Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
58 Reviews

Write A Review

Call it your New Oreleans home

4.8 on May 05, 2014

What a great spot for a NOLA trip. You are right on St. Charles street, but no street noise in our room. Loved the convenience of the streetcar stop right outside the hotel. Rachel is super helpful when you check in and they have good advice about the Garden District and Magazine St restaurants. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words! One of my primary goals here at the Grand Victorian is that guests feel like they are in their "home away from Home!" I'm thrilled to hear that my staff was helpful and successful in making you comfortable here! Hope that you'll come back for another visit sometime!


Perfect Mardi Gras Location

4.8 on March 13, 2014

This is my second stay at GVBB. The location is perfect for watching Mardi Gras unfold around you. The parades are steps away and the crowd is local so none of the crazy stuff you see on TV. Bonnie and her staff are warm, welcoming and exude infectious southern charm. They are wonderful ambassadors of the great city of New Orleans.


Beautiful B&B, excellent location

4.8 on March 10, 2014

My husband and I and our 2 daughters went for Mardi Gras this year; have stayed here many times and will do so again for sure! The B&B itself is a gorgeous Victorian house right on St. Charles Ave in the Garden District. An easy streetcar ride (or a 2-3 mile walk) to the French Quarter. Nice breakfast, friendly staff, clean rooms. Highly recommend!


First time to New Orleans

4.8 on January 25, 2014

Going to New Orleans was on my "bucket list." We loved the city and staying at the Grand Victorian made it even more perfect. The sheets on the bed were the softest that I have ever felt. Amazing! The deck on the second floor was perfect for having our cousins over for cocktails before going to dinner. Bonnie, the innkeeper, gave us many helpful tips about transportation, places and navigating the city. We would definately go back.


Location, location, location

3.6 on January 12, 2014

Wise choice for our 20th wedding anniversary celebration. Less than two blocks from incomparable dining at Commander's Palace. Afterward, you can ride the streetcar line which is literally out the front gate of the GVBB to cap off a romantic evening in New Orleans' Garden District. No designated driver required. Then, fall asleep listening to the all-night running of the streetcar named Desire. Cheers! MTW2014

Innkeeper Response
I'm so glad to hear that you had a wonderful anniversary celebration at the Grand Victorian. We hope to see you back again the next time you're in town! (Hopefully before another 20 years pass!)


Grand Victorian

4.8 on September 06, 2013

My wife, son and I visited NO in August 2013 and stayed at the Grand Victorian. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The room my wife and I shared had a massive tub and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was continental, which was fine for us. The staff did offer to make my son a sausage and egg sandwich (not requested, by the way!) that he declined. Each morning the inn keeper or her staff gave us some info about the city - where to go, what to see (and avoid!) and so on. In terms of location, it could not be easier to get anywhere - lots of places within walking distance and the trolley stops literally in front of the inn. Other than getting caught in a downpour and dealing with absurd heat and humidity (our own fault for visiting NO in August!) it was a great stay at a comfortable and inviting B&B.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your positive feedback. We always enjoy hearing from our guests about their stay. Wish I could have done something about the August heat in the South, but this season has been exceptionally hot even for the locals!


Grand Time at The Grand Victorian

4.2 on July 22, 2013

I have been to New Orleans many times but always choose to stay in a hotel. Well this time I am so glad I found The Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfast in my search for a place to stay. The rooms were larger than I expected and comfortable. Ms. Bonnie and her staff were very accommodating to my group of seven. Great location, Great host, what more can you ask for. I plan to visit again hopefully sooner than later.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words. Hope that your group comes back for the Essence Music Festival again next year!


Of All the Places You Can Stay

4.2 on July 22, 2013

Our recent trip to NOLA was for a wedding. I am a history major and fan of novels written about New Orleans, and knew I wanted to stay in a historic Inn. After viewing many choices we settled on the Grand Victorian B&B. The location was a determining factor. The Garden District is host to many historical homes and sights. Yet the B&B is a street car ride away from the French Quarter (just cross the street & you are on). The Grand Victorian is a beautiful home and very spacious and private. The staff was warm and friendly and even gave me a peek at the other rooms : )

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for your positive comments! Glad that you liked my house. Now that you got the full tour, maybe you'll try out all of the rooms if/when you return to New Orleans!!


Awesome

5 on June 13, 2013

It was our first time at a B&B and Bonnie was great. She met us at the door and showed us around and then she showed us our room. It was exactly like the web site showed. It was a quiet place for a R&R. I can not say enough about our stay be AWESOME, we are going to go back in the future. Thanks Bonnie Tanya and Wayne from Morgan City LA

Innkeeper Response
Tanya & Wayne, it was a pleasure to host you both in my home. I'm glad that you got your rest & relaxation in our Oak Alley room. I enjoyed our great breakfast conversations that weekend! I look forward to when you guys come back again and hope that your experience here has converted you to regular customers of B&Bs.


This place really exceeded our expectations

4.6 on May 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. There were six of us. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were well kept, with complimentary sherry in each room, and we enjoyed happy hour with our friends on the upstairs veranda. Highly recommend it.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words. My house lends itself well to groups because there are several great gathering locations for people to enjoy their happy hours. I'm pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations! Thanks for the feedback!


Beautiful B&B and Amazing Staff!

5 on December 19, 2012

A special thanks to Bonnie for offering us a complimentary room in honor of Veterans Day. We stayed in the Magnolia room and it was absolutely beautiful. The extra little touches and friendly staff made us feel at home. Highly recommended! -Nikki & Kevin


Totally outstanding

4.4 on November 24, 2012

We were unable to meet Bonnie due to holiday and our travel plans, but the Innkeeper was just awesome. Rachel. Bonnie personally called us to thanks us and to just have a friendly sincere chat n thank us. That's customer service !!! It's my place of choice n we will return without a doubt. Just a classy clean place

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We aim to please and customer service is very important to me and my staff. Sorry that I missed meeting you in person, but based on your remarks, I look forward to meeting you in the future!


Fabulous "Nola" B&B

4.4 on October 12, 2012

The best thing about the Grand Victorian B&B is Bonnie Rabe, most excellent of all Innkeepers! Bonnie knows and loves "nola" and gave us excellent tips for our shopping trips, tours, dining experiences and all things "new orleans". When I return to New Orleans, I will definitely stay at the Grand Victorian and renew my acquaintance with the delightful Bonnie.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks! I'll look forward to your next visit to NOLA & the Grand Victorian!


Lovely Garden District B&B

5 on May 31, 2012

I was thrilled to find a B&B at one of the most convenient corners in the Garden District, surprised to find that they had a room available for the first week of JazzFest, and delighted when we arrived and saw the Grand Victorian. It's a lovely example of a gracious Garden District Victorian home, beautifully restored and maintained. Bonnie met us when we arrived and she and Rachel are the perfect hostesses. They're both friendly and helpful and interesting, and they cook up a fine breakfast. We were very happy with our room and its period furnishings - and I slept like a baby on the comfortable mattress. The bath was a real treat, the amenities were very nice, the towels and bathrobes were the perfect thickness of good-quality terry, and I could have spent the entire weekend relaxing in the huge tub. I plan to spend many more weekends in NOLA at the Grand Victorian!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kind words! Please do come back anytime!!


Our three rooms during Jazz Fest were just great!

4.2 on May 28, 2012

When I reserved three rooms at the GVBB for the second weekend of Jazz Fest for our family this year, I was expecting the worst beacuse it was the only place in the Garden District with rooms still available when we planned out trip. I thought there must be some problem with the place. I read through many online reviews and while most were glowing, some complained about the rooms not being clean and the housekeeping services being sub par. Definitely not the case with our three rooms. The housekeeping service was excellent and all rooms were in excellent condition. The renovation and restoration work in the rooms and throughout the building was of excellent quality, and I say this as an owner of a high end residential and historic renovation and construction business for over thirty years. The staff was friendly, gracious and helpful. The breakfasts were casual, low pressure and ample. Intimate breakfast room offered opportunity for good conversations with other guests who were music fans. I would be nice if breakfast started at 7:30 instead of 8:30, but it may be because one bedroom opens directly off the dining area that the start time is delayed. The second floor veranda was a great asset for the evenings when we all wanted to just kick back after a day at the festval and have some beer, wine and cheese instead of going out for dinner. The one issue that was a minor problem for me was that the reservation had to be prepaid with a check and could not be paid with a credit card. Bottom line is that I would certainly stay at the Grand Victorian again and I will recommend it to any friends visiting New Orleans.

Innkeeper Response
It was a pleasure to host your family during Jazz Fest 2012. I appreciate your wonderful remarks as it is our goal to meet all expectations for every guest whenever possible. Sorry that the Special Event pre-payment policy was problematic, but it has become an industry standard here in NOLA for Special Events. Thanks again for choosing the Grand Victorian!


Great Stay!

4.6 on April 22, 2012

My boyfriend & I really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Vic. Beautiful neighborhood (a given, being the Garden District), the access to the streetcar was right out the front door (how easy is that?), but the access to all the Magazine street shops and restaurants was the real kicker, less than 5 blocks - just couldn't be beat. Also within walking distance to Lafette Cemetery #1, if your into that kinda thing. So location is fantastic, but the best part was Bonnie's suggestions (Bonnie is the owner, Rachel her assistant and really great too!), their helpfulness in printing out boarding passes, and little things like that - any place else it could have been a drag but Bonnie just took care of the little extra things so we were free to have a good time, now what else could you want in a place to stay?


Lovely B&B

4.2 on April 21, 2012

Had a terrific stay while visiting Tulane. Very good location, nice staff and beautiful hotel.


Wonderful stay in the Grand Victorian B&B

4.4 on March 29, 2012

Bonnie and Rachel went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. They were available but not bothersome. Neither our extremely late check in nor our extremely early departure were a problem. The house is beautiful, our room was spacious and our bath was gorgeous. The little extras available to guests really make you feel special while feeling like you're at home. The location is perfect in that there are many spots within walking distance and the St. Charles streetcar stops right outside the house. Plus got a great recommendation for a new place to eat! I highly recommend staying here if you find yourself in New Orleans.


Beautiful Vacation!

4.6 on November 21, 2011

I got to stay a week in the home of my dreams!Beautifully restored Victorian with beautifully appointed rooms. Bonnie and staff made it feel like a real home. Very helpful with questions about the "Big Easy". Easy to get to town. St. Charles St. was charming in itself with amazing homes from the past. Thanks for making it a vacation of a lifetime. You can tell this home is your passion....it shows.


Wonderful place to stay in NOLA

4.4 on November 15, 2011

I stayed at the Grand Victorian for three nights with my family, including 2 kids (a three-year old and a baby). It was the only B&B in the Garden District that did not turn us down on the grounds of that obnoxious children policy. Bonnie, the innkeeper, was kind enough to take my word for it when I let her know that the kids wouldn't be a nuisance to her other guests, as we were looking for a quiet getaway ourselves. Throughout our stay, she was always eager to pass on her loving knowledge of New Orleans, and we had plenty of delightful walks and meals based on her tips. Our room was spotless and very quiet, and the breakfasts were generous and tasty. A great weekend overall !


Great Retreat

5 on November 04, 2011

The Grand Victorian lives up to its name. It is grand...in it's style, it's location, and it's attention to service. The ambience is wonderful. The streetcar ride to the French Quarter was easy and I was so happy to retreat into the comfort of the GVBB after the frenzy of the Bourbon Street.


Definitely will come back

4.0 on October 24, 2011

It was a last minute decision and I am glad it turned out to be at the Grand Victorian, large room, clean, quite, beautifully restored building full of old charm. Breakfast was perfect and the staff helpful, friendly and accommodating. Perfect experience while visiting NOLA.


Grand experience

4.4 on October 07, 2011

We loved the fact that the street car pickup is right in front of the house. We didn't have to move the car while in New Orleans. The room was beautiful Bonnie was very helpful with information on restaurants and things to do and see.


Very Convenient

4.0 on September 20, 2011

Recently stayed at the Grand Victorian. Bonnie was so helpful. Our stay was convenient, clean and quiet. Just what we needed on our night out away from the kids.


we will always want to return to the Grand Victorian

4.2 on September 04, 2011

Staying at the Grand Victorian in the Garden District is a gem of classic Southern comfort and dignity. We think that it is the finest B&B we have experienced. The rooms are elegantly furnished and comfortable. the ambience generates a relaxed feel to the whole experience. Bonnie oversees all your need in a quiet, lovely way. We highly recommend the Grand Victorian to the traveler who wants an authentic New orleans stay.


Charming New Orleans B&B

4.0 on August 06, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast for our honeymoon during late June- early July 2011. We were more than satisfied with all aspects of our trip. The innkeeper, Bonnie, was very accommodating during our stay, and is very knowledgeable about the New Orleans area and tourist attractions. She was more than happy to book excursions for us, and suggest places to eat & things to do and see. Bonnie was very courteous in her communications prior to and after our stay as well. We stayed in the Nottoway honeymoon suite, and loved it! The Victorian decoration of the room was very cozy, and had a very homey feel to it. It was always very clean, and our room was very private. We had a private balcony overlooking the street from our room as well. The house is located in a quieter part of town, which we enjoyed. It is not far from the main part of the city by streetcar, but is far enough away that the hustle and bustle of city life doesn't prevent you from getting a good night's sleep. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves, and will return to the GVBB on our next trip to New Orleans!


Thanks for great stay!

4.8 on June 02, 2011

We stayed four nights for my daughters wedding, Bonnie and Anastacia were fantastic, helpful, and we even had a wedding shower there and it went beautifully! They were great to all our family!


A slice of history

3.2 on April 17, 2011

The Grand Victorian gives an opportunity to revisit history in a restored architectural home built by Thomas Sully. We especially enjoyed the second floor balcony as a place to chat with friends or to have some quiet time. Public transportation was handy with the streetcar stopping in front of the house. The owner was very helpful in orienting us to the city and the area.


A Fabulous Getaway in the Garden District

3.0 on April 03, 2011

This charming bed and breakfast is situated in an ideal location for the types who enjoy off-the-beaten path tourism. Very hospitable and comfortable sleeping on gorgeous antique beds thanks to the owners keen attention to quality and style. Next time you book a trip to N.O.L.A. try a delightful accommodation at the Grand Victorian B&B.


Mardi Gras Perfection

4.6 on March 17, 2011

Have stayed at this bed and breakfast Victorian for four years straight. It is the best location to watch parades on St. Charles Avenue at Mardi Gras. The room is large and spacious and the bed is very comfortable. Looking forward to my return next year.


New Years' Stay at the Grand Victorian

5 on February 07, 2011

Quiet, clean and beautifully furnished rooms. Our hostess, Bonnie Rabe, provided tips on taxi and trolly travel and accomodated our schedule with early breakfasts. Each guest is provided with a robe and house slippers, and we were able to have our morning coffee on the second floor balcony overlooking the trolly and with a view of the other victorian homes in the neighborhood. I would recommend the Grand Victorian to any traveler and I am certain they would be happy with the room and service.


Excellent location; beautifully appointed and friendly staff

4.8 on January 16, 2011

we stayed at the Grand Victorian for a family reuinion with extended family ranging from grandparents to teenagers to small children. It was the perfect location, convenient to the French Quarter and uptown New Orleans on the street car; each room is uniquely furnished with period pieces and contains all of the amenities you could want. Nice breakfast, a very friendly and accommodating inkeeper, Ms. Rabe, and lots of space to hang out with friends and family. Highly recommended!


Charming, elegant

4.8 on January 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Victorian when we visited New Orleans to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was exceptional in every way. The rooms were elegant and comfortable, the location ideal. Bonnie’s hospitality was warm, generous, welcoming. We had previously lived in New Orleans for many years but no longer have a home there; the Grand Victorian served that purpose for us, and we will definitely stay there again the next time we return.


Such a special, magic place!

5 on December 02, 2010

I was lucky enough to spend almost a week at the Grand Victorian. My family got together in New Orleans over Thanksgiving week, and I got to stay here with my parents. What a fairytale week! If you ever wondered what it was like living in the gracious South of the past, come stay here. You'll sleep in an antique-filled room (mine had a stunning four poster bought from a plantation) and feel right at home immediately. Although the house is very, very grand, Bonnie the innkeeper does a fantastic job of making the place extremely homey. I felt perfectly comfortable coming downstairs to get a cup of tea and a snack (the larder is well stocked at all hours) at any time of day. I really enjoyed both the innkeeper and other guests. My bathroom was definitely luxurious, and I was so happy to be right on St. Charles - such a lovely street and so convenient for my daily runs. (Yes, it is possible, although difficult, to stick to a training schedule while on vacation in New Orleans!) The location is fantastic. Right in the Garden District, and walking distance to downtown, the French Quarter, and the stunning Audubon Park. You won't ever want to leave this place. It was really quite hard to adjust back to "normal" life!


The Grand Victorian IS New Orleans.

5 on October 09, 2010

It was delightful. Extemely clean. Authentically decorated. Convenient to catch the trolley into the Quarter. Located in the beautiful Garden District. The owner was charming and so helpful in pointing out "must see" venues in the neighborhood. I would not consider staying anywhere else on my return to New Orleans!


Great house in a dynomite location!

3.2 on October 05, 2010

A great house that is well maintained and staffed. The location is close to many restaurants and the street-car is at the front door!


Excellent place to visit.

5 on August 23, 2010

Several members of my family had been here, but I never had the opportunity. I must confess, they were all correct in their assessment. It is a great place.


Great B&B

5 on August 12, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Grand Victorian! The innkeeper, Bonnie, gave us great suggestions for dining and fun! It's wonderful to see such a fabulous building preserved and shared!


Love the Grand Victorian

5 on March 19, 2010

If you are looking for a charming B&B in the Garden District try staying at the Grand Victorian. The house is beautiful and right in the heart of the garden district. Bonnie works hard to make you feel comfortable and at home. It is also uber convenient to the downtown area via the trolley. Awesome place and great people. You will love it.


Great location, very nice B&B

3.4 on March 15, 2010

Six couples checked into the B&B for 3 nites of exploring New Orleans, the sights and the restaurants. The GV gave us an excellent base of operations. The rooms are large and well decorated in antiques. The location on St. Charles allowed travel on the streetcar to the French Qtr. or Audubon Park/Universities. Bonnie was an excellent hostess and assisted with cabs, info, boarding passes etc. All in all a very pleasant experience.


Unforgettable Experience

4.4 on January 13, 2010

We were fortunate to come across the Grand Victoria Bed and Breakfast after searching for a hotel room during a busy medical convention. When we extended our search to bed and breakfasts, we decided it would be the perfect opportunity to elope! We were recommended to Bonnie and the GVBB from the minister that married us- and what a fine recommendation. Bonnie took care of us and our parents- making sure the day was perfect, from securing a wonderful table for us at Commander's Palace to getting our cake and champagne set up for a post ceremony toast. Our stay was unforgettable, not just because we were married in the parlor, but because of the mansion's beauty and Bonnie's Southern hospitality. The rooms are beautiful, the staff very friendly and the location perfect! We set sail for a week long cruise from New Orleans and stayed at the GVBB one more night before we left the Big Easy. We hope to return and celebrate our anniversary at our New Orleans "home away from home", the Grand Victorian. As long as you know going into your stay that the breakfast will be more contential style (it says this on their website), you won't be disappointed with this place.


We Hope To Return

5 on December 16, 2009

We Really enjoyed our stay. Our room was beautiful & peaceful. The breakfast was great & your home & grounds are simply gorgeous. It was nice to relax, read a book and watch street cars go by. The location is excellent. Our dinner at the "Commander Palace" was exquisite. We hope to return. The hospitality was wonderful. Thank you ~ Splendora, Texas


Wedding in the parlor!

4.2 on December 15, 2009

On 12/5/09 our son married his beautiful bride in the parlor of the Grand Victorian. Only the parents were present, and we all stayed there. Bonnie accomodated all of our needs, including making reservations, chilling champagne, providing umbrellas, and a real knowledge of the area. We had the perfect weekend, and will never forget the hospitality extended to all of us.


Wonderful Wedding

4.4 on December 14, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Victorian recently when our daughter got married in the parlor. The owner couldn't have been more helpful. Her suggestions and referals were very valuable. The B&B is convieneintly located near the trolly and is in a beautiful neighborhood.


Romance in New Orleans

3.8 on December 06, 2009

Our room was very romantic. We had a big spa tub, complete with rubber ducky. Our room was very spacious. It's right across from the trolley. The owner went out of her way to help us with extras.


Just delightful!

4.8 on November 16, 2009

My sister and I stayed with Bonnie on a trip to New Orleans to visit my daughter. The B&B was delightful, Bonnie a treasure and the location was PERFECT! The trolley was only steps away, walk to Commanders Restaurant a few times for Jazz brunch or late night desert, we felt VERY safe as two women traveling alone in New Orleans. Loved the rubber duckies in the bath, a charming touch. I will definitely come back if my daughter ends up at Tulane for her PhD


Loved It!

5 on November 11, 2009

My husband and I have stayed here before and its always great! the breakfast is yummy, the rooms are large and beautiful, its on the street car line, we really love it!


Excellent location, service, and amenities.

4.6 on November 09, 2009

My husband and I recently visited the Grand Victorian for our 5 year anniversary. This was our first trip to New Orleans, and Bonnie, the owner, went out of her way to make us feel welcome. We initially booked the Nottoway room after finding out that the Greenwood room was booked for the dates of our stay. However, shortly after our arrival, Bonnie found out that the guests who had booked Greenwood wouldn't be arriving for a couple more days, and offered to let us stay in Greenwood. It was heavenly! The room was grandly decorated, the bed was comfortable, and the jacuzzi was heavenly. The room was also spacious and well-kept. There were a variety of breakfast foods available in the mornings, which was perfect for grabbing a quick bite before going for brunch. We also enjoyed sitting on the balconies and people-watching. The St. Charles Avenue Streetcar also stops directly in front of the Grand Victorian, so we were able to easily get to the French Quarter and back. Since the Grand Victorian is only a few blocks from Magazine Street, it was also easy to walk to dinner or shopping if we didn't want the bustle of the French Quarter. Our stay was relaxing and fun, which is exactly what we were looking for. Thanks Bonnie!


Charming and historical

4.6 on October 08, 2009

I have stayed at the Grand victorian many times...I go back because of the wonderful, historical accomodations, hospitality of owner. great location. I recommend this place.


A Garden District Gem

5 on August 28, 2009

My daughters (ages 14 and 20) and I had a "girls" getaway to New Orleans. They had not been there since my parents lost their house in Katrina. The Grand Victorian is in a perfect location, right on the streecar line to the French Quarter and easy walking distance to great shops and restaurants on Magazine Street. The location was safe, the hotel comfortable and elegant, and Ms. Rabe is very accomodating. We will definitely stay there again on future trips to the Big Easy!


August White Linen NIghts at Grand Victorian

5 on August 26, 2009

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Victorian for the weekend of New Orleans August White Linen Night 2009. It was truly a wonderful indulgence in great hospitality and southern ambiance and charm. The owner/innkeeper treated us like royalty and responded to our every need. It was like a journey back to a more leisurely time when people valued the art of conversation and life moved at a more leisurely pace. And the best part; only 10 minutes away we were able to enjoy the revelry and festivities of downtown New Orleans. What an awesome combination!!!


Like coming home!

4.6 on August 04, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Victorian on a recent trip to NOLA and loved it! We were warmly welcomed, treated like favorite cousins, and accomodated in every way we needed. Though I have family in NOLA who are always glad to welcome me, I will definitely stay at the Grand Victorian again.


I plan on staying there again

5 on July 07, 2009

This was my first B&B experience, and I could not have asked for any better. Bonnie was a wonderful, gracious, and attentive host. The rooms were exceptionally clean, and our welcome was warm and by name. The location is absolutely excellent, unless the only thing you're interested in is late nights at the French Quarter; I wanted to see much more of New Orleans, and the Grand Victorian is a beautifully maintained house in the best possible location.


Perfect Honeymoon

5 on June 22, 2009

We just returned from the Grand Victorian B&B. (June 2009). We chose it for our honeymoon and couldn't have made a better choice! The location is great, right across the street from a street car stop. Bonnie, the innkeeper, is so kind and helpful! She made sure our stay was great. The room was beautiful, romantic, and comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was big enough for four people! I can't say enough about this place. I can't wait to go back!!


Made Our New Orleans Visit a Memorable One!

4.6 on May 13, 2009

We enjoyed how well-kept everything was, from the first view of the outside yard and house to the inside, it made for a very good first impression. Having a covered balcony with tables was excellent and a nice touch; so was having the fridge in the hall as we used it for chilling wine and sipped on the balcony. Having a streetcar stop across the street was very handy. The variety for breakfast, including fresh fruit, was very nice and having Bonnie as a "concierge" was great as she provided an abundance of suggestions and the accurate information was invaluable -- even being able to buy a three-day streetcar pass from her was convenient. We didn't arrive until after midnight and she as ready to greet us. Experiencing the French Quarter Festival was great (New Orleans knows how to throw a party!) and we also found our way to Mardi Gras World thanks to her good directions and had a wonderful tour.


live life large

5 on May 08, 2009

I have travelled a great deal in my life and have stayed in some of the finest hotels in New York, San Francisco, London, Paris and Hong Kong. While the GV is not a luxury hotel, you have the same feeling of elegance, charm and, most importantly, the feeling that you are a special guest. Additionally, the innkeeper (Bonnie Rabe) will spend as much time as necessary in meeting all your needs: taxis, resturants, music venues and artists. When you stay at the Grand Victorian, you feel at home and you feel special. I have met life-long friends there sitting on the balcony veranda discussing the days events and the evening's activities. I was never a fan of B&Bs until I stayed at the GV. You will return not only because of the soul of New Orleans but also because of your home away from home. John & Barbara (seattle, wash)


Southern Hospitality

4.6 on May 22, 2007

I never had the need to stay in a hotel or B&B until my family sold their New Orleans home, post-Katrina. I was visiting for Jazz Fest and friends recommended the Grand Victorian, so I gave it a try. To say this place defines Southern hospitality is an understatement. I somehow left my diamond earrings on the bedside table!!! But, the housekeeping staff found them and immediately gave them to Bonnie, the innkeeper, who shipped them to me--free of charge. This staff is outstanding and will take care of your every need. I will always return to the Grand Victorian when I visit NOLA.


Elegant inn, great Garden District location

5 on December 16, 2006

Bonnie has done an amazing job of renovating this elegant Queen Anne mansion, in the heart of the Garden District.


Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5048951104
  • Fax 1-5048968688

Visit Website »

View details

Top