Casa Cielito Lindo Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
53 Reviews

Write A Review

Another fabulous stay at Casa Cielito Lindo

5 on August 29, 2013

Our first trip to Bucerias was spring break 2012. We stayed at the wonderful Casa Cielito Lindo bed and breakfast and were very impressed. We loved it so much in fact we returned this past March for another fabulous spring vacation. The Casa is truly a beautiful home located a few short blocks from the beach. It is kept impeccably clean with fine linen and towels changed regularly. During both of our stays, with the exception of times when the dogs got excited, it was peaceful and quiet. This didn’t bother us in the least as it reminded us of home. Our room was spacious with a king size bed and a wonderful patio/balcony where we spent many hours relaxing and reading. Sandi and Brian make you feel right at home and are a priceless resource when it comes to needing information about dining, entertainment, shopping, tours, travel and many other “need to know” things that come up when one is on vacation. Sandi’s breakfasts alone are worth the stay. She has incredible culinary talent and offers a wonderfully varied menu throughout the week. Breakfasts are substantial enough to hold you through until dinner time. We enjoyed each breakfast outside under the patio palapa right next to the pool. Thank you Sandi (Sally) and Brian for introducing us to Bucerias, sharing your stories and being wonderful hosts. We hope to see you again.


Our Annual February Visit

5 on February 24, 2013

This is our 3rd year staying with Sandi, Brian, Mason and Libby. I cannot think of a better place to spend peaceful days in paradise. The breakfasts are absolutely outstanding, with a different flavor/taste every day. Sandi goes out of her way to make you feel like it's your own home except you have no cleaning and cooking to do. Her meals are delicious. She prepared beef stroganoff for us one evening and it was fantastic. We tried her mafia meatloaf, lousiana gumbo, as well as the shepards pie she makes and each was as good the other. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is visiting Mexico, Puerto Vallarat and Bucerias in particular. Bucerias is what PV was 20 years ago. It is smaller, has great beaches and just an overall welcoming atmosphere. We plan many more visits in the years to come


Awesome Vacation

5 on February 21, 2013

Spent 10 days at this wonderful B&B. Relaxation started when Sandi was waiting for us at the airport. No hassles dealing with Time Share dudes. The room, food, hospitality was more than we had anticipated. Sandi cooks a different breakfast everyday, complete with fresh fruit and anything else you could want. Enough to keep us going until Happy Hour. Bucerias is a wonderful community and very laid back and easy to get around. Lots to do or nothing if that is what you are looking for. Highly recommend a stay at Casa Cielito Lindo.


GREAT TIME!!

4.0 on April 07, 2012

Regretting leaving casa lindo!! I need to go back!! Brian and Sandy were waiting at the airport and we quickly grabbed our stuff and were home in ten minutes. The house is amazing and we spent a couple days just hanging by the pool with the dogs and on the roof top. The roof top was a great place to have a morning coffee and just look over the ocean Brian and sandy are extremely familiar with the town and know all the good spots to go I could have a couple cold ones and more food than I could eat for less than 20 dollars Sandy cooks the most amazing breakfast. Most days I didnt even need a lunch. You can walk into town via the beach or the mainstreet. Great 15 minute walk. The house is beautiful and clean and steps from the beach. Excellent alternative to the usual resort vacation. I really got to expirence the town and culture. Will go back for sure!!!! Pete Goodenue


Best Vacation

5 on February 21, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Sandi and Brian's . apoun being picked up at the airport Sandi wisked us down the road for the 10min drive to there B&B a quick stop at the Coronna store for a couple of cold ones for the drive .Sandi gave us a quick tour of the area down to Elcentral showing us shops and restraunts . When you arrive at the house you are greeted by Libby and Mason 2 wonderful Labs. We stayed in the Palapa room very clean, bed was comfortable full kitchen amenities if you wanted to cook .Big thanks to Petra our cleaning lady she does a wonderfull job . Sandi and Brian are very knowledgeable about the area so don't be afraid to ask . Breakfasts are excellent more than enough to get you though the day till dinner . Big thanks to Sandi for dinner the one night of my wifes birthday Sandi and Brian cooked BQ steaks and shrimp and little wine and invited the great new friends we met it was an excellent eveing . We can't say enough about our stay how relaxed and looked after we were .Will be returning next year. Greg & Mae


The best place EVER

5 on February 20, 2012

I went here at the end of January with my friend, and let me tell you, it was amazing. From the comfortable beds, to the filling amazing breakfasts, Brian and Sandi really know how to treat guests like one of the family. Their knowledge of the town was very helpful. They always had suggestions on what to do and where to go. This place is the best place I have ever stayed. Better then any other B and B's ive stayed, and certianly better then an all inclusive. This is a MUST STAY for anyone....If your coming to Mexico, this is THE place to stay Thanks again Brian and Sandi for everything!!! I will definatley be back!


Absolutely Gorgeous!!!

5 on September 15, 2011

Sandi & Brian Barkwell are terrific hosts! Our son's wedding was held at their beautiful B & B and it was outstanding. The wedding was held under their rooftop palapa so the ocean view was amazing as were all the wonderful decorations Sandi arranged on the dinner tables and for the reception under the stars. Her hors d'oeuvres and dinner were sooooo delicious and enjoyed by all. We had a great mariachi band (Los Corporales) for the wedding and Sandi arranged to have The Traveling Band for the reception. The photographer, Hector Becerra and his assistant, Katrina, took fabulous pictures. What a PERFECT place to have a PERFECT wedding!! Thank you so much for making this happen!!


Our little bit of heaven...

4.0 on April 27, 2011

We just returned home from a wonderful vacation at Casa Cielito Lindo. The week was incredible from Brian picking us up at the arirport and informing us about the best way to spend our time and dinner plans about Busarios, right through the entire week to our goodbye hugs. Sandi, your breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Your thoughtful attention to detail was so appreciated. You both made us feel so welcome and comfortable on our vacation. We thank you so much for your gracioius hospitality.


"Wonderful yet again"

5 on January 27, 2011

We have just returned from another wonderful stay at Casa Cielito Lindo. It seems to us that it just keeps getting better, if that is possible. Sandi and Brian run an amazing business and it truly shows. From the warm "welcome home" at the airport to the lovely rooms and of course the breakfast from heaven, nothing is missed. One can choose to join in and enjoy the other guests or enjoy ones privacy the choice is yours but either way you will have a trip of a lifetime. Thanks Sandi and Brian.


Best in Bucerias

5 on January 21, 2011

We just returned from our third stay at Casa Cielito Lindo and are planning our fourth visit in 2012. Brian and Sandi are great hosts and make us feel welcome and right at home. Sandi's breakfasts are the best anywhere, period!! Bucerias is a laid back place that we thoroughly enjoy.


Holiday from Heaven

5 on January 06, 2011

My old college friend and I stayed at Casa Cielito Lindo in Bucerias for a week at the end of November 2010. What a treat! What a beautiful, welcoming, light, airy, tranquil and professionally run B&B - just stunning. We stayed in a room called the Eclipse (twin beds) which gets the most wonderful breezes through it during the night. The bathroom is so bright and colourful, decorated with local colors and patterns, how could you fail not to have a smile on your face every morning? We were given delicious breakfasts which prepared us for the day ahead either of local sight seeing (and there's lots to see), trips or just wandering along the miles of beach, which is only a couple of blocks down the road. Sandi is the most brilliant cook. At the other end of the day go up to the palapa at the top of the house to sit and watch the sun falling gently into the ocean, scenes that dreams are made of. Sandi and Brian are such welcoming hosts, we were met at the airport and when we got to the house there were welcoming drinks and snacks for us. So thoughtful after our long flight. The attention to detail everywhere has to be seen to be believed, it is a real home from home and one that we will return to again and again. We are about to book for this year already so we don't miss our chance to return to this idyllic place. Do not be put off by the bad press that Mexico has got lately, we found the place to be peaceful, friendly, fun and there are plenty of reasonably priced bars and restaurants in the local town. As two women on a 'girls holiday' we felt totally safe and secure. Casa Cielito Lindo is well looked after by Riley, Mason and Libby, Sandi and Brian's lovely Retrievers. We cannot recommend this wonderful piece of paradise highly enough, go and see for yourselves, you really won't be disappointed.


New Year's in Casa Cielito Lindo

5 on January 04, 2011

The room is beautiful and peaceful, and the breakfasts are amazing, the dogs made me feel at home. Truly an oasis of beauty and calm. Sandi is a marvelous cook! I look forward to a return visit!


Unbelievable AGAIN!

5 on May 04, 2010

I stayed at Cielito Lindo in April, and is my second time there. There is nothing bad I can say about this place. It is unbelievable. Sandi and Brian make sure your stay is great, from the airport pick-up, to the airport drop-off. Attention to detail is always taken into consideration by Sandi and Brian. The sun was great, the town was amazing, the dogs are fun, and the cervesa's were cold! The rooms are perfect. I stayed in the 'apartment' upstairs, complete with a fridge, and sink area. The view of the town and the ocean is amazing. One night, we say the whales breaching the water! Overall, the cleanliness is out of this world, as is the food. If you have a food allergy or dislike, Sandi caters to your needs. Again, I cant say enough about this place. If your considering this place as a destination, stop thinking and book it. Trust me, you wont be disappointed...at all!!


Heaven is Bucerias.Best cloud on which to land is Casa Cielito Lindo

5 on April 12, 2010

Sandi and Brian are the best hosts you could hope for. They helped with where to eat, shop, walk, get massages,go on an excursion and even where to live should one decide to reside in Bucerias. Outstanding breakfasts, no need to eat again until dinner. Comfy beds, warm atmosphere, such a welcoming place from the moment the 3 darling dogs greet you at the gate until you are dropped back off at the airport with a good bye hug. It was by far our favorite vacation. Sandi and Brian must attract fun guests, because we met some delightful people from Canada that we hope to meet up with again. This is the place to stay if you want an authentic experience within the Mexican culture and still want to be pampered. We will go back. Hasta luego! Sharon (Michigan) and Kayla (Colorado).


Feels like you are staying with good friends

5 on April 03, 2010

This was our first experience at a B&B, although we have been to this area many times before, staying at all inclusives. We didn't know what to expect, but the reviews were so great we decided to throw caution to the wind. If you have the expectation that you want to stay at a beautifully designed, comfortable and clean home, with fabulous breakfasts that surpass most 5 star restaurants, comfortable bedrooms with private terraces, hosts who make you feel that you are welcome old friends and a place to unwind, relax and return to each day then Casa Cielito Lindo meets these requirements and so much more. The only thing that would have been better was if we could have stayed longer. We miss Sandi and Brian and their great dogs, Libby, Mason and Riley, all who made our vacation so very special. Can't wait to return.....Sue and Brian Szabo, Okotoks, AB


"relaxing and restful"

4.8 on March 27, 2010

If you want a great experience try Casa Cilita Lindo B&B. (It truly is a little bit of heaven) Wonderful Host and Hostess. BEST BREAKFAST IN MEXICO!


A Gem

5 on March 03, 2010

In Bucerius there is the best B&B in the area. The owners, Sandi and Brian Barkwell were the most gracious and accomodating couple we've met in all our years of traveling. Their home is your home while you are there. Sandi's breakfasts are not only delicious but works of art. Their beautiful home is Mexican style; open and airy throughout with a pool off the the patio. All rooms are thoughtfully and colorfully decorated. The floors all tiled. A large circular porch surrounds the house. Great for sitting and reading or just relaxing. Their staff is pleasant and efficient and are treated like family. The beach is a short walk from their home. In Bucerias you are able to find some really great restaurants all within walking distance. Ask Brian for suggestions on the area. He'll even take you around town to point out what's what. To add to the stay Libby, Mason, and Riley (their dogs in residence)were a hoot. The only negative thing I can say is that I wish our stay was longer. Look forward to returning again and again.


Wish there was a rating above outstanding

5 on February 21, 2010

After an amazing experience last year, my boyfriend and I returned to Casa Cielito for a second time. This year was even better than the last. We could not have been more pleased with Sandi and Brian's hospitality, Sandi's amazing meals, the super comfy beds and the sweetest dogs in Bucerias. Some of the highlights of our stay were being greeted by Sandi's smiling face at the airport, our welcome platter, amazing in room snack tray, hurricane refuge/ party :-) and Sandi and Brian's knowledge of Bucerias inside and out. We are very much looking forward to returning next year.


5 days in Bucerias

5 on February 20, 2010

Our party stayed a total of 12 days in the Puerta Vallerta area. Seven days in the town of Puerta Vallerta, and five days in Bucerias. We had a reservation at a Bed and Breakfast in Bucerias, and I wasn't sure just how it was going to go, as far as the presentation of it and how was run. We have stayed in Bed and Breakfasts before, and was plesently surprised by the whole spirit of the people who owned it, and their knowlege of the surrounding areas. Sandi and Brian brought a whole new perspective to this. Sandi was very enthusiastic in helping us with our itineraries of things to do there.She spoke of the food fares there, and what to look for in good restaurants. She spoke of the history of the area, and gave us a good understanding of the local peoples. Sandi, as well as being a world class cook, had a knack of painting a picture of how everyday life was spent by the indiginous people, and how to best blend in and submerge yourself into the local customs. We ended up totally enjoying our stay, and met some very good (New) friends, as well as recieved a lesson or two in the intricasies of daily Mexican life. I would like to share Casa Cielito Lindo with people that want to enjoy a beautiful home and a wonderful relaxing atmosphere. The casual conversations are fun, and the hostess will fill your mind with color and wonder....all good parts to a wonderful stay.


Simply the best!

5 on January 23, 2010

It's all you've read about and more! I stayed in the Sunflower room on the second floor at the beginning of January. Heavenly bed, large private balcony with a beautiful Mexican tiled bathroom. Outside my room was a shared alcove with a coffeemaker, small refrigerator, toaster, dishes, and water jug. This I never used as, after eating Sandi's breakfast feasts downstairs, anything else was unnecessary. I was a little worried as I was travelling solo that week but Sandi and Brian immediately put me at ease with their wonderful hospitality. The property is very secure and is located just up from Lazaro Cardernas -a short stroll to excellent restaurants, shops and the beach. I was really impressed me with the the Barkwell's thoughtfulness - a small bottle of water at the sink to brush your teeth with; my own set of keys,a "midnight munchie" welcome tray and on the balcony there were comfy chairs and a good light so I could read outside in the evening.Can't say enough about Sandi's cooking and how well I was treated. Would recommend highly


Another great stay!!

5 on January 19, 2010

We had the opportunity to stay with Sandi & Brian again this year and had a marvelous time. The breakfasts, accomodations and hosts were all superb. We are planning another visit in 2011.


Amazing.....

5 on January 04, 2010

We have just returned from a two week vacation at Casa Cielito Lindo and we had the most amazing time. I had read the reviews before we booked and they were all very complimentary, but now I realize it's really very difficult to put into words what Sandi and Brian give their guests. From the moment we where picked up at the airport to the time we left they made is so very welcome. Cas Cielito Lindo is beautiful, one can choice to join the other guests or spend time alone reading a book in a quiet area, the option is yours. If you choose to spend time with Sandi and Brian you will find a wonderful couple, their wealth of information is so helpful from the tour of Bucerias to info on day trips and how to go about organizing them. Sandi makes the best breakfast in the world, she also runs cooking classes and a catering business and its fun to sit in the kitchen with her whilst she goes about these tasks. Their three large dogs are wonderful Riley, Mason and Libby and it feels so like home to be greeted by their happy faces and they love to go for a morning walk if you so feel inclined. Bucerias is a small village but there is so much to do. Wonderful places to eat, interesting shops and a great beaches on which you can walk for miles. If you like to golf there are many courses we especially liked Flamimgos and Vista Vallarta. We rented a car as we wanted to see the countryside but the bus and taxis are very inexpensive and a good way of getting about. We both felt safe and found everybody we met to be very friendly and gracious. Usually after a two week vacation I'm ready to go home but this time I was very sorry to leave. Are we going back? You bet we are, we had the best time ever. Casa Cielito Lindo is wonderful, great rooms wonderful food, amazing weather, all in a lovely village and the icing on the cake is Sandi and Brian. Thanks to Sandi and Brian for making us so welcome we can't wait to return. Sally and Mike Finneron Courtenay British Columbia


Words can't describe

5 on November 16, 2009

I can't say enough positive things about Sandi & Brian and their wonderful home. And that's what it is...a home. If you want to take a trip and feel like you're staying with old friends that you haven't seen in 20 years, this is the place. Despite the many things to do in the area, more often than not, my wife and I went back to the house to hang with them and their friends. They could not be friendlier or more accommodating. One night, when we had no dinner plans, we were invited to have dinner with them. Every night, Brian made sure we had a drink in hand. And on our last night, they picked us up at the dock in Vallarta to take us to a couple of their favorite places. Truly amazing people that were born to run a B&B. And Sandi is an unbelievable cook! I haven't even mentioned their gorgeous house. Beautifully decorated, open, and airy. We're already considering renting the whole house during the off-season for our daughter's graduation in 2011. The only problem is Sandi and Brian will be in Canada and they're at least 1/2 the reason to go! My wife and I are sooooo glad that we decided not to go to an all-inclusive in Vallarta but instead chose this wonderful place in this sleepy little town. We lived among the locals, rode the buses, walked the streets, and met two very special people. PS - Special thanks to Riley, Mason, and Liberty for making our stay extra special. We enjoyed being dragged down the streets after breakfast. :)


Amazing Retreat

4.6 on June 27, 2009

Our weekend at Casa Cielito Lindo was amazing. Sandi & Brian worked very hard to make us comfortable. Sandi's breakfasts were incredible! The bedroom was very comfortable, and there was access to many indoor common areas and outdoor patios. They gave us a tour of the area and recommendations about where to eat and what to do, which was very helpful. As stated in their description, this b&b is in a quaint community about 10 miles from puerto vallarta. There was beach access, shopping, restaurants, etc. within walking distance of the b&b, but it could be slightly difficult for non-Mexicans to get into PV from here without a car. We had a very relaxing, but fun, vacation while staying at Casa Cielito Lindo, and would definitely recommend it to others!


Above and beyond

5 on June 07, 2009

This was our second stay at Casa Cielito Lindo in Bucerias near Puerto Vallarta. The accommodations and gourmet breakfasts were exceptional. Sandi and Brian were their usual available, genial and helpful selves. During our first visit, in response to our dream to acquire a small home on the Bay of Banderas for vacations and to rent out during our absences, they introduced us to a charming, enclosed home a few blocks from their B&B. We fell in love with it. The Barkwells provided an informal, impromptu quickie course on buying a home in Mexico; then introduced us to super competent and reliable local resources to help with the purchase and remodeling processes. During our more recent visit we stayed at Casa Cielito Lindo while we tended to our removel, again, with encouragement and assistance from the Barkwells. Thanks to them, we now have our own Casa Encantadora (sweet, charming home). Whether it's helping you make a dream come true, or gaining tips on making your stay fun and enjoyable, or just providing a gorgeous B&B with friendly, attentive service and world class breakfasts, we unreservedly recommend you check out and try Cielito Lindo.


Best Bed and Breakfast!!!!!!

5 on May 23, 2009

I had the great experience to enjoy Casa Cielito Lindo. My best girlfriend and I decided to travel to Mexico but did not want to stay at a resort. We wanted to truly experience the Mexican culture. We did however, travel at a bad time. We traveled as the Swine Flu became apparent. Brian and Sandi had procedures in place so we would not contract this Flu. We even got to enjoy a nice Mexican dinner at the Inn due to resturants closing early due to the Swine Flu. Sandi makes the most tasteful food I have ever eaten! The breakfast was amazing and she was more than willing to make us dinners. During our Mexican dinner at the Inn, Brian and Sandi treated us to Mexican music and even taught us some Spanish! They enjoyed the dinner as much as we did!!! I have enjoyed travelling to other Bed and Breakfasts for the warm company and hospitality but this Bed and Breakfast has exceeded all my expectations! Brian and Sandi enjoyed having us and other guests in the house which made it oh so enjoyable! I would recommend this Inn to anyone!


Excellent A+

5 on May 20, 2009

Great home to kick back, relax and experience the best of Bucerias. Outstanding B&B with extremely friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating hosts. The breakfasts are first rate with the great beach, numerous excellent restaurants and shopping a short walk away. The house itself has lots of private space, the rooms well appointed and a very comfortable and spacious pool area to relax and soak up the sun.


Best B and B

5 on March 16, 2009

We found this B and B on-line.... and it exceeded our expectations... Sandi and Brian go out of their way to make your stay comfortable... we felt right at home... breakfasts were amazing... especially the eggs benedict - yep... amazing.... and gratefully, Sandi helped us out of a time share situation by connecting us with a local person who knew the ropes..... most especially we loved Riley, Mason and Libby.... three of the best dogs! (with the exception of our Molly)..... a great way to see Mexico!!! Vicki and Al Pickard, Edmonton, Alberta ps... the photos on the site do not do justice to the home!


Like coming home!

4.0 on March 16, 2009

This was a 3rd visit this year to Casa Cielito Lindo, it was once again like coming home. Sandi, Brian, and all the dogs welcomed us with open arms. Not only is the B&B wonderful, but hospitality is exceptional. Have a question what to do? They help! Need change for the bus? Sandi is there to make change and give maps! Food was wonderful and fills you up for the day to go out exploring the wonderful little village. Thanks Sandi & Brian for another great vacation getaway! See you in 2010! Beth & Brian Okoboji, IA


Most enjoyable B&B vacation!

4.6 on March 12, 2009

Wonderful place with fantastic hosts. Combination of Bucerias and its small-town feel (but with all ameneties one could want on a vacation in Mexico - seconds from beach, great restaurants, beautiful weather and people...) and the tremendous hospitality of Sandi and Brian make Casa Cielto Lindo a place we will return to as soon as we can. We arrived as strangers, but within days felt like we were with old friends. Would recommend highly, and especially for dog-lovers (three wonderful golden retrievers made for great entertainment...).


wonderful stay

4.8 on March 09, 2009

My wife and I were fortunate to have been able to spend 2 weeks at the wonderful Casa Cielito Lindo this year. I read all the other reviews and I don't know what more we can add to all the terrific and true things everyone says about Sandi, Brian and their wonderful home. To say they make you feel at home is an understatement. They are accomodating to the nth degree. We were even invited to dine with them in their home along with their friends from Canada and Mexico. From the orientation tour to the return trip to the airport, they looked after us with care and attention to detail that is hard to surpass. We like B&Bs and this is the reason why. The 'kids' are a blast. You have to like dogs though, as we do. Libby is a sweetheart, Riley likes his talking toy and Mason is a goof. Stay away from the all inclusives and give this a try. You won't be sorry.


An Outstanding B & B!!

5 on March 01, 2009

This is the first trip my boyfriend and I have made together as a couple. I’m very please to say that Sandi and Brian made our stay at their B & B extremely memorable! We stayed the previous week at a hotel outside Puerto Vallarta and we had lots of fun, but it pales in comparison to the time we spent with Sandi and Brian at the Casa Cielito Lindo. Sandi is an outstanding cook who goes out of her way to make sure your stay is everything you hoped for and more! Casa Cielito Lindo is a well designed, spacious, stunningly decorated house. Our room as with all the others had everything we needed. Our bed with its crisp linens and down filled bed topper was a dream to sleep in and we really enjoyed the private balcony. Sandi and Brian were helpful with any activities we were interested in, as well as good restaurants to try. They have a handy information package they put together for guests with information on activities in the area along with menus of various restaurants which we found was a great time saver. We both feel our experience at Casa Cielito Lindo was one we’ll remember for a long time and we have Sandi and Brian to thank for that! We feel we’ve made two really great friends from this experience and highly recommend this B & B. We will no doubt be making many return trips.


Like a dream

5 on February 17, 2009

My boyfriend and I came to Bucerias for a romantic get away and were completely charmed by Casa Cielito Lindo and our hosts. Sandi and Brian were the best, they provided everything we needed, showed us the town and advised us on the best places to see and places to dine. Sandi’s breakfasts were amazing and the perfect way to start a day in paradise. The home itself was very beautiful, comfortable and we were made to feel like at home instantly with Sandi, Brian and their incredibly sweet golden retrievers. We both look forward to returning again next year.


I just didn't want to leave

5 on February 05, 2009

The minute I walked in I felt like I was coming home. The entire house is so open and yet embracing at the same time. The decor is tasteful and not cluttered. The meals were superb. One night we got to chatting with Sandi & Brian, forgot the time and Sandi got up and whipped us up a prime rib sandwich to die for. Our bed was so comfortable and our room was very romantic and elegant. We were the only guests at the time so we could peek into the other rooms and they were all wonderful. Our vacation involved more time in PV and a short time in Bucerias. The next time I will definately spend more time in Bucerias with Sandi & Brian AND I want to bring some friends who have never gone to Mexico. I cannot think of a better introduction to Mexico than spending time with Sandi and Brian at Casa Cielito Lindo. Sandi & Brian are so knowledgeable of the area. Very helpful in where to go for shopping, dining, and touring. Sandi drove us to the airport, took a detour so we could pick up a DVD of our whale watching trip. Definately the most memorable and wonderful B&B experience we've had, and we've had a few.


Superb B&B

5 on February 02, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying here in early January. Brian and Sandi were perfect hosts, the facility was very, very nice and the breakfasts were wonderful. Brian picked us up at the airport and gave us a guided tour of Bucerias. We are planning a return trip in 2010 and highly recommend the Casa Cielito Lindo. Bucerias is a relaxing, welcome change of pace from that of Puerto Vallarta.


Unbelievable

5 on January 31, 2009

Are you kidding me? This place is amazing. Everything from the great in this piece of heaven. The food is to die for, and the house is so clean and cozy. Brian and Sandi sure do know how to please a guest. The breatfasts range from Creme de Brulet (whish is amazing!!!) to club houses and waffles. The airport pickup and drop off is so quick and easy, and you dont have to fight the lineups. ANyone wanting to stay in a bed and breakfast anywhere HAS to come here, it was one of my best times ever and I WILL be back for seconds, and thirds! The best place I have stayed, Cheers Casa Cielito Lindo!


A return visit

4.8 on January 28, 2009

This our 3rd time with Sandi, Brian and their affectionate "kids". Each time seems better, we don't know if it is because they make us part of their family and we just feel so at home or because Sandi is always creating something new to eat. She has a catering business in Bucerias called A Hand in the Kitchen Catering and every second week for the Bucerias Art Walk she does complimentary hors'd oeuvres that are to die for. Of course she invites us guests to come and sample. We are always in awe of the energy that comes out of her kitchen and between Brian & Sandi, it is a wonderful experience.


Bucerias 2009

4.8 on January 09, 2009

If anyone is thinking about staying at Cielito Lindo, you will not be disappointed. The best part is Sandi's cooking and you must book so you are there on a Tuesday as this is the day she makes Creme Brule French Toast. I am not kidding. It's amazing! This is our second visit and we brought our Mum this time who celebrated her 90th birthday. Looking forward to our next visit. Keith & Taya Puiu


Hospitality at it's friendliest!

4.8 on January 06, 2009

Sandi and Brian were incredibly warm, welcoming, and hospitable from start to finish of our trip. What with transportation to and from the airport, a gourmet breakfast prepared with love by Sandi every morning, tips and recommendations about local restaurants, and a home cooked Christmas dinner to boot not only did we not have to worry about any details but we felt right at home to boot! On top of all of this we absolutely fell in love with their three retrievers. A wonderful bed and breakfast spot with wonderful hosts and a wonderful location. Highly recommended!


Mi casa es su casa!

4.0 on January 02, 2009

Sandi and Brian are the most wonderful hosts. From the very first moment, my husband and I felt at home in their beautiful home. Our room was nicely decorated, with a very comfortable bed. Just out the door we had a refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, plates, cups, silverware... and Sandi put water bottles, milk and fruit in the fridge. Very nice and convenient. We appreciated it a lot. Breakfasts were very tasty. We felt like we knew Sandi and Brian for a long time and enjoyed chatting with them. We wished the house was a bit closer to the beach and the restaurants, but we enjoy walking, so it was OK too. There is a pretty view of the ocean from the top palapa. Overall, a great place with amazing hosts!


Gorgeous ambiance & service with a capital S!

5 on January 01, 2009

Sandi's and Brian's gorgeous setting and accommodations, incredible gourmet breakfasts and service wth a capital S are enriched by their genuine interest in and guidance of each guest regarding needs and interests. They offer superb tips re available activities, resources and exposure to local culture, AND they are bright and fun. We felt so well taken care of. As interactive or independent as a guest wants to be, Brian and Sandi are available yet respectful. Their ambiance is active and includes their three friendly dogs, yet guests can spend quiet time and enjoy whatever combination of R&R and action that suits them. We were not surprised to learn that they were named best B&B in Mexico in their first year.


Relax in Bucerias

5 on December 27, 2008

We stayed with Sandi & Brian in December and chose to remain in Bucerias and walk to restaurants and otherwise see the town. A bank, pharmacy and mini-mart were very closeby and handy. There are more restaurants than anyone can sample in Bucerias. We enjoyed the hospitality of Sandi and Brian. They went out of their way for us and truly enhanced our visit. I believe I could have managed on Sandi's breakfasts alone - they were delicious and substantial. Also, I would mention that Sandi prepared gluten free meals for one of our party that made our trip so much easier and was much appreciated. I hope you have the opportunity to sample their hospitality.


Walking in Bucerias

5 on December 19, 2008

Casa Cielito Lindo was a welcoming place to relax and explore the local community on foot. There are several mini-markets, a pharmacy and a bank with an ATM within a few blocks. Restaurants abound in Bucerias. This small town is in Mexico and that means it is not going to be as pristine as places in Canada or the United States. But there appears to be a large number of Canadians and Americans who live there or visit and the community feels relatively safe and the restaurants by and large seem to offer safe food. I greatly enjoyed just walking to places without having to worry about transportation. The B&B is new, clean, open and airy, with views of the bay on the top viewing platform. Sandi and Brian went out of their way for us - preparing a gluten-free meal for one of our party and including us in their plans. I hope you have the opportunity to enjoy their hospitality.


Exceptional B&B

5 on December 10, 2008

Our stay at Casa Cielito Lindo exceeded all of our expectations. Brian and Sandi were very welcoming. They gave us a tour of the town and tips on what to do in Bucerias to get the most out of our stay. Sandi is also an incredible cook. Each morning we had a different gourmet breakfast that would keep us full the entire day. Their three golden retrievers (Libby, Mason & Riley) were great company as well. We hope to be return customers someday. Rob and Lindsay


!st Class Accomodations & Hosts

5 on April 18, 2008

Upon landing in Puerto Vallarta airport for a 10 day stay at Casa Cielito Lindo, a friendly face was there to meet & greet us, our host Brian. Brian gave us lots of welcomed information as he drove to our destination "Casa Cielito Lindo". The pictures on the website are fabulous, but they still do not do the "Casa" justice! An absolutely beautifully styled Mexican flavored home with attention to detail in every aspect. Upon arriving, Sandy along with their 3 well behaved & lovable poochies were there to greet us as if we were long time friends being welcomed into their home. Our romantic bedroom, a mexican tiled private washroom & spacious private balcony were certainly a comfort of luxury that we truly enjoyed. Sandy is an excellent cook. Our breakfast every morning was varied & fabulous. We honestly did not have to eat again until dinner. We had fun walking around Bucerias in the evening to pick out which restaurant we wished to eat at. There is every kind of food available so not to worry about finding something you like to eat. It is absolutely safe to walk day or night in Bucerias and the local people are so charming and friendly. We loved being able to walk & take the local bus anywhere we wished to go. There are fabulous excurions which Sandy & Brian are so keen to advise on. Our sailboat whale watching excursion was a true highlight & we highly recommend it as was our venture to San Sabastian. A very short walk from the "Casa" to the un-crowded & beautiful sandy beach where you could walk for miles was a daily venture. Sandi & Brian have a 1st class operation going on, hosting with utmost professionalism along with genuine care that your vacation is everything that you had hoped it would be. Thank you Sandi & Brian for making our stay so complete!


The perfect vacation

5 on March 27, 2008

The Barkwell's made us feel at home from the minute we arrived. Very personalized service. We really felt like family. They went above and beyond our expectations to show us the town and ensure that our vacation was perfect. The Barkwell's care about their community and clearly want others to feel that Bucerias is home. They arranged tours for us, showed us how to use the bus system and even went to dinner with us to show us a very "un-touristy" look at their town. We enjoyed every minute and hope to return soon!


truly a 'little piece of heaven'

5 on March 18, 2008

Bucerias is a lovely little spot, and Casa Cielito Lindo is a wonderful place from which to enjoy it. Sandi and Brian do an outstanding job of providing a 'home away from home' - except at home the breakfasts are never as good as they are here! They go way beyond the expectations most guests would have of owners of B & B's. If we come back this way, the Casa Cielito Lindo will certainly be our choice of accommodation.


Hospitality Plus

5 on March 01, 2008

We spent 5 relaxing fun days here and enjoyed the home and the wonderful hospitality of the Barkwells. They have this B&B business perfected with great breakfasts and personal attention to all needs of the guests. We feel we have found some wonderful new friends there in Bucerias. Great house...wonderful rooms and the food so well done. Had a great stay with Brian and Sandi and of course their loveable dogs..Will go back if we get the chance. H & B


A bit of Paradise

4.0 on February 22, 2008

This was our second visit. Each visit becomes more special. We so enjoyed Casa Cielito Lindo. The host Brian and Sandi are just the best! They help lead you in the right ways - visit the local attractions AND are the hostess with the mostest. Sandi is so in tune with the B&B and what it takes to make a mean breakfast. Brian is right there making your trip the most memorable and easy to get around. We had a wonderful time in the little quant town of Bucerias and the wonderful beaches surrounding. If you need a get away from it all - this is where you want to go! Thanks Brian and Sandi! Guests from Minneapolis B&B :-)


felt like home

5 on February 09, 2008

we stayed onver 2 weeks at Sandi's and Brian's lovely home and as soon as we arrived we felt like we had known them forever. They are both very warm and welcoming hosts. They do all they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible and you never feel like you are intruding on their privacy, which can be sometimes difficult of B & B owners. The room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were varied and very tasty. We do dot hesitate to recommend this home and we look forward to returning ourselves. Jan.2008


A breathtaking paradise...

5 on January 18, 2008

My sister and I enjoyed an amazing vacation at the Casa Lindo! The Barkwells offered hospitality that consistently exceeded our expectations. Their breathtaking home is a paradise, warm and inviting, with gorgeous rooms and a beautiful view to the ocean. This B&B offers the service and beauty of a 4-Star Hotel, but at a very reasonable price. I recommend Casa Lindo to anyone who would like to experience Mexcio in its truest form. Thank you Sandi and Brian!


"Home away from home"

4.8 on August 07, 2007

The home is beautiful, comfortable and welcoming. Sandi & Brian go all out to assist with reservations, information and ideas. You can tell that Sandi loves to cook, it us evident that she has lots of experience in tantalizing tastebuds as was the slogan for her catering business in Ontario. My wife and I are looking forward to bringing our friends to experience this home. We loved being part of everyday Mexico life in a small community.


Wonderful,can't wait to return

5 on June 22, 2007

Beautiful, homey, comfortable, Sandi is an incredible cook.

Innkeeper Response
My main goal has been to have guests feel they can interact with our family. If they choose to not "be part of the family" that is okay too. Whatever the guest requires to make their vacation memorable is what we strive for. Coming from the hospitality industry (40 years tucked away) I observe and react. We look forward to sharing our home with you. Sandi & Brian Barkwell


Casa Cielito Lindo

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $175
  • Reviews (53) 4.9
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7054471104
  • Phone 52-3292982440
  • Mobile 1-9059147312
  • Mobile 52-3221727997
Top