The Barbican Recensioni

Globalmente
3,9

Più info

  • Camera4,0
  • Servizi3,9
  • Valore3,7
  • Pulizia3,7
  • Cibo3,9

Valore della struttura
58 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Anxiously awaiting the reopening of The Barbican

3,8 su giugno 30, 2013

The Barbican is centrally located in beautiful Sturgeon Bay, WI. With music venues, restaurants, shopping, and the nearby waterfront all within walking distance we were able to leave the car parked the majority of our stay. The Barbican consists of two beautiful Victorian homes. My favorite part of the stay was having a hot breakfast delivered to our door each morning.


Looking forward to the reopening of the Barbican

3,6 su giugno 22, 2013

The Barbican is a lovely Victorian Bed and Breakfast in Sturgeon Bay WI. We were informed on our arrival that the Barbican had been under foreclosure and was closing for a year so the new owners could renovate. We were the last guests under this management, and hope to be the first guests in the renovated Barbican. The location was perfect for walking around town and attending various concerts. We enjoyed having a hot breakfast delivered to our room.


Romantic getaway

3,8 su aprile 25, 2013

We mistakenly reserved the wrong date but we were quickly accommodated without issue. There are many shopping and dining opportunities within walking distance, and the romantic ambiance of the room is just what we wanted. We will be sure to return and try another theme suite.


Enjoyed our visit

3,0 su aprile 24, 2013

Enjoyed our visit. Room was clean, comfortable and large. Fireplace was great, bed was good, whirlpool tub awesome! Couch needs to be replaced. Home needs some LTC but I believe that is being taken care of. Breakfast was excellent. Not a place if you want interaction but if your looking for total Privacy - this is it.


Barbican Inn

3,4 su marzo 05, 2013

It was a nice room and relaxing environment.


Beautiful rooms at an amazing price!

5 su febbraio 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoy our yearly retreat to the Barbican Bed and Breakfast. Every room is elegant, with a whirlpool for two and fireplace. We have been so spoiled that we can't bring ourselves to try another B&B in the area.


We had reserved a 2 nighter & I'm glad we did. The stay was personally inviting yet, respectable of our space. Hard to leave to bum around, it was so COZY!

4,0 su gennaio 17, 2013

Thank you again! Hope to stay in the future.


Weekend away

2,8 su ottobre 17, 2012

Nice place. Big room with nice jacuzzi and fireplace. Good breakfast. Old furniture.


Lovely room and perfect location!

4,2 su ottobre 16, 2012

The Barbican is a block from the main street in Sturgeon Bay...perfect location! The Governor's suite was wonderful. 2 fireplaces, jacuzzi, and beautifully decorated. The hot breakfast was delicious and delivered to the room. Some issues came up and were resolved within 24 hours by easy to reach staff. Pricing is comparable to all places in the area.


Quiet and peaceful

3,2 su ottobre 09, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Barbican and were quite satisfied. It's location is one block from the center of town. It was quiet, peaceful and a relaxing stay. A little short on the personal touch as no one seemed to be living there, but breakfast was brought to our room and we enjoyed the spacious rooms. Would go back.


Adorable Room

3,0 su ottobre 08, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at this B & B for more than 10 years, choosing a different room for each stay. We have always enjoyed our stay here. I loved the colors and it was a very relaxing room. The last two times we have stayed the hot tub was not cleaned throughly for the second night of our stay. I even cleaned it myself before using it the second night. There were also less TV channels to watch than there were in our past stays.


Barbican in Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin. Worth the $$$.

4,6 su settembre 19, 2012

It was our first ever stay at the Barbican in mid September in Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin. Worth every penny. The room was very clean and well kept. Staff friendly. It was our first bed and breakfast but we'd definitely stay there again. We highly recommend it!


My Stay At The Barbican

3,8 su settembre 19, 2012

Although the outside needed a bit of TLC. Our stay their was awesome. The room was fantastic and we both loved the Victorian style. Breakfast was far from 5 star , however it was prompt and pretty good. When all was said and done our stay was a good experience and I would recommend The Barbican to people who like Bread and Breakfasts or just want to experience something new or different..


Quiet and Lovely

5 su settembre 17, 2012

My husband and I after looking at many places to stay for our honeymoon the end of August decided to stay at the Barbican based on the value of not only having a pretty place to stay with a nice big tub and fireplace, but also one that brings you breakfast! We loved how quiet it was, making it feel like we were the only ones there. I was delighted to have them accommodate my dietary restrictions without hesitation. Sturgeon Bay remained uncrowded over the labor day weekend which was very refreshing after being farther up the peninsula on Saturday which was very congested, and our room was our own personal haven.


Bridgeview Suite

4,8 su settembre 07, 2012

Was exactly what we were looking for in a Bed and Breakfast. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very good. The room was quiet and peaceful. My only recommendation would be to replace honeydew with a more popular fruit in the breakfast basket, strawberries perhaps.


Very disappointed!

1,8 su agosto 28, 2012

Towels and pillow case had stains on them; furniture felt like Goodwill not antique; sofa very uncomfortable; price ($150/nite) too much for condition of room; outside needs paint badly and poor landscaping. When we arrived, my husband said, "Are we staying in this dump?" Caretaker very pleasant though and food good. Would never recommend Barbican or stay there again.


Stay at Barbican

3,8 su agosto 22, 2012

I read reviews of Barbican on Trip Advisor. I was a little nervous staying there because the reviews were not very good. However, our stay was very nice. The room was what we expected, large, with a sitting area--the sofa & chairs were in good condition & comfortable. The house is old & needs some care on the outside but these old houses require so much maintenance. It did not detract from our stay. The lobby could use a new chair. It looked like the cushion was sunk in, but then I did not sit on it. The other chair looked fine. The food was very very good & brought to our room with lovely dishes & a picnic basket. The husband & wife & family team were wonderful. Answered all our questions & were very accommodating. It was a good experience.


Very pleasant!

3,4 su agosto 17, 2012

Furniture was different than pictured (except bed), but appeared to be antique. The rooms were very good size, large whirlpool and a good breakfast delivered to your door. Even had a secret entrance! We enjoyed our 2 night stay which made our first visit to Door County more fun. B & J from McHenry


barbican

3,6 su agosto 15, 2012

Nice clean and friendly atmosphere with excellent location and beautiful themed rooms.


I would come back!

3,2 su agosto 07, 2012

The Barbican was a very nice place to stay. It was perfectly comfortable and the breakfast was decent. I really liked how they brought the breakfast to your room in a basket. They also brought fresh towels daily. I would definitely recommend a stay.


needs some work

2,6 su luglio 25, 2012

Was nice but getting run down, needs some fixing up to lots of little details


Victorian Room Review

1,8 su luglio 11, 2012

The room was adequate but there was hair in the whirlpool which persuaded us against using it. The breakfast was a bit unusual both days and somewhat lacking in the amount provided. Coffee was average. Bed was extremely squeaky an not that comfortable. We did get fresh towels after our first night which was unexpected but a nice touch.


Okay food, Good location, Great atmosphere

3,8 su giugno 26, 2012

My wife and I loved the architecture, decor, and room furnishings. Definitely make a point of touring both buildings and any of the unoccupied rooms--we stayed during the week, and the host made a point of making us feel welcome to explore. The inn is in downtown Sturgeon Bay, not far from the canal. It's across the street from a little cafe and a spa salon, and it's around the block from several shops and restaurants. It's also less than three blocks from Martin park, which we were pleasantly surprised to learn hosts free concerts every Wednesday evening during the summer. The bed was a little squeaky and (we felt) on the small side for the size of the room. There wasn't a lot of variety in the breakfasts. You get a choice of coffee or tea (once at the beginning of your stay), orange juice, a muffin, fruit, and an egg dish (2 days of quiche, a breakfast burrito, a sausage popover/muffin thing, and french toast). They had just undergone a change of ownership at the time, so I don't know how much will be different in six months, but I would recommend this place to a friend.


We keep coming back

4,4 su giugno 13, 2012

Great rooms at a great rate with friendly service. We've stayed here twice in two different rooms and plan on coming back.


Anniversary Getaway

5 su giugno 11, 2012

This was our very first visit to Door County, and our first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast. Our Host, Nancy McDonald was extremely accommodating sitting up our reservations, returning our phone calls and answering our questions. My husband is handicap and a diabetic. She asked if he required a special diet, and recommended the Victoria Suite, which is on the first level and an easier access to the off street parking. We were able to see our vehicle from our suite front windows. She always made sure we had orange juice on hand in the event my husband's blood sugar would get too low. The day we arrived, there was a lovely bouquet of fresh and fragrant flowers in a vase in our suite. The breakfast baskets served were exceptional, the coffee tasted great. It was a well balanced meal. I requested the recipes of what was served on each day of our 5 day stay. Nancy was very obliging by printing them out for me to take home. Our stay in the Victoria Suite was pure luxury, cozy, comfortable and private. The Barbican and Nancy McDonald made our anniversary such a pleasant retreat. We felt very pampered! We look forward on our return visit in October to stay at the Barbican and enjoy Nancy's friendliness and hospitality once again. Sherwood & Geraldine Slager


very comfortable and nice

4,2 su giugno 10, 2012

We had a very nice stay. The room was clean and comfortable. OPur breakfast was delivered in a nice basket outside our room. The food was good.


Barbican

2,6 su maggio 02, 2012

The room had character but seemed old and rundown - the entire building we were in seemed old and rundown. There was an empty room in the building we were in and the door to the room was open and it hadn't even been clearned or the bed made or the dirty towels cleaned up and we didn't arrive till late evening, so the occupant had likely checked out many many hours before. There were no drinking glasses in our room (thank goodness we brought some wine glasses with us!) and only one expired guildebook for the area we were in. The television was a very old model for which the remote control barely worked and there was no TV listing anywhere that we could find, so we just had to channel surf when we wanted to watch TV. The breakfast, which was brought to our room, was excellent and the type of foods far exceeded my expectations, but the fact that it wasn't brought until 9 a.m. was a challenge for us since we are very early risers - it's hard to hang around with nothing to eat or drink for 3 hours or more in the morning! The people seemed very nice but I did have a problem when trying to place my reservation with e-mails not be answered for weeks at a time and the last two e-mails that I sent, with updates on our arrival time, were never acknowledged at all, which lead me to somewhat fear that we would get there only to find that we did NOT in fact, have a reservation there! All in all it's a very interesting old inn in a really excellent location of Sturgeon Bay and I thought the prices were fair, but I'm not sure we will be back since we can have a little more upscale and attentive experience elsewhere for comparable money.


Would stay there again!

4,0 su aprile 29, 2012

I was worried after reading many of the previous reviews, but was pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. The house was clean, the breakfast was hot, and the service was exceptional.


The Veranda Suite at the Barbican

3,0 su gennaio 06, 2012

The Veranda Suite is a large suite that is romantically decorated. It could have been cleaner and better maintained though. The breakfast delivered to the room each morning was a nice touch but could have offered bigger portions.


Great Stay in The Pines room

3,8 su gennaio 04, 2012

Theresa and I have been coming to Door County for 5 years now during the New Years holiday. We originally stayed with The Barbican and have stayed every year except last year. The Pines is our favorite room because of its unique tri level design and beautiful spacious dual head shower. We've stayed in this room twice now. Last year we didn't stay at The Barbican due to it being controlled by the bank and we weren't sure it was open. It's still controlled by the bank but The caretaker Darcey was so nice, helpful and gave us a discount when she didn't have to. The Breakfast was delicious, hospitality was one of personal ownership. Our criticism comes from the disrepair of the outside which is in need of a paint job and maintenance. The only thing we'd change about our room is to have a King Size bed. We hope that the property is sold to someone that will give it the attention it deserves as this place holds a sentimental place in our hearts and want to keep coming back. Hope to stay next year! Thank you Darcey! Todd & Theresa


The Best

5 su novembre 19, 2011

Was AWESOME!!! Quiet and very clean. The breakfasts were very good and served nice and warm. We cant wait to stay again.


Always love staying at the Barbican

4,2 su novembre 12, 2011

We always love staying at the Barbican Love the breakfast brought to your door!


Weekend at the Barbican

3,4 su novembre 01, 2011

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Barbican. The service was very nice and the home made breakfasts were great! The facilities were a bit dated, but very clean.


The Veranda Room at the Barbican

2,2 su ottobre 26, 2011

I have stayed in a lot of B & Bs over the years, and this one was the worst. The hostess, Darcy, was very pleasant, and the food was excellent. However, the room looked liked it hadn't been updated since about 1970. It was very shabby (& I don't mean shabby chic). The bed was VERY uncomfortable and hurt my back. You couldn't see the fireplace from the sofa & there was no way to move it to do so. In order to open and close the shades, you had to stand in the whirlpool. It didn't even have basics like a towel rack or clock. We were told when breakfast would be delivered; no choice on our part. It was a big disappointment & not worth the money!


BACK TO DOOR COUNTY

3,2 su ottobre 25, 2011

When we checked in, we were in the main house. The main area is very inviting and has that fall smell to it (cinnamon, etc.) The woman that helped us was absolutely wonderful. She was very pleasant and provided us with a phone number to contact her at night should any problems arise. The breakfasts that we were served were absolutely wonderful and plentiful. The only thing that I really noticed was that the room probably could have been a little cleaner. I seemed to notice a few too many spider-webs for my liking, but it was a nice room none-the-less. Upon checking out, I had suggested that they spruce up the main house a bit on the outside with some pumpkins, gourds etc. and she indicated that was being worked on. So all and all, it was a good visit.


Pleasant stay at a pleasant B&B!

4,8 su ottobre 10, 2011

My wife and I had a pleasant and spontaneous one-night stay in the Pines Suite this past weekend. Nancy and Darcy were very friendly, the building was very clean, the rates were very reasonable, and our suite was fantastic. The Pines is big, and the amenities - separate bedroom, jacuzzi, walk-in shower, cable TV, DVD, sitting area, mini-fridge, free parking, fireplace - were a total delight! Breakfast was delicious, too. We can't wait to come back! The one thing we'd suggest is that we felt like a king-sized bed would have been better-suited for The Pines. Just our personal preference. Thank you again for the wonderful experience. As new, first-time parents, a night away at a classy B&B in beautiful Door County is just what we needed to recharge!


We had a wonderful, romantic time at the Barbican

5 su settembre 29, 2011

My husband had a wonderful three day mini-vacation at the Barbican in Sturgeon Bay last weekend. The room was very reasonably priced and our room was twice the size of any B & B we've stayed at in the past. We loved the entire atmosphere. Our room's door was hidden behind a bookcase that we pulled open and closed behind us. We had both a bedroom area and livingroom area which were tastefully decorated. Our breakfast was delivered to us each morning in a picnic basket for a romantic morning meal with one another. And the jacuzzi was over-sized. Could we ask for better? There will definitely be a return visit. Thank you for the romantic weekend, Barbican staff. My husband and I needed that little spark.


The Barbican

4,0 su settembre 28, 2011

Plesant room and breakfast. Good atmosphere!


Nice property in need of TLC

3,2 su settembre 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Barbican Sept. of 2011. This is a property that was nicely remodeled several years back but currently needs a bit of tender loving care to regain its appeal. Still a good value and location but at best an average stay given its pending change in ownership.


My stay at the Barbican

3,0 su settembre 15, 2011

The room was slightly nice, it could have used a TLC. The room did have a few cobwebs which took away from the overall beauty. The breakfast was delicious and was delivered in a cute little basket. My husband did enjoy the double sized tube!


Loved the Barbican!

4,8 su settembre 10, 2011

We came in for our engagement weekend and the Pines Room was incredible. It was my forst stay at a B&B and there will be more. They forgot the juice the first morning with our breakfast, but that wasn't a big deal. I love how they delivered the breakfast to our door. The shower was great. After wel got engaged and as we were leaving, they gave us a congratulations card. That was super nice. We will remember the Barbican for years to come and look forward to revisiting our engagement in the future!


stay

4,6 su settembre 08, 2011

we stayed 2 nights, everything was perfect. the rooms were huge, and the breakfast every morning was delicious. would definetely stay again.


great except for 1 problem

4,2 su agosto 29, 2011

everything was excellent but the only problem we had was the tub was dirty.....but once we cleaned that up ourselves it was perfect!


Good for those who don't want contact with people

2,0 su agosto 24, 2011

I was most surprised that I only saw one person who worked there when I checked in, then never again during my stay. With no phones in the room, I had to go to another building and hope the door would be unlocked to page someone when I needed soap (none was placed in the room before I checked in). When I left, the door to the main house was locked, so there was no way to check out in person. There were cobwebs in the window sills, a shade fell down from one of five big windows in the room, and there was an empty liquor bottle in a paper bag in the cabinet that held the tv. The bathroom, sheets, etc appeared to be clean, though. Without a mobile phone of my own, I had no way to contact management about these issues. In addition, there are ventilation windows above the room doors that are glass; the hall light shined right into my face at night (until I figured out where the hall light switch was- I hope my fellow visitors made it to their rooms without tripping at night!). I expect a friendly atmosphere at a bed and breakfast with proprietors who will provide suggestions on things to do and see, but that was absent at the Barbican. Breakfast is brought to the room door in a basket. When I checked in, I was asked if I wanted coffee or orange juice. Other than that, I had no input. As I don't eat eggs, my breakfast went to waste both mornings. As a positive, the room was large and had a great whirlpool tub. There was plenty of natural light during the day. There was no clock in the room, which I missed, but there was a radio and tv. At a chain hotel, at least I would know there is someone at the front desk. The service at the Barbican was not bed and breakfast level.


Barbican review

5 su agosto 18, 2011

We have been staying at the Barbican for many years. The rooms have so much character and are very comfortable. The service was wonderful and the breakfast was delicious. We also find the price to be quite affordable.


Had a true bed and breakfast feel to it

5 su agosto 08, 2011

At first I was unsure as we usually stay at newer more modern places but after spending a night here it is now our favorite place. The Staff was so friendly and helpful! The breakfast was excellent! We will be back for sure!!!


Perfect Romantic Getaway.

4,2 su gennaio 08, 2011

My fiance and I stayed in the Villa Suite in August 2009. He had 2 weeks leave from Iraq so he came home for his Birthday and we had a romantic getaway. The suite was amazing! It was very spacious and clean. The gas fireplace was wonderful in the frosty mornings and the large whirlpool was so nice to relax in. Only thing I could find wrong about the suite was the bathroom. It was kind of bare and the lighting was too dim for me to do my makeup. The fixtures could use an update. Otherwise everything else was great. The food was delicious and it was nice to have it delivered in a picnic basket at our doorstep. Breakfast IN bed made our stay all the more romantic. I really appreciated the privacy and proximity to dowtown shops and restaurants. Will stay again!


A Beautiful New Year's Eve

4,6 su gennaio 04, 2011

This was a surprise stay for my spouse and boy, was she surprised. The suite was made for a romantic evening. Location was everything, walking distance to shopping, beverages and dining. Highly recommended.


Looking forward to our return!

5 su novembre 15, 2010

My wife and her sisters stayed at the Barbican in 2009. My wife talked me into visiting in March 2010. The stay was wonderful. We loved the Orchard Room. Very comfortable room and furniture, and the breakfasts were fabulous. It was an excellent, romantic, and cozy get away. We can't wait to get back in March of 2011!!


Corner Suite

3,6 su novembre 04, 2010

Changed rooms because the first one did not have DVD. They were very helpful in getting us moved. Food is very good. Room was quiet and secluded, very romantic.


Breakfast in Bed

3,0 su ottobre 21, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed this experience as it was a little different than the other Bed and Breakfasts that we have stayed at. We found it rather romantic to have our breakfast delivered every morning in a picnic basket to our door for us to enjoy in our room. This was different for us, but a part of the experience that we will remember.


Getting Tired

2,6 su settembre 27, 2010

The property seemed tired. The welcome was lacking in letting us know the amenities. Breakfast delivered to the room was nice. But missed the common dining of some B&Bs


We will definitely return!

5 su settembre 22, 2010

We were extremely satisfied with our stay. The breakfast was fantastic, and the service was great. Our room was cozy and romantic (we stayed for our anniversary). The location was ideal, and we felt like we got much more than we paid for. We would highly recommend this B&B!


Outstanding visit,better than any old hotel room!

5 su settembre 10, 2010

My stay was over Labor Day weekend of 2010. I had never stsyed at a B&B before so I was not sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised! The room was like being at home, cozy, clean, and the breakfests were wonderful! I will be back.


Location is key

3,2 su agosto 31, 2010

Location of this Bed & Breakfast was outstanding, easy access to all the area had to offer.


Beautiful place to stay

5 su agosto 18, 2010

Our room was beautiful, clean, and had lots of space--no cramped quarters. We had the Verandah room. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. I had a special dietary request and they provided what I needed. We were close to the water front and also the downtown shopping area. Great place to stay and would definitely go back.


What a Wonderful Stay!

4,8 su dicembre 20, 2009

We just returned from a three-day stay at the Barbican and had a truly wonderful experience. The Victoria room was HUGE complete with a sitting area consisting of a couch and chair. (I LOVED being able to sit on furniture to relax instead of just having a bed. The two-person whirlpool was truly a luxury, as was the beautiful antique furniture. We will definitely visit again!


Fantastic

5 su settembre 23, 2008

We have stayed at The Barbican many times. We are never disapointed. Located in the historic district one is within walking distance to shops, dining and nightlife. The Suites are great we have stayed at many B & B's, this is by far our favorite!


The Barbican

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $115 - $200
  • Recensioni (58) 3,9
  • Camere 10
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-9207434854
  • Telefono 1-9207431961
  • Gratuito 1-8774278491
Inizio pagina