Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Hale Hoola B&B at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on December 17, 2014

Had a wonderful stay here. Mary delighted us with amazing daily breakfast on their lanai which had a beautiful view out over the ocean. Bob had all the info. on restaurants, places to visit, anything we wanted to know about the island. If you want to be spoiled book here!

View more reviews for this inn


Tidy B&B with friendly helpful owners at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on December 15, 2014

Mary prepares a delicious breakfast on the large upper level lanai overlooking the ocean and is graciously helpful to guests. On our last night we enjoyed the stars and Milky Way clearly from our room's private lanai. In addition to our en suite bathroom there is a separate bathroom that is part of the common area shared by the three en suite rooms. The common area has comfy seating and a microwave. We liked Hale Ho'ola a lot!!

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury accomodation in Paradise! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on December 10, 2014

We stayed in the cottage furthest away from the restaurant and it was the most private and secluded. Tucked away in the Kiawi trees and beach goers (public beach) tended to not set up in front of this cottage as they did in the 1st too. Plus we were further away from the nightly music.... which was pleasant, but not so loud. HUGE outdoor shower,, very private and the linens in the bed were first class. Each evening at 5pm, we were delivered a small appetizer and cocktail for the both of us, and they supplied a complimentary fruit and banana bread in the evening for next morning. You are REALLY just steps from the ocean. We Paddle boarded every day...one day twice. Swimming was Awesome, there is an abundance of coral, turtles and fish to snorkel over. I would return here again and have highly recommended if to my friends.

View more reviews for this inn


LavaLava is Paradise on Earth at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on December 05, 2014

Imagine waking to breakfast in bed (that was left in your fridge), drinking Kona coffee & watching outriggers paddle by from your own beach front cottage steps from the sea! Unbelievable charm in every detail from the outdoor shower area to wifi, pillow choices, evening hors d'oeurves & breakfast fruit delivered to the "hale" each day. We swam with turtles & a manta ray right in front of the restaurant! Gorgeous beach walk in either direction with many photo ops! We sat on our own lanai each evening drinking our Gilligan's Girl & Huggo's Mai Tais listening to great, live music overlooking the entire bay! The restaurant right on the water with an unbelievable menu is outstanding. Staff is well trained and professional but also engaging. Truly a magical experience not to be missed! Stayed an extra night! Hated to leave......

View more reviews for this inn


LIVING IN PARADISE at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 30, 2014

One must make the time to stop at this delightful bed and breakfast called the Hale Hoola B&B! The accommodations are well thought out and very private. Each morning a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruits and pastries are served on a deck with a breathtaking view of the mountains and ocean. Bob and Mary are your innkeepers. Together, they make your stay a wonderful experience. Our family can not wait to come back! Aloha, from Leslie, Cole and Julie Anne Crews.:)

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful views, wonderful hosts at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 19, 2014

Mary and John are accommodating, knowledgeable and enjoyable affording just the right mix of being available and being discreet. Nice room with a great lanai and out of the resort area. Very happy with my stay.

View more reviews for this inn


We visited from England & France at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on November 19, 2014

We were 2 couples travelling together & the guest quarters on the ground floor suited us perfectly. The accommodation was very comfortable & we appreciated the little fridges on our balconies, where we enjoyed our nightly G & Ts. Mary provided a delicious breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit & home baking. We loved chatting to Bob over coffee each morning. There were a few decent restaurants within a short drive (car definitely necessary) & we visited as many of the nearby attractions as we had time for. Thank you also for the fun photos with the leis - we still smile when we look at them!

View more reviews for this inn


A very nice place to stay at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on November 11, 2014

Staying in a B&B on a coffee plantation was off the beaten track and intrigued me. So we booked the room. It wasn’t that easy though, internet glitches made things complicated but a phone call directly to the owner ironed things out pronto. When we arrived, our host was waiting for us even though we only had given a tentative time of arrival. The room was very clean. A bonus is the outside BBQ kitchen available to the guests where we cooked ourselves a great steak supper. Utterly delicious! Breakfast included, served in a gazebo overlooking the town below by the ocean, was very, very good (macadamia nuts pancakes!) even if, on that first morning, it was somewhat short of my larger appetite. (I was too shy to ask for more food) This was all fixed up the next day as I was given the opportunity to seconds and even thirds of a varied menu that included fantastic tasting sautéed organic mushrooms! The ambiance was relaxed as the hosts are very well traveled and full of interesting information. The topic of coffee, for a coffee lover like me, was very well covered and a wealth of knowledge was gained by all. I must add that if you are seeking a romantic setting as one review noted, this isn’t the primary vocation of the B&B. We were happy to partake in a family type breakfast with the other guests that made our experience all that more lively and enjoyable. An interesting feature is that the plantation is 500 meters above sea level thus it is 10° Fahrenheit cooler than the sweltering humid heat down below on the island. For a Northerner from Canada like me, it was a welcome relief. Sleep was undisturbed by either high humidity or noise. Great Bed & Breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Small quired clean room in a coffe garden at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.0 reviewed on November 09, 2014

Nice surrounding. Interresting place. We got many information in case of coffe and the histoty of Hawaii.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and delightful at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 06, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Hale Nalu Cottage and truly enjoyed ourselves. The cottages are steps from the water and right down the beach from the Lava Lava Restaurant and Bar. The cottage was clean and pleasant, and the early afternoon snack and early evening appetizers were a wonderful extra perk. The option of the indoor shower or the completely private and enclosed outdoor shower was a great touch. Staff were pleasant and friendly. The blue tooth speaker in the room was great for us to hook up our personal music players, and the live music in the evenings from the restaurant was very enjoyable. Kings and Queens Shops were in comfortable walking distance, allowing for shopping and other eating selections. Sunsets, the sound of the waves, birds in the trees, all blended to provide a fabulous experience. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant Stay at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on October 29, 2014

Very pleasant start to our vacation. Enjoyed the view and learned a lot about coffee. Conveniently close to airport and yet far enough to not be aware of airplane traffic.

View more reviews for this inn


Being with Mary and Bob was like visiting family! at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on October 28, 2014

We enjoy eating outside and taking in the view! We are social and liked meeting new people at breakfast. Even their maintenance man was friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful and Enchanting at Bears' Place Guest House (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2014

We were married while there, we found Nannette and Anne very hospitable and helpful. The rooms were exceptionally clean and nicely decorated. The decks overlooking the ocean were large and tastefully furnish. It was nice to come back after a day looking at sea turtles or snorkeling and feel at home and comfy with the spectacular views from our deck. We cant wait to return,not just to Hawaii but at Bears place our new Home Away From Home!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay and explore the west of Hawaii at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on October 02, 2014

We loved our stay at Hale Hoola with the highlight being the advice and company provided by the hosts, Bob and Mary.

View more reviews for this inn


Good Review of Kona Coffee Production at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on October 01, 2014

Second stay, quiet, relaxing, outstanding view. Enjoyed ourselves.

View more reviews for this inn


Tranquility in Paradise at Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on September 30, 2014

My husband and I came across Hale Maluhia while searching for the ideal Bed and Breakfast. We couldn't have located a more perfect residence for our 4 day Kona stay. "House of Peace" is the perfect name for this beautiful home. Surrounded by foilage, Birds of Paradise, a breakfast garden to enjoy in the morning (or anytime) filled with native birds and a waterfall as well as caring staff and owners - a traveler is bound to decompress from the Mainland and experience the spirit of aloha in this wonderful place. Our breakfasts were just awesome - a grand array of hawaiian fruits, delectable homemade breads and other goodies complemented the 'make your own' omelettes and waffles. And located in near proximetry to coffee plantations, the coffee is just the BEST!! We were joined on 3 of the mornings by a gecko who shared a piece of papya with us!! Our room was very comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to meet our needs and make us feel at home including being serenaded by beautiful piano music during breakfast. There is a peace here that almost defies explanation. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to the Big Island, we will be certain to stay again. John and Kathy Raimondi

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Relaxing Stay at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on September 16, 2014

The location was perfect, I enjoyed the peaceful nature of the property.Its perfect for people that want to have an experience that is intimate and relaxing. Bob and Mary were very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on August 15, 2014

Enjoyed Bob and Mary. Such nice folks.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and Breezy at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2014

This location was outstanding. We enjoyed the outdoor shower so you had a true tropical experience. The entire staff, check in, housekeeping, wait staff and managers were so helpful, kind and fun! The bed linens were dreamy. The pupus were good and something always different. A perfect place to relax so close to the beach. We will be back for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


Mango Sunset at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on July 29, 2014

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were encouraged to make ourselves at home at shown around. We took advantage of the grill and made our dinner and ate outside one evening. The morning breakfasts outside on the lanai were fun. There were conversations with other guests about plans for the day and Hans and Marsha offered suggestions to compliment the outings. The views were fantastic!

View more reviews for this inn


Serene and so clean! at Bears' Place Guest House (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2014

Bear's Place was outstanding! We spent one week in Hilo before coming to the Kona side and we really appreciated the cleanliness upon arrival. Also, it was so quiet and so comfortable that we quickly realized how much better it was to have stayed away from the tourist area, I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I come back in the future. We stayed in the Plumeria room and although there was no 'kitchen', the other cooking essentials were perfect! They really have thought of everything to make your trip easy and convenient. Thank you so much Ann! Namaste my friend!

View more reviews for this inn


Fernblick bei Hans at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2014

Zum Abschluss unserer Traumreise waren wir bei Hans auf seiner Kaffeefarm. Nicht nur, dass wir einen wunderbaren Blick auf die Küstenlinie und insbesondere dem Flugplatz hatten (aber kein Lärm, dazu war er weit genug weg) war Hans ein toller Gastgeber. Kartoffelpuffer nach pommerscher Art - war eines der Gerichte, mit denen er uns überraschte. Über Kaffee wissen wir jetzt auch mehr und nicht zu vergessen die tollen, manchmal auch tiefgreifenden Gespräche über geschichtliche Themen sowie Gott und die Welt. Hans, Dir und Deiner Familie alles, alles Gute, Gesundheit und immer viele zufriedene Gäste. Noch ein Hinweis an die Leser. Nehmt die Telefonnummer Eures Kreditkarteninstitutes mit auf die Reise, es kann sein, dass man Euch die Kreditkarte sperrt, weil der PC meint, dass Eure Bezahlmuster dem eines Betrügers gleichen, dann reicht ein Anruf und alles wird wieder gut! 2 Erw. aus Hamburg im Mai 2014

View more reviews for this inn


Speciality coffee with a stunning vista! at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on June 06, 2014

The Honu room was tighter quarters than I expected; luckily the lanai expands the space into something comfortable. Personable hosts, all business in order regarding service, very welcoming to children. Room and bathroom need a deep clean (dust on walls, under bed, very visible); bathroom could use a little touching up to be really fresh feeling. The breakfasts were fantastic and scrumptious, if a little on the too-sweet side (lacking in protein perhaps?). And the coffee, the coffee!! The coffee plus vista are the spotlights - a must for serious coffee lovers. The best coffee I have ever tasted.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, peaceful, convenient guest house at Bears' Place Guest House (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Spacious and convenient to everything. Just far enough from downtown to be quiet, but easy to get everywhere you want to go. Very reasonably priced. Kind and courteous staff.

View more reviews for this inn


An Elegant Gem at Kalaekilohana (Naalehu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2014

My wife and I just completed a three night stay at Kalaekilohana and although our expectations were very high they were exceeded beyond description. As has been described by previous reviewers this place is one of a kind. Visitors can expect the elegance and sophistication of a Four Seasons AND the individual attention that can only be found in a small inn. From the time you drive through the rock wall toward the home away from home guests are made to feel as though they are staying with old friends in a beautiful setting. Each room is beautifully appointed, spacious, and very private. The breakfast each morning is served on the porch with a wonderful vista of the property. Kenny is the very talented chef who prepares each meal with local ingredients, and more importantly with the care and effort rarely seen today. Kilohana who grew up in Hawaii knows the islands as few do. He is willing and very able to answer any questions one might have pertaining to places to visit or Hawaiian culture. Following his advice each day regarding things to do enhanced our stay and made this trip more memorable. Over the years we’ve seen a decline in many areas of the travel industry. The lack of care and concern for travelers demonstrated by many in the industry has sadly become more and more prevalent. Kenny and Kilohana are an example of what things should be like. It is abundantly clear that they are hosts of this wonderful gem known as Kalaekilohana for only one reason - they care.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home in Hawaii at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 21, 2014

We stayed at Mango Sunset B&B for our week long stay on the Big Island. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the common area has great accommodations (Computer, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, refrigerator, beach towels, hammock and barbeque). The owners (Marsha and Hans) are extremely welcoming and offered us wonderful tips about places to go and things to do on the island. They also provided fresh fruit, estate grown coffee, juice and tasty breakfasts made with fresh organic ingredients (many of which were grown on the farm!). The owners treated us like family, and we had quality time with their two cats and adorable terrier, Abby (outside only). It's conveniently located near Kailua-Kona and the fantastic beaches of the northwest coast. We'll definitely be back on our next visit to paradise!

View more reviews for this inn


Quietly stated elegance at Kalaekilohana (Naalehu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2014

My wife and I had a restful and inspiring getaway at Kalaekilohana. This beautiful home is filled with Hawaiian art and music, flowers, great locally grown food and aloha. We were warmly welcomed by our hosts Kenny and Kilohana and tucked away in the Ocean room. The accommodations were comfortable, peaceful and tasteful. We had a great night's sleep, and a breakfast that was delicious and generous. Kenny even made me gluten-free bread. At the close of the day we enjoyed conversation on the lanai. The Hawaiian word olu'olu which means satisfied, contented and happy describes our stay at Kalaekilohana.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable stay at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on May 13, 2014

Pretty location and super convenient for the airport. Breakfasts, and of course the coffee, were delicious. Hosts were quite helpful and pleasant. The only caveat, which I've noticed in a few other reviews, is Hans' straightforwardness can feel a little abrasive if you're used to the aloha mentality.

View more reviews for this inn


More like a hostel than a B&B at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

1.0 reviewed on May 03, 2014

The sunset is beautiful but this is the worst B&B I have ever stayed at. The owner is arrogant, there are no locks on the guest rooms, the bathroom rugs and bedspreads are filthy, there are no pillow cases on the pillows, breakfast includes stir fry meat served raw with potatoes and onions, the owner is taken to shouting at the staff and his wife in front of the guests. Find another spot to view the sunset and skip staying at this unpleasant place.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique Experience staying on an Certified Organic Coffee Orchard at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2014

One of the best B&B experiences of all our travel adventures.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}