La Belle Esplanade Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
62 Reviews

Write A Review

Daughter's Wedding

4.6 on November 14, 2014

The only thing that worried me was the shower. My husband is 77 and I would not have wanted him in that bath tub. I was nervous getting out of it at 54. Loved socializing with the owners! Awesome people! Food excellent! I have been to NOLA 2 times before and stayed at the Sheraton. This was by far my best visit! Gave me the true flavor of NOLA! Would recommend it to anyone!

Innkeeper Response
We've debated exchanging the antique claw foot tub in Les Fleurs Suite that houses the shower but it's a nice place to take a bath. A difficult tradeoff. It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us for this momentous event and we're glad we could play our part. Come back anytime and we'll pick up the conversation where we left off. Cheers! -M&M


A great time

5 on November 13, 2014

Matthew and Melanie were fantastic hosts, so friendly and helpful in their advice. They both sat down with us for a good hour when we arrived, sharing valuable info about NOLA. A very relaxed place to stay - a B&B that doesn't take itself too seriously. Breakfasts were interesting and delicious. The location, though a bit away from the main action downtown, is easy to get to, either by bus (free if you are lucky enough to be over 65), or walking. It is close to some good restaurants and the park and Art Museum.

Innkeeper Response
Nobody is ever in a rush here, probably because it's always pleasant in New Orleans. We love our neighborhood and we're glad you did, too. Come back anytime. We'll be waiting for you. Cheers, -M&M.


really exceeded my expectations!

5 on November 05, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the b&b for three nights. As frequent travelers I would say this is maybe one of the best places I have ever stayed. We found the neighborhood to be quite safe- we walked home from the French Quarter late at night every night we were there never feeling at risk. We were pleasantly surprised at how central it was to were we wanted to go.

Innkeeper Response
We love our neighborhood. Even after living here four years, we never get tired of its many details. We live on a beautiful street. Thanks for writing. We're looking forward to seeing you again. Next time, stay a little longer! Cheers, -M&M.


Delightful

5 on November 02, 2014

Great location, great hosts, great facilities, great breakfast

Innkeeper Response
Short and to the point. Thanks for sharing. We're looking forward to your next visit. With a handshake, -M&M.


Home away from Home

5 on October 31, 2014

Thank you Matthew and Melanie for the Southern Hospitality! This review is long overdue- we spent our 10th anniversary with you all in March of 2013. As a testament to how good the stay was, I am writing the review because it was such a memorable and wonderful stay, I want others to know about it! Since we had lived in NOLA for some time but moved away due to work this was a city we know well. Even still you were incredibly helpful in making our stay so pleasant. The room was a delight. Sipping coffee in the morning on the balcony overlooking Esplanade was a simple joy that reminded me of my life in NOLA before the move. We loved the artwork in the rooms and the beautiful antique furnishings.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much. We're now entering our third year as innkeepers. We've made some changes at La Belle since you were here, all for the better. It's a constant work in progress, but it's never dull. Come back anytime. We'll be happy to see you. Cheers! -M&M.


Special location!!!

5 on October 27, 2014

We had four extravagant wonderful days in one of the best bed and breakfast we ever visited before. Matthew King and Melanie Schmitt are very friendly and remarkable. They gave us a lots of clues and tips what we can see in N.O.. They were really soliciting to us. We loved this staying and the living at La belle esplanade and now in German... W Der Aufenthalt in New Orleans war wunderschön. Die Zimmer sind mit viel Liebe zum Detail ausgestattet und eingerichtet. Eher gesagt, Matthew und Melanie führen dieses supertolle B&B mit sehr viel Herzblut und Charme. Wir werden die morgendlichen Spezialitäten und die ausführlichen Beschreibungen von Matthew mit nicht qualmender Zigarre missen... Herzlichen Dank Maria & Fabian

Innkeeper Response
I read the English half, Melanie read the German half. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We're always honored when people choose our neighborhood over the noise and excitement of the French Quarter or the other, more touristy, districts. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again some day. Auf wiedersehen -M&M.


NOLA Character Away from the Fray

5 on October 25, 2014

I spent three nights here in Mid-October for a conference. I could have stayed at the conference hotel (a name brand chain hotel) but typically choose to stay some place else to give me a local feel to the cities I visit. Never been to NOLA before and LOVED my stay at La Belle Esplanade. It's far enough away from the touristy-ness of the French Quarter without being so far that you can have a nice leisurely stroll through historic parts of the city to all the tourist spots. Hop skip and a jump to the French Quarter and City Park. Melanie and Matthew are amazing. Genuinely love talking to guests and giving inside tips. And the breakfast in the morning is always a treat with locally made items to enjoy. Each room has a unique character to it and so, so sizable to make relaxing from a day of touring so much more an at-home experience. Definitely will come back next time I'm in town.

Innkeeper Response
We love living in New Orleans, and the best part of our profession is being able to share that with the people who stay with us. Thanks for visiting. It was a pleasure to have you and to share adventures. Breakfast is the best part of our day because we get to talk with everyone and see the city through fresh eyes. Come back anytime, -M&M.


Impeccable b and b

3.2 on October 20, 2014

I spent 3 nights in a suite at La Belle Esplanade. It was a perfect Stay. The home was warm, inviting Colorful and comfortable. The hosts were engaging, knowledgeable about what to see and do in New Orleans And a very pleasant couple. I would return anytime !

Innkeeper Response
We try to keep up with everything that's going on in the city at any given time. We're not always successful, because there is so much happening at any given time. It's a city dense with texture and culture. Every neighborhood is different. It's a kaleidoscopic place. Come back anytime.


Perfect place

5 on October 19, 2014

A beautiful house, warm and caring hosts. Spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. An excellent breakfast. Thank you to Melanie and Matthew.

Innkeeper Response
It's always a pleasure to be a New Orleans ambassador to people who are interested in learning more about the city we call home. We love living here and we love to share what we know. Come back anytime. You have at least two friends in New Orleans. Stay here long enough and you'll have many more. Cheers, -M&M.


enjoyable stay

4.8 on September 30, 2014

stayed for 2 nights. great hosts and accommodation. We had car and rode bikes, which made getting around easier. the house if Just a bit too far to walk to back and forward form the French district throughout the day.

Innkeeper Response
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Ours is a quiet and picturesque street. At night, when it's lit up, it's enchanting. Some people take a taxi back from Frenchmen Street at night, $6-8 depending on where you start, less than 10 minutes ride. We look forward to seeing you again, -M&M.


Hard to beat this delightful B&B

4.8 on September 28, 2014

Gracious hosts, great location, extras galore and an historic New Orleans house. Close enough to the craziness, but in a quiet residential neighborhood. Public transit right at the front door. Pleasant walk to City Park and the trolley lines. We will definitely return here.

Innkeeper Response
What we love about our neighborhood is that it's pure New Orleans, a world of its own, close to the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street, but distinct and discreet. We're pleased you got a taste of this magical city we call home and we hope you'll be back...sooner rather than later. There is still plenty more to discover, as you know. You've made two friends in New Orleans. With a handshake, -M&M


In a catagory all it's own!!

5 on August 05, 2014

Don't miss out on this gem if you think your not Bed & Breakfast types, this place is for people who love all things awesome!! Yes, the breakfast that everyone else talks about is great, but that's just the beginning. Everything in La Belle Esplanade has been put there with careful thought and love, by the thoughtful and lovely hosts Melanie & Matthew. They have created a place that becomes a big part of your experience in NOLA. They have taken the time to learn about anything you want to know about this great city. We can't wait to go back for a visit with them, and the city! Oh, and make sure you check out Matthew's front parlor of curiosities.

Innkeeper Response
I just hung a 4'x6' painting in the lobby and bought a new display case. The whole inn is an evolving work in progress of which we're both very proud. We think it gets better the longer we're at this. We always think breakfast is the best part of the day because that's when we can sit down and talk. Come back anytime. With a handshake, -M&M


July visit to La Belle Esplanade

5 on July 30, 2014

New Orleans is all about hospitality. It is without a doubt the friendliest city we have ever visited. Nowhere is this more evident that at La Belle Esplanade. Matthew and Melanie are the perfect hosts. They not only made us feel immediately comfortable in their lovely B&B but also in the city itself. They encouraged us to explore the city and their suggestions led us to places we are sure many tourists never see. They take their inn keeping duties seriously and are out each day themselves exploring places and restaurants themselves. Breakfast, which was sourced from the neighborhood, was always interesting, delicious, and different every day. Each night, a fun treat like taffy from the Roman Candy Cart, was on the nightstand. As good as the food was, the conversations we had with our hosts as we lingered over breakfast were even better. This ranged from what we had seen the day before to what we might see that day to suggestions they had to whatever other topic came up. It truly was like hanging out with friends. We are especially appreciative of their packing us a breakfast that included delicious chicken empanadas to go, sitting over coffee, and calling us a taxi that last morning when we had such an early flight home.

Innkeeper Response
I love it when we stumble across the Roman Candy Cart on our travels about the city. It means we'll have an extra treat for our guests. It tastes best fresh, and that's why we don't always have it. Thanks for visiting. It was a pleasure to have you in the inn, and we're looking forward to seeing you again, and starting up where the conversation left off. Cheers! -M&M


Absolutely lovely place in Tremé

4.8 on July 16, 2014

Matthew & Melanie are asolutely lovely hosts of this super-nice B&B in Tremé. We loved staying in the Clio Suite, wished we could have stayed there a few more days. Wifi worked lite it should, comfy bed, good AC, nice beverages and great breakfast with locally sourced food. Only negative thing is that it is a bit far from most places you wanna go but the bus stop is right outside and cabs are quite cheap.

Innkeeper Response
We recommend guests take the 91 bus to the Garden District because you get to see Oretha Castle Haley Blvd, which is going to be home to the Jazz Symphony and the Southern Food and Beverage Museum next year. It's a street undergoing a rejuvenation, as so much of New Orleans is, post-Katrina. In our neighborhood --- an oyster bar is opening this Sunday. Come back anytime. There's always something going on. Cheers! -M&M


Fantastic short stay

5 on July 14, 2014

My lovely wife and I stayed for just two nights for a short weekend getaway to New Orleans a few weeks ago. Our experience was nothing short of fantastic. From the moment we arrived Matthew and Melanie were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Our room was the Saints suite, which has two large rooms, an antique canopy bed and a wonderful balcony with a cool vertically sliding window to get out to it. The place is in the Treme area, which is full of beautiful, very old homes. We spent quite a bit of time walking around the area checking them out. There's a cool older cemetery about 15 minutes up the street, and a little farther past that is City Park. There are some wonderful cafes and local restaurants that Matthew recommended, which were fantastic. We always felt safe, even walking around at night. Breakfast is not your typical B&B fare, but the best of local breads, pastries, cheeses, fruits and other wonderful foods. One morning Melanie served us the best crab cakes I've ever had, the previous morning we enjoyed a variety of delicious, locally made sausage. There was a Vietnamese pastry that was one of the tastiest things I've ever had. The coffee with chicory had me going for a second and third cup - and I gave up coffee three years ago! If you're looking to party all night in the French Quarter and stagger back to your room this is probably not the best place for you. If you're looking to experience the local culture, see some things off the beaten path and do the non-touristy things, but still be close to everything, you'll love it. The location is equal walking distance to the Quarter and some of the cool local places in the Treme area (Lil Dizzy's, Willie Mae's Scotch House). It takes about a half hour to walk to Bourboun street, and about that far to City Park. Our two days there were only enough to get a taste of the area but we'll definitely be back, and will be staying here again without question.

Innkeeper Response
Someone recently said that we curate breakfast, and we like the sound of that. We try to present different flavors of the city and it's neighborhoods. Everything is creolized in time, but there's more to New Orleans cuisine than just red beans and crawfish... of course there is always room for those, too. Come back anytime, -M&M


Extraordinaire!

5 on June 22, 2014

What a gem! This bed and breakfast in is in the Treme area of New Orleans and is absolutely delightful. The innkeepers, Matthew and Melanie are quite knowledgable about the city. We incorporated some of their suggestions into our visit and we had a lovely visit. The breakfasts are interesting too. All the products come from local vendors, bakers, and markets and Matthew and Melanie are able to give a history of what the item is and who makes it. I have been to New Orleans several times and this was my most delightful stay. The rooms were spacious and clean and decorated with lovely antiques of the area. And COLORFUL! Like New Orleans!

Innkeeper Response
Good guests make good company. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you'll visit with us again. You have two friends in New Orleans. -M&M


A Brand New NOLA Experience

5 on June 21, 2014

It's been two weeks now since we stayed in New Orleans at La Belle Esplanade, and we haven't stopped talking and thinking about our visit. Time to write a little bit for the others who may be considering a trip. For the B&B, I will simply echo the great things people share about it. The house is a beautiful structure in the unique style found in the Treme neighborhood. The colorful suites are charmingly appointed with antiques and artwork, many of the porcelain facilities have nearly a century of reliable service. The spaciousness of the rooms extends in three dimensions with 12 foot ceilings, our antique bed had a brand-new mattress, and the air-conditioning worked great! It is not the Ritz; La Belle Esplanade has much more authentic class. (If your heart is set on the plush modern comforts of the Ritz--and who can blame you--then La Belle Esplanade might feature more authenticity than you are looking for.) At breakfast, which is procured fresh each morning from local merchants, along with freshly brewed chicory coffee and juices, we discovered why we chose La Belle Esplanade. Our hosts Melanie and Matthew, who live in the house next door, showed us warm hospitality and an eagerness to open up the city and its neighborhoods. We enjoyed listening to their detailed descriptions and generous opinions about various opportunities we might attempt in the day ahead, and we were more than pleased with the recommendations we followed for dining, entertainment, and an increase in our cultural knowledge of New Orleans.

Innkeeper Response
We love our neighborhood and it always makes us happy when other people fall in love, too. There aren't too tourists, so there aren't (m)any signs to explain things, but it's very rewarding to poke around. Come back anytime. Cheers, -M&M


What?

4.8 on June 03, 2014

Convenient location near the quarter, but not in the quarter. House and furnishings are antique and authentic. Hosts are outstanding.

Innkeeper Response
This is the best review I've read in a long time just for the title. Thanks. -M&M


Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler at La Belle Esplanade

5 on June 02, 2014

My husband and I just completed our first trip to New Orleans. We travel a lot, and seek out B and B's that are historical and inclined to vintage. This time we went for historical, vintage, and eclectic! And are we glad we did! We had an early arrival in New Orleans, but as our cab pulled up, Matthew came right out to greet us. After helping haul our luggage in, he immediately pulled out a map and showed us the lay of the land. He had wonderful suggestions for seeing the city that aren't always highlighted in the travel guides...a quaint local museum, neighborhood parades, and close-by restaurants with delicious food. Then he showed us our room...we chose Clio with its raspberry walls and purple ceiling in the large bedroom, and bright green walls in the spacious sitting room. there was a private balcony where we sat and watched the comings-and-goings on Esplanade Avenue. The bed was comfy, and the sitting room was perfect for planning our days and unwinding at night. Each morning, we were treated to local specialties, with Matthew giving a daily "tour" of the savory selections that they had collected the evening before or that morning. We had pickled quail eggs, doughnuts baked by two cops, jams and jellies prepared by sweet local ladies, local sausage and cheeses, indigenous fruits, and freshly baked breads My favorite was the olive salad served on fresh zucchini patties....mmm-mmm! Matthew and Melissa are the consummate hosts. They gave us their phone numbers should we need to reach them during the day, and they were available personally each morning to answer questions and offer suggestions. This transplanted couple could not be more proud of, or awed by, their adopted city; and they are well versed in every aspect of it. Over breakfast, we had long, interesting discussions of the culture and traditions of New Orleans, and we left there feeling that we had made two dear friends. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

Innkeeper Response
We're proud of all we've accomplished since we became innkeepers. It's a very rewarding profession and one we enjoy. We hope we'll see again the next time you come to New Orleans. Cheers, -M&M


"Home Away From Home"

4.2 on May 28, 2014

Me and my Wife really enjoyed our stay at this B&B. The Hosts were not only very welcoming but very knowledgeable about the city and gave us many options on where we could visit during our stay. We were greeted on our arrivial and were taken on a tour of this beautiful property. Everything is exactly how pictured and is a sight for sore eyes. The room was very cozy and comfortable, and breakfast was a delight due to good food as well as company. We shared lots of laughs as well as history with Matthew & Melanie. It also was a plus that they were native New Englanders which made us feel at home even more. They gave us everything we needed to know, the best places to dine, must sight sees, and made our trip have long lasting memories. Even the couple of rainy days didn't stop us from having a great time and there kind, positive, respectful spirits made it worth it. I would recommend this place to anyone who's looking for a safe, relaxed, getaway while you explore the "Amazing" City of New Orleans!


Best place for first time stay in New Orleans

4.6 on May 23, 2014

From the minute you walk in Matthew and Melanie make you feel welcome. They ask you what your plans are for the day and they give you a map showing you how to get there. They make sure you know how to reach them if there is a problem (we had none), but also let you enjoy your stay. You never feel as if someone is watching you and even the way the rooms are split (2 up our stairway and 2 up the other), you feel as if you almost have the house to yourself. La Belle is halfway between the French Quarter and City Park. About 10 minutes for us to get to either one (although we really didn't clock it. The houses are so wonderful to look at that we didn't care about the walk). We chose the pelican room. The bed is a full size antique bed, my husband is 6' and we are both "average size" and we fit just fine. Also, the mattress was very comfortable. There is a small refrigerator with some beverages in it that we were welcome to and there were candies on our bed every evening. In the morning, they serve breakfast from 8:30-9:30. If you need to be somewhere earlier, they are accommodating, just let them know. Breakfast here is like a mini food tour and my husband an I thoroughly enjoyed it. They get most of the foods from local shops/ markets and you get mini stories with the items. They support local businesses and give you a taste of New Orleans at the same time. We asked about tours and they gave great suggestions (Friends of the Cabildo for French Quarter and Free tours by foot for Garden District). We asked for restaurant suggestions based on what we wanted and/or what area of town we were going to be in and they hit it spot on. A BIG thank you to Matthew and Melanie for making our first trip to New Orleans so enjoyable. We genuinely believe we would not have had such a great time without them!


Comfort, Convenience, Charm

5 on April 26, 2014

These qualities were what we were looking for in our NOLA stay and we found the three C's in La Belle Esplanade. Melanie and Matthew were charming hosts offering helpful insights about the city as they hosted simple morning repasts that tided us over till the feasting began later on. Comfy beds, spacious, well-appointed suites and a short walk to the epicenter of NOLA action.


Amazing gem in New Orleans

5 on April 24, 2014

My sister, her husband, my husband and I just spend the nicest week in New Orleans at La Belle Esplande. Both Matthew and Melanie were the most accomodating hosts - wonderful breakfasts, beautiful room and house and lots of great suggestions on places to eat and things to do. One of my favorite things was that they have 6 bikes that you are able to use to explore the city! We defintiely took advantage of those and got to do our own city tour a few of the days. Also, the location of the B&B is great - about a 20 minute walk to the French Quarter in one direction and then about a 15 minute walk to City Park and all of the Museums and Gardens there! And if you take the bikes it takes about 5 minutes for each! If we come back to NOLA, we will definitely be staying at La Belle Esplanade - thank you Matthew and Melanie for making our trip so fun and memorable!


Outstanding in every way.

5 on April 23, 2014

If you like a well-located, beautiful and funky place with knowledgeable owners who know just when to be present and when to leave you alone, stay here.


Lovely place and delightful hosts

5 on April 14, 2014

Hosts Matthew and Melanie made our stay at La Belle Esplanade one of the most enjoyable that I've had at a B&B. Their assistance with places to see and things to do in New Orleans as well as sitting with us each morning during breakfast just to chat and hear about our experiences made us feel like "family." La Belle Esplanade is beautifully decorated, with interesting and intriguing pieces throughout the entire house. The beds were comfortable and the suites were all spacious and charming. The breakfasts were delicious, consisting of local foods such as crab cakes, sausage, and pastries as well as fruits, cheeses, and breads. I will definitely stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Our favorite part of what we do is talk at breakfast. We get to share what we know about the city, and we get to see it through fresh eyes by learning your adventures. Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again. -M&M


THE best place to stay in New Orleans.

5 on March 26, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the belle esplanade. During a trip to celebrate my 30th we toured quite a lot of the states and we can both honestly say this was our favourite accommodation. Matthew and Melanie were gracious and informative hosts throughout giving us valuable local knowledge during our six nights stay over Mardi gras. Breakfast was served in a welcoming dining area and each day guests and hosts swapped stories from the day before informing everyone of hidden gems to seek out. Every morning a local delicacy was also served, each one with a story on who produced the food, favourites included the maple and bacon donuts and the crawfish pie. We stayed in the Clio suite which had a very big sitting room and a bedroom with a balcony looking out onto Esplanade Avenue. The rooms felt authentically New Orleans and were extremely comfortable. The house is walking distance from Frenchman street and is in a very friendly neighbourhood. We would both highly recommend staying at this bed and breakfast as it surpassed our hopes and expectations. Don’t be tempted by a generic hotel, choose La Belle Esplanade and you will meet with two of the nicest hosts that you could hope for. 5 STARS

Innkeeper Response
Clio is a nice suite (not that any of them aren't nice) and we're glad you enjoyed the new leather furniture we put in the sitting room. You had some really great Mardi Gras adventures-- the kind we hope will provide a lifetime of good memories. If you are ever in the States again, consider coming back to New Orleans. There is still plenty to do. With a handshake, -M&M


Wonderful Weekend Stay

5 on March 25, 2014

This place was awesome for the price. We got an opportunity to experience the history of New Orleans first hand in this mansion built in 1883. The colors and furnishings were beautiful and the view of Esplanade Avenue was perfect from the porch. Matthew and Melanie made us feel right at home and made sure we had everything we needed to start enjoying the city. The only issues we had were with catching a taxi back to our room the first night. It was only a mile from the French quarter, but after walking all day, we were spent. We drove around the rest of the weekend.

Innkeeper Response
You did walk a lot exploring your father's old haunts. We hope he comes with you next time to see how much has changed (and how much hasn't). At least you can give him a full report. And you can take him to Gene's Po' Boys. Until then, with a handshake, -M&M.


an utter delight!

5 on March 08, 2014

For me, a sixty year old woman traveling alone, safety is almost as big an issue as comfort. At this lovely and tasteful b and b, I got both. Although I experienced great privacy and respect, I also felt cared for and as if I had friends in the city. The longer I stayed, the more I came to love my accommodations and appreciate my hosts. Melanie and Matthew are interesting and interested. It was fun recounting the events of the day before at breakfast, and meeting the other guests. My suite was amazing and the long hot baths after a day of walking were incredible. There were so many nice details. I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone wanting an authentic peek into a wonderful city.

Innkeeper Response
Glad you could reconnect with the city and feel it's magic again. You went about your Mardi Gras adventures the right way, seeing things that most people aren't privy to. Nice work. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. It was nice to meet your son, too! Stay with us next time you visit. After that, maybe one day we'll be neighbors! Cheers, -M&M


Lovely Lady LaBelle Esplanade

4.8 on March 05, 2014

We enjoyed a blissful 3 days and nights at the beautiful LaBelle Esplanade. The suite allowed us each a quiet separate sleeping space and the bathroom and refrigerator and porch were nicely shared.

Innkeeper Response
We're glad you had enough room after the redecorating. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and chat in the mornings. If either of you come back to The City That Care Forgot, you know where you have two friends. -M&M


The Real New Orleans

5 on February 28, 2014

If you are going to New Orleans, THIS is the place to stay. It was a wonderful experience. We couldn't have been more happy with our hosts or the place itself. So many great little things that make it special. Matthew and Melanie will definitely show you how to really see New Orleans the right way! We really feel like we lucked out by finding this place. Being a tourist, i'm glad we didn't just stay in the most obvious place like the French Quarter. If you are going to do New Orleans, do it with Matthew and Melanie at La Belle Esplanade!

Innkeeper Response
It's a big city and it's full of so many details, not counting all the stuff that goes on under the surface. It takes awhile to get acclimated to New Orleans but it doesn't take much time at all to fall under its spell. Don't think of yourself as a tourist, but as a guest in our fair city. That's what you are and it's how you should be treated. A votre sante, M&M


Taken care of

5 on February 27, 2014

A great stay at La Belle Esplanade. They take the time to know you and want from your visit. They have nice large rooms in a historic house on Esplanade. You are not going to get this kind of service or attention at larger hotels for twice the price. can't wait to go back

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to share. We try to offer a boutique experience rather than just something off the rack. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Don't be a stranger! -M&M


First time at a B&B…will definitely be back!

4.6 on February 22, 2014

Fantastic in all respects! A great experience!

Innkeeper Response
We like it when we're someone's first B&B experience. Then we aren't only ambassadors for our city but also for our industry. We're glad we performed well on both counts. Cheers! -M&M


My new Crescent City home away from home

4.2 on February 10, 2014

I searched for hours and hours before selecting La Belle Esplanade. Upon arrival, I was relieved to find beautifully appointed, spacious and well located suites with plenty of parking. Matthew and Melanie are the perfect hosts, whose enthusiasm for their newly adopted city is infectious. Each morning, I looked forward to the day's local treats which were carefully curated for breakfast as well as to the insider tips and perspectives generously offered by my hosts. I'm already planning my next visit to NOLA and La Belle Esplanade. Thanks again Matthew and Melanie for helping to make my birthday unforgettable.

Innkeeper Response
I just figured out how to respond to these reviews! Sorry to take so long. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We are very proud of the inn and we love living in New Orleans (which apparently shows). We're glad to hear that we're in your plans because good guests make good company. Until that time, a votre sante, -M&M.


Great hosts

4.4 on January 22, 2014

This B&B is great, it's location is well located When you arrive the hosts give you a great orientation to New Orleans and also the property Room was upstairs and was tastefully decorated The stairs up to it were narrow but is was also a feature of the house A few drinks and nibbles left by host was appreciated Breakfast was good and we were left a little package the morning we left early Our hosts were sensational


A wonderful experience at 'La Belle Esplanade'

5 on January 20, 2014

We had a great 3-day stay at "La Belle Esplanade", drawing from Melanie's and Matthew's amazing hospitality! The rooms are wonderfully furbished, spacious, and have all the conveniences you can ask for. The small fridge was filled with free complementaries on your arrival. An absolute highlight is the breakfast buffet that is filled with a variety of local delicacies. We also used the free bikes to discover the city. La Belle Esplanade is located in beautiful Tremé with a number of good restaurants, as well as the New Orleans Museum of Art just down the road. It is also just a short walk to the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. We highly recommend this BnB.


Wonderful friendly & eclectic

4.4 on January 12, 2014

The hosts Matthew and Melanie have worked really hard to make a unique & spic environment. We lived this place. Also perfectly located to explore NOLA. Not so close to the French Quarter that you're sowed up by tourists, but still at the centre of the action.


Thanksgiving in NOLA

4.2 on December 05, 2013

First time staying in a B&B. Had a lovely experience. Mathew & Melanie were very pleasant, we had breakfast together every morning and they were always ready to help us decide on where to go and what to do. La Belle Esplanade is a charming, comfortable house.


The very best of New Orleans

5 on November 13, 2013

Absolutely my best bed and breakfast experience ever. Matthew and Mellenie were fantastic inn keepers. Interesting conversation and great tips on local attractions! Fantastic unexpected breakfast menus with a complete New Orleans flair and flavor! My wife and I will enjoyed our stay immensely and will visit again as soon as possible!


Vive la Belle Esplanade!!!

4.6 on November 01, 2013

J'ai passé une semaine à la nouvelle-Orléans et je suis absolument heureux d'avoir eu la bonne fortune de choisir ce gîte. Très bien situé, sur une des belles avenues de la ville, et ni trop loin ni trop près des centres d'attractions, ce gîte me convenait parfaitement. Petit extra qui a fait mon grand bonheur, le gîte dispose de vélos, lesquels on peut utiliser à notre guise. Et je ne pourrais pas terminer cette note sans souligner le plaisir que j'ai eu toute la semaine durant à côtoyer les hôtes de l'endroit Mélanie et Matthew.


Fabulous!!

5 on October 28, 2013

Matt and Melanie were warm and welcoming, making us instantly comfortable. Melanie greeted us with glasses of sweet wine and biscotti while Matt went over the details of New Orleans. He gave us a map and reviewed a plethora of local information – restaurants, things to see/do, walking tips, etc. We got a tour of the beautifully decorated home and yard/garden. The Saints Suite was spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated - colorful, fun and eclectic! It had a large sitting room with TV, fully stocked fridge (no additional charge for snacks, water, wine, beer, etc.), coffee maker and then a separate bedroom. We had a private balcony, a large private bath with claw foot tub (with the best bath towels!). Sink was outside the bathroom making it easier for us to both get ready. Breakfast was fabulous! Every day they had several locally made specialties – breads, jam, sausage bacon/maple donuts and a homemade dish like muffaletta, crawfish quiche… For those picky eaters who just want Kellogg’s cereal or Greek yogurt, that is available too. We had an early tour one morning. When I mentioned that we would be missing breakfast, Melanie prepared a bag of snacks for us to take with us! Matt and Melanie sat at breakfast and chatted with everyone each morning; truly a lovely couple who make you feel like you have been friends for years. We found the location to be excellent. A very safe area only a mile from the FQ and near CityPark. Quiet and peaceful on a beautiful street in a neighborhood that has great local restaurants and bars. We found the walk to the French Quarter and City Park to be lovely. The cab ride back to the hotel was under $10. We used the complimentary bikes. They are 1 speed Huffy’s – perfect to get from point A to point B, probably not so great if you planned to do some long bike rides. I feel one would be hard-pressed to find a better stay or nicer hosts elsewhere. Just an all around great experience. We will definitely stay here again!


Outstanding

5 on July 30, 2013

Excellent location, rooms and service.


bike are included - nice

4.4 on June 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the La Belle Esplanade. This grand home has lots of charm and it is situated in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the French Quarter and the city park. We really enjoyed our daily walks/bike-rides along the historic Esplanade.


Surpasses Every Expectation, WOW!

5 on April 06, 2013

I had never stayed at a B&B before, only considered it because all the hotels sub $300-400/night were booked. SO, I went out on a limb and booked a room at La Belle Esplanade. Didn't know what to expect but as soon as we arrived, the place and it's hosts exceeded every expectation. In under 30 seconds they made a great impression, offering us a complementary glass of delicious, New Orleans local wine while we waited for check in. The house was gorgeous and the room so nice that I felt compelled to tell them that the online photos don't do them justice. Had a complementary crew brew from our fridge on the little balcony, nice shower and a couple of days of amazing hospitality. Breakfasts were fun, delicious with a nice selection... they even had some sweet bikes that they let us use for free (highly recommended! My girlfriend and I went for a "quick bike ride" that turned into a five hour tour of awesomeness, so much to see - thanks Matthew for recommending a nice touring route!). All in all, when I go back to NOLA I will go back to La Belle Esplanade and I'd recommend it to anyone. Thanks Matthew and Melanie for all the great memories! /Orion and Lisa


Delighted by La Belle Esplanade

5 on April 04, 2013

Highly recommend this charming, clean,secure B+B. Owners were very accommodating with info of New Orleans and things to see and do. Small little touches we're a pleasant surprise, ie...candies on your pillow, delightly filled refrig, bikes for riding, a private courtyard. The owners both met us in the kitchen each morning for a breakfast with a New Orleans flair! The owners are unpretentious, easy to talk and laugh with.


from Wisconsin

4.8 on April 01, 2013

Wonderful!


Wonderful Place to Stay

4.2 on February 24, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast was in a great location. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable. They were able to recommend things to do and places to eat. The breakfast every morning was delicious, and came from local bakeries. Overall, I was very impressed!


Colorful place

4.6 on February 19, 2013

Matthew was tremendously helpful in offering advice and recommendations. Beautiful property, great location. We especially enjoyed borrowing the bikes for a ride all the way to the Lake.


best stay I ever experienced anywhere!

5 on February 18, 2013

I was warmly greeted, shown around the property, introduced to wonderful local foods at breakfast (the owners go out of their way to buy from various local markets), given lots of opportunities to ask about local history and events, and upon leaving was made welcomed to return again ... And I will! The property is in a quiet and clean location north of the French Quarter if the owners did not have the answer to my questions they took a sincere interest in finding it. The bed and living area are comfortable and beautiful. This is the best place to stay ever!!


Winter Getaway

4.8 on January 28, 2013

Lovely, lovely b&b with a perfect location and the most hospitable and accommodating owners! Treat yourself to a unique and most pleasant getaway by booking here! Walking distance to the French Quarter was wunderbar and biking to Lake Ponchetrain was a highlight. Definitely the "bell" of Esplanade!


Love at first sight!

5 on January 24, 2013

Truly, it was love at first sight with this wonderful Bed and Breakfast! I was planning a romantic getaway for my husband and I. So luckily, after staying up til 3am I came across this bold, colorful and quirky B&B and immediately was drawn to its allure. If you are looking for the typical modern hotel room drowning in your typical neutral flat colors, this is not the place for you. WE loved that the house was a part of New Orleans history. The owners worked hard to furnish to fit the culture of New Orleans. We did stay in the Les Fleurs room which was one of the bigger suites and while it was directly across from the eating area, one could easily shut the doors separating the sitting room and bedroom. We could have easily moved into this room. And to top it off, the owners Melanie and Matthew, were beyond accommodating. They worked hard to take our interests in mind to make personalized recommendations, something that you cannot get at anywhere hotel. Melanie, made the best breakfasts providing an assortment of local eats: crawfish pies, boudin balls and the fluffy biscuits! We enjoyed the morning chats that made us feel like we longtime friends stopping for a visit. And they even had us come back to get directions to a tire shop for the nail in my tire. Needless to say, we plan on making this trip a yearly tradition and once my husband confirms his vacation time we are going to book our room for next year. If we could come by every weekend we would do so in a heartbeat and we would not stay anywhere but here. Although, I am writing on the behalf of my husband and I, my husband was beyond thrilled with the place and loved his surprise stay here. Looking forward to succumbing to the charm of a new suite!


Couldn't have been better

5 on December 31, 2012

I can't think of enough good things to say about this beautiful bed and breakfast. From the moment my husband and I arrived, Matthew and Melanie made us feel completely welcome and at home (a big deal for me, as I'm somewhat shy around new people). Neither of us had ever been to New Orleans, and Matthew and Melanie gave us fantastic suggestions for things to do and places to eat outside the French Quarter and off the beaten path. We tried to do everything they suggested, as we quickly discovered how great their recommendations were. Matthew and Melanie are clearly and infectiously passionate about New Orleans. Thanks to them, by the time we left we felt like we had a great sense of the city. The rooms are all charming and elegant and filled with local artwork and character. We stayed in the La France suite, which was perfect for us (this was also a big deal: I was writing a paper, and so spent more time in the room than I might usually. I was always comfortable and happy to be there). We also borrowed two bikes and spent a fantastic day cruising through the garden district. Breakfast every morning was a feast of delicious, fresh local foods, including some dwarf oranges from their own garden. It reminded me of the breakfasts my husband and I had on our honeymoon in France. Even better than the food, however, was the conversation, and the very best part of our stay was our leisurely chats with Matthew and Melanie every morning. We can't wait to come back. Thanks for everything! -Haylie and Ross


La Belle Esplanade

5 on December 06, 2012

We've stayed in New Orleans many times, mostly near the French Quarter and the Garden District. Our favorite places have been in the lower Garden...until our stay at La Belle Esplanade. We had a last minute opportunity to get to the city and Matthew was incredibly helpful in making the arrangements. The B&B is in Treme, a part of the NOLA we had not explored. Matthew gave us tips on where to go and made us feel at home. The inn is funky and wonderful. Clean! (not always the case in NOLA). The breakfast was a delight...and the coffee was true New Orleans. We will definitely return to La Belle Esplanade. Next time we hope to linger a while.


Best of the best!

5 on November 11, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at La Belle Esplanade. Everything; from the pretty Pelican-suite to the breakfast, the clening and the bikes was perfect. For us the location just outside the french quarters was great, we biked everywhere, day and night, and it was so easy and relaxed. The owners, Melanie and Matthew, are great. To meet up with them every morning at brekfast just added that little extra something every day and their friendlyness and knowledge made our vacation even better! We stayed at La Belle Esplanade for a week and if we go back to New Orleans we will most definitely stay there again! /AnnaMaria and Johan, Stockholm


An incomparable way to experience New Orleans

4.8 on November 11, 2012

Do you want to experience New Orleans like a local? Are you sick of big chain hotels and corny walking tours of the French Quarter? Matthew and Melanie will treat you like family, and like good family, let you in on all of the secrets New Orleans has to offer. I am a New Orleans expat who was back visiting friends for a long weekend, and I was amazed at how truly interested they were in sharing the special place that is New Orleans with anyone who enters their home. And speaking of, Matthew and Melanie don't just run a B&B, they run a home. La Belle Esplanade is a Creole beauty of a home, wonderfully and locally decorated. They take pride in displaying the local culture, and the accomodations were always immaculately clean and tended to. They truly enjoyed chatting over a breakfast overflowing with local fruits, vegetables, and foods. Their attention to detail is obvious everywhere, from local jams at breakfast, pralines on your pillow, local beer in the fridge, and bicycles for you to experience New Orleans like a local. They are happy to give you the inside scoop on where to go for a local dinner or where to catch the second line and dance your tail off on a Sunday afternoon. The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable, just as amenable to spending a relaxing afternoon on your private porch with a cup of coffee as hitting the town. In all my travels back to New Orleans, I have never felt so at home (aside from sleeping on a friend's couch) as I did at La Belle Esplanade. When my friends ask me where to stay in New Orleans and what to see, I recommend no place more than La Belle Esplanade, and Matthew and Melanie will help you with any and everything you need. I look forward to staying there next time I go back to my fair city. A bientôt, Andy


A very good surprise!

4.4 on November 07, 2012

A very pretty Creole style house. Very comfortable and clean. Location is good and you can easily cycle to NOLA's points of interest. The owners are really really nice and will give you all information you need while having an amazing breakfast every morning. We really had a great time there. The only slight negative point I would mention is the bath tub which is kind of "old style"... J&L from Paris FR


Our First B&B Experience was Exceptional

4.8 on November 04, 2012

This was the first time we'd stayed at a b&b mainly due to working for a worldwide hotel chain that gives me free rooms as an employee, and I was delighted with the whole experience. A lot of what I wanted to put in the review has already been said by other reveiewers (delicious local delicacies for breakfast, very cool innkeepers, clean rooms that are decorated uniquely). We took advantage of the balcony outside of our rooms and were lucky to have decent evening weather to sit out there and enjoy cocktails. We had a car and didn't want this leg of our trip to be in the french quarter so the location was perfect for us. I never felt that we were in a bad part of town - come on, it's New Orleans and a person should always be careful of their surroundings. I would definetely stay here again and recommend it to friends.


Les Fleurs Suite at La Belle Esplanade is "Trés Somptueux"

4.2 on October 24, 2012

I had to use google translate to find just the perfect phrase to describe our brief stay in new Orleans at La Belle Esplanade. We found this serendipitous spot only days before our arrival, and were most pleasantly surprised, indeed! The innkeepers, our hosts--Mathew and Melanie, albeit new to this endevour, are clearly well-suited to it--gracious, charming, and enthusiastic about New Orleans and thier fine establishment, still in the process of finishing touches. Our suite was lovely, we especially enjoyed the micro-patio in front where we could sit and observe the passing streetlife, and the courtyard in back was also a welcome addition. Breakfast was regional and quite eclectic--I can't say I've ever enjoyed gator balls and spicy qual eggs for breakfast before this, but it makes for great travel tales! We will most certainly return, perhaps for JazzFest--and do highly recommend La Belle and her lovely hosts!


What a Fantastic Experience!

4.8 on October 23, 2012

I have to admit I came to La Belle Esplanade with no expectations. What I found was an engaging, friendly and dedicated couple who clearly have unbridled passion for not only the city they only recently call home, but also for providing guests an experience that instills that excitement and delight. All the antes to a good B&B are there—clean rooms, great amenities, prompt service, delicious breakfasts. Local drinks and snacks are added to your room at no cost. Breakfasts are large and varied, with local pastries and even some oddities (we got to try pickled quail eggs!) The best part, however, was the service. Matthew and Melanie are always on hand to give local suggestions and listen to your new finds, explain and describe the building and food choices, and help with any issues you may have. If you stay at Belle Esplanade, chat them up at breakfast—you won't regret it. The only possible complaint could be the location—it's not close to the Quarter. But for us, this wasn't a complaint, as it allowed for easy access to Tremé and the history on Esplanade, it encouraged bike exploration, and most locations were a quick cab ride away (when we called the cab companies, they almost always had a cab in 5 minutes or less). Overall, I couldn't recommend La Belle Esplanade more.


great experience

5 on October 23, 2012

the room was beautiful, fully equipped and with complimentary drinks. the breakfast of high quality and with a freshly cooked special everyday different. complimentary bikes added great value to our New Orleans experience. Hosts were always ready to provide tips and advices for visits.


My best lodging experience

4.8 on October 22, 2012

My best lodging experience (including hotels I visited). Belle Esplanade is located in an inspiring neighbourhood frequented by Edgar Degas in the 19th century. Looking at the beautiful villas the reason for Degas stay is evident. Hosts arranged guest pleasant surprises, such as crab cake and Louisiana doughnuts for breakfast. Rooms have very high ceilings and a balcony offering much needed coolness. New Orleans seems to be expensive, but "the beautiful esplanade" offers value for your money.


The Belle of the Crescent City

4.2 on October 16, 2012

We just spent three days and two nights in the enchanting city of New Orleans and our stay at La Belle Esplanade was the icing on the cake. The owners, Matthew and Melanie were excellent hosts, and attended to our every need, though there was not much we needed that was not already provided. The rooms, well appointed, were clean, very nice and well decorated. Note: The beds are full sized, which was not the best when traveling as a couple, but we made the best of it. The size of the beds were consistent with the decor and modern-antique feel of the room, so we appreciated it. Local treats, complimentary wine, juices, and water water were provided to us upon check-in to our room, as we had a mini refrigerator in our suite. Breakfast each morning was very nice, and the local delights (crawfish pie, muffalettas, etc) were very unique. Hot coffee, pastries, cereals, and fresh fruit were also provided each morning. This B&B is conveniently located to the french quarter, mid city new orleans, city park , and the museums. Away from all of the rambunctious night life, but just a short ride, decent walk to all of the action. We celebrated our anniversary at La Belle Esplanade, and we will most definitely return in the near future and beyond!


Great rooms, Horrible part of town

3.4 on October 14, 2012

The Bed and Breakfast was beautiful, hosts wer responder ful, and food was terrific. The location is undesirable and unsafe. My husband's cell phone was stolen off the front patio, and the walkto the French Quarter is not safe.


La Belle Esplanade

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5043011424

Visit Website »

View details

Top