THE HUFFMAN HOUSE AT CREEKSIDE FARM Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi5,0
  • Valore4,3
  • Pulizia5,0
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
20 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

So Anxious To Return!

5 su febbraio 13, 2012

Our stay was, by far, the most fulfilling, relaxing, restful stay I have ever had anywhere. I am spoiled to all others now! I consider the innkeepers pare of our family now! How does that happen in a day? I felt so at home, and welcome, and shared such a wonderful weekend with my husband and two girls. Although our stay was several months ago, I still keep the information in my purse so I can recommend this gem to everyone I know. From the time we arrived, which was in the middle of the night because our car broke down, we were made to feel special. The door was open, even at around 1:00 A.M., and a note with all instructions was left for us. Falling into that bed was something I will never forget. We were able to have a room that had bedding for all four of us, and it felt so cozy. Waking up to that breakfast, those glorious robes, the coffee, the so special breakfast, the hummingbirds, the beautiful horses, the mountains - I could go on and on - was a memory I will keep with me always. Every detail of the home, from the doorknobs that I remember from my grandparents house, to the original fireplaces, to the detailed ceilings, held so much history. Every spare minute we had was spent admiring the home, the animals, and the surrounding area. My youngest daughter was even able to make a special breakfast request on our second day. Although I could go on forever, and will never forget our stay, let me just say that there is not one thing I can complain about. Without a doubt, we will return every chance we get to travel in the area.


a beautifu experience

5 su luglio 01, 2011

Before taking a road-trip from Atlanta to New England through the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia, we decided to look for somewhere more exciting to stay than the normal hotel. I searched and found the perfect place - The Huffman House at Creekside Farm. It was a picture perfect farm beside a beautiful creek between the rolling hills in the Shenandoah Valley. Ron and Carol Baker have done an amazing job restoring this 1835 farmhouse to include all the comforts of home. It’s like going to the grandparent’s house we all wish we had. We walked the paths around the farm and enjoyed seeing all of the farm-animals. Ron even took us in the corral to pet the week-old foals. Our bedroom was large and beautifully decorated with a private bath, and the beds and linens were comfy soft. Breakfast was a home-cooked feast, and a cup of tea on the porch swing afterward set our mood for the day. Whenever we are traveling in that area again, we will definitely stay at the Huffman House at Creekside Farm.


Beautiful farm, wonderful hosts

4,8 su maggio 08, 2011

Highly recommended B&B. Will definitely stay here again when in the area!


Best B & B yet!

5 su aprile 25, 2011

We stayed the weekend here with our niece and friends and it was great! Wonderful atmosphere, food, hospitality and people. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. We would give it a 10+ on our list of places we have stayed before and plan to return on our next visit to the area.


Immaculate and Fun

4,4 su dicembre 29, 2010

We stay at a B&B several times a year and believe the Huffman House to be the cleanest and most cared-for one we've stayed in for many years. The restoration job is superb and the place is simply spotless. We were able to join in feeding the many well-behaved animals on the farm and our grand daughters were treated to tractor and ATV rides. We have recommended the Huffman House to all our friends and want to make a return visit. The place is well situated for those who like to hike or who want to visit Blacksburg or Virginia Tech.


Peacefully inviting

4,2 su settembre 12, 2010

The photos do not do justice to the breathtaking views! The front porch swings beckon you to relax and soak in the magnificent scenery, while the farm animals delight & welcome you as well. Innkeepers are genuinely congenial, offering friendly conversation yet respectful of one's privacy. We stayed in the Easley room which exuded a sense of country freshness and offered a wonderfully comfortable rest, without feeling overly luxurious.


Happiness at Huffman House

5 su settembre 03, 2010

My husband and I have been to Huffman House twice now and definitely will be back! Carol and Ron are friendly, gracious hosts. The ca. 1830s farmhouse house has been beautifully restored - the furniture, room colors, and other decorative items all contribute to its charm. The breakfasts are delicious! (as are Carol's afternoon snacks and iced tea!) The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, and everything is very clean. The location is great because it's close to Blacksburg (VA Tech), the Appalachian Trail, and various other hiking/mountain biking trails. Also, one of the aspects that definitely drew us here was the fact that Huffman House is a working farm; we love animals and it's enjoyable seeing them - including horses, sheep, ducks, geese, and 2 cats and 2 dogs.


Wonderful Experience

4,8 su agosto 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Huffman House while our daughter was moving into Virginia Tech. The place is wonderful for several reasons. Carol and Ron (the owners)are friendly, accommadating and extremely interesting. The surrounding area is geographically beautiful. The place is meticulously clean and the breakfasts are delicious and creative. The close proximity to Virginia Tech and Blacksburg makes this place very convienient. We will certainly stay again when visiting our daughter A wonderful experience! Bob and Pam Ct.


A Great Place

4,8 su agosto 06, 2010

I have now stayed at the Huffman House at least 4 times. I am hiking the Appalachian Trail in small pieces, usually on day hikes. Huffman House has been a wonderful base of operations. Carol and Ron are wonderful hosts. The rooms are very nice. The breakfasts are great. It is great being at a working farm, especially in the spring when the lambs are there. Most importantly for my needs, the Bakers will provide shuttles to trailheads on the Appalachian Trail. Last year I couldn't complete a hike as planned and wound up on the other side of the mountain. The Bakers had been very worried that I hadn't shown up and after I was able to contact them, Ron came over and picked me up. Talk about service! A word to the wise. If you are somebody like me who has no connection with Virginia Tech, check out the college calendar and try to schedule your visit on weekends when there is no major event like a football game or graduation. They are generally full up then.


Great for family

4,8 su agosto 02, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights after taking a break from hiking the Appalachian Trail. We really enjoyed our stay as Carol and Ron went out of their way to make sure our needs met and stay comfortable. We got to interact with farm animals which was a nice break from daily hiking. It is a great spot for the family of kids (age of 5 or older). We hope to come back to visit again someday.


Great Getaway

4,8 su febbraio 21, 2010

Beautiful countryside, spectacular accommodations, great food and friendly atmosphere. The special care and attention to detail is immediately evident; a wonderful way to spend a weekend.


Accomodating to Our Fun

5 su gennaio 26, 2010

Wonderful HOMEMADE breakfast with many choices and plenty of food. Exceptional hosts that accomodate every whim from shuttling us to hiking trail heads, making restaurant suggestions and reservations, to touring their working farm complete with Minnie Pearl and Willie Nelson (donkeys) that are tame and welcoming! We never stay at the same B&b twice because of so many wonderful choices. We have made an exception to "our rule" for The Huffman House, we've stayed twice and have plans to return!


Our Home in the Mountains

5 su settembre 21, 2009

The Huffman House is our “Home in the Mountains!” We visit VA TECH very often, to enjoy Hokie Madness at the football games and visit with our daughter who is a student at VT. We first stayed at Huffman House 2 1/2 years ago and have not stayed anywhere else since. Ron and Carol are the quintessential innkeepers; they have become our “Blacksburg” family. Their hospitality is extraordinary, Carol’s breakfasts are awesome and the Inn is charming, cozy and very clean! The grounds are majestic. The Huffman House is surrounded by beautiful mountains, and a rolling creek. In the early morning you may hear the rooster crow and invite you to visit his farm where you will meet horses, sheep and lambs, donkeys, cows, llamas, chickens, ducks and the famous synchronized turkeys. Huffman House is the only place to stay in Blacksburg!


Family Favorite

4,2 su settembre 15, 2009

When I travel to the area to visit extended family, I always stay with Carol and Ron. Such hospitality! We feel like we are staying with family. Carol’s breakfasts always delight and amaze us. The baked goods are our favorite, but we try hard to make room for a little bit of every thing. The kids often take a ‘farm tour’ with Ron and visit the lambs at the barn. At the end of our day, we will usually gather in the downstairs parlor or on the front porch, maybe in the swing, where we can catch up on email via the free wi-fi. We always get the Easley Room, so that each of my teenage children will have their own bed. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom is a bit small, but adequate. Overall, we simply enjoy the relaxed atmosphere. I look forward to returning.


We love it!!

4,8 su settembre 12, 2009

We have stayed twice at this historic and wonderfully run b and b. We love the access to the AT and to Tech. Of course we have enjoyed chatting with Ron and Carol and watching the farm happenings. Quite exciting and very relaxing!!


Great B&B in a country setting

5 su settembre 09, 2009

We have stayed at Ron & Carol's place two times while visiting Virginia Tech for a weekend. The inn is situated in the hills on a beautiful creek and you forget your worries the moment you arrive. On our most recent trip, we were able to hold day-old lambs in our arms and see others that had been born earlier that day. Ron and Carol are wonderful hosts and wonderful people. If you're looking to get away and smell fresh air for a change, you cannot do better than a stay at Huffman House. Plan on staying at least a couple of nights and exploring Blacksburg and the nearby destinations. There's something about those mountains that restore one's peace of mind. You will not be disappointed when you visit this B&B!


Weekend Getaway

4,6 su settembre 09, 2009

My wife and I chose "Huffman House B & B" as a weekend getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We found it to be a great experience. The restored 1830's house is filled with history. The grounds are a pastorial escape, and the food is beyond exceptional. Craig County is a beautiful unspoiled rural setting just minutes away from Blacksburg and Virginia Tech. We highly recommend a visit.


Our favorite B&B

5 su settembre 08, 2009

We are birdwatchers and we stay in B&Bs all over the state about 6 times every year. The one that we keep coming back to is The Huffman House. It is by far our favorite! Carol's breakfasts are always great and she is a wonderful hostess. The B&B is done so nicely - not ostentatious, just lovely. We love it!


The Best of Blacksburg!

4,2 su settembre 08, 2009

We have stayed at the Huffman House with Ron and Carol twice now and looking forward to more. Close to the Virginia Tech Campus, yet a beautiful rural retreat. We compare all other B&B breakfast to Carol's and none compare. The best place to stay in Blacksburg ! James & Vicki Smith


Ron and Carol had a farm!

5 su settembre 08, 2009

You will absolutely love this bed and breakfast! Ron and Carol are wonderful innkeepers. The food is great, the rooms roomy and the animals delightful. You get all this in a picturesque mountain setting close enough to "Hokieville" to visit Va. Tech often!


THE HUFFMAN HOUSE AT CREEKSIDE FARM

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $139 - $169
  • Recensioni (20) 4,8
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5405446942
  • Numero di Fax 1-5405446980
Inizio pagina