The Bennett House Bed & Breakfast and Events Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Stay

4.6 on July 02, 2016

My visit to The Bennett House was on Sunday June 26, 2016. My Mom, niece, and I had the most wonderful time. I have stayed in several B & B's but this one is the best. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. Breakfast was great. I would highly recommend The Bennett House to anyone - including my husband who I am in high hopes will take me back for a weekend getaway.


beautiful b&b

5 on June 30, 2016

would go back


Lovely stay in Richmond

4.4 on June 23, 2016

The Bennett House is a remarkable journey back in time. Completely furnished with authentic period furnishings the Smart's have done an amazing job of maintaining this pristine property. Richard was a perfect host and his pecan French toast omelet creation with fresh fruit made for a wonderful and filling breakfast.


beautiful b&b

5 on June 20, 2016

Would recommend to anyone.


Bennett House stay was outstanding

5 on May 09, 2016

We had a great stay. The owners were super nice. We plan on returning!!


Great little home away from home

4.4 on May 08, 2016

The Bennett House is a lovely convenient spot while staying in Richmond. Richard and Rita are fine hosts and I will be back.


Everything I expected

5 on April 13, 2016

Very nice, comfortable B&B. Nice rooms, great service and breakfast was awesome. Great location too.


Our weekend away

4.6 on April 06, 2016

Very nice place and great breakfast. Nice get away from the hustle bustle of our busy week. Very nice couple.


Gem

5 on February 02, 2016

We enjoy our fantastic Richmond getaways. Richard is always kind, friendly and helpful. The room is comfortable, quiet, and easily accessible. There is a great little restaurant that we enjoy, the hanger, and its right down the road from EKU. They have an amazing performing arts center and invite great artists to perform. Can't wait til we return.


A Gem in RIchmond

5 on January 13, 2016

We stayed at this gorgeous B&B on New Year's day. It was decorated beautifully for the holidays. Our room was outstanding. We had a lovely, spacious sitting area in front of a fireplace. The bathroom was large and well lit. The bed was comfortable with quality linens. The entire house was quiet and clean. Breakfast was elegant and delicious and served on beautiful holiday china. Our host was friendly and gracious. After staying in local hotels in the past, a friend recommended we stay at the Bennett House on this trip. I wish we would have done it sooner. We will stay here on all future trips to the area.


Visiting Coach

4.4 on November 11, 2015

Several of my old college teammates thought it was time to go watch some football and meet up with Coach. Booking my room, I was put off by some of the chain hotel's on-line reviews. Accidentally saw this and for just a tad bit more expense, my wife and I had a glorious experience. Beautiful, grand, old house with magnificent appointments and impeccably cared for. Great owners too.


Great Vacation Stop!

4.8 on October 31, 2015

Large beautiful room(Hunter). Stayed here 5 days among Lots of old, beautiful antiques. Better price than local hotels! Loved the breakfasts


Great Vacation Stay

4.6 on October 20, 2015

Stayed here 5 days in October while on vacation, visiting family. The home is beautiful, our Hunter room was clean, spacious, and well-appointed. Dick was gracious, and while we talked only very briefly to Rita, she seemed nice. I'd recommend travelers choose the Bennett House over motels/hotels in the area! Thanks, Bob


Gift from a friend

5 on August 26, 2015

We had a wonderful visit last Friday and thoroughly enjoyed your lovely B&B. Thank you!


Comfortable, convenient and reasonably priced

4.0 on April 03, 2015

I stayed at the Bennett House for two days while I was visiting the local high school and attending a conference on the EKU campus. The Bennett House was walking distance from both venues, as it's located right down town, on Main Street. I stayed in the Hunter Room, which has a marvelously comfortable bed with great linens. The room was quiet and attractive, and I was able to work there with no distractions. There's a big bathroom attached to the room as well as upstairs and downstairs free areas for reading, tv watching, etc. Love the 12-foot ceilings in this house! Breakfasts were tasty, though they included meat both times, despite my self-identification as vegetarian. The host was friendly and helpful with directions and advice about Richmond. I would definitely stay here again.


beautiful home and and great owners

3.8 on March 02, 2015

my wife and i stayed for a couple nights. the home is incredible. clean and rich with history, breakfast was very good. would like to have had access to a fridge. fireplaces in every room but not functional. our room was quite spacious and huge bath. lots to do in richmond and berea.


Midweek Getaway

3.4 on December 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights during the week. The Bennett House was very beautiful inside and out and was very conveniently located. Our room was comfortably decorated. The innkeeper was kind, but never introduced himself, nor offered a tour of the house. The breakfasts were not signature as described on their website--more basic continental-style with canned fruit and store bought muffins. Overall a mediocre experience.


Charming, Great Service

4.6 on November 05, 2014

Our host was most gracious. The breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable. The building had great charm. My only complaint was that the fireplace was inoperable and the firescreen was duct taped to the surround. Had that not been an issue, I would rate it 5s all around. AJB


Beautiful B&B with a lot of interesting history.

3.8 on October 30, 2014

Stayed only one night, but rooms were great. Very nice breakfast.


Wonderful Stay

5 on September 30, 2014

Beautiful room with lovely antique furnishings. Location in center of town: walk to university, nearby restaurants, downtown shops. Great backyard gazebo: very homey and comfortable. Great location to start the Bourbon trail just south of Lexington. Will look forward to coming back another time!


Get Away Weekend

3.6 on August 07, 2014

Great place and great service! Quiet and well managed. You will not regret staying at this wonderful house.


Great Family Get Together!!

5 on October 18, 2012

This a wonderful, charming, historical place to get the family together for a special get-a-way trip! My family and I stayed here in August 2012. The rooms are big, clean, and comfortable, well decorated with lots of room to socialize inside and out! The Inn Keepers are great, lovely people and they fix great goodies and snacks with a wonderful breakfast! I can't wait to go back!! :)


Nice folks but the room has some issues!

3.6 on July 09, 2012

The folks who own the inn are extremly helpful and they really do aim to please their customers. We stayed on the top floor of the cottage and as it was the last of June and very hot - the air conditioner was having trouble keeping up and it stayed almost 80 degrees or above the entire time in the room. There was also an electrical issue where a breaker kept being thrown if we plugged in just 1 item. I hope they get these issues tended to because it is such a beautiful place to stay and they are really nice folks.


Wonderful week in Richmond

4.6 on May 03, 2011

Very friendly service and GREAT breakfasts! Mr. Smart even went with us to a local eaterie on the Kentucky River the last night of our stay. It was a very enjoyable stay and was made so by our host at this B 'n' B.


Definitely stay again.

5 on September 07, 2010

Would definitely stay again. The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed having my own bathroom with massage chair and garden tub. Wi-fi service was quick and dependable. The breakfast was delicious and began with a wonderful creamy oatmeal strawberry parfait and homemade banana bread. The B & B is located within easy walking distance to downtown shops and library.


Pleasant stay with good location

3.6 on July 02, 2010

The Bennett house provides a pleasant stay with a lot of Victorian style and charm. Rooms are quite large providing for comfort during multiple night stays. Some of the bed and bathroom aspects are dated but adequate for a B&B. Breakfasts are quite tasty and filling. Location within Richmond is nice and provides a location where you can walk into town for meals and some exercise. General location near Berea, KY Wineries (Jean Ferris is top notch) and the KY Bourbon Trail make this a good choice, and one we will use again. Richard was great to work with and a fun and willing participant at Breakfast.


1st b&b experience

4.0 on September 07, 2009

Picked a winner for our first experience. The home was fabulous, the attention to detail excellent, and the innkeeper and his wife are personable and so helpful. Stay here and you won't be disappointed. John and Marsha Fancy Gap, Va.


a treasure in richmond

4.6 on June 06, 2008

from the time you enter you are charmed by Bennett House. The woodwork is fabulous. our room was lovely. such a good night's sleep. then to wake to breakfast - fresh fruit, strawberry bread, sugared bacon and macadamian french toast - WOW


Warm and Wonderful

5 on October 17, 2007

A lovely home with wonderful hosts and excellent food.


An elegant home

5 on October 01, 2007

Friendly, informative inkeeper. Breakfast fare very good, unique, attractively served - recipes available as a book on-site. Newly renovated and very clean throughout. Antiques everywhere and attention to detail in decorating. We would return for sure.


The Bennett House Bed & Breakfast and Events

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $225
  • Reviews (30) 4.5
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8596237876
  • Mobile 1-8595822440
  • Toll free 1-8772043426

Visit Website »

View details

Top