Wellington Place Inn Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

Fantastic bed and breakfast—best ever!

5 on August 15, 2016

My husband and I have stayed in many bed & breakfasts over the decades, and we both agree that this was the best ever! Gary & Wayne were excellent hosts, we loved learning about their beautiful and historic home, our room was inviting and comfortable, we enjoyed relaxing by the pool, both breakfasts were delicious, and Gary even shared his recipes. Everything was absolutely wonderful, and we enjoyed a perfect getaway weekend, thanks to our hosts. If you love B&Bs, don't miss the opportunity to stay at this one. We hope to return one day. Jack & MJ Dent


Kudos

5 on July 18, 2016

Great property Neat history Why stay at a cookie cutter shoe box when this opportunity is available? A. Mayes


SPLENDID

5 on June 14, 2016

My daughter and I came for a two night stay and had the best time ever! The house was meticulous, which put me immediately at ease since I am a "clean freak" at heart! Gary was so much fun to be around, and a chef in disguise! The breakfast was splendid, and he made the best muffins EVER!! If you are needing a beautiful place to stay, this is definitely it!


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

5 on May 26, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 5th Anniversary for the weekend at Wellington Place Inn. It was wonderful and relaxing. The room was really nice and the bed was really comfortable. We stayed in the rose room. Gary and Wayne are wonderful host and cooks really good Breakfasts.


Excellent and welcoming B & B

5 on May 09, 2016

Friendly owners who felt more like family. Beautiful, spotless and romantic. We can't say enough wonderful things about the inn. All the rooms are fantastic.


Birthdays

4.8 on April 20, 2016

This B&B war truly outstanding and the inside of the structure was beautiful with lots of carved and engraved wood panels. We were there to celebrate our birthdays and had a fantastic time. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable.


Exceptional stay in Wichita

5 on March 28, 2016

Hosts were most accommodating, ensuring that our stay went perfectly.


Outstanding!

5 on March 20, 2016

Our stay at the Wellington Place Inn was a fantastic experience. Our experience started with Gary greeting us and our wonderful experience continued with a tour of the Inn and our room with accommodations. This was a especially a great experience for my fiancé for this is her first experience staying at a B & B and one of the top B & B's I have had the privilege to stay at. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the fantastic breakfast we had the pleasure of attending and top off our stay. Gary and Wayne truly outdid themselves and made this experience one of the greatest for us and we appreciate everything!


Superb hospitality

5 on March 17, 2016

Innkeeper was extraordinary in his dedication to making his guests comfortable and cared for. Property is magnificent- loved the stay.


The Best B&B!

5 on March 01, 2016

Gary and Wayne were amazing, Gary's knowledge of the history of the Inn plus Wayne's skills at the piano were the best. There was nothing lacking and the only complaint we had is that we could not stay longer. If you are ever in Wichita, please treat yourself to this luxury.


Do this, do it now!

5 on February 22, 2016

I wish I had more of a literary background so I could write a truly worthy review. I'll try to keep this brief. Stop what you are doing right now and make a reservation at Wellington Place. My wife and I spent the night there this weekend as a little getaway and I cannot say enough good things about Gary and Wayne and their incredible B&B. From the minute we walked in we were greeted as long time friends and treated like royalty. The house is absolutely incredible and the hosts will give you a thorough and interesting tour of this historical home. Gary and Wayne themselves were born to do this type of work. You can tell they enjoy what they do and they will stop at nothing to make sure your stay is enjoyable. I'll give you a warning though, if you get Gary talking and telling stories, be prepared to laugh so hard your stomach starts to hurt. I had to hold onto something to keep from passing out from laughter at one point. Also, if you are on any type of special diet.............forget it. As soon as you walk in the door you will see a big jar of homemade chocolate ship cookies and it only gets more tempting from there. I'm pretty sure the breakfast spread in the morning gave me type 2 diabetes but it was worth it. My wife and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. In fact, we're trying to figure out an excuse to go back to Witchita so we can go see Gary and Wayne ( and their awesome dog Roxy) again. Make the reservation right now......do it. You will not regret it.


Wonderful B&B

5 on January 12, 2016

We had a great stay. The house is amazing and Gary was very accommodating. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Wichita.


Hidden Gem in Wichita

4.8 on December 27, 2015

Dorothy would have never left for OZ if she'd stayed at the Wellington Place Inn. My wife and I just celebrated our Anniversary at Wellington Place Inn and it was even better than our wedding night. Gary was very helpful in arranging a special Romantic package in conjunction with our evening. Roses, chocolates and champagne were waiting in the Music Room, which I had chosen for our evening. From moment we entered this beautiful, exquisitedly decorated, home which was all decked out for the Holiday we felt at home. Gary and Wayne are exceptional hosts and within a few minutes they made us feel like we were old friends. The guys have an appreciation for this architectural gem in Wichita's old historical district which was lovingly restored by the Ryan family, Ryan Aviation and have continued with maintaining the elegance of it's original owner and creator, Mr Clapp, an early Mayor of the City. If you're interested they willing share the history of the home and point out unique features that are virtually unaffordable today. As we stayed on a week night they were not as busy as they are on weekends so we were kindly given a grand tour of the home. Every room was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and each had unique features designed by Mr. Clapp and perfectly maintained or restored. We weren't in Wichita on business but Gary and Wayne, who have a background working for Corporate companies, have added amenities to the rooms which any business traveler would find in an executive hotel room. We noted in our room's guest book that many satisfied business travelers were pleased with their stay at the Wellington Place Inn. No work out room but there's a pool open in the summer months and lovely streets for walking or jogging in this historical district. We're looking forward to our next stay when in Wichita.


Business stay

4.8 on December 03, 2015

This was an outstanding b&b experience. Exceeded all expectations! Service, room comfort, amenities! Highly recommend. Historically significant. Stay here; you won't be sorry!


Best Bed and Breakfast EVER

5 on November 17, 2015

We can't say enough about this place. In addition to having gorgeous rooms in an unbelievable setting, Gary and Wayne were so welcoming it was like visiting family. The breakfasts were gourmet quality and the rooms were immaculate, the beds comfortable, and the entire experience was one we'll always remember with fondness. If you're in Wichita, this is the place to stay, if you aren't, schedule a trip there. There are many wonderful places to visit there but Wellington Place Inn is a must see location in and of itself.


Great PLace to Stay

5 on November 15, 2015

Spent a weekend there and could not have been more pleased. Gary and Wayne are excellent hosts and the historic building is a great place to stay. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Wichita


Home away from home

5 on November 09, 2015

We absolutely loved it here. We had no idea that this place was even located in Wichita until recently, now we can't stop telling our friends and family about it. The place was gorgeous and Gary and Wayne were so warm and inviting. We are already planning our next escape back.


More than expected!

5 on October 16, 2015

We were celebrating our 35th anniversary last weekend (October 9th,2015). Gary and Wayne made our stay memorable. This house is gorgeous, it's so clean you could eat off the floor! We were greeted by Gary out in the driveway, with warm pumpkin muffins. The breakfast was delicious. Gary and Wayne were a wealth of knowledge about the history of the house. I highly recommend staying here and hope to return. Margaret and Byron


Fantastic Weekend

5 on October 14, 2015

We stayed back in July for my birthday and our whole stay was magical. Could not have asked for a better time. Rave reviews and we have told numerous friends to book at Gary and Wayne place.


Business and Pleasure

4.8 on October 14, 2015

Had to be in town on business and I chose to spend my night at this little museum of a B&B.The owners love to talk about their home, have it beautifully maintained, and are gracious hosts. Can't say enough about a place with unlimited Diet Coke and owners willing to share the recipe for the pumpkin cinnamon muffins that were warm from the oven when I arrived at the home. Safe parking, extensive lawns, and even a workout room if I chose to use it. I wish that owners would not charge for two breakfasts with one guest, but that's just me..... I would definitely choose to stay here again. They were talking about Murder Mystery Weekends.... what a great idea!


Great B&B

5 on September 21, 2015

We have stayed at many B&B's and this is the very best.


Great B&B

5 on September 10, 2015

We have stayed at many B&B and this is the best. Gary and Wayne are doing a great job.


Wonderful Stay - Great attention to details!

4.8 on June 02, 2015

From the moment we arrived until we left we had a fantastic experience! The customer service/hospitality was excellent. The rooms & home absolutely gorgeous and spacious. The Innkeepers are some of the best we've encountered (we do B&Bs quite frequently). And the breakfast was delicious and generously sized! Other details such as homemade cookies upon arrival, complimentary sodas & water, celebratory wine, and a "to-go" bag of goodies at our departure were all icing on the cake and truly put this B&B experience over the top. Thank you Gary & Wayne for a perfect getaway!!


Amazing Bed and BREAKFAST!

5 on May 11, 2015

My stay with Gary & Wayne was beyond delightful. They were extremely helpful, and catered to my every need. The house is amazing, just gorgeous. I absolutely loved the big bathtub in The Green Room, and the bed was so comfortable! Let me not forget to mention the breakfast! Homemade blueberry french toast, it was to die for! Even if for a weekend staycation, you must try this Bed & Breakfast! -Tatiana & Shikara


Hansen's enjoyed visit a lot!

5 on April 13, 2015

Very, very clean - Breakfast was fabulous! We will come again.


Loved it!

5 on April 01, 2015

Boyfriend and I absolutely loved our stay at this beautiful B&B, only wish we had more time to spend here eating Gary's delicious treats!! Can't wait to visit again!


love love love this place a must see and stay

5 on February 16, 2015

Our first experience with a B&B and it was amazing. We both love Gary and Wayne and will remain friends. The beds are so comfortable and the rooms are amazingly beautiful they have really made this house a place you want to never leave . The woodwork throughout the entire house is gorgeous they even have wooden door handles. Then there was the food they do a wonderful job on presintaion as well as being delishis and they will send the recipes home with you as well. We love Wayne and Gary and our experience with them. Jodie Hill


most amazing stay ever

5 on February 15, 2015

Would never want to stay anywhere else. Great people and beautiful home.


Fantastic centrally located B&B

5 on January 15, 2015

Our family rented all the rooms of this beautiful, historic mansion for our post Christmas family reunion. Gary and Wayne were phenomenal, making us feel so welcome and relaxed in their incredible home. The breakfasts were delicious, and we enjoyed yummy homemade baked goods everyday. The location is central, and conveniently located to downtown, the airport, and INTRUST Arena. The home is meticulously kept, and you can tell Wayne and Gary love the property as their predecessors did. Cannot say enough great things about Wellington Place Inn! Dana and family


Can't wait to go back!

5 on December 07, 2014

Single best overnight travel experience of my life. Gracious, welcoming hosts and beautiful surroundings. I could not have imagined a nicer surprise.


Amazing

5 on September 01, 2014

Wonderful hosts and amazing bed and breakfast!!!


Great for downtown business trips

5 on August 07, 2014

The inn is only two miles straight down Main Street to the County Courthouse. Access is easy, and the property is gated which you do not get with hotels. Business travelers will find policies make this the perfect location if all you are looking for is a nice, safe and quiet place to be in the evenings. The house is cleaner than any hotel that I have ever been in, and much more beautiful. I rented the Music room which is the only room downstairs. At 9:00 pm it gets quiet with no other guests running around, doors banging or ice machines clattering. As an early riser, I appreciated that Gary had coffee ready for me when I went to the dining room just around the corner. Everything I needed for working from my room was provided, including my private bathroom. Gary made every effort to accommodate my schedule and treated me like family. His planned menus for the morning let me know what to expect each day, and he was always ready to serve me by 7:00 am. A stream of food, coffee and juice kept coming until I was more than satisfied. I found Gary to be a great conversationalist, and we easily spent an hour on several occasions talking about the house, the neighborhood and family. As a bit of trivia, my wife and I spent time in the home during the summer of 1978, taking advantage of the location, availability and the size. The house was in very bad shape at that time, but the framework shouted out beauty and quality through the dust and abuse. I had heard that it had been restored at great expense, and I was delighted to learn that it was now a Bed & Breakfast. I never expected to see the inside again, so it was truly a treat for me to spend some time there. I literally spent time everyday taking in the woodwork and enjoying this amazing restoration. The house alone will make you feel special, but Gary let me feel like it was my own. Any time I come back to Wichita for business, there is no question that I will be hoping to book my room.


Stay here!

5 on July 23, 2014

You will not regret choosing this gorgeous B&B. The pictures do not do it justice. The house is meticulous and beautifully restored. It is spotless. Our host, Gary was just about the nicest person I have ever met. A local friend came to visit us at the house and Gary made her feel welcome, too. Thank you for a wonderful visit to Wichita.


An exceptional house and hosts

5 on July 07, 2014

Gary and Wayne were the perfect hosts! Lemon pound cake was fresh from the oven when we arrived. They gave us an historical tour of the house, which has been maintained historically correct over the years. The house is quite fascinating and the history tour they gave us was fascinating.The outside pool was spotless and quite large, My husband and I enjoyed every minute there. We certainly will stay again!


Flawless

5 on July 03, 2014

This establishment is tough to beat for business or pleasure. Our two-night stay in beautifully maintained period surroundings was made all the more enjoyable by Wayne and Gary, our gracious hosts. We were given a tour that demonstrated their knowledge of the home’s history and appreciation for design and décor. Don’t be dissuaded by its location in North Midtown. As a former Wichita resident, I wasn’t familiar with the immediate neighborhood, but have a great fondness for the eclectic offerings of eateries on North Broadway, including many Vietnamese, Mexican, Cuban, (among others) and down-home restaurants serving everything from steaks to spaghetti since the 1970’s. Wellington Place is minutes from the downtown business district, and many of Wichita’s finest attractions. The food is exceptional. Each 3 course breakfast was delicious and satisfying, making the price of rooms even more attractive and affordable. When I left for the evening to attend a reunion mixer, Joe was left to his own devices. Gary and Wayne invited him to join them for a cookout there at home, and they were the best of friends by the end of the evening. We were sad to go, but were sent off with cake that had been made from scratch (and to die for, and Wayne even donated a tarp for our plans to take some of my things out of storage, since it looked like rain. See you again in September, guys. We wouldn’t stay anywhere else.


A very warm welcome to Wichita!

5 on June 25, 2014

My partner and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Wellington Place Inn on the first leg of our holiday in Kansas from the UK. We were given such a warm welcome by Gary and Wayne to their home. Their hospitality was wonderful. The charm of the historic property is evident everywhere. We were also pointed in the right direction at the start of a self-guided walking tour of the city which we can thoroughly recommend. Thank you very much! Richard and Chris


Great place to stay!

4.4 on March 07, 2014

Great place to spend a night or a week. Lovely old home with great woodwork and many outstanding features. Hosts were more than accommodating and food was delicious. We will definitely return.


Beautiful B&B! Highly Recommended

5 on March 02, 2014

This was our first bed and breakfast experience. Gary and Wayne were amazing hosts and enjoyed their tour and history of their beautiful home. We enjoyed our evening in the green room and made for an unforgettable Valentine's Day. We can't wait to stay again, hopefully in the master's suite! Pictures are unable to do this home justice, check it out for yourselves!


Awesome B&B!! Highly recommended!!!!

5 on January 05, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at multiple B&B's over the years. We enjoy trying different places. Some have been good, others not. We will be going back to the Wellington Place Inn again. Awesome experience in a BEAUTIFUL home. Can't say enough good things about it.


Wellington Place Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3167192907

Visit Website »

View details

Top