The Country Lodge at Sabbath Song Farm Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect for a Productive Scrapping Weekend!

4.0 on March 13, 2012

I've been to SSF at least 5 times for scrapbooking weekends. I look forward to every return. It's quiet enough to keep me focused and productive, but offers an opportunity for a pensive walk when the creative juices hit a roadblock. Carolyn's hospitality and meals are wonderful....the muffins and bread pudding are fantastic! And in the off chance you wanna get some sleep while your there, the accomodations are very comfortable.


Great for Scrapbooking!

4.6 on March 11, 2012

This is my third trip to the lodge for scrapbooking. Each guest has a six foot table and cushioned rolling chair. Hospitality is over the top. Will definitely return!


A Great Experience!

5 on July 06, 2011

Oh my gosh, I just loved this place!!!! The Boatman's were host and hostess extraordinarire and the setting was gorgeous. The place was beautifully decorated, the beds were really comfortable, the bathrooms had all the amenities, the living area and kitchen were so interesting and just full of inbteresting books, movies and art work. The kitchen was fabulous and Carolyn's special muffins were real, really good!!! We would definitely return!!!! And, we also thoroughly enjoyed the "grand tour" of their farm and got the chance to see thir horses and dogs "up close and personal"!! It was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it!!!! :-)


70th Birthday Weekend

4.0 on July 06, 2011

It was a perfect place to spend with our friends to celebrate our birthdays. Our family had planned a reunion nearby, and some of us stayed at the Country Lodge. The setting was peaceful, and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. It was ideal!


Peaceful, quiet and surrounded by great byways

5 on October 19, 2010

I was part of a group of vintage BMW owners (the cars are vintage, not the owners!) who used the Country Lodge as a base of operations for a weekend of driving back country roads in northern Kentucky. Our group pretty well filled the place; Wes and Carolyn couldn't have been more gracious hosts; from them we found out about all sorts of hidden places to visit and great local eateries. They even cooked for our group on Friday night when we arrived--some from several hours away, tired after a week of work and hungry for dinner. This was our second "Kentucky Ridge Run" event, and we've already made arrangements to return next year. My one regret--I didn't have time to hike some of the trails on the farm; next year I will.


Perfect for a Country Getaway.. in a car that likes the twisties!

5 on October 19, 2010

Our little group of early BMW enthusiasts stayed at the Country Lodge as the HQ for our 125 mile tour of the amazing small highways and back roads found in central Ky. We fell in Friday night to a dinner cooked at the Lodge. It was perfect. (The cornbread was a meal in itself!) After a night of fellowship and relaxation, my wife, out 8 month old daughter and I slept soundly in the King Room. (Sorry for you fellas in the general quarters, but the king bed was absolutely amazing..) We woke to the sun rise coming through the big living room windows and a light, perfectly orchestrated and filling breakfast. Great coffee, pastries from a local specialty shop, fresh fruit salad, etc, etc. The experience was outstanding overall and I couldn't have asked for more. It was a pleasure meeting Carolyn and Wes, and we look forward to seeing them next year for our annual meet!!


Ridge Running BMW's rate Sabbath Song Farm A++++

4.8 on October 17, 2010

Our vintage BMW 2002 group spent two nights at Wes & Carolyn's lovely B&B in early October 2010. We were in rural Kentucky to drive the twisty roads, to see the fall foliage, and to relax. The B&B was perfect for our group and we enjoyed getting to know the Boatmans throughout the weekend. Carolyn provided us breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday mornings which were very hearty and delicious. We had also arranged to have a hot meal waiting for us when we arrived on Friday evening which was a very welcome treat. All of our questions were answered and any requests were granted instantly it seemed. Our hosts were very gracious, flexible and friendly, to say the least. I strongly recommend a stay in the Kentucky hills with beautiful vistas off the deck, and proud horses and giant mastiffs just down the road. Our group will return next October for more Sabbath Song Farm hospitality and for more scenic back road driving on the nearby roads.


Rolling storms and Sunsets

5 on August 20, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Sabbath Song Farm. We got caught in a thunderstorm on our motorcycle on our way home from dinner, but enjoyed watching the rest of the storm and the beautiful sunset that followed from the deck. The muffins melted in our mouths at breakfast the next morning. Our only regret was not having enough time to visit the main house and enjoy the dogs and horses....but there is always next time. Thanks Again, The DeLands


A Great Weekend

5 on May 09, 2010

The cinnamon rolls and blackberry tart we had for breakfast were outstanding. Carolyn's homemade cinnamon rolls are fabulous. For the rest of the time, having a full service kitchen for our use placed The Country Lodge at Sabbath Song Farm above any other place I have stayed. I find relaxation through cooking and the facilities were great. It's quiet and peaceful and made for an exceptionally relaxing weekend. The wireless internet was an added bonus. I'm a bit of a football junkie and my wife was able to get me on this weekend of scrabble and relaxation without my needing to completely lose touch with the outside world, except when we wanted to lose touch :). What a wonderful time. I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to get away.


Wonderful peaceful stay

5 on February 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed for three days over the New Year holiday. It was an incredibly peaceful time. The cabin is absolutely beautiful and it was decorated for Christmas. This is not the ordinary B & B where breakfast is served, instead breakfast is left for you in a full kitchen at your disposal. We were able to cook all of our meals with the staples in the pantry and the fully stocked kitchen by bringing in our own extras. It was very cold and we did not get to enjoy so many things that the farm offers, but we were able to go see the dogs (what fun!) and the horses. Our hosts could not have been more gracious and enjoyable. We will be back. I would encourage anyone to stay and it would be an excellent place for a family reunion also.


Really brought us together as a family

4.6 on January 31, 2010

We are a family of four and rented the whole lodge, but this would also be a great place for two families to share! A must see in the fall, the farm was alive with color, and we got an up close and personal tour thanks to Wes and his kubota! Each morning was spent helping to feed the horses, and then coming back to the smell of homemade baked goodies warming up in the oven. Wes and Carolyn are as involved in your stay as you want them to be, and were great at making recommendations for local must - see places, including the best local pizza place, cools shops in Augusta, and even a place to buy homemade soaps and lotions! A Friday night rain allowed us to stay in and play games and watch movies, resulting in some great family time. We'll definately be back, as we'd love to see the farm in the spring or summer! If you want to relax and unwind in a beautiful setting, check out the Country Lodge!


A Relaxing Retreat in the Hills of Kentucky

4.0 on November 09, 2009

Sabbath Song Farm is an experience in gracious hospitality provided by innkeepers, Carolyn and Wes Boatman. From the delicious cinnamon rolls and homemade blueberry salsa to comfy beds to woodland hikes, this lodge is a "come back to" place! The scenic hillside surroundings are perfect for moments of quiet reflection. We also enjoyed exploring nearby attractions....a lavendar farm, historic Maysville and Augusta, Kentucky, and an apple orchard. A most memorable getaway weekend!!!


Peaceful retreat

5 on July 24, 2009

The Country Lodge is exceptional in every way. From the rooms to the meals, Carolyn and Wes are the ultimate hosts! The property is probably the most beautiful I've ever been on, filled with rolling hills, trails, creeks and ponds. Who wouldn't want to stay in this delightful place? I can't wait to go back again!


The Country Lodge at Sabbath Song Farm

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $195
  • Reviews (13) 4.7
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6067359914
Top