The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,4
  • Servizi4,4
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,3
  • Cibo4,4

Valore della struttura
51 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words

4,6 su giugno 17, 2013

From the moment we were greeted and shown to our suite, Chad and Carrie were the most gracious hosts! The view from our suite was spectacular both at night and during the day! The Ledge House was a peaceful oasis surrounded by gardens and the sounds of songbirds! My friends and I were sorry to have to leave!!! We will return to this unique and comfortable home away from home!!!


Gem in harpers ferry!

5 su febbraio 09, 2013

Beautiful place, comfy bed, huge bathtub to soak in, DELICIOUS breakfast. Fireplace burning when we arrived was delightful. We've been here twice and had a great time on both occasions. The couple is super sweet and even let us borrow their car to go to dinner in the next town over! Watch out because lots of harpers ferry closes down in the winter. Also, the train comes through the town intermittently. We thought it was charming but if you are a light sleeper, may want to choose a different town.


Well worth the stay

4,4 su gennaio 27, 2013

Suite 2 is spacious and clean -- and has a private balcony with a breathtaking view found nowhere else. Perfect for our group of three people. Comfortable sitting area downstairs. Location is very convenient to the historic lower town area -- within easy walking distance. Carrie is a friendly, knowledgeable and gracious hostess, and cooked us a filling breakfast both days we were there. My sons and I really enjoyed our stay.


What a view! I will return here again!

3,6 su agosto 20, 2012

This property sits on the ledge overlooking Harper's Ferry! The view is breathtaking! The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the garden tub! Breakfast was delicious! You can walk down to the historical area from the Ledge House if you don't mind a trek through a little spot of woods. Lovely setting, great accommodations and a great little town to visit! We'll be back!


Wonderful room and view but breakfast was very poor

2,8 su luglio 06, 2012

It could be because it was the Holiday weekend, but all we got for breakfast the first day was scrambled eggs and a slice of cheese cake. No toast, no orange juice, no fruit, no spring water. Second day was a good omelet but again no toast, no orange juice, spring water and only a fist full of strawberries. For $145 a night, I expected a lot more. Also there was no housekeeping service. That didn't bother me as much as the food. The room was lovely, the view was fantastic. The lady who made us breakfast was pleasant. But before you go, if you expect a good breakfast from a relatively pricey B&B, make sure you know what's on the menu.


Perfect!

5 su giugno 17, 2012

If I had to imagine the perfect B&B, this would be it! The owners were friendly, warm, and welcoming. I loved my spacious, clean, and attractively decorated room. I also liked that this B&B had a more relaxed style and not the overly frilly decor that a lot of B&Bs have. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom spacious and ultra-clean. The views were outstanding and the location at the top of a hill overlooking the town and the rivers was so peaceful. My room overlooked a koi pond with a fountain and I loved the sound of water at night. I will definitely return here and recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet, peaceful, beautiful place to visit.


Breathtaking Views, Spacious Accommodations, Amazing Staff

4,4 su maggio 14, 2012

Nothing beats a morning cup of coffee on the spacious deck of the Ledge House, which overlooks historic Harper's Ferry, the intersection of the rivers and the railway bridge. The rooms are spacious and well-maintained, the breakfast is delicious, and the owners are friendly and professional. Harper, a friendly tabby cat, presides over this relaxing atmosphere.


the ledge house

5 su ottobre 27, 2011

We would definitely recommend this place and plan to stay here again. Chad and Carrie are wonderful hosts who made us feel right at home. Chad even built a fire in the fireplace for us when we came back from dinner. We two couples stayed in Suites 2 and 3, very clean, comfortable, and private. Breakfast was delicious. For us bicyclists, it was quite a climb to get there but well worth it. Great views, but bring earplugs to muffle the sounds of the trains, which run throughout the night.


Canal House Cottage

4,0 su ottobre 09, 2011

My boyfriend and I just spent a couple of days at Canal House Cottage. Pro: Canal House Cottage could be lovely and private. It was very clean. Con: It is not within walking distance of the downtown and it has a terrible view of the back of a cafe. However, the real problem is that it just did not seem to be well maintained - burned out lights, non-functioning DVD player, no way to find out the password for the internet, no soap in the bathroom, no heat, etc. But what makes this a bad review is the fact that they just would not give us toilet paper. When we arrived, we told the proprietor, Carrie, that there was no toilet paper. She apologized and said she'd send someone right over with some. 5 hours later, we begged the Canal House Cafe for a roll of toilet paper. They apologized and promised to get word to Carrie that we needed more. The next day: still no toilet paper. We spoke to one woman on the phone and left a message on Carrie's voice mail. No one ever even called us back. Some amenities are luxuries - some, like toilet paper, are necessities. There is nothing romantic about saying, "Honey, I need to go into town so I'll have something to wipe with." Maybe we caught them on an off day?


Beautiful Views, Comfortable, Quiet

5 su luglio 04, 2011

I stayed in the Ledge House while biking the C & O Canal. The room, the views, the verandas, and the food were superb!! I had a wonderful night after a challenging and HOT day on the trail. Just delightful. - Ginnis


Canal House Cottage

4,8 su maggio 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the canal house for a long weekend and loved every bit of it! The house is lovely and plenty of room. The kitchen is very nice as well! We hope to go back next year!


The Ledge House is absolutely Beautiful

5 su febbraio 09, 2011

We spent our 5th wedding anniversay at the Ledge House and couldn't have been any happier with our room which offered a spectacular view of the river not to mention the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Planning on returning in the summer : )


3rd Anniversary Celebrated at the Ledge House

4,2 su dicembre 01, 2010

Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality. We had a wonderful 3rd wedding anniversary get-away in Harper's Ferry July 7th & 8th. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your beautiful B&B. Neither of us had ever gone to one before, and were very impressed with yours. I loved the location of the house, in its relation to the mountain view and the town. Our only "regret" (if you can call it that at such a beautiful place!) was the unfortunate heat wave that kept us from decks. Oh well! We will just have to come back again this winter and stay, as we liked the experience so much! The breakfast the next morning was lovely, and everything was just immaculate. I highly recommend this B&B to any one considering a get-away to Harper's Ferry. Cheers! Meg & Ed


Can't Wait To Go Back

5 su novembre 05, 2010

My husband and I LOVED this B&B. The view was amazing, the room was wonderful and the innkeepers were great. I'm vegan, and they did a fantastic job accommodating my needs. We wished we had stayed longer.


It's the view! It's why you're there!

5 su novembre 02, 2010

OK, it's more than the view- but it's the best view in town. The reason you're in Harpers Ferry is for that view of the gap where the Shenandoah meets the Potomac- but instead of wandering around, taking a look and moving on, you've got it anytime all the time, right from the deck. Breakfasts were really tasty, Carrie & Chad are cool folks, active in town keeping Harpers Ferry a place to return to. On a clear night, ask about the telescope! Jupiter and its moons were quite close this season.


We will revisit this B&B

4,8 su ottobre 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights in during the week in suit #2. We are still talking about how wonderful the view was; our pictures from the room and shared space will truly be cherished for years to come. The breakfast was absolutely excellent on both days. For the first week back from deployment, they made us feel we had the place to ourselves; though, someone was there to make breakfast and if we needed them.


Quaint, rustic and relaxing.

3,8 su ottobre 17, 2010

I have to admit, after reading a lot of the more recent (and negative) reviews on the site, I was hesitant about my stay. However, this goes down as one of our best B&B stays ever! It's true that we rarely saw the innkeepers, but there was plenty of hired help around the house, including a cook and a booking agent, so we never felt neglected or un-important. Understandingly, Chad and Kerie (the owners) had their hands full with their young children. We stayed in Suite 1 and the bed was oh so comfortable, only out done by the view from our porch - a great coffee spot in the morning. The house is always quiet, and everything on the main floor is open to guests, including the refrigerator. Chad gave us great info on a hike, which we went on and loved, and their breakfasts each morning were spectacular! Plenty of scrambled eggs, fresh fruit salad, sausage, fruit tarts and orange juice. A few gluten intolerant guests and vegan guests received appropriate food as well. On a side note: a few previous reviewers cited the fact that the deck was not swept off. To that, I will say it added to the rustic feel of the B&B. As for the cracks in the bathroom and a few other minor cosmetic problems, Chad was very upfront about all the upgrades they still need to make. The Ledge has a loving staff, a quiet house, splendid food, and a view that will make you tear up. You won't regret staying here.


Spectacular view

3,2 su ottobre 07, 2010

Beautiful view! Stayed in guest room #1, nice, clean, albeit a little in need of updating. (ie. bathtub needs to be resurfaced, blinds do not offer complete privacy from others coming in front door). Breakfast was very good, ample, hot, fresh, and well prepared. Innkeepers were friendly, however, have a preschooler, and a toddler who were a bit on the noisy side in the late afternoon while my husband and I were trying to take a nap. Oh, and speaking of "a little noisy", be prepared for the trains! One goes through town approximately every 15-20 minutes day and night. You simply can't stay anywhere in Harper's Ferry without hearing the trains. All told, it was relaxing, and the view spectacular. Innkeepers friendly, food great.


Nice stay

3,8 su settembre 29, 2010

We stayed in the 3rd room and enjoyed watching the sunrise from our window each morning and sitting on the deck as well. It's very peaceful there, but the train is loud everywhere in town, so if you're a light sleeper, that may bother you. The breakfasts were wonderful and we enjoyed chatting with the other young couples there the same weekend. We'd stay there again.


Went out of their way to be accommodating

4,4 su settembre 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Ledge House on our anniversary trip to Harpers Ferry. We had originally selected them for price reasons, but would come back again even if they raise the rates! Carrie and Chad were both very welcoming and helpful. We traveled to Harpers Ferry by train, so had no car with us. They offered us the use of one of their vehicles if we needed to go anywhere further than walking distance. Special kudos to their manager, Tracy, as well. We had to leave very early in the morning to catch our train, well before the normal breakfast time. Tracy prepared a big fruit salad for us the day before and left it in the refrigerator so we would not have to go hungry. Location is great for hikers--less than 200 yards from the Appalachian Trail at Jefferson Rock. The view from the common area deck and dining room is truly awesome. We usually try to go somewhere different every year for our anniversary, but we plan to come back here in 2012 if at all possible.


Scenic, Quaint and Comfortable... Feels Like Home

4,2 su agosto 12, 2010

Great B&B. Wonderful views, accommodations, location and breakfast! Owner was very laid back and hospitable. Felt like being at home.


Awesome View - Great Hospitality

4,6 su agosto 11, 2010

We were totally pleased with our stay. Room was great, view even better! Could see mountains, river, footbridge, train and a little of the town all from the front deck and even our bedroom window. The manager, Tracy, was wonderful and food very good.


Highly recommended (room 3 & Canal House Cottage)

4,0 su agosto 02, 2010

The two of us enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed one night in Room 3 and one in Canal House Cottage. Both were very clean, comfy and roomy. The bed in room 3 was exceptionally comfortable. All 3 staff members were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the breakfast, although I would have preferred having more to eat. I hope they invest in some plusher towels soon - depending on how picky you are about that, you may want to find out if they have or just bring your own. The train whistle was audible but not a problem in room 3, couldn't hear it at all from Canal House. Location is excellent. We also enjoyed a very nice dinner at the nearby Canal House Restaurant run by the same people. I would be very happy to return there soon.


2nd anniversary

5 su giugno 28, 2010

Very nice overnight trip....wonderful innkeepers...darling room....delicious breakfast!!! Fell in love with Harpers Ferry WV!!!


highly recommend

5 su giugno 27, 2010

My husband and I hadn't been away from our little kids in 6 years; we had never been to Harpers Ferry. We both thought this B&B was perfect. Excellent views, rooms, location for easy walking the App Trail and downtown Harper's Ferry, kind and friendly innkeepers, delicious local and organic breakfasts, and a quiet, cozy cottage.


wonderful time!

4,4 su maggio 14, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our third anniversary by traveling to Harpers Ferry and staying at this lovely B and B! We really enjoyed ourselves. There are trains constantly as other reviewers have mentioned, but to me they were relaxing instead of annoying. My husband is deaf so he couldn't hear them anyway, lol. The Ledge House was great with a beautiful view! We had a balcony right off our room. Chad and Carrie were very nice and helpful when we needed something and hands off the rest of the time. All in all we had a wonderful time! Erin and Allan - Pasadena, Md


Ledge House, Harpers Ferry, WVA

4,0 su novembre 02, 2009

The bed was FABULOUS!! And the sheets were incredible! The breakfasts were very good and plentiful. The location to old town Harpers Ferry was perfect and only a short walk to all the attractions. We stayed in room #1 which was very large and very comfortable. The owners were friendly and welcoming. A stay at the Ledge House is highly recommended.


The Ledge House: A Harpers Ferry Gem

4,6 su ottobre 29, 2009

We stayed October 25, 26, 27, 2009. The Ledge House is eclectic and casual. Carrie and her staff are warm, friendly, inviting and very accomodating. The views are almost without description. The sitting room, dining area, and verandas draw you in and create a "I don't want to leave" kind of feeling. The three guest rooms are large, roomy and comfortable. But, if they are available and you can spring for the extra cost - Suites 1 & 2 are icing on the cake. Jim & Jessie


The Ledge House is wonderful.

4,0 su luglio 28, 2009

The view from the deck where we had breakfast was fantastic. So beautiful, lush and green surroundings...perfect to eat outside on beautiful sunny mornings. We were referred to The Canal House which is a cute little cafe on Washington Street nearby. The food there was FANTASTIC. Not too heavy, very fresh and really good. It was my first stay at a bed and breakfast and I loved it.


Port Republic Couple

3,8 su luglio 23, 2009

We had a nice time while we stayed at The Ledge House and would do again. The food was great and the bed was very comfy. We stayed in the smaller room overlooking the train tunnnel. The only thing we would suggest is some drinks like water or sodas available for the guests. Maybe there were some but we did not know where to look and we were there for two nights. But other then being a little thirsty the first night we enjoyed our stay and would do again.


Yorktown couple review

4,2 su luglio 17, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Ledge House B&B and the visit to Harper's Ferry. Carrie and Chad were most accomodating and very helpful in suggesting places to eat and providing directions to local attractions. The location of the property was ideal, the view from the balcony/deck was outstanding and the informal setting was perfect for a relaxing getaway. We will certainly include the Ledge House in our future travel plans.


unique location

4,0 su novembre 29, 2008

Very favorable experience. Chad and Carrie are friendly innkeepers. The town has interesting historical features for Civil war buffs and black history afficionados. John Brown raided the arsenal in 1859. There is a graveyard next to the Inn and the history of the town can be seen through this perspective as well


Calm, Quiet, and Hands-off at the Ledge House

4,2 su luglio 03, 2008

The owners were great hosts, even offering their car to us since we were on a bike trip. They were very hands-off, but readily available if we needed anything. Along with the view, this gave the Ledge House a very relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely be going there again for a nice escape from city/work life.


A Delightful Weekend Retreat

4,0 su giugno 18, 2008

Our stay at the Ledge House was delightful! The view is spectacular, the big porch and deck were lovely to relax on and Carrie and Chad are wonderful hosts. We highly reccommend anyone to stay there.


Absolutely Wonderful

5 su giugno 08, 2008

This place has the most beautiful view, the most beautiful rooms, the most beautiful home, and the nicest innkeepers. The food was wonderful, Carrie and Chad are wonderful. There was even a T.V. in the bathroom. This place far exceeded our expectations. We will be back there many times.


Casual home with great views

3,2 su maggio 15, 2008

Our stay at the Ledge House was very relaxing and the views were outstanding. We stayed in the queen room. It had a small private bath, but you had to go out of the room into the hall. The bed was very comfortable, but I would recommend that the owners remove their personal items from the drawers and closets. It felt too much like we were staying with family rather than an upscale B&B. The train noise and whistle was much louder than we thought it would be and did continue all day and even in the middle of the night, waking us up several times. We would return because it was a great value and not too far from home, but if you are used to "spotless" B&Bs with extra amenities, you may be disappointed, at least in the room we stayed in. There were no robes to use when going out into the hall to the bathroom and the only soap in the bathroom was a used bar near the sink...no clean soap for the bath/shower.


A Wonderful B & B

4,0 su aprile 29, 2008

The Ledge House has a wonderful location, and the view from our room was exceptional. We would recommend it as a great place to stay.


Hospitality at a premium...

5 su marzo 17, 2008

Where do we begin? To much to mention but here goes.The hosts were fantastic,atmospere just perfect,the room priceless. Hospitality,awesome... We must say this, Chad and Carrie Ellen were simply great. They gave us lots of choices to eat,(C.W Tiffins was awesome) to the wineries (Hillsborough and The Breaux highly recommended to explore). We can't say enough of this fine place. You just have to see for yourself,you won't know until you stay yourself. Then you will understand why we just simply enjoyed the time we spent at The Ledge house. A great place to come and get away from it all and just...RELAX !!


Best B&B we've stayed in yet!

5 su novembre 18, 2007

We had a fabulous weekend at the Ledge. The veiw is amazing. If you love trains, you are in for a treat. The food was nothing less than outstanding. The host and hostess were wonderful. The town has a lot to offer.


Another great stay

5 su novembre 14, 2007

The views are outstanding. Innkeeper's Carrie and Chad are a joy with whom to interact.


excellent choice

4,4 su novembre 05, 2007

If what you're looking for is a small, friendly, informal, comfortable and convenient B&B in a very cute little town-- with a really excellent view as a bonus-- you'll be happy at the Ledge House. We certainly plan to go back when we're next in the area. I should probably add one caveat: if you can't stand occasional rumbles and hoots of trains along the river below (which didn't bother me or, it seems, other reviewers), you probably don't really want to stay at this one-- or, for that matter, anywhere in Harper's Ferry.


Great Experience!

5 su ottobre 16, 2007

It was fabulous! Great views great hosts, great food, great rooms!


Wonderful!

4,8 su settembre 10, 2007

This is the nicest B&B we have been to in a long time. So very private and the view was to die for! We can't wait to come back.


Perfect!!

4,8 su settembre 03, 2007

We had a perfect weekend at Chad and Carrie's Ledgehouse. We loved the afternoon appetizers and the wonderful views. Our hosts were very warm and heartfelt. I would definitely recommend staying here when in Harpers Ferry...we'll be back.


Terrific Get-away

4,2 su agosto 30, 2007

The view and hospitality were all you could ask for. Tucked away overlooking rivers and trains coming thru mountains. Our suite was great. TV in room and bath; soaking tub; Wireless Internet ( if you need to get away with being out of touch); Carrie & Chad made this a home away from home; We stayed for 3 nights and had 3 great breakfasts; Carrie knows the area and can give great suggestions on where to go and things to do.


Wonderful Experience

4,2 su agosto 12, 2007

Don't let the disheveled appearance of the putside of the property fool you. It is wonderfully delightful on the inside. Perhaps the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in ! The breakfast was quite satisfying and the five-o-clock wine and appetizers were a welcomed treat. One downside, if you don't like train whistles don't stay here ... as a matter of fact, if you don't like train whistles, don't stay in Harpers Ferry.


wow

4,2 su agosto 04, 2007

what a great house and view, fabulous food and appetizers in the afternoon. very quite and relaxing.


What a view !

5 su giugno 18, 2007

Welcoming hosts and a fabulous view make this a charming experience. Great cozy room. Appetizers and wine were a great way to greet guests. We loved the trains and river views from the balcony where we enjoyed our breakfast.


A Home away from Home

3,6 su aprile 23, 2007

Owners Carrie and Chad have accomplished something that is difficult to do and that is providing a warm, welcoming and comfortable place that is very much a home away from home. Perhaps the best view in Harpers Ferry is offered from the deck amid a quiet and pleasant oasis. The rooms are large and well appointed and comfortable; hosts, chef and guests are great company; the food is well thought out, attractive in its presentation and very tasty! The B&B is convenient to the National Park and a great base for traveling in the area. This B&B bettered our high expectations and will definitely be visited again. Thanks again, Carrie and Chad for a great visit.


Ledgehouse B&B

4,4 su aprile 13, 2007

Great location, relaxed atmosphere and excellent service. It's a great getaway to enjoy the outdoors, completely relax, and savor some great wine and excellent appetizers (an afternoon ritual at the Ledgehouse). The full breakfast was wonderful and kept us going throughout the morning. My husband and I relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although no jacuzzi tubs, the room was beautiful and serene. There are trains that run throughout the night but it actually lulled us to sleep.


Stay

3,2 su marzo 22, 2007

Very quiet and private, wonder how it would be at a busy time of Year. View was nice. very open and trusting host.


The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $95 - $155
  • Recensioni (51) 4,4
  • Camere 3
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Gratuito 1-8774684236

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina