Casa de Piedra Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
36 Reviews

Write A Review

Discovering Mexico while Relaxing

5 on July 06, 2014

Casa de Piedra was a great way to explore Mexico while relaxing. A short 3-minute walk to the Boca beach, or longer 20-minute-to-40-minute hike to other beaches. Also, Boca is a small fishing village, so you get Mexican culture while be able to relax and read in the hammock or enjoy the in the pool. The local guy (Cesar) at the beach-front restaurant can give an affordable, great massage! There's also a restaurant that affords you a view of all of Boca. Plus! Bungee jumping if that's your thing, is closeby (Bob and Sue have a negotiated price for it). Jetskis are possible, too, I hear. Anyway - what more can you hope for this place?!


Warmth That Will Not Quit!

5 on May 29, 2014

Do yourself a favor and stay here. Bob and Sue have created a tropical paradise for you to experience a part of Mexico that is an authentic and enriching experience. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and comfortable. They are warm, hospitable, and full of great recommendations for your stay.


Visitors to Casa de Piedra

4.4 on April 12, 2014

My husband and I have not stayed at Casa de Peidra... yet. However many of our family members have enjoyed the comfort of Casa de Peidra's suites, the beauty of it's gardens and the humor and hospitality of Bob and Sue. Over the years we have had the privilege of attending birthday parties, barbeques and a "Night of 100 Candles". A "Night of 100 Candles" is truly magical with 100 candles twinkling throughout the gardens under the stars. After a delicious meal cooked and served by Bob, a guitar appeared and guests sang their favorite songs into the wee hours of the night. It is with great anticipation that we look forward to more magical times next January and February at Casa de Peidra.


Terrific Stay

5 on March 03, 2014

We stayed at the Casa de Piedra for two weeks in February and had a Fantastic time. The hosts cook a terrific breakfast to start our day off perfectly. We spent the days exploring the surrounding areas, travelling on the 8 peso bus into Puerto Vallarta, and to the Botanical Gardens. The Casa de Piedra is a relaxing home away from home, lazing by the pool or in the hammock, and the hosts will help you arrange trips to zip-lining, cruises, and taxi rides along the coasts. Also if you are a hiker ask Bob about the treks in the area. The cleanliness of the Case shows the pride everyone involved in operating the Casa has. A Wonderful time.


Great quiet location and hosts

4.8 on March 02, 2014

Lovely spot next to a river and near a good swimming beach. Lots of variety and choices for breakfasts. An oasis to come home to after trips around the area the hosts help you find Booked my return already


Wonderful new memories

4.8 on January 20, 2014

My fiancée and I spent 4 wonderful days at the Casa de Piedra B&B in Boca Tomatlan south of Puerto Vallarta. Bob and Sue Berndt went way beyond and took really good care of us. We felt at ease right away. They helped us plan our stay and set up our outings, introduced us to neighbors and local vendors, showed us favorite spots, shared their life and times and because of that we enjoyed the true flavor of this charming fishing village. We had so much fun, sharing lots of laughs. We looked forward to seeing them each day. I had left a document in our room after checking out that I needed to leave the country and they made sure I got it in time.  But the frosting on the cake was seeing how much the two interact and care about the town. In particular, one little boy who comes to Casa de Piedra where he receives breakfast, love, and attention.  They've hired a young woman to tutor him on school days which has benefited him greatly. 


great stay in boca

4.4 on January 20, 2014

We recently stayed at Casa Piedra, the rooms are clean and very spacious and the hosts are very welcoming. Bob makes a great breakfast. A relaxing place to call home and great location for all activities around Boca!


Above and beyond expectations

5 on January 15, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for the week of Christmas this year and it was a great experience with warm hospitality of Bob and Sue. They helped us plan our visits and activities around boca and also Puerto Vallarta. From shopping tips to eating joints to beautiful places; Bob and Sue made sure that we make best out of our vacation there. The rooms are super comfortable and very well maintained. Breakfast is excellent and Bob's blueberry pancakes were too good. I will be back here for one more vacation and hopefully this time I can defeat Bob in a game of table tennis :)


Great alternative to PV resorts

5 on January 03, 2014

My husband and I opened the gate to Casa de Peidra Bed and Breakfast, walked along the stone covered pathway, surveyed the beautiful jungle garden and the welcoming pool, dropped our bags and knew we were home. Casa de Peidra has that effect on you and it continues throughout the visit. Susan and Robert Berndt are masters at making you feel at home. The rooms are beautifully furnished in a sense of colonial past; the breakfasts at the gaily-painted tables in the courtyard are delicious; and, you linger and chat while Bob and Sue offer ideas of where to explore and how to settle into the Mexican lifestyle. The Bed and Breakfast rests on the banks of the Horcones River as it tumbles down from the Sierra Madres--its sounds assuring a tranquil atmosphere. Bob and Sue have mentioned other areas to experience along the coast and up in the mountains when we return, which will definitely be this coming year!


Wonderful trip!

5 on May 06, 2013

GREAT trip to Boca! We visited Puerto Vallarta/Boca de Tomatlan in April and arrived to beautiful weather. We stayed a the charming and conveniently situated Casa de Piedra, from where we were able to take water taxis to many beautiful nearby beaches. We also spent a good amount of time relaxing on Boca’s very own beach. The heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta was a quick and easy 25-minute bus ride, making access to the wonderful restaurants, shops, and nightlife a breeze. Bob and Sue, the owner’s of Casa de Piedra, were wonderful hosts. They prepared delicious breakfasts daily and provided a comfortable, clean, and well-equipped apartment during our stay. We would HIGHLY recommend Casa de Piedra to anyone with even the teeniest sense of adventure seeking a comfortable and authentic Mexican refuge that is somewhat off the beaten path!


Mexican Paradise!!!!!!!

5 on May 05, 2013

My wife and I decided that we were looking for more of an adventure during our most recent stay in Puerto Vallarta, so we opted to spend 10 days at Casa de Piedra in small fishing village of Boca de Tomatlan, just outside of the city. As soon as we arrived to “Boca”, it was immediately obvious to us that we had stumbled on to a special place. Boca just had such a buzz to it with the kids playing in the river, the lush jungle and mountains surrounding the village, the pelicans hanging out on a small boat on the beautiful bay, the amazing little beach with restaurants only distinguishable by their table cloths…simply awesome. Then we crossed over the river bridge to Casa de Piedra—wow, the pictures just don’t do it justice. The place is out of a fantasy world or something…when you walk through the gate, there is a beautiful Mexican villa made out of stone (apparently from the river that we just crossed over), a pool right in the front, a little grill to the side, a hammock tucked away in the shade, and a pingpong table ready for action. Our room was beautiful with its vibrant colors, gorgeous Mexican tile work (floors, kitchen counter top, bathroom), and extremely tasteful furnishings. To top it all off, the owners (Bob and Sue) of Casa de Piedra are wonderful people who made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable from beginning to end; we particularly enjoyed the fantastic breakfast served every morning (my favorite was Bob’s famous blueberry pancake breakfast). And then of course you have Puerto Vallarta just a 30 minute bus ride away—my wife and I loved the option of just hoping on the bus right in the village and going into town for some additional exploring. Thank you very much, Bob and Sue for SUCH an unforgettable time. We look forward to our next visit:) Max & Lily Washington, DC


Unvergesslich schön!!!!

5 on April 22, 2013

Der Urlaub bei Bob und Sue war wunderbar!!! Wir haben uns so wohl und willkommen gefühlt! Sue und Bob sind wirklich in allen Dingen unglaublich hilfsbereit und haben es wirklich geschafft, dass wir mit Tränen in den Augen den Ort verlassen haben... DIe Zimmer sind sehr sauber und gemütlich eingerichtet! Die Küche ist super ausgestattet und man kann sich im Garten gemütlich niederlassen und die Ruhe genießen. Der Pool ist total schön und eigentlich will man gar nicht mehr an den Strand, weil es im Casa de Piedra wie im Paradies ist... Ein Ort zum Wohlfühlen und weiterempfehlen!!!! Danke Bob und Sue für diesen wunderschönen Urlaub bei euch!!!


Mexico Auténtico!

5 on April 17, 2013

We have traveled to Mexico many times and our trip to Boca de Tomatlan and stay at Casa de Piedra will be forever in our memory and hearts. We spent a wonderful week there over our son's recent Spring break. We delighted in the quaintness and authenticity of Boca and totally loved our home away from home at Casa de Piedra. Sue and Bob were fantastic hosts and through our online correspondence before arriving, we knew we would be treated like family and we were not disappointed. Sue and Bob welcomed us with open arms and instantly made us feel right at home. Casa de Piedra is a delightful B&B. The hand built stone architecture of the two buildings were surrounded by lush, tropical gardens and a lovely little pool, perfect for cooling off after a day of adventure or at the local beach. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and pleasantly furnished with all the amenities we could possibly need. Breakfast each morning with the other guests was always great, the freshly made food was tasty and plentiful and the morning gatherings were a great opportunity to meet and connect with the other vacationers staying there. Sue and Bob provided a wealth of information about the local people, best places to eat and explore and tips about getting around and unique things to do and see while we were there. Boca is a small and unspoiled village away from the hustle and bustle of Puerto Vallarta and the surrounding area is filled with great beauty. Casa de Piedra sits alongside the Horcones River which feeds into beautiful Boca Bay. The beach is just a short stroll from the B&B over the little foot bridge and through town. We loved chilling at the local beach and being able to jump in a water taxi to take us to neighboring beaches or hop on the local bus to take us to other cool spots nearby. We simply loved the whole experience and appreciated the peace and quiet of staying in an authentic Mexican fishing village. Would we go back? Most definitely!


an unforgetable experience

5 on April 05, 2013

When my friend told me that she would come to visit me in Mexico (I am living in Mexico City), I tried to find a place off the usual touristic path. So when I read about Boca de Tomatlan and the reviews about the Casa de Piedra, I thought that this might be the place. The moment we arrived, we completely fell in love! There is only one word to describe our stay: perfect! Boca de Tomatlan is a quiet authentic village, without the big resorts of Puerto Vallarta. We spent our days with hiking to waterfalls or gorgeous beaches, which we mostly had for ourselves. The villagers are extremely nice and helpful. The offer is broad and you can find everything from cute little beaches to horseback riding and bungee jumping. But the highlights of our stay were the hosts themselves. Sue and Bob build this beautiful oasis and are happy to share it. The pool is clean and the patio invites you to relax in the hammock or the loungers around the pool. There are different games and you can play table tennis. Bob is an amazing player and we had tons of fun with him and Sue. The apartments are comfortable, clean and well equipped. Breakfasts were incredible broad and delicious. We especially enjoyed Bob’s hotcakes. They helped us to organize different trips, for example a trip to see whales, dolphins and sea turtles, and made sure that we got everything for a good price and came back safely. During our one week stay we had problems to get some money out of the ATM (our debit card didn’t work in Puerto Vallarta, make sure you call your bank before coming to Mexico) but Bob and Sue found a solution for every obstacle we found. All together we felt like visiting family and we were very sad to leave. It was an unforgettable experience and I am looking forward to come back soon! We loved every moment there!


LOOK NO FURTHER, CASA DE PIEDRA IS SPECTACULAR!

5 on March 31, 2013

We had an amazing time staying in the Selva apartment in February. Bob and Sue are generous, kind and tons of fun! Their breakfast service is unbelievable...french toast, blueberry pancakes, sausage, bacon, personalized omlettes, granola, fresh coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice!!! The rooms are comfortable and roomy, we could not have asked for a better accommodation in Boca de Tomatlan! LOVE THIS PLACE!


Home away from home

5 on March 31, 2013

This was our second stay at Casa de Piedra and we're looking forward to going back next year. We know we can be assured of a beautiful, comfortable and charming experience. Bob and Sue are superb hosts and will do anything they can to make your stay memorable. Our accomodations were clean, nicely furnished and very comfortable. The breakfasts were extraordinary--Bob's fried potatoes are a personal favorite! We loved spending time on the hammock or lounge chairs surrounded by Sue's lovely garden. The humminbirds enjoyed the garden too. Casa de Piedra is in the perfect location for coming and going--the bridge across the river is just a few steps away, it's near the start of a hiking path and there's always something to watch along the river. Bob and Sue seem like family, are lots of fun to be with and we look forward to next year's stay. Our relatives heard us rave about it so much, they came down and spent two weeks there also!


The best B&B ever

5 on March 30, 2013

Definitely the best place to stay in Boca an oasis of hospitality . Bob and Sue are the most helpful hosts you could ever hope for , they helped organize outing with us and actually drove us to several events and to PV several times. The place is fantastic , beautiful , clean, off the beaten track , private and you will get a real true taste of this area in Mexico. Bob and Sue have done so much for this fishing village. Our sister and brother in-law have been going to Boca for several years and we are so glad and fortunate that they recommended Casa de Piedra to us we stayed with Bob and Sue for 2 weeks and wish we could have stayed much longer they are such great hosts and now friends. Breakfasts were fantastic every morning in the E room. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and there is so much you can do from this wonderful home base .Once you have a chance to try them out you will want to keep coming back. Please give them a try and by the way they really should be at the top of the B&B list . If traveling with your cell phone make sure you get a travel pack and it works just as good in Mexico as it does at home also Bob has excellent WiFi for your internet needs. Also the bus system is very easy to use and regular sea taxis to remote towns south of Boca


Great Vacation!

5 on March 23, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights and had a fabulous time. Our apartment was clean and well-furnished, and once you get used to the roosters and dogs (a part of every Mexican village), it's nice and quiet. There is plenty to do! Come with some great walking shoes as you'll want to walk everywhere. We took the hike to Los Anamos, and it was fabulous. A word to the novice hikers - this is not an "easy" hike, but well worth it. The views are amazing. We had friends staying in the adjoining apartment, and we stayed in and cooked for most of evening meals which were delicious. You can get some great shrimp in PV. It's a really short (20 minutes) and inexpensive bus ride to PV. Be sure to catch the market on Saturday morning! Insect repellent for the hikes and the beach is helpful. The breakfasts that Bob and Sue provided were awesome! Our favorite was blueberry pancakes! Bob does the cooking, and the food was great! They were absolutely wonderful hosts and have great information about area attractions both locally and in PV. We'd go back in a heartbeat!


A Wonderful Place!

4.4 on March 04, 2013

This is a wonderful place for those who enjoy to venture a bit off the usual tourist path. The property is a beautiful oasis which is more verdant than photos reveal, but it’s the owners that makes this a truly special place. We learned how Bob and Sue transformed their place from ramshackle to haven and their pride is palpable. Their kindness is also incredible. We arrived late due to flight delays and rushed to drive their before dark without realizing we hadn’t stopped to at an ATM, to get pesos. My wife and I showed up at sunset broke with our 3 hungry and tired kids. Bob and Sue we so kind that they took us out to dinner! Their kindness didn’t stop there either. They made us and our kids feel like we were visiting with family…from offering us food for picnics, to playing with our kids, recommending activities, and setting us up to be treated as VIPs with local businesses on the beach and with negotiate transportation to other beaches with local fishermen. Their kindness and generosity has also impacted the local community. They have informally adopted two local youth in need and helped get them enrolled in school as well as adopting a few lucky local dogs. They also hire local folks who help cleanup rooms every day and they source much of their food from locals. We had a great time at Casa de Piedra and wholeheartedly recommend it to friends, family, and to you!


The heart of Mexico

4.6 on February 03, 2013

There are the all inclusive vacations that you pay big bucks for, where you can cocoon yourself in a sterile environment, and say you've been to Mexico. Then there are the all inclusive vacations, where you become part of the populace and learn about the hard- working people that call Mexico home. Casa de Piedra is a quaint bed and breakfast located in Boca de Tomatlan, a small fishing village situated at the end of Banderas Bay. Our visit at Christmas provided us with a comfortable apartment for the 4 of us, a kitchen complete with all the amenities for a stay in meal, a pool for cooling off and a terrace on which to enjoy a nightly glass of wine or a good book. It is located on a river that flows into Banderas Bay, so traffic is limited to pedestrians that live in the area. A short walk takes you to the beach where you can while away the day or where you can hop on a water taxi for whale watching or a trip to Yelapa or Los Animos. These taxis are a fraction of the cost that excursions from PV are! A 20 minute, 7 peso bus ride will take you to the busy, noisy tourist meca of Puerto Vallarta if you so desire. The most positive aspect of staying in a small resort, is that you get to know your hosts, Bob and Sue, and they ensure that your stay is nothing short of perfect. Five star treatment for us included them shopping for groceries and wine for our own meals, extending an invitation for us to attend a neighborhood pot-luck Christmas Eve celebration upon our arrival, and Bob waiting for us to arrive back after an evening of frivolity to escort us personally over what had amounted to a washed out bridge after a heavy rain. Bob and Sue have invested themselves in the village and give a new meaning to community service. All in all, we were reluctant to leave the friends we had made and the comforts of what had become our home for 11 days.


relaxing times

3.8 on December 31, 2012

boca de tomatlan is a beautiful fishing village and this casa makes the experience even better... this place provides everything it says and more. The rooms are pleasant, spacious and well-equipped and more than everything else, the hosts were wonderful - always full of excellent advice and tips for our stay. Bob and Sue gave us tips to go to the botanical forest, the las animos beach and that's what made our trip what it was..they made us feel at home and very well taken care of!


Wonderful Hosts, Beautiful Comfortable place.

5 on October 24, 2012

I can describe the Casa, but not as well as the pictures that are on their website. I will say that the rooms are large and comfortable. Bob and Sue have encyclopedic knowledge of the area and will recommend destinations based on your interests. They are great company and don't impose. The grounds are beautiful, including lush foliage, a permanent grill and a small, warm swimming pool. They picked me up at the airport in Puerto Vallarta. The drive to Boca was quite interesting: reminded me of stereotypical movie scenes of driving in third-world countries. Exhilarating! Thank gawd Bob knew how to handle the car and the traffic. Arriving in Boca, down a hill on a cobblestone road, we parked in a community parking area. Carried the bags across a concrete footbridge across the Horcones River. Casa de Piedra is just a few meters from the bridge. After settling in, Bob, Sue and I walked to one of the restaurants on the beach. There are several there, distinguished by the color of the chairs. Marvelous food. I came to Boca as part of a solo multi-city trip to take photographs. The opportunities for great pictures are boundless (and I even got some fishing in). Bob and Sue made sure I could get to a variety of destinations, by taxi, bus, or boat, even driving me a couple of times. There’s not a concierge in the world that would have given me the pointers and advice that Bob and Sue did. Don't go to Casa de Piedra if your idea of visiting a country is staying at a gated lodging with all the swimming pools, restaurants, bars etc at arms reach. Bob and Sue's place is a warm home and an opportunity to "walk with the natives". I had a marvelous time during my nine-day stay, in large part due to the fine lodging and the attentiveness of the hosts. I give Casa de Piedra my heartfelt and highest recommendation.


a great visit to Vallarta and Boca de Tomatlan

5 on May 21, 2012

The owners will make you feel like family. Bob & Sue are a great couple who provide excellent service, and are thoughtful and considerate of your needs for a memorable vacation. Location is great, the apartments in Casa de Piedra are spacious and comfortable, with a classy Mexican style decoration that you'll find delightful! All the apartments have everything you need whether you are an adventurer or a romantic. there are a million things to do. Nights are quiet and chances are you'll be awakened by the roosters’ calls in the morning! The pool is cozy and warm, and you can have a couple of beers while admiring the place. The entertainment room also has many options for your enjoyment. You can be sure that in Casa de Piedra you'll make friends, know Mexico's best, enjoy some of the most beautiful weather in the world, Highly reccomended place!


Great Adventure!

5 on April 18, 2012

I just returned from a fabulous 4 day stay at this lovely Bed and Breakfast. This is beautiful escape with a local experience, if you want to learn about the true Mexico and get away from the tourists. Bob and Sue were amazing hosts and took good care of us. We had a great mix of everything. There is a water taxi on the nearby beach which takes you to some great deserted beaches or to the famous Ocean Grill Restaurant. The water taxi to the restaurant is free and we enjoyed some wonderful local seafood. One day we spent at the Botanical Gardens and took an adventurous walk into the jungle and learned about various plants. You can take a bus for 7 pesos or a taxi for 60. Taxis and busses are very affordable. No need to rent a car. Boca de Tomatlan is a very friendly local fishing town and appears to be extremely safe. Everybody is very polite and the owners of this B&B are very involved in community activites. On our last night we bought lobsters from the neighbor next-door and prepared them on our well-equipped kitchen. The beds were comfy and overall the rooms were cozy with a local rustic feel. It was also nice to have WiFi if you need to check your e-mails! Bob drove us to the airport yesterday and gave us a nice tour around town. A nice experience and worth returning to!


B & B in an authentic Mexican fishing village

5 on March 31, 2012

Casa de Piedra is a great find! Bob and Sue are the perfect hosts. They went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. Including a few beverages and snacks in the fridge. Kurt in Oregon,


A Special Spot in Paradise

5 on March 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa de Piedra for the month of February and loved it. Sue and Bob were great hosts and have spent a lot of time renovating so everything was good order, very attractive and clean. We spent a lot of time on porch playing scrabble and enjoying the great view of the river and birds. We also enjoyed swimming and eating seafood at the beach which was a few minutes walk away. Boca de Tomatlan is a small community so you can actually get to know your neighbors. Yet it is only a 25 minute beautiful bus ride away from Puerto Vallarta if you need what a bigger town has to offer.


This Place is a Gem!

5 on March 18, 2012

I wanted to take a trip to Mexico, alone. Although I hardly believed all the hype that is destroying Mexico’s economy, I was still a little nervous about being a young woman in a foreign country. I didn’t want the excessively luxurious, culturally devoid atmosphere of a resort. I wanted to have an authentic experience…And I wanted to be at beautiful beach, feel safe and comfortable, and to have plenty to do. Searching for B&Bs is how I came across Casa de Piedra – nestled in the gorgeous little fishing village/beach town, just 20 mins outside of PV -- tons to do in both places, serenely beautiful, and affordable! Casa de Piedra is just a short walk up from the town’s gorgeous beach (no tourists), across a bridge over a river, dotted with pelicans and children playing. Very enchanting. The two lovely stone buildings of the B&B are complimented with a private courtyard – garden, hammock, ping pong table, dipping pool. Really wonderful. The owners, Bob and Sue, are incredibly warm, friendly, and attentive - it set me immediately at ease. (They are a popular duo in town!). My apartment was perfect – clean, comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated. Bob and Sue can tell you anything you need to know – how to take the water taxi to the bigger, nearby beaches of Yelapa and Las Animas, where the good horseback riding is, what restaurants to go to, best zip line in town, etc etc. I was off doing stuff on my own in no time. It was all around the perfect trip - easy, relaxing, cultural and stimulating. The pool is awesome! I recommend the zip lines and rock diver at Chico’s Paradise, Las Animas (where I jet skied for the first time), the Botanical Gardens, La Posta restaurant in PV, and Ramon’s restaurant on the beach in Boca - great location, good food, and economical prices. My many many thanks to Bob and Sue for helping me have such a fantastic time! I’ll be coming back without a doubt!


An Authentic Mexico Vacation

5 on November 04, 2011

Casa de Piedra in Boca de Tamatlan is AMAZING for adults and children. Our apartment (The Rio) was uniquely decorated, clean, and spacious with plenty of room for our family of four. There is a lovely outdoor patio w/hammock, ping pong, media room, internet AND washer & dryer. The innkeepers were meant to run this place, both showing the perfect blend of friendly hospitality. All the people in the village and surrounding areas are very gracious. We had a great time living in a real Mexican town for 11 days of an incredible vacation.


Better than Vallarta

4.0 on November 01, 2011

Casa de Piedra is a great place to get away, in a tiny little fishing town. It is also close enough to Puerto Vallarta that you can take a 20 minute, bus ride into town if you really need to be around more people. What I like about this place, is that it isn't on a road. You walk across a pedestrian bridge to get to it. Right in front of the main patio is the river, that lulls you to sleep each night. You can sit on your patio and watch the herons and cormorants in the river and the people walk by on the path. I stayed there before the new owners renovated and the place is now so much nicer. There is also a world class trail around the bay to Las Animas, which you can find the empty tropical beach lined with palm trees that you have been looking for, for so long.


What a getaway

5 on November 01, 2011

We stayed at Casa de Piedra in July. Our stay was fantastic and one we will never forget!! We stayed with our 4 kids. It was extremely child friendly. The entertainment room was great for the kids to watch movies and play games after an activity packed day. We stayed in the adjoining rooms. Rooms were very clean and well equipped. The town was so very fun. We enjoyed the beach, the warm water in the bay and the margaritas. The hosts Sue and Bob went out of their way to ensure that we had an awesome time. They were so sweet to our children and gave us great activities to do everyday. They even showed us around the town. We can't wait to come back and stay again. Absolutely stunning place...


We love Casa de Piedra!!! :)

5 on October 31, 2011

My fiance & I traveled to PVR in early October 2011, & stayed at Casa de Piedra, which is in a little village called Boca de Tomatlan. I can't say enough about how amazing our vacation was, so I'll break it down – The owners: Sue & Bob are a retired American couple who fell in love with PVR years ago & decided to retire in Boca & share their love of the area with others by opening a B&B. They were so friendly & helpful & gave us about a million ideas about what to do. Bob also does volunteer work with the local high school - so admirable & amazing! The accommodations: We stayed in the Rio apt., which was awesome - clean, well-equipped (w/ air conditioning & mini kitchen), the bed was super comfortable, & the water pressure in the shower was great. My fiance's favorite part was the pool, which was about 2 steps from the door of our apartment. There's also a nice entertainment room with books, games, movies, etc. Things to do: The possibilities are pretty endless. There’s a local beach about 5 minutes from Casa de Piedra that’s decent & has a few restaurants with really great local food. You can catch a water taxi from there to some pretty amazing beaches (Las Animas was my fave - nice beach, restaurants, & some vendors that sell jewelry for those who like beachfront shopping (like me!). We also went to the botanical gardens just a few miles up the road - a HUGE property with walking trails & amazing & unique flora. There’s lots to do in/around Boca (horseback riding, zip lining, hiking, etc.), but we took the bus into downtown PVR a few times to do some shopping, go out to dinner, etc. The bus is soooo cheap (think, like, 50 cents/person), safe (good driver & completely comfortable), & convenient (straight shot from Boca to PVR & only takes about 20 minutes). Casa de Piedra is the perfect spot for people who aren’t into the all-inclusive thing, want to do fun/different activities, & have even a small sense of adventure. We can’t wait for our next trip!


Charming B&B brimming with pleasant surprises.

5 on October 31, 2011

This charming B&B is brimming with pleasant surprises in a really unusual setting. Our six-day rental at Casa de Piedra was really an apartment, with fully-equipped kitchen, sitting area, modern bathroom and comfortable beds. The other apartments we saw were just as appealing – all recently renovated and with lovely decor. Next to a lush tropical garden, you’ll find a game room, ping pong, and pool to cool off in while sipping a margarita. Owners Bob and Sue are “hands on” yet non-intrusive hosts who have found their way into the hearts of the people of Boca de Tamatlan, a restful beach village just a five-minute stroll away. Your hosts will happily guide you to just the right beach-side restaurants where you can enjoy cocktails and a casual dinner watching the sunset – each night an amazing display. Your hosts will also assist you in making contacts for boat rides –to nearby beaches, fishing trips, or Puerta Vallarta (also a twenty-five cent bus ride away) – for horseback riding or to visit the elegant botanical gardens up the road. This off-the-beaten-track B&B is delightful for a romantic getaway or a great place for a group vacation for up to twelve people.


A SMALL PIECE OF HEAVEN

5 on October 31, 2011

Having not vacationed for many years by myself I was nervous. Sue and Bob met me at the PV airport-out for supper and "home we went". My room/suite was more than I could have ever asked for.New everything,clean and comfortable. Breakfast was always a delight! They took me under their wings and looked after me in grand style. I was also so moved by how they give back to the community families and especially "the children" If you are looking for a place in "Real Mexico" this is it!


VERY Pleasant Surprise

5 on October 27, 2011

I was not sure what to expect but we were thrilled with our stay at casa de piedra. Bob and Sue did an outstanding job of making us feel welcome and provided for our every need. We will definitely go back the next time our travel plans take us to Mexico.


The absolute most amazing vacation I have ever been on

5 on October 26, 2011

The Host's Bob and Sue treated us just like family. It was one of the most amazing locations.The best vacation I have ever been on and yes I have been to Disney. We spent 10 days and had so much to do that we couldn't do it all.The buses and water taxis are all within walking distance. You have easy access to the beach and the rivers. The people of Boca welcomed us with open arms and we look forward to visiting all our new friends. We felt so safe that my young daughter and I used the public transportation several times. We look forward to making the trip again next year and every year after that.


Paradise FOUND!

4.0 on October 26, 2011

our visit to Casa de Piedra was awesome and far exceeded our expectations! we found the hosts to be thoughtful and accommodating in our quest to find the most interesting and fun places to see during our trip. the weather is balmy and beautiful and the beach is delightful. in addition to the lovely accommodations , wonderful food and scenic beauty, the people of PuertoVallarta and particularly Boca and their children are the friendliest and charming I have ever met. word of advice : GO!


Casa de Piedra

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $150
  • Reviews (36) 4.8
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 521-3222280865

Visit Website »

View details

Top