Mendota Lake House Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Pasti in loco3,9

Valore della struttura
34 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

So lovely!!

4,4 su luglio 31, 2016

We loved this gorgeous home! We will definitely return! Thank you to David and Bob for their warm hospitality!!


Delightful Stay

3,8 su luglio 21, 2016

The stay was very enjoyable with very nice common rooms as well as our private room. Our private bathroom was amazing with a large combined shower/whirlpool bathtub. We relaxed in one of the common areas, a 3-season room which faced Lake Mendota. The house was charming and the outside gardens were impressive. I would recommend to others and stay again.


Relaxed atmosphere, close to the center of the city

4,0 su luglio 07, 2016

Loved this place, I will most definitely be back. Very relaxed atmosphere, felt like we were staying at someone's home, Great, unique place to stay in madison. Great prices too.


Mendota Lake House

4,0 su luglio 03, 2016

Was everything I hoped it to be. Quiet, quaint, with wonderful views.


Very pretty location and B&B

4,6 su giugno 27, 2016

This is a great B&B in an awesome location in Madison. The owners are still doing some renovation so a little dust is to be expected. The breakfast is not a full breakfast but a healthy, organic one to give just enough fuel to get up and go see the sites. I'd definitely recommend and I plan on returning in the future!


Weekend Stay at Mendota Lake House Inn

4,2 su giugno 22, 2016

The stay met our expectations. It is as advertised, and a good value.


Mendota Lake House

3,4 su giugno 22, 2016

Right next to the Mendota Lake. Charming B&B with a small beautiful lush front garden.


Beautiful place

5 su giugno 13, 2016

My husband and I loved the atmosphere, the location and the views. The hosts were very helpful and we especially liked sitting on the Walt Whitman Room balcony in June. Breakfast was great and having lots of common spaces to sit made us feel we were living in a very comfortable, historic home. And the library made us wish we could stay longer and read more about the area.


Wonderful place to stay!!

4,8 su giugno 02, 2016

Great view of the lake


Great place!Wonderful. Views and charm and coffee and scones. What more could you want!

4,8 su maggio 02, 2016

Wonderful option when in Madison. Unique rooms and expetience


Mendota Lake House

4,4 su aprile 28, 2016

It was so nice to be close to campus and downtown. The hosts were super friendly, and would love to stay there again.


Great value in Madison

4,8 su marzo 27, 2016

A great way to escape hotel conformity and boredom. I'd only request a shower caddy in claw foot tub shower set up.


Couple Weekend Getaway

4,6 su gennaio 27, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic getaway. We were not disappointed. Our hosts were very friendly and offered great advice on things to do and places to eat in Madison. I was worried when I read "continental breakfast" but I was not disappointed at all. All organic offerings and fresh baked goods from a local bakery. We did not go away hungry at all. Our room was delightful and huge! Beautiful view of the lake. We will definitely stay with them again next time we have a mini-vacation in Mad-town.


Madison get a away

5 su dicembre 24, 2015

Found this B& B on our drive to Madison. My partner had never stayed at a B&B and I've only stayed at them in Europe, so we were a little apprehensive. We were pleasantly surprised. Very easy to find, and on site free parking were bonuses. Our room was large and super comfortable. The King sized bed was a Tempurpedic mattress that gave us a superb night sleep. Continental breakfast was organic and healthy, we were able to enjoy this In the sun room over looking Mendota Lake. Dave and Bob are both very pleasant, polite, informative, and helpful. Short walk to down town and local restaurants are also within walking distance. Highly recommend ands we will be going back. :)


Sharing

3,8 su novembre 25, 2015

Rooms were lovely however the bed was too soft in the top floor bedroom (rust) and it was way too hot.


Fabulous stay in Madison

4,4 su novembre 20, 2015

Conveniently located to everything and beautiful property. Also an excellent value! We stayed in the Gore Vidal Room. Super cute and quiet with a view of the lake. The only thing I would say was the bed seemed a bit "saggy" (I don't think it was only due to the softness of the feather bed.) However, I would absolutely stay again!


Great place close to everything downtown.

4,2 su novembre 16, 2015

Charming home, restored in the period it was built. Friendly staff. Quiet neighborhood.


A feel of European Ccolonialism in the New World

4,2 su novembre 15, 2015

We had a wonderful time while in Madison, the weather was still very nice, that helped. But even in the rain and storm we were very comfortable in the beautiful sitting rooms of Mendota Lakehouse, very turn of the century with nice details and of course the spendid view of the lake. Not far from the centre, but renting a bike is also fun. David and Bob are the best hosts, really. My daughter and I want to wish them all the best in further developing their guesthouse.


Weekend Getaway

4,4 su novembre 13, 2015

The Mendota Lake House is a beautiful old house situated right on the edge of Mendota Lake. My girlfriend and I took a weekend in Madison in early November 2015 to enjoy the city and relax. We stayed in the Oscar Wilde room, a large space with a comfortable seating area to the left, bed and dining table to the right, electric fire and great views! It was a great room, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A short 15 minute walk to the Capitol building and the center of everything. Bob and David were very welcoming. Highly recommended! If we head back to Madison we will certainly be back.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks you guys for the kind words. Hope to see you back.


Nov. 6-7th stay at Mendota Lake House B&B

5 su novembre 12, 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at Mendota Lake House B&B in Madison last weekend and couldn't be happier with our stay. David and Bob did a wonderful job making our stay comfortable and making it feel like home. I would stay here over a hotel any day.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for staying and thanks for letting us know. We always hope guests feel at home and are always so happy when they do.


Would Come Back because of great location

3,2 su novembre 06, 2015

Great Value and Location!!!!!!!


THE best place to stay in Madison!

5 su ottobre 16, 2015

The beautifully apportioned home, the fabulous individually decorated rooms and the location right on the lake!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay.


A Wonderful Home

3,8 su ottobre 08, 2015

This is very spacious, wonderfully relaxed B&B, with awesome views of Lake Mendota. We enjoyed curling up in the sunroom and watching the sun set. You can't beat the proximity to the campus and many, many restaurants. David and Bob will give you their best recommendations.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you!! Glad you stayed with us.


Can't wait to return

5 su settembre 16, 2015

What a wonderful place!!! I wish I could keep this gem all to myself! But I must share! We loved it, this was our second stay, already booked our next visit. Hosts are wonderful , warm people. Great location, so much to do and see.


beautiful place in a wonderful location

5 su agosto 25, 2015

Our hosts were so friendly and lovely, and the location is spectacular. We had a wonderful time, and only wish it could have been longer.


B&b

3,0 su agosto 17, 2015

Great location, will go back when it's finished.


Second stay as good as the first.

5 su agosto 15, 2015

I had a beautiful room with a private porch facing the lake. The breakfast consisting in fresh baked scones, fresh fruits, orange juice, and coffee was as ddelicious as I remembered. The hosts , David and Bob, were as gracious as before. However, the "summer garden" was a magnificent follow-up to an equally magnificent "spring garden". I look forward to finishing my research at the Capitol and viewing the "autumn garden". I doubt there is any equivalent "B&B: value".


Beautiful, Restful, Convenient

4,6 su giugno 16, 2015

I stayed in the Gore Vidal room, which although it had no balcony, had a gorgeous view of the sunset and was exceptionally quiet. I spoke with both David and Bob, who were warmly congenial and yet kept on with their own tasks very comfortably. They had happily agreed to have breakfast out earlier than usual the next morning since I had an early flight out. The house is roomy, with large separate public spaces for sitting away from other guests, and is situated right off the lake with pretty walkways and easy walking to very good restaurants. The entire too-short stay was really wonderful, and I'm eager to stay again soon.


Enjoyed our stay. Great location. Wonderful hosts.

3,4 su maggio 10, 2015

Enjoyed talking with our host and other guests. It was a great location - central to the places we wanted to see. It was right on the water - a beautiful view.


What a gem!

5 su maggio 07, 2015

I arrived to find an exquisitely maintained landmark arts and crafts building with an expansive front porch and a front lawn filled with spring bulbs and willows (a testament to the owners' nursery experience). The back yard had ample parking space and a wonderful view of Lake Mendota. My room was large, spotless, and comfortable. it faced Lake Mendota and I was awakened by birds each morning. Breakfast was a simple elegant meal of scones, cheese, cereal, and fruit. The hosts, David and Bob, were not intrusive. However, a fortunate prolonged conversation with them showed them to be very knowledgeable about Madison and dedicated to preserving Madison's remarkable social values. (David and Bob are truly remarkable!) The restaurant referrals were excellent and I was introduced to the burgeoning "local gourmet foodie" scene. Of note, public bus transportation stops in front of the building and goes to both the University of Wisconsin and the Capitol. I have been to numerous hotels throughout the United States and Europe and have visited several bed and breakfasts. Mendota Lake House B & B is very special. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Madison, especially prospective University of Wisconsin students and their parents and interested parties attending Wisconsin legislative sessions. I recommend that visitors speak with David and Bob as an important part of the Mendota Lake House experience. AMD


Our first time in Madison

5 su aprile 22, 2015

My boyfriend and I traveled to Madison, Wisconsin for the first time in March of this year. He was accepted into a PhD program at University of Madison and we were visiting the state to see if we could see ourselves moving there. We are originally from sunny California and it was a tough move to sell. I was so excited to find a little B&B on the lake for our stay. The cost of the room was so reasonable. Our hosts, David and Bob, accommodated a significantly early check in for our convenience, and were so kind, informative, and encouraging about living in Madison. The lake view from the house was beautiful, and I enjoyed having afternoon tea while I did some work in one of the common rooms. I would happily recommend this B&B to other people, and would be glad to stay there again in the future.


great location, great price, great service

5 su aprile 13, 2015

Our bedoom was cute and spacious and had a gorgeous view of the lake. The house was beautiful and we had full access to the ground floor including a fully stocked kitchen and the computer in the lobby. Breakfast included delicious artisan baked lemon blueberry scones and delicious Wisconsin cheese. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. We also got to socialize some with the other guests staying here.


Perfect place for the holiday celebrations!

4,0 su luglio 06, 2013

We stayed here to take in the July 3rd/4th Madison celebrations. The house was clean and welcoming, historic, but comfortable. Since we booked only a few days ahead we were in the James Baldwin room on the top floor. We were very pleased with the room! There was plenty of space, a kitchenette, futon sitting area and bathroom had plenty of space. It was nicely decorated...(not too busy, pleasing color scheme) and a great view of the lake! We biked downtown easily and took in the concert on the square, biked back and were able to have a nice view of the "Rhythm and Booms" fireworks from the park next door! Perfect location for us! Breakfast was continental, but just enough for a quick bite before heading out the next day. The owners were very personable and helpful...we felt very welcome!


Great value, lovely house & hosts

4,6 su aprile 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mendota Lake House last week and we loved it! The house is located within easy walking distance of downtown Madison and is situated right on the lake--the view from our room was beautiful! Our room was also huge and very comfortable/homey (Oscar Wilde room). I'm not a big fan of roses and doilies on every surface, so the clean, simple style of the room--and the house in general--was perfect for us. David & Bob (the owners) were charming & made us feel welcome right away--they purchased the home relatively recently, and it was fun to chat about the process of acquiring it and their plans to update it over time. Also, because scheduling allowed, they let us linger in our room past checkout time, which was awesome. I will note, lest anyone be disappointed, that as of now the breakfast is continental vs the sit-down meal you often see in B & B's. It was actually great for me because I'm neither an early riser nor a breakfast person, so being able to wander down and have some fantastic cheese, fruit, toasty english muffins, cereal and juice at noon vs choosing between waking up earlier than I'd like to or feeling like I'm missing out on part of the "experience" by sleeping in was nice...but I know a fancy breakfast is a big part of what some people love at B&B's, so just a heads up! Considering the fact that the other B&B options I found in the immediate area were twice as expensive, I certainly didn't mind the lack of french toast in raspberry sauce :) All in all, I wouldn't hesitate for a second to return--we were already talking about coming back in the summer to take advantage of the beautiful lake & nearby park before we'd even left!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for this great review! See you next time!


Mendota Lake House Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $95 - $175
  • Recensioni (34) 4,4
  • Camere 5

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6086203760
Inizio pagina