Agriturismo Le Caggiole Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

Our Romantic Italian getaway

5 on June 09, 2014

I cannot say enough about Le Caggiole... It was the most beautiful property with amazing views of the countryside of Tuscany. Our room the Massaia was more like a house instead of a room... we had our own kitchen with a beautiful bay window that opened up to the view of the countryside. The bathroom was spacious The bedroom had windows that opened up to the same view. The property is beauitful.. it was so much more than we expected. Now, on to the best part... the owners of Le Caggiole..Giacomo, his beautiful wife Cristiana, their adorable little girl and of course his mother nonna Ornella... oh, how we enjoyed meeting these amazing beautiful people. Upon arrival we were greeted by Giacomo, who was more than accommodating and helpful with anything we needed... and he was cooking this most incredible sauce for dinner that evening... and if I tell you my mouth watered just by smelling it...The property is perfectly located ... very close to the center of town and all the shops and restaurants and attractions. The next morning, of course breakfast inside the main building with a beautiful wood table for 20 or so... very big, and in the family for centuries... the best part of breakfast was nonna Ornella... I fell in love instantly with this amazing woman... she hand makes all the pastries and cakes every morning at 6am... breakfast was fabulous, with homemade honey (oh, I didn't mention.. but they have their own bees who produce this delicious wonderful honey...) coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, milk, etc...etc... etc... I cannot express how gracious they treated us... Then, one of the best part of our stay, was the cooking class!!! OMG.... we made homemade tortelli di patate... We stayed for 8 nights... and honestly I could have stayed for months... upon leaving we felt we were leaving family... I highly recommend Le Caggiole to anyone who wants to experience the beauty, tastes and warmness of Tuscany.


"Home"

4.8 on August 14, 2013

Our experience at Le Caggiole (September 22-25) was one of the fondest memories of a wonderful month long visit to Italy. My husband and I were greeted with a warm welcome from the moment we arrived and provided with a wonderful stay during our time with Giacomo and "Mama Ornella" We thoroughly enjoyed the lovely, clean and comfortable accommodations and most especially the warm hearts extended to us! Many thanks to Giacomo, for taking time out of his busy schedule to take us into his vineyard and explain the growing, pruning and harvesting process. It was special for us to be able listen to the history of the Martinelle land, be a witness to the love & respect Giacomo has for it, and of course, to see it for ourselves. A special "mille grazie" to Ornella. We grew so very fond of her during our stay and were sad to leave! Her welcoming and generous spirit is apparent in all she does for their guests. We will always remember Giacamo and Ornella, as well as the special touches and hospitality they extended to us to make our stay so memorable. We hope that our lives cross paths again.


Superb location

3.8 on July 24, 2013

Superb location! The pastoral settings, solace, tranquility all are adding to the majestic environment of the place. It is so close to nature. A break from the industrial settings! You rightly said, what’s more romantic than this. What would be more beautiful than sitting in such environment and having dinner on a terrace. Really want to visit! DbaiG Bolee.com


Words don't even begin to describe ...

5 on September 12, 2012

Where to begin ... the freshly baked breakfasts were delicious (and that says a lot coming from Portland, OR where great bakeries are on every corner), the view of the farm out our window was absolutely beautiful, the host family could not have been more kind (they even set up a crib and a high chair for our little one!), the nearby town was one of our favorites in all of Tuscany, the running trails, the dinner, perfect, perfect, perfect. My only complaint is that it's so far from where we live!


Dad & Mom and adult daughters

4.8 on November 13, 2011

My sister and I took our parents to Italy for thier 55 anniversary + Mom's 75 birthday. Thank God everyone is healthy enough to make this trip. Thank goodness for this wonderful bed & breakfast. Coming into our rooms after touring the surrounding area each night was like coming home. It was a perfect place to let dad and mom unwind after lots of walking. Quite and peaceful... much like our rural homes back in the USA. Wonderful host and hostess too. You'll love it!


Bella Le Caggiole!

5 on October 25, 2011

This is a gem on the Tuscany countryside and ideally situated to visit the many stunning hilltop towns in the area. What makes it so special among many places that you could stay in Tuscany, is the 5th generation family, The Martinelli's, who care for the property and their guests. The website photo truly reflect the atmosphere here and the dinner they served was special! We were so pleased to have made this our base for a full week and the stay was excellent value all round. Marina H Toronto, Canada


Our new Tuscan home

5 on January 31, 2011

My wife and I spent 6 of our 20 days in Italy, at LeCaggiole. It was a perfect base for seeing most all of southern tuscany up to Siena and into umbria. It is a working farm and they make some of the finest wine I tasted in the region. their olive oil is also REALLY GOOD. Our room"Il Cantiniere" was furnished with antiques, and kept spotless throught our stay. The breakfast each morning consisted of "Mama Ornella's" homemade cakes and pastries. We certainly looked forward to rising! We also had an evening meal at the farm. It was a simple but elegant typical tuscan meal. Giacomo and his mother have a very evident commitment to using the best and freshest of local ingredients in everything they serve. I must say that it was one of our finest meals in Italy. One of our fondest memories is the time we spent in the kitchen with Mama learning how to make pici pasta. we will never forget it. Giacomo was always available to help us plan our daily travels, and his knowledge of the area was a big help. He would always point us toward some great little hilltown or small restaurant. We really felt at home here, and will definitely return. Don't miss this place!


ahhh....Heaven in Tuscany

5 on January 06, 2011

Lovely rooms and incredible views--very clean and comfy. A perfect place to rest and enjoy Montepulciano (my favorite in Tuscany, so far:)...or a base from which to venture out daily to other Tuscan destinations. Giacomo is such a perfect host--knowledgeable and genial. Omelia is a gifted baker and chef--if you are able to book a supper with them, my advice is skip lunch! My spouse was sick while we were there, and the extra TLC was perfect--like being at my own mom's--only quieter :)


Great Agriturismo convenient to Montepulciano and all of Tuscany from Sienna south

5 on November 01, 2010

This agriturismo consists of two ancient buildings lovingly rebuilt with modern amenities. It is not swank but quite well kept and comfortable. It is in an olive grove and has a vineyard just up the road. Pomegranate and fig trees are scattered around, also bee hives. Our apartment included a full kitchen, although we were only there 3 nights so didn't use it much. The host, Giacomo, was very nice and helpful, recommended some good places to visit off the beaten track. He has researched the history of the site and is clearly close to the land. It is only a couple of minutes drive into Montepulciano which is a great example of a Tuscan hill town. Le Caggiole can house only 4 or 5 couples at a time so there was no crowd. Mama's breakfast cakes are made with fresh fruit and baked fresh each morning. They are spectacular! We were able to attend one of the Tuscan dinners that are offered irregularly. The food was very good, but authentic Tuscan food seems to revolve around meat, meat, and more meat so we were uncomfortably stuffed. Not knocking it, just too much. We loved the area and the place and would happily return.


A Jewel in Tuscany

5 on May 23, 2010

Agriturismo Le Caggiole is a jewel in the beautiful hilly Tuscan countryside, and it far exceeded our expectations. Our room, La Nicchia, was comfortable and cozy. The Host, Giacomo, was warm and friendly and shared his wealth of knowledge of the surrounding area. Breakfast each morning was a delight. His Mother Ornella prepared an assortment of delicious homemade cakes daily. We were also privileged to enjoy her Tuscan dinner which was heavenly and highly recommended. All ingredients were fresh! Our best to this family and we look forward to returning one day to Le Caggiole. Fairview, Texas


romantic and pristine

4.8 on December 01, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the B&B. It was the perfect spot to stay in the area and the web site represents the place well. A very romantic and pristine place. The breakfast was superb. Mom was very hospitable. Unfortunately we didn’t get a chance to enjoy a meal with some others. We’ll be sure to come back the next chance we get to visit Italy. Ciao


I wish I was still there right now!!

5 on August 09, 2009

This was our first trip to Italy and first trip to Tuscany. My wife and I stayed in the room called "Lo Stalliere" for 3 nights in late June. The view from our room was incredible - rolling hills as far as the eye could see! The nights were peaceful and relaxing, with a nice cool breeze and only the sounds of nature outside our nicely screened window. Giacomo is very friendly and knowledgeable, and provided us with excellent suggestions for towns and restaurants to visit. He and his mother, Ornella, showed a lot of passion for their Argiturismo, through all of their hard work and dedication. Ornella makes the BEST "torta di mele" I ever had!! The only thing I regret is that we didn't experience one of Ornella's fantastic dinners at Le Caggiole. We were visiting so many towns every afternoon and evening, trying to take in as much of Tuscany as possible (in 3 short days) and always returned late at night. We will have at least one meal next time! Staying with this wonderful family has made me feel even more proud to be of Italian descent. I wish I could still be there right now!!! Giacomo e Ornella, Grazie per tutto. Siamo stati molto contenti del soggiorno! Ciao! Dan Mei


a slice of heaven served fresh

4.8 on July 29, 2009

We stayed at the apartment called La Massa...it is beautifully equipped with everything you need...in fact probably more equipped than your own home. Mamma Ornelia is truly a wizard in the kitchen and for the 4 nights we were there I always looked forward to breakfast as she would have baked at least 3 different pies or cakes amidst many other items for us. Eating warm slices of 'heaven' each morning is truly an indescribable feeling for city dwellers like us. Giacomo proved to be such a well of information and always gave us such useful tips and suggestions on places to visit which you wldnt find in the regular tourist books and even right down to telling us specific car parks to park at!! Mamma Ornelia keeps the entire place so spotlessly clean I thought we were the first guests to be living there! We were sorrounded by olive groves and were lulled awake each morning by the chirping birds and ciccadas...and at night the blanket of stars were mesmerising as we sat outside of our apartment. The place has a complete service similar to hotels where your sheets and towels are changed daily and the room and bathroom cleaned also. and everything they do is so unobstrusively that your comfort and privacy are maintained.


Agriturismo Le Caggiole

Details

  • Nightly Rate EUR 55 - EUR 100
  • Reviews (13) 4.8
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 39-0578716614
  • Fax 39-0578716614

Visit Website »

View details

Top