Futrell House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
42 Reviews

Write A Review

We enjoyed our stay

4.4 on June 13, 2014

Place was great ambience was cool, rooms modernized, Cadiz was a neat little town, innkeeper was pleasant and kind, only down side was comforter has not clean but everything else was great. Would for sure go again..,


Completely relaxing stay!

5 on May 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Yorktown room and it was great. The bed was super comfy. The room was charming and the two person bath whirlpool tub was a great touch. The host was very attentive, conversational and and he prepared awesome gourmet breakfasts! Unfortunate that he has to sell the place, but its a great opportunity for someone looking for this type of business! Get down there and check it out. You won't be disappointed!!


Fantastic Futrell House

5 on May 31, 2013

Outstanding in every way!


Hospitality Abounds

4.8 on September 24, 2012

Right from the start, we felt welcome and in good hands. Gary gave us a little tour and hiistory of the house and the community as well as answers to our excursion questions. We looked forward to breakfast each morning....yummy! We sat for almost three hours at breakfast enjoying conversation with a delightful newly wed young couple and Gary. Definitely recommend!


Best of the best!

5 on May 24, 2012

What a charming place to be! Beautiful space tastefully decorated and a truly great host in Gary! He even helped us with our flat tire! The food was great, the bed comfortable, and all the ammenities spot-on! Thank you for such a wonderful night/morning!


Love, Love, Love this place..

5 on April 14, 2012

Our stay at Futrell House was beyond our expectations. The home is absolutely beautiful and decorated tastefully. It felt like home and smelled wonderful. The Yorktown Room was excellent! Comfy bed, fireplace, silky sheets and whirlpool tub all were amazing! Enjoyed talking with Gary and learning the history of the home. Breakfast was superb, the food was to die for! Enjoyed talking with the other guests and Gary over Breakfast. This was the perfect, romantic place to relax and enjoy each other on our Anniversary. We definitely plan on returning with the rest of our Family. The proximity to LBL and the Lakes makes this a great place to stay. Thanks so much for a memorable visit!


Spring Break Getaway

5 on March 23, 2012

The room, service, and breakfast were all outstanding. A great choice for our night in Cadiz. Enjoyed this B&B, the owner and the information provided, and the town very much. Would highly recommend.


A Memorable Place!

5 on March 17, 2012

When you visit the Land-Between-the-Lakes (LBL) area of Western Kentucky, make it a point to stay here! My wife and I spent a night at Futrell House while visiting Cadiz to do some antique shopping and to visit her hometown over the weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Gary, the innkeeper, is an excellent host and a great cook. The room (for that matter, the house itself) was clean and very comfortable. We felt right at home here and look forward to staying there again the next time we are in the area.


Futrell House

5 on March 16, 2012

Everything was super nice, host was very friendly and everything was clan & neat. Food was very good, would recommend for service & will stay again when in Cadiz.


Winter Visit

5 on February 09, 2012

Beautiful, clean, comfortable B&B in a delightful area, even in the dead of winter. Set up allows for privacy and ease of access to rooms throughout the day and night. The owner is a wonderful cook and entertaining host. The rooms are so beautiful, especially the fireplace with the Italian marble hearth and the numerous antiques. Definitely would stay again!


Sheer bliss

5 on January 16, 2012

We moved to Paris, Tennessee, from Napa Valley, known for wineries and B&Bs. Ironically, this was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast. I mistakenly thought I would feel awkward staying in a stranger's home and there would be a lack of privacy. Futrell House is beautiful with so much historical charm. The house is tastefully decorated yet very comfortable. The house is spotless. The Polente's obviously put a lot of thought and effort to ensure guests have everything they need and so much more. The room we chose is beautiful. The king size bed is so comfortable. The linens are quality. The claw foot tub is wonderfully huge. I want one. Yes, guests do have privacy. The house is peaceful and quiet. An amazing breakfast was served in the dining room. I don't know how describe the breakfast other than to say it was the best breakfast ever. The food presentation was professional. Better yet, it tasted divine. Breakfast was so plentiful that I could not finish everything. We also enjoyed visiting with the other guests in the dining room. Everyone was so relaxed and happy. My husband and I have decided that whenever we want to run away from home, we will run to the Futrell House in Cadiz, Kentucky. We can't thank the Polente's enough for their warm hospitality and for welcoming us into their beautiful home. Steve & Karen Paris, Tennessee


Beautiful weekend 10/29/11

5 on November 10, 2011

I truly hope whomever is reading this ,can feel the depth of sincerity I hope to express in this review. If you are looking for an exceptionally tranquil get away, please call Gary and book a room here at the Futrell House. Charm and a master caregiver exude hospitality and tranquility. Futrell House is a beautifully restored home that Gary and his wife undertook in the most interesting of circumstances. Listening to his account of buying and restoring will help you appreciate the love he feels for this home. A home that he so graciously shares with such enthusiasm and sincerity. We stayed in the Sunshine Room..the smallest of all....it was wonderful. A king size bed , non working fireplace with candles, refrigerator....huge, beautiful , private bathroom .....The breakfast was delicious, the company shared ...folks from Louisville...Gary being the Perfect Host.... I have been to several B & B s ...I HAVE NEVER encountered a host like Gary. He is a precious man , with a precious family. The town of Cadiz is quaint and beautiful. Since we were there on a Sunday everything was closed, quiet and peaceful. The bells/chimes from one of the churches, as we walked , was absolutely beautiful/amazing. Living in a big city, you forget/miss the small town charm. I highly recommend staying at the Futrell House. The experience is priceless...and the price is wonderful for all you are blessed with. Gary...you ARE absolutely the best....may God continue to bless you and your beautiful family. We hope to be back soon....thank you for an evening of pure bliss !!!! Sincerely, Sheryl


Very restful. enjoyable stay

5 on October 02, 2011

It's always hard for us to get away but sometimes a little R & R is needed and we have found a B & B is the best way to go. Gary provide us with one of the most enjoyable experiences we have had in a B & B. The room was comfortable and beautiful. The breakfast was fabulous, enough to get us to our evening meal even with a lot of hiking at LBL. We enjoyed listening to his history on the house and background on the town peppered with some good stories. His daughters were charming. We would suggest a stay here to anyone visiting the area. It's close to Land Between the Lakes...a must see and only a few hours from our home. The only complaint is Cadiz is short on evening dining places downtown...maybe Gary should try preparing dinner too :) We really enjoyed it thanks for the hospitality.


Great gift for loved ones

5 on August 21, 2011

My husband and I booked a weekend for my parents at the Futrell House B & B as an anniversary gift. My parents Loved their stay! They couldn't say enough good things about the Inn. My parents said one of the highlights for them was the decadent breakfast every morning. My parents loved their stay so much I am considering a visit there myself! The owners were wonderful to deal with to top it off. Overall I give the Inn a definite 10. I would definitely recommend giving this top notch B & B a try! Thanks Gary and Amanda!


They set the bar very high.

5 on July 09, 2011

The Futrell House was the first Bed and Breakfast that we have ever stayed in and it was AMAZING! Gary was an extremely friendly host. The sunshine room was excellent. The bathrooms were excellent. The food was excellent. We had such a great time and could not find one thing to complain about if we wanted to. They take care of everything and make you feel right at home. Furthermore, the refreshments they put out were a nice touch. If you are traveling through or staying in this area of Kentucky then you should stay here to enjoy the pinnacle of comfort, style, and hospitality.


Wonderful breakfast

5 on March 05, 2011

The host was friendly and helpful and his breakfast was beautiful.


A Delicious Step Back in Time at Futrell House

5 on February 24, 2011

Imagine yourself drinking a mint julep on a deep Kentucky porch in summer or lying in a king sized canopy bed with opulent draperies and a toasty fire in winter. I had the pleasure of spending a day and night at Futrell House in Cadiz, Kentucky, and felt like I was returning to the home of my forebears. This 130 year old Queen Anne Style manse had its interiors lovingly restored with modern conveniences and luxury items throughout, including a marvelous whirlpool tub and exquisite lavender amenities. A selection of home-made cookies and lovely snacks were presented in the parlor upon my arrival and throughout the evening. The best part of staying at this B&B is the innkeeper, Gary Polete, who pays attention to your every need and preference. After a night in the splendid master suite, Mr. Polete served a breakfast of sensational eggs Benedict, sweet potato and pepper casserole, fruits, yogurts and juices. If you would like to take a delicious step back in time, the Futrell House is for you!


My Wedding at the Bed and Breakfast

5 on December 12, 2010

I want to say thank you to the Futrell House House Bed and Breakfast for making my wedding day such a special day for me and my family. I was truely happy with everything that day, it was beautiful. I was able to relax and know that they were going to take care of every little detail.


A Full Historic Community Experience

4.4 on September 09, 2010

Futrell House is part of a charming, nicely restored downtown filled with antique shops. Cast iron street lamps line new sidewalks in and out of town, allowing one to walk. Host, Gary, abounds in energy and stories. Generous with his time, food, and amenities. Swing on spacious front porch; a pleasant place to read and take in the weather.


Wedding Reception & Honeymoon

5 on August 18, 2010

We had a wonderful experience as we celebrated our marriage with friends and family. FHB&B provided a beautiful venue for our gathering and after our guests departed we spent the night in the beautiful first floor master suite. Great service, food and accomodations!!! 01/01/2009


Iowa Trip

4.4 on July 20, 2010

Excellent food, inviting decor. The bed was like what I imagine sleeping on a cloud would be - soft and very comfortable.


Memorial Day weekend

4.8 on June 01, 2010

After driving through Cadiz, we didn't know where we were going to stay and saw the B&B sign. Called the number and they had one room available. It was their most expensive room but it was my birthday and my husband was so sweet to stay there. The room was wonderful, jacuzzi tub and beautiful bed and furnishings. Breakfast was great! Eggs benedict, fried potatoes, yogurt, coffee, juice, Delicious! Gary and Amanda were such gracious hosts. We will most definitely keep the Futrell House B&B on our list of favorites. "Good luck with the newest addition to your family". Ken & Vicki


Enjoyed our stay

5 on May 23, 2010

The room was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent, hosts were hospitable and helpful. We also found the community interesting with many antique shops and within walking distance of the B&B.


Business Trip

5 on May 08, 2010

I travel in Western Kentucky a few times during the year on business and always stay at Futrell Bed and Breakfast. It is very nicely appointed, relaxing, and the food is wonderful. Gary makes you feel "at home."


A Night to Remember

5 on February 26, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Futrell House. The atmosphere was good and the food was excellent. We enjoyed the DVD library and the complimentary sodas. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Our stay will not be forgotten!


Bridal Shower Weekend

5 on January 28, 2010

We had such a wonderful stay. 7 of us ladies took our Bride-to-be here for her personal shower. We bought our own dinner in and had our shower in the beautiful dining room, also a delicious breakfast!!! It was a relaxing, special occasion. Thanks to Gary and his family.


Wonderful Christmas Eve

4.6 on January 13, 2010

We spent a peaceful and restful Christmas Eve at the Futrell House. The gracious host, Gary, on this family evening, was most welcoming to us and saw to our needs.


Wonderful Experience

4.8 on November 02, 2009

We rented the entire house for a company meeting and some stayed over in the rooms. Mr. Polete went out of his way to make us comfortable and to accomodate all of our "extra" needs for the meeting. Will definitely have many more meetings here.


Can't be beat!

5 on October 21, 2009

What a wonderful place to stay! If you want a wonderful romantic place to stay that is just perfect stay here. Gary was gracious and a wonderful cook. Can't wait to return.


Definetly worth the trip

5 on October 13, 2009

A very sophisticated, yet homey feeling. The staff is very knowledgable, courtious, and above all professional. we will most definitly refer to friends and return at our earliest convenience.


Great Experience

5 on October 10, 2009

It was a great place to stay at, the owner went above and beyond to ensure we had an enjoyable experience. All the accommodations in the Bordeaux room were beyond what we expected, it was warm and had the feel of being at home. Most B&B's we have stayed at make you feel you are staying at someones house, this one didnt. It truly was the best B&B we have ever stayed at.


Wonderful host/beautiful home/quaint town

5 on October 09, 2009

The Futrell House is a beautiful home. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. Breakfast was delicious. Gary, the proprietor, is a very gracious host.


Perfect Weekend Getaway

5 on October 05, 2009

My husband and I took a last minute road-trip, not knowing where the road would take us. We ended up at the Futrell House, and even though they weren't ready for us, Gary and his wife welcomed us with open arms. All of the rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the Bordeaux room, that features a gorgeous clawfoot tub, and we had the best sleep we could recall. We woke to the smell of breakfast and were happily greeted with fresh yogurt parfait, followed by sweet potato hash, stuffed french toast and famous Trigg County Ham. Gary was extremely friendly. We spent the morning reading magazines in the lovely upstairs reading room. It was hard to leave, and we look forward to our return!


Peaceful Getaway

5 on September 01, 2009

We live in a nearby town and knew the family of early owners. The Polets have beautifully restored the house. TV, DVDs and books provide entertainment in a small town devoid of much. Breakfast was great. Loved the owners' enthusiasm.


Best place in the area

5 on August 07, 2009

You cant go wrong here! Top notch accomodations and service.


Delightful and charming

4.6 on July 30, 2009

Delightful and charming place in lovely small town with excellent art museum, bookstore, antique shops.


Five Stars!

5 on July 29, 2009

What a wonderful stay we had at the Futrell House. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and better than some five star hotels we have stayed in. The owners are some of the nicest people I have ever met and they cook a fine breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B.


Untitled

5 on July 28, 2009

The Futrell House presented many splendid nuances of charm and comfort. A tasteful blend of modern comforts nestled in an old world experience.


Extraordinary!

5 on June 19, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised, our host was very friendly. The room was so great from the soap to the bed. Very relaxing. Best ever. We will come back! Thank you!


Delightful

4.0 on April 25, 2009

Stayed four nights. My room was pleasant, the location excellent and breakfast delicious. Excellent coffee. The host was a pleasure too.


Wonderful treasure

4.6 on March 22, 2009

We happened upon the Futrell House and Cadiz as we made our way home through KY. It was a perfect escape off the interstate. Gary was very acommadating as we literally called only 45 minutes before we showed up. A beautiful home, wonderful conversation. We would recommend both the B&B and this town to anyone. It was a perfect escape. And the modern convenience of WiFi was nice to finish up last minute work. PERFECT


Spectacular

4.0 on January 23, 2009

For 1st time innkeepers, Gary and Amanda have done an outstanding job. We stayed 2 nites and had a great nites sleep, breakfast was wonderful and the hospitality of the innkeepers (and Charlotte) was outstanding. We have family in the area, so you know we will be returning time and again.


Futrell House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $130
  • Reviews (42) 4.9
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2705229214

Visit Website »

View details

Top