Westender Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.5
  • Value5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
10 Reviews

Write A Review

Change in the Wind

3.6 on February 21, 2015

My wife and I just spent five wonderful days at the Westender Inn. We've been coming to the Westender for the past six years, and, unless something radical happens, intend to continue coming. In fact, we're considering renting one of the cabins on the back side of the property long term in a few years. One of the things, probably the most important thing, that's continued to bring us back is the staff. The location is unsurpassed, but in any service industry, it's the staff that makes or breaks the experience. There have been a number of staff changes lately, and I'm not sure they bode well for the Westender. Many of the "old timers" - the staff that made the Westender such a joy to visit - are no longer there. Perhaps the newcomers haven't adapted the "Westender ethos" or mindset, but some of them aren't as helpful and gracious as some of the previous staff members. We had a few minor issues, and rather than trying to figure out what could be done to fix them, we got a bit of the "we can't do that" or "can't you do without" attitude. Those old timers that remain were wonderful to see again - I hope they never leave, but in the face of the changes, there seems to be an underlying current of tension and unease among the staff. None of this will prevent us from returning next year - the Westender is simply one of the best places to stay in the Negril area. One observation - the Westender is only a handful of steps away from being a world class destination. The kitchen, in particular, needs a lot of work with the menu and preparation.


Great Hotel.

4.8 on February 19, 2015

Even though I stayed only 1 night for valentine's day... I thought this hotel was amazing... rooms were really confortable and clean, it has great amenities and it is really quiet, perfect for a romantic getaway... My suggestion, improve service for people on the beach as restaurant and bar is across the street, it will be great to have a waiter or somebody bringing drinks.. other than that simply amazing, will come back for sure


Diamond in the Rough

4.4 on December 10, 2014

I stayed at Westender Inn in Nov 2014 in Room 16. It is definitely off of the beaten path but I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay in Negril. It is not in walking distance of any places but the accommodations and the comfort that I felt while staying there was definitely worth the distance. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed just relaxing in the hammock looking out onto the ocean. I felt safe and at night there was security which eased my mind of any doubts that might have entered it. Overall it was a very relaxing and peaceful stay. I definitely felt at home at Westender Inn. I did not dine at Westender Inn, hence the dining score. They did have a menu in the room for their restaurant but if I can assume, I would assume that the restaurant would satisfy my expectations as the Inn has.


Relaxing stay

4.2 on April 05, 2014

What a wonderful stay! We were only here 2 days but they were great. The staff were so nice and accommodating. We reserved room number 5 but it was being maintained so we were given room number 8. It faced the ocean and we could hear the waves. It was comfortable and clean. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good. We were so glad we decided to go to Negril and stay at the Westender Inn and not one of those all inclusives. Very relaxing, no large crowds, no drunk kids. Stay here if you want a spacious comfortable room, a laid back environment, and friendly, nice staff.


Westender is AWESOME!!!

4.6 on January 09, 2013

The Westender Inn was a great place to stay for our honeymoon. They treated us like family, and everyone knew our name from the very first day. The views were beautiful and the food was amazing!! Great place to stay and get away from all the hustle and bustle, but if you wanted to go to town, the shuttle would take you most anywhere you wanted to go.


Peace and Quiet

4.4 on April 24, 2012

We stayed at The Westender in mid-April for one week.


The Best Place to Set the Sun

4.8 on March 29, 2012

Just returned from my stay at the Westender Inn in Jamaica where I had one of the most pleasant vacations that I've had in a long time. For those of you familiar with Negril, it is about 3 miles past the lighthouse which makes it a bit isolated. For me that was a plus as it was very relaxing, quiet, and peaceful. They do provide a very reasonably priced shuttle that will drop you anywhere in Negril in 10-15 minutes. The setting is beautiful and the sunsets were truly stunning. The staff from the owners on down could not ave been more accommodating. There is a restaurant and bar that serves all three meals and the menu provides a variety of choices. Definitely a place that I intend to return to in the future.


JH Westender Jamaica Review

5 on March 01, 2012

The shuttle service they offer makes the Inn perfect. You don't have to worry about renting a car or catching cabs, and you are not stuck at the Inn. I think we saved money versus an all in clusive by picking up some groceries and just eating out for dinner. The dining at the Inn was outstanding and exceeded my expectations. It was inexpensive and better than the bigger resorts that charged double. The staff made us feel like we were the only ones in the Inn, and the facility could not be better. Rooms were excellent, great views, and going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean was awesome. You just don't get that kind of peace and quiet at a 300 room resort.


Wonderful, peaceful, quiet hideaway

4.2 on March 26, 2011

We stayed 4 nights for a getaway. Very nice large room with absolutely gorgeous view from balcony. Nice to have refrigerator and a/c. Bathroom needs sprucing up...no towel bar...appears to have fallen off.... clean, but a bit basic. Ants were an annoyance. But still a lovely, quiet setting by the water, great little pool in the rocks, and incredibly genuine innkeeper and wonderful staff and still a great value. A great authentic hideaway with none of the tourist trappings. Seems to attract the nicest people as guests.


The Westender

4.8 on January 16, 2011

The views are breathtaking. The relaxation is unbeatable and the staff is absolutely outstanding. I have traveled extensively and the Westender is definitely in the top 5 places I have encontered. It is a place for adults, children would have a hard time appreciating the little things that make this an outstanding bed and breakfast. Also, if you are looking for a loud place to party with a crowd, the westender is not the place to stay (although a 5 min. car ride will get you into Negril).


Westender Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $69 - $159
  • Reviews (10) 4.5
  • Rooms 18

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8769574991
  • Mobile 1-8764738172
Top