Casa Portagioia Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
8 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful Casa Portagioia

5 on April 01, 2012

I have read the previous reviews and can only advise that you MUST believe that this is the most enjoyable, beautiful place to be. Marcella and Terry are exceptional hosts and whatever you ask, they will accomodate or find a way to make things happen. We were fortunate to have them escort us to a wonderful restuarant and have an amazing dinner and birthday celebration. Thank you so much for a most incredible visit. Patricia Keefe USA


Great memories of Tuscany

5 on June 01, 2009

We want to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at Casa Portagioia. As nice as the villa is, getting to know the hosts and enjoying your wit and conversation put this vacation 'over the top'. The whole experience was an important part of our trip to Italy and Tuscany. In the first place, the location, surroundings, construction, furnishings, beauty, restfulness and dining not only deserve a 5 star rating - it should be a 5+ or even a 6 (in our judgment). But over and above all those positives, Terry and Marcello were most gracious, thoughtful, informative, helpful and entertaining hosts we have ever encountered. There is no question that we will never forget the week at Casa Portagioia; but more than that we will remember Marcello and Terry for the extra special touch they provided to make our stay complete


Somewhere between a great hotel and your Best Friend's Home!

5 on February 11, 2009

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary with Terry and Marcello at Casa Portagioia and loved every minute. Between Terry's absolutely spot on Brit humor and warmth and Marcello's fabulous cooking and warmth...we felt right at home. The wine cellar is superb and the dinners spectacular, whether outside on the patio overlooking the olive grove or inside in the very inviting dining room. We planned to stay a week and stayed 10 days...and were still sad to leave. The grounds, rooms, pool...all were wonderful. The beds were memory foam and we never slept better. Thank you Terry and Marcello


Absolutely Perfect

5 on August 19, 2008

On our arrival at Casa Portagioia in July of this year we were met in the car park by Terry who greeted us with "we were not expecting you until Wednesday" we said "this is Wednesday" that's all right then was his reply. This was just the start of a wonderful 4 days full of humour, great food (Marcello's fabulous scrambled eggs at breakfast and the dinners he cooks twice a week), together with excellent wine all linked to the best B & B you are likely to find anywhere in Europe. The Tuscan setting with views to die for make for the ideal place for a relaxing holiday. Terry and Marcello are the best of hosts, nothing being too much trouble to make your stay so enjoyable. We plan to return next year for longer.G and V


Couldn't ask for More (Well, maybe a few extra days)

4.0 on January 29, 2008

Finding a place to stay in a foreign country is never easy, especially when you find the property on the internet, do not have personal recommendations, and tend to be somewhat picky to boot! Thus, we arrived at Casa Portagioia with high hopes but ready for anything. All I can say is that this wonderful bed and breakfast exceeded our expectaions in every way. The property is located in southeastern Tuscany, not far from Cortona. It is a little bit of a drive (about 10 minutes) off the main road and nestled in a beautiful valley. The room was very spacious, immaculately well kept, and had beautiful views. Our hosts, Terry and Marcello, were consumate professionals. They made it all look so easy despite the hard work involved on their parts to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They were full of great ideas for touring around, made reservations at any restaurant or museum, and catered to us in every way. Breakfasts were incredible......assorted cereals, eggs, breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee prepared any way we liked, and more. Marcello cooked dinner one evening and we were very glad we were there for that. The food was excellent! It was a magical night. The property is overflowing with flowers, is also immaculate and the pool was absolutley beautiful. It is very likely that this was the best B & B we ever stayed in and would highly recommend it!!!


Tuscan Breaks

5 on January 29, 2008

Casa Portagioia--where to begin? Our magical week began when we drove up the long tree-lined drive to the beautifully restored Inn, and we breathed a sigh of relief. We were graciously met by Marcello who showed us around and ushered us into our beautiful room (with a complimentary carafe of wonderful brandy) and made us feel so welcome. My husband and I had just driven from Florence via the scenic route through rain and a hail storm and we were ready to drink in the beautiful setting and relax. The room was decorated simply and beautifully and each day we eagerly awoke to the sounds of country life (or not, depending upon whether we chose to close the shutters). They even had soft water to shower with-what a luxury! At that time of year, on a few occasions, we were fortunate enough to be able to have our breakfast outside on the patio overlooking the gorgeous gardens and catered to by the amazing and amusing Terry and Marcello. They freely provided an abundance of good suggestions to us as to what the area had to offer and we ventured forth every day to a new and exciting Tuscan experience, with restaurant recommendations in hand. Marcello is a wonderful cook and we very much enjoyed his lovingly prepared meals on the only two separate occasions that are offered during the week. It turned out these were among the best meals we had during our entire 3 week stay in Italy! It was indeed the highlight of our honeymoon and we could not have chosen a better location to explore this beautiful section of Italy. Thank you Marcello and Terry, missing you both - already!


Heavenly Tuscany

5 on January 29, 2008

Spending two weeks at the casa was sheer bliss, relaxation and joy. Three of us tavelled from Australia to stay with Terry and Marcello and it was a wonderful experience that we are going to repeat in 2009. From the 6 star accommodation, the relaxed atmosphere and welcome we received, to the quiet of the setting, it was 'Heaven on Earth'. To be able to wander around and do simply nothing if you wanted, to being advised and encouraged to wander out and see the area, Terry and Marcello were wonderful hosts. I cannot say enough about Casa Portagioia, except simply BOOK yourselves in, and be pampered and cared for by two wonderful people. Marcello's special evenng Dinners were exceptional cuisine, and one I will always remember, and look forward to coming back to in 2009. Whenever we hear someone is travelling to Tuscany, we say you must stay at Casa Portagioia. See you soon Terry and Marcello, may 2009 come soon. Cheers Rev Fr Wayne Davis


Tranquil and outstanding setting

5 on January 29, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a week during a month long Europe trip. Casa P was by far the winner of all the B&Bs we stayed during our month overseas. The owners are exceptionally hospitable and helpful. Their local knowledge was extensive (reservations, directions, tips, must see spots, food, wine). It is a picturesque Tuscan setting. Since the owners speak English, this is a great place for Americans. Our time there was memorable and we plan on going back the next time we are in Europe.


Casa Portagioia

Details

  • Nightly Rate € 179 - € 195
  • Reviews (8) 4.9
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 39-0575650154
  • Fax 39-0575650154
  • Mobile 39-3484786465

Visit Website »

View details

Top