Jacob Swartz House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,8
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
31 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Two wonderful visits

5 su gennaio 27, 2014

We have stayed here twice in one year and found each visit an absolute delight. The cottage is well furnished and both times we enjoyed a relaxing evening by the fire. Our breakfasts were different all four times and prepared with a true love of providing her guest a fantastic start to their day. Virginia is a gifted inn keeper and she will do all to make your stay a very memorable one.


once you experience this place you will want to return again and again

5 su ottobre 01, 2013

we have been coming here for many years, Virginia becomes like family very quickly and treats you like such. Everything about this place is relaxing from the quietness of the river to the singing of the birds and the sounds of the forest that surround you, everything you need is already there, the only thing missing is you, treat yourself to great breakfast and a nice little town to explore. We fell in love with this place the first time we were there, you will too.


Tranquil Oasis!

5 su settembre 09, 2013

From start to finish, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Jacob Swartz House! Virginia greeted us when we arrived with welcoming cheer. The cottage is all your and it is stocked with anything you might need. Milk, cream, condiments, spices, tea, coffee, etc. in the kitchen, and soap, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, curling iron, insect repellant, after-sunburn cream, otc meds, etc. in the bathroom. Upon arrival we found a chocolate cake waiting for us in the kitchen! Virginia also prepared a dessert for us on the second evening we were there! Weather permitting, you can have breakfast outside on the patio and watch the birds at the feeders. Virginia prepares the breakfast in courses and brings it from her house to the cottage. Simply delicious!!! She caters to your needs, whatever they are. We spent lots of time in the screened room off the bedroom that looks down over the river. You can walk the grounds and look at the plantings or climb down to the river for a closer look. BTW: another reviewer mentioned the constant noise from Rt. 81. It's not Rt 81 that creates the noise; it's the flowing river, which is not very loud. You are out in the country and it's peaceful and serene. JSH is an excellent value with a five star rating from me!


Delightfully relaxing!

5 su agosto 18, 2013

The Cobbler's cottage was delightful, so peaceful sitting in sun room overlooking the Shenendoach River. Hostess made us feel so welcome and so attentive to dietary needs - yummy goodies and breakfasts


Unexpected

4,4 su gennaio 10, 2013

Superb simplicity. Beautiful setting,once you get past the maintenance shop, unique interface with nature's beauty and accommodating Innkeeper. Will definitely return this Spring.


Almost perfect

5 su ottobre 25, 2012

From the moment of arrival until the moment of departure you will feel like a treasured guest of this remarkable proprietor. The guest house is literally a home away from home as it contains everything one needs. For example upon arrival we found not only a delicious cranberry pound cake but a fridge stocked with items like farm fresh milk and apple cider. The screened porch, the sun room and the master bedroom have a beautiful view of the river and one goes to sleep looking at the stars through the skylights and wakes to a sun rise view right from the bed. The outstanding stone patio is perfect for enjoying the outdoors and sitting by a fire. The only disappointment for me was the continuous roar of traffic emanating thru the trees from Interstate 81 that began at dusk and continued until dawn. If one can overlook that then this is an unprecedented experience


At the End of the Narrow Lane

4,0 su agosto 04, 2012

At the end of the narrow lane awaited our hostess who ushered us to our country cottage for 3 days. The cottage had much to offer -- sun porch, screened porch, kitchen, dining area, living room with a fireplace, 2 well-decorated bedrooms, and more. Breakfasts were a delight. Our hostess thought of everything.


Travels of the Sizzling Sisters

5 su febbraio 27, 2012

Our own little "home" -- screened in porch, surrounded by trees, bird feeders, flowers. Virginia brought the delicious breakfast to our "home"! This B&B is a wonderful experience!


hidden gem

4,0 su agosto 22, 2011

Traveling with a 3 month old, regular B&Bs were out of the question. This super charming, incredibly peaceful house at the end of a long road, between a corn field and the river, was exactly what we needed.


Get Away From It All!

4,6 su giugno 24, 2011

This is the perfect spot to escape the hustle and bustle. You'll enjoy listening to song birds and the rushing water of the Shenandoah River. The house is spacious and well decorated with many amenities in the bathrooms. Off of the ground floor bedroom is a screen porch which we enjoyed during an afternoon thunderstorm and later that night we listened to rain on the overhead skylights above our bed as we drifted off to sleep. Virginia is a gracious hostess and excellent cook. The generous breakfasts are of superb quality. One sunny morning we enjoyed ours on the lovely stone terrace, enjoying the view of the colorful flower garden.


We'll be back

5 su marzo 27, 2011

We have stayed here twice and plan to return as often as wek can. The setting is beautiful, the food is wonderful, and the owner has clearly put a lot of thought into making the experience memorable.


RELAXING AND GREAT HOSPITALITY

5 su febbraio 20, 2011

The Jacob Swartz House is an excellent get-away for anyone. The Bed and Breakfast is so clean, cozy and tidy. It is very spacious and provides everything you would need from toiletries to board games to condiments and books. Virginia is very helpful and kind. She welcomed us with chocolate mousse dessert and left us with homemade apple crisp pie. Her breakfasts were delicious and served to us. The views are amazing - we watched the sun rise from our bed and the moon rise above the mountains. There is plenty to do within driving distance. We went to a local sports pub restaurant one night and to Sonny's for their famous BBQ pit ribs. We also visited the Luray Caverns which are close by and the Shenandoah wine trail with free wine tasting. We are a young couple from D.C. who needed time to unwind and reconnect with nature. This was the perfect trip and highly recommended to anyone! Plenty of room for families with 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths and a roll out bed. Has an outside grill, an electric fireplace in the master and a real fireplace which was great at night. Also a screened in porch right outside the master which looks over the river and valley.


Best B&B I've ever been to!

5 su novembre 04, 2010

This place is beyond a B&B! My sister and I stayed here for 3 days/nights in late October-early Nov 2010. We were very pleasantly surprised at the coziness of the cottage, the roominess, the cleanliness, the stocked pantry, the amenities too many to list here! Virginia is a MOST gracious host, bringing wonderful breakfasts every morning, and delicious desserts every afternoon. She pointed out things to do in the area, and the books on the area are everywhere in the cottage. There is a TV room with local TV and a DVD player if you get bored ( we didn't!). Birds were abundant at the feeders, and I heard a kingfisher on the river below. If I stayed here again (and I hope I get the chance!), I would bring some food for dinner and enjoy the evenings on the patio. What a find!


Slice of Heaven

5 su ottobre 30, 2010

The Jacob Swartz House is one of the most beautiful properties I've ever seen. The quest cottage is full of charm and inviting corners to put up your feet and slow down a minute. Virginia's cooking is outstanding, and her welcome is the extreme of warm and inviting without being intrusive to your stay. If there is anything in the area you're searching to do, she'll hook you up with the where and when of it. This was my first stay in a Bed and Breakfast and I'm afraid it'll never be beat. At least 10x's the value of any 5 star hotel suite stay and definitely easier on the budget. I've been gushing about it to anyone who'll listen!


Great B&B

5 su agosto 30, 2010

Great place to escape from every day noise. Breakfast is the best, with a variety of places in and out of the cottage to enjoy your morning meal. The accommodations are cozy and being right on the river allows for quick access for swimming and great fishing. Highly recommend.


Great Weekend Getaway!

4,2 su marzo 02, 2009

We went to the Jacob Swartz House to use a gift certificate that we had from this web site. The accomodations were excellent, and we were pleasently suprised by the size of the property. Both bedrooms were nicely equipped, and we particularly enjoyed the skylights and electric fireplace in the master bedroom. The bathrooms were nice, and it was nice to have two to use at the same time. The fireplace in the living room was not only fun to use, but it heated the rooms nicely as well. Virginia's hospitality was nice and her breakfasts and desserts were excellent. We loved our stay overall, and would like to return sometime in the summer for another visit! - The Ashbrooks


A wonderful time in Obama Country!

4,6 su novembre 21, 2008

A fantastic 3 days spent in a beautiful location by the Shenandoah River. Couldn't have been better looked after-superb breakfasts (and desserts!) brought to our separate cottage. Bliss!


Just Perfect

5 su ottobre 27, 2008

Everything about the Jacob Swartz House was really just perfect. We loved the country setting and Virginia's breakfasts were spectacular, so were the desserts. Her warmth and friendliness came through and made us feel special. We couldn't have asked for more.... Also, we loved being the only guests! Patty and Kevin McLain


Double Blessed

5 su ottobre 15, 2008

Not only was I blessed to be albe to stay at a homesite of an ancestor, but I was also blessed to stay in a beautiful B&B overlooking Shenandoah River but the hostess was so talented in decorateing and in her cooking.


Perfect for out type of vacation

4,0 su ottobre 14, 2008

A wonderful, cozy place to relax at in between our site seeing. Delicious food. Our hostess is a new friend!


Heaven in the Valley

5 su agosto 20, 2008

We spent 4 days in "heaven" in the Shenandoah Valley at the Jacob Swartz House! The grounds, the food, the friendly innkeepers.....all were beyond our expectations! This was truely the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken!!! (and we have already booked for next year!) I cannot say enough about all the extra touches in this cottage. We didn't need to bring a thing but ourselves and our clothes! The breakfasts were outstanding and the homemade deserts left each nite were a real bonus! We especially loved the "mud pie" We can't wait to go back next year! Thank you Viginia for a wonderful, wonderful time spent at your little piece of "heaven!" Patti & Mike Mills


The Best Vacation I Ever Had.

5 su agosto 06, 2008

A beautiful setting on the river. Excellent place to stay. wonderful meals and very relaxing. I Loved the Jacobv Swartz House!


Peaceful, Quiet, Wonderful

4,4 su luglio 01, 2008

B&B lovers be sure to try this wonderful unique cottage in New Market, VA. The owner has loaded this lovely cottage with everything you will need for an enjoyable stay. The breakfasts were delicious and we even got homemade desserts each evening. Sit out on the screened in porch to enjoy the view of the river. If you a nature lover you will love this place!


Very comfortable

4,8 su giugno 28, 2008

The layout of the cottage is great. I could live in a house like this. Breakfasts were different every morning. Virginia made adjustments for people with different tastes or health problems. The evening snacks were a delicious supprise each day. Enjoyed talking with Viginia. We would like to visit again when the weather is cooler for outdoor activities, but the cottage was air conditioned and very comfortable.


A Calm Escape

5 su marzo 18, 2008

We discovered this little gem tucked away by the Shenandoah river 6 years ago and have made many return visits. Each one seems to surpass the previous trips! Virginia anticipates every possible need and accommodates unusual requests as well. She is the personification of Southern Hospitality and has made the Jacob Swartz House a calm oasis in our hectic lives.


A relaxing getaway!

5 su febbraio 27, 2008

I really enjoyed my time at the Jacob Swartz House, and I even extended my stay for another night. Very peaceful setting, and one can't help but relax. Virginia is a wonderful hostess with wonderful hospitality.


Love It!

5 su ottobre 24, 2007

This is our favorite inn - we come back at least twice a year. Great breakfasts and Virginia is a wonderful hostess!


Unforgettable getaway

5 su ottobre 18, 2007

The charm and comfort of the guest cottage made Jacob Swartz House an unforgettable getaway


Simply Lovely.

4,0 su settembre 28, 2007

A delightful stay, where host paid attention to details too numerous to mention. Fresh flowers, a wonderful breakfast, and a romantic cottage decorated as the brochure describes, excellent rates as well!


A gem

4,4 su settembre 20, 2007

We have satyed here 3 times - we love it! The pictureque cottage is quaint, tranquil, very comfortable and well equipped - the kitchen more so than our own! Virginia's delicious gastonomic breakfasts fuel us until dinner, every time. Al fresco summer mealtimes are accompanied by the buzz of numerous hovering humming-birds. Just perfect!


Charming & Delightful Bed & Breakfast

4,4 su settembre 14, 2007

This bed and breakfast is very charming. Every want is anticipated down to a stocked refrigerator complete with 2 chocolate soufflés for dessert before bed. Excellent breakfast also! Would definitely go back.


Jacob Swartz House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $125 - $150
  • Recensioni (31) 4,7
  • Camere 2
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5407409208
  • Gratuito 1-8777409208

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina