New Orleans Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
80 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Place To Stay

5 on April 01, 2013

I love staying at the New Orleans Guest House. So far I've had the pleasure of staying there 3x over the past few years. The service is wonderful, I love the fresh fruit at breakfast, the hosts are a joy to speak to and the cats make an excellent temporary replacement for my animals at home. I like that the House is located within walking distance of the French Quarter hot spots but that it isn't so close that you're kept awake at night. The rooms are very clean and the prices are reasonable (even when planning a last minute get away on a major holiday).


Fantastic!

5 on March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The New Orleans guest house the weekend and had a fantastic time. Our room was very clean and I am one those people that bring Lysol to spray hotel room, well this time I didn't need it. Breakfast in the court yard was very refreshing. The staff was really friendly and made us feel at home. We truly enjoyed our stay and plan to repeat.


BEST little guest house Indeed!!!

5 on February 25, 2013

As soon as I drove up the the property I was in love! Adorable colorful building set perfectly in a nice quiet safe area right down the street from happening French Quarter. The place was immaculate and the service could not have been better!! Alvin and Bill were sweet as can be!!! So caring and very tentative to all the guest needs. I felt like I had known them forever! My boyfriend and I will never stay anywhere else in New Orleans other than The New Orleans Guest House! The cats living on the property were a huge plus too!!! They helped me not to miss my pets as much :) Thank you Alvin for such a wonderful experience!!!


Excellent place to stay

4.6 on February 14, 2013

The house was very nice and very close to the French Quarters. Alvin was extremely helpful with directions and things to do. We would definately stay in the New Orleans Guest House again.


a great find

4.0 on February 03, 2013

my friend recommended this place to me when i was planning a trip to new orleans. i would definitely stay here again- the owners are friendly but not intrusive, the rooms are tidy and wonderfully eclectic, and the resident cats will come say hello as you sip coffee on the patio.


Geek in the Pink

5 on January 15, 2013

I just had my 3rd stay at the New Orleans Guest House and had another wonderful time. The price is right. The gentlemen who operate the B & B are friendly and go above and beyond to ensure a great stay. The rooms are cute and the resident cat is sweet as can be. I'm looking forward to my next trip. I would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone.


Fabulous Alternative to chain hotels

4.4 on December 15, 2012

My daughter and I decided to go to New Orleans for a weekend getaway. I was looking for affordable lodging and came across New Orleans Guest House. I love b&b's but never thought about staying in one in New Orleans. It was a fabulous stay. The building is aging however, the room was very clean, the staff is fantastic and knowledgable of the city and the breakfast was perfect. I will recommend New Orleans Guest House to everyone I know.


An oasis in busy New Orleans

4.2 on September 13, 2012

Centrally located in a quiet, friendly residential area - an easy walk of about 4 blocks to the French Quarter. Staff were very friendly and helpful, ensuring our stay was very pleasant. A peaceful start to the day with a continental breakfast of fresh fruit, juice, croissant and coffee/tea searved in the garden. Would definitely go back to the New Orelans Guest House and highly recommend to others.


Pink and Perfect!!!

5 on August 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend of the Red Dress Run. It was a perfect location for the run and a perfect location for playing in the French Quarter. We were more than able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The house itself is a marvel in and of its own. There are many small "collections" of different items in the home that are interesting to study and look over. The owners are wonderful, think Southern Hospitality to the very top of the scale! They were so very helpful with anything and everything we asked about. We had the best time on our stay and New Orleans Guest House played a huge part in that! We will be back again in November for The Color Run!


Gem of a Place!

5 on August 09, 2012

Perfect location and off-street parking included -- What more could you want? Ray and Alvin, the owners, made us feel like members of their family.Very entertaining and helpful with restaurant and activity suggetions. A great value -- we'll be back!


AMAZING

5 on July 26, 2012

You cannot find a better place, in a better location, for this value. Rooms are a little smaller than an average hotel room, but it is just enough space for two - quaint would be a good word to describe it. The place is an antique gem, located just blocks from the French Quarter - a perfect walk. The owners are very friendly and accommodating, and the continental breakfast was much larger (and more delicious) than I expected. Overall, a great stay, and we have zero complaints!


A home away from home

5 on June 29, 2012

Me and my wife stayed there a few weeks ago for a long weekend. The location was great..it was quiet, but easily walkable to the French Quarter. Everybody we met who worked there treated us like family, and always was happy to give us advice, directions etc. Felt very much at home there.


Best of the Best!!!

5 on June 29, 2012

This B&B was amazing and very clean...Alvin and Ray are the best..this was our first experience at a bed and breakfast...Every am we were serves the most delicious croissants, fresk coffee and fruit. Lovely!!! Theey were very helpful and informative....We have stayed in 5 star hotels, and this was the cleanest and neatest!!! We will return again!!!!


Trip for two

4.2 on April 06, 2012

Husband and I went for a weekend trip and we loved it. Very quite and cozy,the staff was wonderful. Room was nice but kinda small,but it was clean and the bed was pretty comfy. Breakfast each day was fresh fruit and a croissant to die for!!! just a couple blocks from the main area of French market. Parking area is very small.We loved it and would stay there again!


Would definitely recommend to others

5 on March 31, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in the new orleans guest house. The staff were so friendly and made us feel at home. They gave us a map with great recommendations of places to eat, the rooms were tastefully decorated and it was a very short walk to the French Quarter and Bourbon St. The breakfast was simple but delicious and the cats were very cute!


Fun stay in NOLA

4.0 on March 15, 2012

Never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast before. It was super cute. The courtyard was the best place. 3 streets away from Bourbon. Bedroom was okay. Bed slightly uncomfortable and room was small but clean. Breakfast was good, had good coffee. They served a warm croissant and fresh fruit every morning. Price was right. I would go back again.


Convenient location, excellent service.

4.4 on February 25, 2012

We stayed two nights here before our cruise. The location is just three blocks from Bourbon Street, very convenient for accessing the French Quarter. The room was very clean and the service was excellent. As this is an older property, it could use a bit of maintenance. Overall, though, we enjoyed ourselves and would not hesitate to return to this B&B.


Our winter getaway

4.0 on February 20, 2012

Warm and welcoming. The atmosphere is relaxing and tropical.The hospitality was extremely friendly and helpful.


Wonderful

4.2 on February 02, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much and the location was great for exploring the French Quarter. I am a clean freak and I could find nothing here to complain about as everything was spotless.


Best Service Ever!

3.6 on January 30, 2012

We had a great time! The service here was amazing. The rooms were adequate and the price was amazing for the location and the service. It was a warm and cozy place to stay for couples looking to spend a relaxing trip in New Orleans.


Great little spot in NOLA

3.6 on January 13, 2012

We njoyed our stay here very much and the owners- Alvin and Ray were superb and soooo friendly! They bent over backwards to make sure we were having fun and gave us good tips on restaurants, things to do, etc. The croissant and fresh fruit breakfast was nicely served in the courtyard which is a pretty spot to relax, have a drink , etc. I would reccommend not staying in the upstairs front balcony room because the traffic noise was loud at times. I would reccomend staying in the courtyard. Good value for the money and easy walking to all things in the Qtr.


Excellent

4.0 on January 06, 2012

Great location and great service. The innkeepers were very knowledgeable and helpful.


Changed my mind

4.0 on January 05, 2012

I am not one that likes B&Bs but my mind has been changed after our stay here. The location to Bourbon Street is better than being on Bourbon Street to me. A quiet place but easy walking to Bourbon Street. The owners are some of the best people I have ever met. They made sure we saw did & ate what we wanted. If they could help us they did.


Short stay

4.6 on December 22, 2011

We were only here two nights but it was a very enjoyable experience. The biggest asset is the helpful and knowledgeable staff. Location to Bourbon Street was good - easy walk even at night.


Worth every penny!!!!

5 on October 10, 2011

Stayed 4 nights and worth every penny!!! They bent over backwards to make our stay as nice as possible.... It is a beautiful place to stay and very quaint!!! Perfect walking distance from everything.... You won't find a better place for your money in the French Quarters!!!!!


New Orleans weekend

3.8 on October 03, 2011

I found the service here to be outstanding. Someone was always available to answer any questions we had. Recommendations for places to eat, things to do and see etc were always spot on. I felt like a guest in someone's home. Much nicer than being in a large impersonal hotel.


Great Location

4.6 on October 02, 2011

My husband and I truly enjoyed ourselves in this small utopia. The location is perfect.


Very nice change from Motel to B&B

4.0 on September 24, 2011

It was a wonderful experience after 2 weeks with boring motels, to visit New Orleans Guest House. Great service from Alvin & Howard with regard to what to see and other practicals things in New Orleans. Most things of interest are with walking distance. Helle & Carsten from Denmark


great hospitality!

4.4 on September 19, 2011

Owners were fantastic - very helpful with great knowledge of French Quarter and city. Wonderful experience and beautiful courtyard. Rooms were very clean but could use updating. Overall great experience and highly recommend.


Don't judge a book by its cover.

4.8 on September 08, 2011

The owners of the bed and breakfast were always willing to be of service and extremely courteous. The room exhibited the charm of the French Quarter we were looking for, we felt like we were transported to a European getaway. The room and bed and breakfast was clean, quiet and quaint. Our only complaint would be that the breakfast was simply a continental breakfast. Overall, we will be returning and we enjoyed our stay.


Weekend in New Orleans

4.4 on August 12, 2011

Outstanding B and B. Very friendly staff. Great location. Free secure parking. Highly recommend to any one visiting the quarter.


The innkeepers are great

4.6 on August 02, 2011

Alvin really makes you feel welcome! Very friendly and helpful. My week there made New Orleans my home away from home.


Great place to stay -- just outside the French Quarter

5 on August 01, 2011

Flowered courtyard was beautiful & inviting. Great breakfast (juice, coffee, fruit & croissant) served inside or outside on deck. Staff was friendly & helpful. Highly recommended.


Great Getaway

4.4 on July 07, 2011

We spent a long weekend as guests and could not have enjoyed the stay more. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating it felt like home. The staff was very knowledgeable about the city and its attractions. Breakfast was great every day and the setting was beautiful. If you will be in the city I really encourage you to stay here.


Will definaely stay again!

4.6 on February 22, 2011

Just had a fantastic experience here! Booked online right before Mardi Gras, and alot of places were full, so we were a little worried The room was beautiful, very clean, quaint, but with modern updates. We had our own private balcony, but it was quiet and relaxing, being several block away from all the craziness! The owners and staff were extremely helpful and friendly and gave us lots of good advice since it was our first trip to New Orleans. We were very impressed with their friendliness and level of customer service! Easy and safe walking distance to the French Quarter, with safe parking was a definate plus! Everything definately exceeded our expectations! We did not want to leave and will definately go back!


Nice value, great location!

4.4 on February 16, 2011

The owner and staff were great and exceeded our expectations. We will stay here again on our next trip to New Orleans.


I'll go back

4.0 on February 11, 2011

Very pleased with our stay here. Excellent location, no more than a 15-minute walk to anywhere in the Quarter, CBD or Frenchmen St. area. Easy access by car, free off-street parking a major plus. Room was comfortable, hosts were very friendly and helpful, croissants were awesome. Nice cats too.


New Orleans

4.0 on February 03, 2011

Excellent place to stay for a 2 or 3 day visit to New Orleans. Easy walking distance to everything. I will diffinetly stay there on any future visits to New Orleans.


New Orleans Guest House

3.4 on December 19, 2010

A charming place. So close to the French Quarter! Which includes a luxuriant garden where continental breakfast is served: savory croissants, juice & coffee: awesome!


Great little B&B in the Big Easy!

4.0 on November 14, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay -- the staff was very courteous and willing to help. The rooms were quaint and comfortable. The overall feel of the New Orleans Guest House was just great!


Warm welcome, convenient location

2.8 on November 14, 2010

Great place, great people, few blocks from the French Quarter.


Satisfactory B&B

2.6 on November 06, 2010

We enjoyed the guest house and the complimentary breakfast on the patio in the courtyard.The room was not very clean, though. Light switches, telephone, and TV remote were especially grimy. The innkeepers were helpful about places to eat. All-in-all, it was a satisfactory experience.


could hardly leave the city...

4.8 on October 09, 2010

The beautiful room with the lovely balcony, the location of the hostel, the delicious croissants and fruits every morning, the beauty of the city itself and especially the kindness of the innkeepers led to extending our stay twice! We'll definitely go back there! ;)


Wonderful Stay / Great Hosts

4.4 on August 02, 2010

Great place for a weekend getaway. Enjoyed the service, and hosts were very welcoming. Outstanding location to French Quarter areas. (close enough to periodically run back and forth to freshen up) Look forward to staying there again in the future.


Business Trip/ April 9th 2010

3.8 on May 11, 2010

My husband had to go to New Orleans for business, as usual he waited to the last minute to book a hotel room. To our surprise, they were having the French Quarter festival, so most of the hotels were booked. The New Orleans Guest House was the only thing available near the French Quarter so we booked it. I was a little worried not knowing where it was located, as we drove up, the area seemed a little rough but it was very safe, even for walking at night. From the start of checkin I felt very welcomed. There is someone at the front desk 24/7 so I felt very safe. It is not located in the French Quarter but is within walking distance, about 5-7 blocks. The bed and breakfast is very quaint and I loved the architectural design of the house. The rooms are very big but they have alot of charm and the walls are very insulated because I didnt hear any noise. I fell in love with the decorating and the history of the home itself. The owners are very nice and pleasant and very helpful in providing information. Booking last minute turned out to be a nice surprise, everything happens for a reason and I will definitely continue to go back.


Wonderful Stay

3.8 on April 14, 2010

The hospitality and service were outstanding. Owners/workers were very friendly and helpful. House is decorated beautifully. Would definitely stay there again.


A lovely stay in a lovely place

4.0 on March 30, 2010

My partner and I had a lovely stay at the NOGH. The atmosphere is very warm and friendly, the staff extremely helpful. It's a great little place and we'll definitely go back.


Experienced Travelers Appreciate a Place with Character

4.8 on January 13, 2010

My husband and I visited several years ago and stayed 4 nights in the New Orleans Guest House. I found it listed in New Orleans for Dummies. It lived up to the recommendation for a friendly place with excellent hospitality. We felt comfortable leaving our rental car in off street parking. The breakfast on the verandah was excellent; very French. We could have sat on the verandah all day listening to the fountain, looking at the flowers and the classic New Orleans town house. It's far enough away from the French Quarter that you have quiet evenings for relaxing. New Orleans is one of our favorite places to visit, and the New Orleans Guest House is part of that ambiance.


Charming

5 on December 11, 2009

The place has so much character and the staff is very welcoming and helpful. Everything clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay again. I recommend to others.


great value

4.2 on December 09, 2009

for the location the price is great.


Accommodating staff, but needs more than a spring cleaning

2.4 on November 12, 2009

We stayed at this guest house as an add-on to a business trip for two nights. While we would agree with other reviewers that the neighborhood, which is just outside the Quarter next to Louis Armstrong Park, was fine to walk through, we were very disappointed in the facility itself. The furnishings in each room were fairly nice antiques, but the rooms needed a good turnout and scrubbing. The first room we were placed in was small and very dusty with lace curtains that had turned gray for lack of washing. The bed was extremely soft and saggy and we knew we were in for an uncomfortable, allergy-ridden night. In addition to that, the room was narrow, which meant that getting up from the side of the bed nearest the wall and walking to the bathroom in the middle of the night would guarantee an unfortunate meeting with the window air conditioner. The final nail in the coffinn was the threadbare sheets that had clearly been washed, but still had unidentifiable stains on them. We requested and were given a change of room. The second room was more spacious and somewhat less dusty and the bed was much more comfortable with adequate bedding. We knew not to expect too much from the price and the second room met our limited expectations. The staff were very accommodating with our request to change rooms and very kind about providing early wake-up calls and making coffee for us since we were out the door too early both mornings to enjoy their breakfast. While we made the most of our stay and appreciated the very reasonable cost, we would not stay here again.


New Orleans Guest House

4.2 on November 06, 2009

Been coming here since 1992, whenever visiting NO. great value. Funky, eclectic Victorian with charming innkeepers and convenient walking for the French Quarter.


New Orleans Guest House

4.0 on October 28, 2009

Absolutely charming people and property.


Like our second home

4.8 on October 21, 2009

Wonderful service. Guest house was very tastefully decorated. My husband and I were very sad when we left because we felt so welcomed and like at our second home at the inn. We would always go back.


Perfect

5 on October 17, 2009

Perfect location. Close enough to walk to everything but far enough from Bourbon St to get much needed sleep. Knowledgeable, friendly staff available 24 hours. Cute rooms with subdued decor - don't be put off by the bright pink exterior.


We would definitely go back

4.2 on September 17, 2009

This place was perfect. We were a new couple who decided to go away for spring break. This place was cheap and had free parking so we decided to try it out. We were more that satisfied. Our room, while very small, was clean and had privacy. The hotel is very charming and has an amazing courtyard. Alvin and Howard were both so nice and helpful, giving us tips on where to go. And each morning they personally made us a delicious breakfast with fresh croisants and fruit. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay, especially one within walking distance of Bourbon St.


Great Place to Stay!

3.8 on August 28, 2009

We stayed three nights at the New Orleans Guest House and would certainly go back. It is located right in one corner of the French Quarter. Bourbon Street, restuarants, and shopping were easy to walk to. Alvin was the best host. Every morning he served us croissants, juice and fresh fruit for breakfast. All the rooms has antique furniture and an old New Orleans feels. The price was very good too, especially for the location.


Delightful B&B in New Orleans

4.4 on April 13, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed here. While the room was a little small and there were a few things that needed to be fixed, we very much enjoyed our stay. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast includes croissant, fruit, juice, and hot beverage. There is a refrigerator and other amenities available for lodgers' use. The B&B is located an easy walk to the French Quarters but is not as expensive as most lodging in the Quarters. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to New Orleans!


Would definitely stay here again

4.8 on April 11, 2009

The staff & innkeepers were very helpful to us as "newbies" to their wonderful city. They made us feel very welcome. The overall atmosphere was very hospitable. We liked that we didn't have to pay extra for parking - Bourbon Street, the mall, countless restaurants, music venues, and the Mississippi River are within walking distance. The morning breakfast in the garden was without a doubt our favorite feature. Beautiful!


--

3.8 on April 03, 2009

Nice plants! Very good location. Thanks a bunch.


Highly recommend

5 on April 03, 2009

Very warm homey feeling to this establishment. The owners/proprietors were very helpful and friendly making you feel welcome. Nice and quiet at night. Lovely court yard, beautiful way to start your morning with breakfast on the veranda. We will be staying here again.


Charming and Unique

4.4 on March 26, 2009

This accommodation was ideal for our 4 night stay in New Orleans. It has a charming and unique ambiance and décor – a lovely courtyard with bubbling fountains, flowers and trees. Breakfast outside in these surroundings was a delightful way to start the day. It’s located just at the edge of the French Quarter, beyond any noise at night but close enough to walk to everything. Friendly staff gave helpful suggestions on places to dine and someone was always available for questions. A real treasure for those looking for something other than the usual run of the mill lodging. Would highly recommend it!


New Orleans Guest House

4.6 on March 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed for two days following our Cozumel cruise. Alvin and his staff were extraordinarily helpful in many regards and as courteous as our mothers would like us all to be. Clean, cool, comfy. Seemed as if we were old friends. Great stay!


nice stay

4.0 on February 20, 2009

nice stay


great stay, excellent service

3.8 on February 18, 2009

Great ambiance- lots of fantastic vintage painting, furniture, and decor.


Valentines 2009

4.0 on February 16, 2009

My husband and I booked this room for Valentines Day weekend. An added bonus it just happened to be the first week of Mardi Gras. The bed and breakfast was very nice, clean and the staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean and the flowers were beautiful. If you want a nice comfortable atmosphere for a reasonable price and great service. This is the place!


would stay again

4.4 on January 09, 2009

Quaint, well kept, excellent off street parking, pleasant staff, good food, great coffee and fair pricing.


overall great!

4.2 on December 01, 2008

Conveniently located nest to bus stops and near the French Quarter. Friendly hosts. Eclectic decorations!


New Orleans Guest House

5 on November 17, 2008

This establishment displayed exceptional service, courtesy, and hospitality. highly recommend. We were pleased!


enjoyed our stay

4.0 on November 05, 2008

enjoyed our stay


wonderful hosts

5 on October 31, 2008

charming decor, beautiful courtyard and sumptuous garden with relaxing trickily fountain. will recommend this B&B on edge of French Quarter to all!!


A wonderful getaway

4.2 on August 09, 2008

Alvin was the perfect host, friendly, informative, available, never intrusive. The house is funky, quiet, and cool (welcome on a hot day). Just on the edge of the French Quarter we were within a short walk of most everything we wanted to see while away from the chaos of Bourbon Street. Glad we stayed there!


New Orleans Guest House

3.4 on July 18, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at this older guest house. Nice proprietors! No frilles but everything you need. Excellent value.


Stay at a friend's house in New Orleans

5 on July 05, 2008

The Guest House was convenient to everything in the french quarter yet just far enough from the noise to be a quiet & peaceful place to retreat when we got tired. A remarkable place and a great value. I will be back whenever i go back to New Orleans. John Dyer


Treasure near the French Quarter

4.0 on June 09, 2008

Turning on to the street, the neighborhood looks a little seedy, but the NOGH is a beautiful haven on the edge of the French Quarter. The central garden is charming and quiet. The rooms were great and the proprietors were friendly and helpful. You are only three blocks away from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon St.


New Orleans Guest House.

5 on November 20, 2007

We really enjoyed our visit! As frequent travelers to New Orleans this was by far the most comfortable, relaxed stay, beautifully located to some of new orleans attractions. Thank you!!!!


Well Worth the Price

4.4 on November 05, 2007

The hosts were very hospitable and helpful. It was a charming place with a very nice courtyard garden. The location was very convenient if you want to be near the French Quarter. I would definitely stay there again.


Wonderful Experience!

5 on October 24, 2007

Very friendly, very clean, and an all-around very nice place in New Orleans.


Outstanding!

5 on October 24, 2007

Excellent service, clean, very friendly, relaxed atmosphere.


New Orleans Guest House

5 on October 23, 2007

Al,I would like to thank you and your partner for making our stay in New Orleans an enjoyable one. For anyone visiting New Orleans I very much reccomend the NOGH.The price was very reasonable,the breakfastwas good(especially the freash bananas),and the onsite FREE secured parking.Everything is within walking distance of the inn. The French Quarter is just across the street.


New Orleans Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $59 - $269
  • Reviews (80) 4.4
  • Rooms 14

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5045661177
  • Fax 1-5045661179
  • Toll free 1-8005621177

Visit Website »

View details

Top