Ruby Lodge at Spring Lake Woods Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
27 Reviews

Write A Review

Great place to stay in Madisonville!

5 on July 12, 2014

Spectacular b&b. My room was very clean and well furnished. The whole whose was very unique. Definitely better then a chain hotel! Breakfast was great.


Best bnb experience ever!

5 on July 07, 2014

Everything was perfect! Quiet, beautiful property minutes from anything. Nice people.


A gem in Madisonville, KY

5 on April 29, 2014

My daughter and I had a "girls stay" at the Lake House at Ruby Lodge. It was such a beautiful surprise in the middle of downtown! We took a long walk on the 70 acre paradise, saw a beaver, an indigo bunting, four deer, a groundhog, and a Robin with new babies on the porch. We have stayed at B&B's all over the country, and this one is really special. The linens were divine, the breakfasts the best I've ever had (the ham and onion quiche was to die for), and the peace and solitude unrivaled. The room was so nice and clean and the beds were perfect for a good nights rest. Shirley and Joe and Emma made our stay seem almost like family. Will definitely return when we can !

Innkeeper Response
The pleasure was all ours - to have you visit our little piece of paradise.


Very nice excperience!

3.8 on April 14, 2014

No food was served, coffee maker was okay.

Innkeeper Response
. . .what she didn't note was that as a business traveler, she had to be on the job much earlier than our breakfast hours.


Ruby Lodge & Lake House March 2013

4.6 on April 05, 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed our get-away weekend at the Ruby Lodge/Lake House B&B. The breakfasts were delicious, nutritious and filling-- more then enough to give you a great start to your day. The property is so gorgeous, even in late March when winter is till hanging tough you want to be outside. BTW -- Shirley brews a GREAT pot of COFFEE, hot, no bitterness, nice and smooth on the palate!


Sweet Surprise at Spring Lake

4.8 on October 15, 2012

My only experience with a bed and breakfast in the past was a tremendously overpriced place in Charleston, South Carolina. Staying at Ruby Lodge for less than the price of a room at the Hampton Inn has changed my mind about staying in these establishments. The location is gorgeous, the house was a piece of architectural history, the food was delicious, and the hosts were friendly and welcoming. We definitely will send our family and friends there when they are in the area.


Mini-moon

4.0 on August 09, 2012

We stayed for 2 days and 2 nights after our wedding for a mini-honeymoon. Shirley was a great hostess. She let us explore to our hearts content and didn't intrude into our time. The lodge and surrounding area were lovely. Thinking about sending both sets of parents for a weekend on their 40th anniversaries. Was a surprise close to home....... Thank you Shirley for helping us start our new life together.


Peaceful Setting

4.8 on June 22, 2012

Wonderful weekend get-away. Beautiful scenery. Delicious food. Welcoming hosts. We would definately do it again.


Band B Madisonville

4.4 on October 10, 2011

50th reunion for my husband. We felt like we were a personal guest. Truly outstanding stay.


Mini Vacation at Ruby Lodge

5 on July 12, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to learn the property was on 70 acres. Beautiful lake with lots of trees. The Main House was beautifully decorated which we loved and yet, if you stay at the Lodge house it was perfect for a slightly more rustic feel. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Mrs. Thomas was the perfect hostess, friendly and helpful. We would DEFINITELY repeat staying here. Also based on the large number of rooms, PLUS gathering areas (Florida Room, Game Room, Dining Room at Lodge, outside patios and more) it would be a perfect place for a Family Reunion. Yes, there is a pool. We give it TWO THUMBS up. Chris and Barbara Thomas


wonderful christmas

5 on January 02, 2011

Staying at Ruby Lodge was an additional present as we visited family over Christmas.


Madisonville High School Class of 1955

5 on October 15, 2010

Shirley Thomas and the gang at Ruby Lodge at Springlake Woods were perfect hosts. The food was great in a beautiful location. Every need of our class was met and then topped off with an amazing breakfast. We will be back for our next reunion.


Outstanding more than expected

5 on August 07, 2010

We were supprised how clean and how muchwe felt at home and the breakfast was just outstanding.We enjoyed our visit and no doubt we will return.Looking forward to the next visit.Good old southern hosipitality.


Above and Beyond

5 on May 18, 2010

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and I wasn't sure what to expect. It was great! From the moment we first walked through the door we were well taken care of. Accommodations were beautiful and the breakfasts were gourmet quality. This is a very hospitable, generous, hard working and fun family. Special thanks to Shirley and Jennie for all they did for us.


Peaceful, quiet and a nice get away

4.2 on March 03, 2010

My husband and I wanted to get away for our anniversary in February, but didn't want to go far from home (Nashville). It had snowed and was beautiful around the lake. We stayed in the lodge which was filled with pictures, antiques and lots of windows to see the beautiful scenery. The room was very clean, although it is a older home it had some weather to it. The bathroom was small but Clean!Very quiet because we were the only ones staying there at the time. The breakfast every morning was wonderful, great food but also great conversation. Shirley and Jenny both are super to meet any needs we had. Thanks for the wonderful stay! Jami and Debbie


KY at it's finest!

4.6 on February 21, 2010

We needed to stay in the area close to where I use to live. We like B&B's and found Ruby Lodge on the net. WOW! came in late-the door was slightly ajar-Shirley greeted us like family, showed us our room-upstairs-and quietly disappeared so we could rest. We woke with the lake view straight from the bed. Breakfast in the am was so beautifully presented-with concious detail to the fact that my husband will not eat eggs if he can see them at all! Eventually, we discovered Shirley's limp was probably a broken foot, all of which she NEVER let interfere with serving us! Lovely architecture, beautiful wooded area, just a great experience alround. Please visit them when you are anywhere in the area.


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

5 on December 24, 2009

We stayed in the Ruby Lodge for the weekend. It was an amazing place to just relax and enjoy the view of the lake. The hospitality was unsurpassed and the breakfast was great. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anybody.


A Pleasant Get-Away

4.6 on December 06, 2009

We recently traveled from the Nashville area through Kentucky and stayed at the Ruby Lodge. What a pleasant surprise to find such a hideaway so close to the downtown area. It's a short trip from the Nashville area with many things to do along the way. We've stayed in numerous B&B's over the years, and this one rates among the best! Shirley is a charming innkeeper and so knowledgeable about the area, she can direct you anywhere. Lovely house, furnishings and accommodations. A quiet, peaceful atmosphere.


Spring Lake Lodge - Wonderful!

5 on November 15, 2009

Restful. Classy. A tranquil wooded setting overlooking a placid lake with geese on the shore completing the picture. Hosts that exemplify hospitality with a sumptuous breakfast in an elegant dining room. We will definitely be back! Thank you for the great escape from a hectic life!


Leigh-Balch Wedding

4.6 on November 07, 2009

Attended a wedding and reception and was so surprised of this wonderful setting in Madisonville. The food prepared by the Thomas' was outstanding as the service all evening. A beautiful Bed & Breakfast.


Cozy, Private, Inviting and Family friendly

4.0 on November 02, 2009

We had an awesome experience with Joe and Shirley and had a great visit with their daughter and family. We will recommend this Bed and Breakfast to people we know and who want a great getaway experience. God's blessings on your remodeling!


Amazing Oasis

5 on October 26, 2009

My husband and I took an east-to-west tour of Kentucky in October, and stayed at a couple of B&B's along the way. We stayed at the Spring Lake Lodge, on the Spring Lake Woods estate. Joe and Shirley, the proprietors, are so warm and welcoming, and the grounds are incredibly beautiful. The Lake House looked to be recently renovated and was clean and magnificently outfitted with antiques. We especially enjoyed the framed historical photographs. Our large, beautiful room had a picture window overlooking the small lake out back - -absolutely lovely view. We walked the grounds and felt very at home. We will definitely come back and recommend to others. Would be great for a large gathering - - maybe a family reunion.


Awesome Experience

5 on October 20, 2009

In all my travels, literally worlwide, I have never experienced accomodations that were so complete in every aspect. Having stayed in B&Bs in Europe, Far East and the US, the Ruby Lodge was unquestionabley the most outstanding of any that I have experienced. The room was exquisite, the service beyond expectations and the food was gourmet with the presentation "Eye Popping"! Thank you Shirley (and Joe) for an outstanding experience. Hope to see you next year.


Groom's family, Leigh-Balch wedding

4.8 on October 09, 2009

We hosted the rehearsal dinner for this wedding at the Guest House. Over 50 guests attended and the event was a real success. The food and service were superb & the setting was intimate and ideal. Ten family members were overnight guests at the lodge & lake house and all enjoyed their stay immensely. We can highly recommend Ruby Lodge.


Elegant serenity

5 on August 13, 2009

Exquisite layout of the house to maximize the view and enhance the peaceful existence one would expect in a very isolated wooded area, yet only a short drive to downtown Madisonville. Beautiful period decor and furniture....Joe and Shirley were very friendly and a pleasure to talk with and get to know.....Coffee was never scarce and breakfast was always served on beautiful sets of china with linen and crystal......It was more than we could ever imagine.


Gracious elegance and southern hospitality

5 on July 09, 2009

The setting is spectacular, with a gracious southern home overlooking a beautiful lake. The interior decor is over the top elelgance, with antiques and period pieces that make you feel luxuriously comfortable. The hospitality was outstanding, with Shirley and Jenny who were there at our beckoned call to offer information about the area, history about the home, and delightful advice on restaurants. They even joined us in the pool for a refreshing afternoon dip on a hot day. Finally, the breakfast was outstanding, with the freshest of ingredients, served piping hot every morning. I must add...I am a tough critic, because I own a bed and breakfast in Virginia and I have some pretty tough standards! Shirley and Jenny made it all look easy and had the warmest welcome for the Pirozzoli's as they met their Madisonville relatives for the finest reunion ever!


GREAT

5 on June 14, 2009

The Ruby Lodge was wonderful and the owners hospitality un surpassed. Excellent weekend.


Ruby Lodge at Spring Lake Woods

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $145
  • Reviews (27) 4.7
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2708215812
  • Mobile 1-2708366404

Visit Website »

View details

Top