Orchid House BnB Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

New Favorite B&B in Guadalajara

5 on December 10, 2013

Memorable vacation in Guadalajara while staying 8 days at this unique, 1 of a kind, B&B. Host, Carlos, is gracious and thoughtful in anticipating and meeting the needs and interests of his guests, and provides transport to and from airport or bus station if requested. He prepares sumptuous and varied breakfasts tailored to guests' preferences each day. Carlos is very personable and welcoming. He is also helpful in providing suggestions and advice on sightseeing and highlighting local treasures and potential places of interest for guests to explore in and around Guadalajara and environs. Carlos extends himself for each guest, and shares the comforts and beauty of his well appointed home. Loved the relaxed atmosphere of staying in a home and opportunity to learn about local life from a gregarious local. This B&B is located in a wonderful neighborhood (Zona Rosa) - great for walking and exploring, with easy access to buses and taxis for excursions downtown or to outlining areas such as Tlaquepaque, Tonala and Zapopan. Enjoyed the ambience of the pedestrian friendly neighborhood with tree line streets, and its combination of modern and vintage homes, apartments and condos. Many diverse restaurant choices within a few blocks. Will definitely return to Orchid House, and look forward to future vacations here to savor Guadalajara's charm, urban cultural options, and explore additional neighboring towns.


Amazing Host & so helpful in every aspect !

4.8 on September 25, 2012

This has been the best B& B experience we have had. The host is straight to the point, helpful & a real genuine person. The room we choose was so large, clean & warm. The decor in the house is beautiful and well presented. The host went out of his way to make us feel comfortable & special. We highly recommend the Orchid House.


Great stay!

5 on August 17, 2012

We stayed five nights at the Orchid House, and it was wonderful! The owner took such great care of us — feeding us the breakfasts we wanted, giving us tips about the area. It is a lovely place with the feeling of a private home...well, it IS a private home! We are delighted to recommend it. The host is so interesting and gracious! Enjoy!

Innkeeper Response
I WAS DELIGHTED TO HAVE GREAT SHARMING PEOPLE IN MY ORCHID HOUSE BNB , THANK YOU FOR YOUR STAY AND COMPANY , WE HAD A GREAT TIME TOO.


Simply the BEST!

5 on June 07, 2012

The listing details are right on target. Such a wonderful and hospitable environment. So elegant and such a great location in a quiet and safe residential area. Innkeeper, Carlos is a delight and very informative and knowledgeable of Guadalajara...and the world! If you love opera, Carlos is a walking and talking encyclopedia of opera knowledge. I felt right at home and slept wonderfully in the comfortable bed.


Beautiful, Great Hospitality

4.0 on January 09, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of November on our first trip to Guadalajara. It was the best introduction to this area! Great hospitality from Mr. Gonzalez - he made us feel at home. What a great host - I couldn't praise him enough! The room was comfortable and Orchid House is a real gem. All the services were excellent. Thank you Carlos.


You HAVE to stay here!

5 on December 06, 2011

I had a GREAT vacation thanks to Mr Gonzalez who helped and guided me on my tours of the city. The B&B is in one of the best locations in Guadalajara, the ambience is superb, the food is made to order. I could not ask for anything better. I give him a five diamond review.


Best Pick

4.4 on November 02, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in 9 hotels and 3 B & B's in Guadalajara and the Orchid House was the best of all. The owner, Carlos Gonzalez is fluent in English and Spanish and a delightful host. He is gracious, well traveled and an excellent entertainer - plus he makes the best Martini to be had. On my birthday, he offered to host my daughter who lives in Guadalajara and her friends for drinks at the Orchid House before we went out for dinner. He will serve whatever you wish for breakfast and is flexible on the time.The house is beautifully furnished with antiques and the bed was very comfortable made up with high thread count linens. He offered his computer and free phone calls to the states. The location is in a secure residential neighborhood yet convenient to both the Chapulatpec area and downtown. He will also arrange for transportation if you wish. We will certainly stay at the Orchid House on our future trips.


Perfecto!

5 on February 01, 2011

My stay at this bed and breakfast was wonderful. I felt like I was in a New York City townhouse. There are lovely antiques throughout the house and the living room is so inviting. The hosts are just wonderful. They made me feel so welcome. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast!


fabuloso

5 on January 09, 2011

Todo fue fabuloso. Me gusto mi quarto y los duenos fueron tan amables y simpaticos. Yo recomendo este lugar para descansar.


We'll Be Back!

4.4 on December 06, 2010

Orchid house is charming! We enjoyed every moment and loved the service provided by the staff and Mr. Gonzales. The house is rich with interesting antiques and paintings and orchids scattered throughout the rooms. Breakfast is fresh and cooked to order. We will certainly return on our next visit...........Palm Springs, Ca


Exceptional Experience

5 on December 02, 2010

The casa is finely appointed throughout. It is clean and maintained that way by a friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are peaceful and comfortable. The casa is located on a nice street and conveniently located near a bakery (my favorite--LOL) and to many restaurants and bars--Starbucks and Dominoes are about 6-7 blocks away. The historic district is a short ride via taxi/city bus. Carlos and Julio are great people which only enhanced my stay at the B&B and my visit to Guadalajara.


Guadalajara Sojourn

4.0 on September 18, 2010

Our accommodations were elegant but comfortable. Everything was first class from beginning to end. Our host was knowledgable and most helpful about the locale.


Mexico experience

4.8 on September 18, 2010

The house is lovely, with orchids scattered around. The host was knowledgeable and accomodating. Spoke excellent English. A most enjoyable visit. Will return.


Gracious and welcoming

4.0 on September 17, 2010

Pampering at its most gracious. We will be sure to return. Bill Warhurst, Southampton, England


September in Guadalajara

4.4 on September 17, 2010

My stay at the Orchid House BnB was thoroughly enjoyable. The orchids themselves were fantastic and quite beautiful. Service was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful with my tour of Guadalajara. Our Innkeeper, Carlos was a delight..I would come back anytime.


Truly an Orchid House

4.8 on September 17, 2010

We spent three days at this elegant place. It truly is an orchid house. Mr Gonzalez has one of the most spectacular orchid collections in the country. We loved the made -to- order breakfasts with fresh fruits and juices which Mexico is so famous for. The service was discreet and wonderfully low key. The location is perfect for people who love to walk to cafes, clubs and places where Mexicans spend the leisurely evenings in complete safety. We'll return.


Elegant comfort

5 on September 17, 2010

An absolutely delightful B & B. Wonderfully comfortable. The Hosts were charming and knowledgeable, and the service was superb. I now consider them friends, and look forward to my next visit.


Orchid House BnB

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $120
  • Reviews (17) 4.7
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 01152-3333351921

Visit Website »

View details

Top