Get a free $75 gift card with a $250+ purchase

Recent Reviews in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Fernblick bei Hans at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2014

Zum Abschluss unserer Traumreise waren wir bei Hans auf seiner Kaffeefarm. Nicht nur, dass wir einen wunderbaren Blick auf die Küstenlinie und insbesondere dem Flugplatz hatten (aber kein Lärm, dazu war er weit genug weg) war Hans ein toller Gastgeber. Kartoffelpuffer nach pommerscher Art - war eines der Gerichte, mit denen er uns überraschte. Über Kaffee wissen wir jetzt auch mehr und nicht zu vergessen die tollen, manchmal auch tiefgreifenden Gespräche über geschichtliche Themen sowie Gott und die Welt. Hans, Dir und Deiner Familie alles, alles Gute, Gesundheit und immer viele zufriedene Gäste. Noch ein Hinweis an die Leser. Nehmt die Telefonnummer Eures Kreditkarteninstitutes mit auf die Reise, es kann sein, dass man Euch die Kreditkarte sperrt, weil der PC meint, dass Eure Bezahlmuster dem eines Betrügers gleichen, dann reicht ein Anruf und alles wird wieder gut! 2 Erw. aus Hamburg im Mai 2014

View more reviews for this inn


Speciality coffee with a stunning vista! at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on June 06, 2014

The Honu room was tighter quarters than I expected; luckily the lanai expands the space into something comfortable. Personable hosts, all business in order regarding service, very welcoming to children. Room and bathroom need a deep clean (dust on walls, under bed, very visible); bathroom could use a little touching up to be really fresh feeling. The breakfasts were fantastic and scrumptious, if a little on the too-sweet side (lacking in protein perhaps?). And the coffee, the coffee!! The coffee plus vista are the spotlights - a must for serious coffee lovers. The best coffee I have ever tasted.

View more reviews for this inn


An Elegant Gem at Kalaekilohana (Naalehu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2014

My wife and I just completed a three night stay at Kalaekilohana and although our expectations were very high they were exceeded beyond description. As has been described by previous reviewers this place is one of a kind. Visitors can expect the elegance and sophistication of a Four Seasons AND the individual attention that can only be found in a small inn. From the time you drive through the rock wall toward the home away from home guests are made to feel as though they are staying with old friends in a beautiful setting. Each room is beautifully appointed, spacious, and very private. The breakfast each morning is served on the porch with a wonderful vista of the property. Kenny is the very talented chef who prepares each meal with local ingredients, and more importantly with the care and effort rarely seen today. Kilohana who grew up in Hawaii knows the islands as few do. He is willing and very able to answer any questions one might have pertaining to places to visit or Hawaiian culture. Following his advice each day regarding things to do enhanced our stay and made this trip more memorable. Over the years we’ve seen a decline in many areas of the travel industry. The lack of care and concern for travelers demonstrated by many in the industry has sadly become more and more prevalent. Kenny and Kilohana are an example of what things should be like. It is abundantly clear that they are hosts of this wonderful gem known as Kalaekilohana for only one reason - they care.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home in Hawaii at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 21, 2014

We stayed at Mango Sunset B&B for our week long stay on the Big Island. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the common area has great accommodations (Computer, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, refrigerator, beach towels, hammock and barbeque). The owners (Marsha and Hans) are extremely welcoming and offered us wonderful tips about places to go and things to do on the island. They also provided fresh fruit, estate grown coffee, juice and tasty breakfasts made with fresh organic ingredients (many of which were grown on the farm!). The owners treated us like family, and we had quality time with their two cats and adorable terrier, Abby (outside only). It's conveniently located near Kailua-Kona and the fantastic beaches of the northwest coast. We'll definitely be back on our next visit to paradise!

View more reviews for this inn


Quietly stated elegance at Kalaekilohana (Naalehu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2014

My wife and I had a restful and inspiring getaway at Kalaekilohana. This beautiful home is filled with Hawaiian art and music, flowers, great locally grown food and aloha. We were warmly welcomed by our hosts Kenny and Kilohana and tucked away in the Ocean room. The accommodations were comfortable, peaceful and tasteful. We had a great night's sleep, and a breakfast that was delicious and generous. Kenny even made me gluten-free bread. At the close of the day we enjoyed conversation on the lanai. The Hawaiian word olu'olu which means satisfied, contented and happy describes our stay at Kalaekilohana.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable stay at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on May 13, 2014

Pretty location and super convenient for the airport. Breakfasts, and of course the coffee, were delicious. Hosts were quite helpful and pleasant. The only caveat, which I've noticed in a few other reviews, is Hans' straightforwardness can feel a little abrasive if you're used to the aloha mentality.

View more reviews for this inn


More like a hostel than a B&B at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

1.0 reviewed on May 03, 2014

The sunset is beautiful but this is the worst B&B I have ever stayed at. The owner is arrogant, there are no locks on the guest rooms, the bathroom rugs and bedspreads are filthy, there are no pillow cases on the pillows, breakfast includes stir fry meat served raw with potatoes and onions, the owner is taken to shouting at the staff and his wife in front of the guests. Find another spot to view the sunset and skip staying at this unpleasant place.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique Experience staying on an Certified Organic Coffee Orchard at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2014

One of the best B&B experiences of all our travel adventures.

View more reviews for this inn


Orchid Suite Recommended at Bears' Place Guest House (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on April 18, 2014

We had a good stay in the Orchid Suite. It was clean, very well furnished and had a fully equipped modern kitchen. The view from the lanai is fabulous and we loved listening to the birds. The road to the property is steep. We appreciated the welcome basket as well as the daily "goodies" that Nanette and Anne left for us. Nanette provided helpful information regarding where to find free parking, scenic roads, sights to see, etc. The laundry facility, available for a small fee, also came in very handy.

View more reviews for this inn


Tolles Bed and Breakfast at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on April 12, 2014

Tolle Unterkunft. Zimmer etwas klein aber ausreichend. Sehr freundliche Inhaber, die großartiges Frühstück gezaubert haben (haben unsere veganen Essenswünsche nicht einfach nur erfüllt, sondern ganz liebevoll und schmackhaft umgesetzt). Wir fühlten uns sehr willkommen.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B in North Kona Area at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on April 08, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights. Since we had already seen pictures of the room and views is was as we expected which is way better than average. Very friendly folks there and the Sunday breakfast was exceptional. Up high enough to be much cooler than the Kona lowlands. Very convenientt to the airport for our flight home. Great views from the deck in front of our room.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable, easy affordable! at Bears' Place Guest House (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on March 31, 2014

We have stayed at Bears Place before, and will continue to come back. The rooms are spacious, right up the hill from the airport and Kona making it easy to get to wherever you are going. Anne and Nanette are around frequently to make sure we have everything we need. And it's affordable!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous stay! Hans and Marsha we miss you! at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 25, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this BnB March 13-15 2014. What a wonderful start to our trip to Hawaii. The view, the breakfasts outdoors,the coffee and fresh fruit grown on their organic farm amazing! We had the turtle room and just loved the fresh breezes. Hans and Marsha were wonderful at directing us to beaches and activities. Thank you for everything.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place easy acces at Bears' Place Guest House (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

2.8 reviewed on March 24, 2014

Their was not realy a possibility to cook dinner at the appartment as their is no cook top. We would go back but we would rent the appartment with a full kitchen.

View more reviews for this inn


Hale-Hoola B&B at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on March 13, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this very quaint B&B.We enjoyed Mary's homemade breakfast and the wonderful talks with Bob.we will definitely stay here again.Thank you Mary and Bob

View more reviews for this inn


Great hospitality at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on March 12, 2014

We arrived late and our room was ready and very welcome after a very long day. Had a great sleep and met Linda, Mary and Bob in the morning over a great cup of coffee and a beautiful view from the lanai.Then breakfast was served. Perfect. We had a great visit with them and their other guests. It was a wonderful introduction to our first day in Hawaii. Our stay was only two days and we thoroughly enjoyed the time there. We returned for a short visit and coffee with Bob, sorry to have missed Mary, and was given a good explanation of the macadamian and coffee industries on the island.It is folks like Mary and Bob that make holidays great. Thank you. Terry and Donna

View more reviews for this inn


German Efficiency Meets Hawaiian Paradise at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 10, 2014

Location is great, food is great, Hans and Marsha are great. Of course the coffee is great. We will stay here again when we return to the big island. Sit back, relax, and read the rules.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place away from downtown activities. at Bears' Place Guest House (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on February 19, 2014

Nice place to stay. I would recommend it to those who would like a nice place to stay away from the downtown activity. The guest house is surrounded by locals, so you do get barking dogs and crowing roosters. The garden is beautiful and made it a little oasis. The owners were very helpful and accommodating to requests.

View more reviews for this inn


Unusual experience but warm hosts and great coffee! at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

2.8 reviewed on February 18, 2014

This was probably the most unusual stay at a B&B in our entire trip. It was neat to stay at an active coffee farm and the hosts and other guests were lovely to talk with while we were staying at the B&B. However, we were a little surprised to find that there was no way to lock our bedroom door when we went out. The hosts take on 4-5 high school grads to help with the farm and B&B work. In exchange for their labor, they receive very simple accommodations. (We saw their tents in barn-like structure.) Although the hosts trust them, we were a bit uneasy at first. Our bedroom had a definite "not fresh" smell. Breakfasts were heavy but felt compelled to eat more that we otherwise would! Good location near Kona.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to rest your head at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.2 reviewed on February 17, 2014

I wish I could comment on the lovely breakfast, but I had so much to see and do while on the Island. It was a nice place to rest my head and rinse off the salt water. If I had more time I would have liked to stay a couple more days to just rest. The only down side is that if you do not want breakfast, or to be up early, you will still be rising at 0730 with the rest of the house. It is a working coffee farm, so the day must go on!! This did not bother me, but I think it may be important to some to know ahead of time. I would absolutely stay again if I ever have the chance to go back the the Islands. Please consider them when making you reservations, and enjoy some coffee for me :-) ( I am probably one of the only non-coffee drinkers to elect to stay on a working coffee farm, but it smelled divine).

View more reviews for this inn


would surely go again at Rainbow Plantation B&B (Kealakekua, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on February 12, 2014

easy, very friendly and helpful, very nice room and clean, snorkling gear free, has everything, very happy and satisfied, can recommend it, would surely go again. Thank you Christian

View more reviews for this inn


Kona Coffee, bed & breakfast and a fantastic view.....Perfect at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2014

The Owner Hans and Marsha Eckert were excellent hosts and very knowledgeable in all aspects of Hawaii and of course Kona coffee which was served daily.. The room we had was a comfortable queen bed with an ensuite and a Lanai facing the ocean, the internet access was excellent, II highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a nice B & B with reasonable rates. I would definitely stay here again. Marg and Jeff Eagle

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay with interesting people at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn - Marsha did a great job making us feel welcome including creating inventive breakfasts to accommodate guests with various food allergies and a vegetarian. We did some exploring of Kona and this location would be a bit of a challenge without a rental car but it could be done as a European guest demonstrated. Getting into downtown was a reasonably quick drive. We used our stay primarily as a retreat to read and catch up on work after some time in Honolulu - spending quite a bit of time on the lanai. (The wi-fi was strong and speedy.) Shared kitchen space allowed for bringing home snacks and leftovers which was perfect for our relaxed schedule. Our room was comfortable, clean and the sunset view was spectacular. The coffee farm itself was quite beautiful and in hindsight I would have enjoyed a tour of the operations.

View more reviews for this inn


Great breakfast! at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.0 reviewed on February 03, 2014

Our room was very small with just enough room to walk around the bed and there was no lock on the door. There wasn't a closet, but a few hooks to hang clothes on. We really enjoyed the awesome breakfasts that were served out on the gazebo. It was overcast when we stayed there so we didn't get to see the sunset!

View more reviews for this inn


Clean; Blend of Hawaiian and European Inns at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on February 02, 2014

Stayed one night in this intriguing BnB in January. It was clean! Colorful florals outside the patio doors framed one of the best upland ocean views. Breakfast was above average. Disappointingly, the Kona coffee was not hot when served. As for 'bed', we found the pillows too hard and high. Perhaps there were other pillows available which we weren't aware of. Marsha is a gracious hostess. Conversing with Hans at breakfast was fascinating, but others may find it an overwhelming experience. Recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous Hosts, Beautiful Sunsets at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on February 01, 2014

We spent a lovely 3 days with Hans & Marsha on their beautiful property. The breakfasts were wonderful and the view of the sunset each night was spectacular. Their property is in a quiet rural area with a wonderful view of the stars at night. The hosts are lovely people who have a wealth of knowledge that they are very happy to share.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent choice in Kailua-Kona area at Bears' Place Guest House (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 18, 2014

We stayed in the Hibiscus room for 5 days and were pleasantly surprised. Nanette and Anne went above and beyond to ensure our comfort with a "welcome breakfast" in the fridge the night we arrived, providing lots of tourist info for us (including many recommendations), and friendly hospitality. The room itself has a wonderful environment giving one the feeling of being in a jungle house while in a neighborhood that is only minutes from downtown Kailua-Kona, the airport, and the Hawaiian Belt Highway. This was extremely convenient as we were able to minimize time stuck in traffic and maximize time at the sites themselves. We toured all of the north, west and south of the island while staying at Bears' Place without having to spend a lot time driving. I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone wanting a peaceful, relaxing, stay in the Kailua-Kona area. You will not be disappointed. To note, I had to enter a "dining score" but this guest house does not serve meals (aside from the "welcome package" of fruit, butter, jam, etc that is left in the fridge for your first morning, and the little bowls of nuts, chocolates, etc that they left each day. They do, however, provide everything you'll need to cook your meals. A quick trip to the grocery store, and you are all set to eat.

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you Mary & Bob for your warm wellcome and to stay in your beautiful home! at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on January 12, 2014

We have been during christmas 2013 in this lovingly and bright appointed home. I love this kind of appointing,.it remember me at italien Livestile. The breakfast made by Mary was great special and the talks with Bob helpfull as well as funny! ;-) Both are huge hosts and we did enjoy our stay. If we would stay a second time on big Island we would coming to you again. Thank you Mary & Bob and have a HAPPY HEALPHY NEW YEAR! Germany city Leipzig / Christian & Sabine

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B :-) at Rainbow Plantation B&B (Kealakekua, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on January 11, 2014

Very nice B&B with access to an outdoor kitchen - perfect to sit outside in the Hawaiian nature and prepare/eat dinner. Very nice rooms and bathrooms (we stayed in two different rooms during the week).

View more reviews for this inn


perfect at Kalaekilohana (Naalehu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 08, 2014

Our entire family felt welcomed and rejuvenated after a stay with the most gracious and knowledgeable hosts, who treat all of their guests as friends. The owners built the home themselves, and their care and vision are reflected in every beautiful detail. We're still dreaming of the breakfasts, which were delicious. We look forward to returning as soon as possible.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}