Elkhorn Inn & Theatre Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,8
  • Pulizia4,3
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
18 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A Very Happy Stay with Friends

5 su novembre 13, 2013

I loved my stay at the Inn. I found my hosts very charming and willing to make my stay a pleasurable one. I loved the feeling of the rooms being homey and not hotel like. I have some dietary restrictions and my hosts were very accommodating to my diet. I would definitely recommend this Inn to my friends and family. Its not often you can find a five star quality food while rail fanning but this Inn does it well.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon!


Thank you for a wonderful stay!

5 su dicembre 11, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with Dan and Elisse for our thirtyfirst wedding anniversary. They are very thoughtful and and wonderful hosts quick to satisfy any need you might have. The inn is amazing with art and sculpture at every corner. While we did not get to enjoy any of Dan's gourmet cooking (we usually were out late exploring) getting to know Dan I am positive it would be delicious! Their breakfasts were ideal and a great way to start the day. We especially enjoyed our many conversations with Dan, Elisse and their close friend Judy. Being railfans our initial draw to the Inn was the trains. What a show! We were serenaded day and night with their sounds. What else can I say? A grand old building, wonderful hosts, good food and trains. It is the perfect combination. We will be back! Thank you Dan, Elisse and Judy for a fantastic weekend. Terry and Bunny

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much! We are delighted you enjoyed the Inn so much and that you chose to spend your anniversary with us! We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn!


Unique

4,8 su giugno 16, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying here for the "Dinner in the Dining Car" Weekend with Railroad Historian & Author James D. Porterfield. Such an interesting evening with a delicious dinner prepared by Chef Dan with comments from Jim Porterfield on origin of the recipes. Not being as big of a railfan as many there that night it was fun to see them rush out with cameras in hand each time a train went by. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the area and the rest of the weekend. We had a lovely drive there although we did get lost trying to find the inn. Anyone interested in trains or coal mines and need a place to stay---this is for you!! They've done a remarkable job.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and we're so glad you enjoyed "Dinner in the Dining Car" with James Porterfield! Hope to welcome you back to the Elkhorn Inn!


New Years 2011 Stay

5 su gennaio 04, 2012

I love locations with Character, and you cannot do better on that count than the Elkhorn Inn and Theatre. Moreover, Dan is an amazing chef. I found the Elkhorn Inn on a whim but will be a regular. If you like West Virginia, this is one location that shouldn't be missed! Dirk

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Inn, and of Chef Dan's dinners! So glad you found us, and hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon!


Visit to the Elkhorn Fall of 2011, Delightful!

4,6 su novembre 18, 2011

Next to Hatfield McCoy Trails, Ashland ATV Resort, the Elkhorn Inn has historic railroad museum, art gallery, books signings by authors who visit, the most imaginative gourmet meals to entice the pallette, antiques, railway goes by Inn several times a day and the Inn offers a great balcony view of the passing trains. Hosts Dan and Elisse Clark are the proprietors and have a wealth of talent between the two. Dan is a gourmet chef, Elisse is an artist. Her gallery has not only her work but paintings from all over the US and overseas. I am so impressed by them. They are awakening LIFE in a sleepy little hid away village!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Inn, and of Chef Dan's dinners! We are So glad you enjoyed the Inn and all the artwork, and hope to welcome you back soon!


Weekend Getaway

4,0 su ottobre 20, 2011

My boyfriend took me to this inn for a surprise getaway so we could go to the Bramwell Oktoberfest and have a nice place to stay. From the moment we walked in the door the hosts were two of the the kindest people and so accommodating. They showed us around and made sure we had everything. We stayed in the blue room which was very cozy and had a feel as if it brought you back into another time with its quaint furniture and private bath. In the morning the owners made us a hot breakfast and gave us excellent information on places to eat that day. Took them up on their sushi recommendation and they definitely know what they are talking about as the place they recommended had to have been the best sushi I'd ever had. If you are looking for an amazing getaway in a beautiful area with excellent people definitely check this place out!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Inn! We are so glad you had a wonderful time and hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon!


wonderful

4,4 su luglio 04, 2011

Our stay was so wondeful and the owners of the Inn were absolutely fabulous. I am so pleased that they have opened such a wonderful place in this area. Thanks again for everything. Linda Bennett and family

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Elkhorn Inn so much, and hope to welcome you back soon!


2010 October Sky Festival Pleasant Surprise

4,6 su ottobre 04, 2010

My husband and I attended the October Sky Festival this year for the first time to see his favorite author, Homer Hickam. We had no idea what to expect when we were booking a place to stay just searching the area options on-line, but we knew we didn't want to stay as far away as Bluefield and drive an hour to the festival. We booked a room at the Elkhorn Inn with a private bath and a train view, and it was not only comfortable but had extra amenities that we didn't assume it would have (e.g., feather comforter). We had dinner at the Inn both nights, and Chef Dan served excellent meals on both occasions! The first night (the night before the October Sky Festival), Homer Hickam stopped by the Inn with his wife and an actor from the movie to visit our Innkeepers. To our surprise, Elisse came up to our room and invited us down to meet them while they were there visiting, and that started our wonderful, relaxing weekend in Southern WV! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and appreciated their hospitality and good food!!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and Chef Dan's dinners- and having Homer & Linda Hickam at the Inn was a very special treat, indeed! Hope to welcome you back to the Elkhorn Inn!


Rails, Road, and Rivers in WV

4,8 su giugno 10, 2010

I had seen the ads for the Elkhorn Inn in West Viriginia for years in Trains Magazine and had always wanted the chance to stay there. Over Memorial Day weekend, my wife and I attended the first "Dueling Dining Car Chefs" weekend with Chef Dan and James Porterfield. The food was delicious, the setting magnificent, and there was plenty of trains for the railfans. We enjoyed it so much we're planning on being there again over Labor Day!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you had such a great time and loved the Inn, the food, and the trains! Our Labor Day "Railfan Gourmet Weekend" with Jim Porterfield should be even better! :-)


West Virginia Heaven

4,6 su giugno 25, 2009

Dan and Elisse anticipated our every need and responded promptly to our requests. Dinner was a real treat and Breakfast was a geat way to start the day.All in all it was a heavenly stay.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you! :-) We are both Very pleased that you enjoyed staying at the Elkhorn Inn and Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to see you again soon! Elisse & Dan


No better place to stay in West Virginia!

4,6 su marzo 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Elkhorn Inn March 21st to the 23rd for an ATV trip. I booked at the Elkhorn as all other options for places to stay that are conducive to riding ATVs are mostly small cabins with few amenities. I can honestly say that I was not disappointed. The Inn is quite nice, and our room was very comfortable. Though I do have to say that the claw foot tub was my favorite part. And where else can you rides the trails of Hatfield McCoy, soak your muscles in a nice hot bath, enjoy an outstanding dinner, and still be able to check your email before bed. I couldn't have asked for anything more. As far as riding goes, the Inn is about 3 miles from Green trail 19 of the Indian Ridge trail system of Hatfield McCoy. However, is you don't already have your sticker you'll have to travel about 8 miles to the Ashland store (which is located at the trail head) to get your permit. It is legal to ride your ATVs on the streets in the area, so you don't have to trailer them is you don't want to (though my husband and I did, and there is plenty of parking at the trail head, as well as a loading ramp and bathrooms). Indian Ridge is a great trail system where the blue trails are as easy as the green, and plenty of black and red trails sprinkled in for the experts. Also of note is the Wagon Wheel ATV pit stop not far from the trail head, that has food and other items (google Wagon Wheel ATV). Elisse and Dan also told us of county trail is the area that are legal, but we didn't have enough time to explore them. I do have to mention 2 things that really make the Elkhorn stand out. First are the owners, Elisse and Dan. They were absolutely wonderful. Second is dinner. Make sure that you plan to have at least one dinner at the Inn. Dan is a great chef!!! I've eaten at some great restaurants in DC and NYC, and our dinner at the Inn was definitely up to par with those restaurants.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you! We are So glad you enjoyed staying at the Inn and Chef Dan's dinner! Hope to see you again soon! :-) Elisse & Dan


A jewel in the WV forest

5 su giugno 02, 2008

The Inn is in an enchanted enclave at the southern West Virginia train trail. Several times through the day you can witness the train at first announcing its coming with a whistle then it goes by at full speed and waiving at you as you feel the clackity-clack of the steel wheels in the tracks. I was able to enjoy snow, rain, wind and spring in full bloom. Whether snuggling in front of the fireplace at nite or driving around in a topless convertible when it was warm I treasure the time spent there at the Inn. As an artist you can say I got my muse back after being nurtured by the atmosphere of another era yet still had full wireless computer access!. The food I had there was not only delicious but way above and beyond ranging from the most traditional biscuits and gravy to fusion cuisine not to mention the smoked ribs. I was really spoiled there.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you!! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and our food, and that your stay with us helped inspire you creatively! We hope you will come back soon!


Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, Landgraft, WV

4,6 su maggio 23, 2008

Wonderful place to stay, mucho train traffic, if you don't want to be awakened by constant train traffic, get a room not on the highway side of the resort. Great food from Chef Dan. This place is a bona fide art museum. The only downside is occasional second hand smoke.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you! We are so glad youe enjoyed your stay, all the art, and Chef Dan's cooking! Come back soon!


Elkhorn Inn a Delightful Stay

4,4 su maggio 23, 2008

For a railfan, the Elkhorn Inn venue is perfect, being on US Route 52 adjacent to the Norfolk Southern Pocahontas Division mainline. Innkeepers Dan and Elisse Clark were very interesting hosts and Dan's prime rib dinner was outstanding. This is the place if you're interested in Appalachian coal field history and in the coal-hauling railroads.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn, and Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to welcome you back soon!


My Stay In West Virginia

4,0 su maggio 22, 2008

I felt right at home with Dan & Elisse. I especially enjoyed the great meals that Dan Prepred for me and the other guests. I enjoyed the history of the Inn and loved the art work displayed, much of it done by Elisse or her Mom. A very enjoyable stay and will return in the near future.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you! We are so happy you enjoyed staying at the Elkhorn Inn and look forward to seeing you again soon! :-)


Delightful Step Back in Time!

4,6 su novembre 13, 2007

We enjoyed the historical “step back in time” of the Inn and the delightful host Dan and hostess Elisse, who shared not only their home, but themselves, making us feel more like friends that just guests.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much! We are so happy you enjoyed staying at the Elkhorn Inn and hope to see you again soon! :-)


Trains!

5 su novembre 09, 2007

The inn is across the road from the railroad tracks, where the trains run continuously. We stayed in the closest room to the tracks to see and hear them during the night. We saw several! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much!!! We love our railfan guests! We're so happy you enjoyed staying at the Elkhorn Inn! :-)


For Railroad Fans!

5 su settembre 18, 2007

A superb place for a railroad fan’s visit. Delightful breakfast and superior supper.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much!!! We love our railfan guests! We are so happy you enjoyed staying and dining at the Elkhorn Inn! :-)


Elkhorn Inn & Theatre

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $198
  • Recensioni (18) 4,7
  • Camere 13

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-3048622031
  • Numero di Fax 1-3048622031
  • Gratuito 1-8007082040
Inizio pagina