgeable about New Orleans. They are always willing to offer a suggestion for something you might want to try. We stay here every time we go to New Orleans.


We'll go back!

4.4 on May 21, 2013

Thank-you Jesse and Frank for being great hosts! I'd write a ton more about all the great points of staying here, but it might limit availability when we want to go again! ;)


Relaxing, clean, steps to the WWII museum...

4.6 on May 08, 2013

I've stayed here many times and Jesse and Frank treat you like an old friend. The last time I was in NoLa, I strayed and stayed at a fancy fancy tres cher chain hotel because my work gives me an absurd discount .... (Like $150 for a $600 room so you see why I strayed) Never again! I will return to staying at a place where every guest is treated like a VIP and that place is the Green House Inn. Love it!


Green House Inn 1212 Magazine St, New Orleans LA

4.4 on March 19, 2013

New Orleans is one of the best cities in the US to visit. This is our 4th trip here, all with a mix of business and pleasure. This was our first stay at the Green House Inn, 1212 Magazine St. and we were extremely happy with our visit. This home is a lovely B&B with a fabulous hot tub and pool in a lush setting that takes you to a tropical paradise rather than being in downtown NOLA (both use saltwater; needing fewer chemicals and are very gentle on skin). The Inn Keepers - Frank and Jesse are the most helpful and accomodating hosts you could ever need. There are plenty of attractions that are within walking distance to the Inn. It also had one of the most comfortable beds my wife and I have slept on. The city of New Orleans has made huge strides in bouncing back from huricane Katrina and the people there are friendly and helpful. We walked everywhere and felt safe - but if you prefer, the trolley is only two short blocks away. Great visit, and looking forward to staying at the Green House Inn next time we are here!!


Peace at the Green House Inn

4.2 on March 07, 2013

I absolutely recommend this B & B if you travel to New Orleans. The chaos and parties of the city stop at the gate and nothing but wonderful relaxation greets you at the door. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the coffee is hot...what more could you want? I only wish the weather had been hot enough to enjoy the oasis of the outside courtyard and pool. It looked heavenly and we may have to return just to hangout there next time.


great place

5 on December 09, 2012

This was our first time to stay at a B&B and what a great experience. Owner and manager very congenial and helpful. We were without a car and a couple of times needed transpotation to nearby places. The owner stepped up and took us by auto. My wife was not feeling well one day and the owner had an engagement and on the way home, stopped and brought us back Poorboy sandwiches. The bed was the most comfortable bed we had ever slept in. The backyard was tropical and lucous and adding to that, added a Macaw named Rio that kept us intertaned. "The Green House is all that and more. We will return, spending more than 3 days.


Our Fit Fun Crew had 7 rooms at WE all LOVED it and the staff

4.8 on November 17, 2012

I come up with "fit and fun " adventure trips for some hikers/bikers in Knoxville. One was turning 60 last year and we love the silver comet/cheif Ladiga bike trails and noticed the Amtrak also was along the same area. SO we decided to bike from Cedartown Ga to Anniston then caught the Amtrak to New Orleans. But where to stay In NO ? We searched and found The Green House Inn and IT WAS WONDERFUL in every way! They helped us plan our trip, they had reasonable prices for the area and the beds were soo nice and comfy. The rooms pretty the pool gorgeous, loved the hot tub, the staff so accommodating and enjoyed just sitting and talking to Jesse the owner too WE WILL go back.


Great place

5 on July 26, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Orchid room. It was nice and comfy with two bathrooms! Pool area was gorgeous. Nice spread for breakfast.


Wonderful Experience

4.0 on July 02, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend our first anniversary in a new city and chose the green house to house us. Jesse and the entire staff were all pleasant and eager to please. They were helpful in recommendations for eateries and tourist sites as well as great places off the beaten path. We loved the landscaping and the saltwater pool, including the clothing optional rule, at least after everyone else had gone to bed. It was phenomenal, and we hope to stay there again!


The very best B&B in New Orleans

4.2 on June 28, 2012

The pictures can only tell a part of the story. However, everything you see is just as it is- a variable lush garden, complete privacy, and every creature comfort you could want. You simply can't overstate the outstanding customer care provided by the entire staff. The only disappointment we experienced was being told we couldn't stay an extra day, as too many others now know what a tremendous experience awaits them at Green House Inn. Larry & Cathy Thanks Jesse and Frank for a wonderful time!


Great long weekend getaway in New Orleans!

3.8 on April 11, 2012

This was our first trip to New Orleans and the Green House Inn was in the perfect location! We were in easy walking distance to all 4 main areas in the city! We were able to walk or take the Trolley into the Warehouse District as well as the French Quarter and on the days when we wanted something less touristy we could walk to the Uptown area or over to St Charles Avenue (which is only 2 blocks away from the inn!). Both Jesse and Frank were extremely friendly and helpful with great lunch suggestions whenever we asked! We brought our dog along with us who was met by Jesse with a very warm welcome and we found that there is a large park only 2 blocks away which made for easy dog walks! Our room was spacious and comfortable with a great view of the garden on one side and Magazine Street on the other! The inn was very quiet at night which made sleeping very easy! Overall it was a great experience and we would definitely return!


Wonderful people and great location.

5 on March 20, 2012

What a great place to stay for a visit to New Orleans. Jesse is a wealth of information on what to do and where to go without being pushy about particular places. This is the place to go if you want to be yourself and enjoy the awesome food and shopping New Orleans has to offer. You can walk to the French Quarter with ease or go the other direction up Magazine street for antique shopping. Nice clean room and Inn with interesting history and decorations. My wife and I will visit again!


Fabulos Stay

4.8 on March 08, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time this past weekend at The Green House Inn. We arrived Saturday for the Rock-n-Roll Half Marathon. Jesse, the InnKeeper, is a fabulous host. We stayed in the Bird of Paradise room. My favorite by far. It is on the balcony overlooiking a beautiful pool. And it even has its own balcony space with 2 lounge chairs. The hot tub was perfect before and after the race. The Inn is right on the race course. It was an east walk to the convention center to pickup my packet and an easy walk to the start. My husband was able to stand in the front of the Inn and cheer me on ....and everyone else who ran the race. He was even able to had me some Shot Blocks and water. I love this Inn....cannot wait to stay there next year for the race.


Love this place!

4.2 on March 06, 2012

We desperately needed some time away and chose to stay here at the Green House. We stayed in the Bird of Paradise room for 3 wonderful nights. I had to stay one night alone as my husband was unable to join me right away. I felt safe and was able to sleep very well. The room was as pictured and clean. We’re very down to earth people and knew we were staying in a place that was well over 100 years old. So, we didn’t mind a little creak of a floor board or anything like that. We were pleasantly surprised by the quaintness of the room. (Has a TV, air conditioning, hair dryer, ceiling fan, separate towels for the pool, microwave and fridge) Jesse met me at the gate and greeted me with a very pleasant smile. (I checked in at close to 10 pm.) At his recommendation, I went across the street for a night cap before turning in. So, off I went for a few drinks and a great burger cooked on the grill. Everyone was friendly and there were no problems at all. If our visit was not during Carnival, we would have spent much more time in the beautiful patio. Words and pictures cannot adequately describe how peaceful it is! I sat down there for at least an hour one morning listening to the music and watching a squirrel sun himself on one of the magnificent trees. My husband and I enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of Carnival. LOVED the atmosphere...wink. I could go on and on about the customer service. It was such a laid back place. We even walked in on someone’s wedding on one of the days. That lucky couple picked a great place to have that memory. Thanks again, Jesse and Frank. We’ll be back just as soon as we can! Jennifer & Anthony


"Big Event Weekend" - 1/7/12-1/10/12

5 on January 17, 2012

My wife and I chose this to stay here during the BCS National Championship game weekend. LOVED this place. This historic home sits on Magazine St, which is a side of New Orleans that my wife and I hadn't had a chance to see much of. It's less "busy" than the Quarters which is were we usually stay. It was a welcome change, especially given how noisy and crowded the city was during this big event weekend. The place is very clean and rich with character. Rooms were spacious and very clean as well. Jesse, the innkeeper, is one of the nicest guys I've ever met and helped with suggestions on everything from breakfast to a late night mojito. Spot on, I might add. Surrey's Cafe and Juice Bar (about 2 blocks away) is THE BEST breakfast I've ever had in the city, and Bridge Lounge is in my top 3 Mojitos of anywhere in the country (not to mention a very extensive Scotch menu)! We're definitely planning another trip to see what else the Garden District has to offer. Karus and Andrea Mines


WOW!!!!

5 on January 11, 2012

This is such a beautiful property! The historic home has been renovated beautifully. The lush gardens were like an oasis - you wouldn't even know you were in the city, while you are relaxing out there. So peaceful for reading the morning newpaper with coffee, an afternoon nap in one of the swings, or a late night dip in the pool or hot tub. The innkeepers, Frank and Jessie, were so helpful and welcoming. We will always return to this wonderful B&B. I highly reccommend this spot it to all!!!


What every B&B should be

5 on December 26, 2011

We recently stayed at The Green House Inn and had a wonderful time. The Innkeepers are professional, friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Who needs a guide book when you have Jesse and Frank to share with you their knowledge of the city. The swimming pool, hot tub and gardens were the perfect place to relax and read. We really enjoyed the king size bed and slept better than at home. The small touches like the candy and fruit always at hand were nice. We will be back!


Great value

3.2 on December 21, 2011

Had a late flight in to town so got in about midnight. The person receiving me seemed put out to have to check me in that late and had a pretty crappy attitude. Otherwise a nice property with pleasant staff.


Such fun

3.8 on October 19, 2011

Never being in New Orleans before, I found this Inn a sanctuary from a sometimes overwhelming amount of energy everywhere I went. Jesse was so very very helpful giving my husband and me wonderful tips on places to visit, wonderful restaurants, and the way to truly experience a special city. After our long days the hot tub and pool in the gardens which surround you were perfect. Will always book a room there if I can get back to New Orleans.


Clean, Comfortable, Restful

4.8 on August 30, 2011

We were greeted on a sweltry day by Frank who helped us get our bags into our rooms, assisted us with finding the streetcar and reviewed our restaurant options. Both Jesse and Frank go out of their way to assist their customers and ensure they have a great NOLA experience. Rooms were clean, smelled fresh, comfortable beds, plenty of towels for the pool and room. Public access computer with printer, outside shower for pool with coke machine. The pool/garden is like a tropical oasis. I got take out for dinner and chose to eat poolside it was so nice. Breakfast was great! Open kitchenette so you can help yourself to yogurt, cereals, breakfast bars, croisant, hard boiled eggs and fruit. You can sit at the elegant dining room table and converse with other guests. 3 blocks from the street car. I will definatley be back. Excellent value!


A Little Side of Heaven

4.4 on August 02, 2011

Wow! What a beautiful home, great staff, and comfortable quarters. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a place that is close enough to the Crescent City action but in a quiet area..this is it. And the pool is an added bonus in the N'Awlins heat. Its salt water so you wont have hurtineyes when you are done and the pool area is clothing optional! Cant express how much we loved this fact...though it may have had something to do with the fact that we were alone in the pool at night. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The staff was courteous and helpful. We are definitely going back time and time again. Only downside is that it is a continental breakfast. If they get a chef to make a hot morning meal, this place will be impossible to get into! GET THE CHEF! ITS WORTH IT!Cause this place is awesome.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate the wonderful compliments! We are always thrilled when our guests enjoy themselves here and in New Orleans. We agree that having a chef preparing a delicious New Orleans breakfast would be the icing on the cake of staying here. However the City does not allow B & B's to serve hot meals. It's to encourage visitors to sample our many local Restaurants. In fact, we have two great breakfast/lunch spots just two blocks from our gate. So "Relax, Stay, Just Be" at the Green House Inn and then venture out for some of the world's greatest food.


Loved this secluded Inn

4.8 on July 29, 2011

I took my husband here for our anniversary. We only stayed two nights, but we would definitely recommend it. Jessie and Frank were friendly and always around to answer any questions. We loved the exclusiveness and feel of The Green House Inn. The landscaping is gorgeous and it defiantly made us feel like we were on vacation. We sat on porch swings reading one evening by the pool. The Bird of Paradise room was wonderful with its double headed shower and huge bed. Our next trip to NOLA will be spent here! Stephanie and Kevin


NOLA Tropical Oasis

4.6 on June 26, 2011

A fantastic place to get away for busy adults and/or parents! Romantic, secluded and terrific facilities. Great innkeeper and manager! Our favorite place yet!!


nice location but...

2.6 on May 20, 2011

A nice property, well maintained, in the dilapidated but safe Warehouse district. Gated parking adjoins the hotel. It was 3 Blocks to the St Charles Street car line and 4 blocks to the WWII museum. We rented the "most sought after room". Unfortunately the mood was broken as we walked in the door to see a prominent stain on the bedspread which persisted throughout our stay. The room was otherwise spotless but Spartan. There was only a small wooden chair to sit on and a grainy old TV. The breakfast room was beautiful but breakfast was disappointing-- 4 slices of left over bread and croissants in zip loc bags,bulk containers of dry cereal and packets of instant oatmeal. The mini fridge in the kitchenette held hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, communal jars of jam, canned fruit and a gallon of 2%milk as well as a gallon of past prime OJ. At $180 per night we expected more.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments! We always welcome reviews and suggestions from our guests, and we appreciate the kind things you said about the cleanliness of the Inn and its guest rooms. We apologize for the oil stain on the bed spread; the ceiling fan above your bed must have leaked. We are in the process of upgrading each ceiling fan in our guestrooms to a sealed bearing model, to eliminate this problem from occurring in the future. Our Municipal Zoning Code prohibits Bed and Breakfasts in New Orleans from serving hot breakfasts; therefore we offer an expanded continental breakfast and 24 hour a day snacks. Fortunately, we have two wonderful restaurants, within 2 1/2 blocks of our Inn that each serve locally inspired hot breakfasts. We enjoyed hosting your group for its convention this spring.


Absolutely amazing!

5 on April 11, 2011

I stayed at the Green House Inn for a weekend in February and I couldn't have been happier. The Inn is in a great location and close to the French Quarter. The room was clean, service was great and I did not want to leave the relaxing pool area. In my opinion, you will not find a better, cleaner and more personal place to stay in New Orleans. The prices are wonderful, too. I'm already planning my next trip back to New Orleans and I can't wait to stay here!


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

5 on November 18, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Green House Inn. Jeese and Frank were wonderful hosts and offered great advice for 1st time visitors to New Orleans. The Room was perfect and had a great view of the pool. The pool area is so relaxing and we enjoyed the casual "clothing optional" atmosphere allowed by the pool. We can't wait to go back and visit the Green House Inn again.


an amazing B&B

4.0 on June 17, 2010

My husband and I can't say enough about The Green House Inn. We had an incredible stay there due to the service, comfort and laid-back feel. The Inn is close to everything New Orleans has to offer, and yet in a cool and cozy little neighborhood (that a certain celebrity also lives in). The staff at the GReen House Inn go out of their way to ensure you have a nice stay, even the housekeeper! The beds are incredibly comfortable. They have a computer/printer so there's no need to bring a laptop. And you just can't say enough about the pool. It's a tropical paradise................. LOVE this place!!!


Refreshing!

5 on May 18, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a few days in New Orleans with our married daughters and stayed at the Green House Inn. It was a very refreshing change from hotel stays, and we would recommend the Green House Inn to others. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the landscaping is lush, and the location is easily accessible to the French Quarter and the Garden District. It was a short walk to the trolley which we enjoyed taking. Jesse and Frank were friendly and very helpful with directions, restaurant suggestions, and tips for sights to see in New Orleans. It was a most enjoyable stay.


Great stay close to the French Quarter

3.6 on April 05, 2010

We recently stayed at this B & B and were happy overall. It is close to all the sites in NOLA but far enough away for some peace and quiet. The rooms are very nice and the staff is extremely friendly. The pool area is wonderful but please note it is clothing optional and many of the patrons chose to opt out. Our only cons were we had a cockroach in our room two nights in a row but it did not seem to be an infestation and the cleaning staff did not supply us with robes and never refilled the toilet paper. We thought these were pretty small cons and did not take away from our overall experience. I would recommend this location.


Paradise on earth

4.0 on January 06, 2010

I stayed in december with very bad weather, but, the place is so warmfull and beautiful that it did not affect me: I had, with my lover, a wonderfull stay. I highly recommand this very special place, owned by a very special team. You feel better than at home! Go, don't hesitate!Brigitte from France.


Loved Loved Loved It!

5 on November 05, 2009

We stayed at the Green House Inn for the long Halloween holiday weekend 2009. We were warmly greeted and enjoyed our stay very much. We love the place and would definitely come again. Enjoyed the hot tub and pool area; the room was great (we slept beautifully!); the house was impressive and lovingly kept. Great little bar across the street too; streetcars not too far away. Love New Orleans, and absolutely delighted with our stay at the Green House Inn. Frank (the Assistant Manager was warm and wonderful (above and beyond!) and the owner Jesse was great also. We'll be back! Phil & Mavis


Wonderful Inn In the Big Easy

4.8 on September 03, 2009

We recently spent a long weekend at the Green House In in New Orleans. The place was great! Jesse and Frank were great hosts and we loved the clothing optional pool spa area. Fun bar just across the street, short trip to the French Quarter. Great secure parking. Highly recommended.


Awesome experience!

4.8 on August 31, 2009

We recently stayed at the Green House Inn with 7 other couples/friends to celebrate a 50th birthday. Jesse and Frank were very accomodating and made our stay (oh so!) memorable. The inn is quaint and the pool area is the perfect oasis. We will definitely be back!!


Relaxed and just .... was!

4.0 on August 17, 2009

Stayed here last week. Stunning. Great pool, great atmosphere, very relaxed all round. Particularly liked the double shower in my room! A little oasis in the midst of this great city.


A Hidden Paradise!!!

4.0 on August 05, 2009

My wife and I stayed at The Green House Inn for our 10th Anniversary and it was more than we could’ve hoped for! It truly is a hidden paradise! We stayed in The Lotus room and couldn’t have been happier with it! The pool access and privacy were great. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we can’t say enough about Jesse and Frank’s hospitality. They gave us incredible advise on places to eat, tours and experience. But honestly we would’ve been perfectly happy simply laying out by the pool all day (with an occasional walk over to the Bridge for a Mojito refill—and yes, they’re that good). Never have we stayed at a B&B where the slogan fit it so perfectly: stay…relax…just be. We’ve been home a week and we’re already planning our next visit. Jesse and Frank, thank you for giving us our most memorable anniversary to date! We can’t wait to see you both again soon! Soon-To-Be Green House Regulars, Dave & Corbin


A great place to stay

4.8 on August 05, 2009

In a beautiful house in a great location a very "doable walk to the tourist/french quarter. CLose to resturaunts and shops in Magazine street and St Charles Avenue You are able to experince the tourist side of New Orleans and the real side of New Orleans Jesse and Frank are great hosts and the attention to detail in looking after their guests is commendable The garden, spa and pool are great and its just been a wonderful experience to have stayed there


Paradise in NOLA

5 on August 02, 2009

Wonderful historic old house-very well kept. The innkeeper is very caring and takes care to make guests feel like they are at home. The best part of the Green House Inn is the pool area. The plants and the pool make for a perfect paradise stay in New Orleans.


Tranquility and joy

4.0 on May 18, 2009

My husband & I had a lovely time staying at the Green House Inn May 15-17, 2009. We were included and welcomed in a celebration. The food was excellent, and we made new friends. The most memorable part was swimming in the pool with my sonand his fiance (not guests in the Inn) in the evening, then again early in the AM all alone. Jesse is a very gracious host. We will be back! Jackie Stetser


Cool place to stay in hot New Orleans

3.8 on May 06, 2009

Just spend 10 days in New Orleans for Ponderosa Stomp and Jazzfest. We stayed in the Greenhouse Inn for the second time. Great place to come to rest after a day full of music, big crowds, cajun food and burning sun. You drive back to the inn, take a shower and a swim in the pool between beautiful flowers and palmtree and you know life is good. I can highly recommend this place... ook voor alle Hollanders: dit is een geweldig hotel en een heerlijke plek om tot rust te komen in broeierig New Orleans. Paul Pollmann, Amsterdam, The Netherlands


Beautiful inn and excellent service

4.4 on April 28, 2009

We had a great time in New Orleans, and part of that was due to the our stay at the Green House Inn. The have a beautiful garden and pool area that is accessible by many of the rooms, and our room in particular had its own little outside space. What made our stay really special though was the personal touch that Jesse, the owner, and Frank, the assistant, gave. They accommodated all of our needs (including many things that we needed for our 10 month old), and gave excellent advice on where to go in the city. Although the hotel is not located in the French Quarter, you can get there with a 20 min walk (or a $10 cab ride, or a $1.25 street car ride), and there are many things to do even closer to the hotel including a couple of museums, several art galleries, many great restaurants (including Emerill's) and the Garden District is in the opposite direction from the French Quarter. I would definitely recommend a stay at this inn!


Just Like Home

4.4 on April 07, 2009

I was greeted with friendliness that continued throughout my stay. I really lucked in and would say that the Green House Inn is definitely a "diamond in the ruff". Ruff has a special connotation when you stay at the Green House Inn


Fantastic Find

5 on March 25, 2009

Had a wonderful time at The Green House Inn. We had planned on doing more sightseeing, but found we were content to sit and relax by the pool. The landscaping was superb, as well as a beautiful, lived-in home. You have made a charming retreat in the middle of NOrleans. Thank you for your gracious hospitality.


Stupendous!

5 on March 20, 2009

This is the most amazing, relaxing paradise in New Orleans! The friendliest and warmest people run this B&B. It really exceeded my expectations.


Hard to beat

5 on March 13, 2009

We stayed at the Green House for a week and were glad we chose this B&B. Our room was charming, clean and quiet. Jesse was a terrific host. You'd have a hard time finding a nicer place to stay in New Orleans.


Great Place - Highly Recommend

4.0 on February 12, 2009

we decided to not do the typical hotel thing as we were doing a convention in new orleans and we came upon the green house inn - what a great choice we made. as we were off conventioning our wives were given insight into the city that you don't get from some part time concierge - they had a blast the place has charm, nice rooms and the owner and manager complete the package - all four of us will return on our next trip without looking any place else thanks jesse and frank kevin, mary, jerry and janie - hope to see you soon


Inspiring Garden and Great Pool

4.4 on January 24, 2009

The nutshell version: Lush Garden; beautiful salt water pool; easy parking; convenient walking/cabbing to Quarter, Garden & Arts, big comfy bed with great pillows and sheets. Jesse and Frank were perfect hosts. Steuben!!! I loved sweet Steuben! Breakfast was adequate. Here’s the longer story: Once my partner and I decided to go to New Orleans for the end of the year vacation, I entered “salt water pool New Orleans” into Google and voila! The Green House Inn! The inn is a grand house with an easygoing ambiance. I love dogs and so was so happy to wander downstairs and find Steuben there, content to suffer my cuddling ways. We were able to park our car in the lot. The garden is lush and expertly maintained and the pool is wonderful (takes some time to warm up the hot tub but if you plan ahead you’re set). The inn is located conveniently between the Arts District/French Quarter and the Garden District. We used our car mostly but the walking was fine too as the Lower Garden District has some gems for eating and sightseeing. We originally looked for a VRBO as we are picky eaters and like the convenience of a kitchen but really, the inn is a great alternative to a VRBO. It feels like home but you get a lot of extra benefits with the pool and the gracious staff. The neighborhood is away from the hubbub of the city so after you immerse yourself in the “Bon Temps” of the Quarter you can easily escape to your oasis on Magazine Street when it’s time to relax by the pool and retire to your cozy (yet spacious) room in the quiet of the palms. Of course The Green House Inn will always have a special place in my heart because my partner asked me to marry him there. No doubt we’ll return.


Great Place to Stay in the Big Easy

4.6 on December 15, 2008

This was my first visit to the Green House Inn, but it won't be my last! The house is beautiful, the pool/hot tub/garden area is splendiferous, and the Southern hospitality was ever-present.


It was like coming home.

4.8 on October 15, 2008

Wow, is all I can say. I just staid at the Green House Inn for a long weekend. Jesse was a wealth of knowleged and he had great dinner suggestions. The lush tropical pool area was a knockout. It felt like I was staying in the Florida Keys. I will definitely stay here again!


A Very Friendly, Relaxing Stay

5 on October 12, 2008

I stayed at the Green House Inn for two months when I relocated to New Orleans in August/September. What drew me to the inn was its proximity to the French Quarter, but with a good monthly rate, and gated off-street parking. Jesse, the Innkeeper is both friendly and genuine. He's lived in New Orleans his whole life and is extremely knowledgeable and can help you to find whatever it is that you need. There is a wonderful salt-water pool, and hot tub. The grounds of the pool are gorgeous with a large variety of exotic trees and plants. It's only a few blocks from the streetcare and walking distance to the French Quarter. There is a great mix of people staying here. Some are long term stays and I've met several friends, and others are unique and interesting visitors that it is fun to see come and go. The green house inn is accepting of all lifestyles, and you can truly relax and feel at home here. The pool area is clothing optional, so you can go for a swim or soak in the hot tub in the nude if you like. Thinks to keep in mind before deciding to stay here: There are no children at the green house inn. This is primarily due to liability issues that could arise with the pool, not to mention the clothing optional aspect. But it is also an important part of the atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, I don't dislike children, but it is comforting to stay at a place where you can get away from noisy children running around the pool and whatnot. So if you have a child that needs to stay with you, then you'll need to find another place. I don't know what more to say other than you will enjoy your visit to the green house inn. It is a unique oasis separating itself from a typical hotel stay, which is what you should be looking for in a B&B. I've thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, and I've even had my mother book her trip for a week during Thanksgiving here and I wouldn't have my visitors stay anywhere else in New Orleans.


New Orleans at it's best

5 on September 05, 2008

When I relocated from New York City I stayed at The Greenhouse Inn while awaiting my movers. I must say my initial reason for choosing it was that it was pet friendly and since I moved with my dog that was imperative. However, to my delight, I found The Greenhouse Inn to be far more than I could have ever hoped for. Not only is it truly “a tropical oasis”, especially the pool area but the owner, Jesse LeBlanc, may be the most conscientious, caring B & B owner I’ve ever encountered! Not only is his business run professionally, but every one of his guest are treated with warmth & care as to the quality/enjoyment of their stay by the entire staff. The magnificent 1830 house is beautifully maintained in the traditional “New Orleans” style and the beautiful pool area is lush, tropical & inviting. The resident “mayor” Stueben is a lovely “Southern Gentleman” German Shepard who was wonderfully tolerant of my hyper little Daschund. The location is pivotal to anywhere you may want to go in New Orleans, including walkable to the French Quarter but quiet & safe. Another huge plus is there is onsite parking which is quite unusual, especially close to the French Quarter. I would highly recommend The Greenhouse Inn to anyone who wanted a comfortable and true New Orleans experience and will definitely have all my friends stay there whenever they visit me in my new city, New Orleans.


homesweethome

5 on September 02, 2008

I stayed here for a week and it was absolutely wonderful


Great Place

4.0 on August 07, 2008

The Inn was immaculately clean, staff was friendly and attentive. Pool area spectacular.


Such a find!

4.2 on June 13, 2008

From the day I left the Green House Inn I comitted to sharing this wonderful little jewel with others. Unfortunately more than a month has passed and yet the delightful memories of the Green House Inn have not. If your desire is to immerse yourself in true sense of New Orleans and not just the local attractions, this quaint little oasis is the spot to be. The setting is small (nine guest rooms) and is as close to the throngs of the French Quarter as it is to the historic beauty of the Garden District and yet worlds away in its dedication to lush privacy and an easy attitude. The proprietor Jessie and his more than able assistant Dickie were available, gracious and helpful when called apon. The rooms were large, comfortable and styled in the manner of private guest room in a home in Key West or Bimini as opposed to the cookie cutter style of a mid-city hotel. Also, in case you did not pick up on the nuance of the Inn's name, it is very much like being in a greenhouse. For me, it is always a little disconcerting to leave the beaten path of others and try something a little different. But then again why else go to New Orleans? In choosing the Green House Inn I could not be happier that I did very much look forward to returning again.


A hidden gem in New Orleans

4.6 on April 20, 2008

Here's a great example where you can't judge a book by its cover. I've stayed in New Orleans multiple times and was thrilled to switch my reservations from a hotel to this personable and unbelievable place. Yes, the pool and surrounding gardens are even more fantastic in person than the photos you see. I didn't want to leave the property. Jesse, the owner (and "host"), is one of the most conscientious B&B owners you will ever meet. I felt relaxed and certainly "at home." I highly recommend The Green House Inn and look forward to my next visit there.


The Green House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $289
  • Reviews (109) 4.5
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5045251333
  • Fax 1-5045251383
  • Toll free 1-8009661303

Visit Website »

View details

Top