The West Dover Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,1

Più info

  • Camera3,9
  • Servizi4,3
  • Valore3,9
  • Pulizia4,1
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
47 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Great Vermont inn!

5 su luglio 10, 2013

I love The West Dover Inn! Innkeepers Phil and Kathy are wonderful, the food is fabulous, and the atmosphere is great. I enjoyed listening to Jim the singer/guitar player in the pub!


West Dover 45th anniversary stay

4,4 su giugno 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the West Dover Inn and our innkeepeer was truly outstanding!! He made the trip for us.


Historic and charming Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su giugno 19, 2013

This is a lovely historic inn. The innkeeper, Phil, is wonderful - very helpful in planning your day, and really tries to make your stay a memorable one. The restaurant is great - food is fresh and lots of made from scratch items for breakfast. The staff is very friendly. Will definitely return for another stay!


Fabulous Stay!

5 su giugno 18, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 45th Anniversary with a trip through New England including a delightful two-night stay at the West Dover Inn, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in this beautiful and historic inn. It was our second visit to West Dover and what really made this one a standout was our host Phil Gilpin who greets guests warmly, feeds them well, and even advises tourists about "adventures" in his adopted area. He provided us with a map and a narrative of directions for a day trip that included the Gallery of Humor, the Grafton Handmade Cheese Factory, a new Saxton Distillery, the homes of Thomas Lincoln and Robert Frost, the Vermont Store, the Christmas Shop, and lots of other cool venues we would have missed or been too timid to attempt without his guidance. Our breakfasts, cooked by our host, were excellent and filling and our dinner was as well served up by the gregarious bartender George. The chef sent out some amazing chowder to try in a delicate soup cup as well as an amazing mussel breaded and topped with pineapple salsa. Unusual and delicious treats! We certainly hope we can find the way back to the West Dover Inn sooner than later.


Great Inn

4,4 su gennaio 25, 2013

The night w!as a Christmas gift so do not know the value!


Comfortable old New England Inn

3,6 su ottobre 19, 2012

Comfortable old New England Inn, clean rooms with impressive dining room and bar facilities. Morning breakfast was excellent and the owner, Phil, is very friendly and informative regarding folklore and local attractions. We would definitely return.


Nice New England getaway

4,4 su ottobre 09, 2012

we had a wonderful weekend at the West Dover Inn. The innkeepr could not have been nicer and more helpful. After hearing wha t we liked to do, he gave us suggestions to help plan our weekend. He printed out directions to local things and told alittle about each place. Our room was very quaint and well kept- a perfect Vermont Inn! The breakfasts were hearty and delicious-French toast, b,ueberry pancakes and omelettes. plus the packed picnic lunch was a plus! It is a great place for a New England getaway.


First B&B and we loved it

4,2 su agosto 27, 2012

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and we loved it. The West Dover Inn is located in a beautiful area. We enjoyed visiting surrounding towns and walking in the area. The suite we stayed was beautifully decorated and furnished. We enjoyed the bar ambiance and music on Thursday. There was a nice crowd and we had fun. The hearty breakfast was an excellent to begin the day. We would like to come back.


Great food! Accomodations not up to par.

3,4 su luglio 09, 2012

date of visit 7/1 - 7/4/2012 We arrived on a Sunday late afternoon, and Phil the Innkeeper was warm and accomodating; even later bringing us a lovely cheese platter. I was a tad disappointed with the upkeep of the Inn, needs some freshening and repairs. the dining room and bar are outdated and need some help. the food was excellent and we told the chef. We did have to ask for our 3rd breakfast coupon, as we stayed 3 nights, we were only given 2. Shouldn't a Bed & Breakfast most definitely come with breakfast each morning? We tried to sit outside for dinner, but had to move indoors because of the bugs biting us! they were all over us! I saw that the patio was new, but does not look it. Could be much nicer. And the Inn is right near the road, very disappointing, because that is not shown in the pictures online. the price is pretty high for an old place with no views whatsoever. Staff is friendly and efficient and can't beat the food!


Food

4,2 su giugno 11, 2012

Food was outstanding: breakfast several choices, dinners were delicious


Early Spring Stay

4,2 su marzo 25, 2012

We thought the inn adorable and comfortably antiquated, the staff more than accommodating so expect to see us again.


Great B & B

4,6 su gennaio 18, 2012

We have never been to an Inn and we weren't sure what to expect. We arrived early and our room was ready so we were able to check in right away. The owners son gave us a tour of the Inn as well as the history behind it. He was very helpful, knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. After we checked in we went to the Adams Farm for a sleigh ride. It was awesome. Then we headed back to the Inn to freshen up and go to the bar for some drinks and appetizers and watch the game (Saints vs. 49ers) and then the (Pats vs. Broncos). The bartender was very friendly. The magician was awesome. Still trying to figure out how he gets the cards on the ceiling. There was a singer there as well. Very good. The food at the bar was awesome. And the best part was we didn't have to go out in the cold. The tavern had entertainment, the football game, food and drinks, friendly atmosphere. What more could you ask for? Met the owner the next morning. He was very nice. Even though they had closed for breakfast they opened the kitchen to accommodate us and made us breakfast. I can't say enough about this place. I would highly recommend it. We will definately making this our "go to" place in Vermont. Thanks for a great and memorable weekend!


West Dover Inn

4,2 su dicembre 31, 2011

It was lovely and we will definitely go back again. The staff was very friendly.


An Old Authentic Inn

3,0 su ottobre 12, 2011

Grounds were not as well kept as they appear in the picture. We were upgraded to a suite as we were the only guests that night, it was cold and the suite had a fireplace. It was a nice gesture but we thought the single rooms were much brighter and prettier. Our room was clean and the bed was cosy. Our host was very accommodating and friendly and provided us with a detailed route enabling us to explore the SW Vermont area with ease. Food was just ok but service was good. We found the inn overpriced for what we received and will try a B and B on our next visit.


great job Phil( he's the owner)

3,8 su agosto 30, 2011

Phil knows what he is doing, food great!, people great, would definately go there again and we will next year Thanks Chris Geagon


good stay

3,2 su agosto 29, 2011

Phil was very friendy and helpfull to make suggestions for our stay and activities to do......Dinner was fantastic......All the staff very friendly


Dining topped our already outstanding stay

5 su agosto 23, 2011

We loved everything about our stay. The family and staff were very friendly and down to earth; the food was the best we have EVER had (and this is saying a lot)! We felt at home there and we can't wait to go back.


great stay

4,0 su agosto 02, 2011

Very friendly staff, great room, and a good location. Will visit again.


Very Satisfied Folks

5 su marzo 24, 2011

We came a little off season, but were kept cozy with all the fires around the B and B. We requested the duck tenders and squash ravioli appetizers in the living room along with our local wine which the Innkeeper had no trouble with our having in the living room. The food was so good that we decided to stay for dinner at The Tavern. We enjoyed the free entertainment and knowing that we were a part of the local community having a good time. Our room was neat and comfortable and we ventured off the next day in the rain to a wonderful place called The Garden Cafe in Londonderry, also not to be missed. Thank you West Dover Inn Hosts and Staff!


Our best New England Inn

5 su febbraio 08, 2011

We've been visiting the Inn for several years usually once in the spring and again in the fall. Seen it change ahnds and were its first visitors under the new Innkeepers Kathy & Phil. The place never skipped a beat! Great company, wonderful rooms, inpeccible food and beverage! You won't be sorry! Go and you'll be back!


Enjoying a Winter Getaway in Vermont

4,0 su gennaio 27, 2011

After spending the day skiing at Mt. Snow, we drove the two miles to the West Dover Inn. Although we had not stayed at this inn before, we found the history of the Inn to be of interest so we decided to try it. We throughly enjoyed our stay. The owner (and his son) were excellent hosts. The atmosphere was relaxed and provided an excellent example of New England hospitality. After spending time in the bar we decided to try the restaurant for dinner. The meal was excellent as we enjoyed our food at a table by the fireplace. If you like New England charm in a location that has character then you should give the West Dover Inn a try. Our only disappointment was we did not see the ghost that is supposed to have been seen in the Inn.


Nice Trip Away

4,6 su dicembre 13, 2010

Our stay at the West Dover Inn was great! We were looking for a few days away from daily routine and visiting VT was the right choice. Phil greeted us upon arrival and showed us our room. We also arrived a few hours early and he was very accommodating on letting us check in early. We stayed in the Mount Snow suite. The room was great and very comfortable. It was also very convenient that the room was just upstairs from the bar/restaurant area. We went to the bar for dinner and live music. The food and service were excellent! We had good laughs with the locals and our bartender Greg. Overall our stay was a great getaway before heading back home.


West Dover Inn

4,4 su dicembre 11, 2010

Very nice place, Mr. Gilpin was extremely helpful in working with our late arrival and helping us plan some nice driving routes to our next destination in the morning. Highly recommended.


Cozy & Charming Inn

3,4 su novembre 30, 2010

The West Dover Inn is everything you'd expect an Inn in Vermont to be, cozy, charming - the service warm and friendly. We had room 4 with a fireplace, which was a lovely perk. It was spacious and comfortable. Only issue we had was that the shower knobs are extremely temperamental and can run extremely hot or cold depending on a fraction of an inch! Other than this, we were very happy and would recommend it to anyone. They even have a cozy living room at the Inn with board games and comfy sofas to lounge inn.


A great escape

5 su novembre 27, 2010

A brief stay as part of a longer trip, our time at the inn was peaceful and relaxing. The innkeeper was cordial, entertaining, and highly skilled. The menu is uncomplicated, but every item was carefully prepared with fresh ingredients, many of them local. The staff was very careful with allergies and sensitivities, and made us feel welcome. We'd go back!


Great Place, Friendly Staff, Extremely Relaxing!

3,6 su novembre 15, 2010

Innkeeper was extremely professional and accommodating. The rooms we're quaint with the only flaw being an advertised digital satellite service on a microscopic TV (but believe me, between the amazing two-person jacuzzi tub and fantastic dining room below.....the boobtube is really a non-issue). I went during a slow b&b season and still was able to find ample things for me and my fiancee to do. I would highly recommend this b&b to those looking for a warm, relaxing place at a reasonable price.


Great Place

4,0 su novembre 15, 2010

Great place for a getaway. Rooms are nice and clean. Gilpin family are great people and fun to visit. We'll be back.


fallfoliage

3,6 su novembre 06, 2010

Went for "leaf peeping" in VT. Just past peak but still an awesome display! Everyone at the West Dover Inn was extremely friendly. Service was great and the food was great too! Very accommodating.


Stay here!!

5 su novembre 04, 2010

Charming and efficient service; couldn't be better. Breakfast was exceptional; don't miss the pancakes. Do stay here!!


An enjoyable stay

3,8 su novembre 01, 2010

The Innkeeper & his wife made you feel at home. Nice bar, excellent food. Enjoyed our stay. Mike from Scotland


Great place to stop through Vermont!

4,0 su ottobre 27, 2010

I needed to find a new place to stay, off the beaten path a bit, cozy and warm and different. I stay in the Vermont area quite a bit. I happened to be in town and needed an overnight and the whole area in the vicinity of Wilmington, was booked due to a large wedding. Phil Jr. and the staff took care of us and made the last minute stay, quite enjoyable. Stay here, you won’t regret it!


Wonderful stay.

4,6 su ottobre 27, 2010

We came up for a family wedding and saw this Inn on the internet. Was very impressed with both the friendliness and courtesy of all employees we met and talk to and also the innkeeper. The rooms were very nicely furnished and made your feel as though you were in your own home and not at a hotel. The food and service were excellent. This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and certainly will not be our last.


Picture Looks Better Than It Is

2,2 su ottobre 25, 2010

This was our 3rd esxperience with a B&B (although this one was without one B (Breakfast). Did have coffee that we made ourselfs. Was cold, dark and small bed. Guess this was what living in early 1800's was like! We think that this will be our last B&B.


Very nice stay at West Dover Inn!

3,4 su ottobre 21, 2010

This family run inn should not be missed on your visit to Vermont. The cozy room with beautiful antiques, delicious dining in front of the fire place was romantic and quaint. The bed was comfortable. The electric fireplace added extra warmth when we wanted it. The proprieters were friendly and accomodating. We enjoyed talking to Greg in the bar till closing. We loved the small towns, beautiful fall scenery, and friendly people in all of Windham county that we visited.


Disappointment in West Dover

2,6 su ottobre 18, 2010

The West Dover Inn is beautiful on the outside. Because we had to have a room with two beds we were given a room above the restaurant. The beds were hard. Room was cold. The room smelled like all the food that was cooked below us. We could clearly hear each song being sung by the entertainment in the bar, glasses and dishes clanking and food being removed from dirty plates in the kitchen. However, I believe I ate the best steak I've ever had in their restaurant.


Aussies in Vermont

3,8 su ottobre 17, 2010

We had a wonderful stay with our young children. The big room was large and the 2 single beds made the kids happy that they did not have to sleep with each other or Mum and Dad. The room was very clean and charming with room to move. The beds were comfortable and warm covers. We had an issue with a noisy pipe in the wall which periodically woke us during the night, but overall our short stay was nice. The restaurant surprised us with the quality of the food, especially the steak.


Liked the West Dover Inn

4,0 su ottobre 15, 2010

Stayed two nights. Got a suite which included a gas fireplace and a two person jacuzzi tub. Overall the condition of the room was very good and clean. Did not like the fact that the room was over the tavern as the noise level was loud sometimes. Not too loud but if you are trying to relax and do not like noise it might be bothersome. Noise was gone around 10 p.m. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. If you add the price of breakfast on to your room then the price of the room is equal to other places. The breakfast was good. Overall we thought it was a very nice place to stay and we really did enjoy the amenities of the suite.


OK accommodations

3,0 su ottobre 11, 2010

Our room was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. The shower was tiny, and the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. In general, we had a short, but pleasant stay.


West Dover Inn

4,0 su ottobre 09, 2010

Great ambience, terrifc service by our host, in every way.


Outstanding once again

5 su ottobre 09, 2010

The West Dover Inn is our home away from home. The wonderful staff, excellent food and great entertainment make it a special visit every time. These innkeepers know how to treat their guests.


Friendly Staff

3,0 su settembre 21, 2010

Drove by inn first time - construction lift was blocking sign. Check in was 4pm, arrived at 3:15, no one at the desk for check in. Called innkeeper cell number provided but only got voice mail. Friendly staff in pub and dining room.


Perfect Getaway

5 su settembre 13, 2010

Warm welcome, clean rooms, great food and lots of fun in the bar with the live music.


a great stay atWest Dover Inn

5 su settembre 06, 2010

a wonderful stay, Phil is a gracious host and very accomidating. food was unbelievable. I would go back just to eat!! room were perfect. better than what I expected. will definetly return.


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

4,2 su marzo 29, 2010

Great place to stay. The innkeepers are wonderful, the rooms are clean, and is close to Mount Snow. WIll stay there again!


wonderful visit

4,0 su marzo 31, 2009

After a warm greeting at the front door, we found our stay to be very pleasant and comfortable. Th Inn has a very inviting quality, with the public and private rooms quite comfortable, pleasant, and very clean. The bar and dining rooms are beautiful and in keeping with the historic quality of the Inn. This is a winner!.


Great Place!!!

4,4 su febbraio 11, 2009

Service was exceptional. Very accommodating with our late check-out. Beautiful rooms. Great place to stay.


Truly delightful

4,6 su agosto 08, 2008

When I look for a moderately priced inn, I want to know that it is clean. West Dover Inn met the test. The host is quite accomodating - iron & ironing board brought to the room. Windows open and air conditioning is available if wanted. It has a bed and breakfast feel with a private table in the dining room. The big surprise was the 'fine dining' for dinner. The food was elegant and delicious and beautifully served. We were hosting a small birthday dinner and really appreciated the ambience.


The West Dover Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $90 - $329
  • Recensioni (47) 4,1
  • Camere 11
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono (802) 464-5207

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina