Degas House Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
42 Reviews

Write A Review

Happy Retirees

4.6 on June 19, 2013

Clean, conveniently located, breakfast a delight. Would stay again when visiting the area.


Charming Historic B&B

4.6 on June 12, 2013

We reserved 3 of the lovely rooms at the Degas House, 2 of which had 2 bedrooms, (5 bedrooms total). Breakfast was lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. We were a total of 9 adults in our family and the total room costs were under $900 per day. Beds were very comfortable.


Highly Reccomend Staying Here

4.8 on May 29, 2013

It is like staying in a museum home complete with period furniture. The staff was friendly and the Manager attentive to detail.


Degas House

4.8 on March 29, 2013

We found Degas House a perfect place for us to stay in New Orleans. There is easy access to the French Quarter and Esplanade Avenue is very beautiful. The breakfasts were very good and we were taken care of beautifully by the staff, particularly by the soft spoken and kind Caroline. Our room was wonderfully refreshed everyday. There is road construction going on on Esplanade but it didn't bother us. We also had dinner one night at the Degas House Restaurant and found it very pleasant.


Lovely relaxing stay

3.6 on March 16, 2013

Beautiful house with some interesting history. The tour is worth it though keep it for a rainy day activity as there is so much to do and see in NOLA. the location is great - off the beaten track and so a very quiet, peaceful respite from the madness downtown, and yet just a 15 minute walk to the action. Rent bikes and you can truly get around the whole city - French Quarter, City Park, Garden District, ...Wifi was a bit temperamental during our stay but the staff were lovely about it. Bed was a bit lumpy but it was so quiet we slept like babies.


Loved it!

4.4 on March 09, 2013

Beautiful rooms, comfortable bed, friendly staff, great location. Very much enjoyed my stay here!


Historic New Orleans Home

4.4 on March 06, 2013

We stayed in the Carrie Suite which is on the third floor of the home. It was hot in the hallways of the 3rd floor even though it was in the mid-forties outside. I imagine it would be stifling in the summer. However, once we got in the room, plenty of air conditioning with an individual unit for the room. Nicely furnished, but absolutely no windows on the 3rd floor so there was no outside light coming into the room. Free wi-fi and breakfast were included with the room, and the breakfast was outstanding. I would recommend this place to a friend, but would warn them about the lack of windows and heat in the hallways on the third floor


Awesome--look forward to coming back!

5 on February 07, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Degas House while in town for the Super Bowl. This is the best bed and breakfast we have stayed and have recommended it to all who will listen. The owner David has a true love for the history of the house and surrounding area--this is evident in the care he and his staff take of guests. The staff catered to every guest and made us feel welcome. I can not speak highly enough about the Degas House. Troy


Wonderful Stay at The Degas House

5 on November 01, 2012

The room was wonderful and the breakfast was first class but the staff made our stay here simply amazing! The ladies cooking breakfast were very gracious and friendly. The housekeepers were phenominal and very cordial. The check in and out was easy and the tour guide was magnificant. The host(Mark) made sure everything ran smooth. QAll in all a astay that I would love to reoeat!


Breathing in history in Old New Orleans

4.8 on September 28, 2012

The air was moist and warm and our weary bones drove up to The Degas House after a six hour layover in Houston. David and Brandy very graciously arrived to welcome us despite the lateness of the hour. They shared the history of David's meticulous renovation, their experiences through hurricanes Isaac and Katrina and suggested adventures for our stay in New Orleans. We stepped through the guillotine window to another era viewed from the porch outside Estelle Musson's bedroom. After a delicious breakfast and the clink of mimosa glasses, we took suggestions from our hosts. An articulate and fascinating tour led by Degas' great grand niece gave life and breath to the house and paintings of Musson family members which surrounded us. Then off to a raucous Friday afternoon at Galatoire's full of well heeled souls out to toast the weekend with bottles of bubbly and a long fabulous lunch. Cheers to Degas house and many thanks!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to experience the tour of the house while you were visiting - integrating the history with providing a comfortable place to stay is central to what we are trying to achieve. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Stay out of the attic

4.0 on August 30, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. It's a lovely place overall and the caretakers are friendly and approachable. My room was large and clean had wifi and the bed was comfortable. However, there was no window in my room which is my personal preference and something I didn't think to ask about beforehand. There is an air conditioner so the temperature was comfortable. Being a northerner, I was shocked to wake up with a 3" roach crawling on me, but truthfully, that might be par for the course in the swampy south. The location was good but I might opt for a hotel on my next stay.

Innkeeper Response
Please accept our delay in responding to the customer comments due to Hurricane Isaac. Thank you for staying at the Edgar Degas House on your business trip in August 2012. As per our follow up phone call on September 24, 2012. We appreciate your overall rating of 4 Stars and that you had a great stay with us. We apologize at the time your assistant booked your reservation that you were not notified with a room description of the Garrett Rooms to meet your needs. It is our hotel policy that at the time of booking your reservations you are given a room description. We are happy that you will recommend us to a friend and stay with us again in the future. Due to the semi tropical climate in New Orleans and the rainy season this summer the palmettos are more prevalent in the Oak Trees in the South. However it is rare they appear in the building due to a regular commercial spraying schedule. We are sorry that you did not notify the staff during your stay of any concerns you may have had in order for us to correct or upgrade your accommodations to a room to meet all your needs. We look forward to your return and meeting your husband and son in the future. Please accept our sincere apologies and we are happy you accepted our complimentary gift certificate to stay with us in the near future with your husband and son. Regards, Edgar Degas House


Family get away

5 on July 23, 2012

We were all delighted with our room, the porch, the breakfast, the fun painting class and the staff was wonderful! I will stay here again. I love New Orleans, so there are many more visits in my future. What a thrill to stay in such an historic place!


My stay at the Degas House

3.6 on July 07, 2012

This house is located within a 10 min cab ride from heaps of restaurants/clothes shopping/the french market/french quarter/bourbon st. We stayed in the William Bell room. It was clean and tidy. The room has very lovely high ceilings. The antique furniture along with the queen sized beds with tall bedposts charmingly reminds you of the intriguing history that lived in that house. Breakfast was the only meal provided. You had the choice of a creole breakfast (scramble eggs, waffles, sausages, small spicy meat pattys) / cereal / fruit / pastries which all were satisfying.


Degas House Excursion

5 on May 24, 2012

Staying across town in such a beautiful place of historical importance to New Orleans was a great adventure. The staff was energetic and excited to be part of the Degas story. Check out the yellow crested night herons nested in the oaks on Esplanade Ave.


mathilde suite

4.0 on May 10, 2012

Lovely setting, rich with the history of Degas and New Orleans, breakfast was always plentiful and served with courtesy and warmth. Having port wine in the room with a lovely decanter and glasses is a lovely touch as well. Beautiful courtyard outside to sit in. The only drawback to the two bedroom suite we were in was that the bathroom was only accessible thru one bedroom which meant that one couple always had to walk thru the bedroom of the other to get to the bathroom .


degas house

4.2 on April 30, 2012

Proposed that weekend. And champagne, roses, and chocolate covered strawberries where in the room upon request. They made a special occasion extraordinary.


The Graham's

3.8 on April 29, 2012

Very enjoyable stay would always recommend it to anyone....


DEGAS HOUSE: SPECIAL AND SUPERB

5 on April 10, 2012

The breakfasst prepared by Lana was the best breakfast we had in New Orleans. The rooms were so beautiful and the house is stunning. You are truly taken back 150 years. A great way to see New Orleans.


Quiet, cozy and convenient

5 on April 08, 2012

I stayed at Degas House during a business trip in April and it was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. It's in a quiet residential area and close enough to the French Quarter and all the attractions. The breakfast is fantastic and the best B&B breakfast I've ever had. David (the owner), Kelly and Betsy are very friendly and helpful and truly want guests to have a nice stay at their location. It's also a cute place to have a wedding and they also have a tour of the house - very historical and interesting.


I'm glad I stayed at Degas House

4.8 on April 02, 2012

Although we live in a house without a in-house keeper at night, we had a very comfortable stay. We had unlimited access to high speed wi-fi internet, clean drinking water, chips and snacks. The linens were surprisingly fresh and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom is so new. I would highly recommend this place because the staffs were very friendly, breakfast was prepared fresh upon order (fresh waffles with fruits), there is a convenient bus stop located just outside the house that takes you to French Quarter, and the price is very affordable with their coupons.


degas view

5 on March 23, 2012

the location is perfect, the rooms are delightful, very spacious and airy, the breakfast is do die for (must try the french toast!) and if you can, get a room with a balcony overlooking esplanade blvd. would definately return! oh, and everyone that works there is really, really nice and helpful! what more could you want in a B & B?!


another leg of our honeymoon

4.0 on March 07, 2012

My husband and I came for a nephews wedding and were very impressed with the venue. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that the house was close enough to the french quarter and elsewhere but NOT so close as to feel obliged to hang out there all the time. An odd thing happened our last morning. We went down to bfast and the kitchen was empty but coffee was ready. The people that got there just before us fixed their own food. We waited a little bit and then proceeded to do the same. Maybe the cook was running late or maybe Monday's breakfast doesn't start until after 8:30? We had fun and enjoyed our stay.


Amazing historical house!

4.8 on February 18, 2012

Stayed in the Desiree suite, beautiful room. Requested additional amenities that were provided perfectly! Breakfast was a full breakfast and amazing. Recommend the history and art tour provided every morning - fascinating. Would definitely stay here again if possible.


Degas House visit

3.6 on February 16, 2012

It was a wonderful experience to stay in this historic home and receive a Degas tour and an excellent breakfast as part of the package. Sipping complementary sherry while sitting on the front balcony was a memorable experience. The antique furnishings added to the ambiance, although a sofa and shower rail could use updating. Walking to the streetcar provided easy and interesting access to downtown in the mornings and a short taxi ride back in the evenings worked well. We are happy to have had the experience of staying in the Degas House during our few days in New Orleans.


Great stay!

5 on November 30, 2011

I stayed at at the Degas House in September. I was only in town for a one-day seminar and just one night, but must say, the Degas House, their staff, everything....was a wonderful experience! The breakfast was excellent. The accommodations were top-notch! Julia, the host, and David, the owner, couldn't have been nicer. I highly recommend the Degas House if you're visiting New Orleans! I would definitely go back and stay with them again!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your review. We hope you can stay for more than one night when you return!


Best Thanksgiving thanks to the Degas House

5 on November 29, 2011

We just got back from the Degas House and I wish I was still there! We could not have picked a better place to spend Thanksgiving while visit family in New Orleans. We were considering staying w/ the fam, but thought we would enjoy ourselves more if we got our own place. We were right! Our stay was nothing short of perfection - thanks to the incredible hospitality of Julia and the rest of the Degas House staff. We were greeted with a glass of wine and a beer for my husband. We were taken to the Gaston room, which was spacious, comfortable, and even had an easel. I did some sketching on the easel because when you are in the home of the inspirational artist, Edgar Degas, you can't help but want to be an artist yourself... I am no artist, but it was fun to feel like one! The bed was beyond comfortable and I slept wonderfully. Lana and Sharon made the BEST breakfast ever! I enjoyed breakfast better at Degas House more than I enjoyed our Thanksgiving meal. We ate outside in the beautiful courtyard on our first morning and inside the French provincial breakfast room the other days. Both settings were ideal for such a delicious breakfast. It was really nice to wake up the day after Thanksgiving to Christmas decorations being set up. It reminded me of the holidays growing up. When we got back that evening, the house was all lit up so magically. When we checked out, we reserved a room for Jazz Fest in the spring. We can't wait to get back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your great review. We are so glad we could make your Thanksgiving special. We look forward to seeing you in the spring!


Wonderful Holiday Retreat at Degas House!

5 on November 27, 2011

What a great Thanksgiving Holiday, thank you Degas House staff. Our room was cozy and intimate. The bed was luxurious and the sheets felt like satin. Don't miss the tour, given in the most heartfelt manner by descendants of Degas and their maternal grandmother, who resided in the house during the visit by Degas. Christmas decorations were being installed during our visit and the aroma of fresh greenery was a delight to wake up to. The breakfast was scrumptious, similar to what Degas himself would have consumed, in the same room! To top everything else off, the staff, (Julia, Lana and Sharon) were the consummate hostesses, greeting us with wine and comfortable furnishings, even in the courtyard. We defintely recommend and will be back, hopefully again in the holiday period.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are glad you could spend your holidays with us. We recently upgraded our bedding and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your bed. We look forward to your return!


Degas House Historic Home B & B

2.8 on November 05, 2011

The house & rooms don't really appear as they do on-line. Staff was very nice & breakfasts were excellent. The house is very old & needs maintenance in a number of areas. Good proximity to the French Quarter.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed the service and breakfast. The house was built in 1852 and we try to keep the house true to the time when Degas and his family were here in the 1870s, while adding the comforts of modern day living. Most of our guests love the house and the rooms. We are continuously adding fresh photos of the rooms and the property to our website and other places where we have web presence to insure that our guests can see our beautiful Historic Home.


Anniversary Trip in New Orleans

4.6 on July 21, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Degas House to celebrate our second wedding anniversary along with his parents who celebrated their forty first wedding anniversary! We wanted to stay somewhere quiet and relaxing, a short distance from all the hub-bub of the city, but still close enough to enjoy the fun when we wished... so we chose the Degas House! We stayed in the William Bell suite, which has two bedrooms, a small kitchen, and a bathroom separate from the bedrooms. There is a balcony that overlooks the beautiful courtyard behind the house. Once we arrived we were greeted by Julia, a warm and delightful person! She had two bottles of champagne brought up to us within a matter of minutes to help begin our celebration! The suite was so cozy and inviting and antique all in one! The beds were extremely comfortable! Very tidy and spacious rooms. Every morning there was breakfast served in the main dining area downstairs... Delicious food! Belgian Waffles, Omelets, French toast with Banana's Foster topping, fresh fruit, anything you could want to drink! Everything very fresh and made with what could only be love! We thoroughly enjoyed a tour of the house given by Jonie, one of Degas' great neices! Our stay exceeded all expectations and we would certainly recommend this home to anyone looking for a vacation in New Orleans! Thank you to all the staff at the house for making our weekend so wonderful!

Innkeeper Response
We are honored that you and your husband's parents chose to spend your anniversaries with us. We want your special occasion to be as memorable as possible, and we are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for being wonderful guests!


Pleasant B&B Experience

4.0 on May 30, 2011

As a seasoned traveler, I found the Degas House to be an excellent bed and breakfast experience. I stayed in the Estelle Room, which was absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable. Having visited in April, I was able to fully enjoy the room’s private balcony that overlooks Esplanade Avenue. I was also very impressed by the breakfast. Overall, my stay was great. The only reservation I can see some people having is that the house is about ten blocks from the French Quarter. However, Esplanade Ridge is a lovely historic neighborhood so I can’t really complain!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your great review! We are glad you had an excellent stay. We appreciate when seasoned travelers share their experiences. We hope to see you again!


A fun stay

3.8 on March 17, 2011

Rooms are unique and fun. Definitely worth it. Location is further from the actual French quarter than I thought (I guess I couldve looked it up) but still it was worth it, I can imagine that this was why I could get such an awesome room with spending an enormous amount. I had the estelle room which you can see from the front, was great. Its a very old house though and there are issues with practically every door, hard to shut or in our bathroom doors case very loud squeaking and hard to move.

Innkeeper Response
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the feedback, and have had the doors fixed. We hope to see you again.


Mardi Gras

3.2 on March 14, 2011

Enjoyed the stay was a little disapointed in the policy of 4 day min. it was a holiday for Nola Very comfortable , beautiful courtyard.. loved the Estelle room. Breakfast was very good cooked to order. The ladies who prepared the food were lovely.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have four night minimum for Mardi Gras and a few other times during the year when there is a very high demand for rooms. You can stay with us for just a night or two most of the time.


Mardi Gras Getaway

4.6 on March 14, 2011

If you are staying in Jeanne you won't have any windows. Other than that the room was comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly and the house was lovely. The value was excellent for Mardi Gras weekend.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you enjoyed your Mardi Gras stay with us! The Jeanne room is a Garret room, which are modeled after artists’ studios, and built into the eaves of the house. Degas himself, lived in Parisian garrets. We hope you will return for another fun time!


Time Travel

4.4 on March 02, 2011

Our New Orleans visit was short and sweet. The Degas House was quite impressive. We stayed in the Estelle Room which had access to the balcony porch. It was like stepping back into the past. The room was jaw-droppingly impressive as was the entire house. The ceilings were 14 feet high, there were massive 7 feet tall windows that stretched from the floor to half the wall height and when opened a person could walk through in order to gain access to the porch. The furnishings were appropriate for the period in which the house was built and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was charming and helpful. We had free reign to come and go as we pleased and there was no sense of having someone looking over ones shoulder. I recommend a stay at the Degas House. It is a welcome departure from the norm and it will make you feel more a part of the city than any hotel or motel.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt connected with the history of the property and the city of New Orleans. Hopefully, you can stay longer next time!


My stay at Degas

4.0 on February 28, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Degas and I look forward to returning for Spring Break with my entire family. My wife and I stayed a weekend for a quick getaway and I was amazed at the ammenities and hospitality. I felt like we stayed at my long lost aunt's house! Great job Degas we loved our Valentine's Day weekend!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the Degas House for a romantic Valentine's weekend and come back for a family vacation. We look forward to many more visits from you!


met my expectations

3.2 on January 05, 2011

my stayed in degas house was great, i am completely grateful with the service the people that works there is friendly and helpful

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. Our staff works hard and puts our guests as top priority. I will be sure to let them know of your praise.


Degas stay

4.0 on November 11, 2010

The house was stunning. I called and asked for wine and to be picked up at the airport. Thank God David arrived at the house when we did and brought us a bottle of wine and beer. There was no Taxi to pick us up at the airport and we had to wait for over an hour to get a taxi. Thank God, David gave me his number because the dog barked next door every night. I am glad David is a night owl ( I called him around 1:30 or 2:00am) and he promptly called the owner and the barking ceased. We enjoyed our stay and the food was out of this world. Our room did not get cleaned one day and David comped some of our stay.I would highly recommed the Degas house. It would be nice to have the great breakfasts through out the stay. David ( The Owner ) and Sharon, plus the rest of the kitchen staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The B&B is very clean, I would of rated it higher if our room had been cleaned in the cleanlines category. We will return, plus David and the kitchen help went above and and beyond to make us feel welcome. Mary Hale Mary Hale

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt welcome. We do our best to go above and beyond for our guests. We are sorry about the room not being cleaned one day. We do have maid service everyday. We look forward to your return!


Quick stay, but worth it

4.2 on August 17, 2010

I was only in N.O. for about 18 hours for a wedding, but this place was great! So accommodating and Sharon made me a superb breakfast in about 10 minutes flat so that I wouldn't miss my plane. Next time I hope to tour the house a bit more, but the room was spacious and cool with the ac.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. Sharon and staff will do anything they can to help out our guests. We hope you can stay for more than 18 hours next time!


could be so much better

2.0 on December 28, 2009

Our room was in the third floor. It had no windows, and the bed was very old. The closet had left over items from previous guests. The staff was surly, not pleasant. The breakfast was barely passable.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time for your review. We take all issues seriously. The Garret rooms do not have windows; however, they are spacious and give the experience of a being a Parisian artist, like Degas. We have new, luxurious bedding. As you can tell from other reviews, we are usually praised for our fantastic breakfast and customer service.


Very well deserved relaxing getaway

5 on October 03, 2009

The most tranquil and relaxing weekend getaway that I have experienced in a very long time. Excellent breakfast prepared and served by Sharon. Easy access to the French Quarter and other fine dining establishments. I especially having my morning coffee in the historic brick patio, surrounded by the beautiful tropical foliage.


A great new orleans Experience!

5 on September 19, 2009

I love this place. definately a fresh breath of the true new orleans culture. I love the historic look. the food is breath taking! the rooms are super clean and the amenities are great. truly the essense of new orleans.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt the real New Orleans here. We hope to see you soon!


BEAUTIFUL HOME & GREAT HISTORY

5 on August 09, 2009

This is a great place to stay. People are very friendly and helpful. I will consider this my New Orleans home. Great breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. We are honored that you consider us your home in New Orleans. We strive to make all of our guests feel at home. We look forward to your return!


Degas House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $350
  • Reviews (42) 4.3
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5048215009
  • Fax 1-5048210870
  • Toll free 1-8007556730

Visit Website »

View details

Top