Recent Reviews in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Excellent stay at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on June 07, 2016

This B &B had everything we wanted. Hosts Carl and Elma went above and beyond what was expected. Enjoyed breakfast on the lanai. Just wish we had booked more than 2 nights.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Budget Option at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on May 30, 2016

This BnB was perfect for us, because we wanted to spend our time out sight seeing and didn't want or need a bunch of extra amenities. The price was great, the views from the upstairs deck where breakfast was served were beautiful, breakfast was tastey, and the hosts were warm and thoughtful.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on May 28, 2016

Great place to stay in the Big Island. Very quiet and surround by the nature. Kind owners. Sure I'm back here! Hideyuki, Tokyo Japan

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 15, 2016

We stayed at Hale Hoola for 2 nights. The room was very clean and confortable. We particularly appreciated the patio with a beautiful viiew on the ocean. Carl and Elma have been good hosts and the breakfast was excellent. Unfortunatly the weather was not good ....

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on May 03, 2016

Outstanding stay at lava lava. View was incredible, rooms were spotless, and sea turtles just steps from our door. Nightly music was fantastic and good food right next door at restaurant. Can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous wedding venue at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on April 30, 2016

Loved the service, cleanliness and location. The food and entertainment at the beach club was great - really would have loved breakfast options so leaving the cottage was not required - be sure to pack some to go with the Kona coffee supplied! Really enjoyed staying here, price was a little difficult to swallow and restricted how long we could stay and it is fairly public with people peeping in your windows and taking pictures of the beach cottages - but not a huge deal and i certainly did not leave feeling disappointed by either concern. Tina's support getting us there and in and the fab support team cleaning and delivering food and drinks made it all very smooth and relaxing. I really hope to be able to come back.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Oasis High Above the Shore at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on March 29, 2016

Our hosts, Hans and Marsha were gracious, enjoyable to chat with, and Hans makes an excellent breakfast! Mostly fresh ingredients picked right from their farm. Our room was cheerful and the back patio looked down to the seashore. Fresh breeze blew in the patio door and made for wonderful sleeping.

View more reviews for this inn


Extraordinary! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 26, 2016

We enjoyed an extraordinary stay in our cottage. The view was breathtaking and the accommodations were understatedly elegant. This, coupled with the delicious cuisine, made for a truly unforgettable stay, one I hope to be fortunate enough to do again! Mahalo piha!

View more reviews for this inn


A little slice of heaven! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on March 21, 2016

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Lava Lava Beach Club! We were fortunate enough to stay for 3 nights but would have easily been able to stay for weeks!!! It did not take us long to "embrace the pace" and just "chill". The cottage was very comfortable, the outdoor shower was a fun experience and we absolutely enjoyed listening to the live music every night from our front porch! WE WILL DEFINITELY RETURN ONE DAY!

View more reviews for this inn


Wow, what a special place! at Ka'awa Loa Plantation Guesthouse and Retreat (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 09, 2016

We recently spent three nights in the Honaunau Room...it was so hard to leave. Everything about Ka'awa Loa ia amazing...the location, the view from the veranda, the food, and especially Hannah, Michael, and Greg (they were also the biggest drawbacks because we hated to go do anything else). If you're looking for a special place on the Kona side of the Big Island, we highly recommend Ka'awa Loa.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 07, 2016

I was just married at Lava Lava and we stayed for a week after. Everything was amazing, from Tina, who helped get the wedding set up, to the rest of the staff, who were all friendly and did a great job. We stayed in the cottage that is closest to the restaurant. They note on their website that it is the least private and can be noisy due to the proximity to the live music. We felt like it was the best though. It was never too loud and we loved sitting on the porch and watching the music and waves each night. As much as I don't want word to get out (we want to go back whenever we can!), the entire place (people, cottages, food, etc.) are all so great, we don't have the heart to greedily keep them to ourselves. Go, enjoy! You won't regret it!

View more reviews for this inn


View of Paradise at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on March 04, 2016

Peaceful place to stay and have an ideal view while sitting on your lanai and listening to the entertainers at the restaurant. Enjoyable enough that we have been stayed there twice in the last 6 months.

View more reviews for this inn


Interlude on a coffee farm at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on February 20, 2016

We had a nice stay for a couple of days at Mango sunset B&B. The farm is located on the slope of the volcano, and there is a really nice view over the tops of the coffee trees, with the ocean down below and beyond which is visible from sliding doors on three of the four rooms, and from the outdoor breakfast seating.. We had one cloudy evening, but saw one very nice "mango sunset" as advertised! We were aware of some reviews from some people who didn't like the demeanor of our host, Hans. We found Hans to be charming and genuine- and believe he is a really good organic coffee farmer! It is an interesting and very convenient location.

View more reviews for this inn


new hosts doing excellent job at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on February 11, 2016

Our hosts provided varied and high quality breakfasts. The rooms had a private lanai to view the wild pigs and cattle roaming around

View more reviews for this inn


Hawaiian gem at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on February 05, 2016

A small B&B on a coffee farm. Quiet and restful with an accommodating staff. Beautiful view of Kona and the Pacific. A great place to base your day trips to the many amazing places on the big island.

View more reviews for this inn


hale hoola at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on February 03, 2016

friendly owners.excellent setting.varied food

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 22, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The couple that own the b&b were both very nice and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas at LavaLava at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on January 10, 2016

We had a great holiday-skipping Christmas-at LavaLava Beach Club. The cottages were well stocked with all essentials. We thought the live music might be a problem-but it was NOT. It was very soothing to fall asleep with the ocean and music every night. The only sort of complaint is that housekeeping did not clean the floors everyday.

View more reviews for this inn


Sehr angenehmes B&B at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on December 30, 2015

4 Meilen oberhalb des Zentrums von Kailua liegt die Farm auf etwa 550m über dem Meeresspiegel und bietet von der Terrasse des Gästehauses aus einen weiten Ausblick über die Kaffeepflanzungen hinweg zur Küste hinunter. Das saubere Zimmer ist gemütlich eingerichtet, die Nachmittagssonne lässt sich angenehm auf der überdachten Terrasse genießen. Beim morgendlichen Frühstück gemeinsam mit den Besitzern stammt nicht nur der Kaffee vom eigenen Anbau, sondern auch die von Hans oder Marsha kreativ zubereiteten Leckereien wie Eierpfannkuchen mit Cottage-cheese und Konfitüre, oder Omlett mit Lauchzwiebeln zum Toast, aus der eigenen Küche. Die Kaffee-Plantage kann bei Interesse besichtigt und mit Hans (sofern er die Zeit dafür hat) über die verschiedenen Kaffee-Qualitäten der weltweit unterschiedlichen Anbauregionen diskutiert werden. Sehr sympathisches Bed and Breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Big Island Bookend! at Kona Palace in Captain Cook (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on December 27, 2015

We stayed here for one night at the end of our Big Island vacation. We chose this one over others due to the reasonable cost and relative straight shot to the airport. This B&B is a splendid house on an expansive property, elegantly appointed, and immaculately clean. Truly a bargain for a great night's sleep. The beds were fantastic and the personal fridge came in handy for leftovers. Breakfast was on the veranda/lanai with panoramic views of the bay and coastline. A great end to our vacation and didn't break the bank. North to Kona for the day and then to the airport. Only word of warning: careful on the driveway (read: steep). Definitely worth braving for the views and hospitality. TL;DR Book it now, I wish I didn't waste any more time browsing

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Rooms, Great Views, Very Educational at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on December 27, 2015

My wife and I stayed there during the week of the Iron Man championship this past October. We had a very nice time there. The rooms aren't super luxurious, but very nice, and clean. The farm is located just into the coffee growing region above the airport and is about a ten minute drive into town. Hans is very interesting to talk to and gets my vote for the world's most interesting man in the world! I also appreciate him answering the dozens of questions I had about the area, the local history and coffee farming. We would definitely stay there again. Also, according to Hans, this is one of only two truly organic coffee farms on the Big Island.

View more reviews for this inn


Captain Cook B&B at Kona Palace in Captain Cook (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on December 20, 2015

Kona Palace is a beautiful home. I didn't realize I had walked into a private home at first. We didn't have a directions to find it and there are actually 3 homes at this address. The bathroom is separate from the bedroom though there is a privacy curtain in hallway. We were not invited to sit in the living room or on patio in evening, so we just had the bedroom with no TV. Breakfast was good which we had on the patio overlooking ocean view. They allowed us to come back after snorkeling in the morning to take a shower before leaving for airport, which we really appreciated.

View more reviews for this inn


mango sunset at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on December 08, 2015

Es war wie erwartet.

View more reviews for this inn


Lava lava beach club at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2015

We absolutely love this place! It is so unique and enjoyed two nights there after our wedding. The pupus and cocktails daily at 5pm is a nice touch!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect relaxation at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2015

My husband and I both have stressful jobs and Lava Lava Beach Club was the perfect setting for relaxation. We stayed in the Wa'a cottage. It was beautiful, well-appointed, and just laying in bed with the waves crashing was so amazing. Nothing like letting the waves lull you to sleep. Can't wait to see if they add cottages to the Kauai location. Spend the money; it is well worth the expense.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Lava Lava at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on October 17, 2015

We stayed in bungalow 3. Can't say enough about how wonderful it was. The Lava Lava knows how to do it right. We were also married on the beach right in front of our bungalow. Lava Lava handled all the details and did an incredible job.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome place at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on September 16, 2015

This is my 3rd visit with my girlfriend. I usually do not make repeat visits to the same accommodation, but Lava Lava is different, we would like to go back again. They have such a great set up. Close from Kona Airport but very quiet. The scenery from the morning till dawn is just fabulous and the night time sky is filled with stars. Swim in the ocean and you are bound to meet swimming turtles. All the staffs are cool, laid back and polite. The restaurant/bar is right next to the cabins, so its very convenient. Having a bar close by seems noisy, but that is hardly the case. There is always a band playing music that soothes your soul and occasional relaxed and innocent laughs and giggles from dining customers actually add to good vacationing ambience. There are though, two things I would request to Lava Lava. We recently stayed there for 5 nights and dined there 6 times (lunches and dinners). Practically each time we sat at the restaurant, we were asked, "Is this your first visit with us ?". It was ok for the first few times, but eventually got a bit annoying, even though I know the waiters/waitresses were just trying to be friendly. And, it would be most welcome if they could change the restaurant reservation rule. There are a few beautiful sofa settings right on the sand, closest to the ocean. But I was explained by the hostess that these are first come first serve only. I can understand that if that was for non cabin guests .... So, the downside is that the communication between accommodation and restaurant seemed a bit detached. Having said that though, we shall make a return trip. M.K.

View more reviews for this inn


Big Island...Lava Lava Beach Club on beach cabanas at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on August 21, 2015

Great stay...website explains everything you need to know. House keeping excellent. No laundry, phone service on site and don't expect a taxi get a rental car during your stay. Will stay when we return to the big island!

View more reviews for this inn


Welcoming and restful at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2015

What a charming place, surrounded by nature and peace. The afternoons were visited by birds and the nights were serenaded by singing frogs. Our hosts were delightful! Mary's sincere warmth perfectly complimented Bob's sense of humor. Bob was kind enough to recommensd a place for dinner, whih served one of the best meals we've ever had. The breakfast was very delicious, filling and quite healthful. Scurrying around nearby were the cutest geckos! We can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Better then ideal!!! at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2015

The Hale Ho'ola was for us a wonderful place to stay! Firstly, the rooms are charming, the beds very comfortable and the view is stunning! It is surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden and from the lanai in my room I could see a lush tropical forest with a view of the ocean in the distance. Every morning a delicious, very satisfying breakfast of local fruits and coffee, with an excellent main course was served. The hosts are VERY friendly and go out of their way to help in any way to make your vacation a truly great one, providing maps, directions and local recommendations!!! It is close to many beaches, good restaurants and activities. I highly recommend this B&B as one of the very nicest I've ever stayed at!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}