Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,1

Più info

  • Camera4,0
  • Servizi4,2
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,2
  • Cibo4,1

Valore della struttura
30 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful B&B

5 su marzo 04, 2014

My husband and I were married 5 years ago in Middleburg, VA. We found a deal online for the Briar Patch Inn B & B so decided to give it a try. It was both of our first B&Bs so we weren't sure what to expect. We rented the Rose and Sunflower room so that we could have private use of their joint bathroom. We didn't realize that those rooms are kind of secluded so it was like staying in our own private suite - which was fantastic. It was too cold to use the pool or hot tub but the grounds looked really peaceful. The breakfasts were so yummy and I was very impressed that they had gluten free choices for those with allergies. There selection was fabulous as well. Everything about that weekend was just so wonderful. I would definitely recommend staying here if planning on staying anywhere in the Middleburg area.


Great Wedding and Anniversary!

4,8 su giugno 20, 2013

My husband and I got married at Briar Patch a year ago! We loved it so much, and we love their staff! The wedding was gorgeous and perfect, and we returned for out one year anniversary! The staff was awesome as usual, the historic home and grounds breathtaking! The breakfasts were so tasty! We swam, drank champagne, used the hot tub, walked the grounds, read the history of the civil war there (a battle happened right on the grounds) and reminisced about our wedding. We found the PERFECT place to escape to!


Lovely B&B

4,0 su giugno 09, 2013

Lovely place to stay and relax. Friendly staff and delicious food.


Peaceful

4,8 su aprile 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Briar Wood. Full of beautiful antiques with warm country charm. Loved it


Cute and Cozy!

4,8 su febbraio 23, 2013

This was my hubby and I's trip away from our newborn baby. We wanted to go somewhere and just relax. Brair Patch was so cute and cozy! The building is very old and has a lot of history that we enjoyed learning about. The sitting room was a great place we could relax in while sipping hot chocolate (or wine!). We were able to use the hot tub even in the cold weather! The food was delicious! My husband is a Chef... and he really enjoyed it too! The hospitality is just great! Everyone we met was super friendly and helpful. They even gave us recommendations for different wineries and restaurants. Our room was the Hyacinth Room. The floor is a bit creaky but it is Historical! The decor was nice and the bed was comfy. We even had a little fireplace! We would highly recommend them!! We hope to be back there soon. Thanks again! The Bergendahls


Best B&B ever!!

5 su novembre 14, 2012

We've never been to a more accommodating and generous place! We were married here a year ago and invited back for a complementary stay to celebrate our 1st anniversary. Beautiful location surrounded by beautiful country and great day trip options. Our wedding was spectacular with complete use of the facilities. Our guests loved each room, enjoyed the staff, pool, hot tub, horses, porches, EVERYTHING! The best thing they've given us are our memories. We love this place because we felt totally at home and cared for. Dan and his staff have great energy and make everyone feel like their part of the family. Can't wait to go back!


Best meeting we have had in years!!!

4,6 su ottobre 16, 2012

The Briar Patch delivered accommodations that exceeded our expectations at our last company meeting. We were able to hold a very productive meeting as well as escape during breaks to enjoy spectacular meals! There were plenty of extracurricular activities to do in the surrounding area that were great for teambuilding. I definitely recommend this Bed & Breakfast for any company retreats or meetings!


August 2012

4,0 su agosto 15, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the very homey inn. The rooms are very comfortable, if a little noisy with the window unit a/c. Innkeepers made us feel very welcome and at home. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub and relaxing w/ a glass of wine on the expansive front porch.


Wonderful Time

5 su luglio 02, 2012

We took advantage of a Living Social special and stayed for two nights, June 18-19, 2012. It was a marvelous experience. Our room was clean and comfortable. The entire staff was extremely nice and attentive to any needs. Breakfast was outstanding. The location was close to some good restaurants in Middleburg as well as some wineries. The pool and hot tub were very relaxing. It was the perfect quiet getaway. We plan on coming back soon.


When all you want is peace & quiet with none of the fussiness

4,0 su giugno 04, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at the Briar Patch B & B. The grounds are well kept and the pool & hottub are a real treat for relieving the the workaday aches & pains. The house is casual and comfy and the staff is attentive and friendly. Nicely situated for short hops to town (Middleburg) and vineyards all around. Sure, you could find more polished , stiff and snappy accommodations elsewhere but if its real country hospitality (as opposed to a hotel experience) you seek the Brair Patch is it.


We Loved Staying at Briar Patch Bed and Breakfast!

5 su giugno 02, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and we really enjoyed it! It was just what we needed- a little vacation and to unplug from the world for a couple of days! The hospitality was charming, and homemade breakfast food was amazing. Although there were 14 other people there at the time, we felt as if our privacy was not compromised. If you have never been to a B&B, I would highly recommend trying your stay at Briar Patch!


A wedding at the Briar Patch

4,2 su aprile 28, 2012

I was a bridesmaid in a wedding at the Briar Patch. What a nice venue -- perfect for the event, with good indoor areas and a lawn for outdoor pictures, and the staff was both helpful and professional -- available when we needed them, and otherwise very low-key -- great for keeping stress under control. The rooms were comfortable and tastefully decorated. Thank you!


Enjoyed our stay

3,4 su aprile 16, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Briarpatch the staff was very friendly and helpful the house was lovely. We did use the hot tub and it had a pretty bad smell, my bed was worn out needs a new mattress badly, I kept rolling to the center of the bed. But all in all my experience was good. Would consider going back especially since they are pet friendly.


The perfect B&B

4,8 su marzo 24, 2012

Absolutely lovely! We were very impressed with the level of customer service and organization. Snacks and goodies available at all times in the kitchen, tons of books, games, magazines and a couple of tv's to keep you entertained. The grounds are beautiful and having the pool and hot tub for our use was the perfect finishing touch. And the staff was amazing - friendly, service-oriented and really invested in your being comfortable and cared for. Great location as well!


A nice alternative

3,6 su marzo 22, 2012

I stayed at the Briar Patch a week ago and it was a good experience. The host was kind. The food was good. The bed was comfortable. I stayed upstairs and although it was a shared bathroom per say - I had it all to myself. The shower head squealed really loud however which made taking my two showers annoying. Other than that it was a nice alternative to a hotel and I would recommend it.


Great Stay

4,0 su febbraio 01, 2012

We stayed at Briar Patch because of a Living Social deal but will go back because of the wonderful rooms, great food, and wonderful people. The owner booked our dinner reservations for us and recommended the most wonderful places to eat. The room was very clean and we felt right at home! Such a wonderful place to stay if you are ever in Middleburg!


Honeymoon

5 su dicembre 27, 2011

OK so we are not experienced B&B people - our first time actually. I have read the more negative reviews and would like to say that we had NONE of the problems reported by them. Being that we are first timers maybe our expectations were a bit less expectant....but I feel extremely happy with the accomodations, service, and atmosphere. We were greeted very warmly and the staff was always helpful, There was access to all the things we needed at all times, and the Cottage which holds a huge amount of charm and whimsy was PERFECT for us! I can not speak to the hot tub or pool as we were there in December, and did not utilize them. Pet friendly really was one of the things that sold me on this destination - though we did not bring our dog I was happy to see a place that was welcoming of the idea of animals. I would like to say that I found the cats to be a welcome and fitting addition to the property. They were friendly and added a homey feel to our stay. I am confused by those persons that might be offended by them when seeking to stay in a rustic, beautiful country setting....If you are not into nature and the things found there, maybe you should stay at the Hilton. LOVE LOVE LOVED our time at the Briar Patch and hope to spend future anniversaries there.


Very Disappointing Experience at the Briar Patch

1,0 su aprile 18, 2011

Our stay at the Briar Patch was very disappointing, in every sense of the word. We had high expectations of this B&B. That all faded when we noticed the entire cottage was infested with bugs, specifically, stink bugs. They were crawling on all surfaces of the cottage, including the bed, our pillows and into our luggage. In case you aren't familiar with these fine critters, they let out a very potent odor if they feel threatened. Needless to say, simply walking to the bathroom could set one of these suckers off and it would smell out the entire place. Multiply that by 100!! When presenting this to the manager, since the owners were on vacation, no actions were taken. We were told, "this is what you get for being in the country." Out of respect to the other guests we were discrete while trying to resolve this matter. We were told that the owners would contact us after arriving back form their vacation. As a lot of money was spent on this highly anticipated trip, we simply wanted to clear the air about our experience. However, the owners never contacted us after being back form vacation for several days. I had to take action and reach out to them directly. I was immediately greeted from a very unfriendly and disgruntled owner. He was very rude and in no way handled the situation with respect or maturity. Instead of "the customer comes first," philosophy he treated this as "I'm right and you are completely in the wrong for complaining about your experience." He then had the nerve to belittle me with such comments as, "you should invent a pesticide for stink bugs," "would you be complaining to me if these were lady bugs?" "you should really think about whether you deserve a refund or not and call ME back in a few days." And just when you thought it couldn't get any worse he proceeded to HANG UP on me mid-conversation. Needless to say, we will NEVER return to the Briar Patch. It's very unfortunate because Middleburg is simply beautiful!


Beautiful, comfortable & historic

4,0 su aprile 15, 2011

Beautifully maintained & decorated in a style consistent with it's history (not too modernized). Perfect if you enjoy a historic experience. Notebook in the room describing the history of the house as well as the area, and a journal for guests to write comments/musings. I had the Rose Room which is probably the largest and favorite. My friend stayed in the Sunflower room next door and we shared a bathroom (had a clawfoot tub!). The whole "suite" could be closed off from the rest of the house by closing a door to the hallway so felt very private. We were upstairs in the front of the house with amazing views. 4 other bedrooms and 2 bathrooms upstairs (vacant during our stay), plus 2 bedrooms downstairs at opposite ends with private baths & entrances, and a cottage outside. There is a huge event building on the property for weddings etc. and the beautiful grounds and ability to house the wedding party/family in the house & cottage make this ideal for that or to rent out for a whole family for holidays or reunions. Kitchen was well stocked. Guests encouraged to help themselves to snacks/drinks. A full breakfast was prepared in the mornings and pastries, cereals, coffee, tea etc. is always available. There is a pool & hot tub on the property, acres of land with horses, a beautiful porch, and several outdoor seating areas (although the weather wasn't conducive to utilizing these during our stay). There are 4 wineries in the nearest town, and dozens of others less than an hour away. We arrived on a Tues, many of the wineries were closed, but we managed to find at least 6 to visit during out stay. Middleburg is lovely with beautiful brick buildings & shops. We enjoyed local fare at several restaurants including the Red Fox Inn. I loved the B&B and the area and plan to go back. Probably my favorite B&B to date.


Lovely

4,2 su marzo 31, 2011

I stayed at the Briar Patch for two nights - one the night before my wedding in Middleburg and the second was on my wedding night. I stayed in the cottage and was so impressed - it is a beautiful, roomy and comfortable accomodation. There was plenty of space for everyone to get ready the day of the the wedding and we were able to enjoy a wonderful breakfast the day of. I will definitely be returning for a future visit - maybe for our first anniversary!


Delightful find!

4,0 su marzo 30, 2011

Had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. This B&B is set in a lovely setting and has an interesting history. Our stay was delightful. We had tasty enjoyable breakfasts and access to the kitchen filled with tasty snacks and drinks anytime of the day. Our room was beautiful with a wonderful view. We sat on the front porch at sundown enjoyed a glass of wine and chocolates. There is a living room type room with a TV and the opportunity to meet others if you choose. The area itself is beautiful and filled with history. The Hunter Head Tavern, about 15 minutes away is a unique and charming place to have a satisfying meal. It was a cozy, comfortable, charming and relaxing stay.


Lacking in attention-to-detail, service, and presentation

1,6 su marzo 27, 2011

Nothing horrible, but you can certainly get MUCH better service for your money... Overall, our stay lacked the attention-to-detail, service, and presentation we usually get at B&Bs. There were no personal touches. We did not feel like guests(/customers) of a proprietor, but rather distant relatives that were hosted out of obligation and nothing more. Other B&Bs have welcomed us, given us personalized notes, and sent us off with warm wishes. We got none of that at Briar Patch. While breakfast was very tasty, I have never been at a "self-serve" place where one option of food is just put on the counter and you get it yourself. The other places I have been usually have a small menu where guests can choose from one or two things cooked-to-order. Also, usually there is a window of time to get breakfast, for example from 8-10:30, instead of just 9am... get it or miss out. Young staff didn't know much about the area and when asked about things to do, didn't really have any suggestions. They were also not super knowledgeable about the property. Our room was not cleaned during our stay. We paid an extra $200 for a cooking class weekend they offer four times per year. We were given conflicting info about the start time so some people missed the beginning of the presentation. Also, we were told “of course, recipes will be provided," but they were not. We learned later that the owners were away at a wedding. I don't think it's unreasonable to leave for the weekend during a lull period, but most places will close down completely or at least have their getaway when there aren't many people visiting. It seems inappropriate to host a cooking weekend with a full house of people and then leave for a wedding. I emailed them about our poor experience and my email was ignored. Again, not a horrible place, but for the money you can get MUCH better service. We will not return.


And they even take cats!

4,4 su gennaio 07, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at Briar Patch - with our teenage daughter and two cats (!) - while we relocated to the DC area. Very relaxing and welcoming. We felt very much at home and would certainly recommend Briar Patch to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Friendly service and just a half-hour or so from DC.


Wonderful 10th Anniversary

4,6 su novembre 06, 2010

We had a terrific time at Briar Patch. the staff were all very friendly and warm. We will be back.


Wonderful escape from reality

4,0 su novembre 01, 2010

My husband & I won a free weeknight stay here at a silent auction, so I have no advice on why we chose to stay here. (We live about 30 minutes away so this was a nice distance for a quick escape from life/work/kids....) I can tell you that our stay was very nice. We stayed in the Iris room which was lovely! Dan was wonderful...not only did he recommend a nice restaurant for us for dinner, but he also called to make sure they had space for us. We enjoyed watching TV in the common room and appreciated the munchies left out. Breakfast the next morning (continental during the week) exceeded our expectations. Everything was neat and clean while being comfortable and inviting. Definitely check it out if you have the opportunity!


Great Little Place w/Lots of Character

4,6 su gennaio 22, 2009

My husband and our friends recently stayed at Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast for the Inauguration. Our initial purpose for staying there was to have a convenient place to stay so we could easily get to the Metro Station. Briar Patch exceeded our expectations all around. The owners didn't price gouge us like every other establishment during the Inauguration festivities. The rooms were cozy, clean, and smelled very pleasant. I travel for work, so I live in hotels and have a pretty high standard for where I stay. We will definitely be returning, so we can patron some of the mom and pop stores and visit the local wineries. I'm also huge on Customer Service and staff was awesome. Everyone was so helpful and so knowledgeable about the DC area. Two thumbs up! Definitely a great location to kick back and relax.


secluded but close

3,8 su agosto 24, 2008

What fun to find a rural B&B so close to Dulles airport, Ashburn, and Leesburg. I pulled in at 11pm and Dan and Ellen were a welcome sight.


So disappointing

4,0 su aprile 15, 2008

We stayed in October 2007 as part of a wedding party. The owner sat and watched while we cleaned up the dirty grounds which hadn't been cleared from the previous weekends event. The cottage was dark and not prepared when we arrived and then we had to request soap as the liquid containers were empty. The kitchen is a mess and more importantly the staff were disinterested in their guests. The place has so much potential and the location is charming. Could be a great place if they would just invest some loving care and money into the B&B other than the event hall.


Good But Not Great

4,0 su dicembre 10, 2007

I booked the Iris Room to share an intimate 30th Wedding Anniversary with my wife. We had a great time in the outdoor hot tub, had an outstanding breakfast and enjoyed the peaceful serenity of the local and surrounding countryside. Our stay can be summarized with the words quiet, peaceful, pleasant, cozy and warm. If you are looking for a place that your can really relax and feel like you're in your own home, this is the place. The refrigerator is stocked and there are plenty of snacks available although they don't seem to cater to people on diets. There was ample fruit available, but it was not the freshest. There were no yogurts, diet sodas or coffee creamers (of which they stock at least six different flavors). My worst complaints during our short stay would have to be that the place could use more maintenance and attention to details to put this place "over the top." Little things like scraping the window glass after painting, filling small cracks in the walls, dusting lady bugs from window sills, removing price stickers from room decorations/kicthen pots, oiling squeaking door hinges, replacing screens with holes etc. could turn our good experience into a great experience.


Quiet, Quaint, and Ideal...

4,0 su luglio 23, 2007

We stayed at the one-bedroom cottage at Briar Patch and loved it. The cottage is located off far away from a two-lane quiet, country road and offers the ultimate in PRIVACY and SECLUSION. The cottage is also stocked with snacks, board games, DVD's, full kitchen (i.e. pots, pans, utensils, etc.) and a clawfooted tub...this is appealing because you can stay fully entertained if you decide NOT to leave the cottage and explore MIDDLEBURG. We, however, decided to take a tour of the town. The B&B is located near a small village full of shops, two wineries, and a small, privately owned restaurant. In addition to this, their are several farms and historical sites to visit. The scenery is also picturesque and worth the drive to all the above attractions. Although, the accomodations aren't exactly luxury, what Briar Patch has to offer is definitely worth every penny! We will return again SOON!


Briar Patch Bed & Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $95 - $270
  • Recensioni (30) 4,1
  • Camere 8
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7033275911
  • Numero di Fax 1-7033275933
  • Gratuito 1-8663275911

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina