Haven Guest House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,9

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi5,0
  • Valore4,8
  • Pulizia5,0
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
120 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A Weekend Get-a-Way in Vermont

4,4 su giugno 18, 2014

This was our first bed and breakfast experience, and our hosts Gisela and Werner made sure we were comfortable and happy. The house is both cute and alluring, peppered with old-world knick-knacks and stuffed furniture. The rooms were comfortable, private and satisfying. And the breakfast! You are truly treated like an honored guest as they serve you fresh fruit, homemade breads, cookies, and cooked-to-order meals that prepare you for a day of sight-seeing. I'd recommend the Haven Guest House to anyone.


Best Lodging Ever

5 su aprile 03, 2014

Words cannot convey my wonderful experience staying at the Haven Guest House. Everything was outstanding. ...room, service, value, cleanliness, dining, location, valet service, homemade breads, breakfast was a fine dining/gourmet experience. Homemade breads are to "die for"! The host and hostess are perfect at making you feel comfortable yet having privacy! We will imbibe of their hospitality again!!


A true Haven for a stranded traveler

5 su febbraio 08, 2014

It was a warm welcome, fireplace glowing, hot tea to drink, and comfortable warm bed , and to top it all a wonderful full breakfast in the morning. I was stranded in a snow storm, and could not get home. Gisela graciously loaned me some night clothes. Thanks to both Werner and Gisela, a wonderful place to stay on a cold snowy night.


A wonderful B&B -- Perfect in Every Way!

5 su luglio 23, 2013

We also chose to stay at Haven Guest House based on other reviews. We could not have been happier. We were in the area to pick up our son at a camp at Green Mountain College in Poultney, and the stay proved to be very convenient. When we arrived, we received a warm welcome from Gisela and Werner. We arrived during a heat wave, and Gisela had thoughtfully started the air conditioning in our room before our arrival. The house is beautiful and beyond immaculate! The rooms are interesting, and I was quite fond of our room (I believe it was the Apple Blossom room with the king-sized bed). Although we didn't have much time during our stay, it was very nice to relax in our room. The bed was unusually comfortable, and we had a very restful night. We had a menu from which we made choices for breakfast for the following morning. The breakfast choices were very good, and my husband and I shared entrees. The omelet was made with local eggs and from herbs grown in the backyard. The breakfast consisted of several courses and very good coffee! It was served promptly at the time we requested. Gisela and Werner did an outstanding job of being attentive without hovering. It was a perfect mix for us. I only wish that we had been able to stay longer. If we end up going back next summer, I would definitely stay again. I wish that I could find something negative to say about the stay to show that I am not sugarcoating the stay, but I just can't think of a single thing that could be improved. The smallest touches were considered (soda and water for guests in the refrigerator upstairs as an example). The setting and the hosts were truly lovely!


THE VERY BEST IN VERMONT!

5 su luglio 01, 2013

Being from Texas you seek the best and this time it was Outstanding! Spotless, Charming, Fantastic Food, and The Baumann's are THE BEST! We have enjoyed visiting Vermont for many years and have stayed in many places but this was the most enjoyable of any. The owners make it what it is and that is just the Greatest! AND the Most Delicious Food ever in a B&B. Will look forward to another visit!


Great B and B

4,4 su giugno 03, 2013

Very welcoming and wonderful breakfast. Met my needs and would stay again if in the area


Absolutely EXCELLENT in every way!

5 su aprile 22, 2013

The Baumann's are a wonderful couple, who provided us with a warm, cozy, family-like home, which we'll never forget! Rooms and whole house, were immaculate and soooo comfortable. They even welcomed us into their own kitchen for coffee and chat, as though we lived there! Roaring fire in the fireplace and being able to rest in the living room with bottle of wine; sitting out on the beautiful front porch; the peaceful setting of the garden and koi pond; and the breakfast, which we were able to choose from menus submitted by us night before, was scrumptuous! Everything fresh, locally grown, and homemade and served to us, lovingly. We didn't want to pass up on one single thing! Anything we needed was provided for us! Something else that is very important to us is that we also felt very secure, with keys for our room and front door, and knowing that they resided there, even though we had complete privacy. We will definitely return to this divine home as we feel we have made "friends for life" with Werner and Gisela Baumann!


Great Place to Stay

5 su febbraio 22, 2013

Werner and Gisela made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped in the front door. The home is very cozy with a fire going in the fireplace. We were treated just like we were family. The home made breakfast was wonderful! The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean. We are going back to the area in a few months and will be staying at this B&B again.


CT Family

5 su febbraio 05, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The Inn was very warm and welcoming. The breakfast was wonderful and the hospitality was great. We hope to come back again.


just what I needed

5 su ottobre 02, 2012

This was my first stay in a B&B but most certainly won't be my last. After a long day on the road, I was welcomed with a friendly smile, a genorous room with the most comfortable bed and a wonderful meal all in a beautiful old home. I found the Haven Guest House by chance but it was jusy what I needed.


Highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

5 su agosto 27, 2012

The five-star rating pretty much says it all, but I do want to mention how at home we felt. The innkeepers were warm and made us feel immediately welcome. Breakfast was phenomenal! It really is the best meal of the day when staying at the Haven Guest House. You can't go wrong staying at this wonderful home away from home. Gettysburg PA


An Outstanding B & B

5 su agosto 21, 2012

Our stay at Haven Guest House was outstanding! Would have liked to stay longer. The host (aka "bell hop") and hostess were very pleasant and heloful. The breakfasts were "to die for"! Everything home made and delicious, I would recommend this B & B to everyone passing through that neck of the woods.


Great First B&B

5 su luglio 25, 2012

Great Hospitality, Great 4 course breakfast, Very relaxing, Home is gorgeousl. gardens out back are beautiful Will definitely visit again. Wonderful first B&B...


Haven Guest House

5 su luglio 23, 2012

This was my third stay at Haven, and it always exceeds my expectations.


A delightful experience at the Haven Guest House!

5 su maggio 28, 2012

My 2 sisters and I stayed at the Haven Guest House a month ago and enjoyed it thoroughly. Our hosts were very flexible, courteous - gracious even! We felt at home and very comfortable. The amenities are a cut above any B & B experience I have had to date. I would not only recommend it to others but will plan on staying there again when I'm in the area. A lovely home in a convenient yet quit location with outstanding service and an incredibly delicious breakfast. It's worth going (even if you don't have another reason ) just to stay and be treated so very well.


Great breakfast and a beautiful inn

5 su maggio 23, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in April at the Haven Guest House and it was a very pleasant experience. The first night we sat in front of a cozy fire witha bottle of wine. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast of fruit, home baked bread & pastry and pancakes and omlette. We have recommended it to everyone we've talked to. Kathy & Joe Manez


Clean, cozy and comfortable in every way...

5 su maggio 15, 2012

The Haven Guest House is a comfortable and cozy Inn that I would highly recommend. It was our first time there; we very much enjoyed our stay and most certainly will visit again in the future. The rooms in the Haven are immaculate and very comfortable. The bed and linens were a dream to sleep on. The breakfast that Werner and Gisela created for us was lovingly prepared. We were given a menu from which we made our selections the night before - and our meal was scrumptious! There is a delightful koi pond on the property, which is an added bonus. Our hosts, Werner and Gisela, were warm and hospitable in every way. I highly recommend the Haven Guest House - you will most definitely enjoy your stay there!


Wonderful B&B

5 su maggio 07, 2012

Werner & Gisela are the most gracious & welcoming Innkeepers, we felt as though we were staying with friends instead of a B&B. The house is beautiful, the rooms & bathrooms are spotless. Werner & Gisela made the most amazing home cooked breakfast & they are never to busy to answer any questions you may have. I can tell you this will be our home away from home whenever we are in Fair Haven.


Lovely Experience would highly recommend

5 su aprile 28, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at this quaint bed and breakfast the evening before attending a college tour. We arrived later in the evening than originally planned and were greated at the door by our gracious hosts owners Gisela and Werner. Our room was exceptionally clean and just perfect for the two of us, the bathroom was surprisingly large and modern. We woke early the next day and were served the freshest and most enjoyable breakfast I had in years before we hit the road. My daughter loved the college so I will be a frequent guest of Gisela and Werners in the coming years. Thank you for your hospitality.


Tres Belle

5 su aprile 23, 2012

Werner and Gisela are wonderful hosts with a lovely home to share. Definitely recommend all to stay there and hope to return soon.


Wunderbar1

5 su aprile 16, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in this adorable and affordable inn. Especially noteworthy was the delicious, made-to-order breakfast, complete with Swiss specialties like rosti and gruyere cheese omelet! Our room was so clean and comfortable and we certainly appreciated the roomy, private bath. Our hosts gave us the privacy we needed but were always available to answer questions about the area. I can't wait to return when the garden is in full bloom!


Great weekend in Vermont, the breakfast was the highlight of the trip!

4,8 su aprile 16, 2012

Great weekend at Haven Guest House. Impeccably clean, and the breakfast was worth the trip. Would highly recommend, only two small nit picks: My GPS didn't recognize the street location, and the I hit my head (minor) on the top of the shower door (which was too low).


A great weekend for our family!

5 su aprile 16, 2012

This was our first stay at the Haven B & B. We have a son attending Green Mountain College and went down to watch his Lacrosse game. The rooms were lovely, it was quiet, and breakfast was amazing with fresh, local eggs and homecooked breads:-) We look forward to staying here again.


Great little B & B in the heart of VT mountain country!

5 su marzo 29, 2012

I was there only one night, but the Haven Guest House was fantastic and the breakfast was to die for!!!


Linda's Winter Stay

5 su marzo 20, 2012

The Innkeepers were welcoming from the moment we arrived to the warm hug upon our departure! Breakfast was outstanding! I look forward to a future return. Lovely, lovely people!


Loved It!

4,6 su marzo 05, 2012

I travel to that part of Vermont often and only just recently discovered Haven Guest House. It will be my go to from here on out. Comfortable accommodations, friendly Innkeepers and delicious breakfast. The wifi works great too! Don't miss the opportunity to stay here!


Wonderful B&B Experience!

5 su marzo 05, 2012

This B&B is a wonderful home to stay in while visiting Vermont! The owners, Werner & Gisela, are extremely kind and friendly and do everything possible to accommodate all your needs. Their home is very clean and cozy, the beds are comfy, and breakfast is delicious with fresh foods and homemade baked goods. I highly recommend this B&B if you need to stay near Castleton State College or the Lake Bomoseen area. Very convenient location. You will not be disappointed!


Excellent rooms, hosts and breakfast

5 su febbraio 08, 2012

we stayed on Saturday, February 4, 2012. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. Although breakfast was scheduled for 8AM, the coffee was ready at 6:30 and was cheerfully prepared and made available. The room was quite comfortable, the bathroom large and wonderfully decorated and both were very clean. Breakfast consisted of homemade toast, mango/apricot jam, fresh juice and a choice of entrees. All were served and done to perfection. Should we have the occasion to stay in Fair Haven again, we shall not hesitate to stay at the Haven Guest House. Linda and Tom


First time in a B&B

4,0 su febbraio 08, 2012

There was a pleasant atmosphere & the quiet area allowed a good night's rest. Breakfast was delicious,plentiful & healthy.


Great Experience

5 su novembre 21, 2011

We stayed at Haven Guest House while attending our niece's Art Show at Greenmountin College. It was a truly a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this cute, clean, cozy and friendly Bed & Breakfast.


Best B & B in VT !!

5 su novembre 21, 2011

Gisela & Werner are the utmost hospitable hosts. If you have a child attending GMC or Castleton College, this is the place you want to stay. Friendly, clean, awesome breakfast and gracious hosts! We recently "took over" the place booking all four rooms for my daughters Senior exhibition at GMC. Sitting by the fireplace in the evenings in our PJs felt like we were at home....even better!! If you ever have a reason to vacation in the Rutland, Fair Haven, Poultney area, you MUST stay here! THE BEST !!


Awesome Retreat

5 su novembre 14, 2011

This B & B was a jewel in a remote small town. I would pleasantly surprised by the comfort and delicious breakfast prepared each morning. The Innkeepers (Werner & Gisela Baumann) were delightful and super friendly. Thanks for the memories.


it's a must!!!

5 su ottobre 28, 2011

most charming place with the friendliest swiss couple. the entire place is spotless and super clean. best poached eggs on rosti for breakfast. best value for money!!!


Vermont Weekend

5 su ottobre 26, 2011

Werner and Gisela Baumann could not have been more gracious hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Haven Guest House. It was spotlessly clean, with comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Werner and Gisela's breakfasts were fabulous, and Gisela's home-baked goodies - outstanding! Would definitely stay there again. Congratulations to them both for creating such comfortable and clean surroundings.


Warm & welcoming hosts

4,8 su ottobre 20, 2011

Werner and Gisela made us feel very welcome and paid attention to every detail. Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast excellent! Would definitely stay with them again.


Haven Guest House is excellent!

4,6 su ottobre 17, 2011

The Haven Guest House is wonderful. The Innkeepers are warm and friendly, the house and rooms are immaculate and inviting and our breakfast was delicious. We recommend it highly.


Sets the Standard for Great Service

4,6 su ottobre 10, 2011

My leaf-peeping weekend was a bit of a too-green wash-out, but I did not mind the cold rain because I was fortunate enough to make my first stay at the Haven Guest House. Mr. and Mrs. Baumann could not have been more accomodating; the entire house is immaculately clean and well-kept. The fabulous breakfasts are carefully prepared from the freshest, local ingredients and cheerfully served within a generous time frame. Highly recommended to anyone who values cleanliness and great service in an extremely peaceful environment.


Exceptional Visit

5 su ottobre 10, 2011

Werner and Gisela made us feel so welcome. Service was completely personalized. Felt like we were staying with family (minus the chaos!). The entire Inn was beautiful and spotless. Our Lavender room was perfectly comfortable. Best nights sleep in a long time! Can't wait to visit again!


Best B & B Experience

5 su ottobre 08, 2011

Werner and Gisela were the perfect hosts! They were friendly, helpful and gracious all the while giving my husband and I privacy. Breakfast is an absolute treat with fresh, homemade fare using local ingredients! We cannot wait for another chance to visit!


A first rate experience!

4,8 su ottobre 03, 2011

Haven Guest House should be at the top of anyone's list. Werner & Gisela are most gracious hosts. They are both extremely friendly and go out of their way to ensure a memorable stay. The food is excellent and second to none.


Wonderful Hosts & An Absolutely Lovely Inn

5 su agosto 29, 2011

I've never posted a travel review, but feel compelled to do so because I was so impressed by Gisela & Werner's inn. I was trying to make my way home during Tropical Storm Irene when I realized I needed to get off the roads and find shelter. I would have been happy with a decent dry bed, but stumbled upon B&B bliss. Gisela and Werner couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming. I stayed in the spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained and wonderfully comfortable Marigold Room. The bed and linens are outstanding! Haven House provides a nice balance of private and shared space; the hosts seem to be available whenever you need them, but they don't hover. As others have noted, the breakfast is absolutely delicious. If all B&Bs were run so well I'd never stay at another chain hotel!


WoW! What a gem!

5 su agosto 16, 2011

We had not been back to Fair Haven in 25 years and since this was a trip down memory lane for my sister and myself, we were looking forward to staying in a place that was nearby Lake Bomoseen. Gisela and Werner were wonderful hosts professionally and, most of all, personally. We spent a few hours chatting with them and came away feeling as if we had known them for years. Since I am detailed oriented, rest assured that EVERY detail was looked after from the time we arrived until we checked out. We even got some new bread recipes from Gisela.


An unexpected pleasure

4,4 su agosto 15, 2011

We were warmly greeted at our arrival by the hosts despite the late hour. We found the bed very comfortable and the room spotlessly clean. The breakfast and dining room was another treat in the morning. Not only was the food delicious, the presentation was artistic. Soft music and fresh flowers on the table completed the very special esperience. The garden was a very pleasant place to sit and enjoy the pond and flowers.


Great Vermont B&B

5 su agosto 09, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Haven Guest House. Werna and Gisela the inn keepers are warm, gracious and can't do enough for you. The Inn and rooms are spotless and the beds very comfortable. We both loved the delicious breakfast. An extra bonus is the relaxing pond. This is one inn I will return too.


Gracious hosts, excellent food, clean and comfortable rooms

5 su luglio 20, 2011

Excellent food, wondeful hosts, very clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend.


More than we could of ever hoped for!!

5 su giugno 27, 2011

The Haven Guest House is as welcoming and warm as our own home. Werner & Gisela went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was fabulous!!! We asked several times, "how do you make it so good?" We've already booked our next stay there.I'm so thrilled I found this B&B!!!


a great find

4,4 su giugno 27, 2011

We stayed in the Apple Blossom king room with very comfortable bed. Although B & B is on a main street corner, quiet and comfortable. Beautiful backyard with tiny pond, fish, flowers, herbs. Werner and Gisela did everything to make our stay enjoyable. The cooked-to-order breakfasts were delicious, carefully prepared, and beautifully presented. We would definitely return when in the area.


Great place to stay!

4,6 su maggio 24, 2011

The Haven Guest House was a pleasant surprise for sure! We stayed two nights in the Apple Blossom room and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom clean and well-appointed. The whole place is extremely clean and tidy and nicely maintained. If there is a downside to the Haven's convenient location it is road noise (not an issue at night) but Gisela and Werner more than make up for this with their hospitality and an amazing breakfast. We recommend the french toast made from Gisela's homemade bread- incredible! Don't hesitate to book a stay- we sincerely hope to return at some point.


Gem in Fair Haven

5 su maggio 24, 2011

My wife and daughter stayed here for the Middlebury college graduation. We found it to be a charming, comfortable and convenient place to stay. Having looked at locations in Middlebury and finding it completely booked we found this cozy bed & breakfast only about 40 minutes away. It was perfect! Werner & Gisela were friendly and always available. Gisela's cooking was excellent and she seemed genuinely disappointed we could not stay to enjoy her cooking the first day we were there (we had some of her home-made bread to-go!). I would recommend this to anyone as a great place to stay in Vermont!


Outstanding

5 su maggio 02, 2011

Lovely home shared by lovely couple. Attention to detail unmatched!


One of the best B&Bs ever!

4,6 su maggio 02, 2011

Emaculately clean, comfortable and decorated tastefully, with welcoming hosts and a delicious breakfast, you can't ask for much more from B&B. My corner room faced the intersection of two busy roads (relatively speaking -- this is not a corner of the world with high traffic!) but the room was amazingly quiet and I slept soundly.


Staying in Poultney

5 su maggio 02, 2011

This was an absolutely DELIGHTFUL two day stay ... the innkeepers are charming and gracious; the food is divine; the hospitality is outstanding. I would recommend this place to ANYONE for a great location to relax. We LOVED it!


Only one place I wanted to stay!

5 su marzo 02, 2011

I was visiting Fair Haven for business and didn't get a good feeling for some of the places in the area. I love old, charming and historic homes. I notice the Haven Guest House and to take a look. I met with Gisela & Werner and within minutes of our conversation, I knew this where I wanted to stay for the night. Gisela & Werner were very warm, friendly and understanding of my needs for my early departure the next morning. Gisela & Werner woke up early for me and had prepared a fantistic hot breakfast, well before their usual breakfast time. I told Gisela & Werner that I was moving in because of my terrific stay. My next trip to the area, I went right over to the Haven Guest House and stayed another night, because I feel like I am at home. Another great home cooked breakfast after another great sleep. It is very tough to leave.


Haven House

5 su marzo 01, 2011

The rooms were lovely and the breakfast was awesome. Gisela wasa great hostess. Will stay here again if the need arises - way better than the chain hotels!


Charming B&B

5 su febbraio 28, 2011

My daughter and I spent just one night at the Haven Guest House while visiting nearby colleges. What a wonderful experience! Werner and Gisela are warm, attentive hosts, the beds were really comfortable, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We've stayed in B&B's all over Europe and in the States, and this is one of the very best. We would definitely stay here again.


Haven Guest House

5 su febbraio 14, 2011

We were welcomed into Werner and Gisela's home as if we were old friends. It was a most enjoyable visit which we hope to repeat in the near future.


outstanding stay

5 su febbraio 13, 2011

Our hosts were so hospitable. We enjoyed our conversation with them. Our breakfasts were very special.


Haven Guest House

4,6 su gennaio 10, 2011

My stay at the Haven Guest House was delightful. Werner and Gisela were gracious and very accommodating. I was traveling for business, so left quite early in the morning, and they adjusted their regular breakfast routine for me. In the late afternoons I felt relaxed and well cared for. I would definitely return, and recommend it highly.


An Incredible Gem

5 su novembre 01, 2010

My wife and I happened upon Haven Guest House because our children went to Castleton State College. This was an incredibly opportune happenstance. We have been to many B&Bs where the first B is marginal and the second B is inedible. Have no qualms about the Haven Guest House. The rooms are impeccable, combining the elements of simplicity and elegance so pristineley that it made us wornder if we had died in a car crash and were lucky enough to wind up in B&B heaven. The breakfast is extraordinary. And if that is not enought, Werner and Gisela are so nice and accomodating and friendly. They bring European hospitality to a small town in Vermont, so much so that we spent a weekend with the Baumanns just to relax and again savor the homemande breads, garden ingredients infused omlettes, and home made sweets. Here's a vignette - my wife had to get to work in NY, but I was staying to see my son that evening at Castleton State College again as Judas in Jesus Christ Superstar. We had checked out, but I had time to kill. so I spent most of it in the so comfortable common room (more properly living room), at their insistence. And the pampering continued. Some coffee. Some sweets. And when I was leaving, Werner trailed me out because my wife and I had left our bottle of bourban behind the curtain. The haven Guest House defines hospitality. Beyond everything else...if you just want to meet a couple of nice people, real people, this is where you should go. And we will be back!


Thanks for the hosptaity and wonderful place to stay.

5 su ottobre 15, 2010

We really enjoyed our night at your Inn. Very clean a cozy. The breakfast was wonderful, even getting to pick from a list for breakfast. Everything was homemade even the bread. Can't say enough about the hospitality. Thanks again. Wyatt & Debbie Richards, MO


Wish we could have stayed longer

4,0 su ottobre 12, 2010

My husband and I spent the last night of our New England tour at the Haven Guest House. I wish we could have stayed longer to explore what the town had to offer. We enjoyed our stay with Werner and Gisela. They both were very helpful and wanted to do what they could to make our stay comfortable (Swiss hospitality as they call it). Werner made a delicous breakfast that filled our bellies. We would definately recommend this guest house.


Welcoming B&B

4,2 su settembre 29, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Gisela and Werner. They made us feel right at home and everything was neat and clean including the beautiful grounds with the pond. Gisela is a wonderful cook and we had a nice chat with her and Werner. We highly recommend this B&B in this beautiful area of Vermont.


Perfect!!

5 su settembre 05, 2010

My wife and I wanted to get married in Canada and when that didn't work out we called Werner and Gisela and without even knowing us, they organised everything so that we could get married in their house in Vermont. That special day couldn't have turned out better and it will be one of those wonderful stories that we will be able to share with everyone. Werner and Gisela are wonderful people and this is without a doubt the best B&B in the U.S.A.!! Thank you sooo much one more time for everything. Antje & Reto Hirschi


Charming VT Inn

4,8 su agosto 25, 2010

Our stay at this B & B was delightful. The room was clean and we were pleasantly surprised to have soft drinks and water included. The breakfast was delicious and was presented decoratively. The Innkeepers were very friendly and accomodating.


Wonderful experience for our first B&B stay

5 su agosto 23, 2010

My wife & I spent a night here before heading up to Brandon, Shoreham, & Middlebury for some bicycling and 5 more nights at B&Bs. The Haven Guest House was Outstanding and set the bar very high for the other B&Bs we were to visit. Werner & Gisela are fabulous hosts. I highly recomend this B&B to anyone needing a place to stay in the area!


A Warm & Charming B&B

5 su agosto 18, 2010

This was my first stay at a B&B and it was a positive experience. Gisela and Werner were so friendly and hospitable and made me feel welcome. The room was lovely, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. And the breakfast was delicious and fantastic, cooked to perfection, with homemade cinnamon buns and breads and portions so large, I skipped lunch. I would definitely stay at the Haven Guest House again and recommend it to everyone.


Visit for MS Green Mountain Getaway

5 su agosto 12, 2010

Rooms were very nice. Innkeepers went out of their way to be accommodating - breakfast each morning was a special treat both in the quality of the food and the presentation. Highly recommended if you are in the Castleton, Fair Haven area.


Great weekend at Haven

4,6 su agosto 12, 2010

I stayed two nights at the Haven along with five friends. We were there to bike in the Green Mountain Getaway. The Haven Guest House is only four guest rooms, which was perfect for us. The house is in very nice condition -- the beautiful woodwork has never been painted, which is rare. The beds were very comfortable and the big, wraparound porch was a nice place to sit after riding 100 miles through Vermont's hills. The House has a very large locked garage, which was perfect for storing our bikes. But the best thing about this place is Gisela and Werner. They are truly nice people. They accommodated our need for a large, very early breakfast each day by serving spectacular meals at 6:00 a.m. They are great cooks and we had home made bread, home made pastries, french toast, home made everything. Werner even makes the fantastic sausage. This house it on a busy intersection. On hot nights with the AC on it's not a problem. In colder weather with the windows closed it would be fine as well. With the windows open, if you're a light sleeper, you'll hear some traffic noise. But other than that, this is a very nice house run by very gracious and friendly people. It's a good value and I will go there again.


Comfy Home

4,0 su agosto 12, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. Your Home is lovley - warm and comfy and everything we could have hoped for! Thanks for your Hospitality! Laine & Bart


Our Second Home

5 su maggio 31, 2010

Our stays at Haven Guest House have been wonderful. We've always been made to feel like family by Werner & Gizella. The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. But always our favorite is the delicious breakfast that they serve. All in all this Inn is five star. Renata & Sonny


Great stay

4,4 su maggio 23, 2010

Hello everybody! If you are looking for a nice place to stay, experience Gisela and Werner's Haven Guest House. They are a lovely family and I am sure that you will enjoy to be there and talk to them. I really miss my stay there in August, 2009. Cido Campinas, Brazil


Lovely stay

5 su maggio 03, 2010

Thank you again for a lovely stay in Fair Haven, VT. We enjoyed our room, the delicious breakfast,but especially meeting and talking with both of you.Our stay felt like we were visiting good friends. Also, our cousin's team, The Keuka Storm, won their lacrosse match on Saturday afternoon. It was a very close game,but they won by one point. The weather was sunny and hot.We enjoyed our visit to Poultney's Vermont Country Store,too. It was a lovely way to spend our 32nd Anniversary. We appreciate your hospitality.We wish you continued success with the Guest House, and we hope that we will see you again. Janni & Bill


Great short stay. Thank you!

4,4 su aprile 23, 2010

My son and I had a great little stay. He is planning on attending Castleton College. If that becomes a reality, I'll be sure to being staying here again, again and again! The internet was service was excellent and the the Baumann's were a pleasure! Highly recommended


Haven Guest House

5 su febbraio 02, 2010

This is my 2nd stay at the Haven Guest House. Loved sitting by the wood fire and reading. The breakfasts were exceptional with a variety of homemade breads, fresh fruit, made to order eggs or pancakes and always a little something sweet! The house is immaculate with a homey feel. The best part of all are the owners Gisela and Werner. They are two of the most lovely people I have ever met.


Haven Guest House

5 su gennaio 18, 2010

Friendly and inviting upon arrival. Wonderful hosts that would go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable. The best homemade breakfast ever had, fresh bread, jam, honey.


Our wonderful 3 days in Vermont!

4,4 su gennaio 04, 2010

We loved everything about this great house -- Gisela and Werner were the best hosts. They make you feel at home and you really don't want to leave Vermont. We look forward to our return.


HOME AWAY FROM HOME

4,2 su ottobre 30, 2009

WHEN WE PULLED UP WE DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT. ALTHOUGH THE PLACE WAS NICE IT LOOKED LIKE IT COULD USE A COAT OF PAINT. WE FEARED THAT IT MIGHT NOT HAVE BEEN KEPT UP INSIDE. WELL, MUST HAVE BEEN DUE TO THE ROUGH VERMONT WINTERS, BECAUSE WHEN WE ENTERED WE SAW AN EXTREMELY WELL MAINTAINED AND CLEAN B&B. THEN WE MET TWO OF THE NICEST, WARM AND WELCOMING PEOPLE WE HAVE EVER MET, IN WERNER AND GISELA. THEY WERE PERFECT HOSTS AND THOROUGHLY ENJOYED SPENDING TIME WITH THEIR GUESTS. WE KNEW BREAKFAST WAS INCLUDED, BUT WERE BLOWN AWAY WITH HOW MAGNIFICANT IT WAS; HOME MADE BREAD, HOME MADE SAUSAGE, SPECIALTY PANCAKES AND FRESH FRUIT. IT WAS BEYOND OUR EXPECTATIONS.


Can't wait to get back!

5 su ottobre 20, 2009

Gisela and Werner have created a wonderful place to stay. My wife and I have stayed here several times and recently cancelled a trip because the inn was booked solid for the weekend and we could not get a room. The food is incredible. The home is spotless, and the hosts are like family. Cant wait to get back!!


Don't miss!

4,4 su ottobre 18, 2009

Enthusiastic hosts, great breakfasts, charming accommodation.


Felt like home

5 su settembre 24, 2009

I recently stayed at the Haven House for a few nights. I was away from home traveling alone. I felt immediately at home due to the owner's warm and welcoming personalities. The food was wonderful and started my busy days in Vermont on the right foot. Breakfast featured home made breads, fresh fruit, farm fresh eggs and homemade sausages. Top it off with great hot coffee and who could ask for more!There are a few cheap motels in the area but spend the extra money to feel cozy and at home in this lovely old home (all the modern amenities too including wireless internet).


Oasis

5 su settembre 24, 2009

Right in the middle of Fair Haven VT. Truly wonderful oasis. Spacious comfortable, super clean rooms. Delightful pond in the back. Scrumptious breakfasts. Charming hosts. Not your average B&B.


Haven Guest House

5 su agosto 20, 2009

This is a wonderful B&B. Its swiss owners, Gisela and Werner, are excellent hosts that pay attention to every detail. The meals were great and so artistically presented! Coming back to this friendly place is already in our plans.


Delightful B&B

4,6 su agosto 12, 2009

I would definitely recommend this b&b. Beautifully situated and the service/food outstanding.


This is one of the best!

5 su agosto 12, 2009

the owners have restored this Victorian home with an artistic craftsmanship that shows their commitment to giving their guests an exceptional quality stay!


top notch, friendiest B&B

5 su agosto 09, 2009

Of course, we had been guests before and were most impressed by the cleansiness of the house and the warm welcome of Gisela and Werner. Recently we appeared at the door unannounced and were greeted like family. What a treat! We cannot wait to travel back to Vermont and share a glasss of wine on the porch with our hosts.


Haven Guest House

5 su agosto 06, 2009

Experience the warmth and hospitality of Werner and Gisela's lovely B&B. Comfortable, clean, excellent breakfasts. Beautiful pond and wildflower garden. 5 stars! Cordial atmosphere!


An extraordinary experience at Haven Guest House B&B.

5 su luglio 29, 2009

I am writing this review while sitting in a beautiful flower garden with a lovely waterfall bubbling with a pool. Room -- beautifully appointed, comfortable. Public areas -- all so fine and welcoming. Breakfast -- gourmet juices, frest fruit, brad and pastries. Hosts -- incredibly warm, benerous of spirit, clearly love interacting with their guests.


A fabulous find in Vermont!

5 su luglio 26, 2009

The Haven Guest House was absolutely spotless. The gardens and outside sitting areas were lovingly cared for and welcoming. Gisela and Werner are very friendly and truly enjoy being Innkeepers. Everything for breakfast is homemade and delicious. A real value for your money!


Simply the Best

4,8 su luglio 25, 2009

People should go to Haven Guest House in Fair Haven, VT just because it is so wonderful. Gisela and Werner are warm and hospitable hosts. The breakfast far exceeds expectations. A beautiful spot in a lovely part of Vermont, close to Albany and Burlington...Go! And if you are into antiques, the shop (warehouse) a few blocks away is the most amazing. This guy has more than 100K items.


Great place to stay

5 su luglio 11, 2009

This was our second stay with Gisela and Werner. They are the upmost hosts and the breakfasts are among the best in the world! We hope to see them again next summer.


Best Place to Stay in 50 States

5 su luglio 09, 2009

We are very experienced independant visitors to the USA. We have vacationed in 40 out of 50 states, made multiple visits to many and covered a lot of ground 'off the interstate'. In our experience Gisela and Werner are in a class of their own. If you stay with these good people just once you will be coming back again for sure. Fair Haven is in the middle of beautiful places to visit and historic sites.The Haven Guest House has proven to be an ideal base for us whether touring around or just kicking back and relaxing. (Small suggestion - Whatever your plans may be while in town make sure you have a leisurely breakfast and fully enjoy Werners omlettes and Giselas baking.) Ian & Chris Bishop, Hampshire, England.


An Anniversary to Remember

5 su luglio 06, 2009

Friends who live nearby surprised us with flowers and treats for our room and Gisela had them waiting for us when we arrived. Our hosts gave us privacy at the lovely pond while we sipped our wine and settled in for our first evening. Our breakfasts were scrumptious, homemade works of art...more than should be allowed for one meal!! Our room was lovely, neat, and beautifully decorated. Thank you for a great weekend!


Exceptional B&B!

5 su giugno 24, 2009

Exceptional hardly begins to describe the Guest House. Werner and Gisela were wonderful hosts and their hospitality and superb accommodations made the stay very special. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.


Home away from home

5 su maggio 18, 2009

We have been staying at the Haven Guest House for the last four years since our daugher has been attending Castleton State College. We were blessed to find this incredible place, where the comfort and hospitality wrap themselves around you like a warm blanket. This has truly become our home away from home. The Baumann's leave no stone unturned when making you welcome. Gisela does not miss a single detail when creating an ambience that leaves you wishing you had booked a longer stay, and we have yet to find a breakfast chef that supasses Werner's omelets! If you are in this area...there is no other place that even comes close. Linna and Sandy


Cleanest and nicest place we've ever sayed

5 su maggio 13, 2009

Couldn't be better! nicely laid out and cared for with pond and waterfall with flowers in back. Beautiful wrap-around porch, great Swiss hospitality. Everything is homemade from the bread and special treats, to the pancakes with fruit, eggs/omelet with veggie and cheese, fresh fruit cut into designs each morning.


Nicest people, best inn ever!!

5 su maggio 05, 2009

We're planning our 4th visit to the Inn and can't wait to return to the Haven Guest House. Werner and Gisela are the nicest people and made us feel at home immediately. The rooms are immaculate, the breakfast delicious and company wonderful!


Practically perfect!

5 su aprile 16, 2009

Warm and cozy atmosphere with all the comforts of home; wi-fi, complimentary beverages, private baths. Our hostess made us feel very much at home. We felt comfortable coming and going as we pleased. The grounds were extremely well kept and we had fun looking through the garden and watching the friendly coy fish that would swim up to you as you approach. The homemade breakfast personally prepared by our hosts was fulfilling and delicious; perfect way to start your day! We strongly recommend this B&B!


Peaceful

4,6 su febbraio 04, 2009

The hosts of Haven were very nice, hospitable, and gracious. The Haven was exactly what I needed- a quiet room, comfortable, use of the living room with fireplace, books, and privacy. Would definitaly recommend! I'll go back!


great stay

5 su gennaio 22, 2009

great stay


A pleasant surprise

5 su gennaio 15, 2009

Many thanks to Gisela and Werner for making our stay so pleasant. They are extremely friendly and eager to please.


Delightful!

5 su gennaio 14, 2009

Such a lovely B&B. We would highly recommend!


wonderful!

5 su gennaio 14, 2009

We will be back!!


home-like atmosphere (having grown up in Germany)

4,8 su gennaio 13, 2009

Attention to details shows everywhere. The stay was most memorable


nice stay

5 su gennaio 13, 2009

nice stay


Highly recommend this B&B!

5 su gennaio 12, 2009

1st time visitors to Fair Haven. The rooms are spotless with fine decor. The hosts are very gracious. The food is home made and delicious!


A great 'haven' in Fair Haven, UT

4,8 su gennaio 12, 2009

Thank you, Gisela and Werner, for making our first B&B stay in many years such a pleasant experience! The food was great and we thoroughly enjoyed visiting with you! Best regards The Irons


Want to move in

5 su gennaio 12, 2009

The owners make me feel like extended family. The finest breakfast I've had all year! They have made 2 Christmas memories for my family.


Our stay at the Haven Guest House

5 su gennaio 12, 2009

We had a wonderful stay. The room and the inn were warm and inviting. Breakfast was great and our hosts were friendly and very pleasant!


our first visit

5 su novembre 05, 2008

Accommodations were great, and so was all hospitality. Enjoyed our stay and have recommended highly!


The Best B&B we have stayed at in 2 weeks of touring

4,4 su ottobre 15, 2008

New England - great hospitality, comfort & taste of New England. Would come back whenever in the area.


Exceeded our expectations...

5 su settembre 28, 2008

Last weekend, we spent the night with hosts Werner and Gisela at the Haven Guest House. From the moment they retrieved us from our dock at the boat cruise, they were warm and welcoming. They drove us back to the inn and made us immediately feel welcome in their home. The lilac and lace room we were given was perfect, with a private bath and clean, comfortable bed. Everything was provided, including toiletries, TV, soda, and a full breakfast menu. We chose from enticing entrees for our morning meal, and left it out for them to make plans for the morning. We slept well in the air conditioned room, and awoke to our breakfast with the other guests. The food was incredibly tasteful and varied, with local ingredients from their own garden. We spent time on the porch before continuing on our way. The hosts were very helpful in arranging transportation for us, as we had to change our plans unexpectedly. All in all a fantastic experience, and we would highly recommend the Haven Guest House to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.


A fantastic experience

5 su agosto 14, 2008

My husband and I found the Haven House by accident. Gisela and Werner couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was enormous, homemade and delicious! The room was lovely and sparkling clean. Their warm friendly personalities made them seem like old friends, and they are motorcycle friendly! Their hospitality enhanced our vacation experience. Don't miss it if you are in the area.


A+ all around.

5 su luglio 24, 2008

Gisela and Werner Baumann, proprietors of Haven Guest House, have created a truly "gemnetlich" Swiss pension. Excellent food! Warm greetings. Immaculate rooms! Special consideration for dietary needs. A+ all around.


Jewel of Vermont

5 su luglio 19, 2008

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at this lovely B&B. Werner and Gisela make you feel right at home. This B&B reminds me of our many visits to Switzerland when we would stay at a guest house in the Alps! I wanted to stay longer and we will definetly be back again and again.


THE BEST B&B THAT WE HAVE STAYED IN!! 6/27/08

4,0 su luglio 13, 2008

Over the years, my husband and I have stayed in many B&B's. We found the Haven Guest House by accident as we were casually touring Central VT. The Haven Inn totally exceeded our expectations. Our room was beautifully decorated, the whole Inn was immaculate, the breakfast was gourmet, and Werner and Gisela were so inviting amd wonderful. This was definitely our best ever B&B experience!!


B&B: Great Bicycling Right from the Door

5 su giugno 18, 2008

This was the ideal B&B for my husband and I. We hopped on our bicycles and found miles and miles of good riding ranging from paved to hard packed dirt roads. Our mornings were fueled with superb homemade breads, pastries, pancakes, and french toast (not to mention omelttes with fresh garden herbs and artistically arranged tasty fruits). The B&B has wi-fi, all kinds of comfy places to sit or spread out, and most of all, gracious and warm hosts.


What a fun and relaxing weekend!

5 su febbraio 04, 2008

This is our 2nd visit to the Haven Guest House and once again we were delighted with our stay. The inn is centrally located to all there is to see and do in central VT - we shopped and antiqued the first day and we were able to hit the slopes the next day. The warmth of the inn warmed up the cold of February in VT. Our room was clean, comfy, and cozy. Our hosts Werner and Gisela were charming and attentive in making sure that our every need was met. We are already planning our next visit so we can enjoy another one of their delicious country breakfasts.


Haven Guest House

5 su settembre 20, 2007

This Bed & Breakfast is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Gisela & Werner are the warmest hosts in all of Vermont. We've had the pleasure of staying there for several years and have never had a bad experience.


Relaxing and far exceeded expectations

5 su settembre 15, 2007

My and husband I recently stayed at Fair Haven for two evenings. We had an exceptional time..the innkeepers were extremely warm and inviting. They graciously showed us their property and we spent time with them enjoying the newly-installed water garden. Fair Haven was an excellent choice as we were able to visit both the Norman Rockwell Museum and Shelburne Farms during our two day stay. We would definitely recommend to others to stay at this most-hospitable B&B.


A rave about the Haven! It is heaven on earth.

5 su settembre 13, 2007

We are three well traveled adults. A couple and her friend. We happened on this B&B based on the suggestion of the cashier at the near by store. If you stay here you will feel very welcomed, and treated graciously. We were offered wine in the evening, and the owners visited with us outside on their verandah. The following morning we had the best homecooked meal anyone could ask for. It included a fruit plate, homemade bread, scones, pancakes and french toast. The omelet had brocoli and cheese in it. Coffee outstanding. The Haven is indeed heaven on earth for travelers.


Haven Guest House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $109 - $139
  • Recensioni (120) 4,9
  • Camere 4

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8022658882

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina