Gallery House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
142 Reviews

Write A Review

Birthday weekend

4.6 on November 16, 2014

Gallery House was charming, cozy, and well appointed. The bathroom was roomy and well stocked with soaps, shampoos and lotions. The bed was very comfortable and the room nicely furnished. The breakfast was exceptional! We liked the family style breakfast -- great way to meet new people. The Innkeepers take obvious pride in their home. Gallery House was a great value for the money.


My happy place during Ironman Louisville 2014

4.6 on November 11, 2014

My spontaneous trip to Louisville, KY from Atlanta GA was rewarded with an unforgettable experience of a stay at the exquisite, charming Gallery House. Picture perfect, the place is superb in it's comfort, welcoming atmosphere, cleanliness and exclusive artistic environment. I arrived to the place at night, pouring rain, but as soon as I stepped into the light of the Gallery House, I was carried away by the coziness of the place. Staying at the Rose room was like staying at my relatives home. Art on the walls and around, veranda full of light at second floor, tea on the table next to the room, buklets on local theaters, art galleries, museums - I wish I could stay longer at least to try breakfast, which I didn't get time to do, and to enjoy the Old Louisville more. The location is very convenient, close to Ironman run course!


Great value in Louisville

5 on November 07, 2014

Gordon and Leah were wonderful hosts. We asked for a recommendation for dinner and Gordon recommended The Mayan Cafe, WOW!! For breakfast, Leah made pecan waffles that were so good I ate it all even though I didn't really need it, I couldn't stop eating. We stayed in the Garden Room which was beautifully decorated. Snacks were available in the hall for those late night munchies and there was a hotpot in the room for making tea. Our only complaint was that the mattress was a little hard, but with everything else being so great, we would stay here again.


Lovely stay!

5 on November 05, 2014

This place is a delight to stay in! The pictures do not do it justice. Very clean with lots of eye candy. The inn keepers are friendly and provide a wonderful breakfast. Highly recommended!!!


Ideal location, great neighborhood, excellent suggestions

4.0 on November 03, 2014

I stayed with a group of FFA members and the accommodations were perfect for our group. We had a National Finalist who commented - its just like staying at a relatives house - which but her at total ease! I would suggested this B & B for anyone staying in the Louisville Area! Easy commute to downtown, but very convenient to get to the convention center! We used back roads suggested by the owners and cut down on our travel tremendously!


easy to warm up to

3.8 on November 03, 2014

I chose this B & B because of the overall positive online reviews. There were several review mentions of less than cordial interactions with the innkeepers so I came with low expectations in that regard. Surprisingly, the husband, once invited to talk was cordial and willing to share about himself and details of the B $ B. The place is very homey. Love the cats. The artwork lends to a rich comfortable feeling. The Mrs. stays in the kitchen with her head down and did not speak unless spoken to. She prepared a very nice warm breakfast though. The room was comfortable. I would return.


Very nice and quite

5 on October 18, 2014

Beautiful artwork through out the house.Nice price, close to the city, and very hospitable. Delicious breakfast. Loved the fried green tomato and poached egg!!!! Very clean and tidy room (stayed in the Western room). Highly recommend and will return. Thank you Gordon and Leah!!!


Gallery House - a true masterpiece!

5 on September 09, 2014

Gordon and Leah are great hosts - food is delicious and healthy!


Artful respite in Old Louisville

4.0 on August 30, 2014

Comfortable accommodations with all the necessities and a soupçon of individuality Convenient location with edge and charm of an historic urban neighborhood My husband loved the art in our room and talking with our host about how it was made and collected Value is unbeatable in a city


Great place to stay

4.8 on August 20, 2014

Exceeded my expectations


A great place

4.6 on August 06, 2014

The Gallery House was a great experience. The room and bathroom were clean and you had your own fridge in the rrom. The hosts were really nice and made you feel welcomed. The breakfast was prepared specially for you you every morning. If you have a few days in Louisville, stay here!


Great Location

4.4 on August 05, 2014

Only stayed one night. The Rose room was perfect. The hosts are wonderful.


Nice location, great value

4.6 on August 01, 2014

The location, value, and service were most important to me. These were excellent. I really needed to be able to walk to meet friends just south of downtown on Broadway (just over a mile away). I left before breakfast, so I have no review of that. If I recall correctly, there was no door on the en suite bathroom in the Garden Room. I was staying alone, so this was okay for me, but might be helpful for others to know. I would stay here again.


Absolutely a wonderful place to stay!

5 on July 16, 2014

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. The rooms have great little touches that make your stay comfortable.


Louisville B&B

4.6 on July 15, 2014

Accommodating with own bathroom and all supplies you could need. Choice of warm breakfast was nice. Good hospitality.


Great weekend stay!

5 on July 06, 2014

Hosts are outstanding, the place is very clean and convenient. Would stay again!!


Cozy night stay

4.8 on July 01, 2014

I was very pleased when I walked into this B&B. The owner greeted us at the door, even though we arrived 2 hours prior to our reservation time. Our room was ready, and we were able to get settled in. We stayed in the Garden Room. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, and complimentary toiletries were provided. We both had an excellent night's sleep. The location is excellent in Old Louisville. Very nice to walk around, and right across from a lovely park. The best part was the breakfast. Very well done and delicious, along with some excellent conversation. For the location, the price, the rooms, and the staff, you could not ask for a better deal. I am recommending this place to all of my friends and family.


Southern Comfort

5 on June 30, 2014

A little more kindness would make it better


Totally worth it

4.8 on June 04, 2014

My husband took me to the Gallery House to celebrate my birthday. I admit, we were kind of hesitant about what the experience was going to be like as some of the reviews we read stated that it was sub-par and the owners were not very friendly. We were delightfully surprised from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out that Leah and Gordon were amazing. Not only were they friendly but we were able to get to know them at breakfast as well as receive tips on places to visit while we were in the area. We stayed in the garden room which was comfortable and inviting. The room description stated that there was a garden scenery painted on the walls. In my mind I thought there were going to be flowers and ivy painted everywhere and in bold colors but it reality it was very subtle and it worked. The breakfast was outstanding. When we were looking at places to stay in Louisville, we were intrigued by the fact that it stated Leah was a professional chef. The first morning my husband had a spinach fritata? while I had pecan waffles. The second morning we both had the upsidedown pinapple pancakes. The syrups were homemade. We thoroughly enjoyed every bite. Based on our stay, I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who will listen. It is in a good location, they were both lovely and the food was amazing. I am usually one to read any review I can get my hands on such as on trip advisor, which was why we were slightly hesitate about our stay but as long as you respect that this is their home and are friendly your stay will be worth it. Elizabeth and Clinton Knight


This is a bed and breakfast done well

4.8 on May 29, 2014

I have been to my fair share of bed and breakfasts and Gallery House is one of the best I've experienced. First, it is in a charming and attractive location and is very drivable from downtown or other parts of Louisville. The bed and breakfast itself is lovely and very neat, with lots of beautiful and colorful art covering the walls. The room I stayed in was not exceptionally roomy but still had everything you would need for a comfortable stay, including a white noise machine and small fridge. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evenings. Breakfasts were very tasty, as well. Leah and Gordon are very attentive hosts and are knowledgeable about various attractions. My only reservation in writing this review is I don't know if I want more people knowing about Gallery House, since it's such a great place and such a great value!


Very Satisfied

4.6 on May 19, 2014

We were extremely satisfied with our stay at Gallery House. The location, rooms, hospitality and food were all exceptional.


Lovely place and location

3.8 on May 15, 2014

Enjoyed it very much, room was lovely and very clean. I would go back.


The Gallery House

4.6 on May 11, 2014

The room was warm but that was the only drawback. The food was excellent and the owners were friendly.


Luxurious stay in Louisville at Gallery House

5 on May 03, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Gallery House. The hosts -- Leah and Gordon -- were gracious and helpful as we planned our activities and restaurants for our stay. The breakfasts were super tasty and gave us lots of energy for many hours of sightseeing. We highly recommend this B&B!


Fabulous

5 on April 29, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for the one night that we were there. The food was excellent, the innkeepers were very friendly and outgoing, the décor was so interesting...art work abounds on every wall. The Gallery House is located across from a lovely park where we enjoyed an evening walk and a morning run to stretch our travel weary legs. There are two resident cats, which we loved, but if you have allergies, be aware. It was a great experience.


One of the best!!!

5 on April 21, 2014

What an amazing place to be! I have stayed in several B&B, and this was the most welcoming of all. I did not feel as if I was away from home, and was simply visiting with friends. The art was beautiful, and the food was priceless! Having their cats there... was the icing on the cake for my daily calming animal fix. Kemberly & Josh


Our Stay at the Gallery House

5 on April 02, 2014

We were not disappointed with our stay at the Gallery House! It was just like staying in an Art Gallery and a great one at that! We are booth artists too and really felt this was unique experience. Our hosts were very pleasant and accommodating. And the breakfast was delicious-we even had a choice. Lots of nice touches, and so clean and welcoming. We had a brief but pleasant conversation and then we were off. We hope to stay again when we pass through Louisville. Oh and by the way, it's located in Old Louisville where the architecture is absolutely beautiful. B & J Alberico, March 2014


Wonderful B&B in heart of historic Louisville, KY

4.6 on April 01, 2014

Delightful stay in the heart of historic Louisville, KY with gracious hosts, a tremendous cook and wonderful artwork throughout the house. The cats just make you feel at home. The value is hard to beat anywhere in the city. Leah and Gordon are long time residents that love to share their city with you.


A Great stray in Louisville, KY

4.6 on March 16, 2014

Gordon and Leah run a great B&B! You will NOT be disappointed if you stay here. The house was built in 1997 specifically to be a B&B while keeping the old town historic look to the outside. Did you notice that Leah is a trained chef? Your meals will be unique and very tasteful. Gordon is an accomplished artist and his work can be seen throughout the house. We enjoyed our stay and you will to. DJR


Absolutely recommend.

5 on February 18, 2014

Gordon and Leah are very gracious and unintrusive hosts. Very clean, quiet rooms with lots of personal touches. Breakfasts are to die for! Very relaxed setting. If you just want a quiet break, this is the place for you.


Very accommodating to my needs

4.8 on December 20, 2013

Gordon and Leah were very friendly and accommodating. My nutritionist put me on a gluten free and dairy free diet, and Leah created wonderful breakfasts that kept me on my regimen. They were also helpful with my real estate search in the area! I highly recommend the Gallery House!


Clean accommodations ...yummy breakfast!

4.0 on December 06, 2013

The Gallery House was immaculate and wonderfully decorated with many interesting pieces of artwork throughout. Every morning there were 3 breakfast options of the gourmet type. Our favorite was the pineapple upside down pancakes. They were scrumptious! The only difficulty I encountered was a lack of communication trying to confirm our reservations. No answer to our emails or phone call which sort of left us hanging. That being said, I would not hesitate to visit the Gallery House again and would recommend it.


Great location and delicious breakfast

4.4 on November 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Rose Garden room, which was plenty spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was awesome every morning. We usually had a choice between 2-3 selections, and everything we ate was delicious. We were definitely Clean Plate Club members all week. The location is also great. we enjoyed being near a park, a neighborhood dive up a few blocks and 610 Magnolia right around the corner. We even walked downtown a few times - it's just 1.5 miles away, and it was a safe and pleasant walk. The hosts are very gracious. Would recommend!


Wonderful Experience at the Gallery House

4.6 on November 11, 2013

My week long stay at the Gallery House was excellent! I was on a business trip where my work was centered in the downtown area. It was so nice to be able to escape the business of the downtown each evening and relax at the Gallery House. The breakfast was exceptionally hearty and very tasty. I really appreciated Gordon and Leah accommodating my early breakfast schedule. I would highly recommend staying at the Gallery House for business or for pleasure!


Visit from Ohio

4.2 on November 09, 2013

Good value. Room was nice. Very good foo; able to accommodate dietary restrictions. The door hanging tags were a bit off-putting.


Vegan Breakfast Bliss

4.6 on November 07, 2013

Usually at B&Bs when I tell them I am vegan I get a bowl of fruit but this breakfast was amazing. My three day stay included vegan french toast, tofu scramble and pancakes! I couldn't wait to get up in the morning.


Great location, great breakfast, great B&B

4.8 on October 29, 2013

My wife and I wanted a quick get away from Illinois. The Gallery House B & B was a great location. Two miles north of Churchill Downs, two miles south of the Louisville Slugger Museum, 4th Street nightclub scene, Brown Hotel area. Across the street from a beautiful park and Buck's a great restaurant was within easy walking distance. Would easily recommend this to a friend.


Texans visit The Gallery House

4.8 on October 27, 2013

After the long drive from Texas to visit our daughter, Jeff and Merc, it was really great to be only four blocks from her house. It was very nice and hospitable. I loved the breakfast but my former career Army officer would have appreciated bacon or ham with the eggs.


great place to stay

4.4 on October 27, 2013

The house was purpose-built by the owners to be a B&B and suites that purpose admirably. They are excellent hosts and cooks. I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay.


A true Gem!

4.4 on October 14, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.


far exceeded our expectations!! absolutely wonderful visit!

5 on October 09, 2013

due to a rainy start to our stay, we were met at the door by Gordon, with towels and an offer of use to a pair of umbrellas if we needed. we felt like we were met at the door by an old friend. the super friendly owners, the perfectly on time and wonderfully prepared breakfast, the impeccably clean room and beautifully maintained property as well as the visit with 'spike' the giant cat and the artwork everywhere you look...all top notch!! we will be back to stay (longer next time...) and would recommend a visit to anyone!!


Always pleasent

4.6 on September 30, 2013

Very nice and very clean newer B&B. Quiet location on a beautiful block. Simple and well made breakfast. Innkeeper should consider forwarding calls to their cell phone during the business day for more timely communication. This is not a hotel, so be prepared to make a precise check-in reservation. Even with slight inconvenience it remains my Louisville destination.


Wonderful location!

4.2 on September 18, 2013

Enjoyed sleeping surrounded by fantastic paintings. A very short walk to the wonderful Central Park.


Gallery House August

4.8 on August 22, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at Gallery House in Louisville. I travel for business there once a month and really enjoy the home like feeling while I'm away from my own. The food is delicious!


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Gallery House. Leah and Gordon were gracious hosts. Every morning Leah made us a gourmet breakfast, and it was delicious. The front balcony overlooks the park, and it was a very relaxing place to sit and read. We will stay here again.


Gallery House Review

4.4 on August 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Gallery House. The owners were friendly, the breakfast was delicious and the house was absolutely gorgeous. Our only problem was we were hot. and had trouble sleeping. I talked to Gordon and he said we could open the window but we couldn't get the window open. :( Other than that it was a great stay. We stayed in the Western Room.


Location, Accommodation plus Stimulation

4.8 on August 20, 2013

So close to downtown entertainment, I even rode my bike to here from the Slugger Museum in the afternoon. Very nice safer older home neighborhood. They even have an awesome nature sounds machine in the bedroom to cover the morning airplane noise from the nearby airport. I loved the babbling brook setting, like sleeping by a stream. I enjoy the outdoors but this is like sleeping in nature, without the summer heat. Also used the massage rollers from their sweet Western Suite bathroom to relax by honey after her tough work week. Since Leah also has a dessert making service, we enjoyed the tasty breakfast of asparagus omelet and pineapple pancakes (wish they were whole wheat). The meal was sprinkled with intellectual stimulation about some of the paintings that Gordon created or collected from his Mayan explorations (teaches art history at U of "Luuuvl"). We all know a "Mayan" in a terrible thing to waste. He finally smiled at that one. LOL. Hint; it is from a 70s TV commercial. Leah and Gordon are very appreciative of our Heroes by offering a generous rate of $75 for military, police and firefighters. I think the businesses that do not offer this, should follow the Gallerys lead and offer it all the time too. It is a constant reminder that we pay a price for our freedom and some heroes give their lives so we can enjoy life, liberty and pursuit of happiness. We would like to invite several of our friends next time. I used to stay in US hotels when not camping, but if other B&B can have similar costs to a comfy hotel, I would stay in a B&B. Many are extremely overpriced. Advantages are that we get interesting conversations plus the money stays in the town or city and not to a corporate hotel chain. When we travel to other countries, we stay in hostels or B&Bs, since they cost much less than a hotel and are very intellectually stimulating. Why do most US B&Bs cost much more than a nice hotel room.


The surprise on Sixth Street

4.8 on August 11, 2013

Great place!!!


Sweet Home-Away-From-Home Gallery House in Louisville

5 on August 09, 2013

Gallery House was my first every bed-and-breakfast experience, and it was very favorable indeed. The rooms were beautifully decorated, very cozy. The neighborhood was achingly beautiful. Leah served the most scrumptious breakfasts. I enjoyed talking to her and Gordon - very mellow folks. Pure southern hospitality! They made me feel very at home. Even got my kitty fix tickling Spike's stomach, trying to make Marlow feel less shy. Can't recommend the Gallery House enough, y'all!!


Cozy room at a reasonable price

3.6 on August 06, 2013

Easy on-street parking, nice shared balcony for afternoon relaxation, very clean and well-appointed, but the owners do have a couple of cats.


Gallery House: friendly, comfortable, conveniently located

4.6 on July 02, 2013

The Gallery House is conveniently located near Central Park, Old Louisville, and a brisk walk to the University of Louisville. The second floor porch is a special treat for relaxation, shaded with a natural cool breeze. Leah is an great breakfast cook and an outstanding baker. Gordon is attentive and professional. If I ever return to Louisville, I wouldn't look elsewhere.


2 Night Stay While Visiting UofL

5 on June 25, 2013

A perfect location for being near the UofL campus, while enjoying Central Park right across the street. Loved walking the Old Loisville neighborhood. The Rose room was very comfortable, nicely decorated and furnished, the artwork throughout the inn was enjoyable, the balcony upstairs and sitting room downstairs were relaxing and breakfast was so very good. Thank you Leah and Gordon for your hospitality, and for the information you shared with us to help us on our first visit to Louisville. Looking forward to our next stay at the Gallery House.


Lovely B&B with very friendly owners!

4.6 on May 30, 2013

Charming spot in old Louisville, highly recommend!


A Place to call Home

4.2 on May 16, 2013

The couple and their two kittys were very pleasant. The breakfast(s) were heart healthy and so were the snacks! The rooms were homey and very comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here while in Louisville, Ky.


A delectable detour

4.8 on April 30, 2013

when you just need more inspiration than information, spend some time at the Gallery House. The house has fantastic eye candy in the way of original art by Gordon and others. . It is perfectly located and easy to find. All the spots to see and be seen are within a few well marked miles. The breakfast rivals any of the dining places around town and there are quite a few of those. Be sure to ask about Leah's desserts. I brought home a few goodies and the happy recipients are still talking about the delights of the chocolate.


Great Value & A Pleasant Visit

4.4 on April 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived late to the Gallery House one Friday night and were pleasantly greeted by one of the owners, Gordon, who promptly escorted us to our room, the Rose Room. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed comfortable, and the amenities well above expectations. The eclectic collection of artwork throughout the house was a nice addition that really made the home feel special. After enjoying our freshly prepared breakfast the following morning, we were promptly on our way due to prior commitments. We would definitely recommend staying with Gordon and Leah at the Gallery House should you be looking for comfortable, quiet, and clean accomodations.


Spring 2013 stay

5 on April 13, 2013

Our party of three reserved two of the bedrooms for two nights. Very nice accommodations and very pleasant owners; we enjoyed delightful conversations with the owners. Since Leah is a formally trained chef, no one could go wrong with any of the breakfast options that she offered each morning. Rooms were very clean and the premises are excellently maintained. I recommend highly -- great value!


A wonderful weekend.

5 on April 10, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend in louisville. The gallery house was a great location for us. We took time to enjoy the balcony. We will be back.


Girl's trip

4.8 on March 29, 2013

Best friend and I chose Louisville for a long weekend. We chose Gallery House because of its excellent location. But the food and our charming hosts made it quite a delight.


Just Simply Outstanding!

5 on March 23, 2013

Gallery House located on South Sixth Street is a good walk from the 4th Street Live area, but is great place to get away to relax for one night or even several nights. I was totally pleased with how accommodating owners Leah Stewart and Gordon Moffett were. The brownies were amazing and cooking devine. With the local two cats my girlfriend and I felt right at home. I give great thanks to Gordon and Leah for an amazing stay. We totally will visit again! Cheers.


Wonderful!

5 on March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Gallery House in the spring of 2013. We stayed for one night and really loved our room (Western). We had our own bathroom with a shower, a mini-fridge with free soda, a TV, ironing board with an iron - more than we needed! Gordon and Leah, the owners, were very friendly and accommodating. We had breakfast in the morning with a couple of other guests, and got to chat with both the other guests and the owners. The food was wonderful! I highly recommend Gallery House and hope that I can stay there the next time I'm in Louisville.


Wonderful escape at the Gallery House

5 on March 12, 2013

My Husband and I were in desperate need of a hotel room in Louisville and everything appeared to be sold out, when I happened upon the Gallery house, we figured at least we had a room. We were very surprised by the house and breakfast (pineapple upside down pancakes and home made caramel sauce) was wonderful! We will probably try to stay here again in the future!


very pleased

4.6 on March 07, 2013

We were treated like familly , the home is spotless , we thought it was old but plesently supprised to find its a new resedence built to fit into the old neighborhood. Much art to enjoy along with the excelent food and cervice.Owners were friendly but not too friendly. would definatly go back !!! Glenn and Kathy


2/14/2013

4.6 on March 04, 2013

Me and my husband stayed there for valentines, very nice and beautiful place, food great, great service and not expensive, they have also military discount, very nice owners. This b&b is also close to downtown. We recommend this place.


Great Stay with Great People and Perfect Downtown Location

4.8 on February 20, 2013

We loved everything about our stay at Gallery House especially the breakfast, which was possibly the most unique and best breakfast I have ever had. We also enjoyed our conversations with the owners they truly make you feel at home. The location was also less than 5 minutes from all of the downtown attractions we were visiting for. Overall it was a great stay and I would highly recommend Gallery House to friends and family.


Nice Bed and Breakfast, not the friendliest owners

4.0 on February 06, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this B & B. The innkeeper, Gordon, is somewhat friendly. However, the other inkeeper and chef never even said hello to me during my two day stay. On their website it says how there is an evening snack included in the price; I didn't receive a snack either night I stayed there. However, the food was very good and the room very clean and comfortable. Conveniently located close to downtown and the University of Louisville.


Gary and Anne

4.8 on February 03, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The neighborhood is not upscale but close to Churchill Downs, downtown venues, and the interstate. Our room was cozy, quiet and comfortable. We are likely to return at Derby time, if not this year, then next.


Extraordinary experience at the Gallery House

5 on January 19, 2013

This was our first time in Kentucky and Leah and Gordon provided the framing for a wonderful stay in Louisville. From the accommodations/location and the breakfasts (Leah is a chef among lots of other things), to the information and openness of our hosts, this was an outstanding experience. True to its name the "Gallery" house is tastefully adorned with a variety of art pieces/pictures. Gordon himself is an artist and many of his works grace the walls. This is the only place we will ever stay when visiting Louisville and surrounding areas.


Lovely B&B

3.8 on November 27, 2012

Nice location and our short stay was pleasant. Lovely home and would recommend to anyone traveling to the area to pay a visit.


Best Kept Secret

5 on November 10, 2012

No joke, this place is 5 stars all around. All of the breakfast choices were excellent and it is exceptionally clean. Not so much a family place, but a great find for couples or individuals. Big park next door and located within a neighborhood that can safely be walked at night. Leah and Gordon were gracious hosts and can hold a conversation pretty good too. Highly recommended.


Great stay, could use more refreshments

4.4 on November 07, 2012

It was a great stay and owners were very friendly.We got in late after our wedding and just wished we were offered at least some water for the evening. We were so thirsty and never offered anything or provided with refreshments. Other than that, the stay was very nice and quiet and breakfast was really good, but maybe add more option for us picky eaters! :)


A Great B&B

5 on October 30, 2012

The Gallery House was excellent -- well located, great breakfasts, very nice owners. I'm looking forward to staying again!


at home

5 on October 04, 2012

every time we stay at the gallery house, we are treated like family. the rooms are always nice and clean and the meals are always superb. any time there may be a problem, Gordon and Leah are right there and are a great help.


A lovely place to stay in a lovely town.

5 on September 26, 2012

A beautiful place to stay. Unique art in all rooms will hold your interest while you're not seeing the sights around town. Breakfast was delicious and Gordon and Leah are thoughtful and attentive. Would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Louisville.


Loved our stay at Gallery House!

5 on September 24, 2012

The house was centrally located in Old Louisville, which was great as we were there to see the sites. The two ambassadors of the house, Marlowe and Spike, did an excellent job in welcoming guests and keeping us entertained! Will recommend to friends traveling to the area.


Very nice stay

4.6 on September 17, 2012

I enjoyed the quietness of The Gallery House. It was very clean. The atmosphere was nice. It was your typical B&B in the fact that it was small, you could hear people snoring through the walls, etc. I did however feel very safe there. The owners are very "artsy" people and it is beautiful, but that's not my thing. It is a vegetarian household. I would consider staying again. Very very worth the price that I paid.


Gallery Home

5 on September 09, 2012

Gallery House is a wonderful place to stay - I have stayed there so often that it seems like returning home! Leah prepares a delicious, good for you, breakfast each morning - Gordon helps serve and discusses his Art History classes or his art work - both are tremendously fascinating!


Gallery House review

4.4 on September 06, 2012

A great place to stay in a beautiful location! We stayed a weekend in the Garden Room, and greatly enjoyed the atmosphere. Gallery House is filled with paintings and other various artworks. It's a beautiful building. The hosts were very respectful, attentive, and conversational, and their resident cats were truly entertaining. I really enjoyed having access to the second floor balcony. Relaxing outside beneath the shade of an old tree-lined street was wonderful. Our breakfasts were creatively crafted and delicious. This B&B is located in a very quiet, accessible part of the city, and priced fairly. I would certainly recommend the experience of staying here.


historic Lousiville

4.4 on August 07, 2012

great historic neighorhood, well worth the time to take a short walk to see St. James Court and Belgravia Court. lovely room. free theatre in the park just across the street the night I was there. Walked to a nearby italian restaurant for dinner.


The owners, the food, and the art are all wonderful. Also some of the sweetest cats I've ever met!

4.8 on August 05, 2012

We got in later than expected, and while it may have been inconvenient for them, the owners were kind and welcoming. We slept well, and the room was very comfortable, but the real treat was breakfast. Leah is a fantastic cook and we enjoyed talking to both Gordon and Leah as well as the other guest while we ate. If you want good company, a comfortable room, excellent food, a large variety of art to look at, and to meet two sweet, friendly cats, stay here.


A class of its own!

5 on July 24, 2012

Very clean room, very tasty breakfast and of course Leah and Gordon are great hosts. So kind and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there. Highly recommended!!!!


Awesome B&B but felt unwelcome

4.2 on July 09, 2012

The room was beatuiful, the bathroom was great (not the surrounding shower that was described), I thought the price ($95/night) was reasonable, very clean and there was a professional chef who made good food and gave you great options. My only concern was that the owner was not very welcoming to me, but was to my girlfriend.


Outstanding Value in an Amazing Location

4.6 on July 03, 2012

Leah and Gordon are not only terrific hosts in terms of the basics, they are genuinely kind and likeable people who go out of their way to be helpful and make their guests enjoy every minute of their stay in Louisville. By the time I left, I felt like they were my friends. I can't wait to stay with them again!


Stay here!

5 on June 25, 2012

Gordon and Leah were lovely, as was their clean, beautiful house. It is a steal price-wise as compared to other places in the area. The neighborhood is also lovely. Plus, Leah is a professional chef so the food (and the dessert tray in the hallway) was wonderful. I would recommend this place to anyone!


Gallery House

5 on June 18, 2012

This was our second stay at the Gallery House. It is comfortable, relaxing, and quiet. The location is lovely. You are given a choice and time for breakfast, and the food is homemade and delicious. All of the comforts of home, and wonderful service and atmosphere. This is our "hotel" of choice when in the area and we will return for another stay!


Pleasant stay in Old Louisville

4.0 on June 06, 2012

Comfortable room and bed; lovely art throughout; delicious breakfast. Enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the front after breakfast and playing with one of the cats.


Old time Louisvile charm

5 on May 24, 2012

This was a great find...friendly people and cats, cozy room, great food and atmosphere. I would surely stay again. We stayed in the rose room. It was just enough room to be very cozy and comfortable. Bathroom was huge!! I had the pineapple upsidedown pancakes with Carmel sauce...awesome!!


Visit the Gallery House!

4.8 on May 22, 2012

I loved the Gallery House and the couple that run the B&B are amazing! Great hosts who were more than willing to help with food and sites to see. The house is beautiful and clean and the rooms are very private. I love the upper deck, so fun to sit outside at night! I highly recomend this house if you are interested in staying in Old Louisville.


Nice choice for Derby Weekend

4.6 on May 20, 2012

Pleasant experience and Leah and Gordon went above and beyond to try to make up for some disappointments of the trip unrelated to our stay with them. Sweet kitties


AN Art Galley....With many types of outstanding pieces on display!

5 on May 17, 2012

The Galley is a great spot to stay in Louisville, Ky. This is in the heart of the historic district. We enjoyed the art and the variety of items on display....this made our stay very special. Every piece was unique and properly displayed in this lovely home. Very professional top notch service.


Great value in Louisville

4.4 on May 13, 2012

I recently stayed at Gallery House for a weekend getaway. I thought that Gallery House was a great value when compared to other area bed and breakfast locations. The house was very clean and the breakfast (included in basic rate) was excellent. I'd highly recommend this B&B for anyone looking for a great value.


Awesome

5 on May 09, 2012

We stayed at Gallery House for Derby weekend and had a wonderful time. Leah and Gordon were wonderful hosts; their engaging conversation and recommendations added to our enjoyment. The food was spectacular. I only wish we had made it back in time after the races to accept Gordon's offer to make us "the best mint julep"... I guess that will have to wait to next year.


Mom and daughter get away

4.6 on May 03, 2012

We stayed in the Rose room for one night. The room was lovely with large ensuite. Inn Keepers were quiet and not really sociable, however they were very polite and we felt well looked after. Leah's breakfast was absolutely delicious. We found this place to be reasonable, easy to find and definately added to our vacation experience. And thank you Gordon for making us feel like "Kings".


Highly recommended

4.4 on April 18, 2012

Such a wonderful B&B - turned out to be very close to all the activities planned during our stay. Beautiful and comfortable. The Rose Room is spacious, with a generously sized bathroom. The second floor deck was a lovely surprise. Great food, excellent value.


Overnight Stay

3.6 on April 17, 2012

A real deal. Great location to go for a walk and look at beautiful houses. The sound machines in each room were a nice touch. Comfortable bed, quiet location. Getting 3 choices for breakfast and being able to set our own time (within a range) was an added benefit. Would definitely consider returning again.


Lovely Discovery in Old Louisville

5 on April 05, 2012

modern amenities in a Victorian recreation, great breakfasts, friendly hosts and, best of all, incredible setting in Old Louisville, with a balcony overlooking Central Park. Take a leisurely stroll along the tree-lined National Historic architecture-filled streets...a real treat and retreat from, yet easily accessible to, 'big city' downtown Louisville.


Wonderful B&B in Old Louisville

5 on March 25, 2012

My partner and I came for a getaway from Chicago over our Spring Break, and had a great stay at the Gallery House. It was a perfect location for our adventures around town--super easy to get anywhere, including by bike, foot, and car. The innkeepers are very nice and helpful, and foodies will not be disappointed by the amazing breakfasts prepared by Leah. We loved all the meals, including the availability of sweet, savory, and healthy (oats), and were impressed by the menus being printed up each evening so guests can put in their order for the morning. We really enjoyed spending time reading on the deck any time of day; the wifi was fast, and we felt right at home here.


Nice stay

4.2 on March 10, 2012

The rooms are nice, but the service and the breakfast make this place shine.


Big room, very clean and comfortable

3.6 on March 01, 2012

Stayed Feb 24 & 25th. New house styled like 19th century neighbors. Host couple were low key and kept to themselves, which is how I like it. Located in Old Louisville in largely residential area. Seemed safe enough. About 6 blocks to the nearest coffee shop (Smoky Bean-very nice, and home to a large black Chow Chow dog). A long walk to the university. A great place to walk around of you like to look at beuatiful old mansions, but other than that there is very little to do in the area.


Great place!

5 on February 23, 2012

This was a great place to stay! Clean rooms! Great food! Very kind hosts! I would stay there again!! Tom Roepke


Great value at Gallery House

3.6 on January 02, 2012

The Gallery House is immaculate, comfortable, and friendly. This B&B is an excellent value. The bed was comfortable, and the room contained every convenience. The breakfast options were tasty, and the neighborhood is packed with architectural gems. A delightful area for a leisurely walk, and convenient to all parts of Louisville. Very nice innkeepers, too. I've been to the Gallery House twice, and I will go there again.


Great Deal and Worth A Stay

3.8 on November 21, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast, and felt very welcome to come and go as I pleased. The house was nicely decorated, and the owners were friendly. The rooms were equipped with hot pots, which was great, but no spoons, no sugar, and not much of a tea selection--would have liked that. Internet connectivity was good, and location was prime. Beautiful park right across the street, and easy walking distance to some cute areas of the city.


Louisville weekend

4.6 on November 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Gallery House. The B&B is situated in a area of lovely old homes that have been thoughtfully preserved or restored. A great walking neighborhood. The house is a combination of two of my favorite places, bakeries & art galleries! Leah is an amazing cook & pastry chef. Breakfast is creative & delicious! The house is filled with sweet smells of fresh baked goodies and an interesting collection of crafts & paintings. We enjoyed our breakfast-time conversations with Gordon. His personal reflections and insights about art, life in Louisville, and dining recommendations were appreciated. The Garden room seemed small (maybe just filled with lots of things) but comfortable. The bathroom is large.


Great place to stay.

4.2 on November 11, 2011

Great place to stay in Louisville. Breakfasts were the best.


Great Place to Stay!

4.0 on November 04, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Gallery House. Wish we could have stayed longer. Coming from Florida and Central Time zone, we didn't realize we crossed into Eastern Time zone and arrived a bit late. But Gordon and Leah were most gracious in letting us in and even pointed out some late places to go to eat. The beautiful gallery of art was a nice touch - this place is appropriately named. The breakfast was delicious. We would definitely recommend this place and stay there again. Thank you Leah and Gordon for your wonderful hospitality.


Nice place to stay

4.0 on November 02, 2011

We decided to stay at Gallery House while attending a conference at the Expo Center. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. We were pleasantly surprised when one of the conference exhibitors hosted a party at the really nice restaurant behind us. Location was convenient to both downtown and the conference center, and the neighborhood is full of interesting old homes. Definitely would recommend this place for anyone wanting nice and affordable lodging in Louisville. John


Mother/daughter get-away

5 on November 01, 2011

What a great way for my daughter and I to meet for a weekend. Hospitality, food, rooms, knowledge of the area, recommendations, conversation, everything offered was above and beyond anything we hoped for. Thank you for a great "retreat." We hope to see you again.


My Stay

3.6 on October 08, 2011

I had a nice time. Really nice, clean and up-to-date place. The owners were extremely nice and helpful when I asked for directions when leaving. I'd recommend it to others for sure. Thanks.


above and beyond

5 on October 06, 2011

always odors of baked goods. rooms always clean. hosts always ready and willing to give directions or refer excellent eating places. two cats in the house but never seem to be a bother. have stayed there four years now and plan on staying each time we are in Louisville. also, centrally located to any place you may want to go. sight seeing or shopping.


Very pleasantly surprised. Excellent value and very good food

5 on September 29, 2011

The rooms were large and very clean, nice added amenities like homemade desserts, 3 breakfast options, very quiet,great value for what you get. I would highly recommend as well as stay again if I am in the area.


Gallery House

4.6 on September 25, 2011

Very clean, comfortable, the food was delicious and lots of choices. The Louisville Cookies are addictive. Would return to visit with my new friend "Spike" A great stay, and great innkeepers..


One Night Stay

5 on September 22, 2011

I really enjoyed our stay there. My husband and I were celebrating our 2yr anniversary and it just felt so homie. I would definately stay again in the future and would recommend others to stay there also. The price wasn't too terrible either that we could afford to do it again. I would agree with a previous comment though that the gentleman who owned the place was a tad on the strange side but not too uncomfortable to be around, and his wife was wonderful to talk to. She was always cooking something and the house smelled delicious.


Great Place... Great Hosts

5 on September 21, 2011

The Gallery House is a great place to stay. The owners are friendly and rich with conversation if you choose to engage with them. One owner is an artist, the other a master chef/dessert maker, and the place is alive with art and creativity. It was clean and in a great location.


Great friendly stay

5 on September 10, 2011

What a nice warm house to spend a couple of days visiting the town of louisville.


Experience Gallery House

5 on September 05, 2011

Gordon and Leah are great hosts. The breakfasts are fantastic - creative and delicious!!! Joan Cantrell


Staying at the Gallery House

4.2 on September 02, 2011

The key to happiness when you stay here is to not need much! Hosts tend to make you feel guilty for asking for things. Getting to know Gordon helped. The hosts are a bit stand offish at first. But Gordon warmed up nicely. The food ranges from basic to delicious. It all depends on what you request on the order form the night before. Americans eat too much anyway, but the breakfast was a one course meal, ok, if that suites you. Gordon did offer more food in the way of oatmeal, but no second servings on the main course.Getting Coffee (tea always available with hot pot in room) outside of breakfast made us feel like we were asking too much. A coffee pot and coffee in the guest area upstairs or in rooms would solve this. All in all, we would return. We felt a connection with Gordon before we left. It is a lovely B&B! The Bed and Breakfast is nicely decorated, very clean and quiet. A great value for the money.


Great location, great breakfast

4.0 on August 22, 2011

I have to admit that we chose Gallery House because it was less expensive than most Louisville B+Bs. I could not have imagined a better experience, however! The neighborhood was beautiful, our walk to dinner at a great little restaurant took us past gorgeous mansions. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, with fresh ingredients and plenty of coffee.


Would come back again

5 on August 11, 2011

We stayed in the Rose room on our wedding night. They let us check in late and had a delicious breakfast in the morning. They were very nice and the room was very neat and clean.


Sorry to leave

4.6 on July 30, 2011

I stayed at the gallery house recently for a business trip. The hosts, the decor, the food, and yes, even the cats, made for a truly wonderful experience. I felt sorry for the the people who chose a hotel. I wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere the next time I'm in Louisville. I stayed in the Western room. Very comfy and wonderfully decorated. Saw the other smaller room, which also looked very nice. This was the first time I was sorry a business trip was over - just because of where I was staying.


Lovely stay!

4.4 on July 04, 2011

Gallery House is a lovely place to stay in Old Louisville--wonderful location, across from the park, with several restaurants within a mile. The breakfasts are wonderful, prepared by a trained chef and cake designer, so the house is often filled with the wonderful aroma of baking. The balcony is perfect for sitting out with a book, or chatting over a cup of tea or glass of wine. My room was clean and bright, the hosts friendly, and I enjoyed having the exceedingly well-mannered cats-in-residence greet me as I came and went. I would definitely return if I have opportunity to visit Louisville again!


What a lovely stay

4.8 on June 13, 2011

I absolutely loved my stay at The Gallery House. Leah and Gordon were impeccably polite and accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable, exceptionally clean and the food was delicious. Nothing starts out a good day like a home cooked breakfast. As hosts, I couldn't think of anyone better suited. Leah and Gordon were kind, intelligent people who told you what you needed to know without overwhelming you with un-asked for information or distracting you from your visit. They were extremely respective of your privacy while providing you with everything that you could need. Even little snacks to sway your hunger before meals. I will definitely stay at the Gallery House again next time I'm in Louisville.


Nice B&B experience

3.8 on May 24, 2011

Found this bed and breakfast on the internet and were overall very pleased with the experience there. The rooms are well-decorated, clean and everything worked. We stayed in the Rose Room and, while not huge, it has high ceilings and we did not feel claustrophobic. Home-made breakfast was delicious. We would recommend a stay here, especially for the very reasonable price.


arestful stay at a lovely Inn

5 on May 18, 2011

Gallery House is a charming new Victorian Inn on a lovely street in Old Louisville. I had booked a room for a couple of nights in order to get some much needed quiet and rest and got both. My room was comfortable with lots of amenities and a huge very clean attached bathroom. The three resident kitty kats added to the tranquil atmosphere. Although I didn't have time for breakfast, the Innkeeper was kind enough to get up very early and see that I got a fresh cup of coffee. I would definitely recommend Gallery House to other visitors.


Wow - what an outstanding place to stay!

5 on April 17, 2011

The Gallery House in Louisville is not only a reasonably price establishment, but a treat for the eyes and taste buds. A collection of art, including paintings, stenciled wall art, and sculptures by the owner, are tastefully exhibited in every room. The breakfast menu options were delicious, worthy of a chef cook. The location, in old town Louisville, was central and quiet.


Gallery House Review of 3/25 - 26/11

4.8 on March 30, 2011

The hosts, Leah and Gordon, were extremely personable and very available for my questions of the Louisville area and attractions. The amenities were of good quality and readily available. Breakfast was excellent with great choices. Parking is available in front.


bridge tournament stay

4.6 on March 23, 2011

very convenient to public transportation hosts gave great tips and directions to dining and sites


Nice Spot

4.0 on February 22, 2011

My first time here and I wish my wife were with me, she would have love it. We'll be back! I only wish there were more restaurants in the general area. A great part of town that one should not have to leave. Thank you


Birthday blessing

4.6 on January 24, 2011

My sister just blessed me for my birthday with a two night stay at The Gallery House in Louisville, Kentucy. I could not have asked for anything more special. The home is beautiful, warm, and comfortable. Our room (Rose Room) was gorgeous and roomy; the bathroom was fabulous; and the bed perfect. Both breakfasts and the evening snacks were yummy. To top off the visit, the cats were warm and fuzzy.


The Rose Room

5 on January 24, 2011

My sister and I enjoyed a comfortable, safe two-night stay at the Gallery House -- a wonderful part of our Louisville birthday trip. We stayed in the Rose Room which is totally lovely. Being a cat lover, I enjoyed meeting the Gallery House cats! And, being a food lover, the Gallery House is definitely the place to stay for delicious breakfasts and treats! Inn Keepers, Leah and Gordon are interesting and very kind people. I hope to have the privilege of staying there again sometime.


Leisure trip to Louisville better staying at b&b

3.8 on December 17, 2010

Found this B&B on internet, no previous experience. Other than the fact it was cold (can't help when we had to go!), this was a great trip and a wonderful place to stay. Room was wonderful, service was courteous, excellent value. The place was spotless. Great artwork, some by owner, throughout the house. Would definitely return!


Brief but satisfying

4.8 on November 23, 2010

Charming, great location, great cats, and more.....you may even get to see the making of a professional wedding cake.


worked for me

3.8 on November 12, 2010

Good breakfasts, nice homey feeling, room had everything you needed (yummy towels) and it was in a good part of town for my needs. Lovely park across the street and some beautiful historic homes to stroll to. I was using buses to get around and it worked for me, heading to and from Churchill Downs. Much prefer this kind of accommodations to motels.


A great stay

4.0 on November 08, 2010

A very nice place. The breakfast were great. Gordon has some nice painting thru the house. The room I was in had a western theme was great. A nice 1 mile walk from downtown.


Nice Place to Stay

4.2 on November 01, 2010

Very good experience - just felt a bit isolated as comraderie is part of why I use B&B's, though Gordon was very pleasant.


Charming and delightful

4.4 on October 26, 2010

I spent two nights while in Louisville to speak at a Filson Historical Society conference. Gallery House is a few blocks away - a pleasant walk through a city park. Home is filled with engaging art - one owner is an artist. Breakfasts were delicious. Hosts were friendly and accomodating but not hovering. I'd definitely come back, and I recommended it to others at the conference. --www.jonkukla.com


Perfect for our needs!

3.0 on October 25, 2010

Situated in a large historic neighborhood, this modern home (built to appear vintage) was just what we needed for a two-night getaway: quiet, relaxing, attractively furnished and decorated. Across the street is Central Park, ideal for a stroll. The owners were attentive and unobtrusively friendly, breakfasts yummy, and Leah's homemade Louisville Cookies a delight. Their three cats added to the ambience. Thank you, Gordon and Leah!


Wonderwul Stay

5 on October 20, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Gallery House. The home is warm, the hosts are welcoming. You can walk (2 mi - good exercise!) to the convention center OR take the bus if you do not have a car. Cab rates varied: $6 one night, $8 the next to ride home at night. Neighborhood is historic and vary quiet. Nice park across the street. The breakfast is most excellent!


Good place to stay for business

4.2 on October 02, 2010

Nice place. Much better than a hotel. Convenient to downtown Louisville and very clean and well kept. Will be back.


Great stay!

4.8 on September 11, 2010

Everything was great! Leah and Gordon were so nice and welcoming!


Excellent

5 on July 17, 2008

The accommodations were comfortable, the food was out of this world & the Innkeepers Leah & Gordon were very interesting & welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there! The cats were just like being at home!!


Wonderful

5 on July 17, 2008

We enjoyed the comfort of the rooms, the food was excellent & the Innkeepers were friendly as were their 3 cats. Our family had a wonderful stay there - central to all Louisville for us.


Gallery House keeps us coming back again & again

5 on March 28, 2008

We make yearly trips to Louisville for business and are so glad we've found Gallery House! Leah is an awesome cook..the breakfasts are so good and there is a choice of individually prepared breakfasts. We've stayed at many B&Bs, but this is the only one we've come back to again and again! You will not be disappointed.


Gallery House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $70 - $95
  • Reviews (142) 4.6
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5026352550
  • Fax 1-5026356204
  • Toll free 1-8775972744

Visit Website »

View details

Top