Mayneview B&B Recensioni

Globalmente
4,2

Più info

  • Camera4,0
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,3
  • Pulizia4,2
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
157 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Lovely historic home, wonderful hosts.

5 su luglio 10, 2014

This is a lovely old historic home with great views. The hosts are wonderful and gave us lots of info about the history of the house.


Hidden Treasure in the Shenandoahs!

5 su luglio 01, 2014

Pet friendly and clean - a rare find! Owners were very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was lovely, with choices. The place was well cared for despite its age- over 100 years old. Location is about 5 minutes from Main Street shops, 15 minutes to the Shenandoah River State Park. We liked that it was not on the main street directly, but close. We will stay here again when we return to the Luray area.


Nice location & great owners!

3,4 su giugno 28, 2014

We had stayed at one other bed and breakfast and were not impressed, as bathroom was across hall. We made sure this one had a bathroom in the bedroom and it was very cute and clean. I think the room could have been a little cleaner. It was dusty under the furniture and the house itself needed to have a good spring cleaning. The breakfast was good and LOVED their house cat, Molly! Paul and Sally were very friendly and told us all the great places to go eat and visit. Best thing was the beautiful setting and looking at the mountains and relaxing out on the porch. BUT make sure you have mosquito spray, because we did get bit up!!


Lovely place to stay

4,4 su giugno 18, 2014

Perfect place to stay in Luray, close enough to downtown's restaurants to walk, far enough away it's quiet, a good place to enjoy the caverns or Shenandoah National Park from.


Good choice for the area

3,6 su giugno 09, 2014

This is not a pampering B&B but it doesn't claim to be. It is welcoming and serves it's purpose well for the area. They welcome pets and children alike and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hosts live behind the house in a cottage, so you basically have free reign of the house and it's surroundings. The owner encouraged us to use the hot tub and walk the grounds to see neighboring horses. Breakfast was very good and filling. They were able to answer questions about the area and give suggestions. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. We had everything we needed and easily overlooked dated decor and amenities and a few cobwebs. Would stay here again if we were in the area.


Mayneview has great view

3,2 su giugno 03, 2014

Mayneview B&B is close to Luray Caverns which brought us to this area and it is situated on a hill overlooking the town and beautiful mountains! Host & hostess were very kind and the breakfast was superb! Resident cat, Molly, was friendly. Accommodations were comfortable, could use a deep cleaning though, a little musty and dusty!


Best value in Luray VA

4,2 su giugno 02, 2014

This B&B is perfectly set up on a hill with a view to the east and the VA mtns. Breakfast was gourmet. Little touches like water pitcher and snacks very thoughtful. Molly the cat has everyone trained to her ways, and also is accommodating to those who might not prefer feline company. Hosts are wonderful, helpful, kind. I returned for a second night on my way home.


Great B&B; Super customer service

4,8 su maggio 29, 2014

We had a great stay over Memorial Day weekend. The owner was very helpful and personable including suggesting a place to hike and telling us about the different restaurants in the area. The breakfasts were home-cooked and guests were asked about dietary restrictions and options were provided based on that. A small mark down on the room because, as a tall person, the bed (while very comfortable otherwise) wasn't quite long enough. But, that is a very minor issue. We enjoyed our stay very much!


May stay

4,4 su maggio 27, 2014

Found Mayneview as I was looking for a B&B near the Luray Caverns and some of the local wineries. Was very happy with our room on the 3rd floor - yes the steps to the third floor are narrow, but that was clearly noted in our booking). I really enjoyed soaking in the hot tub and watching the stars and 'city' lights.


charming old house, nice hosts, tasty breakfast

4,4 su maggio 23, 2014

unfortunately, we stayed for just 1 night. Room was clean, decorated with love -including a small ladder for me, getting into bed :-). Private Bathroom across the floor, pink bath tub - great. Breakfast was tasty - fresh fruit, toast, marmelade, frittata with sausages or sweet waffles with sirup and chocolate.Beautiful view on Shanandoah NP and Skyline Drive.


Mayneview

4,2 su maggio 14, 2014

Owners were incredibly friendly and accommodating-- they made adjustments to whatever we needed in our stay. The rooms were nice but there is a house cat, so just an alert if you had allergies. Breakfast was delicious. Overall a very nice stay!


Relaxing

3,8 su marzo 28, 2014

We stayed at the bed and breakfast a couple of days during the week. Our stay was relaxing. The room was nice. We loved the wood stove converted into gas. The cat, Molly, was a nice addition too. The room could have been a little cleaner. There was some mold on the inside of the shower curtain and the floor hadn't been swept in a while. In spite of those things, I would stay there again.

Risposta del proprietario
We'd like to thank these guests for their positive remarks and we're happy to hear that they'd stay with us again in the future. With 360 degree shower curtains in our claw foot tubs, we're always on the lookout for areas that need bleach so thanks for the heads up. I'm not sure how to respond to the "floor" issues as all rooms are vacuumed and dusted prior to guests' arrival.


The suite at the top of the house was amazing!

4,6 su marzo 19, 2014

Everything was perfect about the suite - my only complaint was a couple of stinkbugs and spiders in the room but the house is out in the country so bugs are probably expected. Food is a buffet style, which I'm not a fan of, but the food was still pretty good!


Everything we wanted and more!

5 su febbraio 21, 2014

We had a lovely weekend at this quaint little B&B! Paul was a wonderful host, sharing friendly advice about local dining options and area attractions, including how to get a great discount at the Luray Caverns. The room we stayed in (Merlin) was spacious, clean and charming, with a fireplace and a lovely armoire. The hosts left us complimentary sparkling cider and chocolates, as well as cozy robes and slippers that came in handy when we braved the cold and headed out to the hot tub, which sits on the deck overlooking all of Luray and a beautiful mountain view. Molly, the sweet house cat, spent the whole weekend purring and keeping us company. On the first floor, you'll find a sitting room, extra bathroom, game room and TV room with a flat screen TV and a great selection of DVDs. The kitchen is toward the back of the house, where breakfast is served buffet-style every morning between 8 and 10 a.m. Breakfast is delicious: pecan pancakes, french toast, various quiches and frittatas, breakfast meats, fruit salad, coffee cake, yogurt, cereal, milk, orange juice, coffee and tea. We are vegetarians, and we really appreciated the hosts accommodating our needs without any problems. The kitchen also has a large mini fridge, microwave and complimentary snacks and beverages for guests to enjoy. If you're looking for a B&B that will pamper you without intruding and breathing down your neck, Mayneview is the place for you! Overall a wildly impressive value for only $99 a night. We will definitely be back!


Wonderful experience

4,6 su dicembre 03, 2013

My partner & I stayed here on the coldest night of the year. We were the only guests and were treated like royalty. The B&B is very comfortable, the hosts are extremely helpful, the setting is lovely. And Holly, the house cat, is the sweetest, friendliest, most loving cat I've ever met.


Great place to stay.

5 su novembre 22, 2013

I strongly suggest visiting this place if you need a place to stay. The location is beautiful and the hosts couldn't be nicer. It truly is a great place to stay.


Took a chance

2,6 su novembre 14, 2013

The B&B itself was nice. Very old building, but more dusty than I would expect. There was a sort of breakfast 'buffet' which was OK, but not quite the 'made just for you' kind of breakfasts normally offered at a B&B. After all, breakfast is the second B. The location was fine (just a couple blocks from main street), and we had a nice rest here.

Risposta del proprietario
We appreciate the feedback from these guests as we are always looking for ways to improve accommodations and service. We've received many compliments about our buffet breakfast in reviews and directly from guests. I'm not sure how we could improve this as it actually is the same as the "made just for you" breakfast we serve on non-buffet days. Perhaps it was the buffet style that these guests didn't care for. Buffets allow guests to arrive at breakfast at their leisure rather than at an established time. We rarely receive feedback about our inn being dusty as the rooms are dusted the day guests arrive and the common areas frequently. This sort of review is welcome as it indicates that not all guests will have the same response to our inn and we need to make their experience as positive as possible. When guests check out we make a point of asking them about their experience so we have the impression that guests are generally very pleased with their stay.


One lovely night at the Mayneview B&B

4,2 su novembre 05, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed one night in the Morgana/King room. It was a wonderful experience with great views, lovely hosts, and delicious food. Sally and Paul were so kind and gave us great information about the town and advise on dining and hiking. It was a very cozy place and the hot tub out under the stars was a wonderful way to wind down after a hectic work week. It is a very old home so the shower was the only thing that was somewhat disappointing. Overall a great place to get away. We will definitely return if we ever visit Luray again!


Very enjoyable experience

4,0 su ottobre 25, 2013

The Mayneview Inn was a great option. We visited during the peak leaf season in Luray and found this was the only location that could provide a single night rate, which we needed. The owners were very friendly, the location is perfect for the Caverns and to the Skyline Drive hiking which is what we were there for. Big Meadows was 30 minutes away and that was perfect. We dined at the Artisan Grill and that was terrific and visited the Speakeasy at Mimslyn which is right across the street. We enjoyed the hot tub area for a nightcap and the front porch was great for relaxing the next morning with a cup of coffee and the resident cats. The breakfast was not gourmet but the french toast was tasty, the fruit was fresh and the coffee excellent. Very nice owners, very comfortable beds, very roomy and comfortable common rooms. Esp liked the TV room with loads of DVD's and books available. I would definitely recommend and also return in the future!


Unique and excellent

4,0 su ottobre 25, 2013

Close to some great tourist sites especially in Shenandoah National Park. Rooms were unique and interesting. Service was outstanding - Paul and Sally are super hosts and we wish them well. 2 Brits and 2 Czechs on tour.


Great place at a great price

4,8 su ottobre 17, 2013

The Mayneview B&B is by no means a luxury in, and it has all the quirks of a VERY VERY old farmhouse, so I don't recommend it if you want something really upscale and modern. But if you don't mind the "charm" and a few quirks, this is an excellent find. For the price, I was thoroughly impressed with the quality. The room was small but cute and comfy. The inn has several common areas, including a living room with a flat screen and DVD player, and a game selection and books. The breakfasts had a really good selection of items and all were really really good. The innkeepers gave us tons of good advice and helped make our stay more enjoyable in spite of some bad weather. Also, we got to bring our dog for only $10 a night and they were really flexible about allowing him in different areas of the Inn and allowing us to use our discretion regarding leaving him alone in the room. I would definitely go back and stay again.


Our weekend get away.

5 su ottobre 07, 2013

We would recommend this particular B&B to our friends and family. It is in a lovely area. The service was great. John made us a wonderful breakfast. He showed us around when we first arrived. We had a truly wonderful time. Thank you again so much. D & M


Our stay at the Greentree Inn

3,8 su ottobre 07, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at the Greentree Inn. The house was comfortable, and the innkeeper was friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were substantial and delicious! Our room, upstairs, was cozy but not cramped, but the walls between our room and the one next door were very thin. This was the only downside to our stay, although the guests in the next door room were considerate.


Very relaxing stay

4,2 su settembre 30, 2013

We only stayed for one night at the Mayneview but it had the most spectacular views and was extremely peaceful and friendly... Highly recommended


Great place to stay !!

5 su settembre 29, 2013

Great place, great location, We stayed the weekend for our anniversary and enjoyed everything. The house cat stayed with us the whole weekend. Super sweet cat. Breakfast was outstanding each morning and enjoyed having a choice between two items. Will go again since it is so pretty in the town and overlooking the mountains.


weekend visitor

4,4 su settembre 26, 2013

Very quaint and friendly. Loved it.


Great B&B!

5 su settembre 16, 2013

This was our first B&B and everything was fantastic! I highly recommend it. Nicely furnished, clean, friendly hosts (and cat), and great decor!


Greentree Inn

4,0 su settembre 08, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Labor Day weekend. It was very nice; clean and just as it was represented on the web site. Note: this is for the Greentree Inn, which is down the street from Mayneview B&B. We were told that they share owners. John, who owns a different B&B, took care of checking us in and prepared our breakfast. We were stuffed with a very tasty meal! Loved the bacon! Only disappointment was that we wanted to catch some college football games the night we checked in, and the satellite package doesn't include ESPN! Luckily, they DO have wifi and we watched on our tablet. Small screen, but better than nothing.


Our stay at Mayneview B&B

4,8 su agosto 28, 2013

Wish we had stayed 2 nights, everything was so nice and relaxing.


nice stay

5 su agosto 21, 2013

We stayed here in mid August of 2013. It was relaxing well worth the price. I would stay there again next time I find myself in Luray.


Friendly staff and comfortable accommodation

4,0 su agosto 18, 2013

The Greentree Inn is tucked behind tall pines and offers a comfortable living area with books and internet access, an outdoor jacuzzi, and a quiet, homey atmosphere. John, the manager and caretaker, was very available and welcoming and cooked an enormous, hot breakfast each morning. This was an enjoyable weekend.


very comfortable,great breakfast

4,6 su agosto 17, 2013

My husband and I just returned from spending 2 nights at the Greentree Inn. From other reviews I expected to walk a block to get our breakfast at the MayneView B&B, but that is not what happened. Jon, who is the property manager, not the owner, was fantastic. We stayed a Mon & Tuesday, so it turned out that we were the only guests at the Greentree. This turned out to our advantage, as we had the whole place to ourselves. The decor is country meets Victorian. It is very cozy. If you are looking for elegant, is this not the place. If you want to feel cozy and at home, you will like this. I expected to walk a block for the buffet breakfast at the Maynetree, but John came in both mornings to fix breakfast for us, and both days it was great (and way too much for me to eat, my husband had to help me -- delicious). We stayed in the Willow Room on the 1st floor -- the bathroom is not en suite, however, this was not a detraction for us. The other rooms are upstairs and have the bathroom/shower en suite, however, we really liked the downstairs. We are very active 55-year-olds, and just wanted comfort, which we got. If you are infirm, stay in the Willow Room, which is on the first floor. The stairs are very narrow to get upstairs, so you have to be stable. A happy surprise that wasn't noted on the website was a hot tub, which fits 2.


Pleasant stay

3,0 su agosto 07, 2013

Rooms were clean and cozy, and hosts were welcoming. The lodging itself is older and the bed and bathroom reflect that. While it is well maintained, the mattresses could use an update and the rooms were pretty small. Sally and Paul were hospitable and prepared a delicious, sit down breakfast for the guests. The house cat was quite friendly- unusually so for a cat. Nice place to stay for a night if passing through the area. Close to town- but driving distance- for dinner or other meals.


Had a good time at Mayneview

5 su agosto 07, 2013

We stayed in a beautiful charming house with very nice rooms. We sat relaxed on the porch and had a good time here. Friendly and informative host! It was a pty that we stayed only one night.


Olde world charm

3,4 su agosto 03, 2013

A really quaint place with lots of character, outdoor jacuzzi, great breakfast.


Will recommend

4,6 su luglio 13, 2013

Paul and Sally were great hosts. Paul was waiting on our arrival and he and Sally patiently answered all our questions and made recommendations Besides our room they made many rooms available to us. Books, TVs, cds, and local attraction brochures were available. Snacks were out and an outstanding and varied breakfast was provided each morning. To top all off, we are cat lovers and Molly the resident cat was precious. We will stay with them again and recommend them to friends.


our stsy at Mayneview B&B

3,2 su luglio 04, 2013

Nice B&B, clean and conveniently located to downtown where there were several restaurant choices. Paul was very helpful with providing us with information about the area. There is a cat in this B&B, however, he didn't bother my allergies. The hot tub was great after a long hike!


Great getaway, and friendly cat!

4,8 su giugno 27, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Mayneview. Paul met us at the door when we first arrived and was incredibly friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious and clean. We told Paul that we wanted to check out Luray Caverns and also go hiking in Shenandoah. He provided us great advice and information about both. It definitely made planning our weekend easier. He also pointed us in the direction of fantastic desserts at Mimslyn Inn. Delicious! Speaking of delicious, the brunch at Mayneview was amazing (thank you Sally!). So many options, and all of them good. I can't forget to mention their cat Molly. If you don't like cats, you can just walk right by and she won't bat an eye lash (or a whisker, as the case may be!), but if you do like cats, take a minute to say hello, and she will be your best friend. She was adorable and made our whole stay feel a little more homey. Thank you Sally and Paul for a great stay!


Our first B&B set the bar high!

3,8 su giugno 20, 2013

We had a great time - we were in town for the wedding of friends, who visited a few weekends prior and recommended the Greentree as one solid option of several. It happened that the only other guests in the B&B at the time were friends of ours; it felt like we had the entire place to ourselves, which was a really relaxing way to spend a fun weekend out of town. Would absolutely stay here in the future!


Greentree Inn

4,0 su giugno 17, 2013

We stayed at Greentree, down the street from Mayneview. It was pleasant, the food was great, and the manager was helpful and friendly.


Affordable, cute B&B

3,8 su giugno 05, 2013

I chose the Mayneview because I was in town for a wedding and it was recommended by the bride and groom. It was actually cheaper to stay at the Mayneview then at one of the chain hotels in town (it was just me, not several of us who could split the cost of a room). I stayed in the Guinevere room which has a private hallway bathroom. The room was cute, clean and comfortable. The owners were very nice and accomadating. Breakfast was not fantastic but decent. I was also able to get a discount voucher to visit Luray Caverns on my way out of town. The views from the Mayneview are beautiful. The resident cat, Mollie is super friendly and spent some time visiting my room Sunday morning :) All in all I am very glad I stayed at the Mayneview. Cheaper than a hotel, more charming, better breakfast, more personalized attention and ability to interact with your fellow guests.


Simply a Wonderful Stay

5 su aprile 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mayneview after our day in the Caverns and dinner at Circa 31! Will be back!


Parsons Mayneview

3,4 su aprile 17, 2013

Always good been going there for 7 years


Great place to stay

4,0 su marzo 28, 2013

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer at this professionally run B and B. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a nice view over the town of Luray and Shenandoah National Park in the distance. The owner, Paul, was very helpful in telling us about local restaurants and hikes in the park. Would definitely recommend staying here if in this beautiful part of Virginia.


Perfect spot to relax

4,0 su marzo 19, 2013

Mayneview was the perfect spot for our family Spring Break. We all felt comfortable from the moment we arrived, breakfast was great, and the hot tub was just what we needed following a day of hiking. I would stay there again and have already recommended it to friends.


Myaneview a good choice in Luray!

4,4 su febbraio 13, 2013

Had a lovely stay on our visit to Luray to see Caverns in February. Opted for this B&B over local/less expensive hotels--and glad that we did. Our family of three stayed cozy and comfortable in the Huguenot Suite. Truly enjoyed speaking with Sally and Paul about the history of the place, Great view of town from porch, bet it is even better in the spring, summer and fall. Delicious homemade FULL breakfast. Will definitely return.


Stay here if you can

5 su febbraio 13, 2013

Great stay. Everything from the room to the home cooked breakfast to the hosts was fantastic. Pet friendly and kid friendly to the smallest detail. Would stay there again.


Lovely B&B in Luray

4,4 su gennaio 24, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at Mayneview before touring the caverns in January. We enjoyed our stay very much! Logistically, it was efficient and easy to make and confirm a reservation. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Paul was very friendly and we enjoyed meeting him. Unfortunately we had to leave before breakfast so we didn't get to meet Shelley but if we are in the Luray area again, we will be returning!


Very Enjoyable Stay

4,4 su gennaio 21, 2013

We went in the off season mid week. We enjoyed the peace and quite. We rented the Huguenot Suite. When we arrived, Sally showed us around the house and our unit; then left us to enjoy our stay. The windows are small in the renovated attic, but the view across the valley is wonderful. The service was above par.


quiet & beautiful house with a great view of peaceful town

4,8 su gennaio 20, 2013

My husband and me stayed just one night here, Paul welcomed us even if we arrived there at late evening. the house was clean and charming. The bathroom was private but it wasn't attached at the room. The breakfast was very delicious and I could see all the little things the owner family's touches to take care of the guests around the house. I recommend this B&B.


Mayneview B&B stay in Luray

4,6 su gennaio 14, 2013

Three things sum up the experience: a)quaint old-world decor, b)great breakfast, and c)friendly hosts, all at a good value. I just wished that the rooms were bigger, and that we stayed for longer.


Great stay in Luray

5 su gennaio 09, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in the Huguenot Knight Suite. It's spacious, private, and very cozy. Sally and Paul are really nice people. They'll give suggestions on things to do and places to eat. They even called to see if hiking trails were open. They provide a good breakfast and are accommodating to dietary needs/preferences. I would definitely recommend this B&B.


Wonderful Place!

5 su novembre 18, 2012

We stayed at the Greentree Inn and were pleasantly surprised that it was formerly the Rose House and we had stayed there before! The house is in a wonderful location and very cozy. We were welcomed by Jon Mitchell, who could not have been nicer! Jon fixed breakfast the next morning and it was a down home country breakfast that was amazing! We will be back next year!


Excellent and accomodating

4,4 su novembre 15, 2012

I was impressed with this bed and breakfast. The rooms were very pleasant and stocked with fun snacks; there are also movies and books available. The rooms have televisions but maintain an old timey feel. Also, I made a special request for soy milk and breakfast options with no eggs which they not only accomodated but went above & beyond by making a delicious banana/soy french toast. The only down side, in my opinion, is that the view is of a lot of buildings and I would prefer to overlook mountains/nature rather than a small town. But there are certainly mountains in the background and it is very conveniently located for local restaurants, a walmart run, and access to Skyline Drive.


Wonderful stay at Luray

4,6 su novembre 06, 2012

Enjoyed meeting Paul and Sally. They were wonderful hosts. Paul showed us around when we first got there and then we were given the freedom to come and go as we liked. Very much like home. We loved Molly! She was a wonderful host at the end. The breakfast was to die for! We would highly recommend Mayneview B &B.


Pleasant Place

3,4 su ottobre 31, 2012

We stayed in the upstairs suite, it was a converted attic so it was a little stuffy.

Risposta del proprietario
To be clear, the suite these guests stayed in was converted from an apartment rather than an attic and, after having over 100 guests stay in the suite this year, this is the first report of it being at all "stuffy". Actually, it's very open and airy (see photos on website).


Stay at Mayneview!

4,4 su ottobre 25, 2012

The Mayneview B&B was wonderful! It's walking distance to the heart of downtown Luray and the Greenway, but is also far enough off the main drag that it feels very peaceful and quiet. The view from the porch and backyard was beautiful -- nothing better than starting the morning with a nice cup of coffee on the deck and a view of the mountains in the distance. Very close to Skyline Drive, the caverns, and super-easy access too all the highways. The breakfast was delicious and Paul was a great host -- knowledgeable about local wineries and even tipped us off to some good discounts on the attractions. The Mayneview is a GREAT bargain.


Great place to relax and unwind

4,8 su ottobre 23, 2012

Made a reservation for myself and another. We checked in and the innskeeper met us as we parked. He showed us around the property, explained everything, asked when we wanted breakfast the next morning and left us to ourselves. The room was nice and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable. I like the fact that we were able to come and go and still felt welcome each time. The morning after, we packed our bags and went down for breakfast. We were served some fruit with some milk and then the main meal was eggs, bacon and hashbrowns. Very tasty. At the end, we received a waffle. I wasn't expecting the waffles, but they were nice, although I didn't eat them because I was full. I would definitely recommend this place for others to stay and would gladly stay again if I were in the area.


Great stay!!!

4,6 su ottobre 11, 2012

Great stay with a gorgeous view of the mountains, ESP from the hot tub! Inn keepers were extremely friendly and very knowable about the area!


Taking it easy!

4,0 su ottobre 04, 2012

Paul was a great host. He was helpful with finding things do and where to go. He was also very attentive with making sure we had everything we needed and that everything was to our liking. We would consider this a returnable type of place. Enjoy!


Wonderful Getaway

5 su ottobre 03, 2012

Our weekend at the Mayneview was a truly relaxing weekend. With a hot tub overlooking town, dining options a five-minute walk away, and a sunrise view of Shenandoah National Park it could not have a more perfect setting. For Paul and Sally to be so welcoming and such wonderful cooks too, I would highly recommend the Mayneview when going to Luray.


Great B&B near Shenandoah

4,6 su ottobre 03, 2012

We spent the weekend hiking in Shenandoah and stayed at this lovely B&B in Luray. Paul was very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice and had some sparkling cider waiting for us. Also the breakfast was quite good.


Susan's stay

4,6 su settembre 30, 2012

Innkeeper's were outstanding and were very knowledgeable about the area.


Outstanding B&B at a great price!

4,6 su settembre 26, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here on a Saturday night after hiking a strenuous 9.3 miles in Shenandoah National Park. We loved the hot tub after our hike, and also enjoyed the beautiful front porch and the very friendly house cat. The B&B is within walking distance of downtown Luray (we had dinner at the Mimslyn Inn, a 2 block walk). The breakfast food was up to par. Not the best breakfast we've ever had at a B&B, but certainly a very tasty one with plenty of variety. Overall a wonderful experience at very reasonable price!


greentree B and B

3,6 su settembre 24, 2012

Our host, Jon , was very accomodating and made our stay very enjoyable- he is a wonderful cook!


wkend getaway

4,2 su settembre 19, 2012

This was my first time at a B&B, the Victorian Ambiance of the house was so quaint. The property area quiet, local dining and attractions are close by. I really enjoyed the clawfoot tub, it was one of the amenities I was looking for. The hot tub was very relaxing. Truly enjoyed my stay there and plan on returning.


Outstanding

5 su settembre 17, 2012

The best B&B on our 2-week-trip. We stayed for two nights in this amazing B&B. The house is for the guests only, the owners live next door. Rooms are equipped with old-southern-style furniture. Everything is clean. The breakfast is fresh and tastes great. The owners are very friendly and help you with everything you need. E.g. they booked a Kanu-Trip for us.


Awesome stay! Highly recommend.

5 su settembre 14, 2012

The room was supreme. Our own coffee maker! Every detail thought of and the room was so quiet. I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast delicious.


A gem near Shenandoah National Park

4,2 su settembre 06, 2012

Paul was a fantastic host who took the time to introduce us to everything at Mayneview and in Luray upon our arrival. Our room was lovely, comfortable and quiet -- we could've slept there for days! They ensured that our breakfast conformed with our dietary restrictions (and even had veg sausage). Relaxing in a rocking chair on the porch and a dip in the hot tub on the deck with a view of the town and mountains are perfect ways to spend the evening.


Wonderful stay!

4,8 su agosto 15, 2012

We stayed at the Greentree Inn to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and had a really wonderful time. The inn was unique and the room was very comfortable, the town was charming, and Jon couldn't have been a more welcoming host. He fixed a delicious breakfast each morning, gave us suggestions for restaurants and was overall very accomodating. Highly recommend the Greentree Inn!


Nice historic B&B

4,0 su agosto 15, 2012

Our stay was just one night, but we liked it very much. There rooms are very nicely done in victorian style. If you are looking for a supreme comfort, I would request staying in a hotel. The atmosphere was very family like and the breakfast was freshly made by the owner, who asked for special requests as well. Very good, family B&B.


A wonderful B &B in Luray

4,2 su agosto 15, 2012

Friendly, welcoming owners, adorable cats and a historic home that is a real treat. On a quiet street but just a short drive to LurayCaverns and some great local restaurants.. Good value, a fine b'fast and true southern hospitality.


Our stay at Mayneview B&B

4,6 su luglio 24, 2012

There was an atmosphere of warmth and respect at Mayneview. We were put at ease and given the freedom of feeling as if we were in our own home. Emma


Great Bed and Breakfast

5 su luglio 21, 2012

We were going to stay here for one night, but arrived a little late. There was no problem getting a room for a second night, the guy was very helpful. Rooms were beautiful. Only drawback is that bottom floor isn't really air conditioned, so in the middle of a heatwave, you might want to just stay in the room! Breakfast was just right, light and tasty. Oh! Place has cats. I'm mildly allergic and wish I had known, but all worked out well!

Risposta del proprietario
We thank these guests for their remarks as it's always nice to have a positive response to our inn and the services we provide. We actually do have AC in our downstairs but it's not really up to dealing effectively with record breaking 100 degree heat. Also, we disclose on the homepage of our website that we have a cat on the premises in the event there are those who have allergies or who have an aversion to cats. Again, we're grateful for the nice review.


Stay at the Greentree Inn in Luray

3,6 su luglio 18, 2012

The innkeepers were wonderful at the Greentree, but I am not sure I would stay there again. They tried to put us in a different room upon arrival than the one we requested; the air conditioning had not even been turned on in the room we had requested and booked online. Once cooled off it was a lovely room, but there were no tissues, no coffee stirrers for the coffee machine in the room, and the bedspread itself was very dirty, although the rest of the room was pretty clean. On our last day there we discovered another guest had stolen our bottle of wine from the refrigerator in the dining room; you could say we should not have kept it there, but we have never encountered this sort of problem anywhere else. It turned out the innkeepers rented the room to some guests they shouldn't have; I felt like we had to bear some of the cost for that. On the other hand, the breakfasts were amazing (almost too much!), and the innkeepers were the nicest people. The value is great, but I am not sure I would stay again; the vote is still out.

Risposta del proprietario
We'd like to thank these guests for their review and for expressing their concerns about their stay as we're always trying to improve the accommodations in our inn. Actually, we didn't really "try" to put them into a different room than the one they requested. There was a simply a mistake made in checking them into the wrong room. After checking with the property manager, I was assured that, while the bed spread could have had some minor stains, it was not dirty and that all ameneties in the rooms will be provided. The manager has since washed all of the bedding for all of the rooms, as this is our practice to wash all non-linen bedding (spread, balnkets, mattress cover) once per month and linens, of course, after every stay. We appreciate the kind remarks about the hospitality and the breakfasts.


Luray B&B

4,4 su luglio 15, 2012

The mountain views from the large open space garden were wonderful, the accommodation was very comfortable with great hospitality together with the very good American breakfast enjoyable stay.


What a wonderful place to stay!

4,6 su luglio 13, 2012

All the details are taken care of, from relaxation to entertainment to dining. A comfortable home away from home.


A solid choice

3,4 su luglio 02, 2012

The Mayneview met or exceeded my expectations in every way. There is a lovely view from the house and we walked into town several times where there are some good dining options. Easy access to Skyline Drive is a plus.


Frumpy but comfortable.

2,6 su giugno 18, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Green Tree Inn recently. Mayneview and Green Tree are two of a handful of b&bs in the area that allow a single night reservation. I didn’t love the look of the rooms online, but this was all very last minute, so we went for it. I’ll start with the positives: the house itself is beautiful. It’s in a quiet neighborhood, quite close to downtown Luray. Our room (Poplar) had a lovely, high ceiling and plenty of natural light. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great – plenty of hot water, nice pressure. We enjoyed the snacks left out for us, and we watched one of the DVDs available downstairs. Overall, our stay was very comfortable. The negatives all come down to frump. Our room was much worse than expected, hideously decorated with dusty plastic flowers, ceramic tea pots, and odd piles of antique-y junk. There were two huge stacks of random magazines from 2009 and 2010. The bathroom linens were a mismatched variety of drab, dingy greens. The toilet lid had a shag cover like I haven’t seen since the mid-90’s. There are more doilies in the house than a person could count. Sort of a hoarder-grandmother aesthetic all-around. It’s a shame, because the house is lovely, and some of the furniture is, too. With the right décor, this place could be great. Breakfast was okay. The coffee was fantastic. I wish there had been some fresh fruit. We didn’t mind walking up to the Mayneview at all. Our hosts were friendly.

Risposta del proprietario
The issues these guests raise regarding the small details in the guest rooms have already been addressed as part of the transfer procees to a property manager who has taken careful steps to see that all of the rooms are attractive and free of clutter. We hope these issues did not compromise their overall experience during their stay in the inn and we thank them for their feedback.


Had a very nice stay

4,0 su giugno 15, 2012

Everything was quite nice, and perfect location for visiting Shenandoah NP.


Mayneview Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su giugno 06, 2012

I really enjoyed the stay, it was much nicer than the typical hotel experience. The atmosphere was very nice and the owner was extremely pleasant. I would highly recommend staying with the fine folks at Mayneview. Sincerely, Patrick McCabe


Great stay and location for great price!

4,6 su maggio 29, 2012

My stay at Mayneview was amazing. The home was beautiful, my room was so spacious, and the amenities were amazing, especially for the price! I looked at several other B&B's in Luray and this had one of the best price options and is right in town situated on top of a hill with a beautiful view. They have an awesome hot tub on a deck overlooking Main Street (Main View!). I also loves the mini fridge stocked with complimentary water downstairs and another empty mini fridge upstairs for guests to use. Such a great perk! The breakfast was delicious too! I highly recommend Mayneview!!!


Leon & Rose

4,4 su maggio 29, 2012

We were there to celebrat our 51 wedding annervisty, We loved the peace and guiet of there place.


A great getaway place!

4,4 su maggio 18, 2012

I had a quiet 24 hours of relaxation at the Greentree. Loved the deck, hot tub!


Amazing weekend getaway

5 su maggio 10, 2012

We stayed at the Mayneview Bed and Breakfast for my boyfriend’s birthday weekend (May 5th and 6th). We were greeted by Paul who gave us a complete tour of the bed and breakfast and informed us of the better restaurants in the area. They have a section in the living room with plenty of menus and brochures for the area. The entire bed and breakfast was spotless and smelled of fresh french toast. It was decked out in antique furniture and was beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Merlin Room, which the perfect size for the both of us with adequate closet and drawer space. The bed was very comfortable, complete with a pillow top mattress. On our floor, there was a microwave and a mini refrigerator to store our left overs. Plenty of snacks including trail mix and chips, along with sodas and water, were always available to us. The hot tub was very clean and relaxing overlooking the mountains. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious with a variety sure to please anyone. Sally and Paul really made us feel like we were at home. The atmosphere was cozy and inviting, we defiantly will be back!


Delightful!

5 su aprile 17, 2012

My cousin and I enjoyed our two-night stay at the Mayneview during the peak of spring blooming. The inn was beautiful, comfortable and the view overlooking Luray was very enjoyable. Miss Molly, the feline hostess, and her parents made our stay delightful. :-) Oh, and the breakfasts were excellent!


Honeymoon Stay

5 su aprile 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Mayneview for the first night of our honeymoon and it was fantastic! The view from the B&B is amazing! The room's were clean and comfortable! The house has a wonderful personality all it's own! The owners were very friendly and accommodated my dietary restrictions with ease!


Great Get-away

4,2 su marzo 21, 2012

The Mayneview was a peaceful place to get away from the daily city life. We arrived and were greeted by the owner, who gave us a tour of the property. We had a picnic dinner on their deck, enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and soaked in the views. The rooms were clean and came with our own key, so I felt comfortable leaving my valuables in my room while I was away. I would definitely recommend the Mayneview.


First time at a B and B, and loved it

5 su marzo 15, 2012

Mayneview is great! We were very satisfied with our stay. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was wonderful. The overall feel of Mayneview was warm and welcoming.


Nice place for one night

3,2 su marzo 14, 2012

Overall it was a nice place to stay. Bed was a little uncomfortable and the hot water in the shower didn't last long. Nice place to stay for a night or 2 max. Host were very friendly and helpful with fun things to do in the area.


First Stay at a B&B

5 su febbraio 22, 2012

My fiance and I spent 1 night in the Morgana room Mayneview. Lovely house, well taken care of, comfy bed, wood stove, and even a claw foot tub in our room! We got to spend a cool February night soaking in the hot tub that overlooks the town of Luray and had a delicious home-cooked breakfast in the morning. The house shared the same cozy feel as the town of Luray and we were just a couple miles from the Caverns, a Zoo, and plenty of places to eat. A very nice getaway!


Great stay at the Mayneview

4,4 su febbraio 22, 2012

The house itself is historic and very nice, the room was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable (we stayed in the Penn Dragon). The hot tub on the deck outside was a major plus - a very relaxing way to spend the evening after a long day of hiking. We found Paul to be a gracious and helpful host. Would definitely come back!


5-6 Feb 12 Stay

4,0 su febbraio 08, 2012

This was my first experience at a Bed & Breakfast. Sally and Paul were wonderful hosts and Sally is an excellent chef. They were both very helpful in sharing their knowledge of the house's history and the surrounding area as well. My wife and I would recommend the Mayneview B&B to our family and friends. In fact, I have already begun.


Wonderful place to stay

4,4 su gennaio 28, 2012

Benny and I ran away to Luray to get married and we stayed at the Mayneview in the Merlin room. Everything was perfect and the view looking over the town was gorgeous from the porch of the B & B. The food was excellent and the innkeepers were very accomidating and thoughtful. We will stay there again in the future. And Molly, the B&B cat was so very sweet. Thank you.


Highly Recommended!

5 su gennaio 22, 2012

The Mayneview is gorgeous, clean, affordable, and everything we were looking for in a weekend away. It's close to great dining in Luray, and the breakfast served by Sally was delish. If you get a chance, try out the hot tub, too. It overlooks the city and made for a perfect Saturday night.


great stay, very accommodating

4,0 su gennaio 18, 2012

We had a great stay. Rooms were clean, quiet and spacious. We stayed here as we explored the mountains for two days and given our early schedule they were very accommodating and we were still able to have breakfast in the morning. Wish we had gotten a chance to try the hot tub. Guess we'll just have to go back!


A Perfect Overnight

5 su dicembre 08, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted warmly were given a tour. Everything was perfect!


Incredible weekend

5 su dicembre 07, 2011

Perfect visit from beginning to end. Great hosts, clean comfortable room, exceptional food. Would definitely recommend and visit again.


A great place and great value!

4,4 su dicembre 01, 2011

This was a great little place. We stayed at the non-main house location (the Greenview) which seemed to have more privacy. It's close to downtown and located on a quiet street. This would be great with a larger group as you could rent the whole house (3 rooms) yourself.


Victorian charm

2,8 su novembre 27, 2011

This old Victorian home has lots of charm. Bedroom was small, but sufficient and there are several that are assigned hall bathrooms (so they are considered private). Hot tub available. Home could've been cleaner. Breakfast was decent, but nothing special. Price was affordable.

Risposta del proprietario
We'd like to thank this guest for his/her feedback but the information this guest provided regarding bathrooms is not correct. ALL of our bathrooms are private (not "considered private"). For our five guest rooms, three of the private bathrooms are in the suite and the other two are in the hall a short distance from the room. I'm not sure what the cleanliness issue was as we thoroughly vacuum and dust our rooms be before guests check in.


A great Stay

5 su novembre 26, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for a weekend get away. The stay was amazing, pleasant and completely more then we had hoped for. We will be coming back to stay for sure. The house cat was super friendly and was eager to help you feel welcome. We were delighted in the breakfast each day, and it had perhaps the best view of the mountains and the town of Luray.


Great Getaway!

4,0 su novembre 10, 2011

Breakfast was great both days. The innkeepers were very helpful. We were able to make ourselves at home and enjoy our stay!


Stay at Greentree Inn

2,8 su novembre 10, 2011

The room was ok and the service was good, but I was disappointed at how dusty/dirty the room was and that the shower was constantly dripping through the night. The breakfast was outstanding though.

Risposta del proprietario
We are aware of the dripping shower issue. We'll have new showers installed before the Greentree reopens in the Spring. As we generally vacuum and dust the rooms before guests arrive and get 3-4 star ratings in cleanliness , I'm dissapointed that these guests were not happy with the cleanliness of the room. We'll try to do a better job.


Cozy, Charming, Friendly

3,6 su novembre 06, 2011

Owners were lovely and helpful. I very much enjoyed my stay.


GreenTree Inn (Mayneview innkeepers) but not Mayneview B&B

3,0 su ottobre 18, 2011

The GreenTree Inn was fine. We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't "outstanding". It was in the midrange for B&B's.

Risposta del proprietario
Unfortunately, this type of review is neither helpful to us as innkeepers nor to prospective guests as it does not provide information that the innkeeper can use to improve accommodations/amenities nor does it provide guests with information they can use to make a decsion about making a reservation. As this review is not consistent with 90% of our positive reviews, it would be nice to hear specifics from these guests regarding their impressions so that we might address any issues.


Stay at the Greentree Inn

4,4 su ottobre 12, 2011

Our stay at the Green Tree Inn in Luray, VA was very pleasant. Mr. Edwards met with us personally and gave us a tour of the property. I was very impresssed with the fact that Mr. and Mrs. Edwards were able and willing to accomodate my wife's vegan dietary restrictions. That alone will keep me coming back. Next time I look forward to staying at the Mayneview B&B.


Mayneview

4,8 su settembre 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Mayneview after a night of camping in Shenandoah to celebrate our one year anniversary. Mayneview was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the fresh air with a great view of the mountains. There was even a fenced in yard for us to let our dog run around! Sally and Paul were more than accommodating and cooked up a fantastic breakfast! We'll definitely stay at Mayneview again!


Stay here!

4,4 su settembre 04, 2011

Great place to stay! Paul was helpful with ideas of things to do in the area.


Our Stay At The Mayneview

4,0 su agosto 31, 2011

Our stay at the Mayneview was great. Paul was informative and very helpful. He directed us to local winery where we were given a personalized tour from the owners and bought three great bottles of wine. He also got us discounted tickets to The Luray Caverns.Sally's breakfasts were outstanding. The view from their front porch, where I watched the sunrise,showed me the true meaning of "purple mountain's majesty". I thank them for a very nice stay.


A commendable experience.

4,2 su agosto 24, 2011

We had an amazing time, and everything was as we hoped and better. Nice location in a quiet part of town. The inn keepers and cook were very nice. The house feels very cozy, victorian styling. The ambiance made our weekend feel like an escape.


Great Place!

4,0 su agosto 24, 2011

We stayed at the Greentree Inn during our week-long honeymoon road trip in Virginia. The Greentree is run by the same people as the Mayneview, but is about a block away. We had the house to ourselves, as it was not full that night. Paul made us feel very much at home and was a great innkeeper! Our room was very clean and included a private bath. It was cozy, but the arrangement of the furniture made it a little awkward to get in and out of bed on one side. We had breakfast at the main house, which included coffee cake, fruit, quiche and tea and coffee. My husband is a vegetarian and there was a vegetarian quiche available for him. The innkeepers are cat people, as are we, and we enjoyed meeting the many cats around the property. The Greentree also offers an outdoor hot tub. There were a few complimentary beverages and snacks in the main dining room as well. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.


I didn't go but wish I could have!!

5 su agosto 18, 2011

We were preparing a small reunion of college friends, and planned to stay at the Mayneview. I was so looking forward to Sally and Paul's hospitality, the charming rooms, and the good food. Sadly, the reunion plans fell through. I hope you got to stay there instead. I plan to try again!


August 13th stay

4,0 su agosto 17, 2011

This is a lovely little place with a view of the surrounding mountains. Just a few blocks from downtown Luray and a mile or so from the caverns. Excited to return again in the Fall and try out the outdoor hot tub! Note, there is a cat in the house (although we didn't see it) if you have a very sensitive cat allergy.


Convenient to Luray

3,0 su agosto 04, 2011

Only got to stay one short night here in the Guinevere room. Was visited by Molly for a short time which I enjoyed. So sorry Sally-- had breakfast time confused and arrived early. Everything was ready--I just didn't have the chance to meet the other guests. Paul offered me discounted tickets to Luray Caverns and that's where I was headed. Thanks for a good and comfortable stay.


Loved It!

4,6 su luglio 27, 2011

Paul met us at 10pm to let us in and answered all our questions. The AC felt great after a long day and they had great advice on places to visit! It was a full house, but still very quiet and meet great guest.


Layed back and friendly

3,0 su luglio 24, 2011

We were met by a very layed back couple who welcomed us and put us instantly at ease. We did not feel eyeballed as so often happens in B&B's, and instead felt an instant feeling of trust. It is a very old, very interesting house, kept up well, with nice amenities including the outside porch and deck with lovely views. It was too hot to use the hot tub, or else we would have enjoyed that as well. The breakfast was delicious and abundant. We especially enjoyed the animal friendly atmosphere, being animal lovers ourselves. This is not the lap of luxury, if that is what you are looking for, but if you are looking for Layed back, clean, hospitable and friendly, we highly recommend you try Mayneview.


A last minute decision to get away for the weekend was possible at Mayneview.

4,4 su luglio 20, 2011

I hadn’t stayed at a B&B after a horrible experience years ago, but my stay at Mayneview has given me a new love for B&Bs. Paul and Sally are great hosts. We were met by Sally upon our arrival and she gave us a tour and answered any questions we had to accommodate dinner plans. We met Paul the next morning, and he was friendly courteous and engaged us in conversation. The room was small but elegant. The Whole experience was fantastic and breakfast was more than I expected. I will definetly go back to Mayneview only next time we will plan ahead and hope to reserve one of the bigger rooms.


Mayneview July 4th

4,6 su luglio 18, 2011

Took my wife up to the Luray area for a 1 night getaway. It was July 3, 2011. The rooms were comfortable and had plenty of room. We were able to sit out in the hot tub that evening and watch numerous firework displays down in the valley which was a big bonus. The breakfast the next morning was really good and they even went out of their way to make some gluten free food for my wife. This will definitely be on the list of places to go when we need to get away again.


a pleasant first experience

4,2 su luglio 18, 2011

my wife and i were looking for a vacation without a lot of hustle and bustle, so we needed a lodging that was more comfortable and inviting than a hotel room, a place where we would actually enjoy spending time. we found it at mayneview. the owners were pleasant and accommodating, the food was good, the house itself had a fascinating history, and with lots of comfortable places to spend time (including a hot tub) our first B&B was overwhelmingly positive. special thanks to molly the cat.


nice escape from DC

3,6 su luglio 06, 2011

We stayed in the Greentree Inn which is a block down from Mayneview B&B. Beds were very comfortable memory foam mattresses. Lovely evening in the hot tub. Complementary drinks and snacks came in handy.


MAyneview B & B

3,4 su luglio 05, 2011

Anne was wonderful and very helpful with local information. The room needed to be dusted. It had a little too much furniture in it to move around easily. The food was wonderful. All in all it was a very nice stay.

Risposta del proprietario
We'd like to thank this guest for his/her feedback particularly with regard to dust. We dust rooms regularly and I can only guess it was because we were away on a brief trip that the room may not have been thoroughly dusted. As for furniture and floor space, this is the 1st feedback of this kind we've received in 7 years as innkeepers. Perhaps a rollaway was placed in the room for extra occupancy taking up floor space. In any case, guests have access in advance of their visit to our website photos which accurately display furniture and floor space. If a rollaway is placed in the room, they are told there will be limited floor space.


victorian romance

4,0 su giugno 28, 2011

The beautiful Victorian home lived up to the photos could have been featured in a victorian home magazine. The hostess was wonderful, and the breakfast was wonderful. The three course breakfast was excellent far better than most restaurants. The other guests were so nice and socialable. It was a nice romantic, quiet get away from the city.


A Real Country Getawy

5 su giugno 24, 2011

We had an incredible stay at The Mayneview in Luray, VA. The home is within walking distance to downtown where there are many fine restaurants. You are only eight miles from Shenandoah National Park. The rooms are beautifully furnished, clean, and comfortable. Our hosts were helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were amazing, especially the Praline French Toast. We are planning another trip and stay at Mayneview in the fall.


A quirky place, but ideal for Shenandoah

3,4 su giugno 23, 2011

This is a very quirky, fun place and was ideal for the hiking we wanted to do in the Shenandoah national park. The couple running the Mayneview are very friendly and happy to help. We were the only ones staying so it was nice to have a run of the house and take advantage of the dvd player. Breakfast was 'interesting' the first day but the waffles excellent the second day! An experience we wouldn't have missed.


Outstanding in every way.

5 su giugno 17, 2011

As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by Molly, the friendlies cat ever, and then by Paul, our host, a minute later. In town we enjoyed walking the greenway. At Mayneview, especially liked an evening hot tubbing under a full moon with view of stars, mountains, and the town. Sally and Paul made a great, full breakfast with gluten-free option. We hope to come back.


A great place to stay for a Shenandoah Valley vacation!

4,4 su giugno 05, 2011

We stayed at the Greentree Inn and had a wonderful vacation. The staff there did a great job of making us feel welcomed and accomodating our needs. I would definitely recommend this B&B!


Great experience

4,4 su maggio 29, 2011

We had a crear time. Place wad nice, cozy and our hosts were really friendly!


Great Innkeepers

3,0 su maggio 19, 2011

Paul made it a point to address any questions and was most accomodating. The area and home is very pleasant for your time away.


Greentree Inn

5 su maggio 18, 2011

Paul was an excellent host, and everything at the Inn was as promised. If you're going to hike in the Park, Luray is a great place to stay, and the Greentree Inn is quiet, provides great food, and has cozy rooms.


Recent stay Review

3,4 su marzo 17, 2011

The rooms were very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. Mr. and Mrs. Edwards were very nice and prepared a home cooked breakfast every morning. No problems at all! Would definitely stay with the Edwards again. Very satisfied


Great Bed and Breakfast!

4,6 su marzo 16, 2011

The Mayneview B&B was the most relaxing one I have ever been to. Our hosts were very polite and helpful. The room was very cozy with a really nice fire. Hope to stay again.


The best in my experience

5 su marzo 14, 2011

Have not stayed in many B&B's, but they all pale in comparison to the stay at Mayneview. It's an interestingly decorated house with a pleasant ambiance; it's very clean and outfitted with all the comforts one could desire. The hosts Sally and Paul are very amiable and most accommodating. The highlight for me was relaxing after 5-hour drive from NJ in the outside hot tub with the view of the mountains and overlooking the town. All this for a winter rate of $100! If I ever revisit Luray, and there are plenty reasons to do so, I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else but Mayneview.


Greentree B & B

2,6 su marzo 10, 2011

While the breakfast was tasty, I was a bit put off that we had to go to a different location for breakfast. Ihad inquired about this and was told that breakfast would be at location we stayed. Also was really bothered that other guests brought their dog to breakfast without being sure how the dog was going to react to new people. Bathroom lacked shampoo and could have been a bit cleaner. Overall I liked the place but with other B & B's in Luray, I might try a different one next time. The hosts were very nice and accomodating. I liked having movies to watch in our room. The house was nicely decorated.

Risposta del proprietario
Although we appreciate this guests feedback, a review of our email correspondence with them reveals that we did not tell them that breakfast would be served at the Greentree where they were staying. Also, our website indicates that we are pet friendly so guests are aware that a dog might be on the premises. In this case, the dog was on a leash and posed no threat to any guests. We apologize for the lack of shampoo and any other issues with the bathroom. We always appreciate guest reviews such as this one as they enable us to address problems and improve our accommodations and ameneties.


Fantastic Pet Friendly B+B!!

4,4 su novembre 26, 2010

This is a fantastic B+B within walking distance of Luray's quaint downtown - the rooms are spacious and beautiful and I would readily recommend this to you.


Greentree Inn Rev.

4,4 su novembre 24, 2010

My significant other and I just wanted a night away from our crazy lives. Our bedroom was so comfortable and romantic. The hot tub was a wonderful addition to the stay as well. The house is in beautiful condition and the home is very well-kept, cozy, and appealing.


Wonderful stay!

4,4 su novembre 10, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful two-night stay here. It is a cozy, quaint building that is well-decorated in traditional Virginia style. The breakfast is good, and hosts are exceptionally kind and helpful. It is located fairly close to (but not right in the heart of) the business district, which contains several good restaurants. It is a short drive from Skyline Drive, where you can access many of the key trails in the Shenandoah National Park. Overall, this is a great pick!


Perfect for mom and twentysomething daughter!

4,2 su novembre 10, 2010

I wish I'd We selected Mayneview because the Morgana room has two twin beds, a private bath and great proximity to the Shenandoah National Park. We were also close enough for our very special dinner at Inn at Little Washington. The hot tub under the stars and snack/bottled water availability was a plus! I wish we'd known that Paul and Sally spoke Swedish as my daughter does too. The room was completely clean; even though there is a house cat my allergies did not act up. I do wish the shower curtain had been 4 inches wider so I didn't worry about getting water on the floor (a small thing). Would definitely stay at the Mayneview again. Paul and Sally provided a perfect balance of hospitality and privacy.


Great weekend getaway!

4,6 su novembre 10, 2010

We would highly recommend this B&B, it was quiet and cozy! The room had a working stove/fireplace and it set the romantic mood quite nicely! The owners were very nice and informative of all the things to do and see while staying there. We stopped by the Wisteria Winery, we recommend that as well!


A charming Victorian B&B in a very pleasant small town.

3,8 su novembre 03, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Mayneview to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn is an easy 90 minutes from D.C. Situated just two blocks from the center of town, the Mayneview is within easy walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Once caution, if you want to do some exploring on Sunday, this town does not wake-up until about 1 PM. Enough about Luray, back to the B&B. The hosts are nice people who provided excellent service and quality information, but also gave us the privacy and freedom that we were seeking. I am not sure if that makes sense, but frequent B&Ber's should understand. Our room, Merlin, was nicely appointed with a hodge-podge of comfy carpets and antique wooden furniture. The room came with a flat-panel TV and cable, but it was not the focus of the space. There was even a natural-gas converted cook stove in he corner, that provided nice ambiance (if little heat). The en-suite bathroom was convenient and the claw-footed bath tub was perfect. The house itself is loaded with comfortable places to sit and read, watch tv, or play games. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The French toast was perfect and the coffee was quite tasty. All in all, this B & B was top notch. It had a very family friendly and does allow some pets. If you are looking for a very high-end luxurious experience, this is not your place. But if you like comfort and congeniality, the Mayneview is a top pick in the Valley.


Nice place, would stay again.

3,6 su novembre 02, 2010

Nice place, would stay again. Sally and Paul are great hosts.


Lights over Luray

3,8 su ottobre 31, 2010

I liked this place and the owners, and would stay there again. Comfortable bed. Guests had free access to a parlor with lots of wonderful books and a living room with a broad selection of good movies. Guests also had access to an eclectic mix of music on CD's and wireless access for internet lovers. I liked sitting on the porch looking out over Luray and the mountains beyond. The house comes with a very sweet cat. The house is old and quirky with lots of character. If you a seeking the ambience of a modern hotel, this is not the place for you. I am an early riser and the 8:30 breakfast was a little late for me, but you can get coffee and there is some flexibility if you need to get out early. This rating system is skewed and unscientific, base on the expectations of strangers. I could pick all "met my expectations" and it would look bad at a glance.


Great stay at the Greentree Inn

3,4 su ottobre 27, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Greentree Inn. Paul was very welcoming and helpful. Before taking us over to the Greentree, he was kind enough to give us some recommendations for dinner and pointed out where the places were. He made sure we had everything we needed. The room was exactly what we expected: quaint, comfortable, and clean. The breakfast was SUPERB! Ann does a wonderful job and is very sweet. You will wake up to the smell of bacon! We had a delicious fresh fruit plate, followed by french toast and bacon topped with fresh strawberries and maple syrup. It was perfect. Paul made sure we had our plans lined up for the day and offered us discounted tickets to Luray Caverns. If you're looking for a quaint and cozy Inn near Luray Va/Skyline drive, look no further!


Nice B&B close to Shenandoah Park

3,6 su ottobre 26, 2010

Comfortable with lots of b&b style flounces. Hearty breakfast. A couple of things to note: We had a private bath, but you need to go out into the hall to get to it. Also, the b&b has a cat--not a problem with cleanliness, but if you have allergies, be forewarned.


good bed and breakfast

3,2 su ottobre 21, 2010

Overall we liked the place, nice service, nice view, small bedroom


Great Location, Fabulous Hosts!

4,0 su ottobre 17, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Greentree, just down the road from the Mayneview. Breakfast was fabulous, and our hosts were friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay at the Mayneview or Greentree again when we return to Luray!


Great Stay in Luray

4,8 su ottobre 14, 2010

We recently had a great weekend stay in Luray. We previously had a great visit at the Mayne View. This time we decided to give the Greentree Inn a try. It was a nice two night stay with great breakfast by Ann. We appreciated the vegetarian accomodation. We enjoyed the hot tub and the closeness to downtown Luray. We walked to and from town for our evening meals. We missed some of the mountain views we had at the Mayne View, however, the Greentree was peaceful and the porches were lovely. Out little dog love it too!


Greentree Inn

2,6 su ottobre 12, 2010

The main house is excellent. However Greentree looks like an overflow location. It has an unlived in feel and smell. It is need of a good spring clean. Would certainly recommend the Mayneview but not the Greentree.

Risposta del proprietario
I'm not sure why this guest thought the Greentree is an "overflow location" and given the many other positive reviews it's received, I'm at a loss to explain this response. We're always striving to improve our accommodations and happy to receive feedback from guests, but this review is not helpful as the inn has been very "lived in" and is kept clean on an ongoing basis. It has also been the first choice over the Mayneview for many guests. So, aside from saying I'm sorry the guest(s)did not have a positive experience, I'm not sure what action we can take in response to this review.


Charming!

4,4 su settembre 27, 2010

We only stayed for one night, but the place was so charming I wanted to move in! The thoughtful and playful decor, the attention to detail and service, the beautiful views from the hot tub and the helpful hosts made it a great stay!


GREENTREE INN

4,0 su settembre 22, 2010

The room was quaint and the house was nice. There was ine other couple staying at the house, but we only saw them as we checked in.


Relaxing in Luray

4,0 su agosto 12, 2010

Everything was great. It was our first B and B and it was so nice and relaxing. We both agree that we will be coming back soon.


Quiet getaway

4,8 su maggio 11, 2009

enjoyed the southern hospitality. Lovely home, breakfast was great. The atmosphere just made you feel comfortable and homey.


A wonderful experience

5 su dicembre 09, 2008

The Mayneview B&B was my first experience with a B&B and it was wonderful! Breakfast was first class, the innkeepers were extremely knowledgeable about the area, and offered great suggestions, and the rooms were clean and cozy. I would definitely go back!


Left a lot to be desired. . .

1,8 su ottobre 19, 2008

We've stayed at many B&B's, and this was the worst!!! We stayed 2 nights, our bed was never made, and clean towels and washclothes were not placed in our room, and the trash was never emptied. We had to rummage through drawers in the hall to find clean towels. Breakfast was ok, but portions were small. Paul was kind and helpful, but we never met Sally -- she stayed in the kitchen, & never greeted us during our stay. When we asked a question about ingredients in a lunch basket we'd ordered, she was snippy and rude. This was definitely a substandard B&B experience and we will not be back.

Risposta del proprietario
We would like to thank this guest/reviewer for his/her feedback as we are always striving to improve the quality of guest experiences at our B&B. We have already implemented a couple of new practices in response to some of the guest's criticism (making sure beds are made & rooms are tidied up when guests stay more than 1 night), although we are "green" and will only provide fresh towels if guests leave them outside their room door or stay more than 2 nights. Sally's role at our B&B does not include extensive social contact with guests or discussion of picinic baskets, so guests should not expect this and we're sorry if this in some way detracted from these guests having a positive experience.


Great service and a good stay overall

3,6 su ottobre 14, 2008

Mayneview was the second of four B&B's we stayed at while touring the East, and had the most personality. The cats, like the hosts, were very friendly and attentive. Our introductory tour with Sally was thorough and informative, and Paul reappeared at regular intervals to answer our questions and check if we needed anything. There was room for some improvement in terms of the accommodations: the bed was a trifle soft, the breakfasts were tasty but predominantly sweet, and we couldn't quite figure out how to get warm (vs. hot or cold) water in the shower in our private bath down the hall. But we really enjoyed sitting in the hot tub on the deck, listening to the cicadas and looking at the stars and the lights down in town. The town itself was about a 10-minute walk away, with a surprising sampling of healthfood restaurants and a section of older and interesting houses. A path running along the duck-filled river was pleasant and an easy run from the house. With the information provided by the B&B, we were able to pick a hike to enjoy on nearby Skyline Drive, where the trees were in full fall color. Our visit to Luray, which we had never heard of, was definitely worth the trip.


Beautiful historic house in Luray

4,6 su ottobre 05, 2008

We really enjoyed staying in this bed & breakfast. It was our first time staying in a B&B and it was a great experience. Paul was friendly and explained some of the historic aspects of the house. He was able to recommend some nice things to do in the area, and had plenty of guides for things to do. We bought discount tickets to Luray Caverns from them and saved $4/person. They are also very accommodating of dietary restrictions. One of our favorite features of the house was the cats. They have several outdoor cats and one indoor cat named Molly. She was really friendly and stayed in our room and slept on the bed with us as well! Other amenities provided are HDTV with cable, a nice selection of DVDs, a reading room with books, and a hot tub. The house has a great view of Luray and the mountains behind the town. If you are visiting in October, you should also be sure to check out the Darkwood Manor haunted house in town!


Great B&B

4,6 su ottobre 02, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Mayneview B&B. It was a very comfortable inn with several common rooms and a very welcoming host. I would difinitely recommend this inn to my friends.


Home Away From Home in Shenandoah Valley

4,0 su luglio 25, 2008

Mayneview provides lovely rooms and tasty breakfasts in a historic home with a welcoming atmosphere. The hosts are helpful, and the Inn's cat, Molly, makes you feel like a part of the family. The deck and hot tub provide a great view of the mountains and the town of Luray. It is the perfect place to relax after a day of enjoying the natural wonders of the area.


Mayneview B&B

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $129
  • Recensioni (157) 4,2
  • Camere 5

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5407437921
  • Cellulare 1-7035984728

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina