Up to a free $75 gift card!

Recent Reviews in Julian, California

More than I imagined at Julian Hotel (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2014

It was a great stay!!!! Not expensive, and the staff super attentive, considerate, respectful. The atmosphere absolutely excellent. I've got not a thing to criticize!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Heavenly at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2014

We truly made a great choice celebrating our 40th Anniversay here. We stayed 3 nights in the Jonathan cottage and were treated like celebrities. Every staff person was delightful and went above and beyond to assure that EVERYTHING was to our satisfaction. The detail to the decor of our cottage, and the entire property, is especially noteworthy. Breakfast is included in your stay and it was remarkable in the wonderful food served! A 5 star 4-course dinner is served every other evening in a beautiful dinning room with tables surrounded by large windows with views of gorgeously landscaped grounds and the natural Julian beauty. I enthusiastically recommend celebrating any special ocassion here or coming here for outstanding R & R!

View more reviews for this inn


perfect stay for wedding/honeymoon at Julian Hotel (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2013

Absolutely perfect! My husband and I stayed here while we eloped for our wedding. Before we even booked a room, the staff showed us the available rooms so we could be sure to choose the right one. They were also able to offer a generous mid-week discount We stayed in the detached patio cottage #19, which afforded us a beautiful room with private bath and fireplace in an extremely private/quiet setting. The little cozy cottage is situated out behind the hotel patios and features its own veranda with seating. We felt like we had absolute privacy but the luxury and convenience of the fully staffed hotel at the same time. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts here are incredible.In fact, the eggs Florentine were so delicious that my husband asked for the recipe, which they generously let us have. We were also able to have a special order for our main course. If you stay here, be sure to make your wishes known. The staff will do everything possible to accommodate you! Unlike other hotels that charge an enormous fee for anything out of the ordinary, the staff here allowed us to have a beautiful private ceremony right out on the back deck under the enormous oak tree--a really special place. They even provided a witness for us who took pictures and really seemed excited to be there. All of this, as well as the storage of our wedding cake, was provided at no extra charge whatsoever. They were also able to provide excellent suggestions for driving tours and activities and dinner recommendations. Others have already mentioned the special tea service--while we were there we saw many guests getting to know one another, although we kept to ourselves and felt completely comfortable. There are many private spots on the property if you prefer to make use of the games, puzzles, or copious reading materials provided for you. We are already planning a trip back to our patio cottage every year for our anniversary. For romance and connection, it can't be beat.

View more reviews for this inn


scrumptious, fun, charming, great Llamas at @Wikiup Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2013

We love Wikiup. We have come down from Orange County and stayed here 5 of the last 7 years with and w/o kids. The rooms are all unique and the location is just barely outside of the main road in Julian, ie. enough to make it quiet in the forest w/ hills, trees and Llamas to feed, pet and take on a trek. The day starts w/ a truly unforgetable gourmet breakfast and all day treats and drinks included, along w/ quaint jacuzzis, food for the Llamas and nearby daytrips. We usually come for 2-4 days to relax, indulge and take day hikes to work off the amazing breakfast-brunch.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Honeymoon at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on March 01, 2013

On February the 23rd we had the pleasure of staying at the Orchard Hill for our honeymoon. the front desk person Jonathan was amazing! he made us feel welcomed and he has happy and explained all the amenities what a great experience on arrival! The breakfast servers were all smiles with a great attitude. Mr Adolfo the breakfast cook said hello to me and my wife with a warm and sincere smile every morning. At night we were personally greeted by the owner Pat, she showed us our table for the evening dinner, I was so impressed with all the staff that night! on behalf of my beautiful wife and me THANK YOU! Ben Martinez.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place to celebrate! at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 29, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the Cortland and it was just perfect. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary of 11 years and decided to splurge on ourselves (something we rarely do) - and we are so glad we did! Once we checked in, the staff all welcomed us with warm smiles and it seemed as though we were 'recognized' no matter which area of the property we were visiting. It felt as though we were truly appreciated as guests and the staff were helpful and accoodating when necessary, and very intuitive when we needed our privacy. Great balance of service! The breakfasts were delicious and fresh and our 4 course dinner was fantastic. We will definitely be visiting here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing experience at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

4.2 reviewed on August 26, 2012

I made this reservation with the need to get away from the city and have a nice relaxing weekend. The Orchard Hill Country Inn FAR exceeded my expectations and was EXACTLY what I needed. We arrived a bit late in the afternoon on Friday but the staff was courteous enough to extend their happy hour so we could still have our complimentary wine. After that we were taken to our room and it's just like it says on their website. We stayed in the Annie Elizabeth room and it had just the right amount of privacy, and the little deck was amazing to do some star gazing at night. The dinner the second night was absolutely perfect. Everything was cooked perfectly and was delicious. I can't say enough about the staff and how friendly, helpful and truly sincere they all were. It was not only the most romantic weekend of my life, but it was also the most enjoyable, and everyone there made that possible. I would recommend this place to ANYONE. Hopefully my plan to return this winter to see how beautiful it can be in the snow will happen!

View more reviews for this inn


Back to the Past at Julian Hotel (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2012

If you want to step out of the present and go back to the past (1800's that is), this is it. The Julian Hotel is a beautifully restored hotel true to it's late 1800's vintage with the necessary conveniences of the present such as in-room bathrooms added. The furnishings and decor are true to the late 1800's but without the dust from horses that undoubtedly passed by. The rooms are very clean and the bed mattresses very comfortable. Taller visitors such as myself (6'3") can be assured a queen size bed with no foot board. (The 1800's did not have California King beds!) I especially enjoyed taking in the atmosphere of the building. The breakfast was not your typical zapped danish and coffee, but hot french toast topped with a tasty apple topping and the best granola I've had, made by the cook on the premises. The Julian Hotel does not have TV but does have wifi. This turned out to be a plus as it causes you to actually talk to each other! The town of Julian shuts down at 7:00 p.m., so take advantage of a board game or one of the old books in the parlor. My wife and I spent one day at the Julian Hotel and I went back to the office feeling like I'd been gone all week! We'll definitely be returning again when we want to step back to a slower time.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful at Butterfield Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2012

Our first experience with Bed and Breakfast was with Ed and Dawn. We plan on going back and creating more memories. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on February 04, 2011

This was the perfect place to stay for our Anniversary! Very quiet, relaxing and romantic. The staff was amazing and the food was awesome. We loved all the little details they put into our experience. We just left and wev already want to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Probably the best B&B ever! at @Wikiup Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on October 15, 2010

We returned from the UK once again to Wikiup, a fantastic BnB just how anyone would like it. Interesting themed rooms, total privacy with your own Cedar Hot Tub yet friendly and with a lovely common lounge area. Breakfast is amazing and if you get the French Toast you will never eat better! Lin and Lee are the nicest people who will make sure your stay is perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


Wahoo! I am going back! at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 07, 2010

I found Orchard Hill by accident 4 years ago while visiting Julian for a Mother's Day Tea. While leaving for the afternoon, I came across Orchard Hill. When I arrived home, I quickly ran to my computer where I was able to to see what Orchard Hills was. In July I booked a 2 night anniversary stay and feel completely in love with the place. We are scheduled to go back and celebrate our anniversary 3 years later! I have recommended family and friends and each and everyone of them go on and on about how they enjoyed themselves and how they feel like royalty and I would have to agree with them!

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect romantic getaway... at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

4.8 reviewed on April 30, 2010

From the moment we pulled into the Orchard Hill driveway, we knew we had found someplace special. The Inn is nestled at the top of a long driveway, among the beautiful Julian hills. Lilacs bloomed and we even saw the crystal-white remnants of snow from the previous week's storm. We were greeted warmly at the front desk and personally escorted to our room, where a fresh jar of delicious oatmeal cookies awaited us! We stayed in the Sweet Bough cottage and it was perfect in every way. The room featured a gorgeous whirlpool tub, king-sized, incredibly comfy bed, powerful heater, dual-sided fireplace, and a beverage center with free sodas and coffee. Every afternoon, we went up for the wine and appetizers in the Lodge (yum!). On Saturday night, we enjoyed the four-course meal overlooking the mountains and sunset. Breakfast was exquisite (especially Sunday's!), with hot, fresh coffee, an assortment of foods, and the best scones I have ever had in my life. We were celebrating our anniversary and our recent engagement, and Orchard Hill made the experience even more wonderful than we'd thought it could be. Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend!

View more reviews for this inn


A place to go for relaxation, romance and a stary night... at Butterfield Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on February 06, 2010

Chris and I always look forward to our stay at Butterfield B&B. We enjoy the wonderful food, very well kept grounds and the peace and quiet of the country. Ed and Dawn are a delight and their warm welcome(and food) always entices you to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Weekend at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2010

This was our third visit to Orchard Hill and each year surpasses the last. The inn is welcoming and a few steps to town, the food is delicious and the staff is very accomodating. The all you can eat/drink happy hour from 4-6 is worth the price of the room in itself! We definitely enjoy Julian more in the winter months with the occasional snow fall and beautiful sunsets, but every season is unique up there! Highly recommend!!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B & B at Butterfield Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2009

Best B&B I have ever stayed at. Both Ed and Dawn are charming, they take time out of their busy day to chat and go the extra mile to ensure your stay is as fantastic as it can be.

View more reviews for this inn


A rare find. at Butterfield Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2009

Lovely setting; every need met and friendly hosts; lovely, well-appointed room; gourmet breakfast and lots of snack choices in back porch pantry.

View more reviews for this inn


Love, Love, Love Orchard Hill Country Inn! at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on October 04, 2009

Orchard Hill is such a wonderful and serene place. I was so mad at myself for only being able to stay one night! I appreciate the staff and owners at OHCI for being able to accomidate our only being able to stay one night situation. We stayed in Lodge Room 10, the upper corner room. It was so beautiful and quiet, even with the windows open! It did get chilly at night, but we still kept our windows opened just a bit to let in the clean, crisp, Julian air. Dinner was excellent, the tri-tip was cooked to perfection. And my, oh my, the peach cobbler (with fresh peaches!) was amazing. Breakfast the next morning was excellent too, especially the bacon and fresh, cold, Julian apple cider! If you're in Julian, do check this place out. You will not regret it.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best of Julian at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2009

I've stayed at Orchard Hill Country Inn at least 5 times in the past 3 years. The rooms are beautifully decorated and always immaculate, the service excellent, and the breakfasts and dinners are gourment all the way. I love this place. On my most recent visit, I left behind a small blanket. They were kind enough to mail it to me without charge. Pat and Darrell, the innkeepers, are the best. I've stayed at several other inns in Julian and believe that none can compare to Orchard Hill.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful, quiet, luxurious, aesthetic at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

4.0 reviewed on July 20, 2009

Though we've been going to Julian for 20 years, this relatively new hotel is a cut above the rest. Each room is decorated differently. The rooms are large, with a sitting area, refrigerator, bar sink, fireplace serving the main room and bathroom, lots of windows, 10'-high ceilings, top-quality bed linens, a separate toilet room, nice towels and bathrobes, and nice soaps. We did not eat in the dining room, though it looked nice. They have a DVD and VHS library for free in-room use. There was a computer and printer with Wi-Fi in a room of the main hotel building to serve as a business center. The space is peaceful and quiet, in nice, natural surroundings.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent choice for Julian at Butterfield Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2009

The B&B is an awesome place to enjoy a stay! Beautiful rooms and grounds, cozy common areas, great snacks, books, movies. Excellent breakfast with fabulous hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Sweet, Quiet Getaway at Butterfield Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

4.4 reviewed on June 09, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Butterfield B&B last summer for our first annivesary weekend. It is set on a quiet natural, but groomed piece of land with plenty of outdoor space for all the guests. There were plenty of snacks available and breakfast was perfect. Ed and Dawn maintained a very friendly, but professional relationship with us and the other guests, carefully selecting "community times" and sensing when we would want our privacy. They were also very patient with us as we adjusted our reservations to fit our budget. We plan to return for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


unforgettable B&B at Butterfield at Butterfield Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2009

This B&B is awesome. Never we expect such a wonderful place and perfect hospitality from Ed and Dawn. We already looking forward to come back.

View more reviews for this inn


The most romantic place we've ever stayed - 17 times at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2009

Elise & I "discovered" Orchard Hill back in 1995, and have since stayed there 17 times. The location, property, attention to detail all contribute to a wonderful experience. If you are looking for a romantic get away, or merely some stress-relief, you can't go wrong with Orchard Hill. If we had deep pockets, we would have stayed here 117 times. The rooms are fabulous, the food is exceptional; nothing is left to chance. The area in and around Julian, a historic gold mining town, is beautiful and there is no lack of outdoor activity. On this trip, we took a short drive down into the desert, to a place called Borrego Springs. We hiked up into Palm Canyon and viwed the wildflowers, bird life, and a palm tree oasis. Pat & Darrell Straube are consumate hosts. We highly recommend a visit (or more).

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet and Restful at Butterfield Bed and Breakfast (Julian, California)

4.0 reviewed on January 12, 2009

New Year's holiday was made special at this country inn. We enjoyed wonderful food, friendly and jovial innkeepers, a cozy fully equipped room, clean and a yard of trees, swings and the quiet of nature. All added to a value filled and enjoyable stay. Country comfort of the dining area seemed to relax all guests adding to the delight of breakfast. This inn is a real find in Julian, CA. Francis F.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Room / Fantastic stay at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

4.0 reviewed on November 12, 2008

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and all we could say is WOW! Having separate cottages with fantastic amenities was great! The location of Orchard Hill is a prime location overlooking the town of Julian. Just a quick 5 min walk away and you’re in the heart of Julian’s Downtown. I don’t know if another bed and breakfast will be able to compare!

View more reviews for this inn


One of the Best B&B's we've stayed in! at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

4.0 reviewed on September 04, 2008

I took my husband for the first time to Julian for a last-minute quick weekend getaway.I am so glad that we did! The Inn was fantastic! The wine hour was cozy and a pleasant.. offering local wines and other snacks and goodies. The video/movie library was extensive but the best part was the most wonderful breakfast that offered everything you can think of plus a MILLION dollar view.The rooms were comfortable, big and beautifully decorated. Taking a trip into the gold mines was fantastic and a snap shot of out American History. The hammock and walking path behind the Inn both were beautiful and peaceful. Don't forget to try the local , mountain berry/apple and was our favorite. We are already planning a trip in a few months where we will be bringing our parents to experience this wonderul B&B! M&M, Simi Valley, CA

View more reviews for this inn


romantic getaway at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2008

My boyfriend and I rode his Harley up into the mountains to find this most beautiful piece of property. We were greeted by a wonderful staff who made us feel right at home. He was most excited by the fact that they serve fat tire beer. Our cottage was wonderful with a double sided fireplace and large veranda. Ou dinner was delicious and the wine selection outstanding. My boyfriend was able to play their piano while we all ate desert. Afterwards the staff brought hot tea to our cottage, were we sat on the veranda and enjoyed the clean air. The cottage was very clean and great crisp bedding. We will return every year to celebrate this romantic time in our lives. Linda & Charley

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful 4th of July at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 11, 2008

My fiance and I were pleasantly surprised during our stay. A great get-away yet so close to home. Hiking in the area was also excellent and the small town activities for the holiday celebration were enjoyable. To top it all off, the food was outstanding!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Retreat at Orchard Hill Country Inn (Julian, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 08, 2008

A luxury retreat in lovely mountains - charming hosts, great food, every comfort! Cannot wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}