Hillbrook Inn & Spa Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Pasti in loco4,4

Valore della struttura
170 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Rest & Relaxation

4,2 su maggio 19, 2015

This was a beautiful B&B. The staff was great and the amenities were fitting. I wish there was more to do in the area beside the casino.


Wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable visit

5 su maggio 18, 2015

The grounds are lovely, and the room impeccable. Breakfast was delightful! The personnel are professional and attentive. Look forward to visiting again!


wonderful

5 su maggio 13, 2015

Beautiful place. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious.


Hillbrook Inn in the Spring

4,0 su maggio 13, 2015

We received the 2 night stay package from purchased through Living-Social as a Christmas gift from our daughter & son and their families. It was a very thoughtful and wonderful gift--and we enjoyed the retreat very much!


spring retreat

5 su maggio 12, 2015

Hillbrook is such a nice place to relax and unwind. Beautiful grounds in the spring time and great staff. The spa was great. Enjoyed our couples massage. Would recommend to friends and will return for another stay in the future.


Hillbrook Inn in Charles Town - Girls getaway trip

4,4 su maggio 11, 2015

Accommodations - Awesome Service - Also Awesome Loved Charles Town and the people, plan to return Hillbrook was amazing and would love to see it in spring and summer, was unusually cold weekend when we were there. One complaint I would like to share is that the breakfast food was not good. We went to the dining room for breakfast and were disappointed. First course was eggs with spinach, maple sausage link and cheese grits, all were cold and I don't think heating them would have helped very much. Look into other menus please.


Beautiful Inn, Great Food with a Few Drawbacks

4,2 su maggio 07, 2015

The room and the house were spectacular and the grounds of the Hawthorne House were beautiful and well manicured with blossoming dogwoods and redbud trees lining the long driveway. The fragrant lilac bushes were intoxicating. The breakfast was a specially prepared one for my husband and I since we are vegans. It was so delicious and attractively presented and we enjoyed the view from the dining room of the beautiful grounds and the Canada geese and their goslings. There were only a couple things that could have improved our stay. The bed was not comfortable for me because it dipped in the middle. I felt pressured on the phone and in person to spend more money there at the spa, for dinner, and items for sale at the Inn. Also, the massage I had at the spa I would rate a 5 on a scale from 1 to 10.


Romantic Visit

4,6 su maggio 06, 2015

This was our second visit - first was our honeymoon. The staff is simply Amazing and Very accommodating. We stayed in on of the smaller (loft) suites on this visit and it was comfortable, quite, had a nice sitting area and beautiful view. There was no separate shower in this room, although the antique tub had a removable spray nozzle. We ate both dinner and breakfast and the food is absolutely Amazing! We also had a great massage experience at the on-site spa. I Highly Recommend a Visit!!!


A Wonderful Get-Away

5 su maggio 05, 2015

My wife and I needed to get away, but couldn't go to far. We found Hillbrook online and it looked great. We were NOT disappointed. From our arrival through our departure we received top notch accommodation, service and a wonderful Spa experience. We had a couples massage that was great. The 5 course dinner our first night was magnificent. The portions were just right, the atmosphere was comfortable and the food was some of the best. My wife even at the fish course and she doesn't normally care for fish. The grounds were beautiful, and we took some time to play some large size chess. We saw lots of turtles, geese and the neighboring horses while we sat outside, swung on the swing or just walked around. We did take some time to go tour some of the local wineries, and that was great as well. We highly recommend Hillbrook Inn and we will certainly be going back. Mark and Pam


Date night

3,8 su maggio 05, 2015

beautiful place, wonderful staff, didnt like the services/tips automatically added it


Beautiful B&B

4,6 su aprile 29, 2015

We had a wonderful anniversary weekend. Great meal, excellent service and wonderful, private room with everything we needed.


Quiet but not boring...

4,8 su aprile 29, 2015

The staff was very nice and responsive. One of the aspects of the Inn that is somewhat underrated is the sheer size of the grounds available to visitors. If you enjoy being outside in a tranquil setting (taking walks or resting), Hillbrook Inn is for you. Dining: We booked the 5-course dinner at Redbook restuarant, which is located inside the Inn's main building. Chef Justin's creations were imaginative and very well-executed. Perhaps the highlight of the meal was the Coulotte steak--tender and cooked to perfection. The servers, Bobbi and Becky, were stellar as well.


Nice weekend getaway!

3,6 su aprile 21, 2015

Room was clean and staff VERY friendly!


Hillbrook Dream

5 su aprile 21, 2015

This is our third stay at Hillbrook it never disappoints. We always choose the Hawthorne estate suites which sits on an apple orchard. Across the board outstanding!


Another Wonderful Stay at Hillbrook

4,6 su aprile 16, 2015

I have now stayed at the Hillbrook Inn & Spa and have enjoyed it both times. Stayed both times in The Point and the room was perfect. Bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is a nice treat and the staff at the Spa knows how to give a great massage. All in all, a great, relaxing getaway.


Great get away!!

4,2 su aprile 13, 2015

We stayed one night in one of the suites, it was a great room, even though it was about 2 miles from the property, I think it was worth it, especially when the weather is nicer, and you could sit outside and enjoy the quiet country view! We did not eat dinner there, but breakfast was good (I would just like to see some choices or at least know what ahead of time what the meal is going to be the next day). I also think they could offer more to eat at breakfast, the food was good, but we were still hungry when we left, so extra pastries or cut fruit of something else to supplement the small portion would be nice. I had a massage at the spa, although I thought the services were extremely pricey ($131 for an hour massage), the package I purchased included a $50 voucher for the spa, so I applied that to my massage, making it about 80$ for the one hour. My therapist was absolutely wonderful, and it was probably one of the best massages I have had! If you go ask for Rebecca, she is very knowledgeable! The other thing that I wasn't crazy about was the fact that they automatically included 20% gratitude to my bill, and although there was a statement saying that if anything was not to my liking they would adjust the bill, but they give this to you as soon as we checked in, so I had no idea if I would be satisfied with everything, I would prefer to tip the way I want see fit, not feel like I'm being charged up front and then I can go back and dispute things if I am not satisfied, but that seems like a big hassle in the end, to have to go back and make adjustments. The casino is also fairly close, so we were able to go there and find other places to eat for dinner, so that was convenient.


Easily my favorite Bed and Breakfast

5 su aprile 12, 2015

Hillbrook is a scenic, historic property with all the charm of a manor and all the modern conveniences you usually can only have at home. I stayed in the Snuggery, a private, "snug" space that was well-appointed and surprisingly luxurious. Large two-person shower, private entrance overlooking the back lawn, in room tablet and flat screen TV... from check in to breakfast and everything in between, this place was amazing. I also took the opportunity to get a facial at the spa up the road, and it too was relaxing and high-quality. The facility itself was beautiful and modern, yet historic and charming all at once. Highly recommend Hillbrook. Will be returning.


Great Weekend retreat

4,8 su aprile 10, 2015

Service was Superb, Ricardo was our Host and he was amazing! Made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. All staff was kind , happy and helpful. The Spa was also great. Beautiful Grounds ! If you are looking for a quick weekend getaway DMV this is the perfect place!


Great midweek getaway location.

5 su aprile 04, 2015

Everyone made us feel welcome and always had a comfort as a top priority. Must try the tree swing for a little fun which brought back some childhood memories. The inn is cozy and well managed. Looking forward to returning in the early fall.


Great Getaway!

4,6 su aprile 03, 2015

We so enjoyed our overnight stay at the Hillbrook Inn & Spa. The staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. The Summer Cottage was beautifully maintained, clean and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed walking the grounds and photographing wild life. The Spa services were also outstanding. Very relaxing get away! We would highly recommend and hope to return in the near future!


Nice Hideaway for a Getaway

4,0 su aprile 01, 2015

I was able to book a stay at the EASt Suite at the Hawthorne Site. The lodging experience was amazing. The room size was surprisely spacious and clean. The deco was set to provide a warm, relaxing and comfortable stay . We received outstanding service from everyone we meet from checking in, taking a cooking class, dining at the restaurant, receiving Spa treatment and just enjoying the property surroundings. Wished I had book more than one night.....Next TIme I will.


Beautiful getaway

4,4 su aprile 01, 2015

This Inn exceeded my expectations. Everything was very professional and organized. We stayed at The Farmhouse away from the main lodge and it was beautifully decorated, the room was larger than I expected and the rest of the home was lovely. The tv was playing music when we arrived and they had cookies and coffee/tea available in the kitchen, as well as water. The main Inn included a short historical tour and the staff was very friendly and courteous. Dinner was exceptional. 5 course dinner in the Main Inn. Same with breakfast in the morning in the sunroom. Very nice, quiet romantic getaway. Spa was lovely as well. The cheese tray add-on was disappointing and a bit over priced for what we received. I don't like the fact that the gratuity for dinner, breakfast and spa service is automatically added to the bill. Although, I would have given 20 percent for the service so it wasn't a huge deal. I could hear the people walking around in the room above me (we stayed in South room) which kept me up later than I wanted, but it's an old home not a hotel so, somewhat expected to hear creaking...Other than that, everything was perfect.


Hillbrook stay

3,4 su marzo 29, 2015

The HILLBROOK is always a pleasant soujourn. The properties are all lovely and its is the perfect distance from the big city. Since the rebranding of the restaurant, I find the price of the 4 course meal to be a bit on the high side at $70 per person, especially with no menu choice.That being said the I ingredients are always fresh and the chef does a lovely job.


Wonderful Experience!

3,8 su marzo 27, 2015

My husband and I needed some "just us" time. We booked the Serenity Suite. We did a lot of research and we were not disappointed. The room was beautiful. So clean! We checked in and were met by Ricardo. We were given a welcome drink and a tour of the house. He told us a bit of history about the property and Charlestown. I had a manicure and a facial at the wonderful spa. Suzanne was amazing. I had never had a facial and she went through slowly and explained everything to me. So sweet! I just couldn't get over the beauty of the room. Just so cute. The bed was comfortable. We slept well. I love the fireplace in the wall. It was chilly, so it came in very handy. Plus it was pretty to look at. We were surprised and pleased to find that the room had a ceiling fan. There was not much drawer space. Only 2 drawers and 2 night stand drawers, but that was plenty for us only being there two nights. There was a good size closet. There was a flat screen with cable. A mini fridge and microwave. Always a plus. The bathroom was my favorite part of the whole experience. The tub was very large. Perfect for relaxing and reading. The sauna was a fun experience also. We had breakfast in the sunroom. It was ok. It was not all that impressive. An egg and piece of English muffin. Then a piece of French toast casserole with berries and orange syrup. The French toast was the best part. We had a little snag with the continental breakfast. It was supposed to be put in our fridge the day before and was not. But we called and they were very prompt about bringing it. It was not that good. Greek yogurt, orange juice, some kind of baked pineapple with cream and toasted almonds. The best part was the bread they sent. It was warm and delicious. Spices and nuts. We did not have dinner either nights. It was way too expensive. All and all. It was a dream. Best two nights we have had in a while. We will defiantly be back! We can't wait.


Hill Brook Inn

4,2 su marzo 24, 2015

Our stay at Hillbrook Inn was nice, the room accommodations were nice, clean, and private! The 5 course dinner was good, however, nothing really to gush over. In addition, when we received our online bill it was disappointing and upsetting to realize we had been charged a gratuity for everything that we did on site. We were told at check in that there would be an automatic gratuity for the dinner, however, when we received our bill we were charged a gratuity for them to open a bottle of wine that we consumed at the already paid for dinner (with no indication this was going to happen), and then again for the "free" breakfast there was an additional gratuity charge as well. Breakfast was essentially a quick "reheated" meal from the day before with a small quiche, some reheated potatoes and fresh fruit, nothing to really speak of that was "excellent" about the meal, so to be charged an additional gratuity was a bit outlandish as well. This is too bad, considering we loved our room, and the surrounding area, but will think twice about recommending and returning. I wish we just would have been told of all these "extra" fees. After we left we also decided we were so very happy that we didn't have the "inn keeper" open a bottle of wine for us in our suite, can only imagine what the fee would have been for that.


Amazing & Relaxing Stay!

4,6 su marzo 16, 2015

Our stay was just what we needed. It was quiet, romantic, clean and relaxing! The massage was amazing! Can't say enough about it! Melissa & Gary Conk Jr


Beautiful Getaway

3,6 su marzo 14, 2015

My boyfriend and I visited The Hillbrook Inn for a one night Anniversay celebration. Immediately we were taken with how beautiful the property and the main house were. We loved the personal tour and history about the house and absolutely adored our suite. The only downside for us was the lack of follow through relating to our guest preferences, particularly with breakfast. I had filled out a pre-arrival survey that requested dietary restrictions and allergy information, which was confirmed upon check in, however not acknowledged at all during breakfast. Subsequently, I was served items I could not eat.


Wonderful Place to Stay

4,6 su marzo 13, 2015

We stayed at the Hillbrook inn for a date night in March 2015. We booked a deal off of Living Social and stayed in the room "Lookout". Once we booked our say we received a phone call from the inn letting us know that they do not serve dinner on Mondays and gave us a couple options to choose from. Our Living Social deal included $25 towards dinner, so instead we opted for the Champagne Package. A couple days prior to our stay, I booked a signature Hillbrook massage at the spa. Upon arrival, we were given our key and a run through of events from a very friendly staff member. He showed us around, gave us welcome drinks, talked about the history of the inn, set us up with a time for the champagne package, set up a private fire for us on the property, and gave us directions to where we were having dinner. The signature massage was outstanding. The atmosphere of the spa was relaxing and cozy. We did not realize the spa was in a different building, but the location was not a far walk from the main building. The property is beautiful. We weren't able to fully experience everything because of snow, but we were impressed with the parts we were able to see. The best part had to be the romantic fire that was set up for us when we returned from dinner. There was fire wood, kindling, and a lighter all ready to go for us. Our room "Lookout" was cozy and just as we expected. A very comfortable bed, private bath, and an iPad was there for our convenience. Water and coffee were in the room as well. The feel of the claw foot tub took us back to the history of the house and was such a nice touch. We couldn't really rate the onsite dining because we booked for a Monday night and there was no dinner offered on Mondays. The two course breakfast was delicious and unique. Our stay was outstanding and we have already booked our return date.


Fabulous place with great people

4,8 su marzo 04, 2015

We went on the wine tour. Andy was great, the cheese plate was amazing. The room was fabulous, comfortable and very attentive to details make it an exquisite environment. The breakfast was out of this world. It was an amazing experience. Would definitely return if traveling to WV again.


Amazing weekend

5 su marzo 01, 2015

Have stayed in the south suite several times, the buildings are beautiful, have done the 5 course dinner & the food is excellent. It's hard to imagine this beautiful place so close in Charlestown, can't wait to come back.


Hill brook inn "the point"

5 su febbraio 22, 2015

Just like the pictures. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I stayed in the point and loved every second of it. The food was wonderful, I will definitely stay here again.


Wonderful cozy retreat

5 su febbraio 20, 2015

Wonderful cozy getaway with great cuisine and delightful staff.


Very Relaxing

4,8 su febbraio 17, 2015

This was a gift from a friend, My spouse and I stayed at the farmhouse. It was so beautiful. The dinner was "Amazing". I am still thinking about that steak, and COFFEE! The drinks were very good, and the breakfast was good as well. The only thing I would recommend is that the food come out sooner during the sitting and that the portions are bigger. But, overall we will be back, it is so relaxing. The room was so nice, and CLEAN. We are germ phobics, but we didn't clean anything, but the remote. Next time we will be staying longer.


Cozy relaxing getaway

4,0 su febbraio 13, 2015

We really enjoyed a relaxing country getaway, at the Hillbrook Inn. The staff are super friendly and very accommodating. The Spa was really nice. The food tasted really good, however the portions were super small at the dinner. Overall we enjoyed our stay!


Loves it!!!

4,2 su febbraio 08, 2015

My husband surprise me with a Birthday Staycation! I loved it! It's literally like 45 minutes away from our house, loved the wine tour, loved our room very romantic!!! Will definitely return.


Living Social Deal - Gem!

4,6 su gennaio 21, 2015

We had a great time here- the drive from the DC area was beautiful and the service was very friendly and accommodating. Ricardo, Andy, and Marcy are great!


Relaxing & Romantic

4,4 su gennaio 21, 2015

My boyfriend and I spent a night in the Sunset Suite at the Farmhouse. It was the perfect place for a relaxing and romantic night together! The staff was super friendly and helpful! Would definitely go back to stay here on a visit to Harper's Ferry.


Exceeded my Expectations

4,4 su gennaio 14, 2015

I purchased a living social deal for a room in the Hawthorn House. The house was amazing. There was a game room downstairs which included a pool table and dart board. The room was very spacious. The spa was great! The best massage I have had in a long time. The four course dinner was very good. My boyfriend and I are really picker eaters and we absolutely loved the dinner. Definitely will be coming back.


Beautiful country escape

4,0 su gennaio 06, 2015

This is a beautiful escape from reality. We stayed in the Point room which was nice but above the kitchen, which made for some late night noise when we were trying to sleep. The meals were good but overpriced. Service was outstanding and the spa was wonderful.


Great Escape

4,0 su gennaio 06, 2015

The atmosphere never fails to amaze at Hillbrook. This was our second visit, and both rooms have been lovely. The staff is pleasant, the spa services relaxing, and the food tasty. My main complaint is that the dietary restrictions, although discussed, were not followed either visit. Just be aware. Otherwise, enjoy a great escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!


Our annual stay at Hillbrook

4,0 su gennaio 05, 2015

Each year, my husband and I return to Hillbrook where our wedding reception was held eight years ago to celebrate our anniversary or my birthday which are days apart. I LOVE Hillbrook Inn. It is endlessly charming, well-appointed and is very much like staying at a European B&B. Dinner is always excellent as is breakfast. I highly recommend Hillbrook for a romantic getaway!


Very cozy

5 su gennaio 05, 2015

We had a wonderful overnight at HillBrook. The only issue we experienced (in the farmhouse) was the rude guests on the first floor who decided to hang-out in the common area/kitchen, and talk and argue very loudly until 11:45 pm. Most people with any modicum of class realize it's a bed & breakfast set up with other people living in the home, and would have some respect for the other guests above them...not this couple! Other then that, it was a very nice stay. The room was beautiful with a nice view. The dinner was delicious and the spa was great too!


Great place, wonderful staff, and breathtaking views!

4,8 su gennaio 03, 2015

This was our first visit and it will absolutely not be our last. We stayed in one of the cottages and cannot wait to come back. The food was amazing and the service was friendly and spot on.


Love the cottages

4,2 su gennaio 01, 2015

Went for a Christmas getaway and it was perfect.


Not as impressed

3,2 su dicembre 28, 2014

The dinner was average - butternut squash soup that everybody serves, steak on top of a film of mashed potatoes, two halves of a baby carrot and maybe a tablespoon of salty kale. The dessert had been sitting for awhile before it was served - the whipped 'cream' had melted all over what ever that apple thing was that we were served. The breakfast was sooooo bland - I had never heard of a steamed egg before and don't care to meet one again. I have to say that we have never left a breakfast at a B&B hungry before. The innkeepers need to test out the beds occasionally, we felt that our feet were way above our heads. Our room was above the kitchen and the kitchen staff was having a great time way into the night. We were glad that we brought our computer and movies to watch. We've stayed at this B&B before and we were disappointed with this stay.


A wonderful honeymoon

4,6 su dicembre 26, 2014

We loved our recent mini-moon at the Hillbrook Inn. Everything was wonderful. The Hawthorne House was extraordinary. And the food and service was all superb. We were especially impressed with Ricardo. We will be coming back as often as possible and will continue to recommend highly.


Outstanding overall. Thought the price was skittle on the high side.

4,6 su dicembre 24, 2014

Suggest one minor thing for the Fall Cottage - need A shower door in the bathroom.


Romantic and Special

5 su dicembre 17, 2014

This place was beyond clean and the staff were fabulous. The room was amazing. A quiet Romantic get away. A must see for any couple.


Nice Get Away

4,4 su dicembre 10, 2014

Cute room and Inn, grounds are gorgeous. Very cozy and inviting. The food was wonderful and the value was just right for a quick weekend get away. I would book again.


Wonderful place

3,8 su dicembre 02, 2014

Very nice place where you can spend a relaxed weekend. I enjoyed the meals very much and decorations was also very good


Fantastic weekend getaway!

5 su dicembre 01, 2014

My husband and I had such a great time here! Great food and fantastic service.


Amazing weekend!

5 su novembre 29, 2014

The entire weekend was picture perfect!!


Great getaway

5 su novembre 29, 2014

My husband stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time! The accommodations were beautiful and the food was outstanding. They were extremely accommodating of my gluten allergy and everything they baked/cooked was delicious. We haven't eaten out this well--ever! Would highly recommend for a weekend getaway. (The spa was fantastic too!)


Anniversary romantic weekend

4,8 su novembre 29, 2014

Beautiful led and Breakfast! Staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Farmhouse which is about a mile away from the Inn. The room was pretty, spacious and very comfortable. (We stayed in the Sunrise room) We had the 5 course dinner at the Inn combined with the wine pairing. Justin, the chef was outstanding! The food was wonderful! Breakfast was also delicious. We took advantage of the limo wine tour with our friendly, knowledgeable, tour guide, Andy. He provided a delicious cheese tray to go with the wine on the first stop. Thank you Hillbrook Inn for a wonderful weekend!


Great overnight

4,4 su novembre 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed the night here for a belated anniversary getaway. We had a very nice time. The service was great and the staff was very welcoming. We decided not to eat dinner at the Inn, which turned out to be a mistake since almost all of the restaurants in town were closed on a Sunday night. We did have breakfast at the Inn and it was delicious. The I-pad in the room was a nice touch.


Anniversary Stay

4,2 su novembre 17, 2014

Our stay didn't last long enough. We could've easily stayed another couple days. The staff was so accommodating and helpful, the food was superb, the rooms were comfy and clean and there was plenty to do in the area is you are the get up and go type. We are looking forward to our next stay!


beyond expectations

5 su novembre 16, 2014

Every aspect of my stay...people...food...services were beyond my expectations. Outstanding in every way.


A beautiful and relaxing stay!

4,8 su novembre 14, 2014

My husband and I went for an overnight get-away. I got a massage, which was wonderful, and so convenient because the spa is located right on the property. Staff was helpful and professional and the inn is just beautiful. We also did the 5 course dinner onsite and it was superb. It was so nice to have wine and after-dinner drinks and not worry about having to drive!


Relaxation to a "T"

5 su novembre 12, 2014

Dinner was amazing. The room was beautiful. The property was wonderful. The staff was welcoming and hospitable. We left feeling completely relaxed after a night here and can't wait to come back! I've already convinced friends to book a trip for their 8th wedding anniversary!


Great spot for a peaceful getaway

4,6 su novembre 09, 2014

Amazing dining and very friendly staff. Just as idyllic as had hoped it to be


Memorable and Relaxing

4,6 su novembre 07, 2014

Very classy and elegant Inn ! Our suite was very spacious, very nicely appointed and comfortable. We stayed in the Farmhouse, Sunset suite which was very nice especially the French doors off the bedroom which gave us easy access to the back deck. Totally enjoyed the beautiful updated kitchen and lovely dining room. It was a real treat having all the extra space in which to roam. The only recommendation that I would have is to definitely increase the Lightning in the Sunset Suite's living room with the use of a few small table lights and corner lights. This would really create a lot more ambiance and warmth in that room ! Thanks, Ann


Great Everything Except for the Food

4,4 su novembre 05, 2014

My husband and I just took our fifth trip to Hillbrook. The room was lovely, the grounds were lovely, the staff was wonderful, and we had a great time. However, the food (we had two breakfasts and one dinner) was not as good as the other times that we were there. The breakfasts, both of them, lacked any real flavor (one of the starters at breakfast was actually quite gross - fruit with a sort of toothpaste flavored gel on top) and the dinner was okay, but not as good as before. But, everything else was very nice. The room we were in was in very good condition and I am sure we will be back.


Amazing location and outstanding service

3,6 su novembre 04, 2014

The service is the best thing about coming here. Lori, Ricardo and the rest made us feel comfortable and like the really cared about us. I recommend it to anyone.


More of a resort than a bed and breakfast

4,0 su novembre 03, 2014

My wife and I were just looking for a quiet bed and breakfast for our anniversary weekend, and found a coupon to Hillbrook, which had good reviews. We were not disappointed and had a good time. Perhaps I didn't do enough research, but was a little surprised at the number of options - this clearly appears to be a venue gearing up to be more of a resort than just a bed and breakfast (not a bad thing, obviously). We skipped the five-course dinner, but the breakfast the next morning was very good.


Wonderful getaway!

4,8 su ottobre 29, 2014

My husband and I visited Hillbrook Inn for a weekend "babymoon" for rest and relaxation. Our stay was wonderful--we stayed in a suite at the Hawthorne and the room was beautiful with a nice sitting area with a fireplace. The grounds at the Hawthorne and the main house were quiet and serene, and great for taking a stroll. We also visited the spa for massages and facials. I had Debbie for a prenatal massage, and she was excellent. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic. We had filet mignon for dinner and one morning there was creme brulee French toast. Overall, our stay was amazing, and we would definitely recommend this Inn. We travel quite a bit and are not "wowed" very easily, and Hillbrook really exceeded our expectations. It's also a bonus that the Inn is only one hour and ten minutes from the DC metro area. We are planning to return!


Thank you

4,4 su ottobre 28, 2014

We were delayed and could not make our dinner reservations. When we called the staff was amazing. They fixed a special meal when we got there and treated us like family. We were very impressed.


First visit to Hillbrook Inn & Spa

5 su ottobre 27, 2014

The staff were very accommodating and the food was truly memorable.


We will be back!

5 su ottobre 24, 2014

This was our first time at this B&B and driving up you would think you are in a Thomas Kinkade painting! The grounds and B&B are absolutely beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We plan on this being our yearly Anniversary spot!


Amazing stay!

5 su ottobre 21, 2014

Enjoyed our stay ... couples massage, fabulous dinner & wine, beautiful surroundings with great service! Breakfast was delicious too... WE WILL BE BACK! ;)


Relaxing Getaway

5 su ottobre 17, 2014

Great place to enjoy good food,have a relaxing massage and just unwind


Summit suite

4,4 su ottobre 17, 2014

Room is beautiful. Everything is new and extremely clean.


2 night getaway

5 su ottobre 14, 2014

My husband and I spent two weeknights in the Fall cottage with our two dogs. The weather was perfect, the grounds are beautiful. We saw plenty of deer who were content to share their space with us. The room was cozy and quiet. The food was beyond five stars as was the staff. We felt relaxed and pampered. Thank you so much ¿¿


hillbrook

4,2 su ottobre 10, 2014

Room and B&B location well outstanding, the meals which included two breakfasts and a five course dinner were phenomenal! Highly recommend the B&B sponsored wine tour package.


Nice place, a little overpriced.

2,6 su ottobre 07, 2014

We stayed in a suite for one night and had the 3-course dinner. I knew that the house was not part of the main house, but did not realize it was off site. Not a big deal, since it was less than 5 minutes away. There's no menu for dinner ahead of time. The room was nice, although I would have expected a tub like that in the bathroom to have jets. A mini fridge would go a long way, too. Dinner was good, but overpriced for what we got. If we had it to do over again, we would have found a restaurant. All in all, we had generally a good time, but we probably wouldn't go back.


HILLBROOK INN AND SPA

3,2 su ottobre 06, 2014

Gorgeous well kept grounds, very private and surrounded by horse farms. Charming, clean rooms, some in late 18th century original house. Very good food and nice touches and amenities. Excellent service. Extensive spa offerings. Inn is about 1 hour and 10 minutes from Capitol Hill, DC (door to door).


Excellent service, delicious breakfast

3,8 su ottobre 02, 2014

My fiance and I enjoyed our weekend getaway here. We were greeted right away and everyone who worked there is very friendly! The property is beautiful, the Inn is cozy, and nature was all around us (we saw so many deer)! The bad part about all the nature around us is that it must have been stink bug season....when we arrived, we saw several stink bugs surrounding our door, many of which got into our room. I understand this is uncontrollable, but I wish there was some type of spray or pre-removal. The spa was very relaxing. We really enjoyed our breakfast (3-course meal) and the chef visited us at the end of the meal. Overall, a great stay in West Virginia


Wonderful Place to Stay In

5 su ottobre 01, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The place was beautiful, the people is nice, and the food is great.


Very expensive!

3,0 su settembre 30, 2014

The setting is beautiful. The service is great. The prices are over the top! Rooms in the main building are very small. Great place if you want a peace and quite but be prepared to pay to dollar for it.


Meals were excellent

4,4 su settembre 30, 2014

Very enjoyable


Truly hit the mark.

4,2 su settembre 29, 2014

what a wonderful place, with even more wonderful service; bending over backwards to assist our any/every need. Stupid us, supposedly couldn't figure out how to start the in-room Keurig, and my wife was freaking out because she forgot her razor. anyways, we called, service at the front door with a brand new razor, started the keurig, all within about three minutes. no kidding.


Great Stay

3,6 su settembre 29, 2014

The bed and breakfast was great. A little break away from the city life. Would highly recommend the dinning option.


Lovely weekend getaway

4,0 su settembre 28, 2014

We booked our stay at Hillbrook through Living Social. We loved the property and enjoyed our stay in the main house. We did not get a chance to take advantage of the spa or dine with them on Saturday night - so we have booked another stay in December for a nice getaway in the middle of the holidays. We upgraded to a cottage so we can take our dog with us. I believe this will be a regular getaway for us.


A late summer visit

4,6 su settembre 22, 2014

This was an incredible experience. The inn has a history that the friendly staff provided. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the rooms are excellent. The food experience was outstanding to say the least. I would not hesitate to visit this inn again, even if it meant a substantial detour. It is also an end-point destination.


Wonderful property, but below average value

2,8 su settembre 22, 2014

Wonderful property, where guests are free to roam about. Rooms are clean and spacious, and the service is impeccable. Food was nothing special, considering that the website mentions that they offer a fine dining experience. Although a nice place, it's not necessarily a great value for the money spent though.


Great time all around!

5 su settembre 16, 2014

Everything about this hotel was amazing. The grounds were lush and serene and the room (Sunrise Suite) was impeccable. We had the 3 course dinner which was delicious and the customer service was five stars. We will definitely be back for a return visit!


One night stay

4,2 su settembre 15, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Our room, The Serenity, exceeded our expectations.The main house is absolutely beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Dinner was good but did not meet my expectations. Overall we had a wonderful stay.


Beautiful surroundings, great service

4,6 su settembre 12, 2014

We spent the night at the Hillbrook after a day of hiking around Harper's Ferry. The service and accommodations were excellent. We stayed in the Overlook room, which was snug but comfortable. Massages at the spa were excellent, as was the breakfast. Our entire experience was perfectly relaxing.


Hillbrook Getaway

4,6 su settembre 11, 2014

Andy was very personable and polite. Would definitely return. We did not have dinner, but will most definitely plan on it for our next visit as the breakfast was fabulous. Beautiful grounds and rooms--cozy and romantic--just what we were looking for--have already recommended Hillbrook to our friends.


English Countryside Set In West Virginia

4,8 su settembre 11, 2014

We stayed in the main house suite and it blew our minds. The rooms are fabulously decorated and compliment the entire house. This means no TVs in the room, but you do have an iPad, fully charged, for you to use if you so desire entertainment. The coffee was great with in room Keurig and up-to-date bathroom amenities. Breakfast was mind blowing. Each day's breakfast is different and crafted for the exact amount of guests, so this ensures freshness and quality, which is through the room. I promise you: you've never had a breakfast this incredible. Two courses each morning, delicious coffee, and a spectacular view of the grounds. Worth a booking here again JUST for the breakfast experience. Staff were attentive and ready to please. The house and grounds are meticulous and as a couple who've spent years in England, this entire place could have been plucked from the English countryside and plopped on our lap. A true gem on the East Coast that cannot be missed. An absolute dream to treat your very special loved one.


Hillbrook - McCartney

5 su settembre 11, 2014

Everything was extremely well done. We will stay there again!


Excellent stay - I'll certainly be back

4,8 su settembre 09, 2014

Wonderful night away. The service was fantastic and the Inn is so pleasant. Food was excellent!


WONDERFUL RELAXING GETAWAY

4,8 su settembre 06, 2014

We stayed in the Bamford Suite…..lovely, clean, comfortable and very, very spacious. 2 seating areas, plus a private covered patio. Make time to sit outside with coffee or a cocktail. You have your own private driveway which was so convenient. I definitely will be back in the winter. The trees with the snow will look awesome. Christopher greets you with a glass of Prosecco. He is very warm and welcoming. Ask him questions about the inn, the history is interesting…….


Quiet, Charming, Historic Inn

5 su settembre 04, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night, and were more than satisfied. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly, knowledgeable and set a great tone for the trip. The main building and grounds have a lot of history which add to the beauty of it all. We stayed in the Farmhouse about 2 miles away from the main building. The security on the building was fantastic, the room was clean, spacious, and more than what we hoped for. I would absolutely stay here again, and have already recommended it to friends and family.


Great time celebrating

4,4 su settembre 03, 2014

Hillbrook Inn was a very pleasant surprise within 2 hours of Washington D.C. The Inn is quite charming and looks like house out of a Thomas Kinkade painting. The rooms were very clean plus the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location was great too. We were able to hike and paddleboard at Harpers Ferry in the morning. Then we were close enough to visit one of the many vineyard in the area that afternoon. It was a great stay and we hope to come back.


Exceptional

5 su agosto 28, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Hillbrook Inn twice this year and cannot wait to go back again. The rooms are perfect, the staff is amazing, and the meals are nothing short of delicious and filling. In our most recent visit, we made a joke to the staff about me enjoying bacon and the next day during breakfast they gave us a special plate to enjoy. It's the little touches that make the biggest difference and their attention to detail is bar none the best! Thanks again!!


Hillbrook-Awesome!

4,0 su agosto 28, 2014

Great location & best food I have had in a long, long time!


Beautiful B&B - at many levels

3,8 su agosto 28, 2014

Staff were truly inviting. Food was excellent. Property is amazing


Lovely, lovely, lovely!

4,8 su agosto 27, 2014

I have been checking this place on the internet for a while! Finally I used my husbands birthday as an excuse to get away for the weekend at this lovely place. I loved that I was able to book everything I wanted through their friendly website. Staff followed up with a phone call to confirm my booking and special requests. We were very pleased with the cooking class we took given by chef Roselyn. She was able to accommodate our request (combination of knife skills and grilling class.) the five course diner was delicious! You can tell the chef really puts a lot of care and attention to detail when planning these diners. The atmosphere at the dining room is lovely and our waitress was very friendly -- I believe her name was Becky. The room was very clean, comfy and cozy! We stayed at the summer cottage. Worth the money and hope to be back soon!


Stay at Hillbrook

4,2 su agosto 27, 2014

First time in the Farmhouse and it was lovely, private, roomy and the macaroons left for guests were to die for. The front porch views of the orchard gave one a real sense of being away from it all.


Rich's Review

5 su agosto 27, 2014

My wife and I have visited Hillbrook Inn multiple times and continue to find reasons to return. This was our first time in the Bamford room which is now our favorite room. The staff was attentive and friendly as usual(another thing that keeps us coming back. We did not have dinner this time but the breakfast was awesome Our only request is usually for breakfast is bacon and as usually, they did not disappoint.


Really nice Inn

5 su agosto 23, 2014

A very nice, well-maintained property with outstanding attention to service detail. A great place to unwind for a getaway if you are in the area. The Wine Tour was especially enjoyable. The breakfast was beyond the normal B&B fare. Thanks, to Ed (for a great wine tour), Andy (for a smooth check-in), and Justin (food). A strong recommend!


Great little getaway!

4,6 su agosto 22, 2014

Beautiful grounds, amazing staff and a very romantic location for a quick getaway. My husband and I enjoyed the charm and warmth of the main house. The food was delicious and I was happy to see the accommodated my allergies.


Anniversary weekend

3,6 su agosto 19, 2014

The property was so much better in person , it was such a great find . One of the staff took the time to share a bit of the B&B's history which was an added bonus.


Charming Elegant Inn

4,8 su agosto 12, 2014

We cannot say enough about this wonderful inn. It is not only beautiful with lovely grounds to explore, but the rooms and service are outstanding. We stayed in a cottage room that was spacious, comfortable and spotless. The staff was accommodating and friendly and the food at the restaurant was wonderful (the wine pairings were great too). We are already planning our return trip.


Great Getaway

4,4 su agosto 12, 2014

Absolutely lovely property. Great getaway, with a wonderful dinner. Pricey but worth it.


Very nice staff, beautiful grounds

4,0 su agosto 09, 2014

Would definitely stay here again. The power was out for about 2 hours our first night, and they allowed us to move to another room. We actually couldn't find the other place, and they graciously offered to drive us over there. However, by the time we got to the main house, the power was back on!! After we checked out, the hotel still gave us a credit toward a future stay!! Very nice staff!!!


Wonderful 2 day getaway

4,8 su agosto 08, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Sunset Suite in the Farmhouse and had the 3 course dinner. The property is absolutely beautiful (the main building looks like it's out of a fairytale). The staff and service here are phenomenal. In particular, Ricardo's warm personality made us feel just at home upon check in and both Marci and Bobbi's follow up to our requests were handled with a smile and a very high level of service. The first evening we were there, a nasty storm blew through and knocked out power to the property, both the staff and the owner herself, went above and beyond in this situation that was beyond their control. You could really tell, they cared about our experience and comfort. Justin was the chef for dinner that night and everything was very, very good. The dining room is intimate, romantic and the ease of having dinner there added to the relaxed evening we were looking for. I was a little nervous about a pre-fixed menu, as I am a bit of a picky eater, but everything was delicious and there was nothing that I didn't try. In addition, the meal starts right away so you aren't waiting 20 minutes for the first course..it was just lovely. Wonderful...Wonderful...Wonderful...can't wait to visit again!


Worthy of a Reccommendation

4,2 su agosto 06, 2014

Great weekend get away and place to celebrate for a special occasion. We went in the summer, would also be cozy in the winter. Beautiful grounds.


Great Place

5 su agosto 01, 2014

We stayed in the Sunset Room in the Farmhouse. Everything was so beautiful- the room, the grounds. Everyone we met who worked here was very friendly as were the other guests we met. The main grounds are really large and you can wander around them or find a quiet place to read, bird watch or just relax. Rooms were clean, the farmhouse and the main house were clean. We didn't have dinner here, but the breakfasts were filling and delicious. We came on a Living Social deal so it was a good value- would have been too expensive for us at regular prices and we probably would never have come.


Nice place

4,2 su agosto 01, 2014

Service was great, rooms very clean , staff very friendly. This is the place if you want peace and quite, We did not do dinner to pricey. Stayed in farmhouse, did not expected to be so far away from main house. I would recommend for a peaceful getaway.


On a Wing and a Prayer

5 su agosto 01, 2014

We visited Hillbrook Inn to celebrate my retirement from teaching. We arrived late because of car troubles (broken water pump) but we hobbled on in feeling just as broken as the car.The very perceptive staff set to work right away putting us at ease and calming our nerves. Within a few minutes we felt quite at home. We are completely indebted to Hillbrook Inn.


Dream getaway

4,4 su luglio 29, 2014

I kidnapped my husband for a quick weekend getaway at Hillbrook Inn. The grounds and the lodge are both beautiful and incredibly picturesque--they look like something straight out of a fairy tale. One of our favorite things was just to swing on a hammock under the trees--the weather was perfect, with sunshine breaking through the foliage and a soft breeze. Our room (the Overlook) was lovely--impeccable, and very inviting. We were able to hear the chattering of our neighbors, which was a bit disturbing, and WiFi didn't reach our room, but other than that the room was comfortable in every way. The bathroom is small, but super cute and more than adequate. As for dining, I was nervous about booking the fixed-menu dinner because my husband is kind of a picky eater. BUT, all the wonderful reviews from everyone else convinced me to splurge on the 5-course dinner, and it did not disappoint! The chef kept in mind all of mu husband's dislikes, and everything that was brought to our table was unique (watermelon gazpacho), exciting (salmon over gnocchi with fresh tomato ragu), and absolutely delicious (corn-potato bisque, NY strip steak made to perfection)! Both my husband and I oh-ed and ah-ed about each course. It was a truly unique experience, and I hope very much we will be able to do it again! Breakfast the next day was also delicious. Staff was super friendly. Check-in and check-out were very quick and easy, and the welcome drink was delicious too! We will surely be back!!!


Simply Lovely

4,6 su luglio 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Hillbrook Inn to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We ordered the five-course meal both nights and it did not disappoint. We stayed in the South Suite at the Hawthorne House which was absolutely beautiful and extremely comfortable. The only drawback was having to drive to get to the Inn for dinner and breakfast, we felt just a tad isolated from the Inn even though the Hawthorne House was gorgeous. Price point for the Inn is expensive but we feel as though we got what we paid for so that is why it met our expectations. We plan to go again sometime but will ask to stay in one of the cottages on the Inn's property, they are adorable.


Great Place!!

5 su luglio 25, 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B and it was wonderful. The dinner was exquisite and so was the service. The breakfast is 2 courses and just the right size. There is a professional chef preparing the meals, which is an extra bonus above other B&Bs. We were given a tour when we arrived, along with a short history lesson about the property. The atmosphere is to die for. I simply loved it. Unfortunately, for me, I am a light sleeper, so sleeping under people does not work for me. My husband reminded me that it was not a hotel, it's a house and the noises one would hear in a home are the same one would hear in another house. We were under the innkeeper and it seemed that he did not sleep. There were a lot of things dropping on the floor. Next time I will take a sound machine. Next time, we are going to stay in the cottages, which do not have an upper floor, I think.


Hillbrook Inn

5 su luglio 15, 2014

Hillbrook Inn is my favorite spot in the DC area. Charming place, good service and good food


Relaxing Little Inn

4,0 su luglio 15, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a very nice little getaway at this Inn. The food was spectacular, I would highly recommend planning to eat at least one dinner at the Inn! The room was small and a bit difficult to keep cool, but was otherwise very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend!


Relaxing Retreat

4,6 su luglio 08, 2014

This was our second Hillbrook stay, this time in the farmhouse (previously Hawthorne). The service and food were just as superb as before and the sunrise suite was delightful - I daresay even a bit more comfortable than last year! Can't wait to come back.


Looks as great as the pictures!

4,0 su luglio 03, 2014

My fiance and I bought a living social deal for a one night stay and I must say we were pleasantly surprised. The place is really as beautiful (if not more beautifu) than the pictures and you could feel the history in the house. I also got a massage at the spa and it was very good. The thing we did not like was the room/bed. We stayed in The Pointe and the room was really small, but I didn't mind that too much. What bothered my fiance a lot was that the head of the bed was slanted downwards (by a lot) and it felt really weird to sleep on it. It felt like your head was lower than your feet. Other than that, I definitely recommend!


The perfect weekend getaway spot!

4,8 su luglio 03, 2014

Everything was amazing! ...From our beautiful and private Hawthorn House room, to our relaxing massages at the spa, to our meals at the main house! I can't say enough good things about our stay!


Hillbrook Inn

3,8 su luglio 03, 2014

The food and service are great. The grounds are outstanding!


Very quaint with a real fine dining experience

4,6 su luglio 03, 2014

This is a real gem, and only about 1 hour from the DC area. It's a quiet B&B with a charming main house and a few cottages scattered around the property. Unless you need a large room or suite, the house rooms are very nice and cozy. Being in the main house is also convenient for breakfast and dinner. You must plan to have at least one of your dinners there. There's no menu and the chef prepared 5 dishes (or 3 depending on the night of the week - check the B&B for details), and each one was a delight. Some of the best spinach, potato au gratin and steak I've had. The broccoli soup was so good it actually tasted more like a potato leak soup with the broccoli flavor as a backdrop. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable .


Great get away

4,6 su giugno 30, 2014

An amazing trip for our anniversary. The food was outstanding and the service was top notch. Lovely inn!


Hillbrook Getaway

4,8 su giugno 30, 2014

Our stay was wonderful at Hillbrook! We will definitely be making a trip back. The food was great and we had awesome service. The prenatal massage was fantastic as well.


Wonderful Experience

4,8 su giugno 24, 2014

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Gorgeous grounds and awesome spa. Wonderful romantic getaway!


Anniversary in Summer Cottage

5 su giugno 10, 2014

We stayed at the Summer Cottage which was beautiful. We enjoyed the closeness to the main house while still having the privacy of being by ourselves. The food and service was outstanding and the staff were incredible. We took advantage of the Wine Tour package an enjoyed the convenience and getting back in time for dinner. We will definitely be coming back.


Rustic, historic B&B

3,4 su giugno 05, 2014

Pleasant staff. Hot water deficiency…had to move to a different room. A number of stink bugs in the second room. I guess "bugs" are expected in an older B&B. Nice breakfast but almost forgot the bacon. An interesting experience…not all that bad.


Quick Anniversary get-a-way

5 su maggio 28, 2014

I believe this was about our 7th or 8th time here. As always, everything was perfect. Never disappointed. The dinner was extraordinary as usual. The breakfast has always been good but this time they really stepped it up. It ranked right up there with dinner. In fact, I think it was my favorite part this stay. We'll definitely return.


Newbies to B&B's

4,6 su maggio 20, 2014

We had never been to a B&B and we were very pleased with how wonderful of a time we had at Hillbroook Inn. We had decided to go else where for dinner, but later regretted missing out on the wonderful food. Breakfast was amazing! And the room we stayed in was wonderful with a tub, sauna and shower for 2. The bed was extremely comfortable. Over all it was a great night! We will be doing it again!


Return to a Little Bit of Normandy

5 su maggio 19, 2014

My wife and I returned once again to Hillbrook to celebrate our wedding anniversary. As I have reported in other forums, the service and attention to detail at Hillbrok continues to be outstanding. We stayed on our favorite suite, the Bamford Suite, which was once the master suite for General Bamford. The five-course dinner was excellent-Chef Justin continues to delight the palate and works very hard to meet dietary restrictions for those individuals who make such requests. We will return soon- my birthday is coming up!


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

5 su maggio 19, 2014

Hawthorn has a beautiful setting, with apple orchards on both sides and beautifully landscaped grounds made it a beautiful and peaceful place to spend the night.


Customer Service - The Best of Everything

5 su maggio 09, 2014

The food and atmosphere was superb. Customer service and satisfaction is the goal of Hillbrook. Thanks for a wonderful time!


Anniversary Getaway

4,2 su maggio 03, 2014

First time we've stayed at a B&B with multiple buildings. Hawthrone was a few miles away from the Hillbrook. Normally interaction with innkeepers did not occur. This made it feel more like a hotel than a B&B. Very private and quiet and an outstanding room. Bed was fantastic. Pool table in basement was an extra. Would definitely consider staying there again.


Incredible Peaceful Getaway

4,8 su aprile 28, 2014

This was the first B&B my wife and I stayed at and was very impressed by everything. We were expecting old/not as nice but we were pleasantly surprised by everything from the grounds, to the room, to the nicely detailed breakfast. We would definitely come back here. I left an article of clothing and they offered to ship it back. There was a problem with our initial room and they upgraded us before we even arrived. Just top notch.


Hillbrook

4,6 su aprile 28, 2014

The Hillbrook Inn and Spa was wonderful. The staff was incredible and we felt right at home. The food was prepared perfectly and the spa was wonderful.


Worth every dollar!!!

5 su aprile 01, 2014

We arrived at 4:00 and by 8:30, without even sleeping in our room yet...it was worth the money. The spa, the hospitality, the 5 course meal, the service & chef...amazing!!! Serenity suite offers a lot of beauty & privacy. The property is immaculate and gorgeous! Revisiting for sure!


Retirement getaway!

5 su marzo 07, 2014

My husband retired and wanted to spend his first week off in a quiet B and B. We have stayed at quite a few Select Registry properties but none with the charm of Hillbrook. We arrive the night before a snow storm was predicted and we enjoyed every minute of being snowed in! The staff could not have been more accommodating. We enjoyed the five course meals on two evenings of our 4 night stay. Both meals were excellent. We brought our puppy and I know he had as much fun roaming the property as we did. There were deer, geese, ducks, heron, quail, and more! The sun rise was beautiful from the Winter cottage. Thanks to both the breakfast and dinner chiefs. Our sincere compliments to Bobbie and Laurie for making us feel so welcomed. We will be back!


Johns review

4,8 su novembre 11, 2013

We celebrated my wife's birthday in the fall cottage. Things were perfect. The inn secured a delicious birthday cake for Dianna and the filet mignon was the best I have ever had! Highly recommend the inn to anyone looking to celebrate a special event.


Best ever country inn

5 su ottobre 14, 2013

My experience with Hillbrook was excellent. I cannot say enough about the perfection of the setting, the decor of our room, the excellent spa and wonderful breakfast. This is a trip we will make again, and pass along to our friends.


We had the most romantic getaway thanks to the Hillbrook!

5 su luglio 29, 2013

We were very pleased with the beautiful room and excellent service at the Hillbrook. We got to stay in the "Point" and it was very clean, comfortable and romantic. The food is out of this world, amazing! We would love to go back when we get the chance.


Hillbrook was Fantastic!

5 su luglio 24, 2013

Everything about our stay there was wonderful and just what we needed to relax. The room was beautiful, the bed was soft and clean, the soaking tub was heavenly, the inside decor was warm and cozy and the apple orchard was gorgeous. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast they provided was to die for. There aren't many places I've stayed that left this impression on me. I highly recommend staying there and keep looking for an excuse to go West Va, just so I can stay there again.


Absolutely beautiful

5 su luglio 24, 2013

We found this Inn while scanning the Internet for places to stay around Charles Town, WV. The price was high for us but we wanted something different and needed palace that was Dog friendly. Finally said let's do it it looks wonderful, and, It Was. It was quit, peaceful, a beautiful park like setting. If we are ever back in that area we will definatly try to stay here again. The Staff was great!! Thank you all at Hillbrook Inn for a wonderful overnight stay. J. Williams, salina Ks


Christmas Gift

4,2 su luglio 24, 2013

Our daughter gave us a trip to Hillbrook as a present. We really enjoyed our too brief stay and hope to return in the future. If you are a history buff this is a great location. And after a day of exploring the dining is wonderful. Food was delicious and the staff very friendly. Thanks .


A beautiful and relaxing place to stay

4,0 su luglio 09, 2013

Lovely room, with king bed and sitting area, which was beautifully furnished. High quality linens, towels and toiletries. Spacious modern bathroom. A wonderful place to stay.


A perfect wedding day!

5 su maggio 08, 2013

I hosted my wedding reception at the Hillbrook Inn, and I could not have asked for a more beautiful location, more helpful staff, or a better experience overall. During the planning process, the owners were detail-oriented, prompt in answering questions, and always honest about things they could or could not accommodate with helpful suggestions for working around any issues that came up. It's a small, family owned and operated inn, and they work very hard to make sure no details slip through the cracks, that everything goes smoothly, and that all the guests are having a great time (they even drove my 85 year old grandmother to the side entrance in a golf cart when she couldn't navigate the stone walkway). On the big day, the Hillbrook staff kept track of everything (and kept everything on time!), so I could just relax and enjoy the day. And the food was amazing (even this NYC foodie was extremely impressed!). They have a fantastic chef, and the guests were all raving about how delicious their meals were. The main house is a beautiful and charming structure with eclectic antique furnishings--the perfect atmosphere for my small, vintage-inspired wedding. The rooms are luxurious, and each one is unique. Plus, the inn is surrounded by natural beauty: flowers, trees, ponds with turtles swimming in them--the location is idyllic. Thanks to the Hillbrook, it was a care-free, romantic, and happy day. My husband and I will definitely be back for a romantic getaway on our anniversary next year!


Great Getaway, Pleaseant Surprise

4,6 su aprile 01, 2013

I had arranged a visit here on a short notice. I was a bit skeptical I'll admit. I had never been to a B&B before. We stayed at the Serenity Suite which was fantastic. Very quiet, peaceful, and cozy. Even has it's own sauna! The Inn and grounds itself were also very nice. We opted for the 5 course dinner one night and every course was delicious. Breakfast was also very nice. My fiance utilized the onsite spa and was very happy with it as well. The Inn itself was also close to Charles Town and we visited Harper's Ferry too. All and all, a great time! My only issue was that upon returning to our room one afternoon we found a very large number of stinkbugs inside it. We never opened the windows but I believe they got in through them somehow. It appears the window screens were not secure and the bugs found a way inside. I won't knock the place too much for mother nature though. The room itself was still fantastic but I suggest having the outer window screens checked to ensure that insects don't get in that way.


Suprise getaway for my boyfriend

5 su marzo 17, 2013

I was looking for a quiet place for a romantic getaway that was close to home. Hillbrook Inn came highly recommended and it lived up to all the positive reviews. After I made the reservation I received a personal e-mail from the staff and was able to make some additional requests for our stay. The staff greeted us immediately upon arrival and offered us a hot beverage and snack while we checked in. We were given a tour of the inn and personally shown to our room. The fireplace in our room made it very cozy and romantic. Dinner was absolutely devine - kudos to the chef. I highly recommend Hillbrook Inn - we will be returning in warmer weather for a longer stay to take advantage of the grounds and see the surrounding area.


A night away from reality

4,6 su novembre 29, 2012

We took a night away from reality, this was our first stay at a bed & breakfast and it couldn't have been better. The house and property were beautiful and the staff was over the top helpful to make our stay memorable. We stayed in the Bamford Suite, it felt like a cozy country home. Thank you Hillbrook, we will be back

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your kind words and visit to the Hillbrook! It was an honor to share our property with you, for your first bed and breakfast experience. We look forward to seeing you in the future.


Great stay

4,6 su novembre 05, 2012

This is about the 5th time my wife and I have stayed at Hillbrook and it's been a wonderful experience each time. The staff is great, the rooms are perfect and the food is delicious. The only negative experience of mine was the most recent stay when I left some clothing in the closet and they have yet to be recovered. I'm not really going to blame Hillbrook for this because I am the one stupid enough to leave them, but considering I called within 6 hours of checking out to inform them I had left clothing and they were still lost is unfortunate.

Risposta del proprietario
We are happy that you visited Hillbrook and continuously come back for visits. It is always nice to spend time with our guests. I am sorry to hear about the clothes, as stated we apologize in the delay in getting them back to you. The staff member that found them left for a family emergency, and it took us a bit to locate them. We appreciate your patience and understanding heart as always! We hope you have a wonderful day and look forward to visiting with you in the future.


Charming getaway location, expensive

3,2 su ottobre 14, 2012

Lovely accomodations in one of the cottages. Main lodge is quaint, dinner was good, but not outstanding, breakfast was OK. Grounds are rustic, not well groomed, and atmosphere was spoiled by noise from the race track several miles away. Nice, relaxing getaway, but way overpriced! We had a gift certificate that covered part of the cost. Would not have stayed here if we had to pay the full cost. This is not a 5 star resort (although their weekend rates would lead you to believe they are).

Risposta del proprietario
I am sorry that you felt that way during your visit! I appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to our Inn. I will also share your experience with our staff!


hillbrook exceptional

4,4 su settembre 03, 2012

More impressive in person than the pictures. Quiet and secluded but still close enough."

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for the kind comment about the photographs! I also agree we are quiet and secluded but near enough to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Enjoy the day!


Beautiful Getaway

5 su agosto 27, 2012

Hillbrook exceeded my expectations! The staff were so kind and made us feel right at home. The grounds were beautiful and secluded. Wished we could have stayed longer! The grounds were beautiful and secluded. Wished we could have stayed longer! The rooms were beautiful and the food superb.


Great weekend getaway!

4,0 su agosto 07, 2012

Stayed in the Snuggery. As the name implies, it is snug. However, my wife and I found it very comfortable and cozy. The grounds are beautiful and the house unique. Breakfast is excellent, and very well prepared. We "stayed in" our first night and had dinner at the Inn. It is not inexpensive, but the food was superb and the wine pairing generous. The chef goes out of her way to accomodate food preferences. My wife utilized the spa services and was very happy with her massage and facial. The Inn is close to Harper's Ferry for a great day trip and the casino if you want to try your luck. We would definitely return.

Risposta del proprietario
We are happy that you enjoyed the Hillbrook Inn. We are glad to hear that you found the snuggery to be comfortable and cozy. In addition, we enjoyed hearing about your stay and dining experience. I will advise our Executive Chef that you appreciated her going out of her way to accommodate your dietary restrictions. We look forward to your return and hope you have a wonderful day!


A Gem An Hour From Home

5 su maggio 03, 2012

Decided on this spur of the moment get-away mainly based on the convenient location for a week day overnigh stay. What a lovely surprise awaited us! The Inn is outstanding in all respects. We have shared our experience with many others and plan to return both as a couple as well as a future "Girl's Trip".

Risposta del proprietario
I am glad to hear that you decided to escape at the spur of the moment and we were able to accommodate you! We love sharing the Inn with others and creating memorable experiences such as yours. We look forward to the “girls escape weekend” and look forward to all future visits.


22nd Anniversary Experience to Remember

5 su novembre 07, 2011

We were celebrating our anniversary and thought we would "create a memory" in the slow lane. We are constantly moving and over-booked so we decided to take an experience in the country, as opposed to the fast and busy city life. It was a glorious experience taking in the peace and quiet of God's creation. A picture perfect place to enjoy the quiet and finer things in life! Staff and accommodations are supreme! We are already looking forward to our next stay.


Historical

5 su ottobre 03, 2011

I have never stayed in a nicer B&B. We had wonderful hosts, great breakfast, soda anytime we wanted, and homemade pies to choose from when we came home from a day out sight seeing. Tyler is a great cook, Todd was so infromational about the history of the home and area, the dogs were dear and the cats a plus. Llamas and alpacas in the field and great wool gloves, sock, seaters, teddybears, slipper scarves and lots of jelly, and different syrups were just a few of the items one could purchase. They have a mystery weekend that you can rent the entire 7000 sq feet and have a roaring great time. Thanks Todd and Tyler, The Shultz's from Van Wert, Ohio


A Great Spot in Charlestown

5 su agosto 11, 2011

We recently spent the weekend at the Hillbrook Inn, what a treat! The overall experience was just what we were looking for, a wonderful cozy inn with beautiful surroundings, friendly staff, and a warm atmosphere. The food was to die for! You HAVE TO do their dinner when you are there, it was superb! Great place for a weekend get away, can't wait to return!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your kind comment! It was a pleasure to share the Hillbrook Inn with you and I will share with the staff that you felt it was a "warm atmosphere and the food was to die for". We look forward to seeing you in the future!


A beautiful West Virginia B&B!

5 su aprile 27, 2011

If you are in the Charles Town/Harper's Ferry area and you want the best, check out the Hillbrook Inn. I stayed there just a few weeks ago and found this to be an amazing property. The separate cottage rooms, which I stayed in are spacious and have comfy beds, whirlpool tubs and anything else you need for a romantic getaway. The property itself was my favorite part of the trip. It is a gorgeous estate and the main house transports you to a whole other place and time. Great Breakfasts, Great Staff & a great location to explore the area.

Risposta del proprietario
It was an honor to have you at the Hillbrook Inn! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, rooms and all we have to offer. The property is a special place to us and it is nice to hear that it was your favorite part of the trip. Now that everything is blooming it is even more beautiful...and we even have our first gosling on the property. We look forward to visiting with you in the future and hope you have a wonderful day!


The Hillbrook, perfect!

5 su gennaio 25, 2011

I stayed at the Hillbrook in the Bamford Suite for 3 nights, beautiful suite, the chairs so comfortable, wonderful fireplace, lovely bathroom. The owner is so lovely, she was accommodating and pleasant in a way that was most definitely genuine. Her staff is truly perfection. The breakfast dining was intimate, often I have felt at B&B's that I must sit with other guests, but at the Hillbrook, tables are arranged individually, or by couple, etc... the food was only what I would request. Dinner in the evening was elegant, creative, the Chef was attentive, innovative (I a vegetarian and spouse requesting vegan). Truly a flawless experience! - Amy

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Amy, Thank you for all your kind words. It was truly an honor to share Hillbrook with you both. I am happy you enjoyed the chairs in the Bamford Suite, they are personally one of my favorites. The chairs are special to me because my Aunt bought them for me as a Christmas gift the year we bought the Inn. I am also happy to hear that our Executive Chef Christine Hale was able to accommodate your dietary needs. We look forward to seeing you in the future and hope you have a wonderful new year filled with a little adventure and a lot relaxation!


A Delightful Retreat

4,4 su ottobre 29, 2010

Our stay at Hillbrook was thoroughly delightful. My sister and I took my mom there as a 70th birthday present and we all fell in love with the inn, the location, and all the unique decorations. It's a beautiful building and has fantastic character. Our room had lovely views of the grounds. It was breathtaking. The service was wonderful. I made a mistake and thought I had booked a room that slept three, but it only slept two. They were so helpful and brought a cot in to the room and we all slept comfortably. The breakfast was nice. I loved the sun room with the bright sunshine and great table settings. The food is very tasty, nothing out of this world, but we enjoyed every bite. We aren't coffee drinkers and they were able to bring us a pot of hot chocolate instead. I would definitely return to Hillbrook and think they do a wonderful job at making your stay spectacular. Thank you!

Risposta del proprietario
It was such a joy to meet all of you at breakfast and enjoyed the morning with you. We were so happy that we could accommodate with hot chocolate (a personal favorite as well)! Thank you for the wonderful words about the service, the beauty of the property it really means the world to each of us at Hillbrook Inn. As for the breakfast, I am glad you ate every bite, but will discuss with the Chef on how we can create a more sumptuous meal for guests! Thank you for sharing such a special occasion with us...it was an honor!


Pure Splendor

5 su luglio 20, 2010

This is the firt place I've ever stayed that surpassed their web site. Gorgeous grounds, beautiful accomodations, excellent food. I want to live there! Kathleen from Baltimore, MD

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Kathleen: I appreciate your view of the Hillbrook Inn! It is really hard to portray the beauty of the Inn in a web-site, but try our best! It is always nice to have that pleasant surprise when you stay somewhere special! We hope that you visit us again soon...and if you really want to move in...we take boarders. I am just kidding, but after your visit you probably aren't surprised on how many times we hear those words! It is truly a blessing to be at Hillbrook every day and enjoy what the property has to offer and most of all the guests! Sincerely, Carissa Zanella


Elegance and Beauty in the Hills of West Virginia

4,8 su luglio 05, 2010

This property is a must if you are a person that appreciates what is fine in life. This is an elegant, beautiful and peaceful respite with a reputation for excellent food. Privacy and quiet abound with spacious, beautifully decorated rooms. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing to the eye. Every detail has been thought of. This is a gem! And if you want to venture out..within a few miles there are rivers, hiking trails, and bike paths.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for such a wonderful feedback! It is a dream come true to be able to share Hillbrook Inn with our guests and look forward to seeing you in the future!


Peace and Beauty

4,2 su giugno 14, 2010

I came to Hillbrook to take a pre-ownership class for my Gammill long arm sewing machine. And it was a pleasant surprise. It's a beautiful place and there's been a lot of attention to detail. My room was very comfortable and I enjoyed the time I spent in it. I have often visited this part of West Virginia before but never knew about Hillbrook. It's a little jewel.I will recommend it to others as a great place to stay and I plan to come back.

Risposta del proprietario
We hope you enjoyed your pre-ownership class for your Gammill. Thank you for noticing the details at the Hillbrook, the staff takes a lot of time in making it special for guests to enjoy. We believe the Hillbrook Inn is the best kept secret in Charles Town! We look forward to your future visits!


Hillbrook Inn

4,8 su giugno 01, 2010

My husband and I are both retired so we often take long drives and enjoy staying at different Bed & Breakfasts and Inns. The Hillbrook Inn has become one of our most favorite places to visit. There are so many wonderful things I can say about the Hillbrook Inn. This is a Romantic hideaway with a touch of class. The rooms were exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated and warm and cozy. Our favorite is the Fall cottage with a king bed and huge bathroom. The Inn is perfect for a quiet weekend getaway. We often just sat outside and enjoyed a cocktail with the peace and tranquility of the grounds. Although the breakfast was exquisitely prepared and delightful you would be remiss if you did not have dinner at the Inn. The dinner consists of 5 courses with a different and specially selected wine for each course. This was an elegant dining experience with food prepared to perfection. The innkeeper and staff are just so helpful and ready to serve. Also, we like to spend a night or two in Charles Town and "contribute" to the local economy through the nearby casino/racetrack. We will definitely be back.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for all your kind words. It was an honor to share Hillbrook with you and look forward to your future visits.


Our favorite getaway

5 su febbraio 14, 2010

What a great experience! We love to get away to Hillbrook Inn for quilting classes and for the wonderful food. We haven't stayed in the main house, but the cottage has been just terrific. It feels like our home away from home - only better! If I could rate it better than outstanding I would! :) Well worth the money. You are truly treated like family here.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for all your kind words! It is deeply appreciated and I will gladly pass this review on to my staff, because it means a lot to them when guests feel like family! We look forward to seeing you in the future!


Ideal for a group of family or friends.

5 su novembre 02, 2009

We were fortunate to attend a birthday party at Hillbrook and stayed for 3 nights. The setting, location and hospitality were ideal for such a group at any time of the year.

Risposta del proprietario
We love sharing special events with guests! Being able to help create that memory is why I love being at Hillbrook Inn so much! Thank you for sharing it with us, it really means the world to me personally.


Read a book in a historic area

4,0 su settembre 24, 2008

Beautiful place, quiet, excellent food, near Harpers Ferry and Antietam Battlefield Horse Racing and Slots, Auto Road Track at Summit Point.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! The Charles Town area is like a "backyard playground" for many to enjoy. The beauty of Harpers Ferry, the area is dripping with history, fun outdoor activities, wineries, and so much more. We enjoy hearing from the guests and all they got to do while visiting. We enjoyed hearing from you and look forward to seeing you in the future.


Hillbrook Inn

4,4 su agosto 19, 2008

Lovely grounds furnishings. Excellent service, a perfect get away with quaint near by sheperds town to wander through.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for noticing the furnishings, they are all special to us here at Hillbrook. We try to have something in each corner that will make our guests feel at home. I am glad to hear you visited Shepherdstown, WV. I enjoy it there often as well...I enjoy the Shepherdstown Sweet Shop (always in the mood for sweets), all the boutiques, art and people! On your next visit you may want to see Old Town Winchester, VA another one of my favorite spots!


A Pleasant Getaway

5 su luglio 25, 2008

The accommodations were quaint, elegant and quite British. Our stay was excellent. Staff was courteous and attentive and accommodating.

Risposta del proprietario
Yes, we are very European! It is a little European escape close to home. Thank you for taking the time to supply others with feedback, it is deeply appreciated! In addition, I will be passing on the review to the staff for their hard work!


Fantastic escape from the day to day

5 su novembre 04, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here in late summer. We had one of the cottage rooms, and it was a superior room with vaulted ceilings, huge king-size bed w/quality linens that slept like a dream, jacuzzi tub and 2-head shower that was massive. The staff was overly catering and friendly, even boxing up our breakfast so we could have it in our room. The breakfast was fabulous. It consisted of a muffin, omelette, fresh fruit, hash browns, and sausage links. The scenery was incredible; it gave the feel of an old English manor. I can't wait to go back!

Risposta del proprietario
It was such a pleasure to share Hillbrook Inn with you, and are happy to hear that we were able to make your time here special. The "summer cottage" is the first room I stayed at when I visited the Inn, before I purchased it! As you can see, I fell in love too! We look forward to your future visits!


georgous country manor B&B near Charles Town WV

4,4 su settembre 14, 2007

We found this little piece of heaven about 6 yrs ago. Since then we try to stay here whenever we are in the area. This country manor is located on a beautiful piece of property between Berryville VA and Charles Town WV. A small stream runs through the property with horses grazing across the way. There is a small spring fed pond right next to the house that always has a family of ducks swimming around. The grounds are well kept and truly lovely. The inside of the manor is nicely furnished and full of antiques that the previous owner collected from her travels around the world. We stay in either the Winter or Fall cottage as it has king beds. We have also stayed in the main manor but prefer the privacy of the cottage. The service is good and the meals outstanding. People come from great distances to eat one of their famous dinners although we have not eaten dinner here. Everyone I have talked with highly recommends the experience. We have eaten the breakfasts and they are very good. We have also recommended this Inn to others and hope to stay here again soon.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for all your wonderful feedback! It really means the world to us when guests share their experience of the Hillbrook Inn! It ultimately helps us to create an atmosphere that guests can enjoy! Your time and visit is deeply appreciated, and we look forward to spend time with you in the future!


Hillbrook Inn & Spa

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $189 - $409
  • Recensioni (170) 4,5
  • Camere 18
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-3047254223
  • Numero di Fax 1-3047254455
  • Gratuito 1-8003044223

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina