Casa Rovai Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely place to stay

5 on July 25, 2012

A couple with a child, stayed 5 days at Casa Rovai. Everything was very good and we really enjoyed our stay. We have felt hospitality of the host and found the price is reasonable and the service is very good. We hope to be back!


Nice place, but travel lightly

3.6 on July 11, 2012

After a week in the Tuscan Mountains, we landed, with all of our luggage, at the Casa Rovai. Lovely place, but if you are not aware, a first floor in the US is the first floor. In Italy, the first floor can be actually the 2nd floor or the 3rd floor or even the 4th floor! In this case it was the THIRD floor and after a very tiring trip, it was NO fun to drag all of our suitcases up all those stairs.


Extraordinary week in Florence

5 on June 14, 2012

An extraordinary and lovely week in Florence has been made even more wonderful by the hospitality at Casa Rovai. Wonderful breakfast and what a spectacularly comfortable bed! i'll have good memories of this very nice place to stay. Thank you.


A marvelous stay

5 on May 13, 2012

Casa Rovai was the perfect place to stay. Convenient to eveything, comfortable and attactive. Elisa was so helpful, with gallery reservations, suggestions, arrangements for side trips and an absolutely delightful person, as Anna and Beatriz. We had a marvelous stay!


A wonderful stay

5 on May 12, 2012

Wow! What a fantastic guest house!! Wondeful service, great location, hospitality, helpfulness, and the kids loved the home made cakes for breakfast! Thank you very much for making our first trip in Florence extra-special.


Thank you!

5 on May 12, 2012

An extraordinary lovely week in Florence has been made even more wonderful by the hospitality at Casa Rovai. Many thanks. Wonderful breakfast, and what a spectacularlry comfortable bed!! I'll have good memories of this very nice place to stay, hope to see you again!!


“Hospitality with charm and comfort!”

5 on February 04, 2012

The passage of the years 2011 to 2012 was in Florence! The choice of Casa Rovai came at the suggestion of a friend of Maria, and what a good suggestion! We were three friends traveling together. Fernando wanted to be alone in a room, then the Glicine, double room with connections to a single, was a perfect choice for us. All of contacts made by e mail prior to our arrival were very attentive and when we arrived we were delighted with the refinement, at the same time could be simple, leaving us perfectly comfortable. The location of the Casa Rovai is very nice and we walked around town with the advantage of a rest or take a shower before going out again for dinner! Another couple of friends were staying in the house as well and loved too! The breakfast is very good and the service is friendly! We'll recommend the Casa Rovai to all friends who pass by Florence! Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends


Fantastic Stay in Florence

4.4 on November 23, 2011

My husband and I recently spent 8 days in Florence and stayed at Casa Rovai. We are very informal travelers who like to take things one day at a time so that our vacations can be as relaxed as possible and not turn into “trips”. With that in mind we arrived at Casa Rovai with very few “must dos” on our list. The Staff took the time to sit down with us and hear a bit more about who we are and what we like to do. They then laid out some recommendations ranging from sights to see to places to eat to places to shop. Every single one of their recommendations panned out to be perfect! Casa Rovai itself is a jewel of a Bed and Breakfast offering great value for your dollar. It is simple, immaculate, and inviting. We aren’t breakfast people but every day there was a lovely continental breakfast available. Their location can’t be beat as they are central to everything and we found no need to take any public transportation. If you’re looking for a 5 star hotel then Casa Rovai wouldn’t be the fit for you, but if you’re looking to stay with “family” then you’ve found your home away from home in Florence at Casa Rovai!


CASA ROVAI

4.8 on November 10, 2011

I stayed in a single room for 4 nights and I realy enjoy this lovely and cozy place. The brakfast was exactly in the right amount to start the day, thu, I was perfering to drink my coffe in the city. It's a small guest house with very nice people in a great location. The rooms are decorated in a very nice and minimalist traditional style. Veronica help me alot with buses and trains, which are not so easy to understand. I had a great time in Firenze and especialy because of his place. I felt like it's my home. hope to come back again and surely I will recomend this place.


Comfy B&B with great service in a good location

4.2 on September 04, 2011

I recently stayed at Casa Rovai when I was visiting Florence on my own and it was perfect for a solo traveler. It is a great location so I easily got to all the major sights. The rooms were affordable & comfotable, with much needed AC during the summer. Most of all, the staff was great. Anna gave me restaurant suggestions everyday that were spot on and made my musuem & restaurant reservations. I would not hesitate to reccomend this B&B to anyone.


Great location and value

4.4 on August 07, 2011

We appreciated the attentive staff, the proximate location to the Duomo, the clean and spacious rooms and the excellent service. We were able to come back to the room throughout the day for a quiet rest from the bustle of the city.


Ideal Location in Florence

3.4 on June 27, 2011

Casa Rovai is perfectly located, everything (even the Boboli Gardens) are within walking distance. there is a parking garage in the same street, if you're with a car (30 Euros/day). The room was very clean as was the whole place. Our room was facing the street which made it a bit loud during day (traffic) and night, but not too bad. The staff is very friendly, overall it is a nice and small family run place in the heart of Florence.


Great establishment, good location, gracious hostess

4.6 on February 15, 2011

Rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful, includes homemade cake & fruits. Location is close to sights. Extra service like making reservations for galleries. Very good restaurant recommendations, too. Hostess is especially gracious & personable. Had a wonderful stay.


Charming & comfortable with a friendly staff

5 on December 31, 2010

Casa Rovai was a great place to stay for our honeymoon. Beautiful fresco paintings on the walls, a friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast, free internet and a great value. Highly recommended!


Very nice and confortable stay

5 on December 26, 2010

It was our honeymoon trip in Italy. On the way from Venice to Rome, we stayed two night in Florence...too short stay!. I had been searching for a nice place to stay then I found a hidden gem B&B, Casa Rovai. It was such a very nice place, located in the historical center. Not only charming accommodation but also the host "Arianna". She gave us many interesting info about Florence (including local restaurant and parking) The breakfast was gorgeous. I really hope to be able to come back!


A charming place

5 on December 19, 2010

If you look for a B&B not only because you want to spend less but because you are really looking for a special place, this is Casa Rovai: Arianna, the owner, put a personal touch to all her dealings with us, making us feel that we were her friends rather than customers. The room we had was spacious and spotless. And talk about location! Right in the heart of Florence. Staying three nights we also got to feel like "locals" at the little bar down the street where we stopped for a drink on our way home. We felt that we certainly got good value for our money. If I were to go back to Florence this would definitely be where I would stay.


casa rovai

4.0 on November 22, 2010

Having traveled throughout Europe in the past weeks, I can say without hesitation that this is has been our warmest and more confortable stay. My wife and I arrived at Casa Rovai and met Arianna. She provided us a friendly greeting and sat us down and explained how the B&B was run. She also provided us a map of Florence and highlighted the attractions in the city and how to get ther . In addion, she provided directions to several nearby trattoria (restautants) that he recommended and guaranteed as good quality real Italian food and told us how much we were going to spend more or less to avoid surprice .... She dedicated us her time with no hurry! She then provided us with her personal cell phone number in the event we needed any help. The rooms are elegant and the bed are extremely comfortable: and my back appreciate this very much! The entire apartment is impeccably clean. Each morning Beatrice cooked a fantastic breakfast with differents cakes: the chocolate one was my favorite and I've been able to get the recipe before leaving! The location of this hotel is quite amazing: you really are 5 minutes walking from Piazza Duomo and Uffizi Thanks for everything Arianna and Beatrice, all the best.


Look no further, this place has it all!

4.8 on November 03, 2009

I stayed at Casa Rovai with my daughter and granddaughter for 4 nights in August, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms and common areas were pretty and clean, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast was good (platter of breakfast meat and cheese; a torta della nonna or similar sweet; selection of breads, cereal, fruit, and of course cappuccino). Their location was excellent, about equal distance to the Duomo, the Accademia, and the Uffizi (10-15 minute walk, depending on how often you have to stop to take pictures!), but in a quiet area away from the tourist spots, so we had no trouble with noise. The free internet access was very handy. Possibly the best part, though, was the staff, all competent and friendly, especially Arianna, who spoke excellent English, was very charming and so helpful with museum reservations, directions, restaurant recommendations and more (definitely try her restaurant suggestions!). She was a darling! It is up several flights of stairs, in a rather dark stairwell, but it's worth the effort and is a light and pretty place when you arrive. (Make sure you try your keys before leaving for the day because the front door lock is a little tricky!) Also, I was glad I had a small flashlight for that stairwell when we returned at night.


This place has it all!

5 on October 22, 2009

Arriving at Casa Rovai, I was immediately and warmly greeted by the staff. I had driven a long way to Florence, so I was grateful for the hospitality. My room and the communal dining/reception area were exactly as depicted on the web site... beautiful! I'm very particular about cleanliness, so I was thrilled to see that everything was impeccable, including the bathroom. Breakfast each morning is included in the price and it was perfect. Plenty of coffee, tea, toast, fruit and pastry. Having lived in Florence before, I knew my way around the city well, but the staff was more than gracious about providing any sort of information or reservation I might need. As for the location, Casa Rovai is excellently positioned to walk just about anywhere. Not only would I recommend it to a friend or family member, but I'm sure I will stay there again when I return to Florence.


Nice and Comfortable

4.6 on September 04, 2009

Nice spacious rooms, fresco on ceiling. Well located, They were helpful when we arrived. Enjoyed our stay.


Unique Charm

5 on January 30, 2009

I spent Christmas Eve in Casa Rovai and loved every moment. Hidden away up 3 flights of stairs in a non descript building this gem is run with tender loving care by Arianna. Rooms are good size. Mine had frescos on the ceiling, a comfy bed, overlooked a lovely courtyard, and had a fully modernized bathroom. I wished I could have stayed longer and know where I'll be staying on my next visit to Florence. Highly recommend.


Favorite Florence accomodations

5 on June 04, 2008

My husband and I were treated with such warm hospitality at Casa Rovai that we would recommend it without hesitation to anyone. The staff is extremely responsive, knowledgeable, organized and considerate. Our room and bathroom were clean, quiet, and spacious. Breakfast was pleasant and offered more choices than some other places we stayed. My husband was ill when we arrived and the lead staff person went out of her way to provide assistance, suggestions, and a connection to a physician who came to the room! She had excellent restaurant suggestions and gave us the most organized and clear museum reservations and directions (all at no extra charge) which helped us get into the museums without waiting in the long lines. Truly exceptional!


Fell at home, far from home!

5 on May 27, 2008

I've been at Casa Rovai for business. But the first impression, as I walked is was: -"If I'll ever come back to Florence with my family for a nice holiday, this will be the place. The nicest thing for me was to wake up in the morning, after a quiet and silent night of good sleep, and to follow the path to the breakfast room with my eyes closed, as the smell of a fresh baked cake was leading me to it... wonderful! It takes a little to make someone happy. Moreover, Arianna, the receptionist, was so sweet and helpful, and really at ease with every language, helping now a french old lady having a warm cup of tea, and then passing to her fluent portuguese with a young businessman, and again answering the phone to a brit giving him/her the precise directions to reach the House. Five stars service!


A beautiful place to stay

3.0 on May 06, 2008

We (two men, 35-40) stayed two nights here. The rooms are beautiful, with antique furniture and high ceilings. The innkeeper is outstanding, more than helpful and a pleasure to know. However, as this is a converted apartment, the sound proofing in the rooms is terrible. There is no traffic, but you can hear every word and every cough, every snore from the neighbouring rooms. Breakfast was also very skimpy, despite the promise of "varied and plentiful". Overall, the perfect place to stay if you are a heavy sleeper or early riser, and prefer to eat breakfast out (come on, you're in Italy!).


Great time in Florence

4.8 on May 07, 2007

Warm welcome. Made reservations at the restaurants and museums for us. Let us come in straight from the night train.


Casa Rovai Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate € 80 - € 130
  • Reviews (25) 4.6
  • Rooms 6

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 39-0552001647
  • Fax 39-0555381282
  • Mobile 39-3474852643

Visit Website »

View details

Top