The North River Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
31 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Gorgeous!

5 su maggio 28, 2014

This review is very late as I stayed at the North River Inn back in the summer of 2009. I stumbled across some old e-mails which kick started the memories and led me to write this short review. This place is amazing. The house and surrounding property are gorgeous. The family was very kind and helpful in planning our activities. The food was delicious. I would recommend this inn to anyone and everyone who is visiting the area.


Highly recommend it

4,8 su giugno 02, 2013

The atmosphere is unparalleled if you are looking for peace and quite and scenery The people makes you feel like a friend or a family. I did not want to stop talking to them. Very intellectuals and friendly. The cook is awesome. I did not need to eat lunch after eating her breakfast. The rooms are very quite except for the sounds of the birds. Short drive from many and variety of attractions or just sit by the water and relax. Very pleasant drive from Richmond. This was our second time to the place and it is as good or even better than first (I have been to many B&B's) and this is without a doubt is my number one. Take your love one or ones and you will have life long memories. Highly recommend, Omar


Lovely (but convenient) River Hideaway

5 su maggio 07, 2013

The North River Inn is a wonderful place to go for anything from a weekend get away to a long term base for exploring the rich history of the Williamsburg area. Mary and her family do a wonderful job of making you feel right at home and providing everything you need to have a wonderful stay. I can't recommend them highly enough!


My Stay at North River Inn

5 su agosto 13, 2012

Who would believe that I, a descendant of slaves that helped build this wonderful place, would be treated so nice & respected. The innkeeper was color-blind. I am telling all of my friends about the North River Inn in Gloucester.


Toddsbury and Creekside Review

4,2 su maggio 01, 2012

These are beautiful properties. They are the perfect getaway while exploring the tidewater and historic areas of Virginia. They were wonderful hosts yet respected my need to get away. The houses are comfortable while remaining historic. They are the perfect balance between the two.


Great spot

4,2 su giugno 08, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Our hosts were most helpful with suggestions for places to visit and dining. We loved having the canoe available to explore the river and the swimming and bird watching were an added plus


Perfect place to unwind from our hectic schedules

4,2 su giugno 08, 2011

The North River Inn was a pleasant surprise for us, we needed a respite from our jobs, completion of education and our kids. Mary and Brec's bed and breakfast offers perfectly secluded rooms, amazing breakfast, a farm to lazily explore and the North River to paddle early in the morning. We feel this is one of the best "hideaways" we have ever had the pleasure to visit!


A wonderful house in a beautiful place

4,8 su maggio 30, 2011

We stayed for just one night, mid-week (so could not try the famous weekend breakfast). It was early in the season, there were no other guests, so we had the stunning 18th century plantation house all to ourselves. It was a lovely combination of old (period furniture) and new (free internet, every modern appliance in the kitchen where we helped ourselves to breakfast from a very well-stocked fridge). The views over the creek from our very comfortable bedroom were glorious.


Peaceful week-end

5 su aprile 04, 2011

The Inn was everything we wanted and more. The Creek house room no. 4 was larger than appears on the picture (and blue not lavender). Being off-season we had the whole inn to ourselves which made it even more secluded. The inn is large with common areas on both floors including an extra large kitchen very well appointed. The wood fireplace was really appreciated on these cool winter evenings. It was very nice to walk on the property and the location and history made it interesting. In addition the breakfasts were wonderful. We would definitely recommended it to anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful time. It is the best stay in a B&B we have had in all our annual getaway, that is for the past 10 years in Maryland and Virginia.


daffodil festival!

4,6 su marzo 30, 2011

It is so rare to wake in a room with windows on 3 sides. In Creek Inn Room 4 we also could look down on the river almost at our front door. While we had a rainy weekend all the full length windows in the inn made it feel like we were just sitting on the porch watching the raindrops. We were so glad we took our hosts recommendation to tour a local historic daffodil family farm and attend the Annual Daffodil festival in town. I've never seen such small minature daffodils(smaller than your little finger)...and of course the restored Ford Model A cars just added to the fun.


60's weekend

5 su marzo 18, 2011

My wife and I went and stayed the weekend between our 60th birthdays in March on a whim. We had a magnificent weekend in an area we had never spent any time in. Mary and Breck were gracious hosts in an idilic colonial setting. The food and fellowship were excellent and we intend on going back again. Claudia and Buck


A wonderful getaway for our anniversary

4,4 su dicembre 15, 2010

We stayed one night in the Guest Cottage and were simply delighted. The innkeepers had left a bottle of wine and a wedge of cheese as well as prepared a fire in the fireplace ready to be lit. We had everything we needed and more. Coffee, juice, fruit, small refrig., microwave, and an amazingly comfy, deliciously cozy poster bed. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed a nice long conversation with the owners. The only thing I might mention is that the bathroom space is very tight and if you are a very large person, it might be hard to navigate.


A must!

5 su dicembre 09, 2010

Wonderful B&B -- beautiful locale. Just what I wanted!


Lovely weekend getaway

4,4 su novembre 24, 2010

We had a delightful trip to the North River Inn and were happy to make the acquaintance of the Innkeepers, their family and the wonderful cook, Mrs. Hayes. It was so relaxing with great weather that we can't help thinking when we'll be back to visit.


great weekend away

4,0 su ottobre 25, 2010

This is a very peaceful place. We loved being able to walk the property.


Wonderful Stay

5 su ottobre 17, 2010

North River Inn was charming in every way. Our room was lovely (with French doors leading out onto our own personal patio); the grounds beautiful, breakfast delicious and the owners were friendly and helpful. We learned a lot about local history from them; they gave us directions to our next stay and directed us to wonderful local sites. Perfect for a quiet, country getaway.


A true retreat and renewal - North River Inn

4,8 su ottobre 15, 2010

North River is a little treasure, distinctly created for those seeking a beautiful and serene accomodation, with the ever peaceful presence of nature and abundant hospitality. You feel you are totally secluded yet have luscious breakfasts, silky sheets and family heirlooms nurturing your senses. Herons travel up the creek, woodpeckers and hawks are your alarm clock. There is no way to pintpoint the moments you share at North River, instead it is a timeless and healing oasis that everyone should have the pleasure of experiencing. I have returned many times and will continue to value each visit as a small jewel of life and all that speaks of kindness, grace and stewardship.


Perfect peaceful getaway

4,0 su ottobre 15, 2010

North River Inn has a great history to it and provides a peaceful, serene, gorgeous weekend getaway to anyone who needs one. The inn keepers are so sweet, open and kind and the morning breakfast over the weekend is divine. We hope to go back again at some point soon.


Above and beyond

5 su ottobre 10, 2010

My wife and I arrived very late at the guest house after a long day of both work and travel. How nice to be met by a wonderful wine and cheese offering. While the property itself is lovely, the personal touches by the owners made this an extremely pleasant visit and we would recommend The North River Inn to anyone wishing to stay in the area and take in all that Tidewater has to offer.


A great getaway

4,4 su ottobre 06, 2010

Wished we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the surroundings more. The setting of The North River Inn is outstanding, peaceful and relaxing. Enjoy reading a book under large trees or enjoy just sitting on the dock it is our kind of place, we will have a return visit.


Highly Recommended

5 su ottobre 06, 2010

What a fantastic experience! Beautiful inn, wonderful food, great hospitality and very attentive service. Highly recommended!


Water, water everywhere

4,2 su novembre 24, 2009

We awoke to a view of water at the end of our bed; incredible breakfast made with love and warm & friendly hosts. We will return very soon!


Perfect location

5 su novembre 03, 2009

This inn was located on 100 acres out in the country; it was quiet, with beautiful views of the river on 3 sides. The owners were extremely congenial, their cook was excellent. Made for a great weekend, very relaxing.


A great discovery on the shores of the North River.

4,6 su ottobre 06, 2009

We had a truly amazing time at the inn. We had planned on a relaxing day & that was what we had. The waters of the North River contributed to this calming feeling. Can't wait to be back!


total peace and tranquility

4,8 su maggio 20, 2009

This inn is a beautifully maintained house from an earlier time and full of family antiques and treasures. It sits on a tidal creek.


Wonderful and relaxing stay!

5 su aprile 22, 2009

The inn was so beautiful and so peaceful. The innkeepers are amazing. We will make sure to come back soon! The rooms are large and charming. We cannot say enough good things!


A "must"stay at B and B

5 su settembre 28, 2008

We have been to many B and B's over the years and this one is definitely in the top 3. It was quiet, quaint, historic, full of family heirlooms, the scenery was was wonderful (it is right on the water), the owners and the cook we fabulous and made us feel right at home!! VERY relaxing! Scrumptious food too!


The North River Inn

5 su aprile 23, 2008

The ambience, hospitality and accomodations were superb!


North River Inn

5 su gennaio 24, 2008

Hearing noise in the a.m. when I awoke not feeling any fear, unusual for me, I went downstairs curiously ... to both my surprise and delight, Ms. Hayes was cooking breakfast for me and my husband!


North River Inn.

5 su dicembre 12, 2007

Our visit to the north river inn was extremely relaxing and fun. Every aspect of our five-day stay there was a pleasant experience,and the food was presented nicely - and it was delicious! The Montague's treated us royally - their hospitality was warm and much appreciated.


A fantastic cozy retreat. :)

5 su novembre 29, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the NRI. The Innkeepers made us feel right at home. The accomodations were so cozy... The food was fantastic and the hospitality wonderful. Thank you!!! :)


The North River Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $155 - $255
  • Recensioni (31) 4,7
  • Camere 7
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8046931616
  • Numero di Fax 1-8046950303
  • Gratuito 1-8772483030

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina