Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,9

Più info

  • Camera4,9
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
13 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Over the top destination

4,8 su maggio 14, 2014

I took my wife to Belle Grove Plantation for a Mother's Day weekend and we both had a great time. The room was fantastic and the service was even better. The view from the rear balcony of the Rappahanock River was so nice and relaxing. We will definitely be coming back to experience this special place again!


Fantastic Stay/Hidden Gem!

4,0 su aprile 23, 2014

What a beautiful and historical place to stay! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Belle Grove. Brett and Michelle are fantastic hosts with great knowledge of the history, their warm welcome, genuine service and delicious breakfast we will definitely be back for more visits. The plantation has wonderful sunsets on the river as you enjoy your wine or beautiful sunrises as you enjoy your coffee. We had breakfast served in our room and what a nice treat as the table was beautifully set and our very delicious meal was enjoyed. Thank you again Brett & Michelle!


Unforgettable

5 su febbraio 16, 2014

We not only had the opportunity to stay in a place of historical significance, James Madison Birth place, but experienced Southern hospitality at its best with our hosts Michelle and Brett Darnell. We wanted a romantic setting for our wedding (the first for 2014 at Belle Grove Plantation), it was, and Michelle took care of all the details with excellent recommendations for the wedding officiant, Tamara Riley (No Ordinary Ordained) and Photographer Minh Hussey (Instant de Vie Photography.) Even the weather cooperated just in time for the ceremony on the balcony facing the river, the sun peaking through the clouds and raising the temperature slightly (about 35 degrees?) In the evening Michelle and Brett surprised us with a lovely arrangement on the bed (the Madison Suite) consisting of a bottle Champagne, fresh strawberries and cookies on a silver tray and white bath towels shaped as two kissing swans. About the Inn, it is very comfortable with all the modern amenities and Michelle has done (and continues to do) an outstanding job at decorating the rooms. This is a labor of love. She is also a gourmet chef and the breakfast is not to be missed. The Belle Grove Plantation and hosts Michelle and Brett Darnell offer an unforgettable stay. We will be back.


It Felt Like Home!

5 su febbraio 02, 2014

Being a first time visitor to ANY bed and breakfast, my first question to the Inn Keeper was, "what is the proper etiquette for a bed and breakfast?" I don't know if this is the way all B&B's are, but they said, "make yourself at home"! And I did. I felt as though I was at home. It was quiet, comfortable and Brett and Michelle made me and my wife feel as though we were a part of their family. Well worth the trip and we look forward to our next weekend getaway at Belle Grove!


HISTORY RESTORED AND SHARED SO GRACIOUSLY

4,8 su gennaio 08, 2014

In a time when the "old" is so easily discarded it was a delight to see this piece of history restored as a stunning Bed and Breakfast. Brett and Michelle have done an exceptional job with the period appropriate decor, have a wealth of knowledge about the history of Belle Grove and are gracious hosts, making you feel right at "home" from the time you arrive until they bid you a fond farewell. Evening snack and breakfast were quite tasty, the bedroom suites are spacious and comfortable, the river view and grounds offer a peaceful setting.


Delightful historic get-away

4,8 su novembre 28, 2013

Spent a delightful night tucked away at this beautiful plantation nestled on the Rappahannock River that paid homage to the families that lived there with each suite bearing a family name. The innkeepers are welcoming, coming out to meet their guests, and are eager to share the rich history of the house and ongoing renovations of the land and surrounding outbuildings. If you want to step into history with modern conveniences, this is the inn to do just that. The evening appetizers were delicious and enjoyed with a river view. Just as you are about to retire for the evening, a charming plate of molasses cookies and chocolate is served atop a silver tray as part of the turndown service. Morning is magical at the plantation with a view of the fog coming off the river, and the multi-course breakfast is delicious to get you started on your day. I highly recommend Belle Grove for a memorable stay.


Short planned visit warrants "BIG Surprise"

5 su agosto 28, 2013

While vacationing in Virginia, we happened to stop by this newly opened B&B, the home of President James Madison. The Innkeeper, Michelle Darnell, was open, warm and welcoming, just like "Dollie" Madison has the reputation of being in her day. We spent many an hour touring the house and the grounds. The extremely informative tour that Michelle gave us just "took you back in time". Her knowledge of the history of the plantation and surrounding areas was fabulous and she had no problems answering any question posed to her. The restoration of the building and grounds is so impressive. Just the fact that this is the ONLY Presidential home you can actually spend the night, rather that just a "tour of the 1st floor" or "tour of the grounds only" is a definite plus! We will definitely go back for a "Planned Stay" and do an overnight, probably during one of the many events going on there.


A beautifully restored piece of history

5 su agosto 14, 2013

Michele and Brett have done a wonderful job returning this plantation to its glory. They are wonderful guests who care deeply about the property and their guests. With all the modern conveniences one would hope to have in the south (there is AC and a beautiful modern kitchen) in the hot summer months you are still transported to the past. Absolutely recommended for a stay or it is beyond gorgeous for a wedding on the river.


Beautiful - Will steal your heart!!

5 su agosto 12, 2013

I love Belle Grove - it has stolen my heart!! I have enjoyed visiting the plantation a number of times during this phase of transitioning to a beautiful Bed and Breakfast. Words cannot describe the elegance and the history that you will suddenly feel a part of. You will enjoy being pampered with true southern hospitality! The house is decorated so nicely and the views from the porches to the river are magnificent!


Tour and Wedding

5 su agosto 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting Belle Grove twice; once for a tour of the home and once for a wedding, I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay at a Bed & Breakfast or for a venue for any occasion. Michelle's diligent research on the history of the home and her passion in sharing it all with you is so refreshing. Not only is this magnificent plantation gorgeous in itself, but how often do you get to stay where a President was born? And Michelle's cooking background means you get some of the best tasting breakfasts around - chocolate ricotta pancakes with raspberry compote equals a divine way to start your day! From amazing, friendly innkeepers to huge, comfortable rooms, this is "the" Bed & Breakfast to enjoy a vacation, stay-cation, or any special event.


If you want to experience the South...

5 su agosto 11, 2013

You have to stay at Belle Grove Plantation! This is a charming plantation, full of history. You won't regret staying there!


Step back in time.

4,8 su agosto 10, 2013

You can really feel the history of this plantation as you step inside. The furnishings are all period pieces that help bring the home to life. Michelle and Brett are great hosts and really make you feel at home. History abounds in this area of Virginia, besides being the birth place of James Madison Belle Grove was an overnight camp to troops hunting John Wilkes Booth after the assassination of President Lincoln as they waited to cross the Rappahannock into Port Royal.


Beautifully Historic Bed and Breakfast!

5 su agosto 09, 2013

We've had the opportunity to spend many hours soaking in the history and elegance of this beautiful property nestled along the river. So tastefully renovated. At every turn, our cameras captured something new and interesting. Whether you arrive for a day tour or a week of relaxation and pampering, the wonderful experiences at Belle Grove will stay fresh in your mind for many years to come.


Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $199 - $295
  • Recensioni (13) 4,9
  • Camere 4

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 540-621-7340

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina