The Dinsmore House Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,3
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
25 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

The Dinsmore House Inn was the highlight of our visit to Charlottesville

4,8 su novembre 23, 2014

The Dinsmore House Inn was fantastic, and a wonderful value--if you want to soak in the history of Charlottesville and stay in a place contemporary with the time of Thomas Jefferson, this is the place. It is historic, but completely restored and well-appointed. We stayed in a HUGE, lovely room (the Dinsmore Room) which, despite being located on the street, was quiet. Most of the wedding party for the wedding we were attending stayed here, as well, and all raved. Nice breakfast, warm and charming hosts, wine and cheese in the pm (and cookies!). Top location on the Corner, near campus and restaurants, and super-easy access to the highways (avoid Main Street traffic headed toward UVA, and instead head toward downtown, or snake past the hospital toward Jefferson Park Ave). We walked to the downtown mall, and enjoyed a wonderful Saturday morning farmers market. Free, gated parking in the parking garage for the adjacent Marriot. We payed maybe $50 more per night to stay here than the rate at the Hampton Inn up the street, and scored covered parking, home-cooked breakfast, and a truly special experience. Thanks, John and Mary!


Wonderful Stay

5 su settembre 09, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at the Dinsmore House and were beyond impressed by the hospitality and the coziness of this lovely inn. The breakfast and snacks provided were also above expectation. The inn is within walking distance of the many restaurants and shops on the UVa "corner." Overall, a wonderful experience.


Great Southern Hospitality

3,8 su luglio 20, 2014

We spent two nights here at the start of our vacation in Virginia. Dinsmore House was built in 1817 and the old house has survived and nestles in the middle of more modern development. The present owners bought it and converted it into a b&b which has been operating since 2003. We had a great stay here. The room we had was comfortable and well appointed. There's a Hospitality Hour every day between 4 pm and 6 pm when you can chat with fellow guests over a glass of wine and for us as British visitors that sort of chance to meet with and talk to other guests is a key reason why we prefer US b&b's to anonymous hotels. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious - especially the signature Eggs Dinsmore. Dinsmore House is located close to the University of Virginia campus - the campus is very interesting and it's well worth talking a stroll around it. There are a good number of places to have dinner close by. We walked up towards the campus and found plenty of choice. It seemed to us that the restaurants located in the other direction - towards downtown - are further away but there's a free shuttle trolley that operates every 15 minutes (though the Sunday service is less frequent and ends before 6 pm.). Our visit was during the university vacation and I should think the area - and restaurants - is significantly busier in term time. There's free parking for Dinsmore guests in the garage of the Marriott hotel next door and that's a real bonus Prior to booking we'd noticed one or two negative comments on Trip Advisor but we didn't have any similar experiences - our experience was 100% positive. It's true that Ryan and Denise, the innkeepers don't live on site but we've encountered similar arrangements at other US b&b's and it's never been a problem. .During our visit at least one of them was on duty at the key times - check-in/Hospitality Hour and morning breakfast. There is a resident manager. We would certainly stay at Dinsmore House again.


A Wonderful Experience!

5 su marzo 10, 2014

My wife & I spent the night for our anniversary, and were very pleased with this B&B experience. The staff was very nice, and Ryan's hospitality in particular was outstanding. The location of this B&B is ideal, close to the old downtown and school. The breakfast was magnificent. I can see why the Dinsmore house is so popular and felt lucky to have found them. I'd recommend this to anyone.


Wonderful Stay

5 su novembre 07, 2013

The Dinsmore House B&B staff was wonderful! Enjoyed a glass of wine and Kiersten great company. She was a delight! They gave me a free upgrade because a better room was available. The Veranda Room was lovely, and had the most comfortable bed! Was able to purchase discount tickets to Monticello from Inn. Wonderful time visiting Monticello! Thank you.


Sinfully good breakfast!

4,4 su agosto 23, 2013

Fantastic B&B with a rich history. But the highlight was the French toast "cake" served for breakfast. Amazing! Other delights included a wine hour and a small birthday gift from the hostess waiting for me in our room.


Excellent.

4,0 su novembre 16, 2011

We have reserved our second visit this year. We have never been more pleased. McLeans


A Great Place

5 su novembre 11, 2011

They gave us a free upgrade because a better room was available. They also provided a special menu due to food allergies we have.


Excellent Stay

5 su novembre 07, 2011

Perfect location, great room, good bathroom, excellent wi-fi, delicious breakfast. The perfect stay!


Highly recommended

5 su aprile 23, 2011

Very nice, very clean, charming, superb soufle and fresh fruit breakfast, conveniently located, historical ambience--this is the ideal B&B. A bit pricey but comparable to what's available in the area, and worth every penney. A hair dryer would have been nice.


Review of the Dinsmore House Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su marzo 12, 2011

The Dinsmore House Bed and Breakfast staff was very welcoming and helpful, securing my mother and I tickets to go to Monticello as soon as we checked in around 1 pm. They accommodated our schedule, allowing us to check in early because of our early tour time at Monticello the first day we stayed at Dinsmore. The breakfasts were superb and a great way to start the mornings! We were given a key granting access to the main lobby for snacks, hot drinks, the refrigerator, and a collection of DVDs. Dinsmore was located within walking distance of the University of Virginia and also within walking distance of a stop to catch the free trolley which took us downtown to historic Charlottesville for shopping, a movie, and a fine dining experience! The only downside I could think of was there were not many places/flat furniture tops to put luggage in our room except for a large sofa. The rooms were clean, well-kept, and cozy! Overall, a very pleasant, relaxing trip!


Difficult to sleep or shower

2,8 su marzo 09, 2011

Lovely public rooms and bedrooms, with convenient parking. Alas, the loud road noises made it difficult to sleep. It must be said that the bathroom would be an embarrassment to any home, and both mornings the hot water disappeared a couple minutes into our showers. Brrrrrr.


We Loved This Bed & Breakfast in Charlottesville!

5 su novembre 26, 2010

We stayed at the Dinsmore House for two nights while we were passing through Virginia on our way to Philadelphia. The owners and staff gave us excellent service! The room was quiet and comfortable. Staying in a historic building was very fun - built in the early 1800's by a famous builder! They arranged our discounted Monticello visit at the time we requested. The breakfasts were gourmet! They treated us royally!


Wonderful place to stay

5 su agosto 20, 2010

We spent two nights at this B&B and loved it. The home is charming and was full of fresh flowers and nice furnishings. The Hubbards were friendly & helpful and breakfast was lovely. Their dog, Hannah, is the perfect B&B dog - friendly and quiet. We stayed in the Dinsmore Room, which was big, beautiful and had the most comfortable bed! Free DVDs gave us a late night movie and overall we couldn't have been happier. ~ Wes & Jodi Baldwin


Lovely stay at the Dinsmore

4,2 su febbraio 16, 2010

We had a lovely, memorable time at the Dinsmore. Not only was the bed easily the most comfortable and warm I have ever slept on, the Hubbard's were kind and welcoming. Breakfast was above and beyond. Would recommend the Dinsmore to anyone and we look forward to staying there again!


Great place to stay

4,4 su febbraio 07, 2010

We have stayed in many B&B's and found the Dinsmore House to be very comfortable. It is conveniently located within 1/2 block of the free trolly service. Ryan is extremely helpful and we would certainly stay there again.


Overnight at the Dinsmore

3,4 su agosto 24, 2009

The location of the B&B is great and the hospitality from the two hosts we met was also tops but the room was very small and I thought the room and bathroom were in serious need of updating. For the price, I felt it was too expensive for the value.


Great B&B

4,6 su giugno 08, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B and the Dinsmore House has set the bar high. We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and found the experience wonderful. The innkeepers were welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area. Both breakfasts were amazing, and the blackberry french toast was probably the best breakfast I've ever had. The location on the edge of UVA and a short walk from downtown was perfect. Things were nice and quiet with school out of session, and I can imagine the area is a bit more lively when the students are around.


Girl's weekend away

5 su marzo 26, 2009

My friend and I were celebrating her birthday and wanted to stay at a Bed and Breakfast close to UVA and the Mall for walking convenience. The Dinsmore House was a wonderful choice. Great central location and the service at the Inn was superb. The downtown Mall is a little far to walk, but there is a free trolley that runs every 15 minutes and stops many places a long the way, that it is too convenient to pass up. When we arrived at the Inn, we were greeted with an afternoon glass of wine, shown to our room (beautiful, historic, clean, lovely), and then made to feel very much at home. Kimberly who was at the desk on our arrival could not have been more accomodating and welcoming. Ryan, the Innkeeper was at breakfast the next morning and he, too was very accomodating. I had requested ahead of time for flowers (for the birthday girl) to be in the room and a birthday candle to be included in breakfast (somehow?) and both requests were granted without a reminder. It really was a wonderful girl's getaway.


Wonderful!

5 su marzo 10, 2009

My Husband and I stayed at the Dinsmore as part of our honeymoon trip to our final destination. We truly enjoyed our stay. The staff was wonderful and really understood our needs. They actually offered us a free upgrade and cooked us our favorite breakfast meal!


Wonderful Inn Keepers

3,2 su ottobre 24, 2008

We found the Dinsmore House to be a wonderful place to stay. The Inn Keepers were extremely gracious and helpful, passing on all types of information on restaurants, the U of VA, and the surrounding area attractions; such as Monticello, President Jefferson's Home. The rooms were very comfortable and it could not have been easier to park and register.The B & B is located right in the heart of the city.


Very Nice

5 su maggio 05, 2008

Beautiful old house with a ton of character and nicely decorated. Owner is very nice and accommodating.


Beautiful B&B

5 su marzo 07, 2008

My then-boyfriend and I stayed here the weekend he proposed. The owners are very hospitable and helpful, the house is just beautiful with spacious rooms and the breakfasts were delicious. Also, the location cannot be beat.


Great Location

5 su aprile 16, 2007

Just a stone's throw from the UV campus this B&B has a lot going for it. At first when I saw how close it was to the road I was worried about noise but it was a groundless worry. The windows soundproof everything. We stayed in both of the suites, one night each and though very different they are both lovely. Breakfast was exceptionally good here and the host and hostess are friendly and very helpful.


Best Charlottesville B&B

5 su febbraio 09, 2007

My husband and I have traveled to Charlottesville every year to spend a weekend at a B and B. The Dinsmore house was our best stay yet! The owners are fabulously friendly and hospitable. They recommended excellent restaurants, and provided a delicious and different breakfast each morning. The location cannot be beat with trolly service to downtown Charlottesville and UVA. This inn is worth your time. Enjoy!


The Dinsmore House Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $119 - $279
  • Recensioni (25) 4,6
  • Camere 8

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-4349744663
  • Gratuito 1-8778827829

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina