The Watson House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,3
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,3
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
64 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Great weekend away

4,4 su ottobre 11, 2012

My husband and I wanted to treat ourselves to a nice weekend away for our 5th anniversary. We found the Watson House in Chincoteague online and it looked like just the kind of thing we wanted--cozy, friendly, and centrally located to dining and shopping. Bob and Carole are gracious and lovely hosts (and Carole really knows how to cook--the breakfasts were amazing!). Upon learning it was our anniversary, Bob took care of getting us a dinner reservation at Bill's, considered the best restaurant in town (it was excellent). He also gave us a great rundown of things to do over the weekend, which we appreciated as we hadn't really done much research ourselves on that. We stayed in the front porch room, the only room with a private television (not why we chose that room, but it was nice). The room was a little small, but still comfortable. The nook where the tv is was nice--it had a door separating it from the main room so that in theory someone could hang out in there with out disturbing someone sleeping. It was very cozy. Fortunately, the window air conditioner had a heater because it got very cold that weekend! The Watson House definitely has the feel of a small Inn rather than a B&B (where you feel like your in someone's home), which is what we love. One of our favorite parts of the stay was the breakfast with the other guests. The house was completely full our first night and everyone was interesting and friendly. Since it rained that Sunday morning, no one was in a hurry to leave the breakfast table. It was really nice just hanging out in the warm, comfortable house drinking coffee and having great conversation. They also have a front porch with plenty of seating. It looked nice, but was too rainy and cold all weekend for us to sit out there. Next time!


Oct 2012visit

4,4 su ottobre 03, 2012

Bob and Carole provided a wonderful stay. The food and accommodations were wonderful. Bob's insight as to areas to visit and places to eat were very helpful. I would recommend the Watson House to anyone visiting the Virginia eastern shore.


We had a wonderful time and were made to feel most welcome. Bob had some excellent suggestions for things to do and places to eat that we took andvantage of.

4,4 su settembre 28, 2012

Carole's breakfasts were delicious.. a memorable part of a great experience in Chincoteague.


40th anniversary

5 su settembre 25, 2012

Our stay at The Watson House was everything we expected. This was a beautiful location in a quaint little village. Many points of interest were within walking distance and the use of The Watson House bicycles made for an enjoyable local ride. We couldn't have asked for more. Mike and Janice Large


Great place, wonderful hosts!

4,2 su settembre 23, 2012

Great place, wonderful hosts! There is nothing to complain about at this place and Bob and Carol make everyone feel right at home. The Rose room is a little small (it is the smallest of all the rooms), and there was bar soap and bottled water in the room and refreshed ever day, but no shampoo or conditioner. Also, we are early risers and coffee is not available until 7AM.


Awesome B&B

5 su settembre 20, 2012

Bob & Carol are awesome hosts. We felt welcome the minute we arrived. We would definitely stay again. Carol prepares a fabulous breakfast each day. Everyone enjoyed chatting at breakfast while sharing their plans for the day or rocking on the front porch in the evening. A wonderful retreat for couples wanting to relax & reconnect.


Fantastic end-of-summer getaway

4,8 su settembre 03, 2012

The Watson House made for a great weekend getaway from the resort town of Virginia Beach. We greatly enjoyed our stay; Bob was the most hospitable host we've ever had, and the breakfast was delicious! For an extended weekend, you can't get much better than this lovely spot.


29TH Wedding Anniversary

4,2 su settembre 03, 2012

My husband & I stayed two days in the Watson House. Checking in was very pleasant, so much information to complete our stay. If looking for a peaceful quaint Island, this is the B&B. It completed our 29TH Anniversary. Thank you August, 2012


A wonderful place to get away from it all!!

5 su agosto 30, 2012

Our 4 day stay was just what the doctor ordered as a way to leave the world behind and decompress. The island was charming, the house was beautiful, breakfasts were fantastic, and the owners helped with every small detail of our stay in order to make every minute memorable!!


We love the Watson House!

4,8 su agosto 26, 2012

My daughter and I have been enjoying long weekends at the Watson House for many years. The house is in a prime location for walking to "downtown" or the Maddox Street shopping areas. Bob and Carole are great hosts -- making sure you have what you need and serving great breakfasts and wonderful tea-time biscotti. And, of course, Clyde is around to make sure you are greeted and don't miss your kitties while you're away!


Wonderful personal touch

4,6 su agosto 25, 2012

We enjoyed two wonderful days at the Watson House. The owners are experts at making their guest feel right at home. I can highly recommend this bed and breakfast. It is close to the wildlife preserve and there are bicycles guests can borrow!


Great first time experience at a B&B

5 su agosto 20, 2012

Me and my wife had a great stay at the Watson House. The rooms were wonderful and very clean. Bob was a great host and he made our stay in Chincoteague so much better with his insider tips on where to go and what to try. Finally, Carole's cooking is among the top five things you need to try in Chincoteague (she makes the best biscuits I've ever had)


Pleasant place.

3,4 su agosto 18, 2012

Breakfast was always sweet tasting things. The owner Bob is wonderful, you really don't see Carol unless you stick you head in the kitchen at breakfast.


The best of the best

5 su agosto 16, 2012

This is a special B&B in every way, from the friendliness of the owners to the delicious breakfasts on the porch to the charming Victorian rooms to the company of Clyde the handsome cat. It's the best place to stay when visiting the islands.


Watson House, Chincoteague VA

4,4 su agosto 16, 2012

Booking a room at the Waston House was a great choice for a long weekend getaway. Bob and Carol are wonderful innkeepers. Bob is very knowlegeable about the various things to do and places to eat in the area; and Carol is an excellent cook. The Bayview room was charming and comfortable, with it's claw foot tub, and antique Queen-sized bed. It was the perfect way to spend a quiet beach weekend.


The Watson House - Simply Peaceful

4,2 su agosto 01, 2012

Bob and Carol helped to making our anniversary wonderful. The Bird's Nest room is beautifully decorated and very peaceful. We always enjoy staying there and we look forward to the amazing breakfasts that is prepared. Yum. Stay at the Watson House!


Could not be happier!

5 su luglio 30, 2012

Bob and Carol are both so lovely and helpful. The rooms are cozy and well kept and impeccably clean. The soap in the rooms smells absolutely divine. I cannot say enough good things about Carol's cooking. The breakfast here is not to be missed. The location of this place is in walking distance of good restaurants and ice cream and the little downtown shops. I will definitely be coming back here.


a restful stay

4,8 su luglio 26, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the Watson house. The food was special and the owners were so friendly and helpful. At this B&B they actually care about you and see to your having a good time . Our stay there made us want to try more B&B vacations.


Wonderful weekend getaway!

5 su luglio 25, 2012

Was in Chincoteague for work at a local facility, and had the opportunity to stay at the Watson house during the Pony Penning weekend. Had a truly wonderful weekend! The staff was friendly, helpful, and helped make this a weekend my wife and I will never forget.


Great Experience at the Watson House

4,6 su luglio 23, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Watson House in mid-July while I was almost 8 months pregnant. Following Bob's recommendation, we stayed in the Bird's Nest room because it was the coolest one, which was very important for me. We had a great time on the island mainly because Bob and Carol are fantastic hosts. Bob gave us tons of feedback and ideas on the best places to dine and visit. He was extremely generous and let us borrow their annual pass to Assateague National Park so we could get in for free. They make cruiser bikes, beach towels, sunscreen and bug spray available for all guests, which was great because it saved us the cost of renting bikes. Carol is an absolutely fantastic cook. I could not believe we were served such fancy (and very delicious!) breakfasts considering how affordable it was to stay there! We would definitely recommend this place to our friends. You can't beat the value of excellent hospitality.


Home away from home

4,6 su luglio 22, 2012

This was the first time I stayed at a b&b and it was the best experiance ever, Bob & Carole have found their passion.


Anniversay Weekend

4,6 su luglio 14, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at The Watson House B&B. An exceptional place to stay with wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are incredible and were the perfect way to start each day. Highly recommended!


Lovely getaway

3,6 su luglio 08, 2012

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, as that was all that was available. Some of the others looked charming. Loved having access to bikes, beach towels and beach chairs. Hosts were very helpful with recommendations and sent us off with a little nosh for the road, which was much apprecdiated!


Great Place to Relax!

5 su luglio 02, 2012

Carol and Bob Mabin are the most wonderful innkeepers. If you want to stay in a quiet and relaxing environment, the Watson House is for you. You can't beat sitting on the porch in a rocking chair and feeling the cool breeze . The house is well kept and anything you need to know about the island, just ask Bob. Each morning I waited with anticipation to find out what was on the menu for breakfast and I was never disappointed. Carol is a fabulous cook.


Great place!

4,0 su giugno 29, 2012

Super location - right on Main Street, walking distance from shopping and restaurants; gracious hosts with all the inside info on Chincoteague and Assateague; scrumptious food - breakfasts were beyond our wildest expectations.


Weekend Getaway

4,2 su giugno 20, 2012

Great location on the island. Bob and Carol were superb host and hostess. The food and snacks were spectacular, and the hosts struck a good balance between friendliness and respect for privacy. They had many bicycles available for guest use ...... an unexpected bonus.


Perfect Getaway Stay

5 su giugno 18, 2012

My partner and I took a much needed vacation to Chincoteague in May. Our stay was a lovely one and I can't wait to go back! Upon our arrival at the Watson House, our host made us feel right at home. We were lead to our room on the 2nd floor in the back of the house. It felt very comfortable and private. We got the DL on the best restaurants and the most private place to sit on the beach. Our weekend was filled with biking (bikes provided by the B&B), relaxing on the beach (towels provided by the B&B) and eating delicious food. We'll be back next year!


charming and comfortable

5 su giugno 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Watson House. The host and hostess were very very and personable. The breakfasts were delicious! We would definitely stay there again . 1


A lovely stay

5 su giugno 02, 2012

Greeted by Bob as we arrived and made very comfortable right away. Bob and Carole's service is attentive while providing the guests their "space". A difficult balance that they accomplish with skill. The food is fantastic and the rooms are delightful.


Victorian Delight B&B

4,4 su novembre 01, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful week-end with our son and daughter-in-law at the Watson House in Chincoteague, Virginia. This charming victorian home met and exceeded all of our expectations. Bob and Carole Mabin, the owners, were a wealth of information about the area and the breakfasts were most delicious. We would highly recommend the B&B to anyone who would like a getaway to a more quiet, charming era.


The Watson House

4,6 su ottobre 19, 2011

Bob & Carol were great hosts & gave great suggestions of things to do during our stay.


Fantastic weekend!

4,2 su ottobre 19, 2011

Had a marvelous time at The Watson House. Breakfasts were, to put it mildly, incredible. And Bob and Carole could not have been more perfect hosts. Highly recommended.


Possibly the friendliest place in Chincoteague

4,6 su ottobre 05, 2011

My wife and I selected this place at the last minute and were very lucky. The innkeepers are extremely accommodating and helpful and really made our short time in Chincoteague better than it otherwise would have been. We'd never been to Virginia's Eastern Shore before, but the innkeepers volunteered all kinds of information and advice. They lend out all sorts of things to their guests as well--bikes, park passes, binoculars, etc.-- and will even let you return them after check out time. The house itself is well-kept and in as good a shape as one can expect a structure to be in after more than a century on the sea coast. The rooms are generally a bit small, and the couch in the Bay View where we stayed is more form than function, but these are just nit-picks that really didn't detract from our experience. The one actual negative about our whole experience was that the toilet in our bathroom had a flange that wasn't sealing properly and it would top-off the tank every hour or so and that made it a little hard to sleep. I suspect they'll fix that. Breakfast was delicious, fresh baked biscuits, muffins, french toast, sausage, fruit, and yogurt. They have free tea and coffee available pretty much all day. If we're ever back in Chincoteague I wouldn't think twice about staying there again.


Shore Thing

4,0 su settembre 24, 2011

Always a great stay at the Watson House. Carole & Bob think of every little detail. Fine food,fine accommodations and best of all fine conversation. Best place to stay in Chincoteague. Rain or shine. Ken & Jeanne M.


Felt right at home!

3,8 su settembre 21, 2011

I took my fiance to The Watson House for his birthday getaway and we enjoyed every minute. The home is cozy, Bob and Carole are very great hosts, and we had delicious breakfasts. If we come back to Chincoteague we will be sure to visit again.


The Bikes - Just our speed.

4,0 su settembre 11, 2011

The bikes! We loved your quaint home in Chincoteague. We started each day with a little jog in the wildlife reserve, and after a shower we joined the other house guests on the porch for a fresh homemade breakfast and delishious coffee. Then, at a leisurely pace, we would load up two bicycles and take our time peddling over to the beach. Just our speed. We enjoyed the experience thoroughly! Edith and Tim.


it doesn't get any nicer than this!

4,2 su agosto 27, 2011

Bob and Carole are terriffic hosts. it is great to have all you need for the beach right there. I also enjoyed biking in the mornings. The breakfasts on the porch could not have been better. They even accommodated my vegetarian husband. We will return again and again.


Excellent stay at The Watson House

4,8 su agosto 24, 2011

Everything is good at The Watson House but the food and environment for breakfast is excellent!


great place to get away

4,6 su agosto 24, 2011

Very nice people, helpful w/touring details and called to make dinner reservations. Room lovely, clean. Highly recommended. Right on main street.


Chincoteague, VA - The Watson House

4,8 su agosto 22, 2011

If you are looking for great hosts, lovely rooms w/comfy beds, and wonderful food then "The Watson House" is the place to be. I stayed at this B&B this weekend. I had a great vacation because Bob was an encyclopedia of information regarding the island helping me make the right decisions to make my stay wonderful. He knew all the things about where to go eat, shop, and the educational things like the "Wildlife Refuge", which is a must to see, etc. Carol puts out breakfasts fit for a queen and I felt just like that. And it was just so relaxing to have my breakfast on the wrap around porch. Clyde, the B&B's maskot kitty, is so friendly and stays outdoors guarding the house. I felt very safe. There are bicycles for guests to use to explore the island. You can also just lounge around in the comfy wicker chairs and watch the world go by right on Main Street. A big shout out of thanks to "The Watson House". See you next year. Hilda Corley


Very nice stay

5 su agosto 14, 2011

Very pleasant stay. Owners went out of their way to be helpful. You can tell that they work very hard to maintain a pleasant place for their guests to stay – impeccable rooms, in a very nice historic house.


1st Wedding Anniversary at Watson House, Chincoteague

5 su agosto 08, 2011

Outstanding hospitality, amenities and breakfast. Spanish empanadas, cheese blintzes, fresh fruit, mimosas...oh my... Staying at the Watson House made the weekend perfect, we had everything we needed for a great beach town stay! Thank you Bob and Carole!


Great Experience!

4,0 su agosto 07, 2011

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast, and we had a lovely experience! Bob was an excellent host. I would definitely stay there again.


Weekend Retreat

3,8 su agosto 06, 2011

Lovely atmosphere, fabulous breakfast, sincere hosts. We had a lovely time that was only made possible by the friendliness and suggestions of the hosts. Can't wait to go back!


Anniversary Weekend

4,8 su agosto 01, 2011

We were very pleased with the Watson House, this was our first visit to a B & B and it won't be our last. Our hosts were wonderful, the room was quiet, the food was outstanding!!


Great place and wonderful hosts

4,6 su luglio 27, 2011

My wife and I were looking to go to Chincoteague to have a weekend away from our kids and we stumbled upon the Watson house. The location rooms and feel of the place were all perfect. Our hosts were beyond accommodating and the food was amazing. Since we like to explore new places I don't say this often; we will definitely go back!


Watson House Hospitality First Class

5 su luglio 20, 2011

This was my first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and it was fantastic! Bob and Carol were very personable and answered every question that I had and a few I didn't think to ask. The food was wonderful and the room very relaxing after a day of hiking and biking. I will definitely consider staying at another Bed and Breakfast in the future.


Hubby's birthday getaway

4,8 su luglio 20, 2011

This was by far one of the best mini vacations we've ever had. The host (Clyde included) were wonderful The food was delicious, the views spectacular, the tours were inspiring, the people in the town were so nice. All of this equals the best weekend ever.


Great historic property, friendly service

4,4 su luglio 18, 2011

The house is lovely, as are the owners. It's obvious that they care about their reputation and guests. Little touches abound -- mimosas on the veranda with breakfast, a to-go bag of baked goodies, etc. We had a very relaxing time: stayed at the "Front Porch" room, which came with a neat sun room, complete with TV; enjoyed a glass of wine on the great wrap-around porch; took a bike ride around the Island on the complimentary bikes. My only improvement suggestion would be that the beach gear for the guests could use some updating -- more variety, newer towels, beach chairs, etc. - a relatively small investment, but would have a big impact. All in all: a great value and a great time, would highly recommend.


Watson House Chincoteague VA

5 su luglio 09, 2011

The Watson House has it all - great location, wonderful hosts, excellent food, and competitively priced. Lots of little extras that make the experience a relaxing and stress-free one.


We felt right at home and will enjoy a return visit.

4,6 su giugno 29, 2011

We both needed to get away. The Watson House was a relaxing and perfectly situated location that more than exceeded our goals for the trip. Mostly we didn't have any other goal than to make it to breakfast in the morning so that we could enjoy the MANY delicious options available. We fished, rode bikes, went to the beach, hit the church consignment store, talked with the resident outside cat and generally wandered around a great little community. Met some great people in various stores, restaurants, museums etc. Everyone had a story to tell. People really enjoy living in Chincoteague. We had deep, restorative sleep at night and a good nap during the day. It was a super getaway, close to home and not at all like many "beach" towns that cater to loud, flashy, expensive, touristy pastimes. The beach was beautiful, clean and the kites flew perfectly. I'm looking forward to visiting again and thank you Bob and Carole for being lovely hosts.


The Watson House stay

5 su giugno 21, 2011

Bob & Carole provided excellent guidance to make our stay fantastic! The house was very welcoming and clean, and Carole is an amazing cook! The wraparound porch provided a relaxing hangout for mornings and evenings. We could come and go as we pleased. Bob & Carole were in tune to all details, even providing beach cruisers for us to ride to the secluded beach. We will definitely return! Ellen Shive


A B&B oasis

5 su giugno 17, 2011

This is a marvelous B&B, with Victorian style inside and out. The innkeepers, Carole and Bob, are the very definition of what good hosts should be, gracious and personable. The breakfasts are gourmet, and dining on the wraparound porch is a thoroughly enjoyable way to begin the morning. The rooms are all charming, clean, and comfortable. And the happy memories will linger on until your next visit.


Watson House

4,6 su giugno 08, 2011

The Watson House is very warm & charming. Bob & Carole are gracious hosts that make you feel very comfortable. Carole's breakfasts are awesome.


Found on the Internet, this place is great!

5 su giugno 01, 2011

We googled "Chincoteague Bed and Breakfast", and Watson House was the second place on our list. All the rooms were beautiful, period furniture, private baths. Ours had a small private sitting room as well. Central air downstairs, and each guest room with it's own AC unit, which was most welcome: we were in Chincoteague at the beginning of the summer heatwave! Bob and Carole were helpful and gracious without being intrusive. Bob made dinner reservations, and made valuable recommendations on what to see, including the AC'd motor bus tour of Assateague, which was one of the best things we did on our trip. Carole is a wonderful cook, and makes her recipes available to any guest who asks. We definitely plan on returning to Chincoteague, and we plan on staying at the Watson House, even though there are many other charming places in town. This place is worth a special trip.


A wonderful getaway

4,4 su ottobre 15, 2010

Bob and Carol probably weren't responsible for the lovely weather we had in Chincoteague, but they were responsible for the rest of the good things that accompanied our stay. We slept in the Bird's Nest, which was quiet and spacious. No television, but the ceiling fan soothed us to sleep. The breakfasts were amazing and made it hard to lever ourselves up from our chairs to go to the beach. Fortunately, we could borrow chairs to sit on at the beach from the Watson House-- as well as beach towels, sunscreen, bikes to ride to the beach, and binoculars with which to watch the wildlife. Bob took great care of us with directions to everything we might have wanted to see, as well as recommendations; and he made us dinner reservations every evening. In short, a wonderful and relaxing weekend made possible by the great hospitality at the Watson House.


Great stay!

4,4 su agosto 30, 2010

Breakfasts were terrific, rooms were quaint, innkeepers very helpful - made dinner/cruise reservations for us. Beach items were available (chairs down to sunscreen!) Had a great stay!


Gracious hosts and GREAT experience

4,6 su agosto 30, 2010

Reluctantly my husband agreed to try a B&B "one last time." Our wonderful stay at The Watson House changed his view ... Bob and Carole were fabulous hosts ... helpful not intrusive and they have thought of every convenience: bicycles to tour the island, beach chairs and towels, great recommendations for how best to experience Chincoteague, Assateague and wonderful seafood restaurants ... and, perfect for my "I'm not a morning person" husband, the option to sit at individual tables on the porch for the most delicious breakfasts you can imagine. I'm recommending them to everyone I know!


Great Stay

4,8 su agosto 30, 2010

This was my first time staying at the Watson House, and I had a great time. Bob the innkeeper knew everything about the island, and he let us use his bikes even after we checked out. He got us to a part of the beach that was very isolated and I plan to go back again.


A Wonderful Place to Stay

4,4 su maggio 01, 2010

We had never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast before but after this experience we will be searching for more to visit and will certainly come back to The Watson House on our next visit to Chincoteague! Bob and Carole Mabin are excellent hosts and the breakfast was to die for! Cleanliness, overall appearance and relaxation was to the very maxium!


Best experience

4,0 su luglio 29, 2009

The Watson House was the most enjoyable time I've had at a B&B to date. My wife and I have made a habit of choosing B&B's over other types of lodging the last few years and the Watson House has been my favorite stay. Our room was upgraded as there was a last minute cancellation. It was spacious and comfortable. The food was outstanding and there was plenty of it. Our host was very helpful with bike trails, beaches, and restaurant recommendations, but was never obtrusive. We are looking forward to a return.


Thoughtfulness

4,2 su maggio 13, 2008

Bob and Caole were the most gracious innkeepers we have ever met. They did lots of little "extras". Water bottles in our in-room refrigerator each night so they were ready for our morning biking/beach adventures. They also packed us muffins in the morning to eat while out biking. The kindness of Bob and Carole seems to have no end!


Above expectations

4,4 su maggio 10, 2008

The Watson House offers old time Victorian charm, convenient to local shops and restaurants, wonderful amenities with rooms that are spacious, allowing one to relax comfortably. Having a wonderful breakfast on the wrap-around porch on a sunny morning starts the day in a relaxed mode setting the stage for a great day of exploring in Chincoteague. Who wouldn’t feel eager to begin a day after being served a glorious breakfast of Praline French Toast with apple sausage? Of course, that is only one example of the excellent breakfasts that awaits one, and all are complimented with Orange juice, coffee, tea, and/or a delicious Mimosa. We spent two nights at the Watson House in November of 2007. Our hosts, Bob & Carole made us feel so welcome with their gracious hospitality that it was an easy decision to marry there on May 3, 2008. With a total of six in our party, Bob and Carole went above and beyond to ensure our weekend went smoothly. Their suggestions and assistance resulted in a beautiful wedding with Bob stepping in to photograph, and Carole setting up the dining room for a cake and champagne reception. While the Watson House is beautiful, as are many Bed & Breakfasts, one’s stay is only as good as the owners. Because of Bob and Carole, both of our retreats to the Watson House were a welcoming haven of comfort and serenity leaving us with a lifetime of precious memories. We are looking forward to our next visit there.


Enchanting & Cozy B&B

4,6 su aprile 21, 2008

I've been to The Watson House several times which is a testimonial in itself. The welcoming hospitality of the innkeepers, Carole & Bob, along with their exceptional breakfasts and willingness to assist in making my time there an enjoyable experience are a few examples of why I've returned to The Watson House. It is ever so private as well so whether I am reading a novel on their wrap around porch or chatting with a guest at breakfast or snatching one of their signature biscotti cookies with a cup of tea in the afternoon, I feel right at home. I think you should check it out and the location is fabulous with access to beach, wildlife, biking/hiking, the wondeful park, etc., etc.


The Watson House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $140 - $175
  • Recensioni (64) 4,6
  • Camere 5

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7573361564

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina