4,4 su aprile 09, 2014
Very pleasant, owner occupied b & b. Great location with scenic views. Would choose the Schloss. Great views, with private porch to enjoy a sunrise.
5 su ottobre 28, 2013
The Mark Addy Inn is absolutely beautiful and the location could not be more breathtaking! The innkeepers and owners, Rafi and Leslie, were gracious, accomodating and personable hosts. After a world class dinner prepared by Rafi, we had a memorable evening enjoying a glass of wine and great conversation with them on the front porch. Of course the glorious sunset cannot be forgotten! Apart from the Inn itself, we loved touring the local wineries! We are looking foward to our next visit!
4,0 su luglio 27, 2013
I've stayed at the Mark Addy many times, and I never wrote a review. The inn is elegant; the food is impeccable, and the views of the Rockfish Valley are breathtaking. Leslie and Raphael are gracious hosts with a beautiful family. Heard your son was just married at the inn. Congratulations! Hope to be back soon.
5 su giugno 16, 2013
This place is exceeded my expectations. And by place I am including the inn, the grounds, and the entire corner of the world that is Virginia wine country. It is a close knit, collaborative community that is welcoming and proud if its commitment to sustainability and local agriculture. Don't even try to find a national chain here. The food, wine, and beer are prepared with love and pride. I stayed at the Mark Addy 2 years ago and haven't stopped telling everyone I know about it. You will not regret booking an amazing Groupon deal here. It is a steal. You will find that your experience is worth at least double what you paid.
4,8 su aprile 22, 2013
My husband and I spent the weekend of April 13, 2013 at The Mark Addy Inn. We chose the Tiger Lily - Deluxe Room. We arrived on Friday afternoon and were greeted with the warm and effervescent Leslie Tal. My husband was not thrilled about going to a "Bed and Breakfast" He was certain that we would have no privacy and the inn would be "someone's house". It did not take very long to sell him on The Mark Addy. They have a small kitchen area off of the dining room where you can use the fridge to keep whatever you want, coffee, tea, chocolates, cups and dishes available 24 hours a day. Since it was a special weekend we took advantage of several of the activities offered by the inn. On Friday night we did the beer craw, there was one other couple that joined us and we had a blast. On Saturday we woke to a wonderful breakfast and then we had a couples massage in our room. The massages were terrific. We then spent the afternoon doing a wine tour with "Tours For Tunes". we spent four hours visiting vineyards in the area and we had a blast it was a wonderful day! We finished up the day by having dinner at the inn, dinner was good. The food is prepared by Rafael Tal one of the owners. he cooks European style. We loved our weekend at the Inn, Leslie goes out of her way to make everyone feel warm and welcome and she remembers everyone's names. We will definitely return to the inn.
3,8 su settembre 20, 2012
My wife and I stayed at the Colonel Room in beautiful Mark Addy Inn while touring Central Virginia wineries and breweries. In addition to being clean, comfortable, and spacious, the Colonel Room has the added benefit of access to the back terrace where you can spend a quiet evening sipping local wine and snacks (easily purchased at a winery or local shop). The Inn offers a variety of rooms, so take care to choose the one that fits your needs. The room adjacent to us also had access to the wonderful terrace but was rather small. While the owners were away, their son proved an excellent host and knowledgeable guide. He provides a great tour of local wineries and breweries over four hours that is delightful. We enjoyed breakfast while looking out towards the beautiful mountains. Dinner is also an option if you can rally a minimum of 6 diners. Those with dog allergies beware, as the inn is host to two adorable and friendly dogs (on the other hand, this inn has pet friendly rooms!). The Inn is conveniently located right off Rte. 151, which will take you to most of the local wineries, breweries, ciderworks, and shops.
3,8 su giugno 18, 2012
Our stay was almost perfect! We had been looking forward to dinner in the Fountain Room- had a confirmed reservation emailed from the inn. To our disappointment and annoyance, first we were told that they saw no record of reservation for dinner. Then we were told, since we were the only two reservations, they wouldn't "fire up the kitchen" for just two people. Adding to the annoyance was that our Living Social package included an appetizer with dinner. Dinner at the Fountain Room was a planned high point of our get away!
Risposta del proprietario
Dear Susan and Irwin,We are glad you had a good time and also so sorry that you are disappointed but I am afraid there was a big misunderstanding. It is unkind of you to write this a review (and all of the others that you plastered all over the internet)and to rate our dining 1 star (did you not enjoy the breakfasts?)instead of discussing your issue with me directly. We normally give gift certificates for free nights or meals if anyone discusses issues with us so that they can have another opportunity to have nothing less than an exceptional stay. When you made your reservation on line on 1/16/12 for June 2012, you requested dinner. When you called to confirm your reservation the week before your arrival I didn't tell you that we didn't have your reservation, I told you that we didn't have OTHER reservations and that it is our policy to fire up the kitchen only if we have 6 or more guests dining with us. I DID apologize and explain that this was usually not the case as we are generally full and don't have trouble enticing 3 couples to dine in. It is unfortunate that this was not the case during your stay. Please understand that we are not your normal restaurant. We shop daily(40 minute round trip) and prep daily based on the reservations we have. Nothing is frozen and everything is prepared fresh and organically. To do this for less than 6 people on a daily basis would put us out of business. Also do not lead the readers to believe that you were hungry as a result of our restaurant not being open. We give EVERY guest a list of 10 local restaurants with in 10 minutes - several of them 2 - 5 minutes away and have exceptionally good food.
1,0 su maggio 20, 2012
I went to the Mark Addy Inn with my wife with a package which included two nights and breakfast during the two days of our stay. The Inn is not maintained properly. One of the windows in our room was broken and a plastic taped with duct tape was used to replace the glass. The faucet was leaking. Many of the bathroom tiles were completely loose so when you walked in the bathroom without shoes the loose tiles would stick to your foot. There were too many broken items in our room. At this high quality Inn you are asked during breakfast to choose between ½ croissant or ½ muffin. Even though I wanted a whole croissant, I was scared to ask for it. I have read reviews complaining about the same issue and the response from the Inn-Keepers was that the ½ croissant was due to the fact that the inn-keepers were away during the visit by the reviewer. We went to the inn when Leslie and Rafi were in and we still got ½ a croissant. The breakfast experience was disappointing. Breakfast was bad. The customer service was poor. During breakfast I asked if the quiche had dairy products because my wife is lactose intolerant. Leslie, the Owner, answered “how am I supposed to know that she is lactose intolerant?” She said that I should have provided this information on the registration. I checked the on-line registration when I came back home and noticed that there are no questions on dietary restrictions. When I asked to simply give her two eggs, Leslie indicated that they were probably out of eggs. She grabbed my wife’s plate and brought it back without the quiche. The next day, after they had served breakfast for all the other guests, Rafi, the Owner, asked my wife how she wanted her eggs, sunny side up or over-easy? When my wife asked him to explain the difference between sunny side up and over-easy, Rafi walked away without responding to her and my wife ended up having to get input from the couple eating at the table next to ours. I did not expect this kind of customer service.
Risposta del proprietario
Mr Lerner, We enjoyed your visit so your complaint left us baffled.Complaining that the inn is not maintained properly because of a temporarily broken window (the original window was installed in 1900 and was on order for replacement and has now been repaired) is an exageration. You forgot to mention the grounds,gardens and public areas as well as your brand new pillow top mattress and the spectacular views from your room. The two (and not many) loose tiles in the bathroom have been repaired.The top leg of the day bed is not broken. With regard to your culinary disappointment there is little we can say except to encourage the readers to read the many other reviews. Half an oversized muffin or a croissant is being offered as most guests are not able to consume a whole one as part of our 3 course GOURMET breakfast. There is always a 2nd and 3rd offering for those who wish to have more. Since this was your first stay at a B&B,you should know that when you make your reservation on line, as you did, there is a box entitled “Special requirements”. Here is where guests put in any dietary restrictions. We, like most B&Bs have a fixed breakfast menu. We accommodate dietary restrictions when given advance notice. It is difficult to do so on the fly and while serving 20 others. Your wife’s restriction was, in fact, accommodated. We apologize she had to wait but as you know, it takes some time to prepare a meal. Your allegation that we ran out of eggs is ridiculous as we have our own hens and always have fresh eggs on hand. In your case, we just needed the time to go to the chicken coop to collect them for your wife’s special order. As to you wife’s difficulties in understanding the options in egg preparedness, Rafael returned to the kitchen only after you started explaining the different options in Spanish. It seems that your dissatisfaction may stem from other reasons and in regard to your shoes, we have not found them and it does not seem they were left at the inn.
5 su maggio 04, 2012
If you are looking for a laid back place to go the Mark-Addy Inn is a great choice. There is nothing prim and proper going on here. You have to love a place that has a dog that looks like a cat or maybe a skunk or small bear. We had a small room with a big bed and I would recommend when making your reservations to book a larger room with a big bed. The Innkeepers, Leslie and Rafael Tal are opposites in personality. Leslie is totally personable, and lets say Rafael Tal can really cook. Since they speak 6 different languages we meant to stay up late and converse with them in each one, but even after lots of wine we could still only speak English. Anyway its a great place to go and relax and have fun and my wife and I highly recommend the Mark-Abby Inn.
4,2 su aprile 20, 2012
Stunning views of the mountains! A few minutes drive to several wineries & two breweries. Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway & hiking trails. A perfect getaway!
5 su febbraio 06, 2012
We had a fabolous time at The Mark Addy, it was better than we ever could have imagined. The whole building and our room was beutiful, the breakfast amazing and Rafael and Leslie with family the best hosts imaginable. It was more like visiting old friends and the stay was worth every penny, we just want to go back again, again and again.
4,0 su ottobre 20, 2011
Stayed during the week, did the winery scavenger hunt. Fun to do, gave us the opportunity to drive around areas we probably wouldn't have otherwise. Owners hospitable, house decor was great. But, the little dog was the cutest! I wanted to hug him, and pet him, and squeeze him, and call him George. Breakfasts were fantastic!
4,0 su settembre 29, 2011
We stayed in the Elena room for two nights with a Living Social voucher. Sitting on the balcony drinking wine in the evening was most enjoyable. Everyone we spoke to at all the wineries and brew pubs were friendly, and hospitable. Virginia wine country is a very environmentally conscious area. Pippin Hill Farm winery was our favorite. I recommend the Ramsay Estate Coffee Porter from the Devil's Backbone Brewing Company. We will definitely return to Virginia wine country and the Mark Addy Inn.
4,6 su agosto 30, 2011
We spent the weekend at the Mark Addy Inn for a wedding and celebration. The owners, Leslie and Rafi, made us feel very welcome. Leslie was warm and hospitable and after a short time knew us all by first name. Her husband, Rafi, is the outstanding chef. We felt like we were with family. The food and service were excellent. The rooms are charming and comfortable. We totally enjoyed our stay, and if we have reason to go back to that area again, would definately stay at the Mark Addy Inn.
4,2 su agosto 22, 2011
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mark Addy this past weekend and had a great time! The Inn was perfectly located in between our stops in Charlottesville and Staunton, as well as all the great wineries and breweries in the area. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, but it had ample room, and the shower was unexpectedly large. The breakfasts were different each morning, and were all very tasty, especially the quiche. The owners, Leslie and Rafi were both very attentive and friendly, and made sure that we were having a great time. I would highly recommend the Mark Addy to anyone who wants a nice stay in the mountains, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We will be back as soon as we can!
4,2 su luglio 24, 2011
I thought the room was a little overpriced; however, we had a fantastic weekend. The innkeepers were away but the temporary innkeepers were fantastic! I felt right at home and it was a very personable experience. Breakfast was top notch absolutely delicious each morning. They were more than accommodating.... We arranged a ride to and from a winery for a concert so we didn't have to be concerned with how much wine we had that night. The grounds could use a little sprucing up. We had a blast playing pool in the neat little out building. I would definitely stay here again but I wouldn't pay the extra for a jacuzzi room. The tub was nice but it was so loud we decided not to use it. Bare Necessities is a MUST for a quaint, romantic and delicious dinner. We would have rather skipped the "famous" Blue Ridge Pig... The BBQ was good, the sides okay, the service completely pathetic.
4,0 su luglio 07, 2011
We thought we were escaping the heat of the coast - but found that the mountains create the heat! When we checked in, there was a young man playing the grand piano and a young lady singing our favorite Leonard Cohen song, 'Hallelujah'. That set the tone for our wonderful 5 day retreat. Leslie hired a driver to drive us to several wineries - Veritas is the best. Raj (sp) is the best cook, Leslie the best host and the parrot did not bite me! Our room was spacious, cool, and attached to the porch. We will return soon!
3,4 su giugno 23, 2011
We had an absolutely delightful stay at the Mark Addy Inn. The Inn itself is lovely, the owners were accomodating and extremely helpful with local insider tips that really made our stay special and memorable. The room was lovely, comfortable and clean and was as described. The surroundings are gorgeous. We will be returning, for sure!
4,6 su giugno 10, 2011
We came on a weekend---later than the normal check in time, but Leslie was very gracious and welcomed us just the same. Our room was spacious and charming. Since the house is older, it did have very squeaky floorboards (or at least in our room)---that was the ONLY negative. Everything was completely dust-free and clean. I felt very comfortable walking around barefooted in our room. Breakfast every morning was a lovely 3 course meal. My boyfriend had allergies and they catered to his tastes beautifully. The same attention and care was given to the vegetarian couple beside us. Leslie was very helpful when we asked about the local attractions. Gave us tips and suggestions that we definitely appreciated: check out the Hill Top Berry Farm, the Afton Vineyards, and the Farmer's Market! Rafael was a bit more quiet but still kind and attentive. We also chose to have dinner in the Fountain room one night. My lamb was delicious. My boyfriend's ribeye was cooked perfectly. We loved our stay and would definitely return.
5 su febbraio 23, 2011
Me and my now fiancee Pete stayed there in October of 2010 and had a wonderful time at the Mark Addy and the area wineries. We then came back in February of 2011 where Pete proposed to me at a local winery and then rented out the Mark Addy for our friends and family to surprise us. Leslie and Raffi are fabulous hosts and the rooms are neat and the food is awesome!
4,6 su novembre 24, 2010
My wife and I stayed here, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable and quiet place to stay while touring the Blue Ridge or nearby historic Charlottesville. The innkeepers, Leslie and Rafael are very pleasant and eager to please, wonderful people to have as hosts. Rafael makes an incredible gourmet breakfast, and they also host dinner for guests, though we didn't partake for the evening we stayed. The building itself it absolutely beautiful, and practically oozes history. The views of the mountains around are breathtaking, and the front porch is a great place to watch the sun set over the Blue Ridge. We brought our dog along and they were accommodating at every turn. The room we had included it's own private porch that lets out to a side yard where I could walk the dog. The property is 12 acres and Leslie was very nice about letting my dog roam off-leash on much of the property, so long as he didn't bother other guests (who turned out to love him anyway). The only issues we had was with the room, which had only a double bed (my wife was 8 months pregnant at the time of our visit, so we could've used a queen) and no working alarm clock (there's a gorgeous antique brass clock, but I wasn't about to mess with it). These are the only things keeping me from rating the room as "outstanding." The other issue was in the motion-activated security floodlights outside the inn, which for an avid star-gazer like me instantly kills any chance to take advantage of the Blue Ridge's dark skies. I couldn't see anything, which is a shame because it was a perfectly clear night. But even with those tiny issues, the Mark Addy is a great place to stay. We would stay again.
Risposta del proprietario
.....Just wanted to let everyone know that every bed has been replaced (11/2011) and they are now ALL kings or queens.....no more double/full sized beds! Thanks for the great review!
3,4 su novembre 10, 2010
We had a great time for our anniversary. The house was large, quaint, old fashioned, and clean. The views were beautiful and the scenery very peaceful. We liked the location as it was close to the Blue Mountain Brewery, Devils Backbone Brewery, Vineyards, and Skyline Drive/Blue Ridge Parkways. The food was great and Leslie took time to direct us to the places we wanted to visit. Would come again! Thank you!
3,4 su novembre 04, 2010
This inn and room are beautiful. The owners are very nice and interesting people and breakfast was outstanding. The only thing about our stay that was less than amazing was the bed, it was uncomfortable and it squeaked so loudly that if one of us moved it would wake the other. I would definitely stay here again but would ask for the room with the best (possibly newest) bed.
4,0 su ottobre 26, 2010
Beautiful setting with the amenities of home. The Mark Addy was very inviting and Leslie and Rafael were wonderful innkeepers. I hope to return to this wonderful inn.
3,2 su ottobre 20, 2010
My husband and I stayed in one of the "standard" rooms at the Mark Addy since none of the deluxe rooms was available. We encountered immediate problems with the plumbing as soon as we settled in for the evening. Upon drawing a shallow bath, I noticed that there was no more water in the tap. We were told by the proprietors that the water supply had given out and the pump needed to run for a while. Then later in the evening, when the water was re-established, we were unable to get the hot water tap to close and had to turn off the water supply below the tub to stop the dripping water. When we attempted to open the window to the room we were dismayed to (1) see that it would not open and (2) discover about eight stink bugs that were adhering to the folds of the curtain. We turned on the overhead fan, but it made a terrible racket and would not work at its lowest speed (it only hummed). So we were forced to use the noisy air conditioner on a cool autumn evening. To be fair, the faulty tap and the stink bug problem were resolved as soon as I brought them to the attention of Leslie. However, it is my opinion that no room should have been rented without insuring that everything was in order and no one appeared to make that kind of quality control check. The breakfasts included in our stay were OK--nothing out of the ordinary. Dinner was delicious, though relatively pricey for the quality and quantity of food. Leslie, the proprietor, is welcoming, friendly, and warm. A thoughtful packet of information about all the surrounding attractions, wineries, and restaurants awaited us in our room. The wine package that the Inn offers was a good deal and tremendous fun. The owners of the Inn are trying hard to make a go of it, and if Leslie could do it on personality alone, she would. She suggested that our experience would have been much better in one of the deluxe rooms. We might give the Inn a second try. Certainly it is a comfortably and lovely place to stay.
Risposta del proprietario
We have a ghost named Nelly. She and her husband, Dr. John Everette, built the house in 1890.Nelly was our 1st post mistress (thus the town name, Nellysford). Dr. Everette serviced the county by horseback and is renowned for not charging his patients.This caused tension between the couple. Nelly still vents her frustrations! A valve in a tub wouldn’t shut off so the water ran for several hours.Since we are on a well pump, the entire house lost water pressure.As soon as we were alerted to the problem we found the issue and resolved it.The water pressure was back to normal within 20 minutes. The same night the same thing happened to the reviewers tub (Thank you Nelly!) but was fixed immediately.The day the reviewer came it was 80 degrees outside – too soon to remove the AC. Their room has one window. This is the window the AC is in. Had we removed the AC, there would have been complaints as well,a no win situation in a time of year where the temperature fluctuates 30 degrees in a day and the fan broke. Lastly, we (and EVERYONE ELSE) has had stink bug problems this season. We exterminate and vacuum prior to check in. We may have missed a few or maybe more came in. Our apologies are extended in either case.We often joke about our mischievous ghost. It seems like she plays these tricks on us to remind us that SHE is in charge. In the winter our ice machine is full of ice and on a 90 degree July day it might just stop.Lights go on that no one has touched; pictures go crooked when no one has been within yards of them.Our guests usually overlook these happenings and say that the charm of the inn and the views that abound make up for the little mishaps. The tubs and the fan have been functioning for the past 5 years.I can’t say if it was Nelly, Murphy or coincidence that caused them all to break that day.The good news; the rest of the week has been fine. No broken valves, no mysterious lights or crooked pictures. We hope Nelly has had her fill of tricks and will be at rest.
3,0 su ottobre 06, 2010
The winery scavenger hunt package was a great value and a lot of fun.
4,0 su ottobre 05, 2010
I found this wonderful B&B while deployed. I knew it was just what my husband and I needed to reconnect when I returned home. We had a wonderful stay with delicious meals and friendly service. Coalby was a delite and such an adorable 'old man'! Our room was beautifully decorated and the balcony was so peaceful in the evening. We would definately stay again and recommend to all friends and family. Nicole & Justin
4,0 su agosto 25, 2010
My wife and I had a good time there. The building is old so there are some issues but I believe that the owners are keeping the building well maintained. The breakfast is great I wish I could have that every day, the dinner is good but on the pricey side. Everyone needs to stay at least once.
4,0 su luglio 07, 2010
We had such a relaxing time at the Mark Addy in the Elena room (very comfortable, roomy and beautiful) with its own balcony seating area. We were clebrating our 13th anniversary. My favorite pasttime after a long day of siteseeing and wine tasting was to relax on the front porch, chat with the guests, and watch the fireflies light up the gardens. Our breakfasts were scrumpscious and enjoyed in the cheerful breakfast room overlooking the side garden. Our hosts, Leslie and Rafie, are a delight. Debbie and Bryan Dalton, Redondo Beach, CA
5 su giugno 29, 2010
My partner and I stayed at the Mark Addy Inn and wished we could have stayed an extra week! It's perfectly nestled in the crook of the Blue Ridge Mountains with impeccable views from each room and porch, expansive groomed yards with an Italian fountain upon entering. All amenities and tons of European/American charm. Leslie and Rafael, the owners, were especially welcoming and it's not unusual to share wine on the front porch in the rocking chairs watching the sun set over the mountains. The bed: super soft and large, bathroom with views and even a hair dryer. Wooden floors throughout, quiet charm, and loads of nature, ponds, trails and ski resort (for winter) within biking or driving distance. Breakfast: home-made egg dishes, vegetable and fruit sides, yogurt, fresh juices, and coffee. All you can taste warm breads, even croissants. I've said enough now, but I still feel like I can't sing enough praise about this special bed and breakfast. I felt like I was at home.
1,8 su giugno 16, 2010
The location was great. Breakfast was very good. The innkeepers were out of town during out stay so perhaps our stay would have been different if they were there but I don't think so. Our room was dark and ugly with a native american motif and that would have been fine except for the smell...the room smelled musty but the linens and pillows smelled sweaty like a teenage boy's room. We found Fabreeze by the office and sprayed a ton of it so we could sleep for the night. As soon as we checked in we started killing spiders and when we told another guest, they said they too had killed a few bugs in their room too. When I got home and unpacked my picnic hamper, which we brought in from the car that night and put on the floor of our room, a huge roach crawled out of it!!!!! I would not stay there again, and wouldn't recommend it. We enjoy B&B's both here and abroad, and this is the first bad experience we have had.
Risposta del proprietario
We are very sorry that you did not have a nice stay at our inn. As you mentioned, we were out of town and feel just horrible that your concerns were not addressed at the time you were here, which I am sure they would have been had you mentioned them to the innkeeper. We have pictures and descriptions of all of our rooms on our website and on bedandbreakfast.com, so it is unfortunate that you chose a room that you didn’t like. I don’t think that the Sundance room is dark and ugly, perhaps not the typical motif you may be used to and not your taste, but we have had many positive reviews from guests who admire the décor and the artifacts that are in the room. I have interviewed the innkeeper on duty, the housekeepers and the pest control company. What I have found is that while we were away, there did seem to be more bugs than usual at the inn. The pest control company has told me that this year the wood roaches (outdoor summer bugs who are attracted to light) commonly mistaken for roaches, are especially bad this year due to the moisture we have had through the winter and spring. The pest control company has come out again and done another extermination to further eliminate the problem. That being said, we are a country inn and there are always going to be bugs and spiders in the country. Also I don’t think it would be unreasonable to assume that the picnic hamper could have attracted a bug or two while you were using it for your picnic. I do not smell any mustiness in the room or the linens today, as I checked after reading your review. I cannot however attest to what you may have experienced while we were away. We would very much like the opportunity for you to return and reverse your opinion of our inn so please give me a call to set up a complimentary stay.
5 su marzo 05, 2010
I recently returned to The Mark Addy for a break from the real world. It was just as charming as I remembered from my last visit. The view of Wintergreen is absolutely beautiful. Sitting on the front porch is my favorite. The room was perfect for my family of four, so warm and comfortable. Dinner was great but remember you need a reservation ahead of time. We enjoyed our breakfast and liked the not to early morning hour it is served. I highly recommend this Inn and plan to visit once every season because the location is perfect all year long. Thank you to Leslie and Raffi the owners for making us feel at home. Our visit was perfect.
4,2 su febbraio 17, 2010
My wife and I decided to go a few days before Valentines Day and we had a great time. We went with the wine scavenger hunt really enjoyed touring the local wineries we were treated exceptionaly well at every place we went including The Mark Addy. Oh and the breakfast was great Rafael thanks Lesile for the hospitality. We will see you guys again soon!
5 su febbraio 01, 2010
My boyfriend and I just needed a weekend to get away, and we chose the Mark Addy. The owners were so accommodating, we had everything we needed. The meals were outstanding - especially the special dinners offered. (Try the Filet Mignon - great steak!) Breakfasts were delicious every day, and it was the perfect get away for a weekend. Great views and good company - I'd recommend this place to anyone!
2,0 su gennaio 07, 2010
This property is badly in reed of repairs. Dinner was near unsatisfactory -- breakfast acceptable. Husband has a poor attitude. Husband smoked on the porch denying this to any guest who did not want second hand smoke. Go elsewhere!!
Risposta del proprietario
We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us.We wish you would have addressed your issues with us personally so we could have made immediate remedies wherever possible.We don’t understand what you think is “badly in need of repair” as you did not elaborate.The inn was built between 1844 and 1910 and has all historical and original walls, windows, doors, etc.We are constantly making repairs and sprucing up to keep things nice without destroying historical value.As hard as we try, perhaps we missed something and since you didn’t elaborate, we have no way of knowing what you are referring to.As far as dinner being unsatisfactory, we wonder what specifically you found unsatisfactory.In 4 years and over 4000 served we’ve had 4 people find their dinner didn’t meet their expectations.The 3 people who let us know constructively and politely that they were unhappy did not pay for their dinner.We would NEVER expect them to.As far as my husband having a bad attitude, I ask that you remember innkeepers are people too.The weekend you were here we had had a personal loss that was quite devastating. I was able to hide my sadness and play the part of the cheerful innkeeper. He wasn’t as good at hiding his emotions.We apologize that it reflected in his mood. Most people can call in sick or take a personal day off when a personal crises hits. This option is not available for those in this profession.We have to care for our guests in good times and bad. We try hard to engage our guests in conversations.Most people find my husband interesting and charming. I’m sorry you didn’t get to experience that side. Regarding smoking on the porches.We do post on online that smoking is allowed on the porches. The front porch is 60’ X 12’.I’m not sure how you couldn’t find a spot to enjoy the views without beinghe impact of the smoke however, we do ask our guests to consider others when smoking.We do the same. Had you mentioned that it bothered you it would have halted immediately.
4,0 su settembre 09, 2009
Truly charming in every way -- rooms, decor and especially the staff. We did not have the pleasure of meeting the owners but were beautifully taken care of by Noel, the assistant innkeeper, who couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Since the owners were away (the husband is the chef), we didn't have the chance to try dinner there but breakfast each morning was delicious.
5 su giugno 28, 2009
Leslie and Rafael treat you like you are part of the family. Each room is different and very clean. The breakfast is super, but what is nice about the Mark Addy is that Leslie and Rafeal have an awesome dinner menu for guest and the public. So after a long day checking out the many winerys in the area, hiking in the blue ridge mountians or just taking in all the sights in that historic and beautiful part of Virginia, you can enjoy a super meal and relax on the porch and watch the sun set and not worry about going back out to find a good resturant.
5 su giugno 26, 2009
I have stayed at a number of Bed and Breakfasts, and this was by far the best. The service was outstanding, the food was excellent, the hosts were always trying to make everything right for me on my stay--even to the point of providing their cell phone numbers so I could reach them at any time. The Inn sits on beautifully landscaped grounds, and at night one can gaze at literally thousands and thousands of stars. I highly recommend this B&B, and I will definitely be returning there in the future.
4,8 su maggio 31, 2009
We recently celebrated our 10th anniversary. We decided to visit some area winerys and we spent our anniversary night at Mark Addy's. We had an excellent dinner that night and a good breakfast the following morning. Leslie and her husband were excellent hosts. We stayed in the "Colonial" which was spacious and very clean.This was our first time in a bed and breakfast and this experience proved to be very pleasant. We hope to visit Mark Addy again soon and we would recommend it for anybody looking for a relaxing time near the Blue Ridge mountains.
5 su gennaio 05, 2009
My husband surprised me with a weekend getaway for our 16th anniversary. The Mark Addy Inn was just the perfect place. The food was the best that I have ever eaten. The rooms were perfect, we watched the sunset from our jacuzzi and it was amazing. The Mark Addy is such a beautiful place. If you are looking for romance in Virginia, this is the place you will find it. We will go back as soon as possible!
5 su novembre 10, 2008
My Husband & I were in Virginia for a wedding & out of luck trying to find a place to stay due to such a popular weekend. The bride & groom had the Rehearsal Dinner at The Mark Addy Inn. The Dinner was delicious & exceeded everyone's expectations. The Innkeepers heard of our dilemma & accommodated us. They were friendly, had a great sense of humor & made our trip a wonderful memory. I enjoyed their love of history, nature & food. The house was elegant yet cozy. The property looked out into the peaceful misty Blue Ridge Mountains. I would recommend this B&B to all family & friends.
5 su ottobre 21, 2008
Wow !!! What a trip ! This was the most amazing Bed & Breakfast at which I have ever stayed. The room was very well appointed and spacious, and most of all exceptionally comfortable. I was able to read throughout the house, watch TV, sit on the porch, play the piano, eat dinner, breakfast of course, and watch the clouds and mountains and gorgeous trees blooming. The property is on several acres overlooking the Wintergreen mountains. There is a huge front porch that is very comfortable to sit on and just relax. There were some deer at night. As I walked down the street and long driveway, I was just entranced in the old fashioned days of the Waltons, which was filmed just upthe street. I enjoyed my trip and wish I could live at this place. I felt like was was back home as a kid. What a trip !! The food was exceptional. The innkeepers were very friendly. I was happy !!!
5 su ottobre 20, 2008
I had the pleasure of staying in the Inn in September. What a beautiful place! Sitting on the porch looking at the mountains is like you've stepped in to another time. A time where everything moves slower and life was simpler. It's nestled away on the side of a hill and once you visit you never want to leave. Thanks for a great trip Leslie and Rafael!
3,8 su ottobre 18, 2008
We had a marvelous time at the Mark Addy. Leslie and Rafi are wonderful host. The food was excellent, the surroundings are beautiful and you can’t beat the atmosphere.
4,0 su agosto 25, 2008
I love the Mark Addy Inn's location, food and innkeepers. Leslie is a great host. She makes you feel right at home. I love the coziness of the home and breakfast is awesome. We have stayed there twice and I can't wait to go back. The serenity and view of the mountains is breathtaking. You feel pampered by the hosts and nature.
5 su agosto 02, 2008
We wanted to do something different with our children this summer so we decided a trip to Charlottesville, Monticello and the mountains would be it. We found the Mark Addy B&B online and it is a secret gem! The owners are wonderful, the scenery majestic and I never would have imagined that some of the best dining I've ever experienced would be found in a B&B in Nellysford VA. If you're visiting UVA, Monticello or the surrounding areas, I highly recommned staying at the Mark Addy! M from Philadelphia
4,8 su agosto 01, 2008
The stay was outstanding and exceeded my expectations.
5 su luglio 06, 2008
My husband and I had an amazing trip! Inn was beautiful and just the country escape we were looking for. Views are spectacular. Breakfast was delicious! Rafael and Leslie were great hosts, we felt at home. Went for the summer special of $99 a night, and worth every penny! Would definitely recommend for someone looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway!
4,0 su giugno 15, 2008
Thanks for the great stay. Large room, beautiful view and a lovely breakfast. Next time we're in the area we will definitely be there.
4,6 su marzo 24, 2008
The food, people, and location was super. We had a relaxing visit in a charming location
4,6 su gennaio 15, 2008
The Mark Addy is a great place to get away from the world. The rooms are beautiful, the perfect mix of technology and old world charm. Each room is unique which makes every trip there a little different. Rafael does an amazing job cooking. Breakfast is enough to you satisfied but nothing to feel guilty about. I am a vegetarian and they are able to accommodate me without a second thought. Dinner there is amazing as well, and I suggest anyone staying at the inn to feat dinner there at least once. W have traveled all over the world and I can honestly say I never ate so well! The area is lovely and there is just enough to do if you want to get out and see things. Our first trip there we went on the wine lovers' scavenger hunt, a special offered by the inn, and it was very fun. The second trip we ventured a little further and went to see Monticello, the home of Thomas Jefferson. We also went to a great little theatre called the Blackfriars Playhouse, in Staunton, VA. The show was great and we plan on going back there as well. This is one of our favorite places to go when we want a weekend together, and we will keep going back. I would recommend it to anyone!
4,2 su ottobre 16, 2007
A charming place to stop when visiting The skyline Drive.
4,2 su giugno 26, 2007
Leslie the host, Rafi the chef,Stef the help where needed. Everything was wonderful. Our room the colonel nice,just like Leslie. My wife and I exchanged gifts in our room. We had the Romantic PKG.and dinner awaited us downstairs. Rafi is a great chef. Our dinner was perfect.Lamb Chops for the wife and Filet Mingon for me. All by candlelight. Every day Rafi did something different for breakfast. The blueberry Fench Toast with cinnimon warmed grapefruit was our fovorite.All in all from the fountain and view of the mountains to the food and personal service The Mark-Addy will stay in our memories. We will be back.
5 su aprile 10, 2007
I booked a surprise getaway for my husband and the Mark Addy was what i chose. I called and reservedand the owner told me she was not going to be there and her daughter was a bit worried. No worries it was the best experience I am interested to see when I return how the actually inkeepers can top the service that we recieved from this young girl. The B&B was most impressive and I have visited a few even overseas. The gourmet food was too die for. I will surley return and ask all who are visiting the area to take even a dinner to lunch. The view was all they said and the website didn't lie all of our expectations came to present. Thanks to The Mark Addy