Governor's Trace B&B Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
16 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A Great Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg

5 su dicembre 29, 2012

This conveniently located B&B was a great find in Williamsburg. The service was excellent, the rooms were clean and fresh, the bed was comfortable, and the candlelit breakfasts were absolutely delicious. The owners were friendly, informative, and eager to make one's stay perfect. Old town Williamsburg is literally across the street, yet the location of Governor's Trace is on a quiet street, set back in a private setting. While we have stayed at several bed and breakast locations, this one is one that every bed and breakfast should use as an example for following. A great stay and highly recommended.


An Oasis

5 su febbraio 16, 2010

This was a much-needed getaway for my husband and me. As soon as we arrived, I felt immediately and totally relaxed. Dick and Sue are extremely gracious and quickly put us at ease with all the information needed to enjoy our stay. The furnishings in our room were a delightful and eclectic collection including a Romanesque mural in the space connecting our room to a large private bathroom. The room combined the best of aesthetic appeal and comfort: wingchairs where we read to each other, a table where breakfast was served, candlelit lanterns over a crackling fireplace (with safety precautions reviewed!), and a comfortable bed made cozy by a swoop of coordinating fabric. It was bliss! I was also amazed at the B & B's proximity to the historic area. It was one of the few times we toured without having to use a satellite parking area. In short, our stay was too brief to enjoy all that this B & B and its hosts have to offer. I'm already looking at the calendar to plan a second, longer stay....soon.


A Wonderful experience!

5 su dicembre 13, 2009

My husband & I did our homework and chose this B&B for a Christmas season getaway and we are so glad we did! We stayed in the Alexander Spotswood Room and it was so much bigger than the pictures show. It was perfect. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge and very clean! The wood-burning fireplace was all set up complete with a firestarter and extra wood- that was a nice touch! Plus the lanterns in the room were very nice as well as Sue's collection of brass tavern plates. Dick & Sue were very gracious and we sure did ask them lots of questions. Sue told me right where to go for certain things I was looking for and Dick made great itinerary suggestions. We had a great meal at Christiana Campbell's tavern which was literally a 2-minute walk from the B&B. The Capitol Bus Stop was right across from the tavern so we just walked there & rode the bus all day. In-room breakfasts were also delicious and Dick even took some photos of us by their tree. It was the extras that they did for us that made it wonderful! They've been doing this almost 25 years and they've got it down!


Peace and Relaxation

5 su maggio 10, 2009

My fiance and I stayed 3 nights at Governor's Trace and had an amazing time. Dick and Sue were excellent hosts who shared their knowledge of Williamsburg and gave great suggestions for dining and attractions to experience. The rooms was clean, the bed was VERY comfortable, and the private porch was so relaxing. The breakfast was served in the privacy of your room, they were all delicious and we could not have been happier with our stay. We both would highly recommend the B and B if your travels take you through Williamsburg.


It enhanced our vacation

5 su marzo 29, 2009

We stayed our usua three nights. We have stayed there about seven times in all. We park our car there when we arrive and leave it parked until we leave. The location is within easy walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg. The B&B is decorated with antiques and collectables. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful. The in-room candlelight breakfasts are delicious and presented with beautiful china and linens. The rooms are clean with good sitting areas and en-suite bathrooms. It is the only place we stay when we visit Colonial Williamsburg


Memorable Stay

4,2 su novembre 28, 2008

An opportunity to meet up with dear friends from Scotland took my husband and I to Colonial Williamsburg in early October 08. Having experienced first class B&Bs in Scotland, we choose the more personal touch of staying in a B&B over an hotel on this short stay and didn't regret our choice of the Governor's Trace (selected after reading others' reviews). A warm welcome and lovely room with its own screened, private porch where freshly cooked and delicious breakfasts were served by candlelight (unusual but sweet) was the order of the day. The room was quite unique, decorated in period detail with some lovely personal touches by the owners. Our stay was really too short but we thoroughly enjoyed the town and accommodation and would not hesitate to recommend Govern's Trace to anyone. Marian and Gary Bolis, Pennsylvania, USA


Breakfast in your room!!

4,6 su novembre 12, 2008

Governor's Trace is run by a lovely couple, Sue & Dick Lake. We stayed in the Alexander Spottswood room, which had a gigantic bathroom and a private porch, as well as a working fireplace. We've traveled to lots of B&B's before, and what makes this one special is that you get breakfast IN YOUR ROOM in the morning. No rushing to get ready to make it to the dining room on time, no forced conversation with fellow travelers if you just don't feel like it. Breakfast was always yummy and filling. The place is spotless and very homey. It's also within easy walking distance of the old colonial part of Williamsburg.


Wonderful!

5 su agosto 11, 2008

What a great place to stay in Williamsburg. It is within walking distance to Historic Williamsburg. Patti was a fantastic hostess in the innkeepers absence. Privacy with a very romantic candlit breakfast on our very own screened in back porch while watching the hummingbirds. FANTASTIC! We look forward to staying again! Chip & Kris Chula, GA


Outstanding

4,6 su maggio 08, 2008

First time ever staying at a B&B. We couldn't have picked a more charming place. It was perfect!


Even more than we expected

4,0 su aprile 29, 2008

What a wonderful romantic weekend this was. Especially having our Breakfast served in the privacy of our room, made it even extra special. Our very first B&B and loved every minute of it.


Breakfast on Private Screened-in Porch!

2,8 su agosto 28, 2007

Even in August, it's not too hot to eat out of doors with the shades and ceiling fan on the porch! Creative Breakfasts! Watch hummingbirds from the breakfast table. Candle-lanterns available to carry to common-area library full of non-fiction and fiction books to read such as local history and nature. A wide selection of board games - both traditional and unique. This room also displays antique collections of toys, dolls, porcelain boxes and more. Located very close to Colonial Williamsburg, one block walk, 3 blocks to Capitol Bldg and 1 block from Cristiana Campbell's Reservations Only Restuarant!


The only place to stay in Williamsburg

5 su luglio 27, 2007

We have stayed here twice and we know this is the only place to stay in Williamsburg. Terrific hosts, breakfast and location!! So very relaxing and peaceful, I'm ready to return!!


A Delightful Experience

5 su luglio 24, 2007

My husband and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and wanted to give it a try. What a wonderful surprise! We had done our homework and decided that with the locality (Governor’s Trace is but a few steps away from Colonial Williamsburg), the promise of beautiful accommodations and a unique breakfast experience, we were in for a memorable treat! We were not disappointed. Dick met us with a very gracious welcome and gave us a brief tour. We stayed in the Alexander Spotswood Room, which was beautifully appointed with Colonial antiques. The colors were warm and inviting and the bedding was sumptuous. The bedroom also had a fireplace that could be lit during the colder months. During the summer there is a tea light candelabrum inside the fireplace that can be lit. The other beautiful part of the room was its very large bathroom. To get to the bathroom, one must walk through a tiled and hand-painted walkthrough. Made to appear like you were in a garden, it achieved its purpose with flowing grasses and flowers. The bathroom was bright with a large tiled shower. Great water pressure. Everything in the bathroom sparkled. Breakfast in the morning was a treat. We had our choice of eating in our room or the screened-in porch. The Governor’s Trace famous waffle tower and “Patrick Henry” soufflé was delicious. Dick and Sue were wonderful hosts! They were always there whenever we needed anything. We enjoyed our discussions with them regarding antique photographs and learned a lot. Before we left, Sue showed us the other two rooms available, the Francis Nicholson and the Baron de Botetourt. They were both equally beautiful. We left our brief trip with a whole new appreciation for the bed and breakfast experience and acquired new friends in Dick and Sue. We loved staying at the Governor’s Trace and look forward to experiencing their gracious welcome in the near future.


Just steps from Colonial Williamsburg

5 su luglio 07, 2007

Our conveniently located room had a private screened in porch for evening relaxing and breakfast enjoyment. The owners were away during our stay the the fill in inn keeper was very knowledgeable and welcoming.


Wonderful, relaxing stay

5 su giugno 30, 2007

We spent 3 days, 4 nights at the end of June 2007. The room was beautiful, Dick and Sue are the perfect innkeepers. The breakfasts were great and served in the privacy of our own screened in porch. This inn is within a very short walking distance (2-5 minutes) to colonial Williamsburg. Dick and Sue had our tickets to the wine tour, ghost tour, and advised us to make reservations at the colonial inns far ahead of time which was I did and am so glad I took their advice. They are very friendly and willing to help out with any questions or needs - but also give you the privacy that we needed. We will definitely tell our friends about this B & B and intend to visit around the Christmas season. I sure do miss their breakfasts and the presentation was wonderful!


3 Wonderful Nights

5 su aprile 30, 2007

We stayed for three wonderful nights and the Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast! We stayed in the Alexander Spotswood room, the bathroom was huge, the bed comfy and the fireplace was so relaxing. Every night they have the fireplace set up for you with extra wood to burn. The breakfasts were great as well, the waffle tower was the best of the three. If you truly enjoy the bed and breakfast environment this place is ideal. It’s a block walk to Williamsburg and the hosts Dick and Sue were incredibly helpful, friendly and welcoming. The hot tips to see in Colonial Williamsburg was dead on and the winery tour tickets were great. Also, Dick advised making reservations early, which we were lucky we did, shows and restaurants in Colonial Williamsburg book up weeks before. If we are ever back that way we will stay again.


Governor's Trace B&B

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $165 - $185
  • Recensioni (16) 4,7
  • Camere 3

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7572297552
  • Gratuito 1-8003037552
Inizio pagina