The Hummingbird Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
143 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A Pleasant Stay at The Hummingbird Inn

4,4 su ottobre 12, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised as to The Hummigbird Inn's victorian charm as we pulled up. Once inside we were greeted by the owners and given a tour of the inn. Very clean, delightfully decorated, amenities galore and a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. My husband and I only disagreed on one aspect and that was the breakfast. He felt there should have been seconds offered and I felt the portions were adequate. The owners were very gracious and we would and hopefully will return for another stay. Dave and Melanie ok with it.


excellent B & B experience.

4,6 su settembre 11, 2014

It was a random selection for our 1st B & B experience and what luck we got. It was what I expected and more...... we will come back.


Sweet hums at The Hummingbird Inn

5 su settembre 10, 2014

Wonderful hosts in a delightful B&B, instantly make you feel at home. Great location, just far enough off the beaten path to allow for immediate relaxation to unfold. Breakfast was good and a fun surprise each morning. The train will rock your world at some point during your stay, but that's all a part of the experience!


Two days we won't ever forget

5 su settembre 03, 2014

We loved staying here. The house is beautiful and historical, which we really liked. The owners made us feel like family. Food was great and all the other guests were very nice and breakfast was always very sociable. Scenic places all around.


Best hosts ever at Hummingbird Inn

4,8 su agosto 11, 2014

The hosts are very charming. The food for breakfast is delicious.


Great getaway

4,6 su giugno 30, 2014

Beautifully furnished rooms, wonderful garden -- set in a quiet town reminiscent of an earlier era.


Great place to stay.

4,6 su giugno 27, 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B. It was a wonderful experience and we will absolutely be staying at more B&B's in the future. If I have to mention anything negative the house is located next to railroad tracks and the train noise is extremely loud. Good thing the trains only go by about every three hours. The owners were wonderful and extremely courteous. The breakfast was to die for. If we get down in that area again we will be sure to stay with them again.


A Gem

5 su giugno 18, 2014

The Hummingbird Inn is a great place to stay. Dan and Patty are wonderful hosts; friendly, helpful, and there for the guests. Our room was tops and the inn was very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious. We will definitely return when in the area.


Hidden Gem in Goshen Virginia

4,8 su maggio 22, 2014

What a delightful and charming place to stay ! The attention to detail was outstanding down to the stamped postcards waiting to be addressed. Patty made our stay very comfortable and was a very gracious hostess We're looking forward to another visit in the Fall. Jutta and David Dunaway


Excellent Experience

4,6 su aprile 21, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's and I have to say that Patty and Dan Harrison were by far the most gracious hosts. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Always checking on us to see if there was anything they could get us or do for us. I felt like I was staying in a 4-star resort. The breakfast both days was very good, and my goodness the scones...major yummy. You have the whole house to yourself and there is a beautiful wrap around porch where you can enjoy a glass of wine and a good book. Or sit down by the stream and enjoy the sounds of the water next to the fire pit. The only downside to this establishment is its located right next to a train track. And the trains run through several times a night, which woke me up when the wistle blew. It was also kinda neat though too.


Awesome relaxing weekend get away!!

5 su marzo 18, 2014

Dan and Patty make you feel at home and welcome, like family. The food and service were amazing. A weekend of romance and relaxation, long over due!!


A hidden paradise

5 su febbraio 18, 2014

We were not sure what to make of the town of Goshen, but will admit to being pleasantly surprised at the peace and tranquility that surrounded us at the Hummingbird inn. What a delight from the first hello from both Patty and Dan. We stayed in the Franklin room, which was quaint, yet comfortable and spacious. It was so relaxing. We also enjoyed our jaunts to Lexington. The Hempstead Hotel and just driving through the Goshen pass. We have already made reservations for the end of May and we are bringing friends with us.


A Great Stay...Again!

4,6 su gennaio 26, 2014

This was my girlfriend and I's second stay here and we're already planning a third trip. We love staying here and Patty and Dan are the best hosts!


Weekend Get-A-Way

4,6 su ottobre 30, 2013

We spent three nights at this wonderful Inn this past week. Our hosts - Patty & Dan could not have been any more accommodating. The Inn is beautiful and comfortable with much history to go with it. Near Lexington, Staunton and state parks so no shortage of things to do and see. Would visit again!!


Head for the Hills

5 su ottobre 16, 2013

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 35th Anniversary and wanted to go somewhere different and a place where we could "get away from it. Well, we found it in a little town called Goshen, Va at The Hummingbird Inn. From the moment we arrived, Patty met us and you would have thought we were family. She was so gracious and kind and took us on a tour of the house as though we were the only ones staying there, even though four more parties arrived and were treated equally as well. Part of the house was built in the 1700s and the other section in the 1800s. We have been to other Bed and Breakfast homes but this is the first one where we were actually served a real breakfast. Both Patty and Dan worked the entire time to make sure everyone was comfortable and had what they needed instead of just saying here's the key and disappear. We cannot wait until our next big occasion because we will definitely be back. I miss them and the place already.


So Worth It!

4,8 su settembre 12, 2013

My wife and I traveled about 4 1/2 hours to stay at the Inn and it was so worth it. Yes the trains can be loud...yes I said so now lets get that out of the way for those who always want to mention the train. That said everything else about the inn is fabulous...the room we stayed in (The Franklin) was just great...so nicely appointed and spacious. There isn't much other than the inn in Goshen itself so you have to get out and visit the surrounding area but it is such a beautiful area that you will want to get out and see it and the Patty and Dan will tell you all there is to see. We went to Lexington and took the historic carriage ride...just great and then went and spent the rest of the day at natural bridge...again great! However, the greatest part of the trip was staying at the inn and meeting Patty and Dan as they are two of the sweetest and most gracious people you ever want to meet. As far as I saw they treated everyone there like we were all the most important people on the planet....in two words they are a class act! If I had to do it all over again I would (and will) because it was so worth it! Thomas


Surprise in Goshen

4,6 su agosto 06, 2013

The Hummingbird Inn is set in the middle of Goshen just off the main and only road through the train stop town. The inn faces an active railroad and backs up to a running creek. Our hosts met us in the small parking area and welcomed us to the inn. Dan introduced us to his wife Patty and then introduced us to the beautiful Hummingbird Inn. Five guests room are available, all very beautiful, well appointed with modern functionality, yet maintaining their vintage character. The rooms are extremely clean and the baths are very modern. WIFI is available throughout the house. The inn is set up for the comfort of the traveler with candy and coffee around every corner. Various indoor and outside sitting areas are available. The outdoor areas are great spots to watch the hummingbirds feast and play. Yes, they do have hummingbirds! Books, magazines, and DVDs are also provided, but my wife and I passed on the modern and spent our evening setting at the back of the property enjoying the babble of the creeks while we enjoy a cigar and a Maker's Mark. The wife had a Bailey's and passed on the cigar. (Bring your own cigars and Maker's!) The inn does not provide dinner and only one small diner is located in Goshen, so if you are a foodie plan accordingly. A light breakfast was served at 9AM which was highlighted by fresh juice and strong coffee. My wife and I were in no hurry to depart because of the casual nature of the inn and our good fortune in enjoying the conversation with the other couple who were also guests. Dan and Patty served breakfast, joined the conversation, and wished us on our way.


The HummingBird Inn is a real find!

5 su luglio 17, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B to relax and escape noise and crowd. There are so many great amenities. The innkeepers are delightful. The inn has wonderful, spacious rooms and the wrap around porch is a delight with lots of hummingbirds and other sounds. Although it is in a village, other places of interest are within a beautiful driving distance. We would gladly stay there again.


Fantastic and Relaxing

5 su luglio 06, 2013

This is the first time we have visited a bed & breakfast...Dan & Patty are the most warm, inviting hosts ever...Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast fantastic...Great getaway for a few days or a week. The history in Lexington and Staunton are fantastic. Dan & Patty recommended places to eat and visit during our stay...We will plan on visiting again hopefully in the fall season.


Hummingbirds indeed!

4,2 su giugno 20, 2013

It was wonderful to sit on their huge wraparound upper porch, look out over the grounds, and watch the hummingbirds at the feeders. Excellent, caring service, clean rooms, and great brreakfast fare. I wish breakfast could have been more flexible (it was always at 9am) so we could get out into the world sooner, but it was worth the wait. The hosts are willing references for area attractions (of which there are many). Railroad buffs will enjoy the nearby track, too! A very nice stay.


The Hummingbird Inn

4,4 su giugno 19, 2013

The owners were so welcoming and personal. It was a safe area and I felt very safe in the inn as well. The area outside was beautiful and felt just like home. It was a great getaway from the city lifestyle that I live in. It was very rejuvenating and the sightseeing areas were beautiful of the park and the dinners in the towns near Lexington and Staunton was great. There was family style breakfast with the other guests in the morning which felt very homey. I miss it already and will definitely be visiting again. Goshen pass was a very pretty area to go fishing and even dip your feet in. As said, overall we loved every bit of it and will love to visit again!


Great B&B

5 su giugno 18, 2013

We stayed two nights and had a great experience.This was our first stay at a B&B and I would recommend The Hummingbird Inn to anyone.We will probably avoid hotels and motels in the future.There was no comparison to the friendliness and one on one time with the owners.Thanks Patty and Dan Suzette and Steve Craun


Lovely Setting

5 su giugno 18, 2013

Patty thinks of everything. She is a delightful host. The breakfasts were delicious and the room was outstanding. The grounds are kept in pristine condition with lovely trees, flowers, hosta and bird houses scattered around. Our little doxie was made to feel like a special guest as well. Cannot say enough about the wonderful stay.


Wonderful, relaxing get-away

5 su giugno 02, 2013

The BEST B&B we have stayed at. Dan and Patty were very accommodating and a real treat. The breakfasts were unique, filling and tasty. We will be back and recommend to everyone. Doug


The Hummingbird Escape

5 su maggio 04, 2013

If you are looking to get away from the stress, cares and problems of life in general you need an escape plan. That plan should include a relaxing and refreshing stay at the Hummingbird Inn. It's like stepping back in history in a place that has seen dramatic changes over the last two hundred years.It is rather awe inspiring when you realize that so many famous historical figures once vacationed in the very place that you are standing in. And then you have Dan and Patty who are superb in their roll as host and hostess. They immediately make you feel right at home. Both are keenly aware of what is needed to make your stay comfortable and they enthusiastically work to that end. Do yourselk a favor and escape to your getaway - the Hummingway Inn!


Hummingbird Hospitality Above ALL!

5 su aprile 09, 2013

Exceptional charm, warm hospitality, relaxing atmosphere - truly a 'home' away from home and BETTER! The Hummingbird is a wonderful retreat for touring the Shenandoah Valley, exploring nature or simply unwinding. Centrally located, you can shoot off to various locations - Staunton, Lexington, mineral springs - in 20-30 min along scenic routes. Or unwind by the babbling brook or on the wrap-around porch. Whatever you choose the Innkeepers are especially helpful and welcome you like family.


A Shenandoah Valley Treasure

5 su marzo 19, 2013

We just completed our third stay at the Hummingbird Inn and will definitely plan another return trip. We have stayed at numerous Bed & Breakfast Inns throughout the years and this one is our favorite. We leave the stress at home and enjoy a leisurely drive through the Shenandoah Mountains to this beautiful retreat. Patty and Dan are wonderful innkeepers who always have ideas of things to do throughout the area to keep us the go. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts are to die for. This is a wonderful Bed & Breakfast Inn.

Risposta del proprietario
Its always nice to have ol' friends return! Thank you so much for your kind words. We'll look forward to the next time!


If I could give it 6 stars, I would! Best B&B of 20 yrs of going to B&B's!

5 su marzo 15, 2013

Our ABSOLUTE FAVORITE,MOST ENJOYABLE OF ALL 20 yrs of B&B stays! Patty&Dan's attention to detail,hospitality,kindness&warmth truly are epitome of southern hospitality,&go out of way to be sure visit is what YOU want it to be,help make it as enjoyable,relaxing or fruitful as YOU choose.Some of niceties are well "above&beyond" what will experience at other B&B's.Just to mention a few:beds so comfy, sheets,comforters,supersoft blankets are heaven, water/juice/soda complimentary frig for guests,Kurig coffee maker w/tea/coffee,apple cider,hot chocolate&baked goods offered all day,treats/candies/snacks all about in rooms&common areas,delicious filling hot cooked breakfasts,2nd small frig for your use,&extremely cozy seating areas in living room,double wrap-around porches,in yard,&back next to mountain stream in back on deck w/ firepit,or sunroom.Inn is centrally located for area, so just 30 min drive or less to many great towns for daytrip,have dinner, then come back& enjoy inn, or just stay at Inn&RELAX! It ALL works!Patty&Dan are full of info about anything special going on in area during visit,give "run down" after breakfast to make sure you know about anything may want to take advantage of while here.They have set up "specials" with many establishments within driving distances so can get great discounts at restaurants, activities,etc,with their special "discount card".Patty & Dan go so well over not just the expected, but give so much of the UNexpected& such wonderful service! I told them really think they should give SEMINARS on HOW TO RUN successful B&B,as they have hit it, RIGHT ON THE MARK,&WELL BEYOND! Some I am not sure can be taught, as it is also their terrific personalities,but,WOW, they have it down pat! Hats off to both of them! We most definitely agree with others,in that when you stay here at the Hummingbird,Patty&Dan make you feel like you are a friend, or family, not just a client,&isn't that what TRUE southern hospitality is really all about?

Risposta del proprietario
Southern hospitality is what its all about.. that's what makes innkeeping such a wonderful "job"! When we have great guests like you two to take care of and spoil! thank you for your kind words...


Relaxing weekend in Goshen

4,2 su febbraio 19, 2013

Patty and Dan provided for a very relaxing weekend. Being vegan, it's hard to find B&Bs that cater to my diet, but I was provided with very nice breakfasts while there and would happily return. The area around Goshen is gorgeous. We loved the hikes in sub-zero temps while there, and looked forward to warming up at the Inn upon return.


Charming lovely B&B

5 su novembre 03, 2012

The Hummingbird Inn is one of those gems you find every once in awhile. The Inn was very comfortable and welcoming. The Inn owners couldn't have been nicer; Patty and Dan were wonderful hosts. The rooms were cozy, and beds were very comfortable, I actually got a good nights sleep, which normally doesn't occur at a B&B or hotel. The town of Lexington, VA is the closest town; very charming, has a ton of history, and very good restaurants. The Inn is also very close to some of Virginia's finest wineries. Fred and Susan My wife and I will definitely go back and will recommend the Hummingbird Inn to all our friends and co-workers.


Love the Country Charm

5 su ottobre 27, 2012

If you are looking for 'Country Charm' this bed and breakfast is it. While the Inn was beautiful, I think the den was our favorite room. It was the original trading post back in the 1700's. Amazing beauty in this room. We had exceptional service and the breakfasts were YUMMY! Patty and Dan were very accommodating. We would rate this Inn an A+. Looking forward to returning soon!


Hummingbird Inn

5 su ottobre 13, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. The innkeeper was delightful -- she thought of all the little things above the necessary things to make us happy and comfortable. Very clean and well taken care of.


Fantastic!

5 su ottobre 06, 2012

Inn was beautiful, innkeepers are wonderful, and easy drive to small towns and beautiful hikes.


Outstanding

5 su ottobre 03, 2012

Our 4th? 5th? 6th stay? Can't remember, but it does not get any better than The Hummingbird Inn.


A Wonderful Visit

5 su settembre 24, 2012

The Hummingbird Inn was delightful. Tucked away in the beautiful Blue Ridge mountains, it will certainly cause you to relax. Dan is a wonderful host and offered great meals and great suggestions for things to do. You must go see all the hummingbirds while relaxing on the 2nd floor balcony.


Pleasant Surprise

4,2 su settembre 23, 2012

We were not sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised, it was a warm & fuzzy experience. I am sure we will try other B&Bs.


Amazing and Relaxing

4,6 su settembre 23, 2012

Amazing owners at this beautiful little inn set in quiet mountains close to two small, quaint towns (Lexington & Stanton) with lots of charm and hummingbirds!


We'll be back in a heartbeat!

4,6 su settembre 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I, for our 5th anniversary, decided to go away for a few days. Luckily, we found The Hummingbird Inn as a Livingsocial escape deal. And our time there was fantastic! Patty and Dan are the most gracious of hosts and it certainly convinced me to make a return trip in the near future!


Wonderful Hosts

5 su settembre 16, 2012

The Inn was wonderful, all the little extras were provided,but the best was the attention that Patty and Dan gave to us the entire time. They made a nice getaway extra special.


Great Weekend!

4,4 su settembre 08, 2012

Beautiful inn. Extremely friendly / helpful owners. Would definitely recommend it!


Great rooms

4,0 su settembre 06, 2012

Very comfortable and charming! The owners were very nice, good breakfast and the bed were so amazing. More comfortable than my own.


Over the Top!

5 su settembre 06, 2012

Amazing hospitality from innkeepers -- treating us, welcoming us like family. Great food, fun celebratory picnic on the deck by Mill Stream lovingly prepared for our anniversary, gracious accommodations and ambiance! Each return visit relaxes and inspires us! Five stars plus to the innkeepers!


Our delightful,relaxing week-end.

4,8 su settembre 03, 2012

Our week-end stay at the Hummingbird Inn was lovely!! We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the caring inn keepers, Dan and Patty. They went to extremes to make sure we would enjoy ourselves by informing us of the many activities going on in the area and giving us clear directions also. Every care was taken to ensure our stay was a pleasant one.


Superb hospitality

5 su agosto 04, 2012

Patty and Dan attend to every detail that can make their guests feel at home - from strategically placed candy dishes and pamphlets on area attractions to self serve cold drinks and coffee available available at all hours. The Inn is spacious and comfortable, the breakfasts are delicious and generous, and the hummingbirds provide amazing entertainment!! We loved our stay.


Great Getaway

5 su agosto 02, 2012

The history and location of this Inn are awesome to include the trains...a very relaxing stay...we enjoyed great hospitality, the wrap around balcony and the joy of watching the hummingbirds. What a treasure this Inn is. We highly recommend this getaway :)


A couple of days in the country

5 su agosto 02, 2012

We spent two nights at this wonderful, warm and inviting home. Everything here is top notch, and if you are looking for a place to "veg out," this is the place. The Hummingbirds are there, and you can get lost in thought as you watch them fly around. Be pepared to drive about 40 minutes when you want to go and eat or see anything, since there is nothing in Goshen. We look forward to our return.


Wonderful Welcome

5 su luglio 31, 2012

Patty, the owner of this lovely inn, could not have been more generous with her time and effort. This inn has it all... charm, comfort, and a super breakfast. We'll be back and send our friends.


Thanks for the memories!

5 su luglio 24, 2012

Our daughter had her wedding at the Hummingbird Inn -- the wedding party stayed at the inn. Dan & patty were wonderful -- anything we needed, they were there to help. The rooms are outstanding -- the setting breathtaking -- thanks so much!


A Gem of A B&B but bring earplugs!

4,2 su luglio 02, 2012

Patty greeted us and Dan appeared a few minutes later. We were given a personal tour of the house and it was just magical. The oldest part of the inn is from a cabin from 1759. After settling in we set off to find a place to eat. On our return we took a tour round the gardens before settling on the veranda to read and to surruptitiously watch the hummingbirds. They constantly came up to the feeders and we managed to take photographs of these delightful creatures. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee and there were treats wherever we went. The whirlpool bath was a great help to my joints and along with the bathrobe the whole experience was first class. The comfort of the bed and sheets just have to be noted. They were magnificent.HOWEVER Thursday night had 6 if not 7 trains -our room was closest to the tracks. The entire room shook and I felt as though one train was coming right through our room. There was a problem with the toilet -it does not flush unless you fiddle with the handle in a certain way. Fortunately my husband had the knack. Breakfast was tasty with freshly made berry smoothies and home made quiche, breakfast potatoes and Virginia ham. It was a very sociable affair as we met our fellow residents. The hosts really make this place special and they seem to have thought of every comfort for their guests. I would love to stay here again and will recommend it to friends but I will bring earplugs with me.


Quaint and restful

5 su giugno 30, 2012

Innkeepers very accommodating. Breakfasts delicious. Goodies and drinks always available. Quiet atmosphere - gurgling creek. However, if you do not like the sound of trains it is not the place for you. We did not mind after the first night.


Wonderful retreat -- for dogs too!

4,8 su giugno 06, 2012

At the Hummingbird you'll find unparalleled tranquility and serenity, nestled in the dense woods of western VA. Patty and Dan go to every effort to make their human AND canine guests welcome. We stayed in the Teton-Woods room with our young dog, and in the room were an adorable set of dog bowls, a towel in case she got damp/dirty outside, plastic bags, dog treats, books about dogs, etc. They thought of every possible detail. And of course we humans felt welcome too! Whiling away the hours in the sun room, catching some Zzzs on the wonderful couch in the living room, and strolling through the spacious and beautifully manicured garden, we truly felt at home. We give this B&B 6 out of 5 stars overall, and definitely recommend it for your next trip to Shenandoah. We know we'll be back soon!


A little piece of heaven

5 su maggio 30, 2012

The Hummingbird Inn is a very beautiful place with the best hosts! Patty and Dan are simply the best at what they do. From the moment you walk into the door until the time you leave you will feel like royalty. They go above and beyond to make your stay so wonderful. We have visited the Hummingbird Inn twice. Both times have been superb! We felt like family during our stay. Every little detail is taken to ensure a comfortable and memorable time. The breakfasts are delicious, beds are so comfy, the furnishings unique and comfortable. The Inn and rooms are very clean. We loved the Franklin Room with its sitting area and fireplace. The Hummingbird Inn is so beautiful both inside and out. There are lots of spacious decks to relax on. The Inn has so much interesting history. If you want to have an enjoyable trip and a memorable stay please visit Patty and Dan.


Charming Bed & Breakfast

5 su maggio 28, 2012

Another wonderful stay at The Hummingbird Inn. This was our second visit and are already planning our third! Each room is beautifully decorated and the cleanliness is impeccable. Patty and Dan are there to help whether you are staying in to relax or visiting nearby Lexington or Staunton. This is a must stay when in Goshen! D&L


Hummingbird B & B

5 su maggio 07, 2012

Staying at the Hummingbird was like going to an old friend's home for a visit. The hospitality was great and the atmosphere was peaceful. It was so clean I felt I could walk around without my slippers. And the sound of the nearby creek and the birds was tranquilizing. I wish I could go every weekend.


WOW! Truly one of the best B&B experiences we have ever had!!

5 su marzo 14, 2012

Hubby LUVS trains, run in front of Inn.The Hummingbird Inn has new innkeepers since last visit, + just as wonderful+ enjoyable as our first! It was because of this Inn that we now frequent B&B's more than hotels, and this visit just enforced idea. Absolutely delightful experience! Patty+ Dan just as cordial+welcoming as they could possibly be+ Inn exudes that feeling! All the rooms beautifully decorated, as was Inn extremely comfortable + inviting!The attention to detail is what really makes it!Whole house sattelite radio, beds SO COMFORTABLE, comfy sheets+down comforter,FANTASTIC! electric woodstoves w/ "fire" going,very romantic. The extra "niceties"really made it special-postcards w/stamps, snacks in EACH bedroom, candies set out thruout, a mini frig filled w/ water, juices, sodas,a Krups coffee maker w/coffees,hot applecider,hot chocolate, teas all day +ALL complimentary, homemade cookies,desserts,set out.Also a mini frig in back for guest use.Very thoughtful! Shared places plentiful +comfy.Loved big sectional sofa in living room to read,relax.Later,all guests sat together there enjoying each other+Patty's company. There is glass sunroom + wraparound verandas on both levels,front porch, all with outdoor furniture to enjoy yard's beauty..There is a babblingstream behind property, w/ deck, chiminea +outdoor furniture, overlooking water ,picnic table surrounded by flowers to just relax + enjoy.Breakfasts made by Patty+Dan were absolutely scrumptious+ filling! Great cooks+ just really wonderful hosts! felt welcomed immediately feel like they are happy to have you here as "friend", instead of like a hotel as a paying customer. Centrally located between Lexington + Staunton, both great small towns! wonderful to visit, walk around, shop, eat,enjoy. Also near Maury River,(trout fishermen)thru Goshen's Pass,beautiful view+ drive. + The Natural Bridge,so day trips, using the Inn as homebase.All in all, we left feeling totally refreshed,relaxed, and recharged!


Outstanding Hummingbird Inn

5 su febbraio 23, 2012

One could not ask for anything more than what the Hummingbird Inn has to offer. A clean, well-maintained inn offering the highest quality accommodations and amenities is what we found in Goshen ,VA.


Perfect.

5 su febbraio 13, 2012

From the first time we stepped through the door, we felt as if we were at home. The owners, Patty & Dan are wonderful and so sweet! Everything was perfect--the room, the food, the snacks...you name it, and they have thought of it. I hope to return soon!


Quintessential Bed & Breakfast

5 su febbraio 12, 2012

The Hummingbird Inn is a fantastic bed and breakfast situated on the countryside of VA. The owners truly care about your experience and a visit to their B&B will not disappoint.


very nice inn-no sleep

3,4 su febbraio 12, 2012

The inn is cute, and very clean.The hosts are helpful. The oldest part of the inn is from a cabin from 1759. HOWEVER-Friday night had 5 if not 6 trains hourly-our room was closest to the tracks. Entire room shook and I had earthquake flashbacks. Saturday night only had 2 trains, but the fireplace below us or something had the room so hot that we had to sleep with the door to the hall open. I am feeling very sleep deprived in spite of the wonderful bed and sheets. The toilet does not flush unless you take the lid off and pull the chain, and turning on the shower only diverts half the water. And our door is not lockable when we leave.


Like staying at Grandmas--if Grandma ran a great bed and breakfast!

4,6 su febbraio 02, 2012

This was our third bed and breakfast experience, and one thing that sets the Hummingbird apart from our previous ones was the amount of personal care from the hosts. You'll notice that many reviews mention "Patti and Dan" by name; that's because they are part of the experience. I’ve stayed at other bed and breakfasts where I had no more interaction with the host than with a hotel front-desk receptionist, and no more interaction with other guests than with strangers in a hotel. Instead, Patti and Dan treat you like family, and one side effect is that all 10 couples bonded like family as well. The other thing the Hummingbird does much better than my other stays is stock the rooms with information. The desk in the front hall has daily print-outs of events going on in the nearby towns, and the rooms have pamphlets for attractions. We purchased a Living Social package that came with extras like theatre tickets and restaurant vouchers; these were waiting for us in an envelope with maps of the area, driving directions, and Patti and Dan's descriptions of various nearby attractions, their hours, and how to get to them. Finally, as many have mentioned, you need to be warned about the trains. The inn is yards away from an active railway line, which means that occasionally a train passes with window-rattling noise. During our two-night stay this happened some 3 or 4 times, of which I think only one was in the middle of the night. For me, that's hardly a deal breaker, but I've seen some reviewers react much more negatively (maybe they're more used to uninterrupted sleep than I am, as a father of two toddlers!). If a 50% chance of being woken up for about 60 seconds in the night is unacceptable for you, you might want to think twice; otherwise, this is a charming, comfortable, hospitable place to relax and indulge in a little low-intensity tourism.


Wonderful Winter Getaway

4,6 su gennaio 22, 2012

Dan and Patty are the ultimate hosts of this beautiful inn tucked away in the mountains of Virginia. Sharing a family-style breakfast is the perfect way to start the day in an area replete with so many recreation and arts activities. Having trains pass by so close to the inn might seem like an annoyance, but they actually contribute to the experience and reflect the history of the way. We highly recommend a stay at the Hummingbird Inn and look forward to visiting again.


A gem on the backroads of Virginia

5 su dicembre 26, 2011

Our recent stay at The Hummingbird Inn in Goshen, VA felt just like going "way back home" to a welcoming longtime family homestead. The hosts, Dan and Patty Harrison, are warm, gracious, and delightful. The Inn's 5 bedrooms are spacious, private, and comfortably furnished, accompanied by spotless modern private bathrooms. Breakfast was consistently delicious, and snacks and beverages were proffered around the clock. The setting of the Inn is a small village nestled in a winding river valley in the Virginia Appalachians. The drive through the Goshen Pass above the sparkling Maury River leads to rolling hills dotted with horse and dairy farmland, and often revealing sweeping vistas of the mountain ridges off in the blue distance. Bicycling these back roads would also be a treat, one we plan to try with another stay at The Hummingbird Inn next summer. Don't miss this gem on the scenic back roads of Virginia.


Fun Time!

4,6 su dicembre 09, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful Inn. We probably would like to visit them again in The Springtime. Though it was raining when we visited, we still found the place fun and very comfy. We were very happy to meet Patty and Dan. Such great people.


A magical experience!

5 su dicembre 01, 2011

Our sons treated us for our 40th anniversary, and they will never know how wonderful a find they made....well of course they will, because we have waxedlyrical about it ever since. Not only have we never been more comfortable anywhere else, but we had so much guidance in local history, habitat, and excursions. Vouchers for wineries, restaurants and near-by museums were all gratefully used. The constant availability at The Hummingbird of hot and cold drinks was extremely welcome, and the quality of the coffees was excellent. The breakfasts were superb, healthful, varying and fillin all at the same time. And as for the Comphy Sheets, everyon on the world needs to experience them......they do make you groan with pleasure. Thank you Dan for taking such good care of us, and Patty, we would hope to meet you next time!


A magical escape

4,8 su novembre 06, 2011

This place is full of as much history & happiness! Both hosts are extremely helpful and the true definition of Virginia hospitality. Beautiful yard, spacious home, delicious food, and pure awesomeness. Definitely will be back!


Early Fall visit

4,8 su ottobre 14, 2011

This is a wonderful home to enjoy when you have the time to spend relaxing. The area is beautiful and the home site is very tranquil. The owners are very accommodating and did everything to make us comfortable. The beds and furniture are great. Because of the distance this is not a place to stay if you plan to take trips into the nearby towns and, if you do, you will miss out on the comfort of just hanging out at the home. The only downside is the lack of a nearby place to eat Lunch & Supper.


GOOD PLACE TO STAY

3,2 su ottobre 04, 2011

This is a lovely place to spend a few days. Away from the madding crowd with lovely rooms and two very attentive hosts. Well recommended. However, it is next to a railway line which may mean you are woken up by the night trains!!


Great weekend

4,8 su settembre 15, 2011

We utilized a Living Social deal for a 2 night stay at the inn. My husband and I have stayed at several B&B's over the last few years and found Dan and Patty to be the most welcoming hosts. We instantly felt comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Goshen Pass is beautiful. Staunton and Lexington are both easy drives and provided lots of options for our weekend. We would definitely go back.


PERFECT GETAWAY IN THE vALLEY

5 su agosto 08, 2011

We found this B&B through Living Social and throughly enjoyed our visit. Pat and Dan are wonderful innkeepers and go out of their way to make your visit a truly relaxing and wonderful experience! The B&B has much charm and the rooms are perfect! Midway between Lexington and Staunton , the B&B is a great rendezvous before heading out again! We only stayed a weekend but easily could have stayed a week. Looking forward to returning soon!


Restful Stay

5 su agosto 06, 2011

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Hummingbird Inn in late July. Our hosts, Patty and Dan, saw to making our room and our stay very comfortable, and were eager to make sure we enjoyed our time there by providing a wealth of information about things to do in the area. We particularly enjoyed our evenings sitting out on the second floor wrap-around porch, sipping wine and star-gazing.


Great stay

5 su luglio 31, 2011

We had a lovely overnight at the Hummingbird Inn. Wish we had longer. Our room opened to an upstairs porch where I enjoyed my early morning quiet time while watching and listening as the new day unfolded. Beautiful. Patty and Dan are charming. Meeting them was another treat. Breakfast was both delicious and very social with other guests we enjoyed. We operate Bay View Waterfront B&B and picked up some good information as well as having a gret time.


You'll love this place.

4,6 su luglio 30, 2011

John and I spent two nights this past week at The Hummingbird Inn and we loved it. The house was immaculate, very nicely appointed, and inviting. Patty and Dan were lovely people and did everything in their power to make our stay more comfortable. And the breakfasts were delicious. We would highly recommend it.


Awesome!

5 su luglio 27, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hummingbird Inn! We stayed in the Franklin suite, and it was beautiful. Patty & Dan were so welcoming, and the breakfasts were delicious! We look forward to another stay at the Hummingbird Inn soon!


Hummingbird Inn is what all B&B's should aspire to.

5 su luglio 20, 2011

Our stay there was outstanding! The building itself is fascinating with its wraparound porch at ground level and companion balcony above. The lawn and gardens shows loving attention. But, best of all, the proprietors, Patty and Dan, are the ideal hosts with their warm personalities and great senses of humor. They keep you charmed during your entire stay. Patty's breakfasts (though I understand Dan does most of the inventive cooking) are innovative and scrumptious. Our room, the Teter-Wood on the ground floor with its own outside entrance, was quite wonderful. There is much to see and do in the area. The towns of Lexington and Staunton are easy drives away and the Goshen Pass and surrounding mountains are awesome. The Hummingbird Inn - try it, you'll love it.


Outstanding in every way!

5 su luglio 19, 2011

Our gracious hosts, Patty and Dan, are wonderful. They have an uncanny sense of knowing when you want to be alone and when you feel like having company. The video on their website describes exactly the way it is – peaceful and charming. We took their suggestions about where to go and what to do in and around the area, and also enjoyed relaxing on the upper deck with wine and cheese. We found the Inn to be immaculate, the rooms large, the bed comfortable, every amenity imaginable, and breakfasts that were incredibly delicious. We’ve seen some comments about the train that goes by but it really wasn’t loud and we found that it only added to the overall charm. We are definitely looking forward to going back to this very special Hummingbird Inn.


lovely getaway!

4,6 su luglio 18, 2011

Patty and Dan were very welcoming and accommodating. The Inn was clean, inviting and relaxing. Beautiful area with Lexington close by and lots of outdoor activities! Highly recommend it!


A great weekend at the Inn

5 su luglio 18, 2011

Patti and Dan are gracious hosts who go out of their way to make their guests welcome. They give lots of attention to the little details-- from a wine and cheese welcome plate to sodas and coffee around the clock. We brought our dog, and they even spent their dinner time babysitting him so that we could spend some time in Staunton together. Wonderful place, wonderful people.


Three wonderful days at the Hummingbired Goshen

5 su luglio 12, 2011

Dan and Patty, the owners, really know how to make their guest feel spoiled, and have thought of everything. They show you the house on arrival, and ask you to make yourself at home. The rooms are large and comfortable, with quality linens and well stocked bathrooms, and there are complimentary nibbles around the house, and drinks in the refrigerator, where you are asked to help yourself. The house has so much charm, and the grounds are restful. Any request is fulfilled, if its in their power. They are hands on, yet give you space if you want. It's truly worth the drive (we came from Australia!!). Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. It was a true highlight in our five week trip.


Charming Old RR Town -- With Trains!

4,2 su giugno 27, 2011

The house sits on the side of the RR tracks and you can hear the freight trains come by during the night. I found it romantic! The area is wonderful. Good restaurants (Red Hen especially) 30 minutes away in Lexington. Innkeeper is terrific!


Great Little Getaway

4,6 su giugno 06, 2011

We took advantage of the LivingSocial escape package for a Memorial Day getaway and were so thrilled with our experience. The inn was comfy and cozy, lots of places to relax alone or interact with other guests. Part of our package included wine and cheese, which Patty was sweet enough to serve us on the back patio overlooking the creek. The breakfasts were delicious, and they were so wonderful about accommodating my gluten-free needs (they asked about food allergies when we made the reservation, and then again upon arrival) and even had some gluten free cookies placed in the room! The guest rooms were very nicely appointed (best sleep I’ve had in ages!) with wonderful little details like wine glasses and a corkscrew, snacks, and pre-stamped post cards! The inn has wifi and lots of games and movies for entertainment. Overall wonderful scenery and a great place to relax and recharge.


Wedding stay

5 su maggio 27, 2011

Had a great time - a stress-free & fun wedding. Everything was beautiful & the hosts were great.


There really are hummingbirds!

4,4 su maggio 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hummingbird Inn for 2 nights in April 2011. We did spend quite a bit of time around the Lexington/Staunton area those two days, but one of the best parts of our trip was simply sitting on the veranda. Though the Inn looks a little more "secluded" from photos than it really is, the greenery around it goes a good job giving a garden retreat sort of feel, and the sound of the nearby creek dampens any unwanted noises. Dan and Patty, the owners and hosts, were very accomodating and were glad to meet any need we had. The breakfasts were excellent--good food without being gigantic portions. The bed was probably the most comfortable I've slept on in a long time (Franklin room). All in all, we liked the Hummingbird Inn and would gladly go back. P.S. - If you don't want to engage or interact with other people, get a hotel. But if you're open to talking with and meeting new people while on vacation, then a B & B might be up your alley.


Thank you Patty & Dan!

4,6 su maggio 23, 2011

We had a wonderful experience during our two night stay at the Hummingbird Inn. Upon our arrival, the rooms weren't quite ready yet (we were a couple hours early) and Dan greeted us at the door allowing us to relax in the nap room (SO comfortable!) and enjoy brownies & coffee/tea. We felt at home immediately. We stayed in the Eleanor Roosevelt room which was clean and cozy. The only downside of this room is that it is located in the front of the house near where the train passes throughout the day/night. However, we would without a doubt return to Hummingbird Inn and request the same room. The comfortable king size bed and dual showers are well worth it. Patty and Dan care about their visitors and are so helpful in helping them plan their local adventures. Patty's breakfast is absolutely delicious and worth the visit alone! We would return here in a heartbeat! We absolutely recommend the Hummingbird Inn! Mike & Ashley


A much needed escape

4,8 su maggio 19, 2011

Our stay with The Hummingbird Inn was most wonderful. In my calendar I scheduled the vacation as our “much needed escape” and escaped we did. The house was wonderful, clean, very spacious and comfortable, but super cozy and inviting at the same time. I wish I could have breakfast there every single day. How yummy!!! Yes, delicious, healthy and very well presented. Kudos, Patty! I also enjoy the treats in the room, the robes and toiletries very much… I had to jump in the jetted tub both nights. How can I skip the pampering??? Last, but most importantly, your hospitality was much appreciated. We get plenty of attitude here in NY as well as getting ignored and bypassed. We received totally the opposite from Patty and Dan: attention, service and validation. Thanks!


The way to relax......

5 su aprile 26, 2011

Enjoyed our stay. Very relaxing, especially sitting down by the stream. Friendly owners. Loved the trains. We felt like we had stepped back in time-- in a good way. Food was great.


Lovely mini honeymoon

4,6 su aprile 14, 2011

We stayed here two nights to get out of the city and relax after our wedding in DC, and it was exactly what we were looking for. A nice, big comfy room overlooking the back yard and barn with a whirlpool tub and electric stove fireplace. Since we were the only ones staying there, we had free reign over the den, living room, sun room, and veranda to just read and relax. Besides the relaxation, the best part about the stay was breakfast each day. Patty, one of the owners, served two very delicious and creative meals that were definitely worth getting out of bed for at 9am. We had purchased a Living Social escape that included a wine and cheese plate, dinner voucher, dessert voucher, tickets to a play, and a winery voucher. It turned out that the restaurant was closed the two nights we were there, so Patty offered to make us dinner instead, which was really nice of her. There also weren't any shows at the theatre on those nights, which was a bummer, but I guess that's what you get on Monday and Tuesday in small towns. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at The Hummingbird Inn and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a little small town R&R.


Home Away From Home

5 su aprile 13, 2011

Outstanding service was continually extended going in to and during our stay. When our dog-sitter had to cancel at the last minute, Dan happily welcomed her without a question, and with a lovely little welcome basket for her arrival. Dan and Patty make a point to focus on comfort during your stay and you feel that immediately. Every chair had a blanket to curl up with while relaxing and drinking Patty's awesome selection of tea. The bedroom we stayed in was large and very cozy in a way that suited the age of the home, yet provided every modern amenity and suited our modern tastes perfectly. Our bed was insanely comfortable and the sheets! The softest sheets I've ever slept on. There is a train that runs next to the house but with the warmth and comfort that is provided , the train is a fun experience and small interruption before pulling those sheets back over you and returning to sleep. Breakfast was delicious and spent in wonderful company between our new friends that we made at the Inn and Patty and Dan's stories. Being a traveler in my 30's and someone who works in hospitality for a living, I really enjoyed the full bed and breakfast experience and the amazing care and attention that we received. I can't wait for our next visit (hopefully during the summer so we can sit outside at the barn and listen to the nearby creek and crickets chirp and see the namesake hummingbirds) and cannot thank them enough for helping to provide an amazing birthday weekend.


Wonderful Thanksgiving

5 su dicembre 04, 2010

Patty and Dan we great hosts and provided a wonderful Thanksgiving experience. The food, company and accomodations were excellent. Without a doubt we would stay again.


What a Great Place!

5 su novembre 30, 2010

My wife and I came for a two-night stay to celebrate our anniversary. Patty and Dan were the perfect hosts. Our room was very clean, as was the rest of the inn, and the breakfasts were outstanding. We loved relaxing by the fire in the den. We hope to return sometime soon!


A wonderful get-away in the Shenandoah Mountains!

5 su agosto 10, 2010

A very clean and comfortable inn. Dan and Patty are the ultimate hosts, and the breakfasts are wonderful--especially the baked french toast! We hope everyone has the same great experience we did. It helped to make our weekend so memorable.


Just what a B&B should be!

5 su aprile 21, 2010

Patty & Dan are excellent hosts in this idyllic inn in the middle of nowhere-- truly a great place for those looking to get away from it all! (Though not too far-- Staunton and Lexington are 30 minutes away).


We can hardly wait to go back!!!

5 su gennaio 26, 2010

We chose The Hummingbird Inn for our small wedding and honeymoon. Arrangements were made in less than a week and Dan and Patty could not have been more gracious and helpful. Dan and Patty suggested details we had not considered and our ceremony was a magical event we'll never forget. Our honeymoon couldn't have been more relaxing; Dan & Patty catered to our every need without being overbearing. We recommend this place to everyone we know and are already counting down to our return.


A delightful get-away

5 su novembre 25, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay at the Hummingbird Inn! The house is lovely and welcoming, with plenty of cosy places to sit and relax. Our hosts were friendly, accommodating, and cooked a superb breakfast! We highly recommend the Inn!


What a wonderful place to stay!

5 su novembre 02, 2009

In mid-October we visited the Hummingbird Inn for the second time and we will definately be back again. Dan and Patty are amoun the most gracious hosts we have encountered in aur many stays at Bed & Breakfasts across the Commonwealth. They are a wealth of knowledge about the beautiful countryside around them and the many small attractions that one might miss without local knowledge. The Inn is warm and inviting and each room is appointed with furnishings commensurate with the storied history of the Inn. I highly recommend the Hummingbird to anyone who wants to get away for a stay in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley. There are so many things to do and see close by for the avid outdoorsman, the wine lover or the antique hunter. Don't miss the Shakespeare playhouse in Staunton or the Historical streets of Lexington where you will find VMI and Washington & Lee University. No matter what you choose to do or not do, (the wrap around porches are a wonderful place to relax and wathc the hummingbirds in season) you will enjoy your stay at the inn.


A Delightful Experience

5 su ottobre 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at The Hummingbird Inn in Goshen, VA on October 16th and 17th to celebrate our 25th anniversery. The visit was delightful. An anniversery card from the owners was waiting for us in our room. The grounds were attractive and reflected both good planning and care. The house was historic, well decorated and very clean. The most outstanding part of The Hummingbird Inn was the host and hostess. They were very friendly, gracious and could edgage in stimulating and intellegent conversations with the guests, which came from many parts of the country. They are also good cooks.


Home Away from Home

4,0 su ottobre 17, 2009

The best portion of our September trip through the mountains of VA, WV and NC was our stay at the Hummingbird. In spite of our trip was plagued by bad weather and coming down with a bad cold we had a wonderful time. Our hosts made us feel like house guests of old friends rather than as paying guests. Feeling so much at home and at ease helped me weather my cold while enjoying drives through Goshen Pass, Warm Springs/Hot Springs, and White Sulpher Springs. The Hummingbird Inn will now be one of our favorite destinations.


Memories to last a lifetime...

5 su ottobre 08, 2009

My first stay in a B&B, The Hummingbird Inn far exceeded my expectations. Beautiful grounds, history, amenities, comfort, warmth, excellent breakfast menus, and [literally] an incredible number of hummingbirds all added to the ambience and enjoyment of my stay. The Innkeepers greeted me with smiles and genuine warmth as they invited me to make myself comfortable and told me that their home was my home...and then didn't waste a minute confirming their sincerity. Truly "memories to last a lifetime," and I look forward to returning, hopefully soon, to relieve them all again. (Oh, and be sure to ask to meet and have your picture taken with Raoul before you leave!)


Peaceful Perfection

5 su ottobre 02, 2009

This was our first experience of B&B and I don't think we will ever find one that will surpass the Humingbird Inn. The Hosts were friendly, the service outstanding, the food to die for, the room was clean with a comfortable bed and the atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing.


An Escape to Hummingbird Inn

4,0 su settembre 28, 2009

We recently stayed at the Hummingbird Inn, an historic landmark with beautiful, country furnishings. It is a self-contained, peaceful, and tranquil escape. We didn’t hear any of the usual comings and goings of other guests. Only the sounds of nature and a whistle of the train could be heard, which was just what we needed to relax and unwind. We explored the barn and babbling creek on the property and walked down the road to a local restaurant for dinner. Although the restaurant itself didn’t look like much from the outside, we had an entertaining evening with great live music and extraordinary shrimp, beef brisket, and chicken BBQ. Afterward, we walked back to the Hummingbird Inn and hung out in the den with our two canine companions, also graciously welcomed. There were books and magazines, games, and movies but we mostly just talked to the other guests. In the morning, we brought our coffee out into the sunroom. Breakfast was simply phenomenal, one you always hope for but rarely experience. Before I left, I got a chance to review the scrapbook and regretted I didn’t spend more time with it, as it presented a fascinating history of the B&B and surrounding area. We really didn’t want to leave the paradise we discovered. Although only a fond memory, we will go back again sometime when we need another escape and a little heaven on earth.


Relax and enjoy...

5 su settembre 13, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our hosts, Dan and Patty were the best. Very helpful with "things to do" in the area, welcoming to both us and our dog. We look forward to returning in the future.


August Visit

5 su agosto 31, 2009

We had a 'great' stay at the Hummingbird Inn. Dan and Patti are wonderful hosts. Their home is beautiful and yes there are many hummingbirds present. Anyone looking to vist around Natural Bridge or the Lexington area would be most fortunate to spend time at this B & B. The Wilsons


First time at a bb

5 su agosto 27, 2009

Deb and I had a woulderful time and the host was very outstanding and made you. feel like You were home. Wished we could stay longer. We will be back


Birthday in the mountains

4,6 su agosto 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the inn in April, 2008, for my 50th birthday. It was one of the most beautiful places we visited. The food was delicious and I also left with several recipes that I am still using today. The countryside was a treat. We did some hiking in nearby Goshen Pass and in the Shenandoah Valley which was lovely. We would love to go back some day.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast Charming Hosts!

5 su agosto 04, 2009

We were in the area for a horse show and wanted to stay at something other than the run of the mill hotel in Lexington. The Hummingbird was just that! What a wonderful, beautiful place with great hosts! The breakfast was delightful and the bed was the most comfortable with the softest sheets! We definitely will stay again.


Wish we could have stayed longer!

5 su agosto 03, 2009

My husband and I recently visited the Hummingbird for a "just because" weekend. We were not disappointed! Patty and Dan were absolutely fabulous! My husband and I really enjoyed talking with them. They are very gracious and strive to give personal attention to every detail. The inn and the grounds around it were well-kept, relaxing and peaceful. The bed was very comfortable and the room was cozy and romantic. The food was wonderfully prepared and served by our hosts. It was the perfect antidote for a hectic life! It reminded me of the English inns I have stayed in during my travels in the UK and the down home, southern childhood I cherish! I highly recommend the Hummingbird Inn!


A Great Escape

5 su luglio 24, 2009

The hosts in this delightful get-away inn were most accommodating. The location is in beautiful country, the inn is charming, comfortable, and spotless. Lovely grounds for roaming and relaxing.


Excellent place to stay

4,4 su luglio 15, 2009

Owners very friendly and the place was very inviting. We enjoyed our night immensely.


Excellent

5 su luglio 13, 2009

Stayed here on two separate occasions, most recently with Patty and Dan as innkeepers. They are very good at what they do. Both are very friendly, thoughtful and hospitable, and wonderful cooks! The inn is very well-kept and has been updated recently, while retaining its victorian charm. Great place to stay while taking in outdoor activities locally (great mountain biking, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, skiing all within a short distance). Downtown Lexington and some local wineries are also close by.


Wonderful Experience

5 su luglio 01, 2009

Recently my husband and I were married at the Hummingbird Inn. We took along with us both sets of parents and our four small children. It was an amazing experience for all. We loved the Inn, it was quite cozy and very beautiful. I would enthusiastically recommend this B&B for anyone looking to enjoy a nice getaway or a place to host your special event!


Romantic Weekend

5 su giugno 26, 2009

My wife and I had a wonderful time on Valentines Day Weekend. Patty and Dan were superb hosts. Her cooking is excellent! The Hummingbird is one of the best B&B's we've had the pleasure to visit. Wes & Renee


A Lovely Find

5 su giugno 09, 2009

I do a lot of research when planning a trip and upon finding the Hummingbird Inn website thought it excellent. There was absolutely no disappointment when we arrived. Goshen and Bath county are beautiful areas of Va. and the Hummingbird fits right in. Patty is very welcoming and one is made to feel immediately at home. The rooms are lovely and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is delicious, served at 9, although during our stay one party asked if it was possible to breakfast at 8:30. Our party didn't mind and Patty's response was absolutely; very accommodating. Coffee is available from 7 and there are always cold drinks, snacks (muffins, cookies, brownies, etc.) and candy bowls. Other than the bedrooms there are three rooms for guest use; the den with TV, magazines, books and games; living room; and solarium. Even the dining room was used with a jigsaw puzzle going. The grounds are pretty and well tended with a deck on the Mill Creek next to the old barn, which still houses the bathtub Eleanor Roosevelt used during her stay. A bonus is the trains that go by. It added to the feel of the area. Outings to Warm Springs (Jefferson pools) Lexington, Staunton (Shakespeare Theater and the Wilson Library), Moomaw Lake, Goshen Pass are easy. Unfortunately, last month, even May weather can be tricky and we weren't able to use the inn's wrap around veranda. So we're going to go again next month. Believe the website.


Second time around

4,8 su maggio 07, 2009

My wife, her sister and I spent two nights with Patti at the Hummingbird Inn. It was our return to the Inn after 11 or 12 years and we were exceedingly pleased with all facets of the Inn. It is comfortable (slept until 8:30 the first morning!!), Patti is an outstanding hostess - and for one so new to the area she is extremely knowledgeable of the area and the local happenings. Goshen is close to Lexington, VA and we used that proximity to visit VMI, Washington and Lee, the George Marshall Museum and toured the city via horse drawn carriage. We rate the Hummingbird 4.5 out of 5 and highly recommend a stay!


Wow! What a relaxing place!

5 su maggio 03, 2009

My husband and I hadn't been away since August of 2006 and had never been to a bed and breakfast. We could not have picked a better place to have a first experience. Patty and Dan made us feel like friends, not guest. The amenities were fabulous; the grounds enchanting. We spent more time on the deck overlooking the stream than anywhere else. And don’t let Patty kid you – she’s a fabulous cook! We would HIGHLY recommend the Hummingbird Inn and are already making plans to revisit in October.


best combination of house, nature and old-town

4,0 su aprile 19, 2009

The Hummingbird Inn was the perfect combination of a lovely house and a beautiful setting. The very immediate setting is nature – the house is in the village-like Goshen, right by a stream with the murmuring of the water by the house’s wooden outside deck. And from Goshen I had easy access to magnificent hiking trails in the nearby Douthat Park on the one hand (there is also the closer Goshen Pass, which I didn’t get to see this time round), and to the charming town of Staunton for walking, dining and enjoying a gem of an old town on the other hand. The innkeepers truly enjoy their profession and making their guests’ time enjoyable. They helped me materialize what I was imagining for my three-day get-away and much more. Warmly recommended!


Weekend Getaway

4,8 su marzo 08, 2009

My fiancee and I went to the Hummingbird Inn because we had been planning on holding our intimate wedding there. We had been looking online for somewhere to hold it and the Hummingbird Inn looked really nice so we went up for the weekend to check the place out. From the moment we arrived Dan and Patty make us feel right at home. They treated us like members of there own family and made sure we had everything we could need or want. We arranged to have dinner there the evening we arrived so we could just stay in and relax. Dinner was wonderful and a good value. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted great. For $50 we both got a fabulous salad, hot bread, all the chicken pot-pie caserole we could eat, hot fudge sundays, and a bottle of wine. That evening we just lounged around the Inn in their cozy rustic den and watched tv as a fire Dan made just for us crackled in the background. The following morning we woke up and went downstairs where we were greated by Patty and Dan, a big simle, and a fabulous big hot breakfast. If you're going to be in the Goshen area and need somewhere to stay or are just looking for a nice getaway, we can't reccomend the Hummingbird Inn enough! We can't wait for our wedding - and for when our guests leave and we have the Inn to ourselves!


As Quaint As They Come

5 su marzo 06, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hummingbird Inn over Valentines day 2009, and had a wonderful evening. The owners, Patty & Dan, were unbelievably hospitable, the rooms warm and cozy, and the food outstanding. We are looking forward to when our future travels take us back to the Rockbridge County area!


Having fun at Jefferson pools

4,8 su febbraio 28, 2009

We stayed at the Hummingbird for a belated Valentine's day weekend and had a lovely time. the rooms are beautiful and the breakfasts were tasty. The pools are close by as was some great shopping and dining in Lexington. We will return!


Great time in Goshen

3,4 su febbraio 27, 2009

We had a wonderful time visiting the Hummingbird Inn. Beautiful rooms and charming atmosphere! Loved it!


Great stay at the Hummingbird Inn!

5 su febbraio 20, 2009

What an awesome time we had staying here! Very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Many attractions and things to do within a slight drive from the inn. Highly recommend!


A wonderful place to wed

4,4 su febbraio 18, 2009

The owners, Patty and Dan, are fabulous hosts and have gone out of their way to make our stay memorable. What a great place to visit!


excellent food, rooms, hospitality

4,0 su febbraio 04, 2009

very relaxing- just what we needed


Warm & Wonderful!

5 su gennaio 13, 2009

Patty & Dan are 2 people born to be innkeepers! They make you feel like family and have a lovely Inn that keeps on providing smiles. A deep tub for a warm soak, comfy bathrobes, fireplaces everywhere, and a family room built in the 1700's with a computer and free wifi! If you decide to have dinner, ask Dan for his famous chocolate bundt cakes...definitely to die for. Can't wait to go back in the Spring!


A romantic place to reconnect without interruptions

4,4 su gennaio 07, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B Inn and what a wonderful way to make our first step. The Hummingbird Inn was way off the trodden path in a secluded region of Virginia. It's a great place to reconnect with a loved one or just a place to kick back after a frenzied week. The Alleghany Guest Room was well kept, warm and cozy with a beautiful 4 poster bed - loved it! I have recommended it to my girlfriends to take their hubbies for a get-away without distractions. Also, ask for the directions for the drive along the Goshen Pass. Bring lots of batteries and take tons of pictures while enjoying the picturesque views. Mr. and Mrs. Atila (January 2009)


We love this Inn!

5 su dicembre 31, 2008

My husband and I came to The Hummingbird Inn to simply relax. Patty & Dan quickly became two of my favorite people ever and they are just so accommodating. The room was spacious and I loved the deep whirlpool tub. To make it even better, the breakfasts are to die for!


An amazing B&B

5 su dicembre 25, 2008

I have stayed at the Hummingbird Inn several times and every time it seems to get better and better. The area is amazing and scenic and the inn itself is as picturesque as it gets. Patty and Dan were terrific and they treat everyone like they are a member of the family. If you are ever in the Shenandoah Valley, you have to stay here.


Great B&B!

4,2 su dicembre 01, 2008

We stayed for two nights on our way back to DC after Thanksgiving. Dan and Patty were terrific hosts, welcoming us -- and our dog -- with open arms and treating us like family. Nice touches include a fridge in the den with water, beer and sodas round the clock and coffee, tea and cookies in the dining room. The breakfasts were delicious too! It's an easy 30-minute drive to Lexington, but make sure to get directions, as there is a quick way and a "scenic route." We took the scenic route in the daylight, and it's a beautiful drive, but you probably don't want to go that way at night -- very winding and dark with drop-offs on the Lexington-to-Goshen side of the road. We look forward to coming back!


Hummingbird Inn

4,6 su novembre 10, 2008

Absolutely an outstanding hostess and accommodation! We could not have had anything better!


The Hummingbird Inn is special

4,6 su novembre 04, 2008

This B&B exceeded our expectation in ever respect. The innkeepers, Dan and Patty, are warm and gracious and made our stay special. The B&B is lovely and near Lexington and the Goshen Pass. We didn't want to leave.


Delightful

4,6 su ottobre 15, 2008

Wonderful place to act as a base to explore the mountains and valley of this area. Nice rooms and the hosts are excellent. Breakfast is much better then the average B&B. Definitely would return.


Lovely historic B&B

4,4 su settembre 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this wonderful B&B. Pam and Dick the innkeepers were wonderful. Dick's stories about the history of the place were fascinating. It's a great place if you're a train lover -- it was fun watching the trains go by. The Goshen area is also a great place. We plan to go back again!!


Wonderful getaway!

5 su luglio 09, 2008

We stayed at the Hummingbird for two nights and it was one of our best B & B experiences. The owners, Dick and Pam, were delightful, the house and grounds were great, and the breakfast and snacks were outstanding. Would recommend this B & B to anyone.


Hummingbird Inn

4,2 su luglio 08, 2008

The Hummingbird Inn is a history-packed, beautiful home in a very historic area. The hosts were the best and made an awesome breakfast! We would stay here again & again! Tons of hummingbirds.


Fabulous

4,8 su luglio 07, 2008

The Inn was great, the hosts are even better, great place to stay & branch out for day activities.


Serenity, Dutch Babies, and New Friends

5 su giugno 12, 2008

My wife, Ellie, and I decided to share some days in the mountains, when I had to go to the Goshen Scout reservation for the opening of the Booz Allen Hamilton Tech Center. We thought we would try a bed and breakfast, and quickly picked the Hummingbird. Because we liked what we saw in the pictures. And, well, we also very much like the outdoors and hummingbirds. We were welcomed with smiles and special hospitality that all went well beyond "a cozy place to stay." Pam and Dick shared their special, special home with us for two days. Vintage decor. Spotless accomodations. Attention to detail. From great coffee and wi-fi at daybreak to dutch babies and local maple syrup for breakfast - all special, and all shared with warmth and a smile. [Please note, in order to find out what dutch babies are, you will just have to go stay there!] We had a wonderful time. And, oh, yes, we liked watching the real live hummingbirds, too! Gene


Relaxed country weekend

3,6 su giugno 02, 2008

Dick and Pam, the owners and hosts of the Inn, provided both warm hospitality, good food, and a lovely setting on about one acre of landscaped, surroundings. Very enjoyable!


Off the Beaten Path

5 su giugno 02, 2008

Where you would absolutely never expect it, the most charming inn, most accommadating hosts and most beautiful scenery exists as far from the beaten path as you could get. This is truly a small gem set in the mountains of rural Virginia.


Long

4,0 su giugno 01, 2008

This is a great Victorian style home w/ a wonderful porch/verenda that makes for wonderful afternoon and evening lounging. The Inn keepers Dick & Pam are wonderful people. They pay attention to every little detail and every little request of their guest. This is a wonderful place to get away for the 9-5 world for a few days.


Nothing Flighty About The Hummingbird Inn

5 su aprile 28, 2008

Nestled in the small town of Goshen is the Hummingbird Inn. From the first time we met Dick and Pam and entered the Inn itself we have felt at home and pampered. In a time of hustle and bustle with everyone wondering what is in it for them we found a haven of peace and rest along with people who's main desire is to take care of their guests. The rooms are excellent, the food is great and the visits end all too quickly.


Girls Getaway Weekend at the Hummingbird Inn

4,4 su aprile 07, 2008

My friends and I stayed at the Hummingbird for 3 days for a Girls Weekend and were blown away by the hospitality and the reception we received from the innkeepers, Dick and Pam. They made the stay completely pleasent and wonderful and I actually didn't want to leave when Sunday came. I felt so comfortable and well received and we were compeltely taken care of the entire time we were there. The rooms are lovely and warm and comfortable and the beds are to die for...I haven't slept that good in a while! The bathrooms are clean and well decorated and don't forget to have a whirlpool bath...you'll love it. Breakfast was delicious every morning and you have to be sure to buy a custom made Hummingbird Inn mug to take as a keepsake. I will definitely be recommending the Hummingbird to EVERYONE I know and I plan to go back very soon. Kudos to Pam and Dick!!


Great stay at Hummingbird Inn

4,4 su febbraio 24, 2008

The hospitality was exceptional - the hosts were so warm and informative. The breaksfasts were gourmet - fresh fruit & great coffee & wonderful "main" course. Our room, The Franklin, was so very comfortable. We absolutely loved all the excellent reading materials found through out the house - we didn't even read the books we brought. If you want a great place to stay - check this out!!


Wonderful Getaway

5 su dicembre 05, 2007

Lovely room, chocolate chip cookies and brownies,the fireplace in the den and feeling of coming home. We felt welcomed and taken care of. One of the best experiences in a B&B I've ever had.


A Wow!

5 su giugno 07, 2007

What a fun time! We loved the Hummingbird! My wife and I stayed two nights, and will certainly return to the beautiful home by the railroad tracks! We loved the food, the great little deck by the creek, and the fact they took dogs put us over the moon! Hummingbirds abound at the Inn, and so do nice relaxing times. Thank you to our hosts Pam and Dick!


Home Sweet Home

5 su febbraio 12, 2007

We enjoyed our stay there very much. We are a gay couple and in most places are not warmly welcomed, but here it was different. We were welcomed with open arms and warm hearts. They really go out of their way to make your stay the best.


The Hummingbird Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $149 - $179
  • Recensioni (143) 4,8
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5409979065
  • Gratuito 1-8003973214

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina